223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Pecan Grove RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (512) 472-1067
CGID13234

Pecan Grove RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
12
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   8   8   7   9   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
Great location for Austin and Hill Country activities. The manager is very friendly and accommodating. There are only 12 sites available for overnight travelers the rest are full time residents. I would definitely stay there again. In fact, I would consider a full time spot when I retire. The only drawback is that they only take cash so have some on you when you arrive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
We chose this park on the strength of other reviews and were very happy. It is all about the location and the ability to walk or bike or bus anywhere you want to go; although, we did use our car a couple times. Temperatures were in the high 70's while we where here, and the mature pecan trees provided lots of shade. It was nice to hear the birds singing all the time. The residents here are amazingly friendly and the manager was attentive and helpful. The manager led us into the site which was long enough for our 38' RV and toad parked in front at an angle. Utilities were in good shape and worked well. Although way in the back of the park, we enjoyed strong internet connection. Chuy's Happy Hour down the street is good (free queso bar) and Thom's Market had a surprising selection of healthy food and snacks. We biked into and through Zilker Park and left our bikes out here without any problem at all. It's a funky, weird, true Austin experience. I'd say if you are at all inclined and just like to do what the locals do, then this is a great spot for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$45
Location! Location! Location! Very helpful proprietors doing business the old fashioned way - cash or check only, contact the manager via phone only (no website), his word is golden. Old, funky, and fun. Tons of great dining options within a short walk or bike ride. Plenty more options if using Austin's great bus service. Zilker Park is a 5 minute walk. Watching evening bat departure from Congress bridge is a 10 minute bike ride. Couple of block walk/ride to trails along Lady Bird Lake. As others have stated, most spaces occupied by full time residents. This is now our third day of five day stay. Every resident we have encountered has been friendly and helpful. One minor caveat - low hanging wires in many spots along Park's interior roads. Our 12'-9" high coach only tickled one wire though and that was in the middle of our space at the far back end of the Park. The manager lead the way to our spot and was very helpful in watching out for wires and tree branches along the way. This is our first, but will not be our last, trip to Austin. We would gladly stay at Pecan Grove again!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$37
Just confirming other posts. Perfect location for going to 6th St, Lamar, or Congress bars to listen to bands. Also, right next to park and bike and running trails along river. Great location. This park only has 10 spaces available to rent so call well in advance. All other spaces are full timers. They have 12 applications on file for full time and usually only have one opening every few years. Friendly mgt. and full timers. I will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$40
This is a fun and funky place, and we loved it. The good: it's a great location, with numerous restaurants, bars, and live music within easy walking distance; the residents (yes, there are quite a few permanent residents here) are friendly and interesting; and if you like shade on a hot day, the trees here are beautiful and numerous. The not as good: we didn't have getting in and out in our 31' Airstream, but we saw a large Class A that was having problems making a turn; it's cash or check only, no credit cards; they do not have a web site so getting information about the park is dependent on web sites like this one. I had heard that a stay required making reservations weeks or months in advance, but we only called ahead by one time and got a spot; maybe we just got lucky. We will be back (assuming we can get a spot). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
It's all about location on this one - you can't beat it. Extremely convenient to restaurants and most attractions in Austin. Shade is plentiful, sites are tight but manageable, water and electric are good. The park has many permanent residents, many of which play right in to the "keep Austin weird" mantra. In other parks in other cities, the "weird" element might have been a little scary, but in Austin, it's just...Austin. The park is showing signs of age, but they seem to keep up with maintenance for the most part. I just can't give this place a 9 or 10 like others. I've stayed in a "9" park before, and this doesn't approach that level. The bathrooms and showers are very dated and were cleaned once every couple days. They are very over due for an update. There is no pool or other amenities often found in a higher rated campground. But again, for what it is, and given the location, this is a worthy place to consider if your business or pleasure brings you to Austin, Texas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
This park is right in the middle of the city of Austin on Barton Springs Road which is called restaurant row. The park has a lot of permanents and only about three overnight sites so if you plan to camp here you need to call for reservations about three months ahead. You can’t reserve online. The price includes full hookups, cable, and Wi-Fi. The owners really had great suggestions of what to do etc. Sites are right next to each other. Check in was quick and so informative. There are many cute restaurants within walking distance. The city bus stops across the street and for a $1 they will drop you off and pick you up in front of the Visitor Center on 11th. The capitol, music district, museums, University of Texas all within walking distance. One can bike from the campground to one of the bike trails by using the sidewalks and it is an easy ride. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
Super location. Park kept clean. Gravel spaces. Not as noisy as expected being downtown. Friendly residents - many long timers. Will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
Location, location, location! What more can I say. This place is in a great location - close to downtown, hike/bike trail, shopping, restaurants, you name it - it's close to everything! But don't expect a pristine park. It is very quaint, tight spaces (we couldn't get our awning out more than a few feet), but the neighbors are friendly, polite, and the manager is very helpful. Most residents live there and some RVs look pretty run down. We have a 38' 5th wheel and a dulley club cab truck and they both fit snug in the space. We loved waking up every morning to the birds singing - didn't even know we were downtown Austin. We also felt extremely safe in this park. We stayed at Pecan Grove for a week and would love to be one of the permanent residents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$40
Pecan Grove RV Park will not be everyone's "cup of tea". But, if you understand, believe, or embrace the local saying, "Keep Austin Weird", or if you have a tie-dyed shirt with that slogan on it, then you will appreciate Pecan Grove! Pecan Grove RV Park is located directly across Lake Lady Bird from downtown Austin on Barton Springs Road – very convenient to Austin's music scene, Barton Springs Pool, and the location of the Annual South-By-Southwest Music Festival. It is an older RV park – a direct step back into the 1950s! There are only about 10 overnight rental spots out of over a hundred spaces. You must call at least a month or two in advance for a reservation (unless you are VERY lucky). Payment is accepted as cash or check – no credit cards. The park does not have a website, but try looking at: http://www.maliasmiles.com/texas/austin/PecanGrove.htm. The park is densely wooded with pecan trees and associated squirrels. The full-time residents are all very friendly and very eclectic – musicians, artists, writers, a clown, and a few senior citizens. You will realize this shortly after entering the park as you pass an art sculpture of a six foot high coconut tree done in green, yellow, and blue neon light tubes. There is no pool, but Barton Springs is easy walking distance. The bathhouse is again from the 1950s (cinder block construction) but is very clean. Washers and dryers are available at the north end of the bathhouse. As an older park, the overhead electric, cable, etc., lines are low-hanging, but I had no problem clearing them with my 12' 8" high fifth wheel. The spaces are definitely for older trailers – Robert assisted me in parking my 39' fifth wheel at a diagonal in space 52! The interior streets are narrow but passable. The cable TV is excellent with 68 channels and Wi-Fi reception was very strong (and free!). The park is pet friendly, but they do insist that you pick up after your pets! Many of Austin's known restaurants and music venues are within easy walking distance from Pecan Grove. The city bus ($2/day pass) stops at the entrance to the park. To access: From I-35, take the Riverside Drive exit and proceed west on Riverside. Turn left on Barton Springs Road. Once you cross Lamar Street, the park will be on your right at 1518 Barton Springs Road. To exit the park, turn right on Barton Springs Road and continue on Barton Springs through Zilker Park to MoPac Expressway. Go south on MoPac to Texas Highway 360 (left exit) to return to I-35. We will camp here again . . . soon I hope! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com