223334 User submitted reviews online!!
Lebanon Hills Regional Park Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 61 user reviews. Phone: (651) 688-1376
CGID1465

Lebanon Hills Regional Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   9   7   9   10   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
Great value and a nice park in general. Very convenient to the Twin Cities and with access to the necessary grocery stores, etc. The bathrooms were spotless and most sites are very spacious (there are a few tight ones). We will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
We loved this park. It was the perfect mix of feeling like we were camping and with all of the amenities of an RV park. We stayed in spot 16 and had no problem with satellite. The staff were very friendly when we checked in and went over the rules of the park and area attractions which we very much appreciated. It is located in a safe neighborhood with many stores and restaurants nearby and not far from the downtown area. The actual pads are a bit narrow, but there is ample grass on both sides. The WiFi is the best we have had in a long time! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Would have rated a 10 if the entrance were better suited to big rigs (ours is 40'). Pads are hard gravel. There are 2 sewer access points at each site. Water pressure and electricity are reliable. Water spigot is at front of site, so long hose is required. There is only 1 road in and out and this 2 way road is very narrow and curvy. A big rig requires both lanes to maneuver. Dakota county needs to entirely revamp the entrance/exit for safety reasons. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$26
A great park for visiting the Minneapolis/St Paul Area. Some sites are a little tight but most have plenty of space. It is a small quiet campground which is very well maintained by a friendly helpful staff. We will definitely be using this park again as we travel to the area quite often to visit family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$39
Nice park, friendly hosts, only 3 or 4 pull thrus. Level gravel pads. This is a county campground. It's conveniently located to the Mall of America. Reservations are needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Very nice park. Staff is great. Restrooms, showers, and laundry are immaculate. Roads are paved and sites are gravel but level. Everything about this park is super. Lots of wildlife in the area. Close to shopping. Will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
This is a very nice park!! Super clean and enough off the road that road noise was non-existent. The owners were very nice. I related to them the story of the KOA where they wanted to charge $5 for our visitors for a couple of hours and they said they allow up to 6 visitors per paying campers. So nice! I would highly recommend staying here! A+++++++ We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Well maintained and manicured park with full hookups at site. Three different loops. The RV loop had decent spacing but not great. Some shady spots. Very good shopping and dining nearby, everything you could want. The other two loops are heavily wooded and well spaced but only have power. Some sites could take a large trailer or motorhome. Mosquitoes not too bad considering the ponds nearby. Some wild turkeys and very large snapping turtles wandering around. Pets must be on 6' leash at all times. Cell reception was good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
Campground is clean and laid out well. Spaces are fairly big and don't make one feel crammed. This park is only 5 minutes from just about any store one could need. The only issue we had were ticks and more ticks. We removed 11 from our dog in 7 days and he was out only to do his bathroom duties. We also removed 3 ticks from the wife. Our rig is 40' long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This is a county campground. It is very nice and conveniently located to the Mall of America. The county sheriff patrols the park regularly. Reservations are needed if you want to stay on a weekend, otherwise , you are likely to find it booked up. They do recycle, but the recycling bins and garbage cans are located by the exit. You can either walk to them or drop your garbage on your way out of the park. It makes it inconvenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Spent 8 nights here visiting our old hometown and relatives. Very nice, quiet park that makes you believe you are actually in the woods, not in the suburbs of a major city!! Three loops each with different amenities. Most sites have some shade, some more than others. Almost all will accommodate even the "big" rigs. This was the first campground that we have been in where the utilities were so separated! Be aware that the water spigot is at the entrance of the site!! For us that was almost 40ft of water hose needed, since our connection is on the back of the trailer. Found some noise coming from the Zoo on weekends due to performances at the outdoor stage, but wasn't annoying. Wi-Fi (unsecured) was good, TV reception with antenna was good. Good dump station access for those in need. Campground is easily accessed, and near many attractions and businesses. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
Everything from the previous review is right on. I camped in an area of the campground this time where the sites are extremely close together and no shade. I really do like this campground, but I will have to do more research on the site I choose here next time. I will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
This is the nicest campground we have ever stayed at. The park is amazing, very quiet and super clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Lots of hiking trails, and close to a beach and biking trail. The camp store is tiny but there are lots of nearby stores, including grocery and Walmart. The Mall of America is about 20 minutes away. Watch for turtles crossing the road in the park.. We were there in the height of tick season so be sure to protect yourself and your pets. We were constantly finding them in our shoes and towels that we had left outside to dry. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
This is a real nice and quiet campground. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Some roads are paved, others are sand. Most sites are back-ins with gravel. Sites are long with plenty of room between sites. Each site has a picnic table and fire pit. Our Verizon wireless internet and cell phone worked fine. Showers and laundry room are very clean. Negative is no cable; however, we were able to get locals and satellite. There are walking trails nearby and close to a water park and zoo. Nearby attractions include Mall of America, the the Museum of Science in St. Paul, St. Anthony’s Falls and Dam, and the Stone Arch Bridge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
We camped here for two nights while visiting the Minneapolis area. I am very pleased with the park and campground. Nice area of town and close to the Mall of America. Bathrooms were very clean. Sites in the west loop had water and electric, but very little shade. East loop sites were more wooded. Close to restaurants and Minneapolis Zoo. Wi-Fi worked well. I recommend this campground and would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
If they had cable it would be a 10. A beautiful park with everything you could want. Quiet, close to Mall of America, a bit further to downtown, but worth it to be out in the country. Very clean and well maintained. If you don't need the 50 amps or the sewer hookup, go for the back part of the park. Wow, like being in the woods, tons of room back there. We checked out "The Landing" in Shakopee for a little history lesson and a walking tour through a great village with a great guide. Only 17 miles away and then on the way home went to one of the nicest casinos we've been to at Mystic Lake. Actually came home with most of our cash! Great place to camp: ry it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Highly recommend this wooded suburban park run by the county. Neat as a pin. Mostly back-ins, well laid out and staggered such that you are not staring at your neighbors. Could have a little more room between sites. Paved roads on the full hookup loop, groomed dirt roads to the electric-only. Roads are a bit narrow, making jacking 5th wheels a challenge. Spotless, modern bathrooms, commercial-grade laundry. Dog owners were respectful of others. Well-situated for 20-30 minute drive into Twin cities. WiFi was adequate, Verizon data service was good, not great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This is a great park. Very clean and well maintained. The site and grass are well groomed. There is a reasonable amount of space between sites. The park was very quiet. Utilities were in good physical and working condition. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. There is a small store on site which I found unusual for a county park. The store staff was very nice and informative. The office is actually located at the back of the park and you are supposed to go there first despite likely passing the site you reserved on the way. Great location for exploring the city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
We will definitely stay here again. It was clean, laid out well, everyone was very helpful and friendly. It's right next door to the Apple Valley Zoo and close to major shopping. It's hard to believe you are in the middle of a major suburb. Very nice. Firewood is available. Restrooms and showers are extremely clean. There isn't a lot for kids to do but it is a very nice place to spend a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We LOVED this campground. We stayed here for an entire week and wish we could have stayed longer. It's clean, the sites are spacious, the staff are friendly and welcoming, there are walking trails nearby and it's convenient to just about everything you could need. We spent one night at another campground in the area and just weren't happy there so we did a little searching and came across this one and ended up moving. We've been on the road for 3 1/2 months and this is one of our favorites! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We just spent a week here and it was a beautiful park! Good sized lots (even better for electric only sites, but they were limited to 28' I think, and we're 40'). Nice green grass, clean picnic table in good shape. Very clean rest rooms. Beautiful playground, raspberry and blackberry picking, nice trails. Quiet. A little pricy, but for closeness to Mall of America it's worth it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
Very pretty park with fairly easy access from I-35E. Park is modern and well maintained. I would rate this park much higher, as others have done, except for two problems. Minor problem - Wi-Fi was slow and unresponsive. We used Verizon. Major problem (for me) - $45 is getting up there for an overnight RV spot. The price includes $35 for the site, $7 reservation fee, and $2.49 for sales tax. I guess my real problem is with the $7 reservation fee. I think this is exorbitant. If I had a reasonable alternative in this case, I would have stayed somewhere else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
We have stayed many times in this beautiful park. It is close to both Twin Cities and is easy on/off I35E. Unfortunately, they do not always honor a confirmed reservation. We thought we got lucky when we were able to reserve online a pull through site for our one night stay. We arrived to find that we were moved to a back in site because someone else had wanted to extend their stay in our pull through site. So, enjoy the park, but do not plan on parking in the site you thought you had reserved. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Although this campground doesn't have a lot of amenities at the campground it is within minutes of the Minnesota Zoo, Shops, Restaurants, Mall of America, Water Park and even a brand new free sprinkler park. Depending upon your camping style they have everything from full hookups to primitive, all of where were very nice. We have children and they had a great time on the almost new and very well maintained playground on the campground. Most of the full hook up spaces, which is the section where we stayed, have plenty of green, well maintained grass between the spaces. The fire rings were all well maintained and firewood was available for a very reasonable price. The full hookup facilities were in good condition, conveniently located and dedicated to your space. We observed the local policy patrolling the campground several times a day. Overall this is a very clean, safe, and well kept campground. The staff and fellow campers were very friendly and considerate. They don't allow golf carts and fellow campers respectfully observed the quite time at night which made for a peaceful and relaxing visit. Definitely family friendly and an overall great experience. The only reason I didn't give a 10 is because the general store has restrictions after 6:00 p.m. so you can't buy thinks like soda or snacks, just firewood and ice. When we visit Minnesota we will definitely camp her again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed in, in a long time. The bathrooms were spotless as were the laundry facilities. The sites are a little close together, but the campground itself is surrounded by trees and gives one the feeling of a woodsy experience. It is in an urban area, but the park itself is very large and has a lake and hiking trails throughout. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
Excellent location, 15 minutes to the Mall of America, 3 minutes to the Minnesota Zoo. Lots of grass, roomy site with picnic table and fire ring with cooking grates. Lots of full hookups and ample backing room. Amazing 2,000 acre park with trails for people, horses and bikes. Lakes abound with beaches, canoe and kayak rentals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Very well maintained county/city RV park. Great location with good access to southern part of Minneapolis/St.Paul metro area. Wi-Fi very good, no cable but several local channels come in loud and clear. Spaces are relatively with limited number of pull-throughs. We stayed two nights and would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
All that has previously stated about this park as being a great place to spend some time is correct. The one thing that would make it exceptional would be a swimming pool, but even lacking that it is a wonderful campground. The staff are very helpful. This campground was re-vamped some time ago, and in doing so they extended the sites, creating a second sewer drop. So there are two sewer drops in the spaces, on near the pedestal, and one about mid-way of the RV. The water faucet was left in place and because of the extension of the site it is about 30 or more feet away from the pedestal at the front of the site. If planning on staying her make sure you have enough hose. We are anticipating visiting Mall Of America. We would stay here again if traveling through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This was a one night stop for us on our way to the Boundary Waters. This is a very well maintained park with bike trails and ponds on site. There are also some hiking trails and lovely landscaping. The staff was more than friendly and gave us some great tips on backing up our 42 foot toy hauler. The other campers came up to chat and we were pleasantly surprised they also had children with Autism. We saw lots of children riding bikes and parents enjoying time outdoors. The mosquitoes were not as viscous here as in northern Minnesota woodlands, but avoid the ponds if you choose not to use DEET. This county owned park is one of the best we have every seen if we come this way again we will certainly come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Great park and location. Very clean all around. Being a county park, they're very rule orientated but we didn't have problems with it. Nice big level sites in the west loop. Almost like having your own yard. We would definitely go here again if in this area! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Concur with what the previous write-up stated. However, we were one of the ones that got the tree next to our coach that totally blocked our ability to get satellite reception while here. Plus the site was on a slope and hard to level on the gravel. Office staff very accommodating and nice and friendly to my request to move to another site after the weekend. The problem with allowing individuals to chose their sites obviously precludes moving around because one site is taken for a weekend only and we were here for two weeks, so would have had to move back and forth: no way! However, would add, local stations came in exceptionally well. Wi-Fi reception was great. Would definitely stay here again as it is in a wonderful location. So much to see and do around the area within a short distance away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
This county-run campground may be the best place to stay when visiting the Minneapolis-St. Paul area. The layout is modern with wide sites and access lanes designed for big rigs. Three classes of sites are available: full hookups, electric only, and nonelectric. The full-hookups sites have 50 amp electric. While grassy with meticulously maintained turf and careful landscaping, there is little shade as the trees planted have not matured sufficiently to provide it. A handful of sites are pull through with the vast majority being back-in sites. Most are level with a few that slope. The electric-only sites are 30 amp and have a 25' length limit. They have much better shade and are in a more woodsy setting with more space between sites than the full-hookups area. There are shared water hydrants at a ratio of about one for every six sites. Many of these sites slope, and all the ones we saw were back-in. Most RVs are not permitted in the nonelectric sites. I can't remember the policy exactly but I believe they allow pop-up campers and pickup campers. The host was friendly and helpful. There's a store with a reasonable collection of RV supplies. There is laundry on site although hours are restricted. There is a 14 day maximum stay limit although some units appeared to have been there longer. The full-hookups part of the campground was nearly full with most of the units being larger class A's. The electric only and nonelectric sites were not busy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
We have actually stayed here several times. Most sites are level but there are a few that are difficult to level on especially those on the hill to the north and west of the office. The park is minutes from many tourist spots such as MOA and MN Zoo, and in the middle of a large suburb but you do not feel like you are in city. The park is large with acres of wooded land around it. You can even hear coyotes sometimes in the early mornings. There is a wonderful playground for the kids and hiking and biking trails too. If you want to relax by the campfire park has campfire rings at each site and well maintained. This place is almost always busy and full during the summer. Great place to go to get away with out really having to drive far to do it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Really nice campground near Minneapolis attractions. Level long sites and friendly staff. Good Wi-Fi near office. I don't know about the rest of the park. We have stayed here before. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
A note that this campground is seasonal and is closed during an unusually broad window. For 2010-2011 it is closed Oct. 17-May 2. We had planned to stay but fortunately had called ahead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
This is a beautiful, clean and well maintained campground very close to the Twin Cities. The pads are level and the bathrooms and showers are very clean. It is also close to Valleyfair and Mall of America. The one and only drawback is that it is also close to the airport and there will be the occasional jet flying overhead. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This is a very clean campground. The sites are spacious. Wi-Fi works. It is close to St. Paul. We enjoyed staying here and would do so again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Beautiful campground with wooded walking areas. Very quiet. WiFi was very poor at our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Dakota County does a fine job with this park. if your site is close to the office, there will be traffic noise from adjacent street but otherwise, a very nice place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Everything about this park is unchanged since our last report in May, 2010, except now they have excellent free Wi-Fi Internet access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
What a fantastic place to stay! The grumpy old man mentioned in an earlier review is still there but all the staff including him are extremely friendly and courteous. When you are at this park it is hard to believe that you are really close to such a large metropolitan area. The conveniences are all really close by but in a short period you can be walking down forested paths. We definitely recommend this park for your next stay at the Twin Cities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
Nice size, level sites. Very clean facilities. Lots of walking/biking trails and lake nearby. Central to all Twin City attractions. 10 min to Mall of America where you can catch the Light rail train to downtown. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This park has a rural setting in an urban environment. There is a lake and lots of lush vegetation around the campsites. One mile from the Minnesota Zoo, about ten miles from Mall of America. Sites were not totally level and some had hookups in rather strange places, which makes this a 9 and not a 10. Very good WiFi. Efficient and friendly office staff. Would love to have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
Excellent campground close to twin cities. We used it as base camp for Target Field in Minneapolis. Very nice and clean restrooms and showers. In 30 amp section of park, there is a great amount of space between sites making them very private. Very scenic lake with hiking trail that circles it. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Beautiful park. They just put in free WiFi. All sites are level and the grounds are well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
What a difference a year can make. This is an update to our June 2009 review for the same park. Even though we said we wouldn't be back, this park's location 'forced' us to give it another try. Yes, the same silly $7 reservation fee applied, and yes, the "park rules" page is still huge. Other than the check-out times, we proceeded to just ignore the whole darn thing, and we made it fine. As other reviewers have said, the roads in the park are paved and easy to navigate; the sites are well-established gravel, and are reasonably level. (We believe the FH North Loop's sites are slightly better in that regard than the South Loop's.) The yards are grass: they are of different sizes and shapes (some are long and narrow, some are nice, long, and wide.) This time around, we stayed in the South full hookup loop, and our coach leveled easily. We reserved the site online, and we are pretty happy with this loop. We also were pleasantly surprised to find that they have free WiFi, something they didn't have a year ago. The biggest enhancement for us was that the 'old grump' wasn't here. In fact, all the staff were nice, friendly, and accommodating this time around. Definitely would recommend this park to those planning on visiting the Minneapolis area. Use the full hookup loop North of the registration office! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We have stayed here several times and always enjoy the park. The sites are gravel with grass between. There is a picnic table and fire ring at each site. The electric and sewer are near the back of the sites but most have the water connection near the front requiring extra water hoses. The office personnel are friendly and helpful. This is a county park so there are no long term rates, just a daily rate. There are 58 full hookup sites, 11 no hookup and 24 electric only. The full hookup sites are all satellite friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
This is a beautiful campground with many amenities. Sites on our West Loop were all level and long enough for large motorhomes. They asked us to shut off the water after filling our tank at night with the light snow that had been falling in the morning. Access to the Mall of America is only six miles and easy to get to. This campground closes on Oct. 18 so we only get four nights. Other loops without full hook-ups would give more privacy but are not as level and tighter to get to. The water hook-up is near the front of the site requiring at least 25' of hose. Satellite access in this loop is excellent. The office manager was very helpful and came over to our site and suggested we let the water run for a minute before hooking up to get iron out of the water line. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
For a campground near a major metropolitan area, this is not bad. Has full 50amp hookups, gravel pads, open sites in a quiet, park like setting. Unfortunately, no Wi-Fi. Our site had two sewer connections, one too far back and the other too far forward. None of the sites was especially level. Roads in the park were paved which was especially nice since it rained heavily during our stay. The entrance to the park is now a "cute" narrow winding road/driveway that would be dangerous or impassable for two big rigs going opposite directions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
A beautiful, quiet campground that is well located near Minneapolis. Some sites are not level, but all are good sized and private. The staff we met was very friendly and helpful. A little pricey, but you get a lot for your money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
Like a previous reviewer, we were a little surprised at the fact that those of us from out of area, who have to reserve to make sure we have a place to sleep, are punished by having to pay a non-refundable "reservation fee" of $7, increasing the price for a site by a little over 24% (from 29 to 36 - that's resort-level pricing!!! I used the inflated number as the nightly rate, since most traveling RVers will most likely want to reserve) Then there are the really grumpy "camp hosts." Since we had a reservation and a campground layout from the Internet, as well as due to the fact that the parking area in front of the registration booth is rather small (at best one 35+ foot RV fist there; and one at a time), we proceeded directly to our site. Once the 'host' was done with the people that blocked the parking area for us, he came over in his golf cart and proceeded to lecture us on how we did not stop to register before proceeding to the site. After setting up, we went to the registration office, and realized just WHY they 'needed' us to stop by: Their "rules" page is one whole page of legal size paper long! Pretty ridiculous rules, overall, but the most asinine one was that, if you didn't check out by the check out time, they want to charge you another day, AND MAKE YOU LEAVE - yeah right... Regarding the site - number 12... While even, it was FAR from level, rising hard towards the back. In fact, the levelers in our coach were not able to completely level the coach (front to back). Almost, but not quite. Finally, we were due to leave the next day. Check out time is noon, and we were relaxing next to the RV in the grass around 11:10 - 11:15, when the same old grump came by on his golf cart again, "reminding" us that we were leaving... AT NOON... We just packed up then and got the heck out of there. We will most definitely avoid this one in the future, unless there is absolutely no other option. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
We stayed here in August while between houses. The staff were very helpful, professional, and friendly. The park has police patrol on a regular basis. The laundry room is well maintained and clean as is the entire park. They allow well behaved owners and their pets. The only negatives are not a lot of trees in the full hookups area, no Wi-Fi and a fair amount of aircraft noise-- even so, it's hard to believe that you're camped out in the city. The tent area is well forested. The MN Zoo is across Johhny Creek Ridge Road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
We have stayed here every year for the past 7 or 8 years. Very handy to things we needed in the Twin Cities. We do object to the $7 charge for making a reservation over the phone. Yes, it would be alright if we were a NO SHOW, and they could make it non-refundable in that case. But when you reserve and SHOW UP, it should be deducted from your campground fees. Sewer connections are set so far back, they almost require an extra piece of sewer hose. It is obvious that this campground was not designed by experienced campers. The campground hosts need to take a course on: "How to win friends and influence people" or something of that nature. They all take their jobs way too serious and their lousy personalities show it. Yes we will return. But the next time, we will just show up un-announced and take our chances. They certainly weren't very busy. Maybe we will try the casino out at Prior Lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
The only good thing about this campground is location. It is close enough to Minneapolis to use as a base for touring. This park is very big rig friendly. There are three sections of camping. There are two sections for smaller rigs and tents with gravel roads and sites. These spots are rustic. The big rig section is all paved. The spots are pretty close together. Maybe 12' apart. You really felt like you could reach out and touch your neighbor. The pads are gravel and very narrow. You can not put any carpet on the grass. There is only about 1 foot from the edge of your rig to the edge of the pad/grass. No part of your rig may hang over the pad onto the grass area, this includes slides and rear hitches. Bathroom facilities were equipped with numerous stalls, but the showers only had a curtain. I guess they think that big rig people don't use the public facilities. A locking door would be better. Laundry facility was clean. Many camp hosts. I think we counted 5 rigs. Some hosts were very nice, but others needed to just go home. They were not friendly at all - which I think is a must for a host. We stopped at the office twice for directions to a local destination and were given no help. The hosts didn't have a clue about the area. The park rangers were very nice and loved their jobs. This park really needs internet. We would stay here again, but only for a short visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
Very nice regional park. When we called for reservations the host said they had one available because the particular site was "not that good". Site was 2 down from the office, very clean, and more than adequate. We were very satisfied with it. We would recommend this to others and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
Nice park close to Mall of America and other area attractions. There was some jet noise beginning about 7AM from airplanes landing or taking off from the airport, otherwise quiet. The park is very well maintained and managed by work campers who know something about RV'ing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$33
Nice sites. Paved roads, a bit narrow. Not much shade could be found in our area. Bundled wood was outrageously priced! $6 for a bundle! They required it purchased from them only. They also required 2 night minimum for the weekend stay. Our site was located by the office and there was a lot of vehicle traffic all day long by the office. There was nothing to do right at the campground. The rest of the park and fishing spots and beach area are located a driving distance away. Showers and bathrooms were impressively clean. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$28
What a beautiful spot and close to everything! The campground has lots of great character with some beautiful tent spots. While walking the dog, we did have to witness some youngsters in fond embrace in their car, but heck we were young once, too. We absolutely loved this place and the fact that it was within minutes of downtown Minneapolis, the airport, Mall of America, etc...was icing on the cake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$29
Beautiful and family oriented with many things to do. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$24
Very nice and well maintained campground. This park is divided into 3 campgrounds. The "West Loop" has 58 full hook-ups (water/elect/sewer) sites, with level, gravel pads. Grounds are well groomed, with small trees, very little shade. There is a small pond nearby and you see a lot of Canadian geese and ducks. This loop is near a well traveled road: those campsites on the west side of the loop will hear road noise. The "North Loop" has 10 wooded or natural sites, lots or shade, no hook-ups, great for tenting. The "East Loop" has 13 wooded or natural sites, shaded, electric only. Of the 3 "loops", we liked the East loop the best however to camp in the East Loop the rule is your RV/camper has to be 24 ft or less in length. There is also a playground in the East Loop. Restrooms all are excellent! Many trails for both hiking and mountain biking. I rated this park an 8 only because you do hear a lot of plane noise as the airport is not too far away. If not for that, I would rate this campground a 10. Also as stated by another poster before, campground is near a lot of attractions: MN Zoo, Mall of America and cities Minneapolis and St. Paul. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$24
This is an urban park located just south of St. Paul. Perameter of the park is wooded but most sites are in the open. Paved roads with large gravel sites. Park is very well maintained. Large grassy areas behind and between rigs. No recreation in campground, but lots to do very closeby including Zoo, State Capitol and, Mall of America. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com