214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Shawnee Campgrounds was rated 9 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (785) 291-2634
CGID1166

Lake Shawnee Campgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   8   10   8   9   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$14
As others have mentioned, a nice park conveniently located to SE Topeka. Looks like a popular local gathering place. Definitely a good value for the money. A nearby treasure is Lonnie's BBQ. Look it up. It's incredible. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
We are local residents who occasionally use this campground for a get away. Its nice here and the park hosts are always friendly. As is true with most campgrounds, some sites are much nicer than others with water views and nice quiet areas. We have our favorite spots, but would stay here even if we couldn't get the site that we wanted. This is a park run by a municipality and is typical, but its wide open and friendly and we like it here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
What a lovely county park! Water and electric with 30 and 50 amp service. Level gravel sites on a lake in a very clean park. Friendly management. County security trucks circled the park frequently. Few campers at this time of year, so dropping in without a reservation during the week was easy. Good birding. A surprise was 4 hot air balloons launching from the park in the late afternoon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$17
What a great campground. Sites are gravel with gravel between you and the next rig, but grass behind the rig. The Campground is in a large park with the lake, paved walking paths, a beach and golf course. No sewer, but a large easy access dump station is available. $17 is the senior rate. Otherwise $18. Convenient to Topeka. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$17
This is a beautiful park. There is no sewer hookups, but the dump station is conveniently located. The sites are directly on the lake. There's a golf course, paddle boat rental, and so much more. We were only going to stay for 2 nights and extended our stay to 5. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
Big park, small campground. Sites gravel with some overhang in the back for our 40 ft motorhome. We had 50 amp electric and water no sewer. That was fine as we only stayed one night. Good overnight stop on hwy 70 going east and west. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
Very nice publicly owned campground on Lake Shawnee. Site was level but sloped to the rear, room for slides and awnings. We stayed in a 30 amp site and the restrooms by these sites appear to be relatively new and air conditioned. Nice laundry room in each restroom building too. Campground has its own swim area, but each site can get 4 passes to the public swim area which has slides, water trampoline and water fountains. Our kids had a blast at the public swim area. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$8
We stopped here on our way back home because we wanted to see the National Monument (Brown vs the Board of Education) and the Historical Museum. We spent only 2 nights here and our day was full. Next time we will spend more time in this very delightful park. It is everything the previous posters have said: a wealth of things to do, a beautiful walking trail and lake, clean facilities, level sites with a picnic table, shelters, golf, disc golf, etc. Sunset over the lake is stunning and you can begin your day with a short walk along the trail which is right there. The sites lack a sewer but across the street is a clean wide dump station. It is close to the highway so is a nice on/off drive. I wish more towns would have such facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
Only reason to give a 9 is there are no sewer hookups. Great kept secret that should be known about. The local people should be proud of this park being that it is only a County park. If you are close by be sure to camp here and give your view. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
This is a city park extraordinaire. The campground is lovely and quiet and right on the lake. The only minus, and the reason for a 8 and not 10, is that there aren't sewer hookups. Also, the sites are close together which is only an issue if the campground is full. Laundry is available in both shower houses. The shower house that I used was climate controlled (central AC is nice in humid Kansas). There is an 8 mile walking trail around the entire lake, which has many hills (all of Kansas isn't flat) and gorgeous scenery. On the west side there is a botanical garden area with covered bridge and gorgeous landscaping which shouldn't be missed if you're there during the summer. Also available is a golf course, boat ramps, beaches, tennis courts, heated fishing dock. And all the conveniences of everything you might need to buy in Topeka. We camped four days and LOVED it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$19
Lake Shawnee CG is a nice campground, but with the economy the way it is, it is really starting to attract a less than stellar crowd. A lot of late night partying so if you're looking for some sleep be careful of the spot you pick. One bathroom is newer and has A/C. The park personnel keep both of them clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
All around a lovely park. It had clean bathrooms, nice scenery on a lake, plenty of stores nearby, ability to get a satellite signal, hiking trails, friendly staff and easy access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
Great county park. Not far from the interstate, I mean the Kansas Toll Road. The park was very well cared for. The majority of the sites are back in and have a lake view. They simply spread gravel along the side of the paved row and then marked sites. There is no grass in between and the sites would be pretty close together if full. Many sites are pretty shallow so big rigs would have to unhook. They do have a few pull throughs but they do not have much of a view. We really enjoyed our stop and the price was just right. The bath house was great and they also had a really nice playground area with a lot of open green space. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
This is a very nice city park! I marked yes on the pool, because they have an adjoining water park. There is an 18 hole golf course. Special fishing lake for Handicapped access, and fishing for kids. There are no sewers, but the dump station is very accommodating. I can't think of enough good things to say about this park, for overnight, or weeks long camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
We spent two nights camping here over Memorial Day weekend. Very comfortable, quiet, beautiful campground with swimming beach and lots of shade. Laundry, clean restrooms/showers and close proximity to shopping add to the comfort. Paved roads and level, paved/gravel sites are well maintained. I can't think of any negatives to this beautiful little campground on a lovely little lake. Fishing and boating are permissible although there are a lot of "no wake" areas on the lake. We loved this place and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$15
Bought my first trailer near by and stayed here for four days learning how to use everything. Beautiful park overlooking the lake. Clean, well maintained. Park police patrol frequently, they are friendly but keep an eye on potential problems. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$19
This is a county owned campground, and is very nice. We stayed there to celebrate a birthday, and had a lovely party at their new shelter house, which is adjacent to one of the bathhouses. Sites almost all backup to the lake, but many are on a quiet cove. There is also a swimming beach within the CG, as well as a boat & fishing dock. If you are going to boat, however, you must obtain a lake permit. Very nice place, with lots of open area to enjoy. Shady sites, but if the place is full, they might be a little close together. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$15
This camp ground is located a couple of miles North of I-70. Very Clean, One remodeled bath house (beautiful) and one newly constructed bath house with shelter house attached (very nice). Staff very friendly. CG very clean. Inside roads paved. Some paved sites and some gravel. Sites are back-in. Electric 20/30/50. Water at each site. Dump station located just outside front gate. Also stayed there in 2002 and will stay there again. $1.00 discount/night age 62 and older. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com