214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Eagle Cliff Campground & Lodging was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (507) 467-2598
CGID1490

Eagle Cliff Campground & Lodging

Camp Information
Sites
105
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   8   9   8   6   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
This campground was OK. There are a lot of seasonals near the full hookup sites. The staff wasn't very friendly but served their purpose for the most part. We had chosen this campground because we wanted to bike the root river bike trail, which is beautiful, but I wish the campground was a bit closer to it. In order to get to the paved bike trail we had to ride on the gravel shoulder of the highway about a mile or so to get there which wasn't ideal. The campsite itself was fairly small but nice and grassy but it appears the seasonals allowed their pets to use it as a bathroom because there was poop everywhere - which meant on our shoes and in our camper as well. Not cool. Our day trip by bike to Lanesboro was very beautiful however and we managed to pop into the local farmers market for some fresh desserts and amish goods. Good luck finding any type of grocery or drug store, we needed some cough syrup for my daughter and the closest we could get was some cold and flu liquid from the gas station. There was a wedding the Saturday night of our stay that celebrated the end of their night with fireworks, which was kind of cool - but I'm thankful they didn't set them off any later because it was pretty close to the kids' bedtime. We shut off the lights in the camper and watched the show though which was cool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
We stayed at this park with a 40' motorhome. We got a 50 amp site but the trees were too low to get in the spot, so we went to a 30 amp away from the trees. Voltage got down to 112 volts with only 1 AC; could not use the water heater (all electric coach) and 1 AC, at the same time. Water pressure was low. We would stay there again, because it was very large and open spaces where we were at. Nice river there too, hiking trails, but we did not use them. Used Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$12
This is one of the quietest campground we have ever stayed at. Great scenery and lots of riverfront. We were ticked that the water pressure was so weak when they charged for the showers. The showerheads sprayed the water around you instead of on you. We deducted a point for that. Free WiFi and better showers would have earned a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
Beautiful little park! Very well maintained. Helpful staff/owner. We got stuck in the very wet grass/gravel after lots of rain here, but the owner helped pull us out. One hundred sites were down due to flooding, so we stayed in the seasonal area, but it was not at all trashy. Very well kept. We would have loved to stay longer, but we rely on internet. We paid $20 per computer ($40 total) for a weeks worth of internet, but the provider has some strict firewall settings and I could not access my work files, nor could my husband access his entertainment service. The service gives about 0.5 mbit/s so not bad, other than the restrictions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
This a great park! Stayed here on our way to Winnona and picked this one cause it had a laundry. Two new large capacity washer & dryers each: $1.75 wash & $1.50 to dry. 30 minutes. Immaculate ladies bathroom: 25 cents for four minutes. Used our Passport America discount for $15.00 full hookup pull through Site G37. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$12
Rate based upon PA discount, plus: stay 4, 5th night free. A great deal. Pros: Beautifully landscaped, spacious, on the river, can be taken tubing/canoeing straight from park; mostly shaded, level and grassy sites; RV supplies in office; Lanesboro is a a cute town; access to bike path (but not from park, have to ride 3/4miles). Negatives: Wash $1.75, dry $1.50 high end; showers $.25 for 4 minutes; Wi-Fi free at office, otherwise $6 day, $20 week; staff indifferent, couldn’t answer simple questions about Wi-Fi, river condition, etc. Even though most sites are shaded, we were given least shaded. Has numerous seasonals, but most only come during the weekend, so ghost-townish during weekdays. Has NO At&t cell signal. If you want a quiet, well-kept CG off the beaten path during the week, this will be a good fit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Nice enough campground. Not everybody followed the rules and nobody seemed to care. Loud party across from us went on until after 4:00 A.M. Large grassy sites, well maintained. Wi-Fi at your site for $6.00 a night. Beware of creative rates for camping. We were charged $30.00 in taxes for 4 nights. Never could get an explanation. Ask what your total charges will be up front. We got different answers from 3 different people. We won't go back We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
Very nice campground. Nice people. Be careful if you stay. Our site had 50 amp service and I don't carry an adapter for 50 amp and the campground didn't have any adapters left to borrow or buy. Luckily it was a cool enough weekend that 20 amp service was good enough. Ask questions when booking the site as to what electric service your site will have. Otherwise a great place to stay and good area to visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
Nice campground. Spacious sites, entirely on grass. Lots of activities right out of the park; bike trail, tubing, kayaking, etc. Lanesboro is a really pretty little town, and well worth a visit. Although near highway 16, road noise was no issue. Our only complaints were: 1. Coin operated showers, with poor shower heads that make it difficult to rinse. Please just build the price into the campground fee. 2. Advertised site wide WiFi could not be received at our site, or anywhere nearby outside. In fairness, many campgrounds don't get the importance of this feature to modern travelers. 3. For a decent sized campground, there are only two washers, and one was out of service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
We went tubing for the afternoon...what a treat! The water was warm and it was a perfect lazy river ride for us and our two girls, ages 7 and 9. It was their first time tubing, and they loved it. The park was at meticulous as everyone says, but to have such gorgeous grass, worth the inconvenience with the carpets. We were there mid-week, and the girls played lacrosse on the empty sites, it was so inviting. I didn't find the staff to be particularly friendly, but they were polite. It just didn't seem authentic, but forced. But anyone who's worked in the service industry knows that it's hard to be chipper when the chips are down. The only really annoying thing of our stay was the swarms of black houseflies that had invaded the campground. Not sure if this was an unusual event, but it took us a few days after leaving to hunt them all down in the trailer. We would definitely return to go tubing again if we lived nearer, so I recommend this to those interested in a peaceful and convenient place to do so. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
The friendly management maintains an efficient organization. The grounds are well groomed with spacious sites, many of which have a generous amount of shade. Sites are grass and protected by some unusual rules: movement of picnic tables daily, tents moved every two days, mats limited to 4’x4’ and picked up at night. The campground is surrounded on three sides by the Root River and is very near the popular 60-mile paved Root River Trail. Outfitting services are available with bikes, canoes, kayaks and tubes. Wi-Fi is only available in the immediate vicinity of the office. AT&T phone and air card service are completely absent. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
Enjoyed a very relaxing stay at Eagle Cliff for two nights. There were only a few campers so, all was quiet. We were 5 sites from any other camper. Sites were quite wide and the thick grass was very nice. You will have to bring your mats up at night and move your picnic table every 2 nights. The bathrooms/showers were the cleanest I have seen. You will have to pay for your shower. We had our 2 dogs and enjoyed walks by the river. The Root River Trail access is nearby. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
This is a southern Minnesota treasure! What a better getaway than to spend some time away, right in the lush Root River Valley surrounded by beautiful bluffs. The Root River runs right along the campsites and provides for more than just a scenic backdrop to your camping vacation. Tubes, kayaks, and canoe trips are all reasonably priced for enjoyable recreation while camping. Scenic bike trails are located near by, and the campground has tons of bikes to rent. The campsites are very clean and so are the bathrooms and showers: you don't have to pay for them and there's no timer. Downtown Lanesboro is a short bike ride away. There's so much to do on site and nearby the campgrounds. The entire campground is laid out nicely and well maintained. It also seemed very family friendly with lots of family oriented, scheduled activities and things to do on the campground itself. We found the staff to be very organized and friendly: the place is very well run/managed. No riffraff: management does a great job of taking care of and cutting off shenanigans. We love Eagle Cliff! We would highly recommend this campground with all its amenities and surrounding beauty to anyone looking for a nice getaway. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Very beautiful campground. Nice big sites down by the river. Yes they do make you pick up your rug or mat, but thank god they do because it poured sheets when we pulled in. And if it wasn't for the nice lush grass, we would have been setting up in a mess. Inner-tubing down the river is the highlight of this campground or watching the eagles hover overhead. They do have a beach that the kids can wade in, but the playground is out-dated and a long walk. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
We stayed at Eagle Cliff about two years ago (2006) and had the same experience with the rug, but ours was just a small doormat. So I went and asked why the big deal. The owner explained that I was there for a short time but the grass was there all year and their reasoning was to keep the grass green all year for all the campers. It only takes a couple of days with no sun on the grass and it turns yellow and then dies. So if one likes the green grass and not dirt I should help by picking up the mat each night, which I just put away and enjoyed the grass. By the way, they did move the tables in the unoccupied sites and set them on the fire rings. It’s all so we can have a beautiful campground to camp in, on real grass and not plastic covered dirt. I also asked why you had to walk up the hill to the bathrooms and showers and why the portable out houses instead of a restroom and showers close by in the lower camping area. That answer was very simple, because the lower area camping is in the flood plain of the Root River and you would not want all that stuff flushed into the river when it rises. It always helps to ask questions. We are from California where virtually all campgrounds are either dirt, gravel or paved so it was very refreshing to camp on real grass. All in all, the campground is four A all the way, We would gladly stay there again. We enjoyed the bike trail, Lanesboro and towns around, the fishing was great too, we even tried floating down the river, lots to do and see. We are retired and travel in our 5th wheel trailer, and have RV’d over 30 years. This is my first attempt at posting so I hope it was of help. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
Campground and surrounding area is very beautiful. Sites are spacious and clean. Unfortunately, you are met with a list of rules that many of the seasoned campers in our group had never heard of. Rugs must be picked up every night. They actually drive around in the early morning and pick up your rugs and leave you a note. One of our group had his rug picked up and laid across his brand new truck. Not Cool! The second night we rolled the rug up next to our tent. They took our rug. Tents are expected to be moved every 2 nights. With all of the stuff we had in our tents we thought this was extremely unneccessary. Picnic tables should be moved every day. I wonder if owners do this themselves when they have no one in the spot. Actual restrooms were not close by and you were expected to use portable toilets. Now if you have an RV great, but if you are tenting, you may want to look elsewhere. Oh, and watch out for the tubing they offer. A very steep decent to the river with your tubes with no offer of helping us and after you get out of the river you have a pretty lengthy walk with your tubes to the office. Would have been nice to be able to leave the tubes by the river. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
We did not camp here but drove through to check it out as a future place to stay. We stopped in store briefly, owners were pleasant and gave me brochure and said drive and around and check it out. It is a large place but has very nice sites. It's obvious they keep it up. The larger camping area looked great, though it's a bit of a walk to showers at main building, but they did have nearby porta-toilets. We would like stay in section-E (very shaded) next to the river and there is a bathhouse/showers just a 2 minute walk away. We didn't check out the bathouse because we assumed it was likely kept up well if the overall grounds were a reflection of their good upkeep. Though I was only in the store a few minutes, I did note they had a few very basic items in case you needed something. We stayed at the nearby Barn Resort and wished we had stayed here instead. Next time we will. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Excellent campground in a great area! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The sites were roomy and we were in a nice shady area. The "greenspace" was pleasant. Access roads were good for bikes as well as the Root River bike trail. The bike trail was paved and shady through the country side and along side the river. On the 4th of July, the campground sponsored a professional fireworks display. The only thing missing was Wifi and cell service was sketchy. We'd definitely visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$26
This is one of the finest campgrounds we have ever visited. The staff was friendly, the rates satisfactory and the grounds clean and neat. We would highly recommend this park to any family. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$59
Simply beautiful area and camp ground, right on the banks of the Root River! Plenty to keep the whole family entertained, with tube, kayak, canoe, bike rentals, fishing and game room. We saw eagles and deer right on-site. Not to mention there is a lot to see and do within a short distance of the campground. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back soon!! We camped here in a Campground Cabins.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$18
Located on Root River - great for tubing and canoeing - rentals available. Also 1/2 mile from Root River bike trail - 70 miles of paved old railroad right-of-way. Bike rentals available. Riverfront sites mainly for tenters. Very clean rest roms and showers. Very helpful, friendly staff. Amish towns nearby. Community theater in Lanesboro one of top 5 in US. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com