224120 User submitted reviews online!!
Campfire Lodgings was rated 9 out of 10 based on 127 user reviews. Phone: (828) 658-8012
CGID2026

Campfire Lodgings

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   9   10   10   8   10   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
Stunning views from preferred sites. I recommend P-8. We had a non-view site but it was level and plenty of room. Had a wild turkey family greeting us in the mornings. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The road up to the park is a little dicey but made it in a 40' plus tow. If you are looking for a peaceful mountain experience, this is where you want to be. Very close to Asheville but you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$60
Fabulous view-go for the premium sites, it is well worth it. Very friendly owner, wonderful location, clean restrooms, nice hiking paths, We will return. We stayed in June and will go in October. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$60
Excellent park in every respect: beautiful views, level sties, immaculate grounds, strong Wi-Fi, and friendly staff (especially Jason). Mountain views include the French Broad River and a distant model airplane airport where you can watch the planes maneuver (but too far away for noise). There is even a freight train in the distance adding to the evening ambiance. Bathrooms are clean, but not air conditioned. Nice laundry room with two coin operated washers and dryers ($1.50 each). Premium sites 1-7 have beautiful sunset views, but are in the sun all day. We were in premium site 8 that had both views and shade. Drive up the hill is tight but not difficult. Take your awnings down if leaving for the day as high winds during an afternoon thunderstorm damaged out neighbor's awning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
Gorgeous views from the mountain looking down on the valley below; good Wi-Fi; well-managed. At first I was concerned that I couldn't do much walking or bicycle riding in this park, but fortunately both are not too terribly far away. There is a great walking path at Beaver Lake about a 6 minute drive away; park in the lot on Merrimon Avenue at the bird sanctuary. Bike trails are a bit further away at Bent Creek. We would love to stay here again if we return to the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
The park was beautiful! The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hiking trails accessible from the park were a great way to exercise my dog and myself! The spaces were well set up and were larger than most other campgrounds. Without reservations, we were only able to stay 2 days--they were that full. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
The campground was a little difficult to find. My first impression was not very good. The driveway is dirt/gravel, very steep and lots of curves. Upon arriving at the office we were greeted and made to feel right at home. The staff was terrific. Jason the maintenance person was phenomenal. The staff is truly glad to have you at their campground and aren't shy about it. We had to cut our stay short, but we will definitely be back. It's close to down town but far enough away to make you feel secluded. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$45
The draw of this park is first and foremost the mountain views and wooded setting. I agree with the other reviews about park condition, surroundings, facilities, etc. It's very small and fills up. Even though this park accommodates big rigs, and we didn't have any problems, it's tight and there is not a lot of room for error. The person who performs park maintenance and security, is the biggest asset (staff wise) to this park IMO. He was extremely helpful in helping us navigate in and out, and did everything he could to make us feel at home. The lady in the office was friendly and helpful to us, but I witnessed her become very impatient with someone on the phone (asking questions about site size and accommodating a 40' RV). This park can accommodate large rigs, just prepare for some maneuvering. Strong Verizon and AT&T signals. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$49
The campground was immaculate. Staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. The views from this campground exceeded any I have experienced. The Wi-Fi was outstanding. It is a little piece of paradise. The campground is a long way from our home (about 3000 miles) so I won't likely return but I will never forget the experience! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
We enjoyed this park with all the beautiful views of the mountains. The road up is steep but doable and once you get up there the sites on the edge are spectacular. There are about 7 concrete sites that have the best views but all sites are level and they have a nice little viewing area for those of us that were not on the edge. The folks that work here are all about service and take good care of you. We stayed here 3 weeks, very convenient to Asheville and other area sites. The only negative was the stink bug infestation, but that's an NE problem not the campground's. But we will avoid this area next time in the fall because of that, we're still finding those bugs all over our RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$70
Beware, be very aware! STINKBUGS EVERYWHERE. NO RV IS SAFE. We had them for the best part of a week. In every room! We left for Cherokee, ended up killing over 70 more after we arrived and let out our slides. P.S. WI-FI was poor also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
This park is special, it sits high on a hillside, and although close to urban facilities feels like it is deep in the NC forests. The location offers stunning views. The owner has not only provided a number of premium sites with views, but has created a space and seating area to allow all the other campers on property the opportunity to enjoy the view too. The onsite managers are extremely helpful and friendly, the park itself is kept in pristine condition. Premium sites are concrete, deluxe sites are gravel, all sites are back-in but plenty long for your average big rig (we are 40ft). Some sites are better than others if larger than 40ft. Major area attractions are easily accessed and groceries are conveniently located within 1 - 2 miles. The negatives: the road up to the park is steep, narrow and gravel, but easily passable if traffic one-way. For rigs coming and going, this is mostly accomplished by strict check-out / check-in times. The requirements for a big deposit with a strict cancellation policy is archaic, and the stink bugs in September are insane! But this is NC in the fall. We have checked out other parks in the area and none compare to this little gem on the hillside. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$60
We were in one of the premium view sites, a paved concrete site with nice landscaping and view. The road up the campground can be easy to miss, make wide turns, and do it very slowly and carefully! The gravel road up is very, very steep but doable by all. The last curve up to the campground is the steepest, do not stop, keep on going for momentum! Recommend doing Google satellite view for an idea of what to watch out for. Watch out for the turns, benches, and rocks along the roads within the camp; easy to hit! No online reservation, and big deposit with a strict cancellation policy is archaic, but maybe it is because they do not have many sites. Very close to Biltmore and Asheville. Grocery store very close too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$60
Great campground. The views are amazing. We stayed in P1. Wished we could of gotten 3 or 4 - the views are even better. People in office were very nice and helpful, campground very clean. The other reviews are correct, the road up to the campground was very narrow. There is no way someone could of come down as we were going up, but we did not have any problems and we have a 45 foot motor home and towing a truck. Will definitely go back again.... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Great park! Top ten staff, great showers and restrooms. Great views. The downside is the steep hill and narrow drive for our 45 foot RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$60
We stayed in one of the premium sites. Terrific mountain views. Probably could see for 30 miles. Handyman was a wonderful guy who lives onsite. He is an at-your-service kind of guy. Premium sites are the only sites with clear, unobstructed views. Visited Dollywood which was a 2 hour drive to TN. Call the office before your arrival and when you are at the bottom of the hill. The road up the mountain is not bad and a big rig and tow will have no problem driving it. However, you'll want to contact the office at the top of the hill to make sure they stop any down hill vehicles. The road is not wide enough for two rigs in some places, especially around the few curves that need to be navigated. However, don't let this scare you off; the drive up and down really is not bad at all. And the view from the premium sites is breathtaking! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$60
This was our second trip to this campground in 4 months. The views from the Premier sites are unbelievable! The owners are great and are responsive to any issues. I mentioned a bush that was blocking our view and they were out trimming it within 30 minutes. Very clean and neat sites. The drive up the mountain is an experience, but definitely worth the trip. We will return as soon as possible! One of our favorites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$60
View from half a dozen prime sites(P#s) is phenomenal. Other sites have limited or no view. AT&T reception is weak to non existent. Very peaceful. As others have mentioned, this park is at the top of a very steep, narrow dirt road about 1/2-3/4 mile long. If you meet another large RV coming in the opposite direction, it is almost impossible to pass on most of this road. If both are towing a toad, someone is going to have to unhook and back down the hill. If two big fifth wheels meet, good luck with that one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$60
A return to this campground/site for us. The view is incredible. A bit pricey but a homey place to stay. I don't like the fact that they charge you for the entire stay when you make the reservations months ahead! The sites are nice, and the showers/restrooms are private and ample. Be very careful if you have a big rig as the hill to get up to the campground is winding and steep. You need to leave before 12 and come up after 2:30 so as not to meet a fellow camper on the way in or out. All in all we like it here and will return next time we are in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$55
What a gem! Campground is on top of mountain. Premium sites (numbered with 'P’) have positively gorgeous views of valley below. Even the non premium sites have good (though much more wooded) views. The entry road is steep and windy but very manageable - don't be discouraged by it. Staff is fantastic and the on site groundskeeper sets the gold standard for what other CG's should strive for. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$45
Great park with one of the best views you will ever see from a camp site. Limited sites with direct views, so book in advance. Other sites are very nice, nestled in the woods atop a mountain. Staff is friendly. The grounds keeper is awesome. Be prepared for difficult entrance road. One lane, steep uphill with sharp turns. We camped in a 40 foot rig and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$45
Campground is very clean, sits on top of a mountain and has great views. Premium sites available but public access area is also available for those not willing to spend an extra $15/night. My site was surrounded by gravel and very close to neighbor. It was level though so that's a big plus. Good location to visit Asheville and surrounding area. Staff very nice and helpful. Laundry facility available: $1.50 wash/dry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$60
Good base for visiting Biltmore. Friendly and helpful. Earlier postings that mentioned updating the restrooms are correct. Updating would make this a solid 9. Don't drive yourself crazy getting a premium site. There is a public area that you can walk to in the premium site area that has a great view, in my opinion. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$60
Wonderful view from the premium sites. Very nice campground, close to Asheville. Very highly recommend spending the extra money on the Premium sites if you can. This is our second time staying here this year and we plan on returning. Bathrooms seemed to be fine, but we did not use them. Nice path to the small pond. Very helpful staff. Road up the hill is steep. Recommend using 4 wheel drive when pulling a fifth wheel. Looked at the Yurts and they were also very nice and unique. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Stayed on site #9 over Labor Day weekend. This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have ever visited. The site was very deep and afforded plenty of room for our 46 foot motorhome and the SUV that we toad. The way the sites are staggered along the ridge you do not feel as though you are too close to your neighbor. The views are incredible and the campground is incredibly clean and well kept. The bathhouse is the best we have experienced, private and cleaned regularly. Unlike a few of the earlier postings on this website, I found all of the employees willing to go out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. Very short commute into Asheville. We will be returning to visit again soon! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Great campground! Loved the private bathrooms although they will need replacing soon. They are definitely showing their age. In fact, that's the only reason I can't give this place a "10." Shortly after being cleaned, the bathrooms would have a strong urine smell which I'm pretty sure was due to their age. You can only get them so clean. Really liked having on-site laundry and a dishwashing station/sink (and loved that it was outside!). The common area with the view is very nice. We stayed on a site without a view. We liked that the non-view sites were more private and shady, but it would have been nice to have that view! Very quiet, all pet owners were very respectful, helpful staff, overall fantastic campground. Can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Located atop a mountain, this campground provides great views of the Smokies and the French Broad river. The campground is pretty and very well kept (all the way to trash cans at each site!). They also maintain about four miles worth of hiking trails on the mountain flank, as well as a small catch-and-release pond. The entrance and access road are curvy and rather tight, and the turnaround at the end of the campground is barely large enough. We just managed with a 40' fifth-wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$65
We stayed on 2 sites: #12 for 2 nights then moved to premium #1, with a WOW view!! The entire campground is extremely well maintained and clean with mostly heavy shade, except for most of the premium sites. The premium sites all have fantastic views of the river valley All utilities work great including Wi-Fi. The maintenance man/grounds keeper is fantastic. He will help you with what ever you need. The entire staff is very pleasant. As for the road up to the CG: I pulled my toad up behind my 43 footer. No problem as long as you pay attention to the curves. The tightest part was turning ONTO that road up the hill. Overall one of the best we have visited. Very close to Asheville and the Blue Ridge Pkwy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$60
Excellent view from the premium site #4. Good cable TV, and Wi-Fi. Mountain road is twisty leading up to the campground, but no more so than all the surrounding roads.The premium sites are a must unless you don't want to have that awesome view. Campground is very quiet and peaceful, laundry is clean but bring quarters. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$60
This is one of the top 5 campgrounds were we have stayed. We stayed in site P1 and the views are just amazing. The sites are very laid out and we had privacy even though we were relatively close to our neighbor. It is quiet, peaceful and the staff were great. Also nice to have hiking trails at the park. Love that they have concrete pads for the RV and patio area. One suggestion: if you are towing a car, disconnect before you start up the mountain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$60
This is a very nice small campground a few miles out of Asheville. You do go up a rather steep winding road, but we did not have any difficulty. We had one of the premium sites, which we felt was worth the extra cost.This had a wonderful view of the mountains, with the campsite being at the edge of the mountain. Would not recommend this site for small children, but the other sites that are not rated as premium would not have this safety concern. The store closes early so be sure to get your firewood before 5pm. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We did not use the bathrooms or shower so I did not rate this. There are several walking paths well maintained, and the yurts are very interesting. We will most definitely return to this nice campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$60
Simply one of the best campgrounds that I've ever been to. The view was spectacular. The grounds were immaculate. The premium sites are level and concrete. A little bit salty on the price but frankly well worth it. We were in town for a soccer tournament and had our three daughters plus friends. There isn't a lot of kid friendly activities or play ground activities so they actually have to explore the outdoors which I think is or used to be part of camping. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$60
Camped in a 45 foot motor home. If you have guts enough to make the drive up a mostly gravel, steep road to the top of the knob, you'll be rewarded with a fantastic view. Strongly suggest if you have a class A motor home towing a toad, that you unhook and drive it separately. If you don't unhook the toad and drive up, the toad will be covered in a blanket of dust, if it is dry. Also would be a good idea to send the toad ahead up the road to make a road block in case another class A coach is coming down. Also best to not arrive until close to 3 p.m. check-in time to allow campers leaving time to get out. The thing that sets this RV park apart is LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. The views are spectacular. It is also a haven for birds. They were buzzing everywhere making it interesting. The Premium sites are paved with nice landscaping, fire ring, and picnic table. Non-premium sites are considerably less expensive and without the view or paved pad. Its only a short walk from the non-premium sites to a common area with a great view. Bathroom/shower/laundry house is a pre-fab modular unit. This unit is starting to show some wear. Could have been cleaner. RV park is very close to Asheville, but actually near the village of Weaverville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$60
If you want a place that feels far away in the mountains, yet is 15 minutes from downtown Asheville, this place is for you. Great vista of mountains and the river valley from sites P1 - P5. Sites P-1 and P-5 have some shade with more restricted views. Other sites have no view or a very restricted view, but there is a common area for their use with a good sunset view. Rates are much lower for non-view sites. Sites are small but long enough for our 40 foot rig and car. Most sites are staggered so you don't have anyone directly opposite you. Very well kept. Good 50 amp power, water and sewer. Cable was snowy but watchable on some channels, fine on others. Verizon cell and air card worked well. This is not a place for kids or loud partiers; they will be bored. So we loved it! We disconnected the toad at the bottom of the road up. The only mild difficulty we had was on the last turn before the top, but manageable. The hosts are helpful and do an excellent job of running the place. Did not give a 10 due to minimal amenities beyond the view, small sites, and the somewhat difficult road up the mountain. Some will think the price is too high, but we didn't because of the "million dollar view." We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Small, clean, conveniently located park. Excellent view of the French Broad River, especially at Sunset! Well kept park with spacious sites. Will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$60
Breathtaking views from the top of the mountain. Very clean park, nice large sites, friendly staff. This campground would not be ideal for families with small children, since there is nothing for them to do on site, but perfect for couples looking for quiet and relaxation. Only one drawback to our mountaintop view...the wind broke our awning during a severe thunderstorm. However, the staff was helpful in getting the awning off the top of the camper so we could leave. So if you stay here, put your awning in if there is a threat of storms! Otherwise, fantastic!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
Second visit to this nice park. Great views from some sites and common area. Nice trails and small pond. Clean restrooms and showers. Some traffic noise but it doesn't spoil this fine location. We will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$60
Small campground with mountain views from premium sites, reflected in price. Nice overlook area, wild turkeys and various other wildlife. Shower House and Laundry very clean. Washers were dated but worked fine. Nice trails. A great place to just relax. Chimney Rock a must see while in area. Close to town. Would stay again when in area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Nice campground and enjoyed the stay. Very close to downtown where you will find nice shops and dining. The campground is more for adults. Limited activities for children. The mountain views are great. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$65
Amazing view from our site. Expensive, but the view is what you pay for. The owner could do with some lessons in how to speak politely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
Nice campground but we thought it was overpriced. Had some nice views from the campground, but seemed to more geared towards big rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$60
If you know how to drive your rig, (we stayed here in our 35 footer), you will have no difficulty in getting up the road to the campground. This campground is immaculate. The sites have gorgeous views of the French Broad River and surrounding mountains. It is quiet and peaceful. The manager is a very friendly and gracious lady. The grounds keeper was on site 24 hours a day for anything we needed. One day we were in need of ketchup and he went to his trailer and brought us his personal bottle of ketchup to use! My husband enjoyed talking about Dodge diesel trucks with him. As we were the only campers here for the weekend, they allowed us to let our dog run off leash and he loved it! We had no problems with anything. We hiked on the trails around the campground and it was just lovely. We highly recommend this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$55
We stayed here in site P8. This site has a great view of the mountains and overlooks the French Broad River. Sites P1 thru P5 seem to have an even better view. The premium sites are paved with full hookups. The sites which are not premium are also nice sites, they are just not paved and do not have a view. This is a small park on the top of a mountain. It is convenient to Asheville and the Blue Ridge Parkway, each being about 10 minutes away. The owners were nice and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
We would consider this more of an adult park as there are no activities for children. Road up to park can be difficult for big rigs with turns and especially last little bit of incline. Views are amazing and park was extremely quiet and peaceful at night. Staff was friendly and very helpful, knew us by name by end of first day. Can't wait to return to visit again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Gravel sites here, with some leveling required (for us, anyway). Weekend stays, we found out too late, are a two day minimum. Getting to the park is a bit of a climb up a dirt road with lots of curves and a steep grade over the last 100 yards or so. You also need to be very careful where you walk on their nature trails, as there is poison ivy all over the place. Several of their sites have wonderful, unobstructed views of the river valley below. There is a good WiFi network and a few UNC (public) digital TV channels available. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
Premium site had fantastic view however a giant class A in next site was practically parked on top of our fire pit and had the air fan blowing constantly. Would recommend P5 or P6 sites. Individual shower with restroom were OK but could have been cleaner and would have been nicer with AC. Nothing for the kids. This campground is mostly about the view. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Close to main highway of 26 just north of Asheville. It's located on top of a mountain top with a breath-taking view. Some pads are concrete and others are gravel. Has fairly level sites. Staff is very friendly and honest. Campground is very quiet, small and secluded. Just what we like. Getting up and down the mountain in the motorhome was a bit nerve racking at first, but would go back to this campground in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
First seven sites have a direct view of the mountains. WOW. Breathtaking !!! The rest of the sites are very nice too, but typical nice campground sites. We found manager to be very helpful. Location 10 minutes to downtown. Entrance road was as described but we made it in a 40 footer (now we can call her a Mountain Goat) and there was a 42 footer next to us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
The view from this campground made the steep drive up worthwhile. I was 1 of 4 in a group. We had the only site with the deck and made good use of it. People working at the campground were very friendly and helpful. Suggested shopping areas, restaurants, etc., for us. Had a nice shaded site that kept us cool so we didn't miss a pool so much. Would recommend this campground to anyone traveling in the area. Would camp here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
The staff was quite friendly during our visit. The scenery is awesome in the Premium sites. I don't know if the Deluxe site would be worth it as you are really just camping in the woods in a small campground with few amenities. There is not much for the kids to do, which can sometimes be nice. Very convenient to town. Electricity was good. I do get aggravated with parks advertising WiFi and then providing a totally inadequate signal. That's why I gave it a 9 instead of a 10. Otherwise, we got what we expected. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Camped with a group consisting of four units. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Had four sites together due to early reservations. One site had a great deck area which was we used for all of our group meals, site was shaded which kept us cool in the 90 degree heat. Loved the backs on the picnic tables! After a uphill twisting drive on a narrow road we were so pleased with the campground and the great views. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Based on previous recommendations made by RV'ers, I selected this park to spend a few days in the Asheville area. Even though I previously reserved a site at this park for a big-rig motorhome, I was extremely disappointed with the site saved for me. It was so unlevel that my front wheels were so far off the ground that I could only enter by using a step ladder. On top of this, I arrived a few hours early so I was charged an extra fee to park at this UNFIT SITE. You can bet I will never stay at this place again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$55
Great campground. Staff very friendly and informative. Hookups easy to access. Nice fire pits and picnic tables. Plenty of room between campers. View of the valley and mountains couldn't be better. Plenty of room to walk the dogs. The ride up is a little steep but we had no problems at all. They could have better signs getting to the campground from the highway but we did find it with our GPS. We will be staying again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
The campground has amazing views of the valley below. The owners are on premise, and care about your experience while in Asheville. There are hiking trials attached to the campground. The trip up the mountain to the campground is steep. However it certainly is worth the trip. We did make it up the mountain with a Big Rig towing a large SUV. If you are in Asheville I recommend this campground. We will return on our next trip to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$55
This is a fine campground as long as you don’t have any visitors while you are staying here. We had family from out of state come up to spend the day and it was made quite apparent that the owner was not happy about having extra cars parking in the campground, even at a $4.00 parking fee per vehicle. The owner yelled across the campground to me, “How long are they staying!” just as they were getting out of their cars. We felt so uncomfortable that we left within the hour and went to a nearby German restaurant called the Bavarian (very good food and service). However, it was not quite the way we had planned on spending the day. The view is nice, but the sites are so close you can hear the people walking inside their camper in the adjacent site. One of the reasons we go RVing is to visit with friends and family and we won’t go somewhere where this is so highly discouraged. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$55
The premium sites have long views to the valley and river below; premium sites have cement patios and pads. I would stay in any of the sites if premium was not available. We toured 2 other parks nearby, this is THE best option in Asheville. The staff could not be nicer. Has wonderful trails for walking your dog. It is a very small and intimate park. My new favorite. We will be staying here many times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$63
We just got back today from this campground and loved it!! We stayed for 5 nights on site P2 with a gorgeous mountain view. These sites are a few dollars extra, but it was worth it. The mountain view sites also have concrete pads for your unit and a concrete patio, and were easy to back into. The grounds were very well kept. There is a steep road into the campground, but not unmanagable if you're towing with the right vehicle. The owner of this campground was wonderful, very friendly and helpful with information on the area. And truly concerned for our happiness: we got a new neighbor while we were out one day, and when we got back all we could hear were their yapping dogs while they were away. The owner came over to apologize and said she tried calling them several times. She really felt bad for us. This campground is only about 15 minutes from downtown Asheville. The only reason this gets a 9 instead of a 10 is because if we came here in the summer, there is no pool to use. We would love to come back to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$45
Great park with a super staff that was friendly and helpful. The views from the sites are awesome. The park was very well keep and our site had a concrete parking pad for the motorhome. We are looking forward to our next visit to this unique location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$40
We enjoyed our stay here, as we're not big on the traditional trappings of an RV resort (pool, playground, etc.) that so many campgrounds have. Campfire Lodgings is in a beautiful mountainside setting, with several lovely hiking trails around the campground, and we and our dogs enjoyed them every day. The one-lane road up to the small campground was not a problem, and we had no trouble getting parked. There was no off-leash dog area, but that wasn't a problem because of the great hiking opportunities. We thought that $40 was a little steep for the off-season, with no discounts, otherwise we'd give it a "10!" We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$40
This campground has some of the best views I've ever seen. If you stay at a premium site you'll back up to the edge of a cliff overlooking a river. Breathtaking. Premium sites are at such an angle that the RV next to you doesn't block your line of sight. The premium also have concrete slabs to park on. I stayed at a deluxe site which was plenty nice but not level and gravel. Each site has a nice fire ring, picnic table, and grill. There are lots of well tended hiking trails. There are no amenities specifically for kids. The management was nonexistent. We arrived and the door was locked. A clipboard with my name and a map was hanging on a nail. Even though I wanted to buy stuff at the store it was always locked. The road up was winding and narrow but easily navigable in my 33' Class C. Management did a nice job of plowing the entrance road as it snowed during our visit. I will stay here again but only between April and September. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$50
Awesome campground. Staff were very helpful. They made us feel right at home. Views are spectacular. We were on P5. Being a rookie RV driver I was concerned about the road up to the campground, but it was surprising very easy to get to. We will definitely be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$50
When you find a special place and special people you want to keep it to yourself. Well I guess it is to late for that after seeing all of these outstanding reviews. Our second time here in 2009 and we are just as pleased as with the first. We were in P2 first and P5 the second. Outstanding views. Great host. They will go out of their way to help make your stay wonderful. We will be visiting them again in 2010. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
It was clean and well maintained. All types of camping from tenting and yurts to Class A motorhomes. Make reservations ahead of time and ask for one of the sites with a pad and view of the river. Really beautiful. Asheville not far away, but we were there for the foliage and hiking. OBEY THE CHECK IN TIME. Once you leave the highway you will be going up a one lane mountain road. Owners fun and polite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$60
The owner of the park goes out of her way to accommodate her guests. The maintenance is kept up and the people that work here are very friendly. The scenery is very beautiful and the sites are spacious. I would recommend this place to anyone that wants to get away from noise of the city, yet be close enough to get to. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
This is a campground that we won't ever forget! It is small but beautiful. We had a great site, a million dollar view, up on the side of a mountain. This place is beautiful maintained and we will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
My mother and I had a great visit. I chose this park based on the great reviews and it was everything I had hoped it would be. We were in the Premium-5 spot (P-5) and it was the best view in the park. Owner was a gem, very helpful; she even went to town and picked up hot dogs for us to cook over the campfire as we had no way down. She does make this park very unique and I definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the Asheville area. I left feeling like I had a new friend. I hope to be able to come back one day. This one is a must-do! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
You are rewarded for the long twisted road up to the campground with views that are tremendous. Small number of sites available so be sure to reserve prior to arrival. Friendly, courteous, and helpful staff with well maintained campsites. We would definitely stay here again!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
It has been raining since we got here but the park is very enjoyable. It's neat, tidy, well organized and well run. In excellent repair and modern. This is a very quiet area, no road noise with beautiful views of French Broad River Valley. Only "down" sides are that it doesn't have a pool or hot tub and it is kind of tight if driving a big rig. The sites are nice and good sized, but the roads up to the campground are tight. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Asheville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
This was by far my favorite campsite from the past 8 years we have been camping. They have an incredible hostess and went above and beyond to accommodate us as well as our pets. The view was spectacular from our site and everything was clean and well groomed. We had a difficult neighbor that refused to move his bus, which he had backed up in to our site (no Southern hospitality there), but even that did not dissuade us from enjoying our time here. If you are looking for a relaxing time with phenomenal views and peaceful tranquility: this is the place for you! Hugs and kisses to you all and thanks for everything. We'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
This was our first time camping with our trailer and what a fabulous start. We paid for the premium view site and wow was it worth it! Spectacular views. The girls loved hiking down to the fishing pond. It was beautiful and well kept. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
This was worth the stay, just for the view. We stayed in a spot looking at the mountains and French Broad. We had plenty of room for slide and awning. Management couldn't be more friendly. My brother and his wife stayed in a yurt and loved it. We had flowers, books, good food and friendly people. What more could we ask? We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
We stayed here a week in July. This was our 4th time here. It is still a great place sites are much wider and deeper than most. The campground is clean and quiet and has magnificent views. The WiFi and cable had excellent reception. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Beautiful hill-top park minutes from Asheville. Common bath/shower clean if not modern. Wi-Fi worked well, smaller campground so book early. No problems at all. Some sites with spectacular views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
We had premium site 5 and it was well worth the additional cost. The view was the most beautiful we've ever enjoyed in 15 years of RVing! Management was very welcoming, even when we arrived hours before our scheduled check-in. Note: There is a very firm 3:00 pm check-in so all the folks checking-out can clear the fairly tight mountain road before new folks start driving up. We promise to remember the rules when we return and we definitely will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
I agree with the others, don't let the road up deter you. The campground is very well kept and the views are beautiful. The staff is fantastic and there are some really good hiking trails. The only 2 problems I found were the RV sites. The deluxe sites are not level. They are so far off I ran out of stroke on the leveling jacks. The other problem is the trees. I like trees but I had a choice of being able to put out my slide or being able to put out my awning. The other deluxe sites are the same from what I saw. Next time I will pay extra for a premium site but really one should not have to for a site that is at least level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
The other posts virtually say it all. Do not let the "climb up the mountain" deter you. The road is very doable. Our 40' MH plus toad had no problem. Even passed a truck coming down. Staff could not possibly be nicer or better. The view from P2 was unbelievable! First class and wonderful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
This park has a great view and is worth the trip up the hill. I did not find it a problem in a 37 ft. motorhome, but was glad I didn't meet another vehicle. My only concern was that there was not much for the kids to do. There is no pool, game room, etc. It is very quiet and well-maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
I don't think I can add anything from the previous reviewers who have given this campground a 10. It so deserves all the accolades. The staff were SO helpful and kind, and they keep the place immaculate. We normally camp at State Parks because we prefer the natural beauty but a sudden death brought us quickly to Asheville, and we just happened upon Campfire Lodgings. What a gem. It had everything we needed for our quick stop-over, and I wish we had more time to enjoy it. We didn't have a premium site as they were booked, but ours was lovely anyway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$58
What a view! This RV park is on my short list of favorites. The park is small but the facilites and amenities are great. Clean and private bathrooms. Adequate laundry facilities. Gravel roads and sites pads with concrete patios. Awesome picnic tables with back rests: more campgrounds should invest in these. We had an AWESOME view of the mountains and the French Broad River from our site. We really enjoyed waking up in the morning and watching the fog lift to reveal the mountains across the way and sitting by our campfire as the sun lit the clouds as it went down and the mountains disappeared each night. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Of course, you have to climb the mountain before you can look down from it and in this case, the road up was a little hairy but totally doable with our 35' 5th wheel. There were several other 5th wheels and some class A's at the top as well, but most were smaller class B's or pop-ups. Overall, we loved it and will definitely reserve another mountain view site if we return to Asheville. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
We absolutely LOVE this campground! It is our new favorite place and has gone to the top of our list. The views are breathtaking. Each night we were treated to the most beautiful sunset. We stayed at one of the premium sites and it was worth every penny. The restrooms were very clean. The grounds are well maintained. I can’t say enough about our hosts, Ande and Matt. They were wonderful. I feel like we have 2 new friends. Do not hesitate to ask for recommendations, as they are very knowledgable of the area. Save our spot … as we are counting the days until we return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
Excellent campground. The premium sites (concrete slab) are well spaced and landscaped to minimize the views of utility connections. Andie and Mat were both very nice hosts/staff and very willing to help if have questions regarding Asheville and local restaurants. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
We have stayed in many campgrounds over the years some with very good service and very friendly staff. This place is absolutely fantastic. I thought Ande and Matt were the owners! The way they treated guest was simply outstanding! The owner has a major asset in these folks and should not let them get away! As other reviewers have said this place is very well kept. You can tell they take a great deal of pride in the place. We stayed a week in site P2.A level parking slab and a view that was simply fantastic! This is a very special place for us and we plan to visit Ande and Matt as often as possible! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$50
We have been RV campers for 30 years and have visited campgrounds throughout the United States from Maine to Washington State and Canada from Nova Scotia to British Columbia. This campground is the best campground we have ever experienced. Hosts Matt and Andy were absolutely great and maintained the beautiful grounds and facilities better than Disney World's Wilderness Campground. We left feeing we had stayed with good friends. Spectacular views over the French Broad River and Smokey Mountains changed like a kaleidoscope throughout each day of our stay. Road access was safe and easy even in the rain with our Blazer dingy in tow behind our 36' Monaco Dynasty as we exited on our last day. We definitely will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Excellent views, extremely friendly owners!! Can not say how much we enjoyed staying there!! Private, quiet, and heavenly!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$50
This was a fantastic stay for us. This was the first time in our new camper and we could not have asked for better. The lady at the front desk was just great. She brought information on the weather to us and had our wood that we purchased from the store sent straight to the campsite while we were out on the town. This is a fantastic place to stay and close enough to town for a very short drive. We had Premium site 5 and the views were awesome. We stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$50
The view from this campground is spectacular! Our site was very nice. The cement pad was in excellent condition. It even had its own garbage can. We really enjoyed our stay here. We were able to visit many tourist spots. There were also nice trails right at the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$40
We decided to try Campfire Lodgings because of the great reviews it has and after staying 3 days we found it is everything people said. It is clean. The views are great. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We drove around asheville to see some of the other campgrounds in the area and we were so glad we stayed at Campfire Lodgings. When we come back to Asheville we will definitely stay there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$50
CG was very nice. I echo the first portion of a previous review where the person gave several 10's for the sites, view, etc. We found the stay very enjoyable. I had limited interaction with the staff (3 minutes at check in). Four of the six water closets were closed for repair when we were there. I didn't find that uncommon as it's winter and a good time for renovations. The one I used was very clean and was 100% functional. The reason I gave an overall of 9 is the road getting to the place. Once you turn off the highway there is about 100' of pavement then a curvy narrow dirt road cut into the hill. Being from WV I didn't find it abnormal, but a person who isn't used to driving in confined spaces may find it difficult. It takes some planning on where to position your rig to make the next turn. If possible stop at the bottom of the hill and call the CG to inquire if any rigs are coming down as there is no place for passing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$50
Wow - what an incredible park! I agree with most previous reviewers - truly one of the most beautiful locations we have seen. The views especially from the premium sites are breathtaking! And those sites are paved and level which is an added bonus. The entire property is well maintained and the mountain trails provide for great hiking. We will definitely plan a visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2008
$50
I struggled to come up with a rating for this place. We arrived with a “Wow” feeling but left with a soured feeling. Let me explain. Campfire Lodgings is in a perfect location. High on a mountaintop, close to Asheville and all it has to offer. The Blue Ridge Parkway is just over the next ridge. So rate it a “10". The view of the French Broad River and the valley below is outstanding. So rate it a “10.” The office and gift shop is a cute log cabin filled with nice stuff to delight any camper. So rate it a “10.” The sites are level and properly equipped. The premium sites (P1 through P5) are concrete slabs., and feature the best views of the valley. So rate it a “10.” So far, so good! However, the bathhouse disappointed; it is a trailer disguised to look like a log cabin. The interior spaces are small, and it is deteriorating. The water pressure prevents the toilets from working and needed five or six tries to clear out. Sometimes we found waste in the bowls! I had mentioned this to one of the camp/workers, but it did not improve during our seven-night stay. So rate it “1.” We arrived knowing that the management is very fussy and enforce the rules to the letter. No problem because good places stay that way with fair rules that are enforced. However, it is the methods and attitude of the person enforcing the rules that makes the difference. We got a hard time about parking, but there were no “No Parking” signs where we parked. We were up front about visitors, even getting extra parking passes, only to be treated like trailer trash on our last day when this person demanded to know, “How many people are in there anyway! There is an extra charge for visitors!” We had paid for our over-night guest previously. So rate the management a “1.” The bottom line is that the campground is great; the management is terrible! Therefore, my final rating based on how I felt when we left is a “2”! I hope that the owner will get the message. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$40
What a picturesque campsite. Very clean and quiet, with stunning views. The owner was very pleasant and attentive, and helpful with regard to what to do in the area. If we go again (we are planning to), we would definitely book the premium sites as they have the best views. Maneuvering our 35ft 5th wheel was a little tight, but definitely worth it. Not ideal for children as there are no activities, except horseshoes, but great for hiking which we did every day with our 3 dogs. Only 10 minutes to Asheville and the Biltmore Estate which was amazing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
We have camped here for weekly stays 3 times this year and have loved the scenery, well-kept grounds and clean facilities. The toilet/shower rooms are clean and private. The manager and maintenance man are helpful, friendly and responsible. They make sure the camp is kept quiet, clean and safe. We camp in the Asheville area from Florida at least 3 times a year and would not camp anywhere else. Previously, we camped in a campground nearby which had dirty bathrooms, muddy sites and was in need of repair. We will never go back there after discovering Campfire Lodgings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$50
This is our second visit to Campfire Lodgings, both times for a month, and we loved it just as much each time. The manager is one of the most caring and accommodating people we've met in our three years of full-timing from coast to coast. She bends over backwards to help solve any problems that come up while camping there. One of the many things I've seen her do is help a woman who had a sick dog with arrangements for her to get the dog to a veterinarian. A campground can be beautiful, which this place is but, in my opinion, it's the people who run it that push it over the top. I continue to recommend this RV park to everybody who asks about Asheville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$50
Earlier ratings gave this campground a number of 10s.Things have changed. Once, it was run by a partnership of Stormy and Andy.Stormy has gone and Andy has the friendliness of a cobra with PMS and the attitude of a skunk on steroids. We braved the road up to the campground (and it was scary) but, when we got to the top, we found one of the most beautiful campgrounds with the most beautiful views we have ever seen, especially from Sites P1-P5. Our delight, however, was soon diminished by a haugty woman (Andy) who informed us we were two hours ahead of check in time and, even though the park was empty, she would allow us to park on our reserved site,but not turn on the water or electricity, or make the sewer connection for two hours "because you are not paying for it." We had reservations for a week, and the whole week ws ruined by this woman. In addition, we saw two other couples that also arrived early (nobody told us check in was at 3 p. m.) and, since check out was noon, we assumed, like the other couples,l we could get there shortly after noon. These other couples were also chewed out and were very, very angry.To add insult to injury, the manger gave us a "welcome bag" with a stale candy bar and outdated coupons to purchase paper prouducts at a store. A great campground ruined by lousy management. Stay somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$50
This place is tops. It is on the top on a mountain and top rating. Staff are friendly and helpful and funny. We can't wait to stop here again. Don't forget to unhook your tow car at the bottom of the hill. It is quite a pull that last 50 feet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$54
WOW! Believe the previous reviews - this place is wonderful. Very hospitable hosts, a breathtaking view, clean and quiet sites. We camped overnight on site #1 (sites 1-5 are premium sites) and wish this had been a destination instead of a stop-over. Pricey at $54, but found it to be worth it. Follow the website's driving directions in - easy access from the interstate. The driveway is gravel with a fair slope, but wouldn't find it a problem unless ice is a concern. Very child and pet-friendly. Wish we had more time to walk the trails and explore. Even though it is over 7 hours away from home, we are already planning a return trip for next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
We stayed here at Premium site #3 for 5 nights and this place is WONDERFUL!!! The view from the premium sites is incredible and gorgeous beyond words. The park is small, quiet and very clean and Andy is the best camp hostess anyone could ever ask for. She's the best. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
Quiet adult oriented park with fantastic views. Very nice manager. Convenient to Asheville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$50
We had a concrete pad site with a wonderful view of the Smoky Mountains and the French Broad River. Definitely would stay again!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
All I can say about this place is WOW! Nice grounds and the sites are very well kept and landscaped. Hosts are so friendly and helpful. They make you feel like old returning friends even if it is your first visit. In response to some of the previous reviews commenting on the steepness of the road to the campground, the road was no where near as steep as some of the interstate hills. We had no problem whatsoever pulling up their drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$50
Premium site views are breathtaking. If you are going to stay here, please try to get one these paved sites. Lovely peaceful place with a very friendly and helpful manager. Just be aware there is a twisty hilly road to get to the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$35
Beautiful view. Very clean. Very well kept. Owners take pride in facility. Very Friendly. Nice hiking trails. Close to Asheville. Can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$45
By far our favorite park in the entire United States. These two make wonderful hosts. They are very accommodating: one of our cats got sick and they helped us find a vet, and extended our stay without problem. Views are to die for. The entire campground is spotlessly clean. Nice hiking trails. The road up can be a little dicey, like someone said before, beware of that last turn or you could end up in someone's front yard! Still, well worth the extra money for the location. Will be back as often as we can, maybe twice a year. Can't wait to return!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
If you are able to stay in one of their premium sites (#1-#5)then this park is very good. Those sites have level concrete pads, have beautiful views and have a good Wi-Fi connection. Unfortunately, we were not able to get into one of those sites and, as a result, this park is very average. The other sites are gravel, not level and the Wi-Fi does not work. Additionally, as mentioned by others, the access road is narrow and a real challenge and I would not recommend doing it with a toad attached. Another issue that we found was that the park was not really dog-friendly. There are several walking paths but they are pretty rugged and are overgrown with weeds and, since the park is on top of a mountain, there are not a lot of places for pets to do their business. On a positive note the owner was very friendly and helpful and the restrooms are quite clean. If we could stay in one of the premium sites we would definitely stay here again but, otherwise, we would pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
This is a great little campground on top of the mountain in Asheville. The managers are awesome folks who do a fantastic job of maintaining the campground and ensuring your stay is a good as can be. There are 4 or 5 premium sites that have a million dollar view across the mountains and valley below. These sites also have nice, level concrete pads. The other non-premium sites are gravel, semi-level, in the trees with no, or very minimal view, but still very nice sites. All RV sites have full hookups and cable TV. Wi-Fi works if you're close to the office, but it did not work at our site that was towards the end of the campground in the trees. It's a very quiet, peaceful campground. Great trails to walk yourself, and your dog! They are planning to expand the campground and add more sites, including more premium view sites, in the next year or so. The only negative, and the only reason I didn't rate it a 10, is the road leading up to the campground. It's about a half mile and it's a dirt and gravel road that is steep at some points, and it's very narrow with a couple of really tight turns. It would be really dicey if two large rigs had to pass each other. Actually, I don't think they could at most points along the road. They do try to manage this by asking folks to call from the bottom of the hill if they arrive before check in time, so they can coordinate with anyone leaving at the same time. We made it up the road with our 40' motorhome with toad attached (luckily, no one coming down at the same time), but we were within inches of trees and rocks. When we left, we waited to hook up the toad until we were safely at the bottom of the road. But, it was well worth the few minutes of stress going up/down the hill to stay at this campground! HIGHLY recommend it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
This is a must stay park if you are in Asheville. You can't beat the views and the beautiful surroundings. All sites are back ins with easy access. If you call, ask for a view site, you will be pleased. The road up to the top of the hill where the park is located takes a careful approach but I pulled a 40 ft fifth wheel up...just take it easy. We toured 15 states and 20 parks in our summer adventure, this park is our favorite! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$50
We stayed in this campground for the entire month of May. The views are spectacular. Lots of hiking trails in the immediate area. We will definitely return as it is one of the best places we have stayed this past year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$45
I am new to this deal but this is the most exhilarating experience I have had so far... The premium spaces are unbelievable for view. It is hard to find and a climb to get to but WOW! I will return soon... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This is a small campground but you cannot beat it. It is hands down one of the nicest places I have ever camped. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the bathhouse is just wonderful. You get your own little place with a shower, toilet and dressing area with a locking door - just heaven. And it is only 10 minutes from downtown Asheville, but you would never know it - it is so quiet and peaceful. And everyone seems to love dogs - I would stay here every time I am in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$38
Stayed in a popup. A steep, narrow, twisting gravel entrance road. Sites average spacing. Expensive ($38) for what you get (no pool, gameroom, etc.) Five sites across from the office have spectacular views of the mountains, but the others are not worth the price. They claim to have WiFi, but it doesn't reach the outer sites. Since the sites are strung out along a road, the outer sites are a LONG way from the bathrooms. The bathrooms are actually individual bathrooms, just like at home. Each has a sink, toilet, and shower. Unfortunately, there are only FOUR of these rooms for the whole campground! Thus, FOUR individuals showering, or fixing their hair tie up all the toilets. Overall: nice, but not worth the price. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
We loved this park. We were headed to a family reunion in South Carolina from Indiana. We found this campsite on the Internet, called and got reservations, had no problems checking in. They have 5 "primo" spots, that feature a great view. We were able to get one of those, it is a great quiet park. The staff was very friendly, nice showers and bathroom facilities. Very easy trial to hike, walk. During our hike we saw a bear, that was a highlight to our stay there. We only stayed one night but would stay agian if we were in the area. We had no problem getting up the hill with a full-size four wheel drive truck and 26 foot travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$42
Access to campground is via a steep dirt road. But don't shy away from this one, the views across the French Broad River to the Blue Ridge Mountains is spectacular (I'll bet Vanderbilt wishes he had this view at Biltmore Estate). Campground has lots of wildlife. It is clean and very quiet. The only reason I rated this campground a 9 instead of a 10 was because of the access road (some signs would help to assure the driver that they are on the right path). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$39
This park had an "Oh my gosh!" view that should probably make most any other problem seem insignificant. The staff was very friendly, but a bit absent from duty at times. When we called for a reservation there was no answer so we left voice mail. A lady returned our call the next day and apologized for taking so long to get back to us because she had been out of town. This wasn't really a problem since we were calling several weeks in advance. The road up to the park was narrow and gravel, but we had no problem even with a 37 ft. motor home and a tow car—just watch out for that last sharp left turn or you will end up in someone's house. There was no one in the office when we arrived, but our site was posted outside, and we had no trouble locating it and setting up. We had a premium site (they have the best views) which was cement, level, and plenty long with a patio and a grassy area. As stated in another review there is a steep drop-off by these sites, but there was still plenty of room for us (sites 2 & 3 seemed to have the most room). There is also an area in the center of the park for large gatherings. We never saw anyone in the office that whole day, so we paid the next. (Hey, if they weren't in a hurry to get their money, it didn't bother us.) Their TV cable was good, and the WiFi was strong at our site, but you do need to get the code from the office. The individual bathrooms were clean, but were showing a little bit of wear. The laundry was small but nice. And did we mention the view?!--beautiful mountains with the river visible below. Yes, there was fog in the morning, but it only added to the charm. We just happened to meet the people in sites 1, 2, and 4, and none of them were park workers when we were there. We definitely recommend this park, and hope we get to stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$45
There were four campers in our group that stayed at Campfire Lodgings on May 5,6,7. It was the first time there for all of us and we had read some good reviews. We had made reservations for 3 premium sites together and one directly across from the others two months in advance. When we got there, the friendly but totally incapable person working the office counter advised there was only one premium space available but we could pick from other available spaces deeper in the park in the trees. The others may not be together. She said they rented the premium spots to someone else. So much for having reservations. We found out that Premium spot #1 was occupied by one of the park workers. Spots 16,17, and 18 were also park workers. For a park with only 19 spaces to begin with, 4 of the better spaces were blocked by employees. We chose premium spot 4. I guess the view would be wonderful when it wasn't foggy but that was about 90% of the time. The premium spots also have very little yard and although we tried to have a group meal and get-together around the campfire ring, the ring is on a slope and about 5 feet from dropping off the cliff. Only a couple of chairs could be placed around the campfire due to safety. For having WiFI, we were in Premium site #4 and could only occasionally get the wifi signal strong enough to use. If it won't send a signal even 100 feet, what use is it? We used our own shower and toilet but some of the others used the shower facilities in the park. Although clean, they complained of no hot water on more than one occasion. Management was a hit and miss to catch in the office. If they were in the park at their camper, they were off duty and didn't want to be bothered. The trash cans at each site were full when we got there on Friday. It was Monday AM before they were picked up. In the meantime, on Saturday night, a black bear got into several of the cans and knocked them over. Contents were strung about. One of the campers in our group watched from her Motorhome. The people in the sites ended up cleaning up after the bear the next day as management didn't do anything even when told. One of the members of our group had an item stolen from their campsite. Management didn't seem to care when told. The turn around at the back of the park is very difficult for someone pulling a 30' travel trailer because of the tight circle. We did fine in our 34' 5th wheel though. There is also a large hole that was full of mud and water from the rains in the turn around. It has obviously been that way for some time but not repaired. It is deep enough to cause clearance problems for some trailers or possibly get stuck in. Since it is in the designated turn around and there is not much of a way to avoid it, this problem should have been repaired a long time ago. Apparently if a problem doesn't inconvenience the management, it isn't a problem. None of us will ever use this campground again, nor will we refer it to anyone. $45 for the premium and $38 for the muddy sites is way too much for this park. If the owners (who live out of state) wish to keep this park alive, they better get some competent management help onboard to address the problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$47
Arrived here during midweek for a 3 night stay while visiting the area. Stayed at site 2, a premium site with excellent views. Folks managing the place were very friendly and we found the bathrooms/showers to be very clean. Would have given a 10 rating if I could have connected to the wireless network. The manager couldn't help me with this but I do know that others staying here had no problems connecting. Campground is somewhat secluded but you can be in downtown Asheville in about 10 minutes. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2006
$45
My understanding is the old manager has changed jobs and they have a person filling in until a new manager can be hired. If the lady filling in hires a new manager like her this campground want stay open much longer. The campground is clean, nice sites , & great views but I won't pay this much money to feel like I'm bothering her. The office is locked most of the time, if anyone is even there. I will not stay here again unless the management changes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2006
$35
We're fulltimers and this is our favorite park. We've been here 4 times this year. We have a 40" MH with a tow vehicle and we have no problem getting up the road to the park. Views are awesome, winter and summer. Staff is wonderful and very accommodating. P-2 is our favorite site but P-1 through 5 are all great for the views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$39
Highly recommend this campground; it was very scenic and pleasant. Located on top of a mountain ridge, what a view. We were able to get one of their premium sites with a wonderful view of the valley between the campground and the mountain range looking to the Smoky Mountains. I would say this campground is better suited to couples than families. Not too much for the kids to do. Well keep up and and very clean. Has a very steep entry road to the campground. We like it so much, wife booked for next year too. This was our first visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2005
$35
We didn't stay here, but drove up to check it out because we wanted to see what you get for $10 more per night than we're paying elsewhere. The first 3 sites do have a gorgeous view, but for class A motorhomes, that last steep turn will definitely be a tail scraper: beware! In addition, we didn't see how anyone could turn around anything bigger than 30' to get out. Good luck. I'll be staying elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$99
We have been camping about 6 years and this was probably our very favorite park. We are not real big on lots of activities - we camp to relax. This park was made for that. We were in premium site #3. Right on the edge of the mountaintop with a view that went on forever. The sites are designed to be very private, laid out almost end to end instead of side by side. We could not even see our neighbors. We had a very large concrete pad, heavy duty picnic table, and well placed fire ring. Each site had it's own trash can and a small light pole at the site entrance and at the utility hookups. Everything about the campground was extremely neat and clean. Owners were very friendly. Did not use the bath house or laundry but building looked new and clean just like the new office. It was a little scary coming up the gravel mountain road for fear that we might meet another camper. We never met anyone else so it was ok. Also since we pull a 37ft 5th wheel with a long 3500 pickup, manuevering in the turnaround that you must use to get out was a little tricky - but we made it. We love visiting Asheville and now know where we'll be staying in the future. Loved this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$22
Excellent bathroom facilities. Sites could be just a bit more level. Some were concrete pads. Some just stone. Steep access road but well maintained. Check with campground owner for WiFi access password. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$35
We stay here every opportunity we can. The view is gorgeous, the hospitality fabulous and wonderful amenities. We especially like the wi-fi and all the cable channels. We highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2004
$29
Stayed here September 2004 during major flooding in Asheville. We drove a 31' Class C. I was a newbie RV'er and had no problems accessing the campground or our site. Beautiful views! The owners/managers were very friendly and helpful. Our two yorkshire terriers are ready to go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$35
All of the above! Plus, if you can, get site P4, an incredible view; when we left, people rushed over to see the view from our site. We have a 30' TT, and had no problem getting into the very level site. They are in the middle of constructing a new Office/cabin, but with the view, we never even looked that way! We highly recommend staying here, this was the first time that we had camped (my wife and I) without the kids, this peaceful location was just what we needed.AAA+++ We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$35
My husband and I went here for our first anniversary and plan on going back for many more. This campground was increadible!! Although having to drive up a dirt road to get there we had no trouble, our camper is a travel trailer 19 foot but we saw a 38 footer up there and one 38 foot travel trailer. The first thing we notice was the view was awsome! It is on the edge of the mountain and over looks more mountain ridges and the sunset. We were there in mid March and so got almost a 350 degree view of the mountains. In the summer about 150 degrees would be viewed. The next thing we noticed was the owners were VERY friendly and pet friendly. There were not many people there at the time and the owner told us we could let our dogs out to run and play and the owner even played fetch with them! Sites 1-3 were being worked on to put concrete slabs and upgrade to water and electric. These site have a very good view being right on the edge of the mountain ridge. They were also going to put a deck onto site 3. We stayed in site 6 which 5 - 7 have also excelent views. The site are amazingly level and we did not even have to use our leveling blocks. There are many walking trails and even a pond in which the dogs were able to swim. The trash is picked up daily by the owner so no loud trucks at 6:30 in the morning picking up trash. We had an awsome time and brag about it to all our friends. I just can not say enough positive about this campground and it owners! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$32
This is a wonderful campground that is situated at the top of a mountain just outside Asheville. The drive up the mountain to the campground is by way of a gravel road which was easily driven. We pulled our 28 ft TT up the road with no problem. The view from the top is beautiful. The sites were spacious. Though there is no pool, game room, etc., the campground is the best in true camping. You are surrounded by nature, beautiful mountains and a wonderful atmosphere. It has a fish pond and hiking trails. Though rustic and natural in appearance, it offers modern camping with full hookups and clean bathhouse. The owners were very nice and cared about whether we were enjoying ourselves. We DID enjoy ourselves and recommend this campground highly. It is also close to major attractions such as the Biltmore Estate, Chimney Rock, and the Blue Ridge Parkway. A great campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$29
If you can get spaces 1-3 you have great view of mountains and river below. Other sites not too much view except for trees. Dirt road up mountain to campground but once there, gravel sites and roads. Very nice campground and we really enjoyed staying here for two weeks. Only 6 miles north of Asheville. Sites are not bad but not all sites are level. We will be back. $180 per week and $3 extra per night for phone hook-up and not available at all sites. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$29
This campground is on top of the mountain with some sites overlooking the valley.Not into amenities such as pool, clubhouse, etc just beautiful area. Family operated and very accommodating. Approx 15 RV sites with the rest tent camping. Have a few cabins. RV sites are extra large with plenty of grass and space around. Been camping for 15 years. Live near Asheville and because never found a good campground to stay in never took the MH to Asheville - just did day trips. Will return again and again to this place. Hate to give such a good review because don't want too many people to know of this wonderful "find." We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com