214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Whitewater State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (507) 932-3007
CGID1475

Whitewater State Park

Camp Information
Sites
111
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   9   8   8   7   9   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Prior to our visit there had been heavy rains in prior weeks. Though mosquitoes and other biting insects are ordinarily not a problem here we found the gnats to be bad and the occasional mosquito to be found, no doubt because of an increase in standing water in the park and the surrounding area due to the rains. The swimming conditions were not as good as usual either with the water being laden with silt and algae instead of exhibiting its usual clarity. Despite our visit landing midweek we did encounter problems with crowding at the swimming beach brought on by a large 4H group descending upon the beach en masse. Due to the crowding and lax supervision we felt that the overall situation was not safe for our younger children, and left the swimming area until the group moved on to other activities. We did bring the problems to the attention of both the group counselors and the park management both of whom declined to intervene. The dump station has been recently rebuilt but unfortunately is graded so that the pavement slopes away from the sewer connection making it impossible to completely drain the holding tanks on most RVs without blocking up the wheels on the far side to provide some slope. Nonetheless, the campsites themselves are spacious and well screened, with good tree cover. The nonelectric sites are smaller and more closely spaced than the electric sites. Most Minnesota state parks have been suffering sporadic maintenance over the last few years due to budget constraints, and Whitewater is no exception. Some buildings and improvements were overdue for a fresh coat of paint, the picnic tables are being replaced a little too slowly, and there were some sloppy repairs here and there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Heaven. Quiet, peaceful, no bugs. We arrived at 8am and reserved a spot with electric, though it was not going to be vacated until 4PM. Parked my trailer in the office parking lot and went fishing with the kids. We had a great day fishing, swimming and hiking. Moved trailer to site at 3:45 and had a very pleasant and quiet night's sleep. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
We camped here during MEA weekend, which means kids are off school for three to four days in mid-October due to teacher's workshops. The electric sites were full. There were still many open sites in non-electric areas. Near the river is wonderful, but no electric sites. The leaves had mostly fallen from the trees, so the sites seemed a little closer than perhaps in the summer months. Bathroom and showers were very clean. Please note that this is not a full service campground, you will need to on-board water and visit the dump station. Also, an sticker or day pass is required to help keep up the parks. State parks give you that real camping feeling. There were wonderful programs available this weekend, which included bird banding, a talk about how the camp once hosted German POW's who worked on nearby farms and we learned about edibles in the park. The nearest grocery store is about 6 miles south. Look out for the deer in the Fall months. Should there be rain, head to Laneboro for shopping or theater. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
Whitewater State Park is among the larger and more popular parks in the Minnesota park system. Sites fill up on weekends throughout the summer making early reservations or a Thursday or early Friday arrival necessary to assure a space. The campsites themselves are shaded by mature trees. All electric sites are equipped with 50A service. There is water in each campground loop and at the dump station. Sites are widely spaced. Depth varies with some sites having room for a 50' rig. There is ample parking for additional vehicles at the office, some distance from the campsites. Park has an extensive trail system and a swimming beach on the Whitewater River. The swimming area is nearly one mile from the campsites and can be reached by car or via a trail. The trail crosses a major highway. There are also more extensive naturalist programs organized than are typical at smaller parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
We really like this park. There is a ton of hiking to do and the views from the top of the hiking trails are great. This is also the only area where cell service is good, too! The sites are large and spread out, the creek running through the park is beautiful, and there are no mosquitoes. The only downside to this park is you get very limited TV, and cell phones don't work in the park as you are located in a sort of gully between 2 large bluffs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
The cost is actually 24 dollars plus a daily $5 car fee. There was no water to the sites, just a common spigot: one in each loop for all sites. There is no modem, cable TV, pool or Wi-Fi. Despite that, I found the park to be enjoyable and the trails are good. Just disappointed that the last reviewer didn't take the time to get the details correct. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
An awesome state park: has everything you would need. It's clean, friendly, and has beautiful scenery! We are absolutely coming back again! A+ We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Great campsites - spacious, wooded, flat. NO mosquitoes, which is very unusual for Minnesota. We didn't believe the "noticeable lack of mosquitoes" claim and packed plenty of bug spray for hiking, but didn't use it at all, not even in the woods or after sundown. Our older son (13) enjoyed the beautiful and challenging hiking trails, but some of them were not safe for our younger children. Beach was sandy, but water looked unappealing. Only one of the shower buildings has been renovated, but it was accessible to most campsites in the upper campground. We plan on making this campground an annual destination. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Campground had major floods a few years back, and they're just finishing reconstruction. Not many activities for kids. Not many activities under 15 minute drive. Nice swimming beach on river. Lots of great fishing opportunities throughout on river. If you're tenting, this park gets a higher score because the best spots back up to the river, but don't have electricity. Spots closer to the road do get some traffic noise from the State Hwy (2 lane). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
This was a beautiful park. Loads of stuff to do - there were nightly naturalist programs and the beach was a hit with the kids. My only concern was that some of the hiking trails skirted cliffs and were very dangerous for young children. I was scared for our lives a couple of times and we actually had to turn around and go back on one trail because I didn't want anyone to get hurt. They need to mark the trails a bit better, as to which are easy, moderate or difficult. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$18
Access to this park is difficult for the summer of 2006. Bridge repair necessitates quite a detour on minor county roads. Watch the signs; the park headquarters is at one end of the detour and the group camp is at the other. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$19
Beautiful park. Plenty of hiking trails for a long weekend. Fall colors wonderful. Rest rooms and Showers are what one expects at a State Park, but been in much worse. Will stay in the "tent" areas next time, as it was much quieter and even more scenic. Good vegetation cover between sites even in October in the Semi-modern. Wild Turkeys, coyotes and other critters add to the ambiance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$18
Agree with the two previous reviews, wanted to add: very few mosquitos!!! Said to be due to abundance of moving water in streams. Also, terrific displays of wildlife/history/other educational dioramas in headquarters building, along with bird-watching stations. Programs for kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Excellent state park CG!! Beautiful scenery, fishing, natural swimming area, hiking, etc. Only drawback is no water at the sites (seems to be the case in all MN state parks). Only 15 mins to the Mississippi River. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Excellent state park and campground in Southeastern MN. Natural swimming area with sandy beach (not open yet, but can walk around). Most sites are large with brush screening you from the neighbors. 47 sites have electric, the rest do not. There are no water or sewer hookups, so plan accordingly! Bathhouse was very clean, free showers. The rustic sites have level gravel pads and privacy, some border a lovely stream. This CG gets very busy in the summer due to excellent fishing and scenery. MN state parks do accept reservations, but leave 1/3 unreserved for drive in camping. Highly recommended, especially if you love hiking, fishing, wildlife, scenery. Only about half hour to the Mississippi River and quaint towns with antiques, restaurants and stores. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com