223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Corinth Recreation Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (205) 489-3165
CGID21

Corinth Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   9   10   9   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Campground is OK. Camp host were extremely friendly. It's on a nice lake but access is not great. Grass/weeds were overgrown. Sites are a little close for my liking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$17
This is a beautiful park with nice, wide spaces long enough for big rigs. There were great trails and easy access to the lake. The park was very quiet at night and very well-maintained. Park staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again if we are back in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$17
This is a hidden gem. Very clean, huge sites, and full hookups. The paved sites are long enough for any RV or motorhome, and most are very level. Quiet, peaceful setting with access to a beautiful boat ramp, and beach area. Both are included in site fee. The only recent change we did not like is the "improvement" of pretty, rounded gravel to the beach area. It looks very neat and certainly helps keep the water area clean. My problem is it hurt my feet. Bring water shoes if you want to comfortably enjoy the beach/water. Double Springs is a very small town but it does have a decent Mexican restaurant in town. Campground is about 44 miles from Cullman with wider choices. Day excursions into the Bankhead National Forest can interesting. Our rate was based on the National Senior Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
Located in Bankhead National Forest, near Double Springs, AL. Corinth is a popular recreation area on Lake Lewis Smith. The campground is divided into two separate loops with a resident host on each one. The usual amenities are provided; wheelchair accessible; Flush toilets (super clean bunk house), drinking water, etc. Sites have great spacing; full hookups, and can accommodate RVs of any size. Sites also provide separate paved parking spurs, picnic tables (heavy as a house and not moveable), grills, and tent pads as well. Lots of peace and quiet as the park was almost empty during my stay. Cost per night $17.00 with the geezer pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$11
We spent 5 days at this wonderful National Forest campground with 2 grandkids. This park is very well managed, the rangers are all very friendly and helpful as are the volunteers. Strong signal on AT&T, good local TV reception. Lots of wildlife viewing, interesting trails. Level sites, clean showers although they have full hookups in this park. We booked on reserve.gov, but when we arrived the ranger told us of nicer sites to look at. We will be back in the fall. We loved this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
Very nice federal park located in the national forest and on a lake. Although the actual sites are not on the water, it is only a short hike. Although in a national forest, I'd say the park is more geared towards lake visitors than trail hikers. There were a couple of short trailers in and around the campground. There is a little town about 8 miles away that has everything you need: at least grocery, gas, and a few eateries. I chose a pull through site (#19) but had wished I picked one of the back ins. They are extremely roomy and I'd say even better than the pull throughs. I stayed in Yellowhammer based on previous reviews, but I saw nothing wrong with the other loop. We'll stay here again, but bring the fishing gear next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
This was our second visit to this park and it remains one of our very favorites. The park, itself, is beautiful and the staff maintain it wonderfully. The sites are all spacious, level and full hook-ups. There is no cable TV or Wi-Fi, but there is hiking and the great outdoors. Some sites are water views. Good Verizon cell signal and air card signal. Good OTA TV signal. Would definitely return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
This is a very well maintained and managed park on Smith Lake in the Bankhead National Forest. Interior roads are paved, site pads are asphalt. Sites are level, well shaded, with sturdy picnic tables and fire rings. Campground manager and hosts are very friendly and helpful. Entry to campground requires a gate code, so traffic is light. Very quiet and peaceful in the evening. There are several walking trails through the woods that lead down to the shore of Smith Lake. There is also a Day Use area with a nice swimming beach and a boat ramp. Adequate electric and water connections, but be sure to bring a regulator, because water pressure is somewhat high. Good reception for AT&T and Verizon. We wish we had been able to stay longer. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Excellent national forest campground (with full hookups), wow! Campsites nearly perfect, all paved. May need to back uphill or down, but there is a level area at the end of each pad. Hookups worked fine. AT&T phone service very strong. Birmingham DTV reception good to excellent. Yellowhammer Loop has sites at greater separation from one another than Firefly, and there are two bathhouses in Yellowhammer to Firefly's one. Yellowhammer is more wooded. Bicycling on park roads is great, hiking trails are wonderful. We did pick up a few ticks. Swimming beach in Lake Smith is pea gravel, nice for cooling off. Excellent birdwatching in area, including several species of owls in the night. Rate reflects Recreation.gov service fee of $9. We saw a lot of empty sites, however, and wished we had simply drove in and claimed a spot, saving the credit card fee at Recreation.gov. Regardless, we would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$23
We camped in the yellow hammer loop (1-29). The sites in this section seem to have a little more privacy because of the underbrush between sites. Firefly loop seems to have more open grassy areas between the sites. All sites are very level and well maintained. Both sections of the campground are up above the lake with the best chance of a water view coming from sites 14-18 and 38-41. There is a gate house that also offers a few gifts for sale as well as ice and firewood. The hosts were very friendly and visible throughout our stay. The bath houses were immaculate, but of course the park was not very full but somehow I think they would always be clean with the attention to detail the hosts and maintenance people provide. The sites do offer water, electricity, and sewer. The sewer connections are generally located at the back corner of the paved pad. The tent camping area is small but very nice. The whole campground is beautiful and we hope to return for a longer stay! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$23
This gem of a campground is worth the 35 mile drive from the freeway. It is part of the Bankhead National Forest. Upon entering, we were greeted by very friendly hosts who gave us a choice of two sites: one with a side view of the lake and one with a view from the back of the site. The sites are large and immaculately maintained paved sites with a large raked gravel area with a fire pit and picnic table. Most sites have a mix of shade and open sky and are arranged to give as much privacy as possible. There is one trail that is marked on the campground map that connects two of the loops, but there are other beautiful trails that are not marked on the map. The day use area (swimming beach and picnic pavilion) is separate from the campground, so there is very little traffic through the campground. There was AT&T cell phone coverage with Edge, and Verizon coverage with 3G. It was quiet, scenic, friendly, and very well maintained. We will definitely be back. It closes for the winter Dec. 1. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
Lovely quiet park with big, private pull through sites. Has fire rings with grate for grilling those hot dogs. The squirrels come to play and armadillos entertain nearby. Wonderful staff. We stayed here two nights at end of their season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
This is the best park/campground we have ever been too! Clean and well maintained. Sites are paved, big, and level. Sites are separated by trees and bushes. All sites have well located full hookup and 50 amp. Everyone we meet was friendly. All roads are paved with plenty of room to maneuver. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$23
It is a very clean park and well kept. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The sites are spaced well. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
A very nice campground with clean sites and restrooms. There are two loops - Firefly is newer and more open (good satellite areas) while Yellowhammer has sites with more cover/privacy. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Full hook-ups on all sites with 20, 30 & 50 amps available. Walking trails, boat launch and day use areas. A very enjoyable camping area close to Double Springs for supplies. We plan to camp there again. We used our America the Beautiful Senior Pass there for the first time since I got it in October of this year. Really nice to pay $14.15 a night to camp instead of $22.05. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$19
Very secluded park. Sites on Yellowhammer loop are quite shady but the Firefly loop is like a parking lot. Not easy for bike riding. No paths and lots of hills. Bathhouse were very clean and they offer a private unit with shower, sink and toilet on each bathhouse. Lots of wild life. We saw fox, deer, rabbits, and even a turkey. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
This campground is probably Alabama's best kept secret! It is one of our favorite places to camp. The park is well maintained and the hosts are friendly. There are plenty of places to hike, ride a bike or walk. Fishing can be good if you know where to go! Wildlife is every where you look. We saw rabbits, deer, and yes, even a snake while we were returning to our site one night. That is one word of advice that I would give to anyone who camps here - always take a flashlight with you if you go out at night. Also, make sure you tie your garbage up, or the campground raccoons will visit! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$18
This is a clean natural park with plenty of space between sites. There are several good hiking trails and a boat launch within the park. Cell phone reception was marginal. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Sites are level. We stayed here on two seperate occations within 30 days and enjoyed or stay both times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$21
This park is definitely one of Alabama's hidden treasures. It is not highlighted in many directories. Although an old park, this park went through major renovations several years ago. I've never had a nice recessed stainless steel bowl (like a sink) that contains the sewage connection. I supposed this feature is to contain any spillage: how fancy! The sites are very well spaced. Some of the sites are in a large open area with some trees, while many of the sites are secluded in a wooded area. To get down to the lake, you have to walk some. There is a nice overlook in the woods that was built by the Civilian Conservation Corps many years ago. This is also a great park for bike riding. There are hiking trails, although we've never been down them. I've heard this park gets full during holidays. If you are staying in the area, be sure to take a dinner cruise from Looney's Tavern. It's a catered box-lunch type dinner. However, the tour guide makes the trip more than interesting. A great park and lots to enjoy in the area! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com