223427 User submitted reviews online!!
St. David RV Resort, Western Horizon was rated 7 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (520) 720-4140
CGID183

St. David RV Resort, Western Horizon

Camp Information
Sites
215
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$0



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   7   6   9   8   5   6   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$0
We stayed here under Western Horizon Resorts membership. It's been about three years since we were here last and based on some recent reviews we expected the park to be in poor shape. Some of the roads need attention and the park does not have 50 amp service and that's about the only negative we can come up with. Our site (66) and the sites around us had good solid gravel and were level. It was easy to navigate our 40 ft motor home. We had friends parked in the upper level and they were happy with their site. Verizon phone signal was weak but usable and our Verizon MiFi picked up two bars of 4G and also worked fine. Easy satellite dish reception. We are looking forward to future visits. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2014
$4
We stayed with a WHR membership. This park was once a nice park but terribly run down now. The club house is still nice but not used much. The interior roads are quite deteriorated and one entire upper section of the park is no longer used. There were problems with the septic system although we were able to dump OK. Too bad WHR is letting things go down hill here. It was once a very nice place. Tried to use the hot tub but every time we went down in the evening it was locked even though we went before the stated closing time by more then an hour. There appears to be little oversight and less maintenance. The men's shower had only lukewarm water and one working toilet. The laundry had a dryer not working and according to other campers it had not been working for some time. I will not come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$1
Rate is ROD. The last two reviews summed things up well. I will note that the utilities worked well including electricity which can be poor in older parks, but not here. We were in the higher section and got 4G on our Verizon Mifi. There are a limited number of sites that will handle a big rig. On the upper level few, if any, sites are level but not so bad you can't level with some effort. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$0
Not the same as St. David RV Park in same town. All gravel and dirt roads and pads. No trees on the RV sites but many in the park. Outdoor pool and hot tub. Small lake with grass and picnic areas. Activity center and rec room. Weekend dinners and breakfasts in the busy seasons. All back-in sites but long and wide. Clean but dated and old. Right off road but almost no traffic noise. No Wi-Fi at sites, only in rec center. 3 bar Verizon cell signal and only 3G mobile hot spot, but good satellite signal and very good cable TV available. Office staff friendly and helpful. Membership park (Western Horizon) but no monthlies. About 2 miles south of St David and 8 miles south of Benson and I-10. We will stay there again. $0 for ROD also accepts AOR. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$1
I don't agree with the person who wrote the review in April 2012. We have stayed here a lot of times, and the park is really nice.They have a beautiful lodge and lake.The pool was nice, and they had many activities. There is dirt there as it is in the desert ,a no brainer for most people. Most parks are dirt in AZ. They had many activities, meals and all were a lot of fun. Staff was very friendly except for one lady in the office and everyone knew who she was. The restrooms and laundry were very clean.The only draw back was that if you didn't have your own internet service you had to go to the computer room to get on, and it was very slow. We were in one of the handicapped sites by the club house and got poor reception on our wi-fi. We would stay up on the hill as everyone said the reception was good up there. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$1
Rate is WH member rate (actually $0). You would do well to read other reviews by the previous reviewer as he (or she) finds fault with every place they stay. I agree that the park looks "worn out" but it is still a good park. I never rate a park good or bad only because of Wi-Fi but many now consider it the most important. Facilities are clean and help is always pleasant and available. Interior roads are good (but too many speed bumps) and sites are level. Electric is steady and water pressure is good. Wi-Fi worked well when I was there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$3
We had a members' rate of $3 and still left after just 3 days, tired of tracking dirt into the RV and wanting a nicer park. The only improvement to this dump in the last 10 years has been upgrading the cable tv system. Now there's finally a clear picture and 60 channels. Bathrooms weren't cleaned in the 4 days we looked, and the pool didn't look too good either. Benson has many other RV parks, all better than this. There's some country charm except for the nearby highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$1
Nice park, some of staff very friendly, one was a bit snippy when asked about Wi-Fi. The entire week we were here it did not work. Kept saying they are working on it. Nice lake, ducks love to come by for bread, several levels to park at. Very nice common rooms, hot tub and pool kept clean. We would stay here again, but would only buy Wi-Fi on a day to day basis, first asking if it worked. Would not refund for time we paid for. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$1
Nice Park. Off a busy road, the sites up on the hill are the best (if you can get one). Staff was very friendly. Pool is nice but has trees around it. The lake had ducks and we saw kids fishing. Planned activities. Accepted member mail, but it is delivered & left in unsecured guard shack at the entrance of the park. Close enough to Tucson to do daily excursions. Lots of people had ATV's and were able to ride them out of the park to riding areas. This was a nice park and we would return here again. We are ROD members so the stay was free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$12
Sites 'on the hill' are the largest; that area is usually only open January - mid-April. Older sections (closer to clubhouse) have much shorter and narrower sites. Pool is warm spring fed, and well-maintained. Nice clubhouse. Activities are offered when there are a lot of visitors. Roads are not well-maintained, picnic tables are old with peeling paint. Wi-Fi signal was marginal. The park needs some major maintenance and upgrades. We may stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$6
Stayed here 14 days under WHR membership. Very friendly staff. We had a nice site up on the shelf. Lots to do in the area, will definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$10
A nice park about 8 miles south of I-10. A membership resort with majority of snow birds when we stayed there, very friendly place, with office staff very accommodating. We had a little difficulty finding a site for our 40' RV, but were able to squeeze into one that was rated for 36'. Some sites were not very level, but we found one to our liking. Good Wi-Fi and cable. Lots of activities, including breakfast and dinner. Also a beautiful club house, two ponds for fishing, and a number of Casitas that looked very attractive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$4
We stayed here for 14 nights under our WHR membership. Our site was a little tight for our 38 ft. FW. We could have asked for a bigger site, but didn't. The campground is older but very adequate. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We like this campground and the area around. There is a lot to see and great hiking areas to visit. We will come back again next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
The worst experience of our traveling this year. We were given a back-in site which was too small for our 36' motorhome. The hook ups were located 20' at least from our coach. We were given another site but spent almost an hour trying to get out of such a tight spot, with trees, roots, posts, hook ups, fences etc. in our way. Finally a tree branch ripped our slider awning which needs to be replaced now. The owner (?) was very rude to me after I told him we should have been given a larger site. Finally, we demanded a refund and left this park. I DO NOT RECOMMEND this park for any big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$3
We have enjoyed two stays at St David and have enjoyed the location, pleasant surroundings and time spent with the courteous staff. This is a good location for exploring southern AZ with easy access to Bisbee, Benson, Sierra Vista, Tombstone, the San Pedro flyway for bird watchers. We had a good level sites with access to plenty of walking trails, and the fishing ponds. Minor problems were the absurdly tight limits on the $2/day Wi-Fi service and the very poor maintenance on many parts of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$4
We have been WH Members for the past couple of years. St. David is our Home Park. It is close to many interesting areas like Bisbee, Douglass, Tombstone, Benson and Mexico to name just a few. Our problem seem to be the staff. They are unfriendly and seem to dislike their work. Boy they were friendly when they wanted to sell us our membership. The last time I was here, I paid $14.00 for seven days of Wi-Fi. On the second day I ran out of time and went to the office. They told me It was my fault that I must of left the computer on and used all my minutes. I was never told I only had minutes and I did not leave the computer on. I used it about four hours total. I bought another day on the Wi-Fi for $2.00 and this time I received three days. For the amount I paid for this membership I should at least get a smile from the staff. PS: The water is great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$2
The nightly rate refers to our ROD rate. We have camped here twice and will most definitely return. This is one of our favorite RV parks. Staff is friendly and helpful; beautiful area; no large cities nearby producing light pollution to interfere with the stars at night! Breathtaking views of the Milky Way. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$2
Beautiful resort and clubhouse. Not busy in May. Most of the sites were closed. We used it as a base to visit Tombstone and Cochise Stronghold. Cable was $2/night. No 50 amp service available. For Members only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$1
This is our first Western Horizons park and we were thrilled with it. The staff went above and beyond to help us feel welcome and comfortable. The pool and spa area is just gorgeous. Our site as not level and very dusty but not so bad that we couldn't make it work. The people were so friendly here, which made our stay even better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$5
The laughable previous review calling this dump a 5 star resort and giving a 10 rating should be dismissed. May have been done by a WH workamper or friend. This is a dusty old place that hasn't been improved in too many years. Families are here over spring break, but in early April it was very quiet, and the whole hillside-top area and casitas were empty. WH sent a letter mentioning declining membership, which is no surprise given the condition of most of the parks and all the old people. They are now charging $5 for cable and electric here if your "home" park,$14 otherwise. Sites are all dirt and pebbles which you have to clean out of your coach every day; most are not level, hookups are inconvenient and next to your neighbor's door. Sites by the lake are wider but not FHU. Cable tv has okay variety of stations, but mediocre reception. Tengo wifi costs extra, of course; Verizon aircard and cell have erratic power. Small pool was covered most of the time due to high winds. Would never stay here if not for WH membership. Much nicer parks in Benson area , many with PA discount and better value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$3
We have been FT for 3+ years and this resort has been our favorite WHR resort yet. The cable (Cox) does not have a lot of the channels. This is a year round 5-STAR FAMILY RESORT. Families come from Tucson, Sierra Vista and everywhere between, just about every weekend. The staff is friendly and welcoming, The "Casita" rentals are clean and fully stocked for any stay and cheaper than the Budget Inn. The resort has Wi-Fi. We use a Verizon PC card and Virgin Mobil phone and always have a good signal. The pool is warm, the hot-tub hot and the fish are always jumping. There are many of the "tourist" activities in the area that the "Old Folks" enjoy. Ghost towns, Mine tours, restaurants, quad rentals, sight seeing, just about anything you could want. GREAT 4-wheeling in every direction. Wal-Mart and Safeway are about 7 miles away. The weather is great year round. Resort has activitys for young and old from tag-a-longs (Casino, Dinasour tracks, 4-wheel only, lunch) to Easter egg hunts and entertainers. I would recomend this resort to any and all looking for a place to spend the winter or summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$1
We stayed here for the first time using our Western Horizons membership. We found the staff somewhat friendly but the volunteers were wonderful. Enjoyed the exercise classes and found the showers and restrooms clean. Could use larger laundry facilities but understand lack of sewer is why they don't have more restrooms/laundry. We had a nice spot with plenty of room. Plenty of places to visit while staying in the park, will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$6
This is my home membership park with Western Horizons, which I purchased as a new full-timer. There are many WHR parks that are much nicer, though the St David Resort offers a great escape from the desert environment. Nestled in a narrow riparian area, there are 2 small stocked manmade lakes with geese, ducks and bullfrogs, tall trees and about 20 large campsites at the lake. The lake sites do not have sewer service. I plan to purchase a portable gray water tank since these are the nicest sites at the park, and the one set of restrooms and showers can become dirty by days end. The staff are nice, the pool and clubhouse are average. It would be nice if the park had 50amp service and Wi-Fi. All park roads are dirt and gravel with numerous over zealous speed bumps. The environment is very dusty at times, and ants can be a problem. The mid section of the park has full hookups and some shade trees, but many of the dirt campsites are enclosed by decorative wooden rails which make it difficult for people with multiple slides to fit into. There are a few permanent residents (aka employees) who unfortunately occupy most of the few nice sites that there are. The upper section opens only during peak season, is called Satellite city. It borders on the raw desert on 3 sides and there are no shade trees. Most of the sites are average in size or smaller. This section is green for a few months after the rainy season ends. If you are not comfortable with things that creep, crawl, go bump in the night and perhaps carry your small pets away, you may not want to stay in the upper section of the park. One can hope for some improvement at this park, though it has its charms and possibilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2008
$2
Have to feel sorry for any WH members who paid big bucks for a membership (crazy sales people will quote you from $7 to 12,000). This is a quiet, somewhat peaceful (when the kids aren't running around) country park but quite dated and a bit rundown. The bathroom was always dirty from the families on spring break; staff cleans early am and never comes back. So the 2 showers were nasty, water pooled on floor, the 2 toilets were backed up. Pool was not very clean but spartan clubhouse was okay. We got tired of the filthy bathhouse, hot unlevel site, constant sand in the coach (how about some gravel, WH?), and poor cell and aircard reception, so left early. Did enjoy the cable TV and dark skies at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2007
$2
Older park but kept nice. We camped here in a 40' motorhome using our Western Horizon membership. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Christmas dinner was excellent. We were parked on the knoll, hill behind and had lots of room between. The upper parking area is the nicest for views and room. We had full hookups. Sure would be nice if 50 amp service were available. Quiet place and close to sightseeing areas. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$1
We stayed here on ROD membership.Had plenty of activities and meals.Very good food and friendly staff.Very nice club house.Kept very clean.Sites are nice. We were in a handicap site and it was very close to clubhouse and activities.We stayed in a fifth wheel.Wish they would get wifi.We had to go to their sister park 5 miles away to use the wifi.We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$10
One of the nicest in the Western Horizon system. Best sites are on the upper levels away from the road. Nothing to do in St. David, but allot in the nearby areas. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$1
This is now St. David RV Resort and is a Western Horizon park. The sites are all sandy and get muddy if it rains. Don't bother with the wi-fi if you are not near the clubhouse. Cable TV was excellent and the buildings were very clean. The staff was very friendly and they prepared some very good meals. We had to go into Benson (6 miles) to do laundry as there was a long line at their small laundry. Benson has a new WalMart and a few good restaurants. There is nothing in St. David. A good place to stay if you are going to Tombstone or Bisbee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$8
This park has changed a great deal since it was last reviewed. The name is now Western Horizons Twin Lakes RV Resort (at ST. David, Arizona). Cable TV is available at most sites. Cost is $2: ONLY if you are not Western Horizon members. Modem is still available, but you can reach Wi-Fi closeby. Cell phone service is now VERY good in this area. Staff is pleasant, helpful and everything is EXTREMELY clean. One of our FAVORITES!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$8.
Really nice park staff real friendly parked in dirt so that is bad.This is a C2C,RPI,AOR, I dont know what else they are affiliated with. They have a wonderful hot tub and swimming pool. Modem in clubhouse 1.00 per 15 minutes, they also charge 1.00 extra per night for elec, 2.00 night for cable tv. They have a lot of activites going on had a great pot luck New Years eve, park furnished the ham and we furnished the sides and desert had a wonderful time. The only thing bad is the dirt sites and no CELL PHONE SERVICE. Yes we would return to this park We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com