218177 User submitted reviews online!!
Minneapolis Southwest KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (952) 492-6440
CGID1487

Minneapolis Southwest KOA

Camp Information
Sites
111
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$51



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   6   6   8   6   8   5   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$51
The staff was friendly and helpful but did not show us to our campsite. The campsite was not level. Our picnic table was located at another site. The park roads were two-way which made it difficult to maneuver. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
The first thing I noticed about this campground was that they had recently dumped gravel in areas on the roads that I presume were in pretty bad shape. When I pulled into the check-in area my truck and trailer felt like they were going to sink. I don’t think anything was graded or tamped, just dumped. There were several areas like that in the park. Sites are fairly level, but some leveling was necessary on most sites. Grassy sites with gravel drives. I’m not sure about the pool. It didn’t appear that the water was clean…but I’m not sure if it was the pool liner or the water itself. We did not use the pool. The laundry room was clean. The person at the desk when I checked in seemed to be distracted by some “children issues” and therefore came off as being a bit curt with me. Kind of hurried me off. The printed map is a bit confusing. There are arrows showing roads as one way, but if you follow the map, you can’t get out! Most guests just used all the roads as two-way. The brochure does not reflect actuality with information given. There is no kid’s activity calendar, but they do have a playground. Very disappointed in this KOA. The one thing my wife and I were very happy with was the Wi-Fi, however we would not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
This campground did not meet our expectations of a KOA, especially at the $39.49 KOA Value Kard rate. NO CABLE. Brochure indicated that we should take our trash to the dumpster. First KOA I have ever seen require such. Staff was not all that friendly. Site was not level at all. If we ever visit Minneapolis again we will seek another campground at which to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$43
Restrooms and showers were clean, but low on hot water for showers early in the morning. RV sites are somewhat small compared to tent sites: tend to feel put on top of each other. Overall, the campground and pool were clean. Advertised WiFi but only had sporadic access 2 out of 5 days. For the price and amenities, will probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
This park is off a busy highway with train tracks across from it and a chopper shop next door. If you are looking for a quiet getaway this is not for you! Otherwise it has a lot to offer including a very large indoor pool. The sites are a bit tight and the campground could use a bit of updating. The restrooms and showers were very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
We decided to try this KOA for our first outing of the season. I have mixed feelings about our stay. On one hand, the hosts and employees were all very helpful and friendly. Our kids enjoyed the playground and the pool, as well as some of the activities. On the other hand, it is definitely a KOA "atmosphere" with very busy roads, golf carts everywhere, people drinking alcohol, dogs in almost every campsite (many with multiple dogs), and kids running everywhere and through your campsite. None of this being the one thing that would ruin a weekend, but it's something to take into account. It is near Highway 169 and there is quite a bit of road noise, especially after hours when the campground quiets down. The pool was ok, however the ceiling is coming down and it definitely needs repair. Also, the pool starts at 3 feet and goes to 6 (?) feet deep, which is something to keep in mind if you have young kids. One of the activities was a Saturday-evening hay ride, which we didn't do, but we got to hear/see the hayride about 10 times as it passed our camper on its' route throughout the campground. All of the hayriders stare down at you as they go by: very strange! We reserved 2 months in advance and paid for a full hook-up site, however when we arrived and were escorted to our site it was clear that we would be able to hook up our sewer line, OR use our awning, but not both. The sewer portal was at the very back of our site, and a tree blocked our awning. We asked if there were other sites available but they were booked full for the weekend. We ended up choosing the awning, pulled to the far front of the site to set up camp, and when we broke camp we had to back the camper up to use the sewer portal. Not a major problem, but I felt that we paid for a full hook-up site and technically were not able to use it as such. Since we weren't hooked up we had to be mindful of how much water we were putting into our tanks all weekend. Also, the campground has a policy against allowing certain types of dogs, one of the types being a rottweiler. A family at one of the camping cabins had what was obviously a large rottweiler and I wondered how they got past the rules, or why the management was not enforcing them. Later that weekend, we were at the playground which was near the cabins, and this rottweiler saw my dog and took a running start, broke it's collar, and ran full speed for about 25 feet barking and growling at me and my dog. The owners sat dumbfounded for a minute as I was desperately trying to keep myself between my dog and the rottweiler, before they finally came after their dog. The rottweiler didn't do anything to my dog, but it sure was frightening to have that huge dog run at you so hard it broke it's own collar to get at you. All in all, my kids enjoyed themselves, it was ok for a first trip of the season weekend, but I'm not sure we'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Mostly shaded park near the Twin Cities. Closest park to Mall of America. Spaces are dirt and grass, interior roads are narrow and parking for vehicles is limited. Sites are wide enough, just a little tough to get into and out of. Personnel were friendly and helpful. Indoor pool is nice and large. Well stocked convenience store. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$43
Sites are very small...had to park car beside MH. The dust from the roads was horrible. We were unable to leave the doors/windows open. The dust was non-stop for a week. We were there over the holiday weekend...very busy place. Facilities are old, but clean. Advertised ice-cream social and then charged everyone. Could not tolerate the dust. Satellite is only available on front row sites between entrance and office. Trees had not been trimmed, so we rubbed limbs on both sides and top. Would not stay there again due to dust situation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$42
This is a small but nice Park. There was some traffic noise at night since it is off a major highway. They are building new cabins that have A/C that look really nice for those interested. Owners did everything they could to make your stay a great one. They even have video rental. Playground equipment is older. We had a pull thru spot that was gravel with a cement pad where the picnic table was. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$36
Park okay, but older. Old playground stuff, old bathrooms, old pool. They cram the RV's in. At first arrival they backed us into a bad spot, set up for Class A's with 50-amp service and electric and water unreachable for us and a fire pit behind us on a slope. After complaining they moved us to a much better spot physically. There was way too much traffic on these little dirt roads, with a black van driving by every hour, a golf cart loaded with wood going by frequently, and yet another guy driving around in a golf cart, usually with (his?) kids and sometimes way too fast. We had some noisy and obnoxious fellow camping neighbors and a gun club that made us feel like we were in a war zone from 8:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.! This facility is located next to a motorycle repair business next door, so there was quite a bit of motorcylce testing done on the other side of the fence line. So if you like tranquil camping, this place may disappoint you. (My 7 yr old loved the pool and the staff was quite friendly.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$38
Great park and some of the most friendly & helpful owners I've ever encountered. Facilities are spotless and owners are extremely pet friendly. I would go out of my way to stay there again!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$38
We stayed at this campground last spring also and it was so-so. I believe it is under new ownership this year and it is much improved and looks to be an ongoing process. It is a younger couple running it now and there were many KOA people around while we were there helping them out. They did direct us to our site and were VERY helpful all weekend. Some of the sites are a bit close together but not a big deal depending on where the fire rings are. The first site they put us in would not work due to the location of the utility poles & our slide out and the fire ring in front of us (would not be able to use the awning). After asking if we could change sites, they ended up letting us take one of the more expensive sites, the ones that are longer and have a concrete patio, for no extra charge since it was a quiet weekend and they were not very crowded. It ended up being VERY nice & quiet where we were. We were right across from the mini golf course (which is pretty old but I did overhear them say they are planning on some updates/painting/repairs) and were able to see a robin's nest that was built in one of the structures of the golf course. The robin was actually laying the eggs that Saturday while we were there and it was fun to watch the birds circling and watching from the trees while people were golfing, then heading right back to sit on the nest when everyone was gone. Wonderful experience for the kids! The pool was very clean and the water was MUCH warmer than last year. They actually had a thermometer in the pool and the water temp was around 81-83 degrees. All in all we had a wonderful weekend here and would recommend this campground and we will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2005
$36
I camped in a 39 foot MH and found the roads a little tight. Nice area with some trees close to Minneapolis. Did not use indoor pool as it was a little slimey. Never could get WIFI to work and found little cooperation or interest by mgt. Satellite reception was spotty from my pull through site. May stay again sometime, but not my favorite area campground in the twin cities area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2004
$44
I was not impressed. It was extra for kids and extra for the little dog. The "heated" pool was cold. The modem was unavailable because of a virus. But they would be glad to sell me a wireless card. The small site was extra because it had a small concrete slab. The ferocious mosquito's were free. We wanted to be close to the mall, but will get closer next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$28
This campground was ok, I would stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com