220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Woody Mountain Campground & RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (928) 774-7727
CGID136

Woody Mountain Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
146
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   4   5   7   8   5   7   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
Stayed here for a week, great place. This is a real camp ground, not a parking lot with utilities. Lots of tall trees and very rustic, absolutely beautiful. One of the best things is you are minutes from down town Flagstaff. And the best thing is the staff who are some of the nicest people we have met crossing the country. We will be back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The site was in a nice wooded area but could become a mud puddle if it rained. The showers were nasty with no hot water. There is no wifi at the site. It is conveniently located to downtown and the highway. There is no highway noise but there are trains that go through constantly, no whistles We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
This is an old campground with narrow roads, dusty sites, but nice trees. There was essentially no amenities, except a store and laundry that we did not use. We are new to RVing, and found that this park was pretty sparse. It was close to town and easy to find. Host was a great help getting us set up. He found us a board to level the rig and helped us move to a better spot. All in all, I would not make this a destination spot, but is okay for a stop over to another place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
We hate pine trees! They are continuously dropping needles, branches, & chunks of bark. The wind started up early this morning and we were rudely awakened by tufts of needles, pine cones & branches pelting our 5th wheel. Pine needles were everywhere stuck in strange places in our truck & 5th wheel. I would not want to be in this camp when it rains because all sites are dirt consisting of a red dusty powder which would turn into a sticky red mud when wet. The sites tend to be small in width and length. When we opened our slides, we hung over the site next door and re-parking would not have helped. The office staff were friendly and helpful! Our cost was $31/night with the standard 11.4% tax added on - ouch! AZ will tax you to death! The camp is located close to town to take advantage of shopping and dinning. We had no road noise at night as were were in the middle of the park. Free WiFi was not available except near the office. If I was in the area again, I would find a different RV camp to stay in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34
Very nice quiet park in tall pines just west of downtown Flagstaff. The park is a little old but had everything we needed for a overnight stay on our way to the Utah National Parks. Park provided an escort to out large pull-through site (it would be hard to find without escort). Our site was at the back of the park and we did not have any road noise or railroad noise - we also did not have any Wi-Fi. The park is very close to downtown Flagstaff and the University and all of the bars and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
This campground is close to the highway so expect some road noise. There was construction going on out towards the highway so we heard a lot of that also. The people working there are real nice and eager to help with directions or town info. The Wi-Fi was not good out in the camping area so we had to go sit up close to the main building. The roads inside the campground must have experienced a big rain storm as the ruts were hard to maneuver without a big jolt. We had to attach our tow car out at a nearby gas station because of the ruts. I would probably not stay here again due to the road conditions in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
Overall a good park, very woody location which was pretty, but made for extremely narrow sites and close turns. It is on the west side of Flagstaff, a good place to day trip to Walnut Canyon, Sunset Crater, Wupatki, and Montezuma's Castle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
Very tranquil park with lots of trees (read poor satellite reception). Very dog friendly with acres of wooded area for them to explore and try to chase squirrels. Convenient to town and the I-17 to Phoenix. Fairly level sites and helpful office staff. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
This is an older family campground. With convenient access from Business I-40/ Historic U.S. 66. The site was reasonably level, and had a picnic table. It was dusty. We enjoyed our stay here, and would probably stay here again if we come this way. It was less expensive than the "Resort" campgrounds with loads of amenities that we don't usually use anyway. We would have rated it higher if they had 50 amp power and cable TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$34
Laundry is a bit more expensive than most places. Wi-fi is only available if you sit in the ‘internet café’ (office area) or maybe sites near the front. That’s a big pain. TV antennae reception and phone service is fairly limited due to all the trees. Otherwise, this has nice level spots under the large trees and is a quiet park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Lovely shaded sites in a nearly empty RV park. Piney woods. No hassle about changing sites to get out of the middle of the park and move to the back. Pull-throughs. Very quiet. Clean restrooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
GREAT STAFF!!! We will stay here again. We were close enough to the Grand Canyon but not in the heart of all the traffic. Has super clean nice showers and restrooms for a campground. If you are looking for all the entertainment of a big city, then stop camping and get a hotel or stay at a KOA. But if you want to be surrounded by nature and great people stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$34
Does have trees. Mostly has lots and lots of red dust. However, the same is true of most campgrounds in this area. If you have a dog, it will get covered in the red dust. Not really a destination park. OK for overnight. We looked at the other park, which has crushed gravel sites and roads; however, it was full. We would not stay in this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This is the best park in this area if you are self contained. Staff was friendly, and we were led to our site. There is a little "grill" but we did not try it. Internet worked great on our card, and TV was OK on antenna, even under all the trees. The showers and laundry are adequate but unappealing. But in Flagstaff to barely hear the trains is a big plus. And we weren't washed away in the monsoon rains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Overall this is an OK park. Nothing fancy for sure, but the basics are covered. It's a heavily wooded area, dirt roads and patches of what appear to be natural ground cover. I tend to appreciate the more rustic parks, so this wasn't really a problem. Yes, was VERY dusty and that dust turns to mud VERY quickly with even the smallest amount of water, so plan accordingly. The roads inside the campground are poorly marked and very tight. It seems as though the owners made every effort to leave as many trees standing as possible when creating the roads. This provides for a very nice environment, and lots of shade but it makes getting around the park very difficult. So, there's the trade-off I guess. Unless you are aided by a pack of illuminated bloodhounds, I would NOT suggest arriving here after dark. Sites are also VERY poorly marked (at night anyway) and we made at least 3 trips up and down every road before we found our site. Then we ended up pulling in to the site next to ours thinking it WAS ours and then had to back out and pull in to the correct one. The park was VERY full on the Holiday weekend and combined with how tight the spots and roads are, it made for a very cluttered park. Cars and huge trucks EVERYWHERE. All in all, this was a OK park, as I mentioned. We have a 35 foot Class-A and getting around the park was tight, but doable. I would drop your toad if you have one though. The staff is VERY friendly and helpful, the cliental here seem super nice. Everyone had nice, well kept rigs. It seems like a lot of regulars here. Fun group this weekend. We would come back and, in fact, made reservations for 2 weeks from now to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
A pleasant enough campground, with the exception of the surly woman who started our registration by informing us that there was no 50 amp for our motorhome. She handed us off to a gentleman who was very nice and completed our registration and led us to our campsite. Nice pine trees all around, but lots of dust. If you're just stopping for the night to watch TV, go elsewhere. Antenna picked up 3 stations and 2 were in Spanish. No cable TV. Wi-Fi is there but apparently only works at the front of the park. The electrical could use some work, our circuit didn't even have a breaker. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
This park is well maintained, has dirt/gravel roads and sites, and lots of trees: just what campgrounds should be like. has a very helpful and friendly staff. Office has a small store with snacks, drinks, and a sitdown sandwich shop. Hosts take you to a site. Can have full hookups, electric and water, electric only, or no hookups (but no generators allowed in this park). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
We spent four days here and really enjoyed our stay. Very remote feeling but you are less than 3 miles from the University and town. The shower, bath and laundry facilities are clean and functioning but old and worn. Utilities at the sites we saw were installed and working properly. Most of the sites require some leveling of your rig. Wi-Fi is free at the store/office along with very good and very cheap coffee! The staff were very friendly and helpful and escort you to your site. I would like to get in a "plug" for the Flagstaff RV Service Center near the mall north of town. We had a water line problem and these folks helped us out, not even charging for some small parts we needed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
This park might have been a good park in it's day. That time has passed. Many of their electrical connections are broken and laying on the ground with exposed wiring. They have no water pressure. There was a significant amount of garbage laying around. We would NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$31
We have stayed here many times over the past few years. We love the heavy trees and sounds of Elk in the woods. The most friendly staff who always escort you to your site. This time we experienced something new. We all know there are some real bad people in the world but rarely a real bad RVer. We woke up to find some one stole our waste hose. Talk about low lifes. But it was a one time incident. I would go back again and again. Try the Campus Cafe in town. Great coffee drinks, great breakfast and lunch too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
We stayed at this campground due to the reviews I had read on this site before our trip. The staff was very friendly and they escort you to your site. You can even have pizza delivered to your camper! Can't comment on showers as we did not use them and can't comment on the pool as we did not see it. We would stay again for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
I consider Woody Mountain more of a campground than a RV park, which is what we prefer. We stayed for 9 days/8 nights. It is rustic, with soil/cinder sites, and it is forested. This was our base for exploring Flagstaff, Oak Creek Canyon, Sedona, the Grand Canyon, Walnut Canyon, Sunset Crater, and Wupatki National Monument. We will make it a point to stay here again when we are in Flagstaff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
I have read the reviews of this campground. This is Arizona. There is little grass and lots of dirt and sand. This park is like being in the mountain area. Lots of pine trees, roads are dirt and rain washed. Sites are not very level. You have to drive through carefully because of the trees. Tried to get a local tv station. Could only get one and it was fuzzy. Our biggest problem was the 7,600 ft. altitude. We were not use to the thin air and had to leave after the first night. We were going to stay for 3 nights but they gave us back our fee for the other 2 nights. This is not a Resort. It is more like being in the sticks and not for everyone. The people are great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
I read so many complaints about the red dust. It never even dawned on me. My only problem was the tiny pebbles that managed to stick to your sneakers and get inside our MH. I agree with everyone they are all very very friendly. This was our second stay there. That construction in the back has been stalled for the past 2 years so there is no noise back there anymore. The trees and rustic feel is part of the experience. Clean fresh cool air and you will hear the Elk roar back in that forest. Oh and they have AZ lottery there too ! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Positives: friendly staff, pool (small), trees, big sites Negatives: red dust everywhere, no wi-fi or cable, highway re-construction going on right behind the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
Staff was friendly and did escort us to our site. It is not paved and there was a lot of red dust all over everything. Some of the sites are very hard to get into and a few of the roads were tricky getting around on, due to severe wash outs. They said the pool was heated, but that is questionable. Overall the park is a little run down and could use some upgrades. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
The desk person at this campground was very friendly. Great place to spend a couple of days. The sites were close but no problems. No train noise which is important for the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$26
The staff at this campground were very friendly and helpful. They had a pool and a store. Some of the sites were close together. We felt we were a little close on one side. On the other side was an rv that stayed there from March to October and they had set up fountains, canopies, wildlife statues, you name it! Only thing missing was a pink flamingo. The campground was heavily wooded and there seemed to be a fine coating of red dust everywhere. That might have been natural or it might have been due to the fact that a forest fire had been put out right across the street from them the previous week. We stayed there a couple of days and I was ready to leave because I was really sick of that fine red dust! If they had gravel sites, it would have been much better. I might look around for something better but would stay there again if everything in the area had that red dust. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$26
This is a nice park. It is rustic, with gravel sites, no patios, but you would expect that in Flagstaff. It is up amongst the pine trees. People are friendly, you are escorted to your site. The staff monitors the campground continuously, which I assume is for safety of your property. It is on Route 66, and out of the busy downtown area. Close to an I-40 exit, but off of the Interstate enough that you don't hear it. You do hear the trains coming and going, but no whistles to scare you out of a sound sleep. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
We were only going to stay a couple of nights but when we set up our site with the wonderful smell of the pines and the beautiful weather we decided to stay a week! There is lots to do on day trips- Oak Creek Canyon Scenic Drive(WOW!) into Sedona,Gorgeous Sedona, The GRAND Canyon, and four national monuments. The sites are hard packed red dirt, fairly level and shaded by Ponderosa pines. The staff is wonderful, friendly and very helpful. We loved this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$27
Quiet campground on the edge of town. The sites are dusty and close together. Water is trucked in, so they ask you to be considerate. Our outside flow restrictor was dripping, so someone came along and shut off our water, without telling us! Otherwise, everything was fine and we would stay here again, but probably only as a stopover, even though the Grand Canyon and other notable sites are nearby. Staff was friendly and helpful, at the campground and with local information as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$26
If you like a park that is very old and rustic, dusty and not maintained very well, then this is the place for you! Way too much dust. We were there 3 days and although they do use an old water truck to wet down the roads, they never once came down the road we were on. There is a new housing development just starting to be built at the rear of this campground and the heavy equipment started in at 7am and continued all day. It appears that the owners are just waiting for the right offer from a developer to sell to as the maintenance is very lacking. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2005
$25
Interior roads and sites are dirt, some roads are deeply rutted. The bathrooms/showers were dirty with mud and overflowing trash cans. The mens restroom was virtually flooded from a roof leak. The swimming pool was filled with grey/green water. Some minor train noise. Site themselves are fairly level with lots of pine trees around. The campground is quiet and a great basecamp for day trips to Sunset Crater and Wapatki National Monuments. The office staff was very helpful and gave us lots of very useful literature. Next time though, if it were open, I would stay at Bonito campground (no hook-ups) at Sunset Crater National Monument. Driving through we saw that the sites were level and spacious and although Trailer Life says no slides for this campground there is plenty of room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2004
$22
Dirt roads and sites, very shaded, even some trees could go to make access better. I had to pull through the site across from mine to leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$28
This is a very nice, quiet secluded, and rustic campground in W. Flagstaff, even though it is only 2 mi. from I-40, exit 191 on Old Rte 66. All roads/pads are dirt/gravel with fairly level pads. The park is maze-like and confusing in its layout, but all rigs are escorted to their sites and once you know your way around, it's kind of neat! The management is very camper-oriented and friendly. There many restrictions, but the pluses far outweigh the minuses.(For example, the water is very good, but they truck every drop in, and they want you to conserve. They are strict, but they are polite, friendly, and will work with you on most issues. They are very "homey" but they are professionals, and they will provide you with info, directions, maps/ and whatever else you require, in order to insure that your camping experience is positive. They have the following conveniences/facilities: heated outdoor pool, campstore w/limited groceries/rv supplies,deli, lounge,tours, hiking area,movie rental arcade games, adult room, rec room, playground, horseshoe pits. excellent central base for exploring flagstaff area, Grand Canyon National Park, and Sedona-to Prescott tour. The park is very dark at night, due to minimal lighting throught, so those checking in after dark should have two-way radios and a good flashlight/lantern on hand when they arrive. We found this to be an excellent experience and we(me/61, her/51), will definitely stay here again, as we have not yet even seen nearly all this part of Az. has to offer, and this park is the spot for us! We were here in a Class "A" in 2004. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Nice, quiet and wooded campground. Camp store and very helpful and friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Decided on this park due to previous two reviews and we are very happy. Compared to the KOA it was so easy to drive to our site without all the obstacles. Nicest folk we've ever talked to on the phone or with at the front desk. Park is very neat and organized. Sites of all sizes even accommodating big rig with trailers behind. Even though heavy with pine trees we managed to find a satellite signal. Comfortable space between rigs. Quiet. Nice little pool. Nice little sandwich shop in the efficient camp store with very generous sized $5 sandwiches. If I need to stay in Flagstaff, this would be the choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$21
Great, friendly staff. Very nice park, would stay again when in that area. Restrooms and showers were exceptionally clean. Very impressed with this park. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$21
One of the few heavily wooded campgrounds that can comfortably fit large rigs. Camp sites are large and for the most part level. Very quiet. Closed in the winter. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com