206673 User submitted reviews online!!
Butterfield RV Resort & Observatory was rated 8 out of 10 based on 106 user reviews. Phone: (520) 586-4400
CGID103

Butterfield RV Resort & Observatory

Camp Information
Sites
173
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   4   10   8   9   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$36
We stayed at this campground just behind the Safeway store in Benson six years ago. It is still nice, and the trees have grown some more, providing pretty good shade for most of the spaces. Much of the clientele appears to be snowbirds. The staff is, as before, friendly, efficient, helpful. The streets and most spaces are asphalt, and level, attractively, if sparsely, landscaped. There is a pool and a large rec room, as well as a kitchen/dining room available for group events, and lots of activities in the clubhouse. The restrooms are clean and comfortable. The dog walks are fenced with trash cans there. The worst thing about this campground is the WiFi, which is Tengonet. I just can’t say enough bad things about Tengonet. It is slow, buggy, aggravating, intrusive, and typically kicks you off just before you push “enter” to send the stuff you worked so hard to compose. The real draw for us at Butterfield is an actual observatory with a dome a 16” telescope that some universities would kill for. On clear nights when wind is not a problem, you can sign up for a chance to see some great views of the universe. Benson is on the railroad and has two road crossings, so if you are one of those bothered by train whistles, you may not enjoy that aspect. This is a nice campground, and the prices reflect that. We paid $36 per night for full hookups with a Passport card. We stayed a total of five nights in March. We would definitely come again just for the observatory experience, but Benson is also a good central location from which to see Tombstone, Bisbee, Sierra Vista, and things on the east side of Tucson. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$38
This is probably the cleanest and best managed RV park we've ever stayed at. We spent 2-1/2 weeks here enjoying the friendly staff, nice amenities, and the fun activities. I especially liked the amateur observatory on site. Just about everything you need is within walking distance like groceries, Walmart, an auto parts store, and an Ace hardware. A Tractor Supply store is right across the street. I knocked a point off a perfect 10 only because of low water pressure throughout the park (only about 40 psi) and the famous Benson train noise which is tolerable. The park's free WiFi (powered by Tengo) worked well most of the time and AT&T wireless 4G was good. The nightly rate listed includes a Good Sam 10% discount + tax during the peak season. We'll definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$36
This park is very nice. Wide, paved sites, friendly staff, and many activities. But if you are looking for quiet nights, forget it, The trains run day and night through the heart of downtown Benson. However, I love trains and their whistles, so this is the park for me! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2014
$36
A nicely laid out RV resort with good roads and adequate space between lots. The staff is pleasant and there many activities to participate in if you choose to. Cons: the electric and water connections are located in the rear of each lot. Having them located in the middle of the lot would have been convenient, so you may need extensions. Last, there are trains going through the middle of town all night blowing their horns. I did not get a full nights sleep the three nights we were there. The trains are LOUD! I will probably avoid Bensen, Arizona, the next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$36
Immaculate grounds. Bathrooms/showers cleaned daily. Roads and pull-throughs are paved. Areas not paved are covered with crushed rock, so no dust when wind blows and nothing to track into your motorhome. The on-site astronomical observatory is a real treat for about 12 or so campers each evening when skies are clear. Safeway and Ace Hardware right next door. US Post Office and Trailer Supply are across the street. WalMart a couple blocks away. Restaurants nearby too. Convenient base from which to visit Sonoita/Elgin wineries, Willcox wineries, Bisbee, Tombstone, Kartchner Caverns and other southeast Arizona attractions. We will stay at Butterfield again. One word of caution though about Benson in general - a couple dozen trains pass through each day and night. There is no place in Benson proper to get away from train noise. We got used to it. By our third (of five) nights at Butterfield we hardly paid any attention to the trains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
Post office right across the street. Safeway right next door. A lot of full timers or seasonal, but very clean, well maintained, right off the highway. We would stay here again. Big rig friendly sites are long enough for 40' and trailer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
The best RV resort in town! Wide paved roads, front two rows are paved pull-through sites that are wide and easily accessible. We stayed 4 nights with a Passport America 15% discount. (High price for PA but it is the season.) Staff friendly and helpful. Heated pool and spa, with several activities that welcomed the overnighters and very friendly. We would stay at this resort again. Clean bathrooms and showers; very nice laundry setup. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$38
Site: Nice paved, level sites with great utility access. Some shade with pines. Amenities: Wi-Fi is extra, but our Verizon Jet Pack worked fine. Laundry, spa, pool, and clubhouse are clean and well maintained. Cable TV has the basics. Staff: Excellent. They always have something going on here: cribbage, Bingo, the observatory, trips, etc. You can't go wrong staying here long-term or using it as a jump-off for Tombstone, Bisbee, Sierra Vista, etc. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
During the time we stay, the park was not full. We had one of the level paved sites, but did notice some of the gravel sites might have a hard time for leveling. The hook-ups were excellent and the rest rooms and shower areas were very clean. The pool, spa, and laundry room were very clean also. It was nice to use the free club-house computer. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. We would rate it higher, but the train whistles through the night were highly noticeable. We would look for something further from the tracks next time, but the whistles would be the only reason. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
Great RV resort park! Nicest park we have ever stayed in! It was off season so it wasn't crowded. Very nice, clean, restrooms and showers. Excellent pool and exercise facility. Paved pads. Immaculate and well maintained sites. Club house and library available, with internet access in library. Good Wi-Fi. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$38
Has its own observatory with 16" telescope. Free nightly star shows. Also ham radio station for licensed amateurs. Sites level with picnic table. Sites are roomier than many parks. Very nice pool and hot tub area. Showers quite clean. Close enough to train tracks to hear every one, and there are a lot. After a while didn't really notice whistles, but if you are a light sleeper be aware. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$37
This is a very nice park with asphalt drives and pads. The park is clean and well laid out. We had a blast at the observatory, the host put on a great show. This is a great stop with lots to do. We are from SoCal and have grown up on Mexican food, and we had the best we have ever had in Benson at Mi Casa. It looks like a dive but the food is phenomenal and it is spotlessly clean. The WiFi is slow and the trains are noisy, keeping the score a little lower. Look forward to visiting Benson again and will stay at Butterfield. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$37
There are many parks around Benson because of the snowbirds, but this is one of the nicest. They take Good Sam and Passport America (some months), so it cost us $37.15, which is one of the most expensive parks we have stayed at in the last two months. It is nicely laid out with all sites paved, full hookups, cable and Wi-Fi. You can see the mountains in the distance and every site seems to have one tree on it. There is an observatory at the park and every night there is a show which is free but one needs to sign up to make sure there is room. On site they have a pool, spa, library/computer lab, wood shop, laundry room, fitness room, card room with pool table, large clubhouse and banquet hall. One can walk to restaurants, post office, hospital and the center of town. Benson is centrally located in the center of Cochise County and an easy drive to many of the must-see sights in the area. It is only about 21 miles to Tombstone! You do hear trains come by but I have found that in the West – trains are so valuable in moving goods that almost every town has trains passing by. It is a good place to stay and we would return to this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$36
A nice campsite, very very clean and tidy, very much a snowbird site. Staff very helpful and friendly but fellow campers a bit clicky and not overly friendly even though we were here for a week. Good exercise room and pool with spa. Easy access from I-10 but far enough away for no traffic noise. It is near the railroad which doesn't bother us. Our big disappointment and why we did not give it a higher rating is that the advertised observatory did not operate for the whole week and having read other reviews for this campsite this seems to be a common complaint. The observatory was one of the main reasons we chose this site, we were told it was under repair but again that has been noted on other reviews as the reason for it being closed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$36
A very nice, clean park located far enough off the highway that the road noise was minimal. You are walking distance to Safeway and other stores. The people were welcoming. They have their own private observatory, but while we were there the weather did not cooperate. The work out room was well equipped. We were initially planning to stay at a different RV park, but decided to check this one out first. Glad we did. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$38
Very nice, clean park. We stayed only one night, but the park was fairly full and seemed to have many activities. It is walking distance to Safeway. It is a little noisy since it is close to a hospital. We heard helicopters land a couple of times during the night, and it does get train noise. Office staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$33
Stayed one night while traveling. Management was friendly and welcoming. Had a spot right in first row next to clubhouse and laundry, so it was convenient to everything. Pool looked nice but too cold to test out in January. Most of the park is full of snow birds and permanent residents some of whom were not very friendly, but for one night it was OK. Very clean and safe, but no grass to speak of. Dog park was all rocks as was the landscaping all around. I prefer more grass than desert landscape and would stay at another park next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$34
As previous poster stated very nice park and great people work here! Paved pull through sites that are pretty level. The downside is the all hours trains. So if train noise bothers you don't stay. If train noise isn't big deal you will love it here. We were able to sleep fine, but just falling asleep was sometimes slow due to the trains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
The staff is great. Pool and hot tub are perfect. Site was paved and level. Only drawback is there is trains fairly close and they blow their horn. Our dogs love the fenced in area to run. We stayed 3 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
Wonderful park. Nicely maintained. Easy entry/exit, large pull through sites (length and width), paved pads with gravel in between. Lots of activities. Observatory show was great. Walking distance to Safeway. Wi-Fi slow but free for 7 days. Two fenced-in, gravel dog areas, but no shade. Trains nearby and whistles are loud both day and night, but didn't bother us after first night. Used website coupon for $25.00 off 3 night stay. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Lots of sites, easy access for a large rig like ours. A few trees in some sites. Wifi worked, but it was the Tengo system which slows you down no matter if anyone else is using it or not. The transients are kept in the front rows near the office & pool .. while the residents are along the outside edges. The observatory does not run all days(!) nor, as we found out, does it run on days its supposed too if they don't feel like it. Communication here is difficult at best. If you are really looking to use the observatory its best to sign up and then go back to the office before they close and confirm that it will be open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
Don't understand the negative review I read. This park is outstanding! We specifically made this our stop on our way home. The people there have always been great to us and friendly. Pool and spa are so nice. Entire area is clean and sites are spacious. Have been in some that are packed like sardines. But this one is great. Our second visit and not our last! Trains did not bother us. Thanks to everyone there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
This is a nice small park and has a great number of amenities. It is convenient to town, medical and shopping. However, the constant train traffic was very annoying and the sites seemed small and cramped for larger rigs compared to other parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
Will make this RV Resort a must stop on the way back through. Clean level site, easy access, friendly and helpful employees, clean pool and spa, dog and cat friendly. Have heard no trains at all. Grateful for the lack of bleach smell, sensitive to chemicals. Love the size of the space, not squeezed in like a sardine. Rate reflects Military Discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2012
$39
I was rather disappointed during this visit. In previous years, we stopped here on our way back home and everyone was so friendly. Not this year. It seems as if the management has changed. I'll choose to stay elsewhere in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
Could not sleep because of the trains. Very expensive and very aloof workers. Need more music to soothe the beasts. Clean bathrooms, but no bleach smell at all. Are they disinfected? Sharp gravel for the doggies. We read great reviews, but we must be picky, because we don't see it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
Great campground EXCEPT for the constant loud obnoxious trains. They are less then 1000 feet away and go all day and mostly all night. Other than that it would be excellent. Good clubhouse, good facilities etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$39
This would be a 10 except for the train noise at night. They have an Observatory and a nightly program which gives each person some viewing of some amazing celestial sights. We were just passing through, however, thoroughly enjoyed our short visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2011
$37
If you are looking for high-end campground, this is it. However it is very noisy with trains all night and day. Very pricey. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
Only about 10 of the 175 spaces were occupied during our stay during the month of August, although this will change when the snowbirds arrive in the fall. The park is very clean and well maintained, as are the pool, spa, restrooms, laundry, well-equipped exercise room, and club house. Also available is a well-equipped wood shop (including table saw, drill press, and band saw), as well as on-site propane (not only for bottles, but also for large rigs). Staff is very courteous and helpful. Most spaces have a pine tree that provides some shade, but not much. Pull-through spaces are available, but are somewhat short (reduced even more so by the fact that they are crowned to the rear), especially if you want to keep your toad or tow vehicle connected. If you have a 40’+ rig, a back-in spot would be better, and it is wide enough for your other vehicle to park alongside. Roads and pull-through spaces are paved, while back-in spaces are covered with coarse gravel and are level. Internet service is provided by Tengonet, which is free for daily and weekly stays. Our summer daily rate shown (for the month we were here) includes the $1/day Internet fee and separate electric charge. Wi-Fi speed was OK most of the time, but not outstanding. The park is very close to the local Safeway, Ace Hardware, WalMart, and Post Office, and is a couple of blocks off I-10 (however, there is no freeway noise). Train noise is another matter, as there are numerous trains that go through Benson at all times of the day and night. The crossing is about a half-mile from the park and train whistles are loud. Unless you have the benefit of "white noise" such as air conditioning and fans, they could disturb sleep. We used both, and train noise was never a problem. Although Benson is not much, there are some interesting things to see in the area, not the least of which are Kartchner Caverns State Park and the town of Bisbee. An unusual aspect of this RV park is the on-site astronomical observatory which houses a 16” telescope. We didn’t get a chance to see it because the weather was cloudy most nights due to the monsoon. The park is in downtown Benson and there is a fair amount of light pollution in the park itself, so the skies are not that dark. From what we have seen, this is by far the nicest RV park in the area. We stayed here during August since it was about 5-10 degrees cooler than Tucson (where we had business during the month), and only an hour's drive away. However, it was still very hot with most days in the high 90s. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$36
Stayed three days/nights. Train whistles, need ear plugs at night. Otherwise quiet. Paved interior roads with straight back ins and pull through sites. Sites were humped and with angled curbs. Saw a few places where drivers had scrapped hitches from trailers on the pavement. Only saw three sites for big rigs and those were for handicap only. The rest are very short. Easy in and out with a HDT and 35 ft trailer, but the site was to small for both the truck and trailer and had to park the truck else where. Cable TV. Half the channels were clear. Wi-Fi wasn't able to get it at our trailer until we put out our exterior Wi-Fi antenna. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$38
Very nice park. It's clean, well maintained. Loved the paved pull throughs although those appear to be reserved for short term stays. The other spaces are all gravel back-ins. Like other reviews, our only complaint were the trains (or rather their whistles), but ear plugs were helpful and the trains are the one reason this rating isn't a ten. WiFi good; 2 dog walks and very pet friendly; friendly people; very small store on site; observatory a nice attraction; very close to shopping. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$40
We stayed here for a week in March and enjoyed this park very much. The employees were all great. The pool is heated to about 88. And, there is a lot to see and do in the area. The only one negative is that train that goes by a whole lot and blows the whistle all night. We definitely would come back to this park again. The only reason for not rating it a 10 is because of the train. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$36
Very nice park. Big wide sites. The staff was very friendly! A great place to stay to see all of the sites of Southern Arizona. Kartchner Caverns is a must see! It is close to all of the sites such as Tombstone and Bisbee. The train noise is very loud and they go by about every 10 minutes. We will definitely stay here again next year. We have much more to see here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
Rate reflects monthly rate including electric. Monthly rates are on calendar month only, so monthly rates can be for 28,30 or 31 nights depending on the month. Sites are a good size - all back-in except for overnighter's. Staff friendly & lots of activities. Wi-fi & cable tv good. Well maintained & clean. Observatory is outstanding & the reason we came. However probably will not return because of constant train noise & very cold nights - used a full tank of propane. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
Wonderful park, each large site (both depth and width) has a pine or cedar tree. Friendly staff and good facilities. There is a night sky observatory on site with great free nightly programs. The Post Office is across the street and Safeway and Ace Hardware within a block. Easy access in and out. Good base for many area sights. Reason only a 9 is for train horn noise at night. Visit Apple Farm restaurant for great cinnamon roll french toast. Do visit Kratchner Caverns, unusual wet formations! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
This is a nice enough park full mostly with long term campers. The parking pads are paved but only 50 ft long. Big rigs can park their tow vehicles on the gravel next to their RV. Parking pads slope in the front and the rear of the sites. They do have an free observatory but weather was poor while we were there. Laundry was nice and other campers were friendly. Thought that this was a pretty expensive campground. Do not waste your time going to Tombstone. Every venue costs money. Bisbee is much more interesting and the Queen Mine Tour was fun. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$37
We stayed here 2 days because of the weather east of us. Very nice smaller cg. They even have an observatory for star watching in the evening. You have to sign up in the office and it is well worth your time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are some pull-through sites and they have back-ins. We will probably stop here again for a longer time and check out the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$34
Clean well-maintained park with paved roads and sites, with picnic table and medium-sized pine tree for each pull-through site. Easy in/out for our big-rig 42-foot triple-axle 5th wheel. One free Tengo Internet password given out per site, which can lead to some tension since we are a two-computer family. Internet service was quite slow most of the time, and the park should think about upgrading the bandwidth (as should many others we have stayed at). Smaller fenced gravel dog run, with empty field and dry wash across street if you want to get some exercise with your dog. Heated pool and spa were clean and inviting, washrooms/showers/laundry room were all clean and well maintained. Free observatory shows every night for registered guests were enjoyable and interesting. Located in the heart of Benson, near Wal-Mart and other shops/restaurants, central to Tombstone, Bisbee, Kartchner Caverns, etc. However, as others have commented, the train noise is pretty disruptive at night, with at least 7 or 8 trains happily sounding horns. Not sure why they need to be doing this continuously from one end of the valley to the other, especially when the crossings in the town are all auto-controlled with lights and gates, but they seem to be quite happy to do it with some enthusiasm, especially when two trains are passing each other. It's a nice park, but we will not be staying here again due to that problem. Price reflects weekly rate including taxes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$34
There is not much to find wrong with this park. It's probably the nicest in Benson and they have some nice ones. All the pads and streets are paved and level. The extras include WiFi, cable TV (only 14 locals channels), observatory (comes with a nightly show for free), putting green, pool, and golf hitting cage. You can walk to the excellent grocery store and hardware store next door and the staff here is very helpful and friendly. I would stay here again and recommend it to all my friends. It is well located to explore the area (Tombstone, Bisbee, Ft Huachuca and Tucson). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
Big, seems well run. No pool and Wi-Fi was very weak until after 11:00 pm or early in the morning. Staff was gracious and friendly. Terrible gravel. It is the big kind with very sharp edges. It is everywhere. So you can bring your dog but that is what it has to walk on when not on the road itself. Very nicely presented special suppers and events. Poker and group trips out for lunch and dinner. Small to average room between RV's. Each lot gets one small tree. I would not stay here again because it looks too industrial. We kept the shades down. When you are on vacation, you don't want to look at gravel and RV's. I don't, anyway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$36
Notes on Nov review below are accurate except the WiFi has since been fixed and works well. This is a great place to stay for a week or longer to explore Tombstone and surrounding area. Only a couple negatives. The dog run is stark and claustrophobic, my dog refused to go inside, no grass for dogs anywhere in park. Park is about a 1/2 mile away from train tracks, traffic is heavy and noisy during the day, lighter traffic is tolerable at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$36
This is a clean and well-kept Park. The staff were pleasant. The streets were paved and many of the sites were as well. However, the pull-through sites were very narrow and short. We had to unhook our tow and park it perpendicular to our 40' coach to remain off the street. Also, the Wi-Fi (Tengo w/fee) wasn't working when we were there. This seems to be a winter destination park. For an overnight stay, I will look for another location that might be more convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
This is a very clean and well maintained RV Park. Our site was wide and paved and level with a nice grassy area for the picnic table and lots of room for our chairs. We had WiFi and cable TV. We enjoyed the on site observatory and telescope where we viewed the stars and planets. We also enjoyed the swimming pool, clubhouse and large laundry room. We could walk to the supermarket which was nice. This was a central area for us to visit Tucson, Saguaro National Park, Tombstone, Bisbee and many other sights. The only negative is the trains which seem to come through at regular intervals and are loud, especially at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
Very nice park with roomy pull-throughs. Park was spotless and yet very comfortable and inviting. Easy to get to from I-10 and a nice location to see many sights in this area. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
Very nice park, friendly staff. Propane available, pool, hot tub, lots of activities. Nice place to walk the dogs off-leash across the street behind the post office. Be sure to eat at Palatianos, but get one of the specials. Huge portions, great food. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
Although we had heard about the trains, we only heard them once: no trouble sleeping. People are friendly: my husband's favorite activity was the morning coffee and donuts! Has a nice pool and hot tub. The observatory is a nice bonus. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$32
Nice park, but a lot of trains during the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$39
Park was adequate but not all it is hyped to be. Had to pay extra for WI-FI for the one night. Dog park was a barren lot with sharp rocks. Hurt our dog's feet so much that she wouldn't run or play and she just downright refused to enter on the third visit. Seemed to be more of a "snowbird" destination with the usual cliques and social groups than geared for the overnight traveller. Very friendly residents however - they wanted to chat so much we almost couldn't get our rig unhooked and packed for the road for all the conversation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$36
Extremely nice, first-class RV resort. Well laid out, and very clean. Surrounding area left a lot to be desired. The really big downside was that it is situated roughly a block from the railroad track and train traffic was about 1 every 15 minutes. Could not get much sleep. Probably would not return because of the noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$30
Folks were exceptionally friendly, pool and hot tub were nice. Laundry convenient and clean. This is a train town. Trains go through parallel to towns main street (2 blocks away from park) approximately every 22 minutes twenty four hours a day. Bring your earplugs or ipod. They have on-site astronomy and a small observatory. Very interesting and exceptionally well programmed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2009
$32
Park nice and clean. New Manager needs to find a personality, downright rude. People were being asked to leave the park. Why?..because the management here is bad news. Train noise is annoying. Overall I wouldn't come here again. My husband was in office trying to get information but the office workers were too busy eating to pay attention. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$32
This park is top notch, the only concern I have is that for $32 (with discount) you should get Wi-Fi free. I agree with all the positive things said about this park. Friendly staff, paved roads, gravel sites (Arizona style), with concrete curbs, and a tree at each site makes for a very nice experience. If it was not so close to our final destination, we would stay longer. Price is only thing that prevented a 10 rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$35
This park has paved roads with gutters, asphalt pads and rock between sites. Very neat, well maintained park with friendly staff. They have a nice clubhouse and usually do park dinners and breakfasts for a nominal fee. It is within walking distance to a grocery store, so very convenient if you aren't planning to unhook. In addition, they have their own observatory and do a nightly show. This is our second stay here, and we would definitely come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
This one of the nicer RV parks that we have stayed in. Very clean, level, long parking spots. No trouble parking a 40' motorhome. Overnight and weekly pull throughs are paved. Monthly sites are large gravel. Wi-Fi is through Tengo, and worked fine. Would have been nice to see free Wi-Fi. Located near shopping, hospital, and Super Wal-Mart. Train noise is very loud, but not that much of a distraction. Staff was the best we have ever seen. Very helpful, and always there to answer questions. Park residents were also the friendliest we have ever encountered. Pets are welcome, and there are two dog runs. Cable TV is pretty limited with only 13 channels, but every site has a clear view for satellite. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$38
This park is very clean and well laid out even for big rigs. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Sites are level. The post office and grocery store are within walking distance. The only negatives are low water pressure and a train track close by that is rather busy. They seem to have some kind of activities everyday to keep you busy if you choose. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
This park has nice amenities. It is kept very clean. However, we came with children and it became clear to us very quickly that children are 'tolerated' not 'welcome'. The park policies are geared toward a senior-only park. The amenities close at 8pm. We also found the park staff to be less than friendly. Although the facilities are nice, the senior oriented policies and unwelcoming staff really put a damper on our stay. I will try other parks before coming back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Nice park, great for astronomy interested folks. Not much to do in Benson, but we just wanted to relax anyway. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
Very nice park. We had a pull-through that was paved; a first for us. Benson is very small, so you are right in the middle of everything. There is an on-sight observatory that is really neat. (We were surprised that we liked it so much.) You get some train noise, but you do that everywhere in Benson. We thought the staff were very friendly and very helpful in giving us places to go and see. Rate reflects CCUSA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
The people who run this RV park are downright nasty. They fill you up with their rules until you want to leave. They charge $5.00 extra for Wi-Fi. It is a clean place, but noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
We drove around town. This is hands down the nicest park in town. Very neat and clean. They close the pool and spa at 8`pm. Way to early for us, were night people. About the only other item of interest are the trains all night, lots of noise. Looking at the location of many of the other parks, they would be no better noise wise. We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
Very clean park. Rock and pavement, no gravel. I was in a pull through and didn't have to unhook. The pull through sites taper off on the backside so it would be a long way down to drop rear stabilizers. On 1 night stays I usually don't drop front or rear stabilizers.The office was closed when we arrived but the manager saw us pull in and unlocked the door for my wife to check-in. Staff was friendly and the Safeway store is right around the corner. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
Clean but sterile, and they wanted $4.95 for wifi. Staff could use some training in How to Win Friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
This campground is not child friendly. Our 11 year old son and I were in the jacuzzi in the evening. The sign posted indicates no children under age 14 permitted without parental supervision. A man came and told us my son needed to get out because children under age 18 are not allowed in the jacuzzi. No one was using the facility except us and we weren't being noisy. If you're an old person looking for a quiet place to die, this is the best RV resort to visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$16
We stayed in Butterfield RV Resort for Feb and Mar. The place is spotless. They have entertainment, pot lucks, activities etc. Very quaint park. Staff keeps this place so clean it's amazing. It is not a gated park even though there is a cement wall around it. Anyone can enter at any time and apparently they do. There was a robbery of a video store in an adjoining plaza and the get-away was through the Butterfield RV Resort. A couple of times young men were caught jumping the wall and walking through sites as if to see what was available for the taking. We didn't like the fact that some of the repeat guests seemed to think the place was their own and really took on an attitude of rude bossiness and control toward the guests. It was detrimental to the overall good nature of the place. New management came in while we were there as well. That started out fine but there was a deterioration of attitude. The new Manager became snappish and unfriendly toward customers. Her husband inserted himself into things, even though he wasn't hired as manager, and really has no people skills. We heard him bad mouthing staff (one against the other)several times. The atmosphere became too heavy handed for us. Benson is at an altitude of over 4000 feet and it was cold and windy much of the time we were there. We actually had snow one night. While the snow was perhaps an anomaly, repeat visitors told us that the cold weather is normal. Not what we were seeking as a winter get away. In addition even though it is no reflection on the resort, there's not much going on in Benson. In fact, there is nothing going on in Benson so most activities and sight-seeing are about an hour away or more in any direction, with the exception of Kartchner Caverns. We spent a lot of time driving to other places. We will not be returning to Butterfield RV Resort based on this experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
First and foremost let me state that this RV park is extremely clean and well maintained by the resident staff who were extremely cordial. The public gathering facilities which include the pool, spa, club house, rest rooms/showers and banquet/social hall are spotless and up to date. Each site is spacious and well though out. The added feature of the observatory is commendable. On the negative side, the management staff that currently is in place leave a lot to be desired. The overall demeanor and curt responses to reasonable questions put to them left a sour taste in my mouth. Maintenance problems with the pool left it unusable for an extended period. I do not know, but being in Arizona where the quantity of swimming pools has to be enormous, seems to me parts and service could be performed rather quickly. Lastly, the trains are the worse. This park is extremely close to east and west bound container traffic that seems to be non stop 24/7 and they are loud for sure. This park located in some other venue under different supervision would be A++++++. This will be our last visit to the Butterfield RV Resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
The new managers at this park are less then desirable, very unfriendly. Speeders in this park are out of control. They have a list of rules but no one seems to follow them. It does not feel as secure as other parks that have someone watching over it, they need security. The manager looses her temper easily and yells at her work campers in front of the guests, which I think is awful. I have been coming here for years and I am not sure if I will come back again next year since the atmosphere has changed so much. It isn’t the fun relaxing park it use to be. The internet is at a cost and you can’t keep it in half the time, it should be free since it isn’t very good. I was expecting computer classes again this year but there isn’t any now in the middle of the season, again after the new managers took over. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
The new managers at this park are not very friendly. The manager has a terrible temper and they seem to have forgotten the word "friendly". We have been coming here for years. Unless the management changes we will not be here next year. The old manager was so friendly and accommodating.The atmosphere has changed. It isn’t the fun park we use to know and love. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
Park was nice looking but not sure about the noisy trains and ambulances throughout the days and nights. We were really looking for more activities to do, really wasn't anything going on while we were here; for the price we expected more. I went into the office this morning 1/26 and found the lady behind the desk being nasty to a lady in the office and making her cry. I am not sure what was going on but I don't think it should have been happening in the office in front of guests. For the price the internet should be free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
We stayed here with a group(thus the $5 per nite discount), and enjoyed our stay of 5 days. Yes, if you are going to stay a night, I wouldn't, as it takes a while to get used to the trains. However, this is the ony RV park in the U.S. that has a full fledged Observatory, and its free. Besides the interesting stargazing, nearby is Tombstone, Bisbee, and Fort Huachua (Home of the Buffalo Soldiers). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
The park is within a half a block of a railroad track crossing where the passing trains blow their horns all night long. The park mainly caters to long term tenants with only about 27 of their 173 spaces available to overnighters. Their pull through spaces are only 50 feet long so if you have a longer coach pulling another vehicle you will have to disconnect it to fit in the space. If you want Wi-Fi you are going to have to pay $4.95 extra a day for it. After a long day hike we were looking forward to using their spa at 8:00 p.m. but were told by a man covering it up that it was closed. There was nothing posted at the pool or in their booklet about pool and spa hours. I went up to the office to find out if this was the case and was barked at twice by a rude red haired woman behind the desk to "take it up with the manager." I could only recommend this park if you like blaring train horns, or are deaf, or don't mind abuse by the staff. There are plenty of other parks in the area that look just as nice and aren't nearly as close to the railroad tracks. We will not return to this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$34
This is as good as it gets! This is a park that new owners should pattern theirs on. It is extremely clean. Pull through sites were paved, and the back in sites were gravel. Wi-Fi was available at $5 per day through Tengonet. However, my Verizon wireless card worked at 2600kb down; perfect signal. We originally were staying 2 nights but stayed an extra night to enjoy both a visit to Tombstone and to Kartchner Caverns. Management was very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$17
I would have given this park a "10" had it not been for the train that goes by every half hour, all day and all night long, honking their horns. The camp hosts were extremely friendly and most helpful when I had difficulty trying to get my satellite dish to align. Their son even helped me pull my tow dolly up onto the gravel as I was not strong enough to get it over the curb. The streets were paved, clean, and very wide. I had no problem maneuvering my 36' motorhome with attached tow dolly & SUV around this campground. I was impressed with how nicely kept it was. Great little town to stay in. Only a 30 minute drive to Tombstone, which was my ultimate destination. Would love to stay there again, except I literally got no sleep from the trains making all that noise all night long. I was there for 6 days and was exhausted by the time I left. Too bad because it really is a great park! One of the best I've been in yet. The sites were really spacious. The observatory was the best part. Our astronomer showed us some amazing sites including Mars, some star clusters, a galaxy far, far away and saved the very best for last, Saturn! It was the prettiest site I have ever seen in my life with it's ring shining around it and the 4 moons surrounding it. Almost worth the loss of sleep. Would recommend this park to those who aren't light sleepers like I am. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Good Sam park. $2 for each person after 2 people. WiFi for a fee. Nice heated pool, ice machine, game room. Observatory with 45 min presentation - got to see Mars, Saturn, many stars - a nice perk. Very clean, good showers, clean restrooms, good sized sites. Grocery store and restaurants about a block away. Easy interstate access. Would definitely stay again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$38
I stayed at the park during peak season when rates are higher. It is a very high quality RV park excellent for big rigs with many pull throughs and good sized sites. The staff are very nice and there are many amenities. It is close to the railroad tracks which takes some getting used to. The onsite observatory is great with a nice nightly starwatching program. I am told that January is the best month to see the stars. There are many large trees though no amount of trees helps during the hot summer months. There is a Safeway just outside of the park, if you are traveling without a Toad. I will definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$33
Great park. Good water and wifi. Great activitie program. And we LOVE the observatory star watching program. If you need a animal vet, we highly recommend Benson Animal Hospital. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2007
$14
$14 was for the monthly rate. If you like trains, this is the place for you. They blow their whistles all day and all night. Made it hard to sleep at times. This is not a very pet friendly park. We do not have pets but don’t mind them. However, there was only one small place to walk your pets and it was up in a far away corner of the park. Thus, people would walk their animals right next to our RV. Everyday, we would go out and see droppings by our RV or in the street in front of our RV. Sites are all gravel (expect the overnights which are paved and very, very small). The sites are unlevel and not very wide or long. They have strict rules keeping people from walking through occupied sites but this does not stop anyone, especially the seasonal or permanent residents. I guess the rules don’t apply to them. The whole park gets very dusty when the wind blows. Would only stay here again as an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$35
Stayed a week here in a fifth wheel. Nice managers and wonderful activity center. Spend Thanksgiving here and it was a well organized dinner. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$30
I paid for a one month stay at 420/mo. I left two weeks early due to the constant train noise throughout the night. In all fairness most folks dealt with the train horns without complaint. The park itself is very nice and the amenities are wonderful. The on site astronomical observatory was the reason I stayed and it was great having the nightly observation sessions. Bottom line though was my need for a peaceful nights sleep so I left for a more quiet park in the Benson area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
Nice, clean park. Pool great. Plenty of sightseeing to do in surrounding area. Train noise the only negative. All day, all night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
We have stayed here in the past for an extended stay. Things were just as nice now (perhaps better) than they were on our previous stay. Sites are level, laundry is well thought out and a good bargain. Hookups are situated in a very user friendly fashion. We will be returning to this park next Feb. for an extended stay! One of the best overall parks we have visited. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
We were very impressed with the neatness of this park. The lady at the desk was very friendly and helpful. The roads were very wide and easy to turn on. The Wi-Fi was not free, but the ice was. Nice restaurant within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Very nice and clean. Well laid out and easy to access. The observatory was closed due to clouds. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Nice clean park, friendly check in lady. Roads and sites are all gravel with small pine trees separating sites. Our site was not level and looked like many were not. Sites are kind of terraced also. Park is right in town and road noise is present but not as loud as the trains that run every hour on the hour blasting their horns several times right beside the park! Cable TV has limited channels. Wi-Fi is through a pay service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
Observatory and astronomer on-site were delightful nightly features. The park was clean and well-maintained, and the staff was helpful and friendly. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$32
What a pleasant surprise to find this caliber of park in Benson. Sites are large enough and they have about 35 or so asphalt pull through level sites, along with the 140 or so back in sites. They also have a beautiful observatory right on the resort so you can see the stars up close and personal. The folks in the office we friendly and gave us directions to all the sights in the area. We will make this a place we will stop next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$23
This is a very nice park and very clean, one of the cleanest parks I have seen. There are many retirees here that spend the winter. The sites are gravel and could be a little more level, but they are ample size. It is close to Safeway and the post office. The WIFI costs extra, but it works well. The only negative is the trains go by very often, it seems like every half hour, and blow their horns several times. This is very irritating at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$26
This is one of the best RV parks I have ever stayed in. I love that I can make online reservations. The location is perfect. Walk to Safeway and Ace Hardware. We came in a night and stayed a week. I would consider spending the winter here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2007
$20
The park would be excellent, overall, if not for the train horns, which are blown constantly during the day and evening. The park is two blocks from a major highway/railroad crossing in Benson. The observatory is well managed and both on-site astronomers are very knowledgeable. I regretted having to leave this park, early, for another park in the general Benson area where train noise was not an issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$25
Excellent park with very friendly staff. The only drawback is the train tracks nearby, however they never bothered us to the point of being a problem. Park is close to several neat towns and things to do. We stayed a week and would return anytime we are through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$32
Very nice park. Recently got the 5 star Woodall's rating. Easy access to sites. Only problem is barking dogs. They have strong written policy but not aggressive enough on enforcement. Good place to tour this area of the Sonoran Desert. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
Very friendly staff. Very clean campground, nicely laid out, sites are large gravel and grass with very clean borders (don't know how they can keep that gravel off the grass!). Restrooms/showers very clean though not A/C. Observatory on site, operated nightly at 8:30, very friendly operator. Good WiFi, though comparatively pricey (Tengo, $4/night). Cable selection OK. Short walk to major grocery and many restaurants. Only complaint: pool hours are office hours, 8-8, which is pretty early to close a pool. I would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$24
Very nice park but the dog walk area was not very nice - small with lots of dust and dirt. The rest of the park was clean and everythink worked. The people at the desk were very nice and helpful. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2006
$28
Spotlessly clean - competent and friendly staff. Paved pullthroughs. Professional observatory with digital camera and tv screen for viewing. Many activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2005
$23
WIFI works well. Wide paved streets, groomed level gravel big sites with plenty of room between, nice picnic table with 10-12' pine tree beside it. Nice pool and spa behind villa walls. Very clean facilities, excellent laundry room ($1.25 for big washer/1.00 for big dryer), good exercise room, large gathering room with ping-pong, tables, kitchen. Good sized banquet hall for the many weekly activities. Fabulous mountain views in all directions. Next to shopping, but the campground is walled so you don't feel exposed to the commercial area outside. Post office and medical walk-in clinic across the street, small hospital down the street. Daily activities. Most interesting of all, there is a wonderful new fully equipped astronomy observatory on site - free to those who stay. Astronomy classes and groups and scheduled observations - on site astronomy guru (friendly and very helpful). For those interested in astronomy, this is the place to come. Great observing because of low light and air pollution. Very well run, very helpful staff. Great base to see Kartchner Caverns, several National Parks, Ft. Huachuca, Tombstone, and numerous other interesting things to see. Full shopping available in nearby Sierra Vista. Peaceful and relaxing. This is the place to stay in Benson. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$30
Very, very nice place. Clean, quiet and easy to maneuver in/out of. Will absolutely return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$32
This truly is an exceptional park. The layout and spaces were configured by someone who knew something about RV's. All sites are large and hookups are very well situated. Restrooms are kept spotless and showers are as clean as ours are at home. The pool area and hot tub are easily accessable and comfortable to use. We feel very secure here. This is a park to put on your must visit list if you are ever in the Tucson/Benson/Tombstone area. While the parks cleanliness and amenities are wonderful the management goes out of their way to make you feel like you are at home and not just visiting. Park owners and managers should take notice that this is how a RV park and resort should be operated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$23
This is a beautiful park. Clean and well maintained. At check-in, I was given a tour of pool, spa, clubhouse, laundry, restrooms, etc. The exercise room had new equipment and an massage lounge chair. There are 5 computers available to guests, plus a dial-up port, plus wi-fi. It is only $4 per day and, evidently, works just fine. Beautiful sunsets and quiet. Trains are everywhere in the west. Try living near an air force base! This is a delightful park. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2005
$25
I wouldn't call this a resort, but it is a decent place to stay. They have friendly staff, good paved roads, and there are some activities offered. The biggest problem we encountered was the gravel pull-through sites that are up front. They are difficult to get into because, although they are wide enough, the actual pads, drop off on one side. On the other side, there are trees. If you get too close to the trees, you can't open your slides. If you get too far the other way, you fall off the slope in the site and can't get level, even with three layers of levelers. We had to change sites three times and finally settled for a back-in site. Because of this, we would probably not go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2005
$25
This is a beautiful park and very well-maintained. Unfortunately, we camped in tent trailers and the railroad tracks are nearby. All night, every night, trains blasting their horns woke us up, sometimes as often as three times an hour! These horns were so loud, earplugs didn't even help. The observatory, while a very good feature, was open intermittently. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2005
$23
We were in the short term pull-through sites toward the front of the park and found our gravel site to be level and roomy enough for our 30 ft class A. Good roads and easy access to the park and the site. The office staff was friendly and helpful. They have propane and are are a short walk from a good grocery store. The laundry was small but clean, pool looked nice but we did not use it. Bathrooms and showers were clean and well maintained. It was cloudy during our stay so we did not have an opportunity to visit the observatory. We really enjoyed a day trip to Fort Huachuca while we were here. Definitely some train noise but we'd consider staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2005
$23
Very clean park; level, well manicured sites. Dog friendly; even has a fenced in area where they can run around and do their business. Large community center with exercise room, public computer available (although it is an old slow machine and dialup, not connected to WiFi), computer lab for training classes, library. Beautiful observatory. Convenient shopping very nearby. A short drive from the freeway. Unfortunately the park is situated near railroad tracks and every passing train blows their whistles at every crossing which is annoying in the middle of the night. I would rate this park higher but I thought the sites were narrow, the WiFi was very expensive compared to other parks and I was extremely disappointed with the operations of the observatory. When checking in on a Tuesday, the hostess told me the next scheduled viewing would be Thursday evening. We only planned on staying one night. Wednesday morning, while walking the dogs, I heard the observatory closing. The operator told me I just missed viewing the moon and Saturn. He confirmed that the next viewing would be Thursday evening so we decided to stay 2 additional nights. No one could explain why the observatory was not made available more often. On Thursday, late afternoon, the operator decided to cancel the evening viewing session because there were a few clouds in the sky. As it turned out, the clouds were gone at the scheduled viewing time but the observatory remained closed. Very disappointing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Nice clean park located away from crowded bigger cities. A good spot for a base camp to visit Tucson, Tombstone and surrounding areas. They have been working on wifi for some time now but it still in not in operation. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
A really nice park operated by some of the kindest and most courteous people we have encountered. Plenty of room and excellent facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Very well-cared for RV park. Personable, friendly hosts. Would highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Excellent park, located near the Safeway grocery store, Radio Shack, Ace Hardware, etc. About 1 week away from completion of WiFi installation. Very clean park, lots of activities. Friendly! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com