220520 User submitted reviews online!!
Rochester Marion KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (507) 288-0785
CGID1508

Rochester Marion KOA

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   5   9   8   10   7   9   5   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
We found this to be a very clean and well maintained park. The owner was very pleasant and helpful. Has a very well stocked campground store. The laundry room has new machines and is clean and well furnished. We will stay here again when passing through this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
Average for us. Seemed cramped. Good for overnight only. Worth driving off Interstate for no traffic noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Very easy access to/from I-90, extremely friendly and helpful owners. Roads and sites are packed gravel, spacious sites with concrete patios and picnic tables. Our site was back in, but was able to pull through since no one in other spot. Full hook up was great. Quiet, shady. Camp store well stocked. Will stay again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Very easy access to/from I-90, extremely friendly and helpful owners - we didn't get cookies like other reviewers did :-( Roads are paved, sites well marked. Were assigned a pullthru, bit tricky getting in and out because of tight turns due to rocks or structures (pull thrus are behind the office, back in and tents are across the street) (back in & tent area are right off secondary highway so it could get noisy during day) Our site was long and full hook up was great. Quiet, shady. Pool was popular with many campers. Big area down the road to run dogs. Camp store well stocked. Wish they had better discounts on price, but they're ruled by KOA and the price is on par with most other parks in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Beautiful Park, We were escorted to a perfect pull thru site, beautiful fir trees all around. Excellent WiFi. Very friendly and helpful hosts. They stopped by later to bring us warm cookies and make sure everything was good. All the typical KOA Amenities. Very little road noise. Restrooms and laundry very clean. We will definitely stay here again, when passing through this way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$41
This KOA has rather small sites. We got a big pull-through site even though we had ask for back-in. I was OK with that as it was a big site and the park was not full. This park does not have many large sites for bigger units. The pool was not open yet and that was one of the main reasons I booked that specific campground. The hosts were out and about most of our stay, that was nice to see. The hostess brought us cookies and a complimentary newspaper on our first night's stay. A very nice touch. The host and hostess were also very friendly and willing to answer any and all questions. Very easy to get to if you are coming into Rochester. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
We stayed for one night while driving cross country. Staff very friendly and accommodating, guided us to our site. The owner surprised us with fresh baked cookies and a newspaper, both were most welcomed. While we usually stay in national parks for the majority of our time, we would seek this campground out again when traveling through. Sites were clean and level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
Most KOA's are customer friendly. Not this place. We called again and again for a reservation and could not get anyone to answer the phone. Just got the answering machine and no one would call back. Then we got through, and they had to hang up since they were busy, and promised to call us right back; and they did not. Also be advised that the 50 amp sites are usually reserved for Mayo employees and patients. Also, be advised that they have a 2 dog limit. And, they even require small door mats. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
We paid for two nights, but left a day early, with a partial refund. More about that below. Good points: Mostly nice, well-maintained, shady sites with good water, power, and sewer. Relaxing, serene environment not too close to the highway. The problems: We found the cable only offered 3 or 4 channels, and the antenna was a little better. Our biggest disappointment was the wifi. They have an adequate system, a repeater installed, but that repeater was damaged so we could not get reception at our site. The owner claimed it would be fixed that day, but later her husband said no. The bottom line is that I walked clear from one end of the campground to the other repeatedly, trying to find a solution. I was rewarded with denials, unkeepable promises, and a surly attitude. She's one of those, "I've run this place for twenty years, and I know everything" types. I could have lived for another day without internet, but her attitude just ruined my visit. Then, when she offered me my money back, I took it and headed for Wisconsin. I won't go back to the Rochester KOA again, and can't recommend it at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Stayed here for two nights. Not our first choice, but wanted to be close to Rochester to visit with family. Other campgrounds in the area were full. Owners not friendly at all. Dog waste in the fire ring upon arrival. Very concerned about grass being driven on, despite the fact that our site was full of gopher/mole tunnels which made it difficult to walk without falling. During peak end of summer camping season, there were only 20 campsites in use the first night and even fewer the second night. Overhead multiple conversations between owners and other guests that suggested, we don't care if you stay here or not. One individual when questioning the high price was told, "It costs $75 per night at Disneyworld and this isn't Disneyworld. Do you want the site or not?" My husband stated three times to the owner that he was interested in looking at the camper cabins, but apparently that wasn't clear enough. Restrooms were clean and well maintained, but even nice restrooms cannot make up for the overall feeling of hostility that was felt during our stay. If you are just staying one evening and don't care about hospitality, this place would meet your needs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
The sites are kept up well. They had a person park us and provided wood for under our jacks because they have soft pads. There is a cable hookup that does not hookup to cable TV, but to an antenna to reach TV stations better. This did not work for us. The office lady tried to help, but was not able to get their 'antenna' to work with our system either. I think the $42 price is way too high for this park especially with no cable or any TV access. The Wi-Fi, however, worked fine. I would not stay here again at the current price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Pros: Nice, park-like setting with lots of mowed area to walk dogs (and cats!). Location? (not sure how many other campgrounds were in this area) Cons: Owner OK but not too friendly, place feels like they don't really care if you have a good stay or not: "here's our KOA, take it or leave it." There's also a lot of highway noise during the day. There is very low water pressure!! Driving your rig through the campground is a bit difficult. Instead of making larger roads and wider, easier turn areas, they put rock obstacles on all the corners! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
Although this campground is small, the facility is in excellent condition. The grounds are well kept. The pool and showers are likewise in good shape. Full hook-ups are limited but it's close to the interstate if you're looking for a short layover. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$38
The grounds are clean and well maintained. We were warmly greeted and driven to our spot. This was a one night stop for us and I would recommend it to anyone driving through. The pool is very cold. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
This is a well maintained KOA and the owners seem to take pride in their park. When we first arrived, we were parked in a site without full hookups and when we asked to change, it seemed to cause a bit of a fuss. We were put in a full hookup site and they made a point of telling us we didn't reserve it (although they admitted you couldn't reserve a full hookup site online for some strange reason)... They were nice, but a bit regimented - if they could relax a bit, they would help make folks stay a bit more pleasant. The location was OK and near the freeway (but not so close noise was an issue) - it was great for our overnight there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Our stay here was a mixed bag. The facilities were awesome and well-maintained. Sites were level and easy to get situated in. We enjoyed a nice little cement "patio", perfectly fit with our awning. The kids loved frisbee, golf and the clean pool. Also, it was nice and quiet here. WiFi was impeccable. Plenty of attractions in the area. However, the pool has a "No diapers of ANY kind" rule. I took this to assume no swim diapers as well, which poses a big problem for families of non-potty trained children. Also, the owners were a bit irked when we hadn't pre-registered our guests...but we didn't know exactly how many there would be. They made our guests park up front and get visitor stickers...and they had to be gone by nine pm. Also, no clothesline allowed and no parking on the grass. So, basically lots of rules with the good times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
This is our 3rd time staying at this campground. The campground is spotless with all facilities well maintained. Owners are friendly and helpful. Definitely one of our favorite stops. Wifi is excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
Wow...one of the best KOAs we have ever stayed in. Sites level/clean. Staff friendly, helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$34
Owners very friendly and helpful. Allowed a very late check in which was very much appreciated! In addition to a late check-in, they assisted us to our site and set-up. They also made sure we were all set for the night. A++ Service!! Campsite was a tad small but cozy. It was very well maintained! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$31
Unlike most KOA owners, they did not seem aware of the needs of larger RV's, such as room to maneuver. Even though we asked for a "Big Rig" site which they said they had, the site was so small we could barely enter it. At the corners of each site there were either boulders, wooden stakes and/or tall metal posts- some hidden in bushes-that made it impossible to make a wide turn to leave the site. Had to back through an empty site to leave. The owners were discourteous and more concerned with their grass than helping customers. We will never return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
Very friendly staff. Sites on the smallish side, but that was OK with us. WiFi was sketchy at best. A little traffic noise. Loved that the campers quieted down around 9 p.m. Very clean. Very well maintained. Great trees and shade. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$31
I have nothing bad to say about this campground. It is in my opinion the perfect place to stay, hence my 10 rating. The owners are friendly, helpful and hospitable. The pool is fabulous, the wifi works great and the pizza, which was delivered to our site, was the best I have had in a long time. The sites are spacious, surrounded by very well kept grass. The patios at the sites are great for having meals at the picnic table. The store has a bit of everything and the bathrooms and laundry facilities are very clean. I will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Great campground! Would recommend this place to all of my friends. Friendly staff and very helpful. Close enough to the Mayo. A very quiet country setting, it's so peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Clean, Quiet, friendly staff. Pool was clean and well kept. We will return We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Very clean and well maintained. Very friendly owners. We use this for visiting our Grandchildren. Will Return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Old park in need of some renovation. Sites are angled poorly and rocks/posts make site entry tough. Hook-ups need updating as does powere grid, no 50 amps available. Staff unhelpful and very curt. Will not stay again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com