223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Martin Dies JR. State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (409) 384-5231
CGID12218

Martin Dies JR. State Park

Camp Information
Sites
182
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   9   8   9   9   9   9   10   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
Host in site 67 is VERY NOISY! Otherwise would have rated this park much higher! With a more considerate host this park would be a wonderful, quiet place to stay. Showers are clean, but have torn, crummy curtains, if any at all. Rangers are polite and helpful, sites are far enough apart to be private. But again, noisy host (large voices and radio that can be heard 4 and 5 sites away!). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Only thing that can improve this park is reservations by site number (which a pilot program is in place at Lake Livingston State Park) and sewer hook ups. We love this park. Hiking trails are always great and sites are beautiful and spacious. The kids love renting a canoe and cruising the lake. We also enjoy fishing from the piers for perch and bird watching. This is a great park. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
Spring break week with our 1,2,4 year olds. Clean, well maintained park. Several piers to fish from. Boat ramp with small floating dock. Playground had swings only. Everybody seems to kayak/canoe, but we didn't with our little ones. Lake entry accessible from most lakefront sites. Spacious level sites. Friendly staff. We will definitely go back and kayak/canoe when the kids get bigger. Guided kayak tour available on a schedule. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$15
We found site 5 near a beautiful, reflective slough to be perfect for us and level. We're the only folks in this 36 site loop. The trails led us to numerous birds, but especially numerous woodpeckers. The ranger who checked us in gave us lots of information. We spent nearly a half hour with him and learned lots. Very few people are here after the "long weekend", so it's peaceful and quiet. The sloughs are filled with cypress trees and the woods with oak, beech, and pine trees. A real nature preserve filled with interesting flora and fauna. We'd come back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$15
While the park may accept "big rigs", not every site is "big rig" friendly. A gentleman next to me had trouble negotiating a 24 ft 5th wheel into a pull through site. Our site, #29, was very unlevel and since we were only there for one night, we ultimately settled on a little more nu-levelness than usual. The park does have a lot of trails, neat and clean, very friendly staff in the office. Quiet at night. Will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
Overall: This place has it all -- great lake swimming, plenty of trails and easy biking, nice smooth roads, bathrooms w/ showers (fair quality/cleanliness), fishing spots, canoes, decent spacing on sites. This is our favorite/ most-visited spot to camp. The Good: Lake Steinhagen is great for campers. Great sandy beach swimming. Plus a few piers and bank spots to fish from. Plenty of trails... great for hikes and bikes. Plenty of trees and shade over camp sites. Rent a canoe for $20 per day and explore the cove (gators here) and Steinhagen Island (geo-caching there). The shelters are great, and the camper sites are OK. The Bad: Not much to report here... Bathrooms/showers are not bad, but the shower drains always overflow so can be a bit nasty to wade through the water. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$16
This is a very pleasant campground, with mostly level sites and plenty of good hiking (and canoeing, if desired). There is no Wi-Fi, but Verizon reception is good. The only negative factor is that you have to visit the park headquarters on the south side of the highway before you can camp on the north side, which adds time and could be bothersome for a long rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$18
This is one of our favorite State Parks. Sites are very large with plenty of space between campsites. We stayed in site #98, had to level one side of the trailer about 3 inches. Most sites have some shade, but trees and utilities are not extremely close so slide outs are not a problem. The park has several hiking trails and lighted fishing piers. There are two sides to this park for camping, both are very nice and well kept. The park host in each camping loop has firewood you can purchase; they also keep the loops very clean between campers. Canoe rentals are available in the park, and the nature center had a snake exhibition on Saturday. The closest Walmart is about 11 miles away, but there is an Exxonmobile within a few miles with diesel and a small store. This park is a "10" in our opinion despite the lack of sewer connections. Also, the fall colors are beginning to change; should be really nice from mid-November for a couple of weeks. We will be returning to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
Rate reflexes having purchased a state park pass that cover entrance fees. Would be a 10, but lacks sewer connection. Camped in Hen House Ridge Unit in the back-in sites area. More spacious and scenic as right on the lake, than the pull-thru area. Spent two wonderful afternoons riding bikes in park. Easy to ride to Walnut Ridge Unit which is on the other side of the highway. Distance is short and highway shoulders very wide. Fewer people in Walnut Ridge area and it appears to have been especially hard hit by Hurricane Rita. Nature trails in Walnut Ridge Unit are still clogged with downed trees. Grassy tent area along lake front in Hen House Ridge Unit look very appealing. Excellent cell phone and airdate card reception. Midweek we practically had the place to ourselves. Quiet but for the frogs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
The lake which has been mostly dry for some time has been refilled by the recent heavy rains. The vegetation that has been submerged is now decaying which gives off a sewer smell which is quite strong near the water, so we did not rent the available canoes. The park was hit hard by hurricane Rita in 2005, so some of the electricity, at the camp sites, has not been restored. Many of the trees were knocked down during the hurricane, and some areas look like a lumbering operation has taken place. The swimming area needs to be cleaned of submerged vegetation to be more inviting. In spite of these drawbacks, the park was well mowed and the restrooms were very clean. The park staff was very helpful. We stayed two days and had the park mostly to ourselves as there were only about 3 or 4 other campers and was extremely quiet. I cannot comment on the fishing but can say that 5 alligators stayed in the slough near our camp. Bird watchers will like the park as we saw many kinds of birds including bluebirds. The magnolia trees are also blooming at this time. We camped in the Henhouse Ridge campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$16
Have been to this park numerous times and always enjoyed it. Good state park and the folks try to take very good care of it. Lots of available activities including a 2 mile hike/bike trail and a lake with swimming area, canoeing/kayaking (which are rentable) and play areas. This was a well kept secret that has gotten out so reservations are usually needed. We will be back (again) soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$15
I have been going to this park since 1972. The setting is nice. There are a lot of trees and most of the sites have good spacing. I do not like the showers. They seem dirty and do not provide privacy. The lake is choked with water hyacinth. Fishing from the bank is almost impossible. The lake is muddy and warm in the summer. Boats come very near and into the swimming area and I have seen aligators there also.Over the years I have seen this park deteriorate. Probably due to heavy use and not enough money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$14
Pretty park in the Piney woods of east Texas. I have gone to this park for years since I was a kid to fish and camp with my parents. There are trails to hike, canoes to rent, boat ramps, great fishing, shelters available, and 2 with AC. Lots of wildlife and provisions in Jasper. There are 2 branches to the park: Hen House Ridge and Walnut Ridge. We always stayed in Henhouse Ridge but the swimming area is in Walnut Ridge. Great place to go with the family. Almost vacant during the weekday but make reservations if you plan to go ont he weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com