219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Martin Lake Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 46 user reviews. Phone: (228) 875-9157
CGID12353

Martin Lake Resort

Camp Information
Sites
145
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   7   2   6   7   6   5   5   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2014
$36
We originally reserved a spot in this RV "Resort" for 4 nights. After parking our RV and looking around, I immediately went to the Office and changed our reservation to only 1 night and asked for a refund of the other nights. They were cooperative with this. How they can call this place "A Resort" is beyond me. The park is filled with many people who live there year round, and do Not maintain their sites or their property. The site next to us was dirty, and a broken-down car with flat tires parked in front of it. The sites are extremely close together, and I definitely did Not feel safe here. If they want to have permanent residents in the park, perhaps they should separate them into "one section" of the park where they can gather their junk and keep their sites as messy as they want. The staff was friendly and cooperative in allowing us to leave after one night, but they need to clean up the park. And Please Note: There is only 1 pull-thru in this RV "Resort" which you can only reserve for one night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$22
If we had read the previous review with a rating of 2 we never would have stopped for the night here. Glad we camped here! The office staff was super friendly and we got the pull-through site. Long level site. Other residents very friendly. We saw no loose dogs. Maybe since it was January the seasonal people were not in residence; it is obviously a very busy place in the summer months as it is a membership campground with a lake with paddle boats, a large playground for children, miniature golf, and a pool. We would stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
This was the worst RV park experience ever. We paid for two nights and stayed only for one without trying for a reimbursement. The place looks great when you first drive in, but afterwards it is a great disappointment. The roads are very narrow, the sites very small, and you are surrounded by dumpy looking trailers with trash all around them. Two dogs were running loose when we first arrived. There are refugees from junkyards parked in the back. We were accosted by a homeless person chatting us up and telling us her life story. Beware of the golf cart nazi, who gave us dirty looks when we went slightly over the 5mph speed limit, because we had left something on the stove while doing laundry. We felt very uncomfortable and not safe. Cable TV stations were hard to see. Bad reception. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
Our PA rate (with cable/WiFi which is $2.00 extra) was $24 and change, with tax. When the PA website said they had pull through spaces, I requested one. I was told that they only had 1 which I verified when we walked the park. They like to keep it available in case a large unit arrives after hours. We were only 36' plus a truck so we didn't qualify. We saw maybe 2 units that didn't live here full time, plus us made 3. The park is more than half full with full time live in units. Only one restroom/shower house and it is by the pool. If you need to use it, it's quite a walk. Not a "bad" park but I wouldn't come back unless it is for the convenience of being right off the interstate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$12
Rate is the Passport America rate. Nice park and staff are great. Love the exotic ducks that roam around the park--very tame and never noisy. Our first site had a terrible drainage problem and we were able to change to another site without any problem at all. Now for the negative: It is the condition of the long term residents' sites. All sorts of junk around, ramshackle decks and tarps hanging over the patio areas. I think the park owners should make them tidy up their spaces or get out! Not sure if we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$15
This was an RPI campground for us and we paid $15 per night and then $2 a night each for cable and 50 amp service. People were very friendly checking us into this busy campground. They were not knowledgeable about the things to see as a tourist but that might be explain that they were crazy busy when we arrived. The camp has a nice pool and hot tub. Our site was fairly level with a picnic table. I have rated them lower due to the number of people allowed in there for long periods of time with trashy looking areas. There is junk and trash all over the site. If it was cleaned up it I would have given a better impression. They had a problem with theft a row over from us when someone stole a marine battery and out of another person's rig. We will probably use it again as a one night stay as the price is right. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
Had I known this was a Coast to Coast park before I arrived, I would have chosen a different park. Made reservations over the phone for 2 nights but only stayed 1. The whole campground seems to be run down. Streets are very narrow, all sites are back-in, restrooms are disgusting! The only good thing about this park is that it has a working hot tub. Will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Modern park. Mainly folks who live here. Some motorcycle noise. Concrete sites, but some have large drop offs. Be careful. Lots of geese and ducks wandering around which was nice. About 10 minutes to the "strip" at Biloxi. Sites a little tight. WiFi was good. Rate is Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$24
The rate reflects Passport America discount. Many long term residents with not so neat and clean sites. Congested! It had recently rained and all sites were either muddy or had standing water. Staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$22
This Resort is designed for family fun, and there are many things to do that keep families coming here. The staff was refreshing as they allowed us to participate in our site selection. Wi-Fi was good. Restrooms and Showers are very clean and have plenty of hot soft water. Another plus is the mat in the shower. The showers need a soap tray in the shower area, clothes hooks and a mat in the dressing area, and a simple closure to the dressing area to rate a 10. We choose this park because of its easy access to I-10 and away from the traffic and train noise in the downtown area; great for an over nighter or a few days. It is quiet and well kept. Rate is PA rate, 30 amp, cable, plus tax. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$24
The roads are narrow, and the speed bumps certainly slow you down. There isn't a lot of room between sites, but what there is, is grass. The staff is very friendly, and the sites are angled such that there was little problem backing in our 40 ft 5th wheel. The rate I posted was the Passport America rate and includes 50 amp and cable TV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
Nicely kept park. We had no trouble parking our small travel trailer. All of the ground that was not paved was grass. The laundry facility was good. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
This is an older park with very narrow streets and RV sites that are very close together. We were fortunate to get one of the few pull-through sites so we did not have to deal with backing in our 40 foot rig. The actual hook-ups all worked OK. There were many old and decrepit RVs and trailers stored nearby, giving the park a rather desperate and unattractive look. There are a number of recreation facilities in the park, which we did not use. Due to the difficulty in navigating the narrow streets with our admittedly long RV, I would avoid staying here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
Got in late (9:30 p.m.) without a reservation, and security guard arrived quickly at the office area and took us to a site. It was a back-in, and it took only about 5 minutes for him to direct my husband into the site. Lots of permanent residents, and outside areas are not very neat. But location was great. They had a very nice playscape area for kids. Pool area looked okay. Did not check out the lake area, laundry rooms or showers. Husband used shower facilities, so guess it was okay. Nice office staff. We stayed for 3 nights, but probably would not stay here again except for overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$10
Rate was with Coast to Coast membership. Stayed here for an overnight stop. Wi-Fi worked good. Site was concrete back in that is well angled and easy to back into. A little narrow, but good for overnight. Site was just long enough for me to leave the truck hooked up (32') fifth wheel with crew cab long bed truck. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
An OK park to spend a night or two. Speed bumps very annoying. Internet was spotty. Required to pay $2/night for cable even though didn't use. Bathrooms were old, but clean. Very friendly/helpful staff. Only one pull-through. Very convenient location and quiet. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
Membership park. Rate reflects Passport America rate. Sites are ok and paved. Nice area with lake. Decent Internet. Internal roads are very narrow and have many incredibly high road blocks across (they call 'em speed bumpers, but they are extremely high). I have nothing against speed limits and normal speed bumpers, but this is unreal here. There are about 40 ugly looking FEMA trailers stored right next to the RV sites. I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$10
This park is part of our Coast to Coast membership parks. We had a nice cement pad, however, there are a lot of spots that are just grass or need pad replacement. The speed bumps are annoying. There are way too many and they are too high. The laundry room needed to be cleaned. The staff was very nice. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
Nice playground, nice lake and picnic area, nice cabins and pool. Great area for dog to run. Once you turn the corner where the campers are it's downhill from there. Many FEMA trailers, decks, fridges, toaster ovens and filing cabinets, OUTSIDE! Many trailers are trashy, falling apart. Did not feel things were safe. Our view (on last street) was a graveyard of old abandon campers. Was pressured to buy membership from several thousand down to 1000. Glad we declined. Campsites are close to each other. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Easy access, very wide spaces, some double wide, close to I-10, on a lake, very nice. My only suggestion would be that some of the RVs that people live in permanently are very run down an need to either be fixed or removed. Also, the speed bumps are way too big! Nice place, we'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
Lots of permanent rigs. Nice level concrete sites. They cut grass today. Got grass all over site and never blew it off. Pool half empty. No shade. Easy on off I-10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$14
This is a membership park. We camped with Coast to Coast. Additional charges for mandatory cable and 50 amp service. Wide paved roads and sites with full paved patios. Sites at good angle for easy parking. Some slightly tight turns and annoying speed bumps. 2 sewer hookups at most sites. Clean park and pleasant staff. Lake on property with swimming area. We will return again. Wi-Fi intermittent at some sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2011
$28
When we arrived we were assigned a lot that had someone in it. Had to go back to office for re-assignment. Staff seemed annoyed that we asked to pick our lot. Basically told us to figure it out. RV area is more like a salvage yard with old, obviously abandoned RVS around as well as old cars around the RV sites. There are no areas to walk your pets, especially if you have a mid size to large pet. The speed bumps were awful. Seems like the staff was more worried about their grass than the patrons staying here. Would not recommend! We were ready to get out of here, that is for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
Pet friendly means you can be camped between dogs on both sides. The cable TV at our site did not work and they did nothing about it. Interior roads are very narrow and have huge speed bumps. We used our Passport America card for $22.00. Next time we would stay at the Gulf Islands National Seashore campground for $8.00. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
I have mixed feelings about this place and had a hard time rating it. Price reflects a membership discount. This is our second time here as an overnight stop along I-10. It is much better than a Wal-mart. We camped in the newer section on the east side, which has concrete paved roads, concrete pads and 50 amp hookups. The older section near the front of the park, had gravel pads and 30 amp hook ups. I got a verbal report (complaint) that the old section floods badly in the rain. I really like paved roads and pads. However, the turns here are especially tight. And, there are a lot of seasonal and permanent residents and the overall feel of the park is rather shabby. The utilities worked fine. Pads are dead level. Wi-Fi access required giving the park our MAC ID number, a serious security breach, which we did not do. Instead we used our air card modem. Cell signal was very strong. Highway noise from I-10 is just a hum in the background. We camped here the same times last year. The weather was warmer and I caught several bass in the private (no license required) fishing lake. The pool and hot tubs were closed on both occasions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$24
On our return trip to Biloxi, to save a few dollars, we stayed here instead of one of the parks near the beach . Big mistake! The back half of both of our sites were under water. We could not even get to the sewer connection. At check-in we were told that, because we got the P.A. discount, there could be no refunds so we thought "it's just two nights and the water will probably subside". It didn't. Very strange Wi-Fi system. This is the only place I've ever seen that required me to give them my computer's IP address so they could "hook me up" with Wi-Fi. This, of course, leaves my computer vulnerable to anyone who gets that code. I thought this isn't the smartest thing to do but I needed access, so I gave it to them. After thinking it over I decided not to turn my computer on at all. Now, here's the kicker! On the second evening I got cursed-out by one of the "seasonals" for having my car "going the wrong way" at the laundry building. I know it's not the manager’s fault if one of the residents gets asinine but the self appointed meter-maid's home site was one of many "seasonals" that were littered with trash and that IS a sign of poor management. Next time in Biloxi we'll go back to the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
Called ahead to reserve a site for one night and arrived in the dark and pouring rain. A very nice person met us at the entrance to guide us to our site. Not as easy as it sounds since the park is very small with narrow roads, tight turns,and speed humps that will jar your false teeth right out of your mouth. We have a 38ft MH pulling a tow dolly with a former semi truck driver at the wheel. The driver is experienced with maneuvering a large rig in tight situations but could not make a turn in the park without unloading the car off the tow dolly. The problem is not necessarily the layout of the park but the vehicles parked in the grass area along the road way. One vehicle in the way created a situation whereby the rig could not swing wide enough. We probably won’t stay here again only for that reason, it’s too risky to try to bring a big rig in to the park. Otherwise, this is a very nice park with concrete roadways and pads, well taken care of, friendly staff, on site miniature golf, a pretty lake, nice pool, separate laundry room, cute rental cabins and a small play area for the children. The negatives, in addition to the tight turn are no trees, sites are very close together, and the storage area looks like a junk yard. For assistance at night, finding the place is not easy either so look for the electric substation on the left and the small (tiny) red and white sign on the right hand side of the road. Turn left on Parker just past the substation on to a narrow two lane residential street with no shoulders. The park is about a quarter mile on the left. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
Neat place. Staff was friendly. Kids loved the baby pool and the led multi-color pool lights. The bathrooms were clean and recently remodeled, but some of the work was coming undone. The bath house was clean although some people were smoking in them despite the no smoking sign. Lake was real cool. The place did have a high level old campers that looked as if people permanently lived in them. People were nice and security patrolled often. Dont speed on the road going to it as I saw several people get pulled over. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$12
This could be a very nice campground if it were managed right. Too many full time residents with all their stuff stashed outside the trailer makes the place look trashy. The roads are narrow and the sites short, but it was roomy enough for our 32 ft fiver and (barely) our truck. The Wi-Fi was down. The lady at the check in desk was not friendly but all business. This was OK for an overnighter, but I wouldn't want to stay here more than that. We stayed on RPI (Resort Parks International) which was supposed to be $10 but there was a $2 mandatory cable TV fee. Cable was worth the extra bucks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
We are members there and tried to stay on two different times. We where told we could not stay. We had a friend there so we called to see if it was full, they said no. They said the place looks like a junk yard. The staff was not friendly to customers and it was just going down. Maybe we will try again later. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$11
We camped at this location for 2 nights, the park overall is in very good shape. The WI-FI was down at the time & we didn't get the impression that their was much of a hurry to get it back up. When it is up it is free. Their have been complaints about narrow spaces. The entrance to the sites are a bit narrow but the spaces themselves are quite sufficient. I backed into our space with a 38' motorhome without any problems. Would we stay their again? Yes. Only hopefully if & when we do they have the WI-FI up & working again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
This is a good family campground with paddle boats, swimming pool, lake swim area, and fishing. Good place for a few nights. There were quite a few permenant residence at this campground but they all seemed to be very nice. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$10
We camped here under Coast to Coast and the only thing good about it, other than the price, was the cement pad. There were many speed bumps going into the site and they are too high. If you have a low riding Motorhome or tow, take my word for it, you're going to scrape the bottom of your vehicle. About eighty percent of the campers are long term, one even said that she had been there for nine years. When it rains, water stands all around your site and goes no where. It's better suited for the ducks and rats (and they are big ones) that roam around. The staff acted as if you were a fly on the wall and dismissed you. Don't think we'll be staying here again no matter what the price. We camped here in May 2009. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
Very tight for a large rig. Back in sights are very close together. Great lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$14
Great location, just off I-10 and close to Biloxi. The only negative was when it rained, the park developed rivers between the sites. There appeared to be many long-term residents or FEMA occupants but as a whole the park was very clean, and safe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
I would strongly discourage anyone from staying in this park. For one, they are not set up well: Their water and electric hookups are at the wrong end of the space for the direction you're put in and it is an enormous pain if you have a large trailer. If you are a contractor DO NOT stay here. My husband's company moved him to another job after we had only been there one night and the park REFUSED to give us any kind of refund (we paid right under $500)! Not only that, but they kept giving us the run around, "wait until this person comes back," "only the owner can give refunds." Finally, the owner said he needed to speak with another employee and we had to wait some more, only to have his secretary (or whatever) say he was gone when the person we were waiting on got there! The people are extremely unpleasant and unwilling to work with you on any level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
Passport America Rate. Arrived 5 min after 5:00 PM and found the office closed, and no one around to check in. Asked around and was told by monthly campers to pick an empty site and settle up in the morning. This place was fairly full but had empty sites. Roads are tight and not designed for big rigs. No telephone and the bathrooms are clean but in need of total rebuild. TV and Wi-Fi were very good. Has a nice rec hall and lake nearby. When I went to pay they were surprised I was here and said they were a private camp and that I should have contacted their security prior to setup. No phone available or after hours instructions to do this. No mention of this on Passport America page. Recommend you book prior to your stay if you wish to avoid some rudeness. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$10
A nice lake with a walking trail and free paddle boats. The restrooms were clean but a lot of pooling up of water and no separate area to change your cloths. We had a very difficult time backing up our 38' fifth wheel into a space. It turns out some of their roads are wider than others and they set us up on one that was impossible. We had to go in and ask for a new spot and the gal at the counter was downright rude (after staying here I found the rest of the workers seem pleasant). The concrete they poured is just wide enough for a camper with no room for error; unless you get one of the 50amp sites in the last row. Wifi works well and the miniature golf course is nicely laid out - just needs a little work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
The price was Passport America for the entire 5 days. The positives are the lake, paddle boats, and mini golf for free. The free wifi was very sporadic in the areas away from the office. The spa was broken the entire time we were there. here are a lot of permanent residents and there homes are just adequate. The place is safe and there is security. It is just an average place but probably better in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$21
This was a decent campground. I was skeptical, as I had read some negative to scathing reviews (particularly how customers had been treated by the owner) before my first visit. The park was neat and clean. The pool and lake were also attractive. Office staff were pleasant and helpful. Passport rate is reasonable for a park of this caliber. I will continue to stay here twice a season as long as I am treated as well as I was on this initial stay! The Wi-Fi worked well. Cable was 70+ clear channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2008
$10
The 30 amp sites were in skid row. Small pads and permanent residents with awnings out made it very difficult to get situated with slide outs. The road we were on was like a trail, dirt, potholes, and mud. This park has permanent trailers and long term winter residents who get a different rate on cable TV. We were asked to pay $2.00 per night and talked to some people who were paying only $1.00 per night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$12
RPI reservation. A nice park with good office staff who are very helpful and friendly. The spaces are long enough and wide enough for our 37ft, four slide 5'er. We caught fish in the pristine lake. Still a few Katrina RV's. The staff accepts mail and UPS, a useful perk for long time or full time RV'rs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$17
Passport America rate. Park is close to a 9, sites could be spaced further apart and the Wi-Fi was sporadic while we were there. Then it would be a 10. Improvements are ongoing and new pads were being poured while we were there. Good access to I-10 and the Biloxi coast. Park is pretty much recovered from Katrina and the riff raft is gone. By far the best coast to coast park we have been to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
The owner and office staff were very nice. The lake is beautiful and my children enjoyed the paddle boats. There are still a few "live in" campers there from Katrina, which could stand to be cleaned up and maintained. The park could use a bit of cleaning in the rear of the campground, yet renovations are continuing and the new RV pads seem to be more spaced apart. New teen center and playground are in the works for this summer. Mini golf was nice. We will be going back soon. Park is actually members only, yet has been temporarily public since Katrina. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$8
Nice Coast to Coast campground near the casinos in Mississippi. It appears they have done some repairs since we were last here 2 years ago. Several new concrete sites, nice pool with a hot tub as well as a lake with paddle boats and putt putt. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
Very nice facilities. Ten minute drive to casinos, and staff was very knowledgeable on special deals in town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com