219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 87 user reviews. Phone: (575) 744-5996
CGID1872

Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
145
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   8   10   9   9   10   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$48
We have stayed here many times in the past, but will seek out another local park because the rates have doubled since last Fall for no apparent reason except that they added a small pool. The park is very neat and clean, but tight gravel sites with no other amenities than a pool and laundry room. The monthly rate is lower and has filled the park with permanent residents and only a few pull-throughs and back ins for the overnighters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$50
Definitely a nice park with lots of NEW amenities. Huge brand new indoor pool facility and event building was being built when we were there so this is definitely a Resort. The upper level has all paved roads with level gravel sites. The restroom buildings plus laundry are also new and very nice. The best part was the coin operated dog wash station! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$37
This would be a 5 star RV park, if it had grass! We just got back today from a rally. The whole area is gravel on the lower part and is filled with native plants. The top part does have cement streets and scrubs and looks great. They did have picnic tables at some sites but not at others. I heard people mention that they did have to work around some trees in their sites on the upper level to open their slide outs. They are building a top notch rec room with an indoor pool. The people who work there are very friendly and helpful. They have a big dog run/ drainage pond, but I doubt it will ever be filled with water, but have to note it. This is a winner RV parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$10
Rate is based on monthly stay. We stayed here in a MH with two other couples we were traveling with, all I can say is we are full timers for 7 years and this was one of the top 5 parks we have stayed in. I am basing this on the entire park, the showers and laundry room were spotless, the new clubhouse was being built and had a beautiful pool which is now open. The managers were great, friendly but they ran a tight ship, which we appreciate, and their dog was adorable. All in all we will go back for a winter season in the next year or two, the only thing that I would have liked was a closer grocery store, but going to Truth or Consequences was always fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$10
Friendly staff, nice sized sites, and meticulously maintained. Our rate was monthly, plus electric. They are building a new rec center w/pool, which will make this an A class facility. The distance to restaurants and shopping was not a problem for us. The only ding is that we thought this was an adult only park. The majority of RV's are retirees; however on occasion, RV's with children were here. Kids being kids, they were loud and running around. I suppose that isn't a problem, since it is occasional or if you aren't in a spot next to them. However, when the new rec center is finished the last thing a retiree wants when they are using the rec center, especially the pool, is kids running around. We will definitely be back and are looking forward to the new rec center and hopefully the management will restrict it adults. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Rate reflects PA & Good Sam's discounts and a week's stay. Nice wide roadway made back-in easy. Picnic table and hook-ups are new. There was a lot wind during the stay, but not much dust, because the spaces are covered in gravel - not just dirt. Wi-Fi was in good working order. Well lighted, good place to stay in the TRC/EB area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
The rate above, reflects the monthly rate. This is very nice park with an exceedingly friendly staff. The sites are level, with lots of room between the sites. The area we were in was nicely landscaped. The hookups are modern and all work well. There are two laundries with modern washers and dryers. There is a good restaurant across the street, but otherwise places to eat are somewhat limited. Restaurants, garages for repairs, a grocery store and a Wal-Mart are at nearby town of Truth or Consequences, about a 10 minute drive. This park is a work in progress, as a new clubhouse with a swimming pool is being built. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
Very nice new park that is two years old. The area is another matter and could use more than just the big lake to visit. There are no places to eat. What's here is awful, but there is always fast food in Truth or Consequences, five miles away. No movie theaters, although there is a bowling alley. Just bring your own food with you. The park is all good and from gravel to concrete sites and all mostly level. There are three sections, but all nice and they are constructing a big recreation building right in the middle for the town with indoor pool and arts theater. We were on the monthly rate is the reason for the cheap rate. The park is first rate and we will always stay when passing through on I-25. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
The general manager was wonderful in accommodating us after two staff members informed me that I "gifted" my site to someone else who did not want to move. I reserved a particular site 2 months prior to our stay and DID NOT "gift" it to anyone, nor did I expect to be put in another spot other than the one I chose. The park was wonderful. Host was wonderful in placing us in a premium site; but be careful of the staff who want to "gift" your reserved site to someone else, whether it is a friend or family member. That sort of business is not the right thing to do to your customers! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Stopped here for an "over-night" in route north on I25. This is a VERY nice facility. It is very new and the facilities reflect it. Everything is new and clean and in good shape. Most of the foliage is immature for the same reason. The pull-thru's, while a bit close together, are long (70+ feet), level and easily accessible. No need to disconnect for an overnight. The dog walking area is nice and large enough to accommodate larger dogs if necessary. This is pleasant for us as out 40 pound Aussie seldom fits in the normal TINY dog areas. Staff was pleasant and helpful. While it is a few miles off I25, it is worth the detour for nice comfortable settings. We will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Stayed here one night. Pet friendly. They even had a dog wash station. The site we stayed in was very tight but for one night was fine. Easy in and out pull thru. Staff was very friendly calling ahead to confirm our arrival. Would stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$23
Rate is based on the monthly rate with electric. Good sometimes slow WiFi. Cable is good, also TV reception with an antenna. No site tables. They are building a swimming pool on the grounds but we used the one at the hotel for free, perfect place. Very quiet during daytime and night. Some weekenders, but when we stayed the season had not really started. Everything looks (and is) perfectly maintained. We stayed at the lower loop and had a nice view on a dessert garden. Friendly staff. We will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$43
The Park is expanding and everything is more or less new. The best WiFi we've had on our trip. At night its been pretty quiet. Fifty AMP service at all sites. The expanded sites are not paved but ours was very level. It's a couple of miles to the new Super Walmart in T&C. They have spent some effort in the landscaping in the high desert style. Flowering cactus etc... We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
Nice park. Very convenient to Elephante Butte and Truth or Consequences. Associated with the hotel across the street, allowing campers access to the hotel amenities. Nice clubhouse with several onsite planned activities. A local bluegrass band uses the clubhouse for practice one night a week, and they open it to campers, a nice bonus. Very helpful and friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$29
Having just come from a place in Deming where the wind blew at gale force 24/7 with accompanying dust and dirt, we were happy to have gravel and cement. We were here for a rally, and the price reflects a rally 'discount'. Unfortunately the staff did not realize we were part of the rally and so assigned us to a spot in the lower part while all of the other rally attendees were in the upper loop! Not too happy about that. Otherwise we were pleased with the physical set up. It was a clean park with clean facilities. Our site was large enough for both our rig and our truck. No picnic tables in the lower area, some in the upper loop. Nice club house, small but comfortable. They are building a new one. The laundry facilities were nice. No one at the front office told us that the laundry in the upper level was $1 a load more in the laundry in the lower level. We found out for ourselves! Maybe the staff needs a little more training. We would return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
We stayed in the upper level in a back-in site. Gravel sites, but wide concrete driveways. Very clean everywhere, bldgs, grounds well landscaped. Very nice camp manager. We stayed here three nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$34
Very well landscaped & maintained park. The restrooms/laundry were excellent! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$15
Restrooms are probably the nicest we have ever run across. The office staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice sized spaces. Never could hook up to wi-fi even though they say it's available, but not a big deal to us. The daily rate is too high for what it is in my mind so we paid for a month and stayed for 2 weeks and it averaged out to a good rate for us. $220 a week but $200 per month, figure that out LOL. I have seen more dogs off leash than anyplace we have ever stayed. That's its only ding from me. But we certainly like the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$38
This is a new park, formerly Lakeside but now expanded. Beautifully landscaped, excellent restrooms, showers, and laundry. Friendly staff. Pull throughs are level but very narrow; you can get a double wide back in with a picnic table for $10 more daily. Not enough room for chairs to sit out beside your coach but sites are very long, so there is room in front or back. All hook ups excellent. Good cable; terrible wi-fi. I asked at the desk where the router was so that we could aim our signal extender. The man and lady in the office looked at each other and said, "What's a router?" One reason we selected this park was because of a brochure I picked up at the NM Welcome Center. It stated that this park had an indoor swimming pool and exercise facility completed in 2012. When we arrived, we learned that this has not even been started yet; there is a big blank place in the sand where it's going to be. Yet, they are advertising something that doesn't exist. When I asked about the pool, I was told that I could swim across the street at the Inn in the outdoor pool when it opened in about another month. Well, I won't be there then. This park is off the beaten path; you have to be going to Elephant Butte to go there, so we probably won't be back since we have now been there. It is country quiet at night, which we appreciated. It is by far the nicest park if you are going to Elephant Butte, and we would certainly stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
We stayed 2 nights on the way home, and are very impressed with the cleanliness and layout of the park. Staff are very friendly. Laundry, showers are spotless. We didn't use the dog wash but may next time. Not all that far to a Walmart or Dennys, and the walking path across the street is nice. We would stay again and recommend this to our friends. Rate reflects Passport of America. A good jumping off spot to see Chloride and Winston and other historic sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
Very nice park with nice views and landscapes. Camp host after hours was very cordial and helpful. We are 64 ft long with cat trailer and the pull-throughs were accommodating. When making reservations the lady assisting me was very sweet. Would definitely return there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$19
We came in after the office closed but the available sites were posted on the door. The pull-through was gravel and level. The cable and WIFI worked well. The next morning check in/out was pleasant and the rate is PPA. Only odd thing was there was no hot water for a shower at 9pm or washing hands at 7 am. There was hot water at 9 am. I forgot to ask about that. The park is beginning to build an activity/pool building. A real gem. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$8
This is the best park in this area. Loved this park. Will return again if in this area. Staff is super. Can't say a bad thing about this park. It is an easy park to get into. From I-25 take exit 83 either direction. Cost for a month was 222.00 plus electric. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$26
This is a well maintained campground with friendly and helpful staff at check in, who made sure we had just the site we wanted. Wide concrete access roads, some sites are concrete and some are gravel, which are alway raked after each site is vacated. There is a trash pick up each morning from your site. Very big rig friendly, our site was very wide, plenty of space for a 40 foot motor home and towed, as well as a picnic table. Very quiet, lots of space around the RV, views are limited, but from our motor home we could see the mountains. The laundry is huge and has plenty of washers and dryers, but a little on the expensive side to use. The bathrooms are spotless. There is a dog walk with pick up bags and a dog wash too. WiFi and cell are good. Restaurants and Wal-Mart are a few miles away in Truth or Consequences. The new owner is making lots of improvements, new landscaping which will be wonderful when a little more mature and will give more privacy around your site, a new pool and rec. room are still to come. However, from a motor home perspective the new owner has not always taken advantage of the locations views of the surrounding mountains, with very few of the sites affording motor homes any sort of view. We would stay here again. Rate reflects Passport America and Good Sam discounts. This is a great place to stay at a great price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
Wow! This park is super clean, and very friendly. They even have people raking the gravel in the sites between guests. This is the only bathroom we have seen where every bathroom has its own locking door with sinks, counters and toilets, plus beautiful tiled showers. Upper park sites are new, so the landscaping is still modest. Very wide concrete driveways throughout the park. Stayed for three nights, but we will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
Very clean park. Big sites & wide access roads in the park. Staff very friendly. Sites & road in front of sites cleaned immediately after someone leaves. Wi-Fi slightly weak, but tolerable. Stayed for 10 days. Will definitely stay again when in the area. Can't wait to see the planned new buildings & sites in the new area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
This is an excellent resort...friendly staff, great sites and very nice facilities. The management has great plans for continued development of the resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
A great RV park! We stayed in the upper level in a pull through site. It was very long and very easy to get into. Too narrow to get a picnic table next to the coach but lots of room in fromt and behind. Good spacing between the sites. The site was level and well graveled with concrete roads. The restrooms were great! There were a number of individual bathrooms with showers. They have a large laundry, a dog wash and a nice gathering area with tables and BBQ. The people were very nice. They have areas to walk the dogs but there is a power line very near the park where you can walk the dogs for a long way. There are some back in sites that are much wider with concrete pads. There is a "lower" area with large, graveled sites. The park is well cared for. It is very close to Elephant Butte lake. It was a great weekend! We will be coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$12
Rate reflects monthly rate. This place is awesome, the staff could not be any friendlier. Whoever laid out the park did an excellent job, big sites, wide streets, great power, good water pressure. The only complaint would be that they need more bandwidth and maybe another repeater, BUT all in all a great park. We had a group of 28 people, 14 rigs all 40 feet or better here for a week. Not one complaint. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$19
PHENOMENAL!! The owners of this park knew what they were doing when they planned this park. Everything has been A+++++ - from the reservation process - to check in - to the hospitality of the camp hosts - to the dog wash and park. They have containers at the dog park with bags for pick-up and the camp hosts picked up garbage right at your site. It's extremely clean - electrical and water hook-ups are something to behold. Level lots. Short term and long term spaces are well planned and designed. We will definitely be back!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$11
Checked into this park a few days ago. AMAZING. First let me explain my rate. I took a premium site upper level (the most expensive) for a one week stay. For another 50 bucks I can switch to a one month stay. Go figure? Whatever I decide my rate will be 11 bucks or less per night! That's hard to beat for what I've experience here so far. This is an extremely clean park. Also extremely quiet day & night. Our space is 100% level & was very easy to back into. All utilities on the money. P.S. they have HUGE pull-thrus. Also nice restaurant ,pool, & exercise room across the street. Been told we get a discount there! Staff so far has been very efficient. Can't wait to try the nearby hot springs, or did they say mineral springs ? What the heck, I'll check them out. Again, we have our own sat. systems so I can't speak for their tv,phone,or wifi systems. One last thing. I feel that no matter how "fantastic" a park may be, I should save the 9 & 10 ratings for any mega park that is also "fantastic" but has added lots of additional facilities for everyone's entertainment. Do we like this place? Let me put it this way...You might not hear from us for the next 26 days. Luv it !!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Monday afternoon check-in. No one at the office, but clear directions on where to park until the next morning. HUGE pull-through with multiple hook-up locations at each site. Clean, well-maintained, spotless. The majority of sites are back-in and look like folks here for a bit. The pull-through appear set up for travelers. Spotless laundry and shower rooms. Meeting room and patio area with tables and BBQ's. Next morning check-in was flawless with a very friendly host. We used our Passport America. Very decent price for this kind of park. Appears geared toward adults. No playground or pool but they have an agreement or relationship with an Inn across the street to use their pool facilities for free. It also includes 10% or more off at their spa and a restaurant next door. They are dog friendly with a small enclosed dog run and indoor dog wash. Dog cookies at check-in. I'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$19
At the end of a long day of traveling, this is just the place we needed! Our GPS got us lost but the park employees spent time with us on the phone and step by step got us here to the park. That extra special help was only the beginning of a wonderful stay. The employees seem to go out of the way to make our stay here the best in a long, long time. The park is new with wide and long pull-thrus, level and more than accommodating for our 42 ft motor home. The showers were as clean as I would want at home and very appealing. We will make this a stop twice a tear from now on! We are full timers and only wish that all the other parks we visit we're as nice as this one. If I could rate it honestly, it would get a 11 on the scale of 1 to 10! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
We enjoyed a 4 day/night stay here. It is one of the nicest, cleanest, quietest in our travels thus far. The facilities are of a hotel quality. The owners have listened to their guests and implemented suggestions. The owner also stated that they did tons of research as they built the place and it shows in all the extra touches of comfort and class. Elephant Butte Lake State Park is within walking distance and has many hiking opportunities. The plant and bird life is worth seeing. We will be back! By the way, monthly rate is very reasonable! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$8
Everything here is new or kept like new. New indoor pool and exercise room planned for 2012. There is a nice variety in sites but all are quite large. Two excellent coin laundries on site as well as a dog wash Garbage pickup is at your site daily instead of using smelly barrels or dumpsters. Wi-Fi connection was excellent but bandwidth was limited. Staff is very friendly. Our rate is based on a monthly rate for March. This park is underutilized by snow birders. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
Fantastic, new sites. Wonderful facilities...even a modern dog washing station. Big sites. Sits up high so you can see surrounding mountains. One mile from entrance to state park and lake. Central location for exploring southwest NM. Extremely clean and well cared for. We'll be back! We got lower rate with Passport America and a special they were running. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$39
The staff was nice and friendly. Wi-Fi was not good at all. Site was long enough and easy enough to level. It is hard to call this a resort when the facilities are all across the street in a motel. We think this park is overpriced for what is there. However, it is a quiet place except for the sound of coyotes every once in a while. If we are in this area again, we will stay here for a day or two just to relax in the peaceful setting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
This is a new park. Staff was very friendly and helpful. It had only been open a couple weeks. The rates are cheaper in the older section , which is adjacent to the newer one. Not much to do in the town of Ellephant Butte. There is a nice golf course nearby with an excellent restaurant. It was really windy while we were there but we would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
Plenty of elbow room. Very friendly employees. Very clean park. FU 50A with Wi-Fi and cable (although Wi-Fi was out of service 1 of the 3 day). Close to T or C and State Park lake. Accepts Passport America. Normal rate was $44. Is now called Elephant Butte RV Resort. Owner expanded. We stay in "old" area. Will definitely stay again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
The rate is Passport. The rating is for cleanliness. There is not a speck of debris anywhere. The gravel is level, and the sites are long and wide. There are a few pine and mesquite trees, and rocks outline the common areas which are cactus and other desert plants. We could not get on their internet, but now that we have mifi we just need Verizon, and that was good. We have stopped here in previous years and plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Very clean park with friendly and helpful staff. Nice laundry and close to Elephant Butte State Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
This is a nice park except for the lack of WiFi, even in the office or on the computers that are available in the rec room. We have stayed here before, and we will again, because the restrooms are clean, the showers are great and the roads are good. The sites are easy in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$29
It used to be the nicest RV park in the area. Times have changed. The park is in serious disrepair. The staff treats guests like they are a bunch of middle school children. You go there for relaxation, don't need to be scolded for going 6 in a 5 mph zone, talking too loudly after dark, the list goes on & on. Who needs this abuse !!! The price is the highest in Elephant Butte, and used to be worth money, but not any more. There are better parks for way less money close by. Do your homework, and go elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
After reading the post below the wife wasn't sure about coming, but since we were only going to stay one night I said let's give it a try. They are doing some work. The plants that the freeze got, are being cleaned out. Also, looks like more sites are going in. Were lead to the site by a friendly host. The roads and sites are gravel and our site was 100% level. Side to side, front to rear. Lots of channels on cable TV. Wasn't able to get Wi-Fi at the trailer, until we put up our exterior Wi-Fi antenna. Very quiet. Easy in and out with a HDT and 36 ft trailer (60 ft combo). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$44
After spending some time here last spring we put this park on our list of stay again parks. The staff had been very friendly and helpful. Boy were we in for a surprise when we returned. The park is dusty and it looks like they are no longer are concerned with taking care of the roads. The atmosphere has changed dramatically. Too bad it hasn’t been for the good. The staff members that checked us in smelled like a brewery. The woman, while she was not as bad as her male counterpart, was still very intoxicated. My husband wasn’t really comfortable following the directions from the male staff member who led us to our site. This man could barely string a sentence together he was so drunk. We arrived shortly after dark. When we awoke the next morning we were disappointed to find the condition of the park in such sad shape. The trees have been cut leaving no shade at all and the vegetation is all dying. Dead cactus plants are everywhere; the gardens my husband loved have been neglected for some time it seems. All of this and they have raised the rates! It’s hard to believe a place can go so far downhill in less than a year. After talking to a few of the fulltime residents, we realized a complaint to management would do no good. The plants apparently died in a freeze but have just been left to rot. Since we were only staying a night or two we didn’t bother to let our disappointment be known. We just won’t be returning. The price is too high and they offer nothing that would justify the current nightly and weekly rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$36
We stayed here one night on our way back to Denver. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They guided us to our site and helped some with set up. The 7 rating is due to a couple of things. First, to have a name like lakeside you would think that they were located near a lake. But you can not see the state park lake from their location at all. Next, they did have Wi-Fi but it was very weak. There also were no picnic tables at the sites but the sites were very wide (wide enough for our truck to fit in next to our trailer). Overall, if I was going through the area again I would stay in the state park. Much nicer sites and they do have a view of the lake and they are much cheaper. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$22
Very friendly, helpful, people, very well run park. Would definitely stay here any time. All you could ask for in a park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$27
This park is very nice. The people are friendly and welcoming to get what you need for your stay. Will continue to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$8
Lakeside is the nicest park we have stayed at. This is our 3rd visit, and although we miss the former managers, the new managers are doing a fine job. There was some tension in the park when we arrived, but whatever it was, has been worked out. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. There is plenty to keep you busy, or if you choose to take it easy, you can also do that. All the workers take great pride in making this a great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$10
Rate shown is based on the monthly rate, electricity is additional. This is a hard review to write, since we enjoyed our stay at this park last winter and were very much looking forward to a repeat this year. We made many friends, including people who had been returning here for anywhere from 3 to 7 years, who considered the park their second home. Unfortunately, the entire atmosphere had changed drastically, and it became clear that the management, especially the new 'co-manager,' had no use for any of us. There was no reason for this – we’re a group of middle-aged and senior adults, who like to laugh and have a good time but who don’t cause trouble, drink too much and become unruly, or make messes we don’t clean up. Several of us asked to talk directly to the owner to try to help him realize what was happening so he wouldn't lose the core of his winter business. We knew he wasn't involved in the day-to-day running of the park and would only be hearing what the managers told him, but he wouldn't meet with us, either individually or collectively. Each couple who arrived noticed that something was wrong, but to everyone’s credit, no one spread a bunch of negativity or rumors as people arrived. Each of us had to find out for ourselves that for reasons we were never able to find out, we had become unwelcome. The result was that over a dozen rigs gave up and left for another park in town. None of the guests who left were rude or nasty to the managers, and we remained civil even as we were unhappily deciding to leave. Unfortunately, the managers have chosen to behave quite badly, and have returned important packages and mail to the senders, rather than calling to let individuals know they had mail to pick up, or forwarding items to our new address, which they know. They have, when some of us have gone back to the park to visit friends, given us incredibly nasty looks and attitude, and even threatened to have a couple of visitors thrown out of the park, or even arrested, for simply driving in and going to a friend's space! Though maintenance has fallen off somewhat, it's an attractive desert park. The spaces are large enough, the utilities work, the Wi-Fi works, and the clubhouse and activities are pleasant. We were pleased with the facilities, and with the hospitality we received last year. There was a significant rate increase this winter, but though no one was told of it ahead of time, we still would have stayed had the atmosphere remained pleasant. I'm sure that anyone going there now won't have a problem (unless they're looking for any of us who left, as the managers have refused to tell friends who dropped by where we were.) It's interesting to note that on the park's website, the pictures of people enjoying both the park and some of the nearby attractions are people who have left the park. It would surely be more honest if those pictures were removed from the website and replaced with pictures and testimonials from current guests. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
Having returned to Lakeside for the 3rd winter I was very pleased to see that the park was still so beautifully kept. The leaves have been swept from the grounds and the shrubs clipped back. I can't wait to see the cactus gardens bloom in the spring! I'm sure they will be spectacular. I was also pleased to see familiar faces in the office and was not disappointed with how helpful and friendly everyone was. The first night at "Lakeside" a blue grass band played in the lounge. Every night there is a social hour. A calendar of events lists game nights and potluck dinners. Prices vary depending on your preferences; 30 amp or 50 amp, garden sites, back-in sites, cable etc. No one likes to pay for services they don't need or want. The office offers help with just about anything you can think of including propane delivery, mail and local information. The Elephant Butte state park entrance is within walking distance. The hot tubes in Truth or Consequences are 5 minutes away. There is good Wi-Fi connection and most sites have cable. Sites are medium to large and are level. The park is expanding and I look forward to all the new and wonderful improvements (including an indoor pool). Having been to many many RV parks I am always astounded at how reasonable the price is for this beautiful park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
Not close to Elephant Butte Lake a short drive to State Park with access to lake and marina. The state charges $5 per car per visit, I bought $40 annual day pass. No picnic tables and all gravel roads and sites, can be dusty if 5mph speed not kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$8
We were here about the same time last year. When my wife tried to use the facilities she was treated shabbily by the hosts and a group of people who had basically taken "ownership" of the entire park. This park is well kept and close to the lake. While we decided to stay, we had no further interaction with the people that hung around the lounge, because they were so nasty, rude and close-knit. It was like High school. Because we have family in the area, we have returned this year and have found the place has changed for the better. Now all are welcome to use the lounge and we actually feel welcome. This was not the case last year and it almost prompted us to leave. We planned on staying for only a week but since the problem host and their friends have been removed from the park, we have decided to stay a few months. Staff has put a Wii in the lounge and we have had a blast playing bowling with the other guests. We are glad that we can take part in park activities without feeling like unwelcome outsiders. The maintenance in the park is still as great as it was last year. The park is well kept and clean which is the only reason we decided to return. We plan to stay all winter next year. The weather and people here are great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2010
$36
We arrived back at Lakeside RV park for our fourth winter with a broken main leaf spring on our front axle. When we arrived we did not get that warm homey feeling that we use to get here. There has been some management changes. The park was not the neat and clean park we had been accustomed to. The desert gardens looked a mess and some of the trees/bushes looked like they were dying from lack of water. The horseshoe pit had a trash dumpster in the middle of it. The rent had been raised without any notification so everyone coming back for the winter was in for a big surprise. They should have notified those who had made reservations. The new co-manager was very rude to my wife. And overall the managers were not very friendly. After only two weeks we could not stand the tension in the park so we moved out. We told the manager we had a replacement spring on the way from Indiana. We found out from a friend still at this park that our new spring had arrived. The next day we learned the manager had signed for it but did not call or send us an email; then the co-manager sent it back to Indiana. So here we sit still with a broken spring. I contacted the owner of the park: he apologized and said he would pay for the extra shipping. However, the sorry did not sound very sincere. I am very saddened at the direction Lakeside RV park is heading and we will not be staying here any time soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$34
Some of the spots are very large but some are not worth the money. They have too many different rates for too many different sizes etc. The staff seems nice. The one thing that some people mentioned were how bad the dust is. The host come around often with a machine to rake the rocks/dirt to make it look nice as soon as someone leaves their RV spot, so as long as you don't step on it, or want to walk around your trailer they will like that. The rules say you have to keep your spot raked. A little to fanatic for us and we will not return to this park. If they didn't have this problem I would have given it a 8. Pretty pricey for the area compared to other campgrounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$39
This is a very nice park with large flat gravel sites. We arrived with a written confirmation. We had been there before. They are under new management and said they had never seen a written confirmation like that. They intimated that we had printed it our self until I show them the email originator. The written confirmation had the site number and the amount due at sign in. They moved us to another site which was OK as they were having a small RV rally there. BUT they DID NOT HONOR the amount due on their written confirmation and charged us more than $60 more for the week than our confirmation stated. This is a nice park but not a $39 a night park. I would NEVER stay in this park again. After two days of disputing with the management we are taking the discrepancy up with our credit card company as advised to do by a Passport America representative. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$27
Lakeside is under new management and is expanding. We were a little concerned about all of these changes, but the park is still as well kept as it was, and the staff is just as friendly and helpful. There is a game room, the restrooms and showers are very very clean, there is a nice big TV in the lounge, a large patio where guests meet for afternoon socials, and RV storage and supplies, They offer daily, weekly and monthly rates. The sites are medium to large, level, a lot are pull-throughs, and there are big rig sites. Some of the sites face wonderful views of the mountains, some sites face very well kept cactus/flower gardens. The expansion promises even better facilities. We stayed a month three years ago and have been back every year since. Truly a great park at a great price. Wi-fi and cable included in the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
The park consists of mostly level, gravel sites on several levels. It is extremely clean and well maintained with a very pleasant and helpful staff - they really couldn't have been nicer. On the down side, the area is not scenic in the least and there are no picnic tables at the smallish sites. It was perfect for my needs, however. Rate is for Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
This is a great park with friendly RV'ers and lots of organized activities. Many sites offer spectacular views. The staff members who checked us in and led us to our site were super friendly. But later, there was a different employee at the desk who was downright rude. The Wi-Fi works throughout the park and is great. We`d definitely return. We`d just try to avoid the grumpy staffer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$27
My wife and I are new to RVing, and went looking for RV parks around the state prior to becoming full-timers. We chose to stay in Lakeside RV Park, due to its close proximity to the lake. Lakeside was our first choice, and the right one from what I've seen. The monthly rates are a little higher than the other parks, but the little bit of extra you will pay is very much worth it. The sites are very level with lots of room, beautiful views, beautiful gardens, and just overall a very well-maintained park. The showers are sparkling clean. The lounge is wonderful, with lots to do. Whether you'd like to read, watch a movie or TV, or work on a puzzle, they welcome all visitors to use the lounge. It shows they take great pride in this park, and from what I hear, that is hard to come by. All the visitors here are very friendly, as well as the park hosts and management. As I stated above, we are new to RVing. We received a lot of helpful tips our first week here, and still receive them. We continue to enjoy our stay here at Lakeside RV Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$29
This park is one of many in an area that is a prime travel destination. The park is well maintained. It appears that more than half of its sites are occupied by long-term campers or permanently-sited travel trailers. The campground is surrounded by boat and RV storage areas. Because of this, it is less than an attractive place to stay. The rates seem somewhat high, particularly for the off-season period when I visited. If I return to the area, I’ll probably stay at a different park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$30
Being northerners, when we first pulled in we thought the park rather barren and close packed. Once we were parked, and looked around us a bit more, we realized it was magnificently landscaped, but just in a New Mexico desert style which was unfamiliar to us. The grounds are extremely well cared for. Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. Shower are modern, clean, and spacious. (I am 6' 4" and 230 lbs. I like to have some space.) Clubhouse is nice with coffee and a phone for local and calling card calls. All facilities heated to be comfortable even on December nights. The Elephant Butte Lake state park is conveniently less than a mile away. T or C hot spring spas are 5 to 10 minutes. Wi-Fi worked fine, but a little slow. (Uploading at 110 kbps.) All in all, a very nice park which we would come back to again without hesitation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$15
The only reason this park didn't rate a 10 is that the Wi-Fi was down - and had been for several days when we got there - we stayed 2 days and it was still out when we left. They are somewhat anal about their sites, manicuring them to the nth degree, and the sites are very close together - felt like our dining room was in the other folks bedroom. The folks that were wintering there were very nice and they had a social hour every day at 4 - terrific lending/exchange library and a lot of DVD's and music as well. We would stay here again - but we'd call and check on the Wi-Fi first! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$19
We've been to Truth or Consequences several times and stayed in other parks. This one is the best in town. There is no grass but the park is very clean and well-maintained. The pull-through sites are laid out in an odd fashion but there's always a friendly guide on a golf cart to help you park. The park owner and the office work-campers were also very friendly. The rate posted is for Passport America members. When we are back in the area, this is where we will stay from now on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$19
Our first time here. Quiet and spacious. The park has large, level sites and very well maintained desert landscaping. The staff is very friendly and efficient. The free WI-FI is fast. I stayed at the Passport America rate. The only negative is the absence of picnic tables at the sites. We will return again to enjoy the evening happy hour at the office patio and the morning coffee in the club house. Best of the RV parks in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
We have stayed at this RV Park several times over the past 4-5 years and I agree with the other posts that the place is very well kept. The problem I have with this RV Park is that the new managers and staff are not "kid friendly". Past managers and staff were extremely polite to our children. In fact, if you have kids with you, you are treated badly. We have stayed here without our kids and treated fine, but when we have our kids with us it is a different matter. I know the majority of the RV public are "seasoned" campers, but managers and staff should keep in mind that there are younger campers out there who like to stay at quiet campsites who have good kids. I suggest that if you have children, that you look elsewhere. We may not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
Nice park on bluff in town. Friendly managers and well kept and nicely landscaped. Will definitely stay here again. We are here for 1 week and would stay longer if it were not for previous commitments. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$19
This is a very well maintained park with large, level sites and very nice desert landscaping. The staff is very cordial and efficient. The free WIFI works well. I stayed at the Passport America rate. I will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
This is a great park. The managers and staff were very friendly and helpful. After check in we were escorted to our site and assisted in parking. We were going to stay here just 2 nights, but after being in the park and finding so much to do in the area we stayed an additional 2 nights. We would definitely come back. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$27
The camp host made us feel so welcome on arrival. The sites are all gravel and well groomed. The club house, patio and showers were always so clean. We fell in love with the park and the staff. We will certainly stay here again. Rate is based on a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$31
This is a very clean, quiet park. We stayed here several months during 2008 and into 2009. Staff is friendly and helpful. The roads, although gravel, is religiously groomed. There is no dust. The sites are very large and all but a few are pull-through. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$17
This is a very nice campground suitable for a night, week, or a month. We stayed here for 1 week, and the nightly rate is reflective of the weekly rate. There isn't more than 1 or 2 weeks worth of interesting things to do or see in the surrounding area. However, if you are a snowbird and enjoy participating in campground activities, you could stay busy here for a month or two. Be advised that this campground is located at approximately 4500 feet, so it gets chilly at night and in the mornings. The landscaping motif is very good and blends into the desert scenery. There is a Wal-mart Supercenter in the neighboring town of Truth or Consequences (4 mi), but that is about the extent of close-by shopping. The only alternative for extensive shopping is driving to Las Cruces (80 mi). The cable TV signal was good as was the Wi-Fi. The laundry facilities were clean and adequate. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$17
This park is very well kept. The sites are gravel and are raked before each new occupant. The roads are raked often. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The laundry room, although small - 4 each washers and dryers, is very clean and the appliances were new. We found the park to be very quiet. Our rate reflected a Passport America weekly rate. It is located very near Elephant Butte Lake State Park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
Pleasant, well kept RV park. As is typical in this area, the whole park is gravel which is groomed each day. Most sites are level and there are trees and flowering bushes around the edge of the park and between levels but few sites with shade. Very helpful staff, many snow-bird campers which means that the WiFi is excellent. No lake view and the lake is a very long walk away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$19
The rate is a Passport America rate. We parked in a pull through garden site. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The park is well maintained. The gravel site was large and level. Elephant Butte Lake is a short walk from the park. We would stay here again. WiFi was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
Very friendly staff. Our dog was welcome. Could not see lake, and there were lots of full-timers, who seemed like very nice folks. Overall friendly people, well maintained, and clean park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
We like this campground, but our site #51 was difficult to level. Good location. Friendly and helpful staff. We would return to this campground. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
Highway signs not very good going into park. Easy access for large rigs both getting to and inside park. Most sites are large enough for larger rigs and are mostly level. Very good cable and Wi-Fi worked well. Employees are very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
We stayed at the Passport America rate. A bargain. Person who backed us into our site almost had us hit a trailer in the next site. Interior roads are tight. Sites are somewhat tight, and short for a 38 footer. They really need better signage from I-25 to the CG. No pool or table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$19
Signage to campground good. Limited area to park and register. Office staff very friendly and efficient. Escort to site. Access roads to site fairly tight but OK if take it steady. Gravel circled wagon layout of level sites with desert landscape in middle. The campground has two tiers. Full-hook up including cable TV. WiFi good. Quiet location in walking distant of Elephant Butte state park. A well maintained and run campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
This is an excellent park. We agree completely with the previous posts. For a gravel park it is very clean and neat. newer area opened for big rigs, nice ( southwest ) landscaping. All RVs here and many people winter here in this park. Golf nearby as well as beaches and fishing and recreation on the largest lake in New Mexico. Nice, well managed RV Park We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
We drove by here only to check it out for a possible later stay, but it was so nice that we spent two nights. This is the first park that I have rated a ten. It is clean with lots of space between sites. The camp hosts are very friendly and helpful. The free wireless Internet is the best that I have found lately. The rate shown is for Passport America. The only thing that is needed to make this place perfect would be a swimming pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
The sites are fine gravel. Extremely clean RV Park with friendly staff. Wifi works great in lower section of RV Park. Within walking distance of Elephant Butte State Park, which is free to walk into. We would stay there again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$12
Low rate reflects Passport America. Well, I travel full time (2 1/2 years) and this is one of the nicer places I have been. Most sites spacious, no problem for most big rigs to maneuver around, all surface area small gravel ('swept' daily to prevent holes), MOST excellent WIFI free service. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The grounds were landscaped (desert style of course) and very neat and clean. Evening social hour outside or in the campground lounge. Would definitely stay again. This one earns my first '10' rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$?
We stayed there two nights while visiting the Trinity Site which is about 2 hours drive away. The campground was clean and well maintained. Management was very helpful. Very friendly place. Be sure and get detailed directions. This place is not easy to find without them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$7
Very nice park with friendly, helpful staff. Rate reflects a monthly rate. WiFi worked great. Very close to the state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Well kept, very friendly staff and owners. Beautiful views. Even had 2 new gas grills at the clubhouse for use (free) by campers. Rates are for "2 adults and 3 childern".Their brochure includes any information you could want. The owner explained he was in the process of creating some "super sites" for big rigs. Very clean, friendly park with a lot of amenities and no bad attitudes. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com