218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Pipestone RV Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (507) 825-2455
CGID1504

Pipestone RV Campground

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   8   8   8   7   7   7   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
Smaller sized Campground. Easy to get to, about a mile from Rt. 27. Staff very friendly. We were guided to our site. Our site #44 was a very clean, level, wide and long pull-thru with enough room for our RV and car. Full hook-ups including cable & WIFI. Some sites are side by side which I really don't like, but there was plenty of room and no one was next to us, so we were OK. Pipestone is a little off the beaten path, but worth it because it's located less than a mile and within walking distance to Pipestone National Monument. We stayed here in our Motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$19
This park was sold on the day we arrived. I'm not sure how the sale will effect future policies. The rate shown is a combination of Passport America and regular rates. We stayed a week. The campground appears to be a former KOA. We had a FHU pull through site. All the utilities worked great. The WiFi was 54 Mbps the whole time we were here. We watched movies on our Roku. We didn't use the pool, although it appeared to be clean and well tended. There are several seasonal sites, but overall this is a great campground. Located across the road from the National Historic Site. Nice town with a very nice meat market. Would stay here again and recommend to friends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
If new, remodeled or trendy is important to you, this is not the campground for you. If cleanliness and friendliness are important, you've found the right place. Most of the buildings at this campground are older and in need of some cosmetic TLC such as painting, etc. However, there are many other positive things that outweigh the negative. The bathrooms are immaculate. They've even put dehumidifiers in the restrooms to help with the constant dampness characteristic of most shower facilities. The pool was nice and warm. The kids never complained of being cold. The playground is more modern and in better condition than most commercial campground playgrounds. The staff was extremely friendly and laid back. The campground itself was quiet. Activities such as Bingo and art were offered. The game room needed some paint on the outside, but the inside was clean and all the games worked properly. The location is good. It is removed, but not too far from a major highway and is a short distance from the Pipestone National Monument. The only real negative for us was the train whistle sounding in the night. It was pretty bad the first night, but we only heard it once the second night. The train track runs right through the middle of Pipestone, so pretty much anywhere you are in town, you're probably going to hear the whistle. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$15
This is a very nice RV Park. Although the buildings are old, it is well maintained and kept clean. Most of the sites are wooded, but there are also some in the open for those looking for satellite TV. There are lots of things for adults as well as children to do, including a pool, playground, and game room. There are lots of very homey touches to the d├ęcor, making for a very pleasant experience. An on-site laundry room is also provided. Pros. Easy in and out access. Very clean; pleasant staff; pleasant settings. Located close to Pipestone NM. Part of Passport America. Cons. Old buildings. Final word. We would definitely recommend this park. In fact, we plan on coming back either next year or the following summer for a longer visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Nice people. Owner is especially helpful. We enjoyed the outdoor pool and the fact that they were right across the street from a very nice park. The park has old American Indian artifacts, hiking trails and a waterfall. The RV park itself was quiet and clean and had full hookups and a small store. Sites were fairly level. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
This is an old park with an odd layout: some gravel sites and some grass sites. Basically, if you see a utility post, it's a site. The office is closed from 11AM to 3PM so just stop and get yourself a map, find yourself a site, set up and go check in at 3:00. Cable TV was some of the best we've seen in any park. Wi-Fi worked sometimes and sometimes not. It's a good over night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$16
Price reflects Passport America. We came for 2 nights and decided to stay for 4 (max for PA). We initially were concerned about the roads that abut 2 sides of campground, but there's very little traffic on them and things were quiet. Actually the only noise we could complain about (and it's nothing CG is responsible for) were the train horns blowing for over 2 minutes at 3am (I'm a light sleeper and they bugged me) Site was level, very dry and parched. Gravel needs to be replaced and weeds need attending. We had back-in, 50 amp (2 50's & 1 20 amp on 1 post and 30 amp on another). Electric and water posts are near the front of the back in which were a stretch for our hoses & cords. Laundry is cheap $1.25 wash $1.00 dry, but equipment is old and one dryer didn't do diddley - they reimbursed me so I was able to dry that load in a different unit. Work camper / hosts are friendly and glad to share info of area. Pipestone National Monument is right across the street and a great visit to learn about Peace Pipes. Our biggest gripe about CG was WiFi. We were advised when we made our reservation that it was not working too well and spent the entire week playing a game of trying to find and then keep the signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
Rate reflects Passport price, 30amp, no sewer which is a great price. We had a nice pull-through, shady, grassy site. The 30 amp worked well on this hot day. We stayed overnight to visit Pipestone National Park right across street. Nice pool and playground for kids. The Wi-Fi worked well, our Sprint Phone/Hot Spot got good reception. Plenty of room to walk the dogs. The park was neat and clean where we were. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
Nice park with friendly folks running it. We did an overnighter; great for that and visited the Pipestone Memorial across the highway. Would stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
We camped here in late May, so maybe campground was not up to full speed yet. Looked sort of run-down and could tell it was a converted KOA. The women's bathroom needed good scrubbing. The men's was ok. Our sight had inadequate gravel, too many weeds, and the hookups required extensions on power, water and sewer. Friendly staff, but overall, sort of a disappointment. Enjoyed the turkeys! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$16
Price quoted is PA for 30amp, no sewer. Pool was not open for season yet. Good free Wi-Fi. Level gravel sites. Recycling available. Good Verizon voice. Fair air TV. Across the street from Pipestone National Monument. Great restaurant (Langes) in town (about 1 mile away). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
Nice campground, but wasn't aware of a Passport America discount, as we were there on Saturday and Sundays. Too bad for us! Very quiet town and parklike environs. Wild turkeys roamed through the park! The hookups worked fine, and cable TV has the largest selection of channels we have ever seen at a campground. Wi-Fi available. Clean restrooms and showers and laundry. The town of Pipestone has little in the way of "night out" dining or entertainment, but it was a good park to chill out in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
This was a friendly, well-kept park. Very convenient to downtown Pipestone and the monument. Excellent value with the PA discount. We would camp here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Clean friendly park. They know they are the only park in town but they still work hard to make their campers comfortable Close to Pipestone Monument and other tourist attractions in the area We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
This was a nice, clean park and the office staff was friendly and helpful. We just spent the night here in our travels from the Ottertail area to our home base in western Iowa, but would stay here again. The Civil War enactment was going on across the street and was fairly loud. My dog hid under the table in the motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
Friendly staff in office and escort to site. Site was a grass strip with shared hookups with another RV only a few feet away from ours. Campground was full and looked crowded as so many sites were close together. Some of the front campsites would be rated higher, but they looked to be seasonal. Close to Fort Pipestone and Hiawatha park where a Civil War Reenactment was going on at the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
This was a very nice RV park and the price was just right. Staff was very friendly and helpful and provided an escort to our site. 50 amp service was good, however due to the high number of campers in the park the water pressure was quite low at times. The kids had a fun time in the pool and visiting the local area. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
This is a pleasant park directly across from Pipestone National Monument. The wi-fi was free and worked well. It was very quiet. The manager was friendly. The bathrooms were not fancy, but they were clean and in good condition. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This was our first visit here, and we were just passing through (one night), but found this to be a very pleasant place to stay. Showers/bathrooms were clean, and the Wi-Fi worked very well! Sites are a bit narrow but graveled and level. Manager/owner was very friendly...great DVD library! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
This is the second time we have stayed at this park and have enjoyed both visits. The entrance to Pipestone National Monument is right across the road, and well worth the visit! The nightly rate reflects the Passport rate. If in the area again, we would definitely repeat the visit! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
We were here over a weekend and although we had Passport America it did not apply for W/E stay: typical of PA. The CG and owner were nice and helped in every way: gave us W, E and Cable. We did not pay for septic, but worked that in with PA discount for one day. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$16
Friendly folks, nice park. Went just for the Pipestone National Monument but could have stayed a few more days to tour the wind farm and the bison ranch. Rate reflects Passport America--full 50 amps and cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
Highly recommended campground for any length of stay. Entrance and parking for any size rig is available; approachable on well maintained gravel roads. All sites are grass, which is well maintained and great for vehicle washing ($5). The far north-end sites are best suited for big rigs, which look out over the plains and corn fields and have wild turkeys, chipmunks, and squirrels visiting. Grounds are very quiet except for the occasional train passing in the distance. Staff is friendly and town of Pipestone has plenty of stores for supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
This RV park has gravel roads with holes that have water when it rained, gravel sites with grass and a picnic table. Our site was not very level so had some issues. There are side by side hookups which put you very close to the next rig. Some sites are on grass but the grass was still firm when it rained so didn't sink in. There were kids joy riding golf carts around the camp a lot and it got old. They have a good cable TV and a very fast wifi. This rate was for 50 amp full hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
We were greeted by workampers and the owner who were very friendly and helpful. They led us to our site and answered questions and recommended a great restaurant, Lange's, in town with home cookin' and homemade ice cream and deserts. Walking distance to town and Pipestone National Monument. We will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
The only thing that keeps this wonderful campground from being a 10 is the age of the restrooms. This is a great place to spend a few days and visit downtown Pipestone and the National monument and don't forget the cinnamon rolls and sour cream raisin pie at Lange's as well as their award winning dinners. The new owners of the campground continue to make improvements so we will always plan a stop here when heading this direction. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
Great park, nice owner. Laundry room delightful, good wifi and cable TV. Sort of muddy from rainy weather. Took us 3 tries to get situated in the pull-through due to weird height of utility posts versus slides. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our 2 month trip northwest. Because it had everything, full hook-ups, excellent cable, WIFI, a pool, and within walking distance to town, we require for a multi-day stay, we reserved it for Labor Day weekend. As expected, the park was packed with families getting away for the final summer weekend, so we were never able to comfortably use the pool. In spite of that and a few too many campfires in hot weather, it was an enjoyable stay for an older couple in a park filled with families on a busy weekend. Being about 30 minutes east of I-35 and the same distance north of I-90, this is not a convenient park for travelers on the interstates looking for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
Small quiet campground north of Pipestone town center and just across the road from Pipestone National Monument. Owners very friendly and efficient. Access roads a little narrow but well maintained. Flat gravel sites with full hook-ups but are a little on the narrow side particularly if full. Solid electricity and good water pressure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2004
$22
This park would be much better if the sites were not so close together. W e could not put out our awning if there had been another RV next to ours. The group that came in had very little space between RV's with the slides out. The owners are very nice, the place is really clean the laundry is huge and very nice. Other than the very small sites its a nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$24
Typical overnighter CG, just outside of downtown Pipestone. An easy walk to town and the Pipestone Monument. Grassy sites with side by side hookups. Nothing special, but nothing bad about this CG. Only thing that irritated me was this: My T/L directory stated this CG has "30A/50A hookups." The site I was at had two 50A outlets and one 20A. Weather was cool, so the 20A suited us just fine. A young family showed up a bit later in the neighboring site and had the pleasure to walk back to the CG office to purchase a 50A to 30A pigtail adapter. So that family's one night stay amounted to approx. $24 site plus $17 for the pigtail = $41. This place was not worth that price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com