224343 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Hartwell State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (864) 972-3352
CGID2555

Lake Hartwell State Park

Camp Information
Sites
117
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   10   8   8   9   7   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$16
Rate reflects Golden Age Passport discount and includes the online registration fee. This was our second visit to the park and we enjoyed it just as much as the first time. The park is gorgeous with a wonderful lake for boating and fishing. It is a shame that the infrastructure of the park is falling into such disrepair. There is a total absence of people working there. The fire rings are not cleaned out, the picnic tables need repair and the asphalt roads and site pads appear to be falling apart. The roads are full of pot holes and are narrow, but that still cannot take away from the natural beauty that is there to be enjoyed. We had water and 30 amp electric at our site and both worked well and our site was fairly level. Most of the sites have very small activity areas. In some of them, the picnic table and fire ring take up all the space available and you would be hard pressed to get your camp chairs around the fire ring. I used the showers each day as they were OK with plenty of hot water but not necessarily very clean. The office is not open much and the staff is lethargic at best. We did use the laundry facility which was very reasonably priced. We were in site no. 50 which was in the most popular area because there is direct access to the water for fishing or playing in the water. Some campers tied their small boats up right at their campsite. Our site had a very large activity area and was very private but with no view of the water. (There was a trail that led to the water just 20 feet away). Sites 40 to 48 are right on the water. If we were returning we would possibly stay at site 6 which is very quiet, private and has a great view of the water. We also like 53 as it has a view of the water and a little trail to a private beach area. The tent areas are the most beautiful I have ever seen and we walked those trails almost daily as they had awesome views of the lake. We enjoyed a week and would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
Close to interstate, but traffic not too loud. Good overnight stop or extended stay for woods, boating or fishing. Roads and sites asphalt. Our site was level. Very few pull throughs. Back ins deep and wide. Lots of available sites for our after hours arrival. Office closes at 5 pm. From rating of 10, -1 no toilet tissue in women's bathhouse, -1 lots of bugs in men's (must be opening somewhere), -1 dump site lid impossible to open without getting wet, -1 poorly marked, faded site numbers painted on asphalt. -1 poor checkout experience. Slow and irritating. Wish we found the after hours paperwork process to avoid meeting staff. Too much data collection using an awkward computer program with poor keyboarding skills by staff for a simple transaction. As we left staff was telling an active duty military that military discount applied to National Guard, only, and that was getting resolved. We will return, especially if we can schedule after hours arrival and payment. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
We went to this park in the off-season and was pleasantly surprised to find it mostly empty. The lake level was a bit low. The sites were perfect. Very quiet at this time of the year. Not too far from the mountains of SC. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Site is maintained well. Wi-Fi available at the ranger station / clubhouse only. Dump station available. Asphalt parking sites mostly level. Sites with convenient lake access are few and located at the lower end only, excluding the boat ramp. Each site has a steel fire ring and wooden picnic table. There are no street lights (bath houses are lighted) and the roadway layout can be a little confusing unless you have a map (free at ranger station). This is a good, quiet, mostly shaded, "get-away" park with basic hookups and some pretty nice views. Site seems to be patrolled by county police. Downside is that availability of groceries or other major supplies requires a drive to nearby Lavonia or Hartwell, GA. Overall, we were very satisfied. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
This was a very pretty park. There are plenty of sites for larger RV's and sites with nice views of the lake. The bathrooms were very clean. The park staff is friendly and helpful. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
Very clean, sites well spaced, with some nice views of the lake from many sites (though the lake is down from the drought). We arrived at dusk and self-registered quickly and easily and spent a quiet evening. Showers and bathrooms were clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
Average state park. Sites are a nice size and near water. We would camp here again in the fall or spring when the weather is cooler. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
Very good park, good paved roads and sites are level. Set off the main hi-way and very quite. We stayed with grandson and felt good about him riding his bike on the road, will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$21
Excellent place to stop for the night. Right off I-85. Did not unhitch. Selected a pull through sight. Very clean bathrooms. Very quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$19
Right off of I-85 at the GA/SC line and a real treasure. Quiet, beautiful and well-maintained. No 50 amp service. Might be a bit tight for anything over 40', all roads are narrow but paved. Staff very accommodating. Lovely loop roads to walk, very shady, lovely lake views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$19
We camped here for two weeks and loved it. The dogwoods were in full bloom and the place was spectacular looking. Although we have a shower in our rig we took our showers in the bath house because they have the best showers ever! The roads are paved as well as the sites. We spent our time taking the dog on walks around the loops. Overall experience was great, just wish they had full hookups and 50 amp service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$22
All paved sites. Ours was very level. Sites are decent size, but some are very close together. Ours was too close to some fairly noisy neighbors, but some sites appeared fairly spread out. Also had a long walk to the bath house, but we had reserved a site on the internet without really checking on this. Sites had nice fire ring. Nice little park store, but not a whole lot else in terms of amenities. Would stay there again. Would be a great base camp for fishing or playing on the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2005
$18
We go to all Clemson home games every fall and thought we'd try this campground over Labor Day weekend. Very few waterfront sites available and difficult to tell on ReserveUSA. This campground was o.k., borderline boring. There was no real access to the water, unless you were waterfront. The sites were not well-maintained and needed mowing. Worst thing was, we made our reservation for Friday and Saturday, and when we asked for Sunday night, they kept telling us to come back later, it wouldn't be a problem. Well they waited so long that someone had reserved that site for Sunday night over the internet and they wanted us to pack everything up and change sites. Totally weren't willing to work with us! No thanks, we moved on and won't be back. There are many better campgrounds on Lake Hartwell. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$17
Very nice campground, We stayed on a double site with some friends. Sites are a little small but very nice and well maintained. Very close to our home and have never camped here before. Can't wait till we come back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com