223192 User submitted reviews online!!
Deep Creek Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (301) 387-5563
CGID1342

Deep Creek Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   7   7   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$23
Quiet, surrounded by beautiful nature. Very economically priced. Staff was friendly. Down side - electric hookups are only on limited number of sites. Lots of tents. Bathrooms are clean but dark. Wish there were a dish washing stations at the bathrooms. State park beach is nice size and not overly crowded. Lots of hiking trails. Campfire rings and attached grills at every site. We enjoyed our week long stay despite losing power for several days because of a bad storm. Surrounding area full of things to do and see. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
I have always loved Deep creek Lake Maryland but had never camped there. This past July 4 we stayed at the Deep Creek Lake State Park for 5 nights prior to July 4. It was absolutely amazing! It had been hot and humid in Baltimore which is typical. Deep Creek was having a little below normal temps that week. It was around 70 most of the week with low humidity and my favorite part, very few bugs. No mosquitoes, only a few flies and lots of chipmunks running around the campsites. The chipmunks were a lot of fun to watch as we relaxed. This has been the most relaxing camping trip we've ever taken. Having the five nights helped since we had plenty of time to do all that we wanted like, hiking, fishing, boating, swimming, horseback riding and going to Swallow Falls State Park to frolic under the largest waterfall in the state of MD. There is so much to do in this area. We are already trying to put together another trip with the extended family for next year. If you love camping this is one place you MUST go. It's only a 3 hour drive from Baltimore. You can go there for a weekend but I would highly recommend longer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Nice for the kids. Clean beach with lifeguards. Friendly staff and rangers. One loop has power. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This is a beautiful place with many activities both on the premises as well as very nearby. The office is staffed by rangers who are happy to help. Some sites are newer and some are older, and likewise the toilet and shower houses. Mostly there are tent sites and smaller pads for tent trailers. The sites furthest away from the entrance offer the most space, privacy and newer facilities. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
This state park campground had the following pros: level, shaded, spacious campsites; clean bathhouses; paved roads; lots of hiking trails; and close to local attractions. The cons were as follows: limited number of sites with electric; no campstore; and had to drive to get to the lake. The campground was within walking distance to the "Discovery Center", which is a very small museum of sorts that teaches kids about animals in nature. While it was interesting, we walked through it in 15 minutes. The kids spent lots of time riding their bikes on the road and trails. We all enjoyed the hiking trails. The lake itself had so many large rocks on the bottom that you really could not swim in it. That was a disappointment because we love to swim and hang out by the lakes. The lake is really geared towards boaters. There were lots of pontoon boats, power boats, and jet skies. While you can rent a boat, it is quite pricey and really not something we wanted to do with three small children. Overall we had a good time at this campground and would certainly camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
This state campground is actually located in McHenry, MD and the major road is MD Rt 219. We stayed on the electric loop which has 26 sites. The sites consist of fine chipped limestone. Getting large RVs into the sites requires patience because of the layout. Bath houses were clean and modern. The lake beach is within walking distance and well maintained. There is a State run Discovery Center on site which has programs of interest to young and old. My only beef is that staff needs to cut back tree branches overhead and along the road. Apparently they think those that camp have nothing bigger then a pop-up camper. Oakland a larger town is approximately 10 miles south on Rt 219. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
This is a clean and affordable camping experience. Access to the beach at Deep Creek Lake was great for the children. Hiking trails and the Discovery Center were great additions to the park. I will definitely camp here again... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$30
This is a state park that is mainly for tent campers, 15 sites for RVs only. Our 36 footer barely fit and we had to take a non-RV site as all were full. Price shown is NO hookups. Very beautiful and quiet, great hiking. Restrooms and showers were superb and spotless. Would have rated it higher but for the inadequate RV accommodations. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com