224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails - Turtle Beach Fish Camp was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (209) 239-2034
CGID10220

Thousand Trails - Turtle Beach Fish Camp

Camp Information
Sites
47
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   3   9   4   3   7   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$10
Rate was for an RPI member, one night. Sites are nicely spaced apart with green grass in between. Picnic table for each site, although BBQs were located away from site, nearby. Older trees provide nice shade (and antennae interference if you have the need). Check-in at entrance kiosk. Staff very helpful and friendly. Area is extremely pleasant and quiet. Short road from main street to park is very narrow in some places and the yellow middle line is impossible not to cross. My site did not have a waste dump as far as I could tell. Didn't need it so I just may have missed it. Definitely a good choice for fishing/boating on the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$1
There is a mixture here of full hookup sites and electric and water sites. When we first arrived all the full hookup sites were full. However, within ten minutes the ranger was tracking us down to let us know one had opened up so we moved. We had a great site. It wasn't big but it was perfect. We had good internet, good cell, full hookups, and a beautiful river to look at. Staff was pleasant, park was nice, and in a good location. There were no trees obstructing our satellite as mentioned in a previous post. It's all in the positioning of the antennae. It's a no frills park but that's fine with us. We would definitely stay here again on our way through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$1
We choose this park because it was on our way to Redding, CA and we are members of Thousand Trails. We didn't have high expectations and were pleasantly surprised to find what I consider it a gem. The park is a cut above many in the TTN/NACO system. There is a good mix of shade and open area to suit your needs. Three of the loops have full hookups. Even though the roads are gravel there was little dust due to the lack of traffic. Our site was gravel and level, it only had 30 amp service, but the weather was cooperating. Although I put in the cost as $1.00 as members of TTN, we didn't pay a nightly fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
This park is shady, and that is about the only good thing about it. We were here 4 nights when we were awakened at 5 a.m. when the electricity went out. We went out and reset the breaker and sparks and a loud pop came from the electric post. The plug for our trailer had been fried and melted by what must have been a power surge. We had to replace it before we could use it again. We were told we had full hooks, but we did not. While we were here, our neighbors on each side of us ran their grey water out on the ground almost daily. On our last night we ran part of one tank of grey water out ,and the 'ranger' immediately came and griped us out. There is suppose to be a beach, but it was non existent. The boat ramp was dirt and rocks. The pictures on the website are very old as there is little water surrounding this area. The middle of the river had an old car tire leaning against a rusted 50 gallon drum which made us wonder whether we should fish or swim there. There is a 5 mph speed limit, and if you are caught going faster you must park at the front, and walk to your site the rest of your stay...they enforce it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$0
Being members of Thousand Trails, this stay did not cost us anything. This is a small campground and amenities reflect it, but the staff more than makes up for any shortage in amenities. The majority of the sites are 30 amps, but the trees throughout are large and provide much shade hence reducing the need for air conditioning. Yet the mature trees do often block satellite coverage so plan to watch network television via your antenna. It is quiet and relaxing with good power and water. I wouldn't mind another stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2013
$42
We stayed for 3 nights with a group. The Thousand Trails members were free and some of us had the pay $42.00. The club house was adequate for a small group. We were disappointed that they only provided spots with 30 amp electric and water. The roads are a dirt/rock combination and the sites were rocked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2010
$42
Mechanical troubles forced us to stay overnight in this town after repairs lasted well into late afternoon. Perhaps if one is a Thousand Trails member this would be a reasonable place to stay. As a non-member, it seems that more attention would be given to a potential new member. At any rate, they were happy to take our money, open the gate, and leave us to our own devices. For the price, I expected a well-maintained resort. We got dirt roads, marginally graveled sites, 30 amps only, untrimmed trees and a canal advertised as a river. Save your money and drive on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$10
Stayed overnight on RPI. When we arrived, they had no record of our reservation. Learned later this is common with RPI, but 'Ranger' handled it with aplomb. Our assigned site was already occupied (right hand left hand problem), and the new one had only 15A power. Site was roomy and reasonably level. Road in was long and narrow, but no real problem with 25' TT. I'd go back, but my wife won't. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$5
It's unlikely that I can add anything to the previous posters, except that I'm parked in the ONLY pull-through site on the property. And while it has only a 30 amp electrical service, it is isolated from the rest of the campground, and right next to the dump station (that looks as if it has never been used). It is so quiet and peaceful here that the most noise I heard was that of the wind and the squirrels. This was intended to simply be a stopover for one night on my way north, that with the help of one of the Park Rangers (super friendly guy), he was able to get me this site for TWO nights. This is my first time here, but certainly will return. It's like finding a "gem" that you never knew existed (and almost afraid to tell anyone else about) for fear I may never be able to get a spot again. The grass is lush green, and yes you can hear a train once in awhile, but it's the "quiet" that will probably get you more than the noise! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$10
We camped here overnight using our RPI membership. We were given one of the sites without sewer, which was fine for our needs. We arrived just before dark and left at 8am so we did not get a chance to visit the clubhouse, or explore other parts of the park. The setting is lovely, and it felt like camping. Lots of trees and green. The road into the preserve from the main streets is about 2 miles and narrow. The space sites are very generous. We backed in our 33' fifth wheel, stayed connected to our truck, and there was still room for another vehicle next to us plus picnic table and tent - if we'd had them. Verizon cell phone and air card worked great. Lots of nearby services. Quiet. And I will ditto the comments on the park rangers - very friendly and helpful. We have family in the area, and I can see camping here again, staying a few days to enjoy the peaceful setting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$1
I can't add a lot to the previous poster's review. He pretty much summed up my experience as well. The staff is GREAT; very friendly and very helpful. They even came and checked to see if we needed anything after we settled in. That should tell you about how well the place is run. We stayed here while visiting family in the area, and it served our purpose perfectly. This park is VERY quiet if you just want to relax. Not sure I'd want to spend a week here, especially in the summer (it's HOT.) Sites are large and level for the most part, with good cell and satellite reception. You can go fishing in the river for bass, catfish, bluegill, etc. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and probably will next time we're visiting family in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$1
Don’t be misled by the name of this campground as it has very little to do with fish other than being adjacent to the San Joaquin River in the Northern California Delta region. And it certainly is not a resort with many amenities and activities, but as part of the Thousand Trails system it is a very nice campground and we enjoyed our stay there. The rangers are friendly and very helpful and maintain the property very well. The Verizon Wireless signals are very good and many of the level, spacious sites are satellite friendly. There are about 47 full hookup sites with 50-amp electrical service and there are another 17 sites with water and 30-amp electrical service. The management has provided a handy sheet with a list of about 50 “useful addresses,” with shopping, banks, restaurants, Flying J’s (2), post office, medical facilities, etc, all within a few miles’ drive from the campground. This is information that should be provided by all campgrounds as a helpful guide to newcomers to the area and is very much appreciated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com