219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Southern Comfort Camping Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (228) 432-1700
CGID1534

Southern Comfort Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
January 2012
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   6   3   7   6   4   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2012
$32
Dirty and the sites are not well laid out. Many, many full time residents. Trashy looking. We were sticking out into the roadway. They could not accommodate the size of our 40 foot rig. We paid for 5 days then found another place. They would not refund our money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2011
$31
First week of stay we discovered management problems with employees. Very poor management never keep advertised office hours. Very difficult to contact with problems. Every other hookup was on the wrong sides. Outdated electrical plug ins. Tent people living in back. Witness excessive use of alcohol of tent people. Nightly parties way past curfew times. Homeless people breaking through back gate to shower. Frequent visits by local police due to suspected drug use. Men and women's shower room share the same pass code, that we were told had been the same for more than two years. Manager's space across from office now occupied by "new" managers, (third ones since our stay) in an extremely old camper with home window unit sticking out the side. Also heavy drinkers and suspicion of drug (crack) use. Felt very unsafe: no place for children. Worse campground in Biloxi. For your safety PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE!! So very sad to give the beautiful town and beachs of Biloxi such a bad name. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
Traveling in an Aliner pop up, the restroom and shower facilities are very important. This site has large restroom shower facilities that are clean. They need a little updating and maintenance but are good overall. The camp has a lot of Katrina evacuees still living in FEMA trailers. There are quite a few shady characters in the area where they put me. I was flanked on each side by tent campers. One of them was a long term tent camper and his site looks like a trash heap. The site on the other side was occupied by a woman and a dog and it too looked pretty sad. A train track goes right by the campground so the ground shakes when a train goes by. The noise is too much to sleep through. You can walk to the beach as it is just across the road. Be aware, this area was completely destroyed by Katrina but did not make the news like New Orleans. There are a lot of parking lots without buildings. This place is coming back but very slowly because it is not on the news like New Orleans. Very little FEMA money made it here, so praise be to those who are trying to make a comeback on their own. All the businesses and houses are new so in time this place will look great. Not a place to bring kids as this is a casino town. Lots of shady characters around. Saw a female working the street right outside the RV park. Beach is not pristine like Florida beaches. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
The term "Resort" should not be in the name. This is the worst park we stayed in during our long trip. I called ahead and was told there was large pull through sites. That was true, but with the car on the back of the motorhome, and the water and electric on the opposite side of the MH, I had to unhook the car and back the MH up to be able to reach the connections. We could literally feel the ground shake as the trains would pass thru during the night. I think the tracks went through the park! We would not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$29
Every other site has the water hookup on the wrong side. Older park with narrow sites but level. Good water pressure and voltage. Easy walk across highway 90 to the beach. Real close to railroad track. Rear section is much batter than front section. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$16
$16 rate is for a month. The pull through site is a little tight for a 37' 5W and dually. Water and cable TV is on the wrong side of the site and 30' of sewer hose was needed. We didn't get the site we reserved due to staff problems. We were led to another site and the worker quickly trimmed a tree of some small branches touching the 5W. The rooftop TV dish worked well between the trees, and the Sprint cell phones and air card work pretty good. Lots of channels on CG cable TV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Located next to RxR track with many trains passing through day and night. Sites are barely adequate for 37' rig, are grass and gravel. Water and electric tower was on the wrong side of rig and necessitated extra hose and cable for cable TV hook up. Would leave sooner if I could get a refund. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
Friendly, family owned and clean park. Like all Florida RV Parks, it has some full time residents. Very quiet and located just across from beach. Good place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$16
We are spending a month here. Staff is very nice & helpful. We had a pull through in the back, lots of grass. Little tight with the truck but OK. Wi-Fi works good. Sprint cell and air card work pretty good. We have a spot were no trees interfere with roof top dish. Railroad tracks at back of park with ~6 trains a day, no road noise & occasional USAF planes from nearby Kessler AFB which are nifty. Haven't tried the pool or laundry yet. Very few kids, several workers in last row but no problems or concerns. Nice park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Across street from beach. Staff very friendly. Several long term residents. Was a bit loud when we stayed here. Nice level sites. Not much water pressure in shower. Free shuttle to casinos. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2009
$32
Park is close to Gulf Coast, across the street. We visited during two weeks of rain and coastal flooding. Saw employees putting out sand bags by doors and asked employee if park floods easily. Employee stated that even during Katrina it never really flooded. Did get a lot of high water in all sites, but it did drain quickly. WI-FI was good; satellite reception was good. As for anything over 40 feet,your rig is on the edge of the road both front and back. Was able to maneuver on roadways, but it is close to other units and buildings. Employees were very nice. I would not stay here again as I do not like gravel and sand for a base with a heavy rig. Other than that this is a nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
This park has very nice management. It's a very clean area with dependable maintenance. We have stayed at this campground 4 years in a row, and intend on going back every year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
There were several campers at this resort that may have been displaced still by Katrina. Not a lot of great walking areas for dogs. The train tracks are directly behind the campground so it can be loud. The staff was super friendly and the grounds and buildings clean. Biloxi is still rebuilding so there is not much near by. Only Treasure Bay casino is close enough to walk to. Bus service is still scares. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2008
$28
We stayed here for one night. We were planning on spending more time in Biloxi, but decided against it. The campground isn't impressive. The sites are very close, the train is noticeable, and the laundry room wasn't very clean. We would skip this campground next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$18
Our site was paid for and reserved for us by a friend. When we arrived there was a mix up about our arrival date so we were put in the overflow section for the night which was no problem. However, the next day they decided that we didn't look "good enough" for that site and we were not even allowed to move into a spot with sewer and ended up spending the week in the overflow section. There were many campers and motorhomes in much worse shape than ours, some even sat with parts missing and flat tires. No explanation or apology was given to us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
Overall, a nice campground. There are limited amounts of trees but Katrina is responsible for that. The sites are very level. The bathrooms/showers were clean. Lots of hot water. We did not use the pool. The casinos are close by but you do need a car to get around. The only problem what we had was that they left a note on our door while were gone stating that we had not paid enough for all the people that were staying with us. We had paid for 4 and actually had six. However, we told them when we checked in that we had six people and assumed that they would have charged us the right amount. They apologized and ultimately did not charge us the extra amount which we would have gladly paid had they not been ugly about it. But is was kind of rude to leave a note on our door stating we still owed more money. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
We stayed from May thru July. Excellent location across the street from white Gulf beaches. Pool and park was kept clean. Staff picked up our garbage bags every morning. (The owner had no plans to repair the hot tub though). The game room is run down. They did have a lot of long term campers in the back and it got a bit rowdy some nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2005
$26
The campground itself is not that bad other than being tightly packed. The staff is very nice and courteous and the sites are level. The sites up front are dirt and the ones in the back are dirt with a little gravel and grass. Our problem with the campground was the train track which joins the campground immediately to the rear. All night, every night, long trains come lumbering down the main line with their horns blaring at each crossing. It sounds like they are inside your RV. Not once but at least a dozen trains a night, all night. Worst two nights of almost sleep we have ever experienced in 25 years of camping. All campgrounds along Beach Boulevard have this problem. But, I never will again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Arrived around dark but appeared to be very nice park with easy access to beaches and casinos. Casinos provide shuttle service. Only problem was the freight train that managed to pass within 25 yards of the campground about every 1.5 hours all night with horn blasting all the way through Biloxi. $22.15 w/GS discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$24
I have to say that I was not impressed. The signs to the place consisted of the back of a park bench at a bus stop. The other signs were so small that we drove by the place and it was very difficult to get turned back around. The staff was friendly, but the gal who checked us in, needed some MAJOR dental work done. The sites were fairly level, lots of shade, but the site we were in was extremely tight. We had to wait for two other people to leave or move their rig, so we could get ours out. The train going through at all hours of the night was quite an experiance. I wouldn't go back again. We saw several other campgrounds with a lot more room just down the road, with bigger signs! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$27
The people there were extremely friendly and we had an enjoyable stay there. It is just across the street from casino's and you can call for a ride when you are ready to go. If the office is not open when you need to call for a ride to the casino there is a pay phone in the breeze way and a list of numbers provided for you so you will still be able to call. They also provide trash pick-up at your site, you do not have to walk it to a dumpster yourself. I would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$24
Many nice shaded, level pull thru on grass. Gulf beaches across the highway are not visible from 99% of the sites and crossing the highway on foot to get to beach would not be recommended. Nearest casino is Treasure Bay, about 2 miles west. As are all the beach road cgs, this one is adjacent to the railroad tracks and the train that rumbles through at 2-3am, complete with horn, feels and sounds like it is invading your RV. Not only no office modem hookup but owner is quite dismissive of the idea. Location of utilities on some sites is strange - some curb side and some requiring a 30'+ sewer run. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com