219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Chena River Wayside State Recreation Site was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (907) 451-2695
CGID10513

Chena River Wayside State Recreation Site

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   10   8   3   9   9   8   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
Nice state park in downtown Fairbanks. Sites were good sized and clean. Convenient to amenities in city. Some road noise, but not too bad. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
The entrance is no longer on University, it's been moved around the corner to 3530 Geraghty Av, The park was closed, but in the process of getting things hooked up when we drove in. The happy host went out of his way to make sure we had water and electricity. (It was just turned on.) There was snow everywhere and the dump station was frozen up. We were the first RV campers of 2013. Nice and quiet in a forest. You would not suspect it's in the middle of the city. There were caribou or moose droppings all through the camp. We stayed two nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$17
After the first night, we dry camped. For $17, you can't beat it. Pretty setting, although in the middle of Fairbanks you feel you are in the country: woods, river, and quiet. Walking distance to grocery stores. Easy access to everything in Fairbanks. We used this campground for 5 nights, and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Nice campground and great host. I happened to mention to the host that it appeared some people looked like they were here more permanent than maybe just passing through. He replied: funny you mentioned that. There are some we are working with to move them along due to the fact we have a 15 day stay limit, and they have extended their stay. Even though this was the case, it presented no problems to our stay. We had a inner site which buffered the outside noise. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
This is a great park, the sites were terrific with lots of room and the location was superb. However, the camp host was absolutely horrible. He was not a host, he was a money-taker and rule maker and enforcer. (We did not break any rules, this was just his attitude and persona). The rating is given because of this. We would stay here again, IF there was a different host. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Stayed here for the solstice and the Midnight Sun baseball game. Peaceful park in the middle of town, but it felt like we were in the country. Close to everything. Stayed one night in a commercial park and it paled in comparison. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
This was the fourth place we camped in Alaska and the FIRST one that made us feel that we were actually camping: trees, shrubbery, nature, fire ring, privacy between units (except for the sites that were designed for groups). We didn't get a site with hookups because the few of them were already taken, so it would be really nice if the campground management put a few more in. The mosquitos were pretty bad, as we expected. But were surely much worse with increasing days of summer (no fault of the campground). No internet, no TV, but an incredible sense of being in the mountains camping yet right here in the city! We really really liked this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Enjoyed our stay here. Nice base for visiting Fairbanks. Pros: Large, wooded sites. Good roads. Close to town. Wi-Fi works and good TV reception. Cons: In traffic pattern for Fairbanks International and just off a busy expressway. Kind of noisy, but quiets down by 10:00 p.m. or so. Also, no sewer connections. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
We were surprised to find a State Park in the middle of Fairbanks. Our site had electric/water and was wooded with distance and vegetation between campsites to provide privacy. All sites had a table and fire pit. We were located on the Chena River with a boat ramp and also an easy walk to grocery stores and we ate at Brewsters around the block which was a little expensive but good. The campground has a bath house with running water and flush toilets but no showers. It also has a dump and water for refill. The campground is under the flight pattern for Fairbanks Airport but the noise was not too disruptive. My sons had to catch an early flight on the second morning so the location was convenient for them and a taxi picked them up early at our camp site. We visited on Labor Day Weekend and Pioneer Park was fairly deserted. We drove to North Pole, AK and Santa's House which was really a tourist trap but I must admit it was fun. We parked the RV and walked around Fairbanks and I had not imagined it being that small. Most everything was closed for the holiday. We were able to get a few TV channels but most of all wanted to see an aurora which we were not fortunate to see. We also had WiFi and even caught a clear glimpse of Mt. Denali and the Alaskan Range on an elevated bridge. The only complaint I have is the former campers of our site let their dog do his/her thing around the picnic table which resulted in our having to clean and fumigate our shoes and door mat into the RV. How rude and inconsiderate! Other than that our stay at Chena River is a memorable one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Good location for exploring Fairbanks. Pleasant park. It's under the flight path for an airport. Limited number of sites for a 40' MH. Spacious sites, though. Pleasant host couple. Grocery stores nearby (Fred Meyer and Safeway). Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
This is a nice spacious RV park in the middle of Fairbanks. Its a old state park and the sites are heavily treeded between each site. There are two types of available sites: electric (some with water) ($28), and no hookups ($17). We ended up in a no hookup site. But since we plan to pull out and do things in town, thats fine. Easy in and out and thereas a dump station and fresh water available. WiFi is available and we are on line now. You can pull in about 12 TV channels on your TV antenna too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This campground has a convenient location in the middle of town. There are ten electrical hookups (one has 50-amp) with water. There are flush toilets but no showers. It is on the Chena River. It has a boat ramp and dump station.The sites are spacious with nice vegetation between. Our 40' motorhome and car fit easily. There is a park host on site. It is on 221 University Ave., one block north of Airport Way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$19
Very good location, when visiting Fairbanks. Large sites, with good interior roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com