214919 User submitted reviews online!!
Asheville's Bear Creek RV Park & Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 121 user reviews. Phone: (828) 253-0798
CGID2025

Asheville's Bear Creek RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   7   5   1   2   9   6   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
Park is a bit difficult to get in to but we were OK with a 43 foot RV with a towed vehicle. Sites vary as to the trees and leveling needs, and many will not fit a bigger rig. Road is narrow but again manageable to back in. These are the reasons for the rating. Camp personnel helpful and friendly and know the facilities well. Small pool a nice feature. Didn't use laundry or restrooms but park is well taken care of and clean. Wi-Fi...used our own. Convenient to get around town and farmers market just a few minutes away. Would return if we were in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
Our site was level and had water pressure and electric and sewer, all good. The site wasn't overly long as our 32' camper and truck just fit. The sites are pretty narrow as the sewer hookup for the site next to us was right next to our picnic table. The store had very few things in it compared to other campground, but the staff were friendly. It was a good stop for over night and we would come back if going thru the areas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$40
First, the good news. While the majority of the sites are back in and fairly short, they are paved and reasonably level. The RV park is very close to all of Asheville's attractions, as well as, The Blue Ridge Parkway, Arboretum, and Hendersonville. Also, don't overlook the Farmers Market and the Moose Cafe which are a short half mile drive; the biscuits are awesome. Now, for the downside. For $40, after the Good Sam discount, I expect the rest rooms, showers, and laundry room to be reasonably clean and in good repair. They were neither. A good service attitude seems to elude the staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
Staff was friendly to us. Our second day there we were notified the local cable company was requiring each TV to have its own digital receiver/converter. The park would let you have one with payment of a REFUNDABLE deposit. We opted out. Antenna reception was adequate. As has been noted, some of the sites can be tough for bigger rigs to back into, especially if someone is parked in front of their rig. The rig across from us was on an unleveled pad. By time they leveled their rig, the front end was 6 to 12 inches off the ground. Looked like the thing was taking off. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
Sites are concrete (ours required some leveling) with small patches of grass, & some have shade. Most sites are narrow. The laundry rooms are adequate and clean. There is road noise; however, at night the campground is pretty quiet. Convenient location for stays of up to two or three days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
Check in process was easy and friendly. The site we were assigned was terrible. It was in a lower lot behind an apartment building with a streetlight directly over the RV. We walked the park and found numerous other sites open large enough for our RV. I went to the office to move to another site. The attitude in the office changed dramatically. I was told the park is full and I could not move. I booked the site in June and knew there were open sites. The woman at the office told me I was not moving and I could just get a refund and leave. I ran into the owner as I was returning to my RV and explained the situation. He told me that the woman in the office handled all of that and he could not do anything to help. We got a refund and left. I have never met a rude person camping...until now. The campground location is not ideal. It is situated between 2 freeways and the road noise is intense. The facility id older and not being kept up very well. Good Sam rates this park as a 9.5/10 and we booked here based on that. I have no idea how they rate campgrounds, but I have lost faith in the Good Sam system after experiencing this fiasco. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
This was our Maiden Voyage in a motor home so we asked for a pull through as we were still getting used to backing up. BIG mistake. All the pull through sites are on a main road with traffic coming and going at all hours. headlights shine into the motor home all night and you are so close to I-40 that the big rigs practically shake the coach. I found the office staff friendly and helpful, but the facility is definitely not a 10 as Good Sam has it listed. The bath houses are old, and they show their age. I probably won't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Entrance road to the CG is narrow as are internal CG roads. They are paved. Site is back-in and paved. Narrow road and fairly tight spacing make it a bit testy getting into the site. Office staff helpful and attentive. Well maintained, but watch for the low tree limbs. Very close to the Biltmore complex. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
We camped here for 4 days and it was fine. We used it mostly as a base to explore the area and was glad to have I-40 so near. We didn't get any traffic noise because we mostly were gone or inside. Our site was a pull-thru and due to not many occupied at that time we had plenty of room. The showers were OK but they need to replace timer light or lengthen the amount of time it stays on. People in office were OK. Not overly rude or friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
We were off the road due to a rain storm. The check-in was a joke. Office worker was cold and rude. We asked for restaurant info and Biltmore info, and we received absolutely nothing. The price of $45.00 is way overpriced for what you get. Cable TV was lousy and Wi-Fi was nonexistent. Informed owner and was told it was my computer. I proceeded to use the restroom and shower house was disgusting. There were cobwebs all over, dead bugs in the sink, and the toilet bowl was dirty. I'm a good Sam member they gave this place a 10 for restrooms. I called them and suggested they go out and recheck this property. It would OK for a overnight stay just don't use showers or expect Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$52
It's reasonably well maintained (the laundry rooms are awful), but has a poor layout. The dog run area is very far from the sites and there is very little other grass for pets. It is not big rig friendly with the exception of a few pull thru sites. The negative to these sites is that they almost sit on the road. The sites are very narrow this makes opening the awning impossible. Easy access off I-40; however, the road up to the park is narrow and curvy. They park is also somewhat expensive. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
The office was supposed to be open until 8:30 pm. We called and were given that info. We arrived at 7:45 and office was closed. We had no site map, no info. We took another site. The shower and restrooms were dirty. The garbage was overflowing. They said they have Wi-Fi; that was a joke. We called after hours number no one answered. We went in to pay in morning and told lady about problems. All we got from her was she didn't work that day and they were short staffed. Also they are not wheelchair friendly. Bathrooms and showers are not handicap accessible. Office has a step that my husband's wheelchair could not go over. The pool area is down a flight of stairs and was dirty and green colored. I wanted to talk to a manager and was told he was on vacation. I did talk to a teenage employee in office and was took we needed to find a park that caters to cripple people. How nice; my husband lost his legs in Iraq and this was our vacation. This park should be ashamed of its employees and park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
What happened to this park? We stayed in June and had a wonderful time. The front desk staff was great. This time there were 2 women; the older one was cold and rude. The younger gal was uninterested in us and didn't know about sites, rates, or anything else. We have a 45 foot motorhome, and she put us in site number 4, a 30 foot back in. We had to circle the park which means going out to the road which is extremely curvy. The grounds were well manicured, and showers and restrooms were extremely clean as usual. The workampers who work in office seem to care less about customer service. Do yourself a favor and pick a different park. When I asked for a manager, the cranky older woman said she was and didn't even respond. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
I'm not quite sure what to say about this park. It's very well maintained, some sites with nice views but an 'unusual' layout and some areas are hard to maneuver with a big rig. We had a pull through, and even though the sites are relatively long, (we are 40+) , the sites are very narrow, and depending on your awning, it could be on the next person's site (ours was). If you have a neighbor on the driver's side, and it's another big rig, you are VERY close together if you both have slides. Easy access off I-40 but road up to the park is narrow and curvy. Satellite didn't work due to all the trees but good cable selection. Road noise an issue if you're a light sleeper, but it was hot and humid, so we were closed up and didn't hear the road noise. Back in sites might be better and offer a little better view if you're so inclined. Internet was spotty as well. Probably not a park we'd return to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
We stayed here 3 nights. We ask for a large pull-through for our 41ft 5th wheel but got a back-in on a hillside, but didn't mind because of the fabulous view. Very nice park. Staff was friendly. Excellent farmers market one quarter mile down the road. We would stay here again next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
We stayed here one night on our way through Asheville. The campground was easy to find and the staff were extremely helpful. Everything was good. However, with the location to the road this wasn't the sort of place I'd want to stay a week and really camp. I wouldn't have enjoyed hanging outside my camper and watching traffic. It was great for a place to sleep and visit Asheville while we were awake. Given the awesome staff, I'd definitely stay here again if I were passing through Asheville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
A very nice park. Bathrooms are dated and small, but sparkling clean. Office staff was very friendly. They charge extra for each child. Very nice pool. Sites vary greatly in size. Our site (12-A)was very tight- we could not have put out our awning if we wanted to. We were able to park our truck in an adjacent site as they were not full. Very close proximity to Interstate 40- we could hear traffic noise, but weren't bothered by it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
This was our first time at this park. I was pleasantly pleased. The restrooms deserve a 10 plus rating. The sites and views were great. The office ladies Glenda and Sherry went out of there way to help us with directions etc. The owner has a real gem here. We will definitely return in October. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Well kept and clean. All on a hill, but site was level. Despite rain, well drained. Sites small in width. Great location with easy access to Asheville. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
This campground is well maintained & pretty. You have to beg for $2.off a day for a week stay. If you don't beg for discount you don't receive. I thought all Good Sam parks gave one night free when you stay a week. Not here. Roads narrow even though site fit big rig. Wi-Fi did not work! Always out of range!? We were here with 25 other coaches for a rally. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
We stayed here five days. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Definitely pet friendly. The park is very convenient for sightseeing because it is so close to I-40. The down side is that there is traffic noise from the highway. The noise was not really bothersome, especially when the motorhome was closed up with heat or air running. There is a fairly steep entry into the park. Also, when backing into some sites you may notice it is somewhat steep. However, once situated on the site, you will see that it is level and paved. Each has a picnic table. Size of sites will vary. We camped in a 42 ft. motorhome and had plenty of room for the coach and could park a car in front. Restrooms are clean and the park is very well maintained. Free Wifi connection is very good. Sites are not especially spacious, but most have a good view. The nightly cost of $45 is more than we usually pay, but it seems to be comparable to others in the area - especially for big rigs. We will definitely come back to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
We were in town while the leaves were changing so it was very crowded. We had a back in site, and it was very tight swinging the coach into the site. Our biggest issue with this campground was the road noise from the highways that are on at least two sides if not three of the campground. It was easy to get to because it was right off the freeway, and easy to get to the Biltmore, which is why we came in the first place. Most likely would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
Nice park, but the sites were on top of each other. We told the office our size, and didn't hardly have room to park our truck with our 5th wheel. We had about 5' from our RV to the neighbors rv. We didn't have room to park our RV without really putting my truck in a bind. After we were parked, we had a great view of the mountains. The park is between 2 interstates, but noise really wasn't an issue, unless you were outside. Great location to the Biltmore Estate. We would stay here again, we'd just get a different site. We stayed in a 5th wheel RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
When we checked in, we were told not to complain because they were booked to capacity and there was nothing they could do even if they wanted to. We understood. We backed into our site (which was smaller than our 40' coach) to the point we were literally hanging over the cliff on the back end. The front of our rig was a few inches into the narrow street and our front door was in the street. We parked our tow in the grass even though it was forbidden since there was absolutely no where else to put it. Then we started leveling. We have been on the road full-time for 10 months and have stayed in over 70 campgrounds and this was the first time that, in order to level our rig, we had to go to Lowe's and purchase more wood blocks. We had the front end up as high as it could go, even our bottom step were up on blocks so we didn't break our legs getting out. The result of being up so high was instability. With every move we made in the coach, it vibrated inside. Now, for the worst part, the traffic noise!! We have only encountered this level of constant traffic noise twice, and both times we were actually on the side of the highway. Bring your ear plugs and assume that the best part of your stay in Asheville will not be at this campground. They do offer Wi-Fi, which was OK for light browsing. They have cable and full-hookup sites. Campfires are prohibited. It was pricey considering the comfort of this stay, the traffic noise, the unlevel sites, the curvy narrow roads with high traffic volume, and the unhappy staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
Sites are stuck into this complex campground wherever they marginally fit, some at very strange angles. The sites in the "pull-through" area exit directly onto the public road, making security a potential issue. The sites are concrete and level, but in the pull-through area the grass strip separating the sites is barely 6 feet wide, and between some there are trees to maneuver around. Some of these sites, however, are long enough to accommodate the longest rig combinations. The park is located above the interstate, so the hum of highway noise is a constant. On the plus side: the restrooms are spotless and the park is convenient to Biltmore and downtown Asheville. I wouldn't rule out staying here again, but I would definitely first look for something better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
We got the last site available. It was a pull through and when we drove to it another RV was blocking our entry. Our site was the short part of a Y configuration. Had to drive onto the main road and back in. The employee and a neighbor had to stand on the main road to block oncoming traffic. The Wi-Fi was very spotty and unreliable. Leaving the CG we will have to have people on the main road block the traffic. We were facing the main road with a great deal of traffic and only about 15 feet from the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
A bit of an odd park on the side of a hill. Sites down near the road looked like a parking lot. Sites up on the hill had lovely views. We were told by the office that we had the best site - #25. Spaces were close together but not a problem to back into in a 40' RV. Convenient access to I-40. Probably the best choice in Asheville. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Love the view from our rear window but sites are tight. Pool stated heated but was cold. No heat there! Biggest negative was that the laundry had only two washers and dryers in one little room. The washer didn't even have enough water to cover my small load of clothes that filled one quarter of machine. There is another laundry, but the person working in office didn't know how many machines were there. Location is good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We stayed here for 5 weeks on the lower level while visiting family in north Asheville (rate reflects our monthly stay). It is located just off I-40 with easy access to other Asheville freeways, too. The sites are fairly large and well maintained, and the roads are paved. This is a park that dates from the 1980s and it has a bit of ramshackle layout, with sites in every conceivable location. One of the downsides is finding your way in to your spot if you are located in one of the secondary areas. But all things considered, this is probably the best park in the Asheville area. Bathrooms were clean. The pool looked nice, but we didn’t use it. It is quiet and they do not allow open fires of any kind (Asheville ordinance). We did have a problem with our power stanchion circuit breaker while we were here, but the owner fixed it as soon as it was brought to his attention. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Great park. Concrete level sites. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice grounds. Convenient. Only reason I did not give a 10, a bit difficult to find access road when minutes away. Is very close to I-40 interchange making access road a little confusing to find. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This is a very nice park. A little unusual design but great use of space. The owners were very nice, check-in was a snap. We had a back-in site that was very easy to maneuver. If you're planning to stay here, request a space that's "above the office" for nice view. Pull-through sites are in a different location and don't have a view at all. We stayed for ten days and had a delightful time. I suspect that other reviewers who gave lesser ratings were either tired from driving, inept at parking, or just grumpy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Constant power problems with low voltage and tripped circuit. We had to run generator. The Wi-Fi was poor. The office staff disorganized. Park was a mesh of different type sites. Pull through sites (only about 10) pulled directly out on highway. That's dangerous for children. At least $15 too high for park with these problems. Won't stay there again. Sites were paved, mostly pretty level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
Paved interior roads and pads in very good condition. Spacing is somewhat slim with probably 15' between pads, many of which are angled for easy parking. Fairly level (out by 2"). The park is very clean and well run, with some nice sunset views of the mountains and nice picnic tables. Some constant low level noise from nearby interstate, but not too bad. Not a lot for kids, with a minimal "game room", but they do have a pool and you can hardly beat the proximity to town (only like 7 min away!). Owners very friendly and accommodating. Good Sam discount. We will definitely stay here next trip to Asheville. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
This is a very nice clean well maintained park. Interior roads can get congested with vehicles overhanging in exit road. Not very wide interior roads . One way in / one way out. Convenient to freeway. BUT the road leading to park has overhanging tree branches & curves. Managable if you go slow. It is very convenient to the Biltmore Estate & grocery stores. The park has soft water. Electricity is good. The staff helpful & friendly. We stayed 6 nights. I would stay here again if in area. They have a very nice swimming pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$48
We camped here in a 26 foot travel trailer as we had a weekend soccer tournament 5 miles away. Check in was easy. Full hookups. There is 10 feet between each camper. No fires allowed of any kind. No open space for the kids to throw the football. More like a parking lot on a hill. Very close to I-40 so a lot of noise but convenient. Bathrooms were old but spotless. Game Room had a Foosball table and air hockey. Nothing else except cleaning supplies in the room. Convenient but nothing special. I do have to say we had a brake controller issue while there and called RV Truck and Auto Repair (recommended by owner). They came out on time (on a Saturday) and did not overcharge. Excellent service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
We stayed here 6 days and everything was wonderful! We enjoyed the view every chance we had even though we didn't have one of the "Premium" sites! Beautifully clean campground. Staff is friendly and helpful. Laundry facility is very adequate. We came up the road, with our toad attached, and had no problems at all with our 35ft Class A. The check in and check out times are situated so that the chances of one big rig passing another on the unpaved road are slim. It would help to follow the campground times for these 2 activities. We would definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$45
Don't know why they have such a great "10" rating with TL Dir. Very steep hills getting in and out of campground. We had been here 6 yrs. ago and nothing within the campground has been upgraded. We were put in a site with a sewer connection so far behind us that we had to use 2 hoses. On the plus side, our second visit to Biltmore was great and we had a terrific dinner at Stone Ridge Tavern on 191 a couple of miles from the campground. WiFi was good in the campground. There was a dogwalk area but neighborhood dogs seemed viscious and we were not comfortable at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
Very nice place, very easy to get in and out of from I-40. Priced appropriately for its location and the care they show in site maintenance. We will be back in April for four more nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$45
After a horrible two night experience, we moved to Bear Creek and stayed a week. We understand that late in the season camps slow down and empty out, but even so, this place was great and run by wonderful people. The view, overseeing Biltmore Estate only one exit away on I-40, is breathtaking. The facilities are very clean. The owners were gracious. We spent most of our week just enjoying the setting. It is an easy commute both to downtown and Biltmore with grocery store and a fantastic farmers market just down the road. A best bet in our mind!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
We were part of a 20 coach rally. The owner and office staff could not do enough to make us at home and comfortable. Spacious sites; good power and water. Between 2 highways, but did not notice the noise. A great park for overnight or extended stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$44
This campground is located between I-40 & I-26. The park has all paved roads and sties. The back in sites are tight backing for big rigs, but are doable. This is a quite park despite the close proximity to the Interstates. The pull through sites are located on Bear Creek Road and you can actually pull from your site to the road. This might be OK for an overnight stay, but they are subject to road noise and traffic. The cable and Wi-Fi were good. The sites are large with plenty of separations between them. The staff is friendly and helpful. They have 2 day tickets for the Biltmore at the single day price. The Biltmore is only about 3 miles from the park. We would come back to this park when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
A rather expensive place to stay for what we got. This is a small park and rather tight getting in to most back in sites. Some sites do not seem very level. Trees complicate the backing in as well an narrow roads. This is on a hill and sites feel close together. Cable TV only got a few channels, many less than the park says on their brochure, but Wi-Fi was strong and free. OK for a night or two but not sure I would choose here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Park is well located,clean sites are rather small, but level. We would stay there again. Rate is higher than many RV parks, but rate was higher because of the time of the year, leaves turning etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$48
We stayed here over the holiday weekend. The sites were right on top of each other. The pool is advertised as "heated"--it was REALLY cold. The restrooms were dirty, the shower especially. There was no place to plug in a hairdryer. When returning to Asheville, we will look for another venue. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
Cement (not asphalt) pads, ours was perfectly level where our tires ended up (it was broken in several places.) This was just an overnight, but they have a pool and laundry if you need them. Very small CG with two levels. Bottom was nearly empty, top was ¾ full. Spaces are tight and short, and the travel lane is narrow. Tugs and toads take up the road, but we were able to zig-zag back into our site with my copilot spotting. A bit pricey for an overnight (even with GS), but beautiful sunset view over the valley. Quick access to Biltmore, hiking, Blue Ridge Parkways driving, etc. if you are staying for more days, according to a neighbor. Wi-Fi worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
This park has good maintenance, pool and club house are nice. Centrally located- a few minutes from downtown Asheville. Lots are spacious and in some spots there is good view of the mountains which surrounds Asheville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
Stayed here two nights while visiting Biltmore Estate. It was somewhat crowded, but a great location off I-40. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
We stayed here 2 nights. The sites are paved-this is obviously an older park but appears well cared for and office hours were until 7 pm. The pull-thru section is furthest from the office but we found that people had cleaned up after their pets and everything looked neat and clean. If there is a drawback, the pull-thru sites sit right next to Bear Creek Road which is a busy road but we would not hesitate to stay here again, the cable TV selection is great, we had our own Wi-Fi but we had no problems at all and that's what counts--getting in, getting set up and everything works. They also have detailed maps to area needs--grocery, stores, Biltmore Estate(this campground is only 3 miles from there). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
NOTE: some of the reviews that are listed ARE NOT pertaining to Bear Creek RV Park. This is an RV park that you'd use for 1 or 2 nights as you travel through Asheville. 5 minutes to Biltmore, 10 minutes to downtown. There is NO river at this campground. And, they DO have a pool during season. There are 3 sets of bathrooms. And, you don't need 40 feet of sewer hose as someone referred to, and these were NEVER mobile home sites, always an RV park. Overall, a little noise from the freeway, dated but overall clean and pleasant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$45
After traveling 6,000 miles cross country staying at all types of campgrounds I can now say that this is the worst campground we have stayed at. When I called to reserve a site I asked for a pull through since we were towing a Jeep. I was quoted a rate of $40.00 for a pull through and that is exactly what is on the web site. When we arrived the woman who was pleasant said, “I didn’t realize you wanted a pull through and if you do it will cost $45.00.” I didn’t argue since I just spent 6 hours on the road, it was raining, I was tired and it was for only one night. She then gave us the layout of the campground and showed us our “premium” site. The layout and directions were so confusing it took 2 times around the campground to find our site. I am not exaggerating when I say our “premium” site was 10 feet off the road with no fence or bushes. Road traffic never stopped all night and since we were right on the road we couldn’t sleep. The Wi-Fi worked but intermittently all night. We felt we were ripped off with a bait and switch price. The sites are run down at best and the pull throughs are right on the county road. We would have had a more attractive site in a Walmart parking lot. So, unless you are dead tired or driving through a storm I would not recommend staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$40
We stayed here one night in our motorhome that we just picked up. The grounds were clean. Our site was close to the bathhouse. Was very impressed with the fact that there were hosts available after hours. Showers were nice and clean. We'd recommend this site to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
Very convenient location just off I-40 but far enough away to eliminate traffic noise. Upper sites have great views of the valley below. It's a bit pricey but a good spot for a couple of days to see the sites around Asheville. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$48
Pull through has insufficient entry width to get into site with toad. If you leave your toad hooked up, that is why you want a pull through, most of the sites would require over a 40 foot sewer hose to reach. I have a 20' and two 10's and it was a stretch on the site I got. My toad is at the edge of the entrance road and about 1 foot from the utility pole. We are about 30 feet from and facing the highway (street?). Owner was very snippy indicating we should buy more hose, saying they do the best with what they have! I guess these used to be Mobile Home sites. Evidently they do not want to invest to meet the needs of the customer. Our slide is 4 feet from the neighbor's service pole. Evidently they fill the sites whether they meet our needs or not. WiFi was available at the site. Didn't use it as we use Verizon. Analog cable TV is snowy but had lots of digital channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
Way over priced for this campground. Very small spaces. The sewage pipes were set at a 45 degree angle so two sites could use one line. This causes your hose to be at an angle where it enters the pipe. Mine did not fall out of the pipe but there were toilet paper remains all around both pipes. Management should fix this or at least clean the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
The campground was nice. It was clean and modern. All the advertised amenities were in excellent condition. The sites were very narrow. The site length will accommodate your RV, but you will be right on top of your neighbor. A lot (but not all) of the back-in sites will require patience and skill if you are pulling a trailer. The roads and sites were paved. If you have a pet, the dog walk area was at the far end (by the pull-thru sites) of the campground. We stayed for two nights and visited the Biltmore Estate. For short stays, this campground was perfect. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
This park has narrow sites which range from simi level to slanted. The age of the park is showing in the landscape with the large trees, and the patch work on the sites. No satellite in some sites, but cable TV is here. The staff is friendly and the city activities are close by. The park is not worth the high price that it asks in my opinion. We stayed in a 42 footer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
The only problem is the campsites are really dark and we came in after closing and it was hard to find the site numbers. But otherwise the site was roomy enough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
We had a bad experience with the owner, Bea, before we arrived. She called 5 days prior to our visit to say she was moving us from the sites we had chosen and paid for 4 months in advance. Our group included 3 travel trailers. Bea was so rude that had we had time to secure other camping arrangements, we would have. Upon arrival, she was like a different person. Although Bear Creek is a well kept and clean campground. the sites are incredibly close. We won't stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$46
Pricey for the size of the sites. You are right on top of the rig next to you(on the upper sites) and it's very tight getting parked. Insist on a site in the lower level, they are larger and there is more room to get backed up. Most of the sites are back in and the sites that are pull through are right on the main road (like 10 feet from the road). There are no fire rings supposedly because the city won't allow it. I find that bogus because the guy accross the street from the campground had a bon fire going in his yard. We did however check out all the other campgrounds in Asheville and this was the best that we saw. We did not hear hiway noise either as some posters have stated. We would stay here again, only because it was better than the others we looked at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$48
This is a good park as compared to a few others we've visited. The pull-through sites are very narrow but are of concrete base which is nice. The electrical hookups are so low to the ground, you almost need to lay on the ground to see under the lid to plug in your rig. The pool is nice, it closes very early at 8 PM and was pretty dirty with leaves and bugs when we were here. The park is very clean and nice. The rate is pretty high compared to other places we've stayed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$53
I don't understand the negative reviews. I enjoyed this campground. From site 29 there is a very nice view. It is right off the interstate so there is some road noise, but not enough to deter a future stay. I also found the attendants at the park to be very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$48
Grossly overpriced. Sites are narrow and packed in but level and reasonably well manicured. Most water connections are ground level. Convenient to Biltmore with easy access to I-40 & I-26. 10% discounts are offered for various associated RV and auto clubs. If all you're looking for is a place to stop overnight to take in Biltmore, it's an ok campground. For more than one night, I'd look elsewhere. A MH or 5'er over 36' will be a tight fit. Due to the ridiculous rate, Bear Creek is no longer our 1st choice in campgrounds convenient to Biltmore and the Asheville area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$44
This was my second time staying at this park. The first time was horrible because I got a site out by Bear Creek Rd which has traffic all night that drives right in front of your RV. This may be one of the "Bad Road sites" someone was referring to. Now being wiser and possibly a slower season, I insisted on one of the upper sites with a "View". Unfortunately unless you are standing outside your unit the entire time or have a panoramic window on the back of your rig, the only thing you see mostly is the person right beside you. We stayed in site #8 and this was much better than before. $44 is a bit overpriced for this place and when you call for reservations and will be arriving in just an hour or two: boy they are quick to want that credit card over the phone. Or if decide to spend the night here and you arrive after the office is closed they want you to fill out a registration card and leave the camp fee in check or cash in a box at the office. (Most places trust enough to let you come in the morning to settle up). So they seem a bit greedy when it comes to the money part. They do have free cable TV and Wi-Fi, but everyone doesn't need it. My suggestion is to lower the price and offer those services as an additional charge to those who want it. They also had laundry facilities that I took advantage of this time, but only felt like I got taken advantage of. It was a whopping $1.75 to wash and $1.75 to dry. Of course the dryers weren't efficient enough to dry a load with just one cycle, oh no they had to go in for another $1.75 spin, good gimmick. Staff is pretty friendly but only dealt with them over the phone mostly. Park is clean. Best thing it has going for it and probably the only reason why it's still in business is that it is located closest to the Ashville tourist sites. Only reason why I stayed here again is because besides one other RV park, it is the only thing going this time of year. I normally prefer the camping along the Blue Ridge Parkway camps but they apparently are closed this time of year so I really didn't have much choice. All in all Bear Creek is not a bad place to roost for a night or two as long as you know what to expect for your money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$40
We were visiting friends in the area so this park was convenient. Aside from being located at the intersection of I-40 & I-26 it is a fairly nondescript campground. We were on the lower portion right next to the road in a pull through which was long enough for even our guests to park in the same strip. But the road noise and glare of the headlights at night left something to be desired. Up on the hill near the office seems to be the better option - if we were to return. OK overall, but that's about it. Asheville is very nice with lots to do. You can't beat the mountain scenery and fresh air. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$45
I am guessing that the people who complained about the sites and "bad road" in do not have a lot of experience. We really didn't see an issue with our 36 ft motorhome. Yes there is a blind curve and the layout to get in and out of the camp ground is odd, but keep in mind you are in the mountains of Asheville! Location is awesome. We were in site 30 and did have a nice view of the mountains in the distance. Some sites will not have that view so I guess it depends on what site you are in. You can't see the Biltmore from any site and need to walk to the dog walk area. Full cable hook ups, and weak Wi-Fi from our site. Concrete pads but no privacy landscaping between sites. You can hear the highway in the distance but it wasn't that bad and the way previous reviews were, it sounded like the campground was literally on the highway. Not so. No problems checking in. Very nice campground and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
This campground was clean but was located near the highway and lacked character. It did not really feel like camping but served a purpose for a place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
Road to campsite is a steep, windy, very narrow road. Access to the campground's "pull through" was extremely difficult and bound up our toad hitch. The front of the site was literally on the highway with traffic only a few feet in front of the motorhome. The campground was way overpriced and not suited for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
Enjoyed camping here. We camped on the hill and had good shade and some views of the mountains. Sites were spacious, managers were friendly and helpful, pool was heated and clean. Located just across the highway from the Asheville Farmer's Market with easy access to I-26, I-40 and I-240. Not the best campground for bicycle riding unless you're good with hills. Mostly adults: not many amenities for small children. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
This park is conveniently located to many of Asheville's attractions and downtown area. The campground appears to be old with little updating to the sites. The views that other reviewers have referred to escaped me. We were located in one of their best sites with what was supposed to be a view. You're higher up in this park but I wouldn't consider the views to be anything special. You have interstate 40 on one side with some level of noise. It's not real loud but you can definitely hear it. On the other side is a view of some type of repair shop, garage or something with equipment parked outside. The water spigot for our site was very close to the sewer hookup drain which was gross. Also this park is very overpriced for what it is. They are able to charge this much because of the proximity to Asheville happenings. Overall: a very average, overpriced and dated park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
We had a great experience. There are level sites, good signal for internet and phone. It has a nice pool, is quiet, clean, and near the farmers market, and shopping. Biltmore is near. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
This is a campground that is ideally located for all activities in Asheville. There is easy off and on access to the interstate. Roads were wide and backing into sites was easy. The campground is small with beautiful views. As you exit the campground, you can see the Biltmore House and the Hotel across the mountains. The owners and staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Sites are paved with room between most sites and fairly level. I wouldn't recommend the pull-through sites, as they are located on a road. I would have rated this a 10 if an interstate wasn't located nearby. Although in a motorhome with air conditioning, the noise was minimal. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
Made reservations two months in advance for sites on their ridge with beautiful views. They told us the actual sites we picked were not guaranteed but we would definitely be on sites on the ridge with the beautiful views. When we arrived, our sites were indeed occupied and they had no other available sites on the ridge with the view. We were put on extremely cramped sites next to interstate, with no view except apartment building and storage building and pavement. Not exactly the mountain weekend we had in mind. When we got upset, the owner got very defensive and irate. She was extremely rude and told us we could leave if we were that unhappy. Of course there was no where else to go on July 4th weekend. Will not camp here ever again and would not recommend to anyone! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$46
Very small pool, not much of a playground for kids, and totally overpriced, even with the Good Sam discount. We did have a beautiful view of the mountains from our back window. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
Not sure why previous poster said staff was rude, as office staff and owner were very friendly, and helpful! Nice park with both pull-throughs and back-ins. Office staff advised me to go to a back-in, because of freeway road noise down at the pull-through section. She was right. Roadway wide enough to back my 40'er in without a problem. Maybe you get what you give, in dealing with people? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Park has the absolute rudest staff I have ever met. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$38
Park was clean, but the rest rooms for the area we were in were closed. Cable TV though advertised is non existent. Winding, climbing narrow road to reach this campground and then you are sitting just above the freeway so very noisy. Rate is in my opinion very high for what is offered. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$40
We over nighted here during a bitter cold snap. The restrooms were warm and clean. We were the only people there besides a couple of long term stay units. From what we saw in the middle of winter... long units might have issues with the entrance roads and especially many of the sites. If you are a big rig I would call ahead for info. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$38
Nice campground, wifi as excellent, not much contact with staff but were very friendly on check in. Had a back in site up on the hill, would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$40
We stayed here four weeks. It is on a hill, so has beautiful views, especially with the fall colors. You can even see the Biltmore. While the previous comments about pulling in on a blind curve and having the office on a hill were correct, it was not as tight as some posts made it sound (maybe because we've spend so much time in the Northeast where they are REALLY tight). We did not have to re-exit to get to our site, but 2/3 of the park requires that. The staff was friendly and helpful and very accommodating. The park would score higher, but the restrooms could be a little cleaner (often found them out of paper towels as well) and the sites could have a little more room (and we were told we were in the "larger" sites). The first spot we parked was not able to get the wi-fi (it constantly dropped the connection because the signal was so low), but when we parked near the transponder it worked well. The showers seemed old (difficult to find a temperature) and the laundry facility was not very nice (but the centipedes were fun to watch in the laundry room--NOT). Because of the location (very close to Asheville, Farmer's Market, stores, restaurants, etc.) and the staff, we would most likely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$38
The park is small but the sites are big with concrete pads and huge trees for shade. It was located next to the Interstate which was convenient for traveling to the tourist areas nearby, but the highway noise was not obnoxious. There was no convenient place for walking and the laundry was a little hard to get to, but the staff was friendly and accommodating. They also provided tickets to attractions that were cheaper than purchasing them at the attraction. A nice clean, quiet and convenient park (so I guess that's why there is a higher price than one would expect with no amenities.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
One of the more unusual designed parks we have stayed in. Most of the sites are built on a hill with different terraces available. There are also sites that are literally right off of a roadway that runs in front of the park. The roads are narrow, and larger rigs may have a problem backing in to the hill sites as most toads or tow vehicles have to park in front of the RV. Very small laundry facilities, two machines and two dryers. I would stay here again, but location is everything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
This park is very conveniently located in Asheville. It's about a 10 minute drive to the Biltmore Estate, which is a huge draw in this area and well worth visiting. It's also easy access in and out of the park. The Wi-Fi signal is generally very good and no extra fee for the use. Cell phone signal was reasonable as well. Despite this park being practically right in town, it's very quiet. We would recommend this park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$46
What a find!!! This park is in a beautiful location. Lot's of friendly people and the staff go way out of your way to help! The best sites are back-ins. The pull thru's have no view. The roads were pretty narrow, but the sites were very level. We had no real problem getting in or setting up. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$48
Good location. Easy to find. Convenient to local sites. Clean park. Went swimming and then went down town to the fireworks. It is an older park, very well maintained. Check in was a bit tight but we were able to park with one trip back out and around to the entrance. Good interior roads. Good use on every available inch of space. Clean pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
We stayed here years ago and decided to return while purchasing a home here. Owner and staff very friendly and helpful, very concerned with our comfort. Exceptionally clean sites and grounds. We found the sites to be roomy considering you are in the city. We had no problem driving in, checking in, or parking in our site. We were staying for one week and decided to stay one more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
This is a nice campground, but we are too close to our neighbor. All the sites are too tight that way, and the driveway is a bit tight, too. Now it is well cared for and clean. The power is strong, and you can get a big rig in here, too, though registering is a chore and on a hill and very tight. I would stay here again, but I would look to Mama Gerties first as it is more adult and much more quiet as the interstate is right behind you as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
The rate is with a Good Sam discount. There are different rates for 30 and 50 amps. The drive into the campground is uphill and there is not much room to stop to check in. The roadway through the campground is rather narrow. The staff is friendly. Our site was a back-in and you did have to be a little careful because you backed up to a hillside. The pads are cement and a little broken up but it was not too difficult to level. The restrooms, laundry and pool are downhill so you do walk down a flight of steps to get to them. The laundry was $1.75 for both the washer and dryer. There were two of each in a very small room, but they worked fine. We purchased tickets for the Biltmore Estates from the campground. We were able to buy a two day ticket for the same price ($47.50) as a one day ticket at the Estate. There is a nice view from the sites. Wi-Fi worked very well. We would stay here again, but we might look for someplace else first. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
This is not a big rig friendly park. Exiting off the interstate onto a 2 lane winding road. After registering you have to leave the park, pulling out on a blind curve, go down the hill and turn against traffic into the pull-thrus sites . You are at the mercy of drivers, since the pull-thru sites are at the bottom of the hill on a curve. we would not stay there again, and could not recommend the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$48
Only thing we found nice was the proximity to the Biltmore House. We were in a pull-thru facing a public road outside of the park itself. Very noisy because you are in between two interstates. We felt this park was grossly over priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$46
Very nice campground, convenient to Biltmore Estate and rest of Asheville. Adequate spaces, friendly staff. We camped in off season (March), only 1/4 full. No complaints except for the cost - $46/night for full hookup + two kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$50
Nice campground with wifi. Handy to freeways but you must go certain directions in the campground to exit as it is on a hill which gives it something of a view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
We used this campground as a stopover from Tybee Island on the way home to break up the trip. It is a clean campground mostly built on a hillside with some spots on the lower level. It was easy to get into considering the layout and the views of the mountains were something. Staff was friendly and willing to help. The only negative thing to me was the cost. It is a little pricey but I would return for a short visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$39
The park personnel were friendly. We stayed in the new lower section. The trees were too young to provide much shade. Interstate noise could be heard, but with our AC running or TV on, we couldn't hear anything. The older upper section seemed a bit tight. It is a great place to set up base for visiting the Asheville area attractions. In a few years when the trees have grown a bit, the lower sites will be very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
Great Campground. Easy access to the interstate. Clean campground with friendly staff. I would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
The road to the park was narrow and winding. The park is located on a hill, so the roads are up and down, with sites terraced. The trees in the park have been trimmed to the point of looking like a tornado went through. The site I was assigned to made it necessary to exit the park, drive the narrow winding road again and re-enter a different driveway. The site I backed my 38' coach into was NOT level at all. I was very unhappy with the site. The management let me move to another site which was more level. Riding a bike around this park was difficult and not fun. I would not ever stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2007
$42
This was a very noisy park. Interstates everywhere, which made it very noisy. Sites hard to get into if they were full. The road in and out wasn't easy to use with our 36ft motor home and towing vehicle. Wouldn't stay there again. Too much noise which starts in early in the morning around 5am and the roads aren't easy to maneuver especially after driving all day to get there. It is close to the Biltmore Estates which is why we stayed there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2007
$45
An expensive night of camping, but we stayed in a pull-through site which may have cost more than the back-ins. The campground is extremely convenient to Asheville (Biltmore Estates, Blue Ridge Parkway), which is about the best reason to use it. We couldn't recommend it otherwise. It is right off of Interstate 40 (we could hear the traffic all night), but not conveniently once off the highway as the one-mile road to the campground is narrow with sharp curves. To get to our pull-through site we had to drive out of the campground and back onto the narrow road and reenter the campground further down the road because there is no room to maneuver inside the park. Pull-through sites are narrow and perpendicular to the park road, making parking on the sites quite difficult. The next time we come to Asheville, we will try someplace else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2007
$38
Located next to multiple highways and interchanges, which meant there was so much road noise that ear plugs were needed to sleep. Bathrooms and laundry room were not clean. Wireless Internet extremely slow. When I mentioned concerns to management, I received a defensive voice mail from owner. Would not recommend this RV park. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2006
$49
After reading literature which had rated this campground very high and it being mentioned in Motorhome magazine, we were looking forward to checking out this campground. We were ultimately very disappointed by the time our departure date rolled around. The first pull-through site that they tried to place us in simply did not have enough clearance to pull my truck and 5th wheel into, the trees did not allow enough room to get through. They agreed to allow us to move to a pull-through with enough room for us to get in. Then the next morning, an employee of the park came knocking on our door telling us that we would have to move because she had another guest who had asked for the site we were on. When we arrived, lady in the office the night before told us to go to the site we were on. I told her that if I was forced to move, then I would just go ahead and check-out. She left and then returned saying that we could stay on the site we were on. Some of our family was staying in the apartment at the campground, when they went to bed - their bed fell on the floor, we were not able to find anyone from the campground to fix the problem. They had to go to a local hotel and spend the night. The sites were so close that our slideouts were only inches from touching our neighbors. The pull through section of the campground connects to the highway which runs in front of the campground making it dangerous for our children and the blind curve of that highway made it dangerous pulling out of our site. Campfires are not allowed and highway noise made our experience far from the relaxing retreat we had hoped for. Restrooms were not clean and the grounds were not well maintained. I would not recommend this campground and I am very shocked that it had received high ratings from industry publications. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2006
$45
Despite my confirming our reservation prior to traveling, the folks here couldn't find it when we arrived. The sites are very tight, especially if you have slide outs. There are few pull through spots. The site they eventually assigned us backed us in until we literally overlooked the interstate and was not large enough for our 3-slide 41.5' motorhome and the car we tow. The traffic noise was nonstop and very loud. They could use some good antennas for their wireless internet, as their signal wasn't strong enough to connect to. This campground is an adequate "staging area" if you plan on sight-seeing in the Asheville area. It is not a pretty or relaxing spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$33
Excellent campground, close to highway. Has cable so inability to get satellite was not an issue. Look forward to visiting this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$37
We stayed at this campground twice. The first time was a pleasant surprise. The second time by design. This campground is located near I40 but we did not hear the traffic. The hosts were extremely helpful with suggestions of local points of interest to visit and detailed directions. We plan to make this particular campground a regular stop when we travel through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
Nice campground not too far from Biltmore Estate. Easy access to Interstate. Clean restrooms and very nice pool area. We purchased our Biltmore Estate tickets there which saved us time when we made our visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2006
$39
The park was just okay. My wife and I intended to stay only 1 night since we were on our way to Myrtle Beach for a vacation. As we were pulling in my brake light came on, after checking in and settling down in a camp site I decided to find out why the light came on. After discovering that it appeared to be a leaking brake cylinder on one of the rear duals. I went to the office to see if they knew someone that could help us. The owners wife suggested a local guy who she said had done work in the CG before. After driving our toad to his shop and explaining the situation to him he said he would be by in a couple of hours to fix the problem, He never showed up. The next morning I called him and he said he would be out in a few hours so we waited all day and he never showed up or even called. At 7PM I went to the office to see if they could give me another name, well the office was closed. Knowing that the owners lived in a house at the CG I walked to there house. This time I spoke to the husband (owner) he said he didn't know what I could do...who I could call...and further more he said he would never had recommended the guy that was supposed to come out who was recommended by his wife. And at that he turned around and went into his house to continue watching TV. Being left on my own I found a phone book and called a Ford dealer who also has a RV repair shop, he put me in touch with a towing company. The next morning we got towed in...new rotors, brakes, and brake cylinders were installed and that evening we were on the rode again. We spent and paid for 3 nights at this campground when all we intended to do was spend 1 night. DO NOT I SAY DO NOT EVER STAY AT THIS CAMPGROUND. The owner (husband) has about as much compassion as a dead fish. Talk about Southern hospitality. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2006
$32
The owners weren't exactly rude, but they weren't exactly cordial, either. Beyond that, the owner blamed us for tripping a circuit breaker because we had the audacity to use the electric heat strips in our little 17-foot Casita travel trailer, which was hooked up to what was supposed to be 30-amp service. Yes, we had the TV and microwave on at the same time, but we don't believe we were getting 30 amps of service, despite having paid over $30 a night for the site. We have never had a problem using our appliances at any other campground. Perhaps they should use some of that money to upgrade their electrical system. Even before that incident, we had decided we wouldn't be returning to this campground, chiefly due to the rather indifferent additudes of the owners. Thankfully, there are plenty of campgrounds to choose from in the Asheville area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2006
$41
Made a reservation 4 weeks ahead of time and within two days called to cancel due to change in plans for a different campground in area. Cancellation was made a month ahead of arrival and they charged my card a 5.00 fee!? Not a good business practice...BEWARE! I'll never go for this one again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$35
Our stay at Bear Creek was very nice. The management was very welcoming and friendly. We stayed for one week and will stay here whenever we come to Asheville. The sites are all paved and the grounds are clean. It is also located close to everything. Nice mountain views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$35
The owner was kind enough to come find us when we were lost trying to locate the campground. This would have gotten them a 10 Plus, but with only two shower rooms available and they were COLD and my shower head had a split in the pipe before the shower head, thus 80% of the water went against the wall. Thus a generous 8. The Host was somewhat less than helpful, not rude just nothing. The owner is a great person. They have been able to get spaces where no space is available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2005
$34
A bit overpriced ($34 nightly rate paid was Good Sam discount price). It is sandwiched in the V between two interstates and there is a fair amount of road noise. Sites are pretty close together. There is no weekly rate, although monthly rates can be negotiated. The park is very convenient for visiting sights in Asheville, NC. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2005
$34
We've stayed at this campground 3 times mainly because it offers wifi. 2 of the times we were there it wasn't working at all and the last time it didn't have enough signal strength. We informed the office of this, but no one took an interest. I felt the grounds were nice, the location is good, but they've added new campsites to the lower part of the campground that had no landscaping. They have two laundry rooms, one was flooded, the other one was dirty. They charge $1.75 per machine which includes the dryer. Some were complaining the dryers weren't working properly. I believe we paid at least $34.00 a night, they offer no discount if you are there more than 7 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
Not many pullthru sites and the sites were very close. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$29
Staff very friendly and helpful. Sites very narrow and close together. Good for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$31
Very clean park. Nice level concrete pads. Easy on and off access from major highways. Plenty of room to back in my 30 foot fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
Sites are pretty tight together and the pull thrus are along a busy road. Road noise was not really bad, but then we had the coach closed up. Staff was pretty friendly and the campground was very well taken care of. Rate was a little steep even with the Good Sam discount. I'd recommend this campground to any one staying in the Asheville area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2004
$34
We arrived after dark and had difficulty finding a site, or at least how to get to the site. We chose a site listed on a piece of paper hanging outside the office as to which was available. After hooking up, leveling, putting out slides, etc. I turned on the faucet and we had no water. The sites on each side of us had water so apparently it wasn't frozen. We called the owners/managers but no one responded to our call. Our plans were to stay several days in this park, but due to the lack of assistance when needed, we left the next morning and do not plan to go back to this one. Even our neighbor who had been there a few days wasn't happy with the park but didn't know the area or where else he could go. I wouldn't recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$30
This is absolutely the BEST Campground/Resort at which I have ever stayed. Although some sites are rather small, there are sites that will accommodate the largest legal size R/Vs. Very little on-site activity facilities, but many facilities are available nearby. The restrooms and showers are absolutely spotless. Maintenance is mostly done by the ownwer and the supreme cleanliness shows great pride by the owners. Simply the best! We visited in June of 2004 and the owners were working on expansion of additional sites. Cabin sites are available for those that do not have a R/V. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$28
This was one of the cleanest parks we have stayed in. The owners live on the premises and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable during your stay. The office staff are all friendly and helpful. We will definitely be going back to this park. Also the park is in a great location. Close to the city and other attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Sent in deposit months in advance to receive a pull through with 50 amps. Was told this was no problem. Got a 30 amp backin. Staff was somewhat rude on occasion. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$28
We've stayed here often in our motorhome. Most convenient location to all Asheville attractions, just off major interstate intersections, but noise not a problem. Well maintained park, roads all paved. Nice level, hard surface pads with good, well maintained hookups. Individual spaces are average size but adequate for toad and tow vehicles parking. Many big rigs always present. Some sites well shaded, others partial to no shade. Staff has always been friendly and accommodating, including owners. Bath facilites fair to good, nothing exceptional. One modem connection in office, access limited to office hours and demand from others. Accept cash or checks only. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$23
Excellent overnight stop. Easy in and out. Located right at exit 147 on I40 - real close to Biltmore Mansion. Well maintained - average sized sites. Pull-throughs are right at the side of a fairly busy local road. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2001
$30
We have not stayed here in years but did try to give this campground another chance in 2001 and again the owners are so rude and unfriendly, we decided we were not giving this place any of our money! The campground itself is ok. Some sites are pull thrus but most are backins. The backins can accommodate large rigs but the sites are narrow (20/25ft wide) so you are on top of other campers. They do have concrete pads with grass surrounding the site. The reason I rated don't know for family campground is as rude and hateful as this couple is I would think they would be hateful to children and pets. Thank goodness Asheville has gotten some good campgrounds in the past few years. If the couple that owns this one will retire, it will definitely be worth staying at. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com