219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Tapo Canyon Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (805) 654-3951
CGID9763

Tapo Canyon Park

Camp Information
Sites
17
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   9   7   3   6   8   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$36
Even though you are in the Los Angeles metroplex you do not feel like you are there. A small county park 3 miles north of Simi Valley. Nice paved roads and sites. Sites were level and hookups convenient. Good line of sight for satellite dish in a few sites. Only downside is the lack of cellular signals. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
The day use portion of the park is quite large and open with convenient pavilion availability and restrooms, plush lush green grass and afternoon shade. There is a clear separation between the day use and the campground portion of the park. The husband host of the park is friendly and respectable, but the wife host is just about vicious in her approach to visitors as she lays out and tries to enforce the untold rules while using no tact or customer service. Her attitude and approach alone ruined our stay and we decided to leave without spending the night to a more friendly and accommodating place. I am sure her tone could have a place and time, but shouldn't be used all the time. Plus side of campground is that it does have electric and water hook ups, but negatives are beyond that it's plain, boring, dusty, little shade, spider friendly shrubs are the only greenery, and the ever watching eye of the wife camp host. We won't visit again unless for a day use event. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$37
As most others mentioned, this is a pretty nice county park. There is no cell coverage, TV, or network connection of any kind. We were visiting family in the area so it worked for us. The biggest problem is the inability to walk your pet in the day use area. The only grass around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Liked this park for its quiet atmosphere. Very few campers even in June over a weekend. No Wi-Fi and basically no cell phone reception: actually a nice change! We had two dogs with us and were told to not walk them in the day use area: not even on the road. Not so great but there is a dog park fairly close by. Since we were visiting relatives we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2011
$32
As a resident of Simi Valley, we decided to try the local RV park. Thinking it would be nice to get away and yet be so close to home, we started off thinking this place wasn't bad. In the beginning though, we felt the camp host was trying to throw her weight around. The way she conveyed that quiet time was 9pm and LIGHTS OUT WAS 10PM. We've been camping for several years and quiet time always meant, generators off. Well, during our whole stay, we hadn't used our generators once. (We were camping with 2 other families who happen to be off duty law enforcement.) Ironically, she came over and caused a commotion that we were too loud while we were just watching satellite. She decided to call the police. Calling the police on the police. How funny is that. I find that this was completely ridiculous and over exaggerated. To make matters worse, the park ranger made his appearance in the morning threatening to ban all of us from future camping privileges for the county. It's no wonder this park is suffering financially and has low occupancy. They should remove the park host. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
This campground is run like a state park and is very pricey for what you get. You have to pay $2 for each vehicle (Monday-Thursday) and $4 on weekends in addition to the $37 per night site fee. There is no cable TV; Verizon cell phone reception had one bar, and Verizon wireless internet connection was slow. The pluses are that it’s close to Reagan’s Presidential Library and Museum and each site has a concrete pad and fire ring. We also visited Santa Monica National Recreation Area during our three day stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$37
We would have given this park a 10 except no internet reception at all was a big negative. We have a WiFi card and this is the only place we have gotten zero reception. If you don't need internet you will love it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$32
Oak Park and Tapo Canyon are both operated by the County of Ventura. Some people have reported that one or the other are/were closed so here's the scoop! You should note that BOTH parks have a closing time, which at this time of year I believe is about 5PM. The camp host does "lock" the front gate at this time, which has given people the impression that the park has been permanently closed. However, the gate is merely chained up (not locked), so if you arrive after hours you can open it yourself, drive through, and close it back up after you're in. This will happen every night of your stay too so don't panic if they have "locked" your tow vehicle out while you were in town doing errands! As someone else mentioned, local laws really do prevent you from camping at the local Walmart, so don't plan on getting here late, staying there overnight and checking in here in the morning either. For temporary closures, call the county and make sure they aren't repaving or doing other maintenance during the period you want to stay. You can make reservations as the number of sites are limited, but we didn't need to at this time of year. Their cancellation policies are a little strict, with all reservations being charged a $10 fee plus you have to be 30 days out or more, so buyer beware of that. OAK PARK. Located right next to train tracks. And yes, they do use them! Your pets may not like this but we have been sleeping through the night, most of the time. This was by far the biggest drawback. Yes, you can hear freeway noise from the 118 but it is not so loud that it has bothered us. No sewer hookups, but they do have a dump station on property. ($25 if you are not staying here though!) Location is very convenient to west Simi and Moorpark! Sites are paved, large enough and clean. (Someone previously commented that this place needed to be cleaned up, but that seems to have been done as I was also told that there were a lot of illegal permanent residents here in prior years and there is none of that now.) Beautiful old oak trees give lots of shade to some spots! Big rigs are not a problem in the LOWER campground. We looked at the upper side too but there were too many trees/branches there for our tastes. 40 feet was easy on the lower side. Rate is very good during the winter! It would be higher during the busy season but there aren't a whole lot of other options here. Has good Verizon coverage for cell phones and Mi-Fi's. TAPO CANYON PARK. Park is VERY quiet! Overall a much nicer location than Oak Park. Sewer hookups have been installed for all sites. Big rigs are no problem at any of the sites. Sites are really nice: paved, large enough and clean. Minimal landscaping. No shade; might be a problem in summer months but not during the winter. A little far from town. NO Verizon coverage which meant no phone or internet for us! By far our biggest drawback. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$37
This campground is an hour away from our house and we've camped here twice for a quick weekend away. Very close to the Reagan Library and town. Can get really windy at times, and there is not a lot of shade, but it's very quiet and the camp hosts are friendly. A little hint: On line reservations must be made 30 days in advance. But if the campground is not full, you can drive in and still get a spot. This also saves the $10 on line booking fee. Ventura has some very beautiful full hookup campgrounds. This is one of them! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$37
We enjoyed this campground. Was nice and quiet. Camp host was very friendly and helpful. Archery club meets on Saturday morning at the park next door and you can shoot all day for $5. That was fun for one of my boys. All sites are concrete and interior roads are paved. Hook ups are perfectly located. Great place to stay to visit the Reagan Library. We will use this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
Nice quiet RV campground with full hookups, concrete pads and plenty of space between sites. This was within a couple of miles of Simi Valley and shopping. Also about five miles from The Reagan Library. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$37
We stayed one night this time. The park was more than half full, but still had one site available at dusk on a Saturday night. The park host is friendly and helpful. The gate appeared to be chained when we arrived at dusk. It seems that the park "closes" at 7:30pm. That appears to mean that it is closed to day use at that time. The chains are simply wrapped around the gate. Get out of your vehicle, unwrap the chains and in you go! Note that as you proceed north on Tapo Canyon road toward the park you will come to a "Dead End" street sign. Keep going! The park is a short ways further and there's lots of room to manuver your rig. We had no trouble manuvering or parking our 39' motorhome. This is a very nice, quiet park with the conveniences of Simi Valley nearby. Grocery stores, Cinema, whatever you need is a mile or two away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
They re-opened this park in the spring of 2008, after fires and floods had destroyed it back in 2003/2004. We missed the notices about it opening. I counted 17 RV sites, with concrete pads and full hookups. Behind the concrete pads is gravel that looks just fine for wheels if you need to do that. So there's no problem with big rigs. There are toilets and showers that are nice, they are new and clean (should be about all the camp host has to do) It's first-come-first-served and self service. You put your check in the envelope and put the envelope in the box, the normal procedure. There's a 14 day limit, with 7 days off required before one can re-enter. The park is back in a canyon and is very pleasant and quiet. It's about 3 miles off the 118 freeway, north on Tapo Canyon Road. You just keep going north until you see it on the left. The park is 11 miles from the Regan Library in Simi Valley. Note that the Ventura County Parks website I've listed is out of date. It does not mention the RV sites. We were there today, Tapo Canyon Park does indeed have RV camping and it's very nice! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com