214355 User submitted reviews online!!
Raccoon Mountain RV Park & Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 73 user reviews. Phone: (423) 821-9403
CGID2622

Raccoon Mountain RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
157
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   8   7   5   1   3   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
This park is very primitive. I personally would not stay here again because I don't like it when the grass has not been cut and it appears to not be kept up. It definitely doesn't live up to its website. The only thing good about it is the view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Stayed 5 nights and enjoyed the place a lot. Quiet but close to town for seeing friends and stuff. Very helpful staff and they keep the place nice and clean. Worried about noise from the GoKart Track but never heard them. Would stay here again anytime! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
Easy access in/out. Good interior roads. Well stocked store. Firewood delivered to site. Very helpful staff. Stayed 5 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$39
Our packed gravel pull-thru was a bit unlevel but more than long enough for our 40 ft RV and toad. Space between sites was average. No trees near our site to block our satellite dish but most other sites would have a problem. Large selection of cable channels if you're blocked. Good Verizon signal. What we saw of the campground was reasonably clean but a bit dated and tired. We did not check out the advertised attractions (cave, go-carts, etc) but it was good for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
I had high hopes for Raccoon Mountain RV Park & Campground but we pulled in and my hopes were quickly dashed. I felt like I was in the back woods. The park was set up real strange. Part of it was on one side of the highway and the pool and most of the activities were located across the highway. The office staff was not very friendly when we arrived. We got to our site and it was gravel and un-level. There are a lot of long term campers in this park. They just have them located further down the hill. The park claims to have Wi-Fi but we could never get it to work. The batting cages and the go carts were also not working. The workout room was locked up and the laundry room only had 2 washers and 2 dryers and there were tons of tent campers at this facility. Needless to say, the washers and dryers were never available. Raccoon Mountain has caves adjoining their campground and I think that is their main focus $$$ and the campground was an afterthought. This park is old and needs repair. We will not camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
It seemed like I was bother to them when I called asking about an available campsite. The actual check in process confirmed my impression. The park is in a great location with great scenery. However, the bathrooms and shower area was not clean and the size of the showers are a joke. You basically have the shower stall and then maybe two feet of tile to the privacy curtain. No small bench or anything to set your stuff on. Wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
Rate is discounted for PA-AM, but still expensive. Restrooms need renovating, pool was filthy. Laundry was under renovation, weeks behind schedule, and filthy when finished. Staff unhelpful and disinterested. Do not stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$49
Just about the only negative comment about this park would be the unlevel site. Aside from that, everything was great. Spacious sites, beautiful views, clean convenient facilities. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$37
Good enough campground with all the facilities you need when you are traveling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Easy access off I-24. Level site of packed earth. Had downpour during night, but no flooding. All hookups worked. Adequate interior roads. Site long enough to leave toad connected overnight. Might stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
Family friendly park. Sites are not real level. We had to use blocks. Easy in and out. Off the beaten path, so nice and quiet at night. A little pricey for what you get. Good Wi-Fi signal and cable TV. Laundry was the pits. Close to attractions and interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
This is a park with a lot of potential. The area is beautiful with gorgeous views from the sites. Hookups were adequate, but the sites are very hard to level. Cellphone service and Wi-Fi were very good. Shade is scarce. The park has a lot of grassy areas, and need to mow more often, as the grass and weeds were knee-high. Feral cats spread trash on a nightly basis. Upon checking in, you will be given an astonishing 22 paragraphs of prohibitions and rules containing dire warnings of the consequences of violations, up to and including expulsion and arrest. Not a very warm greeting! Moses only delivered ten short sentences. But, the young folks in the office were very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
It's not a bad park but I felt it was way over priced for what is there. I have stayed at really nice RV resorts for the same price. My site was tiny and very difficult to utilize but they do have some nicer sites. I had to use the dump station since my site did not have sewer and this was probably the worst dump site experience I have had in 30 years of RV'ing. The location is horrible and uneven, causing my rig to drain very slow and while there is water at the dump, the hose is useless. They normally charge 3.50 for dumping but they were nice enough to wave the fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This place needs help. The office is cluttered and unkempt. When we got to our site there were beer cans and water bottles in the fire ring left from the previous campers, the garbage cans were overflowing. There was litter all over. The shower house needs a good scrubbing and the shower curtains should be replaced, they are black with mildew. The dryers in the laundry took over 2 hours to dry a load. There are 4 dryers and they all took too long to dry. The sites are gravel and not very well marked, our site was at the bottom of a hill and we had a storm the last night, a river formed under our camper. The no clothesline rule is a joke compared to what the rest of the campground looks like. The only saving grace is the swimming pool. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
We stayed here for two nights. Set in a quiet spot just a few miles off the interstate. Easy to get to. Gravel roads, but adequate. Several very long pull throughs, but the one they assigned us we could not get level. They were happy to have us choose another site which was just fine. Had plenty of room for our 42' motorhome and park the car behind with extra space. Close to all of the sites in Chattanooga. We did not use restrooms or laundry. We would stay here again. It's not fancy, but well cared for and we found the staff to be very nice and very accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
LOVED this campground! Planning to visit again in the spring. Not sure what the price was as a friend paid and would let me pay him back but I think it is about $15 a night (tents with no hookups needed). We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
This was by far the nastiest place I've been. I swear I heard Dueling Banjos play as we pulled up. When we told the staff that we wanted to leave, they didn't care enough to even get out of their chairs. The bathhouse toilets had blood on the seat. I wouldn't wash my dog's clothes in the washing machines. I definitely would never go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
Nice, clean conveniently located park near attractions in Chattanooga. Great family spot and ok for us retirees as well. Easy off and on from I-24 for overnight as well. They even offer a military discount. We stayed here 20 something years ago, it's only gotten better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
We were here for a rally. You will be able to move around in a big rig and the sites are OK. But you can tell it is old and even though roads have new stone on them, the sites could use some. Owner is helpful but the teenagers he has working for him, do not seem to be really happy in their jobs. OK stay, but might look elsewhere in the area when I return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2010
$28
Our rate reflects a weekly rate. We were disappointed with the park. We were greeted by a young man who seemed to be inconvenienced by actually having to work. He was civil, but didn't speak more than 10 words during check in. The laundry had older machines (they did work just fine) and was dirty. The woman's bathroom had newer tile, but was dark so I didn't use it. During the entire week, the trash bins throughout the campground were not emptied. Staff buzzed through the campground on gold carts multiple times every day, but I'm not sure what they were doing. Definitely not emptying trash. There wasn't a designated dog walk area, but there is a fair bit of open space. The access road doesn't' have much traffic so I was able to take the dogs for a good stroll along the road. I did try the hiking trails with the dogs, but the trails need some maintenance. On a less traveled branch trail I encountered downed trees. Back on the main trail I had to battle downed woven wire fencing. The sites and campground roads are graveled and there appears to be an ample supply of the gravel for drainage. Our site was a level pull through but the exit was a bit steep so we backed out to avoid any dragging issues. A previous occupant of our site had emptied the ashes out of the fire pit on the lawn in the site. There was also a small dead tree (roots and all) in the fire pit. It seems that the park had seen a busy summer and fall, but there had not been a post season cleanup effort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
We were here 5 days. If you need a place to stay overnight passing through Chattanooga it's an "ok" campground, it's close to Chattanooga and the price is what you'd expect for what you get. Sites are close together, landscaping is tired and worn out, and interior roads and sites are gravel that need freshening. Little to no management supervision. Under age children are permitted to drive golf carts routinely through the campground creating a hazard to themselves and to patrons. Large vicious breed dogs are supposedly not permitted, but were seen being walked by their owners throughout the campground throughout our stay. If you book a group, don't expect to arrive with your group camped together. If you're passing through it's ok, but we wouldn't spend any length of time here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
We were very pleased. Wide sites, easy pull-through, level gravel pad with concrete 'porch' site with picnic table. All utilities worked. Clean pool and shower area, which we used. Laundry also looked clean but we didn't use it. Quiet and clean campground, really nothing to complain about. Only 8 miles to downtown and the Tennessee Aquarium and the Art District. We walked over to tour the cave next door which was a nice side-trip that we didn't even have to drive to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
We used this campground for an overnight stop to visit the aquarium. It is conveniently located near the interstate and is not far from restaurants, shopping and downtown. Pull through RV sites were level and of adequate size for easy access and departure. Wi-Fi and cable TV both worked very well and most sites appeared to have clear views for TV satellite access. Swimming pool, showers and bathrooms were very well maintained. We especially enjoyed a late evening swim as the weather was very hot during our stay. I have no complaints about any aspect of this campground and I would stay here again if I visit Chattanooga. They honored a 10% AARP discount but not Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
The views of the mountains from this park are awesome! Nice long pull-through sites, cable TV and wi-fi signals were strong. Nice big grassy area for the dogs to run in. The manager was not overly friendly, but answered our questions. Quiet hours were supposed to be 10 p.m. til 8 a.m., but at 7:15 a.m. a bunch of motorcyclists who were staying there started revving their engines and shouting to each other - not very quiet! Short drive to Walmart, restaurants, etc. If you get a chance eat at Casa Raul Mexican restaurant - excellent! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$33
We were a little skeptical at first due to other posters commenting on the mud/lack of gravel on the sites. That is true; there was rain during our stay, but our site was not affected by the downpours; although other sites were. A lot of mud where tire tracks have rolled over it again and again. Staff was very friendly; a beautiful park to stay in overall. Has gorgeous views of Lookout Mountain, TN. If you are coming here for more than the camping, (caves and 'gift shop'), then that part may disappoint you. Some of the sites are very close together: the sewer hookup for the site next to us, was actually on our site. Despite some of the negatives, we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
We stayed in site 18. It is a small site but ok. The staff not friendly, workers drive around without shirts and with loud boom boxes. The grounds are not well kept. It is worth staying a couple on nights to enjoy the caves and mountain views. Don't stay in the area around pool. The best sites are 18 - 24. The cable TV was horrible, there was no signal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2010
$30
The site itself was fine with everything in good order. The site we selected was near an open field and had a nice view of the mountain. We were concerned at check-in regarding maneuvering near the office as the turn is very tight and the driveway has some serious spots in need of leveling. The 'new' bathrooms were in terrible shape upon our arrival. The staff faulted a boy scout troop that had just departed. Upon the promise of immediate attention to the abhorrent conditions, we decided the stay. The bath houses are in need of an update and were not clean, but were not public health issues like the bathroom behind the office. The laundry was filthy with a hodge podge of old machines. We did not use them. We did like the quiet as the location is well away from the highway and the go-kart track was not being used during our stay. We would not stay here again as the bath house and laundry are not what we expect for the rate charged. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
Wasn't overly impressed with the park, but it was a nice place to stay for a couple of days. Little congested when you arrive at the office for check-in, but otherwise fairly easy to get around the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
This is a nice park, helpful staff, nice amenities. We took the cave tour, visited the gift shop, and played in the arcade. The cave tour was informative and fun, with a charismatic guide. We came for the cave tour and really enjoyed that part of our stay. Other offerings are a go-cart track, propane, laundry, rest rooms and nicely groomed sites. The park is an eight rating because there was some destruction, an old ski lift that had fallen into disrepair. There was also construction, around the gift shop and another building in stages of storage that could be seen through the windows, that took away from the appeal. The office is a small shack, not rustic, just under developed. A note about navigating to the park from the Interstate, it is a small, curving, rolling road that gets to the park, but that goes with the territory. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Park is located off of I-24 and most sites have a great view. We had a Premium Site with plenty of room. Bathhouse is clean and looks to have been recently remodeled. The pool was very nice and comfortably warm. The office staff isn't the friendliest, but helpful. There is a batting cage, arcade and Go-Carts. This is listed as a Good Sam park on the Good Sam website, but the park does not honor the Good Sam discount. When we checked in I informed them that we were Good Sam members and he said that he issued the discount. I looked at the receipt when I got to the site and realized we payed the $30 rate w/o a discount. I went back to the office and asked another employee and I was told that they had a falling out with Good Sam and they do not offer a discount for your membership. We are staying here for 4 nights so the Good Sam discount would have been $12.00. Raccoon Mountain RV Park does not list the Good Sam discount on their website, so guess I should not have assumed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
The counter help needs a lesson on customer service. The first day we were there I thought maybe he was having a bad day, but the second day just affirmed he was a snotty young man that shouldn't roll his eyes when asked a question. The camp sites are really close. If you can do without cable hook up, opt for the cheaper sites, they have the most shade. The worst part of this campground is the bathrooms. They need a really good cleaning. The majority of the staff were young and the cleaning reflected that. The actual sites are clean, they continually ride around and clean the sites. There is a nice pool and the park seemed to be kid friendly cause there were kids everywhere. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This was our 3rd trip to Raccoon Mountain. Plenty to do and see here. My son who is 6 and very active, had plenty to do. Between swimming, panning for gems, exploring the caves and the arcade area, it was great. The campground is very clean and the people, both staff and fellow campers are excellent. Everyone respects each other. We love this place as the prices are fair. A word of caution. If you visit anything like the Incline, Rock City or Ruby Falls they have become quick and dirty tourist traps. For the money they charge, you should get a little more. There is a place in Chattanooga called Tennessee Valley Railroad Museum: they are wonderful, their prices are great and they know how to put on a show. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
A true RESORT! Beautiful and clean in every way. Lots of fun activities. Fantastic views, nice spacious spots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
A great park. Very easy to get into and out of site. Didn't have to unhook which was great since we were staying just one night. Staff was great and made excellent recommendations on where to eat and what to see. Park was very clean. Will definitely put this park on our return list for a longer stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
Camped here with local Good Sam's Club for 3 nights, This park continues to impress me. They are upgrading it on a continuing basis. Reason for the 9 was it rained all weekend, not the parks fault. There were 200 scouts camping out in the cave and they did not bother anyone. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$27
This is our second time here since 2004. Bathrooms (women's) have been updated since then for the better. Camped here with family and friends. Sites were a little unlevel, but hookups were just right for us. The paved patios were a plus since our last visit. We like the close proximity to downtown Chattanooga. Close to the skate park and other attractions that we all thoroughly enjoyed. We did not have any trouble with the management like the other reviewers. Matter of fact,I was told I was getting one site and it was occupied with a "long termer" so I just moved to the one beside it and there was no complications from management--they admitted their mistake. Will definitely go back. Also enjoyed the go-carts and on site cave and trails. I give it a 9 only because the sites were a little unlevel. And the pull through sites we had were adequate for our 30'-34' campers. (sites 132,133,134) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
The sites are very close and narrow. There were 4 rigs all booked for a 30' and the sites we got weren't even big enough to hold our 26' & 28' rigs. They mix long term and short term residents together. The bathhouse was atrocious. We mentioned it to them the first day we were there and again the second day. They told us we could take it or leave it. So we left 5 days early. We won't be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Gravel sites, not level. Sites are too close together or would have rated higher. Go kart track is not noisy and closes at 8 pm. Pool looked nice. We were given a site with a large tree overhanging right side and Crepe Myrtle bush rubbing against left side even though ours was a big rig - could not extend awning. Staff very friendly and helpful. Store has minimal supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
We were given a site that appeared to be in the middle of the road, and spent the first couple hours, constantly explaining to people that it was a site and not a road. If you must stay here refuse site 151. The area around the pool was surrounded with cig. butts and beer cans so I chose not to even take my kids in there. It looked like with some TLC (and maybe on a weekend other than the 4th of July) it could have been a nice place with a really nice playground, etc. Overall I was very disappointed and will not return and recommend you seek a different campground if you have to be in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
This was a stop-over site for us on the way to and from Florida. It was ideal for quick over-nights. We got in late the first time and they had check-in info waiting for us to make it easy. The pull-thru they gave us was nice and level and we didn't even have to unhook. The second stay gave us a site with a concrete pad. We will likely come back for a longer stay on another trip. There seemed to be plenty to do within the campground. Our site did not have any shade trees (either time), but that didn't matter at the time. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
Rate reflects military discount. Very nice campsites, although they required some leveling. Great views. Well located, close to highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
This is a very nice camp ground with a very nice view of the mountains. The staff is very helpful & the location is very close to all sights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
I was disappointed to find that we had reserved a "premium" pull-through site, and it didn't even have a concrete pad, although several of the others did (for the same price). The sites are very close together. After we extended our slides it felt as though we were on top of the neighboring sites. Also, every time I turned on the hair dryer the breaker tripped, even after everything else was unplugged which was very annoying. The campground has had the same owners for the past 15 years and have recently spent some money to clean the place up a bit. They have a large open field that would be perfect for some more spaced out sites. The playground was pathetic, it consisted of a wooden treehouse type structure with two slides, the swings (all 4 of them) were on the other side of the campground. All in all it was fine. But we will probably check out some other places before we stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
We stayed at the campground during a bluegrass festival, and the bathrooms were absolutely filthy! Often no toilet paper in the stalls, papers on the floor. I'm sure this must have had to do with the volume of people using the area, but I would have thought that meant they checked it more often. There are not very many tree'd sites in the campgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
This is a more rustic campground. It backs up to the Raccoon Mountain and Cavern and is a nice view. The sites are gravel with grass in between sites. The pull thrus were spaced nicely. The office was small and old. The staff was not rude, but not overly friendly. There were quite a few extra cars and other things around the campground. The campground was on both sides of the road. Wi-Fi was excellent. My biggest complaint was the lack of picking up trash that had been left by previous campers or blown around. I would stay here again. It was a quiet and pleasant setting but we were not in the campground too much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
I would have given the park a 10 if it had concrete pads and a little privacy between sites. Other than that the location to the high way is great. It is an easy in/out. The staff was very helpful and friendly and we were allowed to choose our own site. We paid $30.00 including tax for a 50 amp full hook up site with a great view. We have a 40 ft rig with 4 slides and had no problem navigating the park to our site and was able to leave the jeep hooked up. Also I found most site are satellite friendly and cell service is great on AT&T, Verizon, & Sprint. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$22
Campground was fairly nice but staff were very not interested in giving service. Showers and washrooms were dirty. Had booked a specific site and did not get it . Was given no choice to site and there were some empty sites all the time we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$26
Great RV park. The sites were not remarkable, but relatively flat and big enough. The park itself is wonderful. Plenty of hiking, playground, field for sports or frisbee, a fun go-cart track and a cave ranked the 8th best in the United States a few steps from your RV. You can do anything from a walking tour of part of the cave, to an overnight, flat on your stomach, excursion in the dark. Gem Panning and a nice gift shop are available too. Chattanooga is one of our favorite cities and this park is close to downtown. There is an abundance of free transportation in this great walking downtown. We have already planned a return trip that is a little longer next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$24
It is obvious that someone has been spending some money and labor on the campground. We went there a year ago and it was not what we wanted as a place to camp. Our Good Sam's Club went there last weekend and it has undergone a huge transformation. Sites were level, attitudes in office were very helpful. We met the owner over the weekend (didn't know it until today) We will go back and can recommend it highly. Area is beautiful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$21
Nice campground tucked away outside of Chattanooga. Beautiful scenery around your site. Wal-mart and shopping convenient, nice and quiet. I would stay there again. We did not use the park's wifi but from what others staying with our party said it worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
We had PT site #132. Site was gravel and basically level. Each site has a small picnic table and a fire ring(no grill). Some had small concrete pads at site. There are 5 cabins at park. Management has planted some trees between sites for future shade. We could not use our awning because tree was growing in the way. There is a nice playground near the pool, but we could not figure out why the swings were across the road and behind the office. When we checked in (on a Sat) we were told the go karts and pool would be open until 8pm that day and 6 pm on Sun and during week. We went down to the go karts at 7:30 pm and they told us they were closed already. We found out later that they don't open during the week after the summer holidays are over. Management was nice though and opened both the pool and the go karts for us to use. There is a cave on premises and gem mining as well. There is a gift shop next to the caves. Bath houses were old but kept clean. Showers in both men's and women's have been re-tiled. There is no place to leave your stuff in the women's stall though. They have racks across the room to place your items on. Chattanooga and attractions about 4 miles away. New Wal-mart about 10 min. away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
From the reviews before we were a little leery about staying here until we saw new owners have taken over and made improvements and still are. The site was level and had a nice concrete pad, but the grass was not mowed. There were only a handful of campers there during our stay so we pretty much had the entire campground to ourselves. We did go though the cave and had a personal tour so we were able to ask all the questions we wanted and spend more time in the areas we wanted. We saw the go-cart track but never could figure out the hours they were open. The pool was small, and closed early around 7. It was hot in Chattanooga (records temps) and had little shade so the AC units had to work had just to keep it bearable in the motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
This was our very first trip with our new travel trailer, so we were a bit nervous when we arrived. We camped in a pull through site. Our site had a small tree, so we could not put our awning out the entire way because the branches were in the way. The campground appeared to be at full capacity the entire time we were here. The area that we stayed in had all RV’s, but the campground did offer tent camping and it appeared to be full. We saw several groups of boy scouts! Our boys loved the go carts and raced several times. We did not have time to do the cave tour. Our campsite was gravel with a small concrete slab. Gravel roads. The pool was small and we did use it one afternoon. For the most part, it stayed covered up. We spent one afternoon at Rock City (the drive was so close!) We were very close to downtown, so we did drive in one day to see a movie and eat pizza at the Mellow Mushroom. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
I live in North Alabama and we had originally booked the Hale's Barr Marina about 15 miles west of Chattanooga. We picked this over Raccoon Mountain because they were right on Nickajack Lake. I thought that I could see this campground from the Interstate in the past when I would come from Gatlinburg. What I thought was Hale's Barr wasn't, it was a county park or something. Anyway, when we went to Hale's Barr, I seriously thought I was attending a re-enactment of "Deliverance." I knew Raccoon Mountain was a nice place because we stopped there a few weeks ago on our way back from the Smokies to check it out. As soon as I saw Hale's I was dialing up Raccoon Mountain and praying they had availability. They did and we got the heck out of dodge. Anyway, we had a blast at Raccoon. The pool, the mountains, and the area itself was just awesome. We all raced each other on the go-carts (which you can walk to, its on the premises), and played some video games. My only complaint would be that some of the workers at the go-cart track drive too fast down the road that leads to the track. Our dog was almost hit after she pulled free from her leash. We are definitely going back and look forward to it. The staff at check-in was also very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Hello, I have been to two major campgrounds and several smaller ones since I bought my RV last summer. The second spot I would like to recommend is Raccoon Mountain TN. This place is awesome, very scenic and quiet. Full amenities and you can explore the caves, do some panning with the kids, relax and enjoy yourself at your site or by the pool. The staff is very friendly and are willing to assist in any way possible, within reason. Chattanooga is a stone throw away and offers all the cool stuff for families like the TN Aquarium, The TN Valley RailRoad, and of course the river front. Five Stars in my opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Great park for going to see Chattanooga. Close to everything. nice views. Next to a cave attraction. Go carts, park for the kids small but fine. Laundry on site. Must see Rock City. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
We spent Memorial Weekend with 2 other campers; two 5th Wheels and one travel trailer. Us in our 33 ft 5th Wheel and the 29 ft Trailer had sites next to each other (139 & 140). The sites were gravel and fairly level. The picnic tables were on concrete. The campground was clean and well maintained. We all enjoyed our stay and discussed going back in the fall. If you want to stay in the Chattanooga area this is a nice quiet campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Sites were a bit tight but no matter. We did not stay an extra 3 days to look at the neighbors. A 3 day Bluegrass Festival was on site. Great time even though we had to to beg for to be accommodated in a less than perfect site. The organizers tried hard to get us the spot. We did the on site cave. New owners are trying hard, & succeeding, to upgrade this CG. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$28
Do not believe older reviews about permanent residents in run-down trailers. There are none. The park appears to be undergoing renovations. They are fixing up the bathrooms and it looks like they are working on the swimming pool. This has the potential to be an even better campground in the future. Full hookup sites, lots of cable TV channels available. Some people were using satellite dishes but I didn't see the need. Most sites are pull through, will accommodate large rigs. Some shade. Nice for using as a home base to visit sites in Chattanooga, less than 10 min from downtown. 20 min from Lodge outlet. In a quiet residential area, shopping 2 miles away. Good weekend spot, or exploring spot, right off 24 with no highway noise. Next door to Raccoon Mtn cave, also appears to be a go kart track that was not in operation during our visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
This is a busy campground, with many outside activities going on. The bathrooms were in the process of being remodeled, so there was only 1 shower for the whole campground, and it wasn't any too clean. The staff was young and not too knowledgeable or friendly. I had a heck of a time just finding out which TV channels were available, and what the user name/password was for the wi-fi. It was close to the area attractions, and the surrounding scenery was quite lovely. I don't think we would camp here again if we had a choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$26
Excellent campground if you have children. The cave, gem panning and go-carts are all within walking distance. The laundry room is small and the machines are old, but they work fine. We found the campground to be very convenient to the Lookout Mountain attractions. There are still a couple of long-term residents, but their units are neat and clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Park had many permanent residents in dilapidated trailers, but other than that it was pleasant. Despite being full for the Fourth of July holiday it was not a bad experience. WiFi only works if you happen to get a spot near the office, and the cable was mediocre. Satellite works partially, depending how far your spot is from the mountain. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$23
Our family visited this park last month. There were beautiful views of mountains, the campground was very well kept and clean, there was a fire ring onsite, and there were lots of things for kids to do. The cave was beautiful. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. This was our first time camping in our new RV and the manager of the park helped us with our utility hook ups. We had a great time and can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
Nice park, friendly staff, close to all area attractions, clean facilities what more could you want? Beautiful views also not sure about the long term people they spoke of we did not see any. Thanks for having a great place to stay we will be back and we will recommend it to our friends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$24
Moved here from another park much further from town. Had to settle for a back-in site with partial hookups first night then moved to a full hookup site for last 2 nights. My wife loved the mountain views while the kids thoroughly enjoyed the gem panning and go-carts. I thought that the bathrooms were clean. They only had 3 wash machines and they were kept busy. Sites were gravel with grass area. Park appeared to have a couple of long-term campers. Met one while walking and he said that park was eliminating its long-term sites. An electric transformer went out and we were without power for about two hours until a power truck arrived and fixed the problem on the pole. Decent playground and real nice cave on the property. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$24
The park seemed a bit run down. Lots of long term residents living in uncared for trailors. The restrooms were disgusting the entire weekend. The park was over run with non-campers using the on sight go carts, very loud. I had several issues with the electric hookup not pushing enough volts. I will not be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2004
$22
Camped here with family and friends. Enjoyed the easy access to the attractions such as Rock City, Ruby Falls etc. The only complaint we had was with the bathrooms. Tile was falling off the walls and the bahtrooms looked dirty. Service was O.K. Never seen any of the employees except at check in. Enjoyed the cave that was on site, also the mining for gems and fossils. Would rate it higher except for the bathrooms. Will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$23
Decent campground. We pulled in late at night, so it was dark and couldn't see much. Not real easy to maneuver through. We arrived and started filling out a late registration form when a young man arrived (it was 11:30) and opened the store to get us registered. When we expressed some concern about the weather, he turned on the Weather Channel for us--really nice. Great view of the mountains and not far off the interstate. Road is good leading to campground. When we left, it was pouring rain, so we didn't really get to stay but overall, it was a nice campground and convenient to most attractions in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$22
This is a nice quiet campground. Off the main road far enough to be quiet, but not too far to drive. The staff was great, super friendly and helpful. Stayed here in a tent a few year earlier, and was happy to see some improvements to this nice campground. Was happy to return. Plenty of room to let the kids run, and walk the dog. The surrounding scenery was spectacular. Only stayed one night, but want to return when we have time to enjoy more of what the campground has to offer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$23
Great campground. Very affordable, but out of the way. Don't feel like you are camping in the city. Beautiful views of Lookout and Racoon mountains. We spent Thanksgiving there, and look forward to spending it there again in 2003. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$20
I really enjoyed my stay at this park in August. They had the absolute cleanest bathrooms that we encountered along our entire trip! The park was well maintained and the staff courteous. They did appear to have one section with several "permanent" campers but both the campers and the sites were well maintained. I do not recall seeing the hordes of children who do not attend schools but there again most kids are usually out of school in the summer. I have stayed at this park at least once a year for the past nine years and have seen improvements each year. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$23
I camp all over the United States. As far as friendly people go this is the place to be. The staff is young but still very knowledgable in all the aspects of making us older folks happy. The restrooms were fabulous: taken care of by an older couple who obviously love their job and take pride in it. It was very easy to find as it was barely a mile off the interstate. The park was very well maintained (grass kept low, no BUGS what so ever, and beautifully set with an amazing view of Lookout Mountain and Raccoon Mountain.) It was only 5 minutes out side of Chattanooga. (All the places you would want to go. Tennessee Aquarium, Southern Belle Riverboat ride, and all the restaurants.) The park has a cavern on the property that is gorgeous. (Shhh don't tell Ruby Falls). It was also close to the incline and rock city. We stayed here for 3 days, then moved on. Wish we would have stayed at Raccoon Mountain the 3 other days we were in Chattanooga. This was one lovely park that was well kept and professionally staffed. Good Job Guys!! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$23
A very run down park, mainly filled with long term "gypsy" tenants. Lots of kids running around who don't attend school and trailers that haven't been cared for or washed since the Carter Administration. Also much further off the interstate than the other parks in the area on winding little roads. A real shame as this was once a nice family destination park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com