224347 User submitted reviews online!!
Midway RV Park at Coos Bay was rated 8 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (541) 888-9300
CGID2311

Midway RV Park at Coos Bay

Camp Information
Sites
59
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   10   7   7   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$60
This was a nice park. The rate seemed a little high at first. When I checked around the surrounding area, it then seemed quite reasonable. The staff were nice and helpful. Coos Bay is a beautiful little Town, and we enjoyed every minute of our unfortunate short trip here. The great thing about this Park is the Hot Tub. Something to say about snuggling up after a nice trip to the hot tub when it is gently sprinkling outdoors. The smell of the Earth greats you as you step outside. Would recommend and will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
This is a first class RV Park. A few permanent locals, many long termers, and some park models populate this well maintained park. The individual bath rooms are great, just like home, if not better. Good cable and good Wi-Fi. Everything here was great and I loved it. A little off the 101 but everything is close by. Very nice area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Helpful manager, well kept and tidy park. All sites are paved and level. Hedges separate many of the sites. Very tight access, only two pull-through sites and this park is not very big-rig friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Checked in without the RV being available, as we got here before check in time. We were checked in, and because there was a mix up in the reservations, we had to move after 2 days to another site for the last day. There was no charge for that last day. Park looks tight, but upon arrival with the unit, there was no problem getting into either site. Paved streets, with hedge rows between each site. Very friendly person on check in. If they had a pool, would consider a longer stay. Will put on places to stay next time we are in the area. Rate reflects Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
Passport America rate. Park entry and site access is tight. Clean and well kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$60
Park was clean. Turn around office was tight with 40' motorhome. Wi-Fi signal was so weak we couldn't connect. Our spot was near the entrance. Back-in space was large and nice. Our big knock was price. They advertise a 50% discount for Escapees. When I checked in I was told the normal rates are $70 for a pull through and $60 for a back-in, FAR too high. We paid $30/night for back-in. The person who is supposed to take care of propane had his "do-not-disturb" sign out at 9:30 even though he is supposed to be available after 9:00. Not convenient from 101. We stayed 3 nights. We would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Very large sites, back in was easy. Very good internet connection, easy check in with friendly staff. Nice location to beaches and fishing towns. Would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
Rate shown Passport America discount. Park road signage needs improvement as it was not clear where the office was and it was awkward to get into my assigned site. Site a fairly large paved and level back-in with hedges for privacy on the sides. For some strange reason the backside has no privacy and the RV in the site back of me was too close for comfort. The utility post was facing the wrong way and awkward to use. Good cable TV. Wi-Fi was intermittent. I had no luck with cell phone either, but it could have been my provider, Tracfone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
We stayed here four nights. The park is perfect with only one down side. I was not comfortable going for a walk outside the park due to the neighborhood it is located. This is unfortunate as everything is immaculate within the park. It is quiet, clean, well maintained, a nice smaller size and has pretty flowers throughout. You will never find a better shower situation; it is an individual, private, locked room nicer than our bathroom at home! In spite of the walking situation, it is probably the best place to stay in Coos Bay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Nice place for an overnight stop. All the sites are completely paved. There is a tall hedge between the sites. A picnic table is provided. Sites are plenty wide enough for our 4 slide outs. This park has mainly long term residents. The roads are plenty wide and access is easy. We were in a back in site, but it was long enough we did not have to unhook from our tow vehicle. The pet area is central to the sites. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
This is one of the cleanest parks we have ever stayed in. Very nice laundry and dog run and spaces are fairly good sized and surrounded by well-trimmed hedges. Many long term people here but very friendly. Price reflects PPA rate, otherwise too high for our budget. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Very nice and quiet park. Extremely clean in every way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
All asphalt campground. Creosote soaked railroad ties serve as curbs. No grass. Most spaces are frustratingly difficult to park any rig. Very tight areas. Many long-term rigs. We would NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
Convenient location just west of town on way to Charleston. Paved spaces with hedges and trees. Some road noise during day, fairly quiet at night. Staff helpful on sights to see in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Really nice RV park. Rated in top 100 of Sam's Club. Paved roads and sites with about 8 foot tall trimmed hedges between the sites. Definitely the cleanest place we've ever parked. Only drawback we had was that we had to stay in the space right next to the highway and had to use earplugs to sleep. All other spaces quiet enough. Must drive to do anything as nothing is near park but that's OK, the cleanliness and staff were great. Big sites as this was probably once a trailer park and completely cleaned up and renovated to top notch condition. Mostly back in spaces but plenty of room to maneuver. We will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This is a well maintained, busy campground. All areas are black-topped except for a few strips of vegetation between sites. We were assigned to a site near the road and always heard traffic noise. Our site was 40' long and 30' wide with an eight foot high hedge on three sides so we didn't have to look at the dirty, poor maintained trailers on either side of us. The folks who ran the park were friendly and accommodating as we changed our reservations twice. Our picnic table was broken and unusable. Our rate was half priced as we are Camp Club USA members. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Rate is daily 50 amp FHU rate with Passport America discount. Notice some of the other reviews talk about the huge sites, obviously they were never given site 39. And let's just hope the person in the office wasn't incompetent, they were merely having a bad day. Many of the sites are fairly large and the open areas where you drive vary from very open to tight, with everything being asphalt. The site we eventually got, a back-in we could actually fit in, had the water and electric in the center of the site and the sewer at the very extreme rear. They also tried to charge us the full rate even though we had said we had PA, and had the card out. While this park is definitely much nicer than the other parks in the area, you might get the feeling they are trying to take advantage of you because of that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
Park has nice paved sites, not much of a gym facility, and the location is a bit out of the way. Office hours very short this time of year but manager readily available. Laundry room very clean, but both washer and dryer are expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
A very nice, clean park, with friendly staff and easy access although off the beaten path. It has private spots surrounded by hedges and/or walls. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
The site we were in was huge! All of the sites are good-sized. "Clean" does not describe the park's condition: there was a man cleaning the lampposts and hookup boxes every day with some type of feather duster. Incredibly helpful staff. The "highway" is not loud at night at all - there is vehicle activity in the mornings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
This is the class act in Coos Bay. Everything is upgraded and spotless. A large number of the sites are occupied by long term residents who are obviously proud to reside there. The sites are super sized . A rig, car, boat and other toys can spread out in one paved level site and still enjoy the privacy of the hedges that separate each site. This goes for the pull through sites even though the site map doesn’t show this. There’s a little noise from the highway but given that there are no, non- highway alternatives to Midway so this can’t figure in the scoring. Charleston (all the fresh pacific fish you can eat) and the State parks with their coastal grandeur and facilities are just two and four miles south respectively. We stayed for 4 days over the 4th of July and probably would have stayed longer if our schedule permitted. The campground sponsored a great cook-out and we got to meet a lot of the residents-who by the way don't write reviews. It is not a great place for kids given the mature composition of the occupants. Dog provisions were adequate and well maintained If you like the Casino, a bus picks up periodically - on site. For the mature camper who values ambiance and like minds this place is a real value. We’d return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
We stayed two nights with the Escapee's rate of $20.20 per night. This is a very nice, clean, well run park. There is ery friendly staff, they assisted with helping me back our 5th wheel into the space. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We booked here as we thought this park was Big Rig Friendly. Really is not. Our rate was based on one of the camping clubs we belong to; apparently there are few spots that would accommodate us. We were put right up against the very noisy and busy road, site number 43. Directly across from us is a much longer pull through; ours was a back in which is virtually impossible to get in. If you are longer than 40' then please request that you not be given this site. I have no idea why this park has gotten such high ratings, unless all the live in guests have given high ratings. The "spa" is a whirlpool-type bathtub in the bathroom at the check in office. It's a hollow door plywood partition from the office and "quilting bee" area. Definitely would not pay to use the tub. Appeared clean, but too close for comfort. Cameras apparently in use to make sure you clean up after your pet. Pet area is a 25 ft. X 40 ft. (approx.) sand area with an open bucket to dispose of dog waste. Not pet nor big rig friendly. I would bypass Coos Bay altogether if I had known. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Well maintained park near Coos Bay/Charleston area. Management is very nice and pleasant. Lots of activities in this area. Will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$50
The park is just wonderful! It's very quiet and well taken care of. The Wi-Fi works great throughout the whole park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Nice RV park. Well landscaped and maintained. Tall hedges between pads is special. Be careful some pads have utilities at rear for a long, long sewer hose stretch. Check first before accepting space. Many long termers, mostly newer units. Park location is within 20 minutes of most things in town. No scenic views from park. They would not take reservations for Passport America rate, only on first come first served basis. Free WiFi was good when working 80% of the time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
We have enjoyed two extended stays at this park in the past two years, and we are reserved for the month of July this year. The park and its facilities are spotlessly clean, and the location is quiet. The only drawback to this park is the necessity to drive to any of the many recreational and scenic destinations in the area. In fact, there is no public access to the bay nearby. Cape Arago Highway is a primary access road that for anyone wanting to visit the Charleston area. However, the park's location is very convenient if you don't mind a short drive. The staff is friendly and available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$21
Super park, well taken care of and was mostly all blacktopped. The spaces were very nice and had hedges between them, there was plenty of room for your slides and also for you tow vehicle. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
We paid $20 with Passport America discount. The park is extra neat and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
This is truly a great campground. Great location. Accepted the Passport America rate. We ended up staying the third day. Laundry was a little expensive. Staff is very nice. All paved roads and sites; level. There is an Indian casino that appeared to accept free overnighters a couple of miles away. We would definitely go back should the need arise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
We used a campclub membership for a discounted rate. Park was full and typically the discount programs cannot be used here except October through May. This park was clean and all paved, and sites were large enough, but did require parking your vehicle in the site, which took up part of the usable area. Directions in campclub book take you up Newmark Ave, a narrow, steep uphill turn off 101. The better way to go is with the signs off 101 toward Ocean beaches (Virginia Ave). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
We were pleased to have a friendly welcome to a very well maintained park. There is someone who does check and clean the site before and after you leave. Amazing. We were glad to see the roads and sites paved. Each site is divided by hedges. The park is the only place to stay on the road - as someone else mentioned, it is a true oasis. Close to the ocean along with restaurants and whatever else you might enjoy. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
Excellent CG, well-run and very clean. Lovely place to base for nearby sightseeing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
A really great park! We stayed there in mid-June, 2007. When we arrived, we found that they were full for the day. Since they had one space available the following day they called around locally and found a very nice park for us to spend that night. The next day we returned and they accepted our PA discount for the three days we stayed with them. Everyone in the office was extremely helpful to us. The park was clean, had nice wide spots with tall bushes between them for privacy, and excellent WIFI and TV cable. In all, a quiet, comfortable RV park. I strongly recommend you get reservations, as the park was fully booked all the time we were there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Even though this park is mostly asphalt, it is immaculate and still comfortable. Add the awesome staff in the mix and I'd award it a "10" if were not for the cryptic WiFi security. Make sure you visit the fishing town of Charleston! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
Some road noise but not bad. This is a very clean park with a very good feel to it. Wi-Fi was excellent, staff friendly, and grounds immaculate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$26
Nice park, but not our cup of tea. Long, wide sites with all utilities including 60 channels of clear cable, and on-site wifi. Actually they have 3 nodes that cover the park well. As to "cup of tea" we prefer a bit more rustic. This is a very well developed park with hedgerows between each site for privacy, but it is tightly packed. Not in contrast to above, sites are large, but there is no wasted space. For those who like a hotel like atmosphere with all the amenities, this will be just great. Will take the largest rigs easily. Enjoyed the stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
Excellent park probably the best in the area. The park is quiet, very clean and well maintained. The entrance while well marked was a little confusing as we were traveling south. There is a side entrance on the south side of the park that leads directly to the Office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$28
As previously mentioned, this park is a little out of the way, but it is worth it. It is very clean and top notch. I would have rated it a 10, but it is almost too perfect. The owners take a lot of pride in their park and they should be proud. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$22
As in the previous post, don't be worried by what you pass on the road to get here. It's a very pleasant surprise oasis when you arrive. People are very friendly and helpful, very clean (first place I've seen in a long time that actually does site checks after people leave) so you know you're coming into a clean site!!! A great breath of fresh air, people that actually care and it shows!! Nice and quiet at night too; best sleep I've had in awhile. We'll definitely stay here again when in the area. As for the long list of rules, if there weren't so many inconsiderate campers out there, then campgrounds wouldn't have to post so many rules. Happy trails! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$24
Beautiful Park in the Coos Bay area. As you drive down the Cape Arago highway you'll see numerous run-down RV parks and wonder if you should just turn around! Midway RV however is a jewel on this highway! All paved sites, all 50 AMP, friendly staff, impecably landscaped! The owner really took pride in this park and it shows! They do have quite a few rules, so if you are the type that don't like rules then find another place to stay. They require jack pads, or wood blocks because of the new asphalt they just invested in, so be prepared to have some on hand, if not they will provide you with some loaners. Overall a beautiful park, and as far as we've seen so far the nicest in the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$24
This is a very nice, well maintained park. Roads and sites are asphalt. Sites are separated by hedge. There are lots of shrubs, flowers, wood sculptures and decorative lamp posts. They have big rig sites. They have two pages of rules (don't stay here if you don't want to obey rules). They didn't bother us because we always obey the rules in all parks we stay at. Rules make the park a much nicer place and make the visit much more enjoyable. Their advertising says they cater to seniors. We did see some children visiting. They had free WiFi that worked great inside our motorhome. You have to drive thru a rather run down part of town to get to the park, but once there, the park is worth it. We would definitely stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2005
$28
Nicest park in the area. No pool, but everthing else is here. Everybody is friendly and the park is spotless. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Access roads and sites are paved. Well maintained landscaping. Park surrounded by trees. Caters to seniors. Some traffic noise during day, quiet at night. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com