214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Lost Alaskan RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 109 user reviews. Phone: (432) 837-1136
CGID2689

Lost Alaskan RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   9   10   10   9   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. The park was well kept and the site was level. We arrived late and people came over to help us and give us the access code for the Wi-Fi. Very clean restrooms. If we are in the area we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$36
Pros: Good location, clean restrooms, clean showers, good service, level lots, Wi-Fi worked well, all services worked well. Cons: Nothing major we didn't like. Would definitely stay here again. Our rig is 36' long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$32
First time at this campsite and will most definitely return and recommend to all my camping friends. Owners and staff were excellent. Owner actually helped me change a tire and took my truck to his shop to change it and stow flat tire with his tools. Campsites were all good with a camper wash in the rear of the park. Many had cement pads and concrete tables with good vistas. Best part of our vacation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$32
Nothing to complain about here. Pull through sites are long and wide. You can have shade or not, if they are not busy. Nice rec room and small laundry, pool (not open this time of year), playground, RV wash site. Staff was friendly and helpful. It was nice and quiet while we were here. By far the best park in Alpine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
This is the nicest park we have stayed in. It was about 85-90% full when we were here. The restroom and laundry building is in a central location; the restrooms are new and well designed and kept immaculately clean. The machines in the laundry were fairly new and all were working. We met the work-camper staff who were all friendly and helpful. The park is well laid out, located at the north end of town on SR118. There are long-term spots for weekly or monthly rates but there don't seem to be any "permanent" residents. The park is very clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$34
We stayed here three nights while visiting various local attractions. This is a very nice RV park with good facilities. I wasn't sure what the differences were in the sites but the $cost even with the Good Sam discount seemed high given that others paid a lower price. There was a RV wash area that we didn't use but was a nice touch. My wife liked how quiet the park was. We would return if ever in this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
This is our favorite RV park in west Texas. Staff always friendly and helpful. Sites are large and mostly pull-thru. Communal areas always very clean. Location on the north side of town is convenient to shopping, local attractions as well as Fort Davis National Historic Site and the Davis Mountains to the north. We stay here prior to visiting Big Bend National Park to the south. Basic cable channels (no PBS) and wifi included. Wifi was slow (but being worked on) during our stay. Paid for 6 nights; the 7th night was free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$28
This is a very nice RV Park. We stayed here for two nights and we might return next week after our visit to Big Bend National Park. The restrooms, showers & laundry room were exceptionally clean. You can not go wrong at this park, it might be a little more money but they do offer discounts for Good Sam, Escapee. We looked at several parks in the area and were prepared to continue driving after a long day when we decided to take a look at this park. Hosts are very friendly and full of information and very helpful. Check it out you won't be sorry! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
We are return visitors to the Lost Alaskan. Excellent location just north of Alpine. Very nice hosts on check-in, and a guide to your site. And the gentlemen stayed to make sure we were adequately situated. Sites were gravel, but level, electrical service very good, water pressure very adequate. Nice quiet park and a good base for visiting the area. One down side is that all the sites face west. Loved the trees in this arid part of the world! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$41
To find a park of this high quality in any part of the SW is amazing. It has all the normal amenities plus the priceless attribute of being able to live under clear, beautiful skies with the mountains not far away. I stayed in one of the premium sites across from the swimming pool and was happy to pay the extra $7 because there was actually a great little plot of grass at the level site. In actuality, all the sites, not just the premium ones appeared to have grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Rate is for a 50 amp full pull-thru site with Good Sam discount. Paved roads and gravel sites with a couple of trees for shade, but only if the sun is in the right place. Quite a few rules, but noted the "permanent" RVs didn't seem to pay much attention to them. Higher priced than others in the area and not sure it was worth it. We would likely try another park if visiting the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Great Park! Clean & wide open spaces. Some shade from the few trees at each spot, but depended on time of day. Beautiful views all the way around of the mountains. Friendly and helpful owners! Easy roads to get in and out with our 39' Coach and tow car. Cleanest bathrooms we have seen along our cross country tour. Wzi-Fi was decent. I would highly recommend staying here. Great location, close to town, and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This is a very nice and well organized RV park. The tiled showers & laundry facilities were very roomy and very clean. Actually one of the best facilities that we have ever camped at. There are two tall trees on each site, but shade depends on time of day. There is a shady row along the edge where long term guests sites are located. Hosts were very friendly and helpful too. Someone mentioned that the place down the road was a better value at $10 less. Well we did check out the place down the road, it was $2 less, not as nice, host was not friendly and they were going to put us in a full sun site. The Lost Alaskan is definitely worth the $2 more. (Rate was $30.50 with Good Sam Discount). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
This was our third visit to the Lost Alaskan and for a very good reason. The park is extremely well maintained and the staff is courteous, friendly and helpful. We had one of the new Premier sites which gave us plenty of room with a nice picnic table, grill, sidewalk and grassy area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
This park would have gotten a higher rating from me except for two issues. One was the WiFi, which was about as slow as I've ever encountered. Given the premium rate this park charges compared with others in the area, I would have expected WiFi to on par with them. It was not. Placement of the dumpster was at the rear of the park, while my site was near the front. This made for a very long hike just to get rid of my trash, as this is a relative large park. Seems to me that the dumpster could be placed closer to the middle of the park. Staff was very friendly, but not too familiar with the area. The nice lady who checked me in had only been there for a few days. As a frequent visitor to the Alpine area, I guess my expectations were raised by all the glowing reviews for this park. My experience, was no better than I have experienced at other parks in the area that have a lower rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$36
We spent 4 nights at this park and were very happy with our stay. It was very clean and neat. The people in the office and in the park were helpful and friendly. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$31
We read about this park before we arrived in Alpine at the review site and looked at the maps. This was the closest park to town (1.5 miles) and had a pool. It is well laid out, very friendly staff, nice sized clean showers with a bench but only one hook. The pool was closed. A well maintained place, clean laundry room, and a clean 'adult' room. There is a playground, a tent area with shades for the tents, a blocked off "star gazing" area with plastic chairs, horse shoe pits, an area to wash your rig and a fenced area to play with your dog if you wish. A very pleasant place. We'd go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
This park is north of Alpine, but close to everything has about 93 sites with full hookups and some tent sites. The campground has a pool, playground, laundry, recreation room, gift shop, and bath house. Check in was quick, informative and they drive you to your site. Free Wi-fi/cable and the internet was very good. A number of restaurants are near by and it is close to Fort Davis and the Museum of Big Bend at the local University. Nice stay. Cost with Good Sam was $30 for a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$34
This is a fairly new park. Office staff was very helpful and, if you pull in after office hours, there is a sign directing you to open sites and to just register in the morning. Sites are sufficiently long. There is a fenced dog area that was clean and safe. The laundry was immaculate. Quiet country atmosphere. We would stay here again if in the area. Price reflects Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$39
Very nice park which has good sized sites that accommodate all sizes of units. This park also has the best campground hosts (all of them!) we have ever met. Great people and the owner who recently took over the property is super involved and has some good ideas to improve the campground more. WiFi for us was iffy but that issue should go away with the improvements. We really like the park and the area and we will stay again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$31
An excellent park from the first experience. The people registering us, camp helpers, were extremely enthusiastic and helpful about what to do in the area. I really like and appreciate that. It was very well laid out, easy to get in and out. Bathrooms were immaculate. Shower area good and had strong hot water! As in most everywhere we go, wifi is weak, especially in the evening when others are downloading their Skype and movies. Enjoyed the new bar at the hotel downtown and Big Bend is in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$31
Upon checking we noticed how clean and well laid out the park was with lots of trees around. The staff was super friendly and we briefly met the owner. He was very interested in making sure we were close to the far end of the park for our dogs, etc. Large sites, level, gravel, cute star gazing area, RV wash pit, horseshoe area. Easy access. We will go back here on our way out of the Big Bend NP. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$31
This is a nice park with a good layout and facilities. The owners/managers are very helpful. Laundry and showers are clean and spacious. The Wi-Fi is strong but they have so many restrictions it can really only be used for Email. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$35
Excellent campground. Friendly owners, beautiful views! Highly recommend. We stayed at this park for a year and 3 months. Loved it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$30
Great park and people running it. Easy in to sites when towing. Beautiful sunsets & deer walking through the park. Quiet with spotless bathrooms. Very relaxing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34
Trees in West TX, who knew? Very nice park. Did not get a 10 as trees need trimming in sites. If you are a big rig and have multiple slides you probably will have issues. Also on gravel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
BY FAR the best campground in the area. We spent three nights there and loved it. In our daily adventures we went by a few of the other RV parks in the area and like I first stated the Lost Alaskan is BY FAR the best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$29
The staff were super friendly. The restrooms and other common areas were clean and functional. The sites were plenty long for my rig and tow, and it felt like I had plenty of side to side space as well (though it was not very crowded during my visit). Location was convenient for exploring Alpine/Ft Davis/Marfa region. Gripes: Wi-Fi was slow (despite being parked right next to a repeater)... but my Verizon 4G worked very well in this area. The water pressure was a bit low... c'est la vie. There were long-termers, but they blend in pretty well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$27
Easy well marked access from the Highway-hard pack gravel interior roads with most sites pull through. Price is with an Excapees discount. Assorted pine and other trees at each site with picnic table. Lots of room to maneuver. Sites are dirt with gravel with some grass. The area is in a drought so grass is not doing well Utilities are accessible and worked fine. I have been here several times in the past and the pool has never been open. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Restrooms and club house spotless. Didn’t use their wifi. Close to town and all the sites in the area (Ft. Davis, Big Bend, Marfa lights, McDonald Observatory). Several long term folks have moved in and the park is moving from an RV park to a trailer park. Since it’s the best park in the area, I will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$33
We really liked this campground. The staff was very friendly. Since we were in a Scamp 19 ft 5th wheel, we especially enjoyed the large meeting room. The weather was bad and I was able to do yoga in that room. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$18
Nice camp ground. Very friendly staff. All spots level with adequate spacing. Rest room & shower room spotless. They were full the night we stopped by (Cowboy Poetry Gathering) so my rate was for dry camping. Would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$29
This campground has over 90 E/W/S RV sites plus tent camping on a desert gravel lot. There is a pool (only open in summer), laundry ($1.25 & 1.50), adult game room, free slow Wi-Fi (with a ½ page list of “do not do” rules), 12 free cable channels (coax cables on sale at office), no open fires permitted. The campground hosts are most pleasant and helpful. In a binder they have compiled a list of menus from many of the restaurants in town (the guacamole at Casitas is divine!). It is an easy 2 hour drive from Alpine to Big Bend National Park. Consider stocking up on food and especially diesel, as the latter is grossly overpriced in the Big Bend area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$35
Very nice park, friendly hosts. Nice large sites, worked real well for our 40' motor home. Site got a little muddy after a rain and could use some more compacted gravel but over all, this is a very nice park, we would positively come back. Fellow campers were nice except for one IDIOT with IOWA license plates on a travel trailer who was a dog hater and had an anti dog sign on his rig. You don't see this type of miserable BUFFOON very often, most RVers love dogs and are friendly people. This FOOL needs to stay in IOWA and out of Texas! Other than this incident, our stay was great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
Loved the park...great facility and great staff. Great location for exploring Alpine, Marfa, Fort Davis. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$32
We stayed at the Lost Alaskan RV Park in Alpine, Texas last winter and it was a good experience. The facility and rest rooms were very clean the staff does an excellent job maintaining the facility. The people who work there are friendly and helpful and will accommodate the requests of their guests. Lost Alaskan is close to Alpine which is a very nice and clean town with many activities. The park is also located where it is an easy drive to the McDonald Observatory. I would recommend this park to anyone who wants to visit the Big Bend area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
Pleasant staff who guided us to site. Site was level stone with on-site well pruned trees and grass. Sites are wide and long. Perhaps due to drought, grass was sparse. Laundry room was clean and tidy as was bath house. Quiet at night. There is a stockade fence ring with chairs inside for star gazing, and night sky is beautiful in Alpine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
Level gravel sites, good water and electric. Very nice pool. I liked this place, very quite. Self service RV wash pad was available for $3, but my family seemed to be the drought busters and rain was in the forecast. Star gazer pit available, and we had the telescope with us, but too cloudy to use. This place has spacious sites, is very nice and we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Stayed 6 nights and would stay again. The sites are large with trees, patio and some grass. The pool was clean and offered water feature for kids. It was quiet and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bath house contains men's and women's restrooms with showers, laundry room, and a meeting room. The bathrooms were very clean as was the laundry room. The office also contains a small selection of gifts and limited RV supplies (tank chemicals, water hoses, etc.). They have the Paw Paw Park for dogs; guests are good about picking up after their pets. Each site has 50 & 30 amp hookups, cable TV, sewer and water hookups, and a picnic table at each site. Full-time residents have back-up sites; the rest of the sites are pull-through. We don't have a slide on our travel trailer, but saw many rigs that did have one to three slides extended without problem. Large shade trees at all the sites. The area has been in severe drought for several months, but the staff keeps the trees watered. It is fairly quiet; we woke up to songbirds and dove calling as the sun came up. In the mountains, so not as hot as areas in the Permian Basin. This is the cleanest, nicest, best run RV park I have visited. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Nice park with good roads going to sites that are long, spacious and level. The showers, laundry, and recreation room are in one big building and everything is clean and well maintained. WiFi and cell service were both good. Cable TV is limited. There are lots of pine trees. This has been a dry year so the grass is brown, but they are trying to keep some going at a few sites. Big Bend Park is a bit of a drive, but I think this is the best park around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
We stayed here for a week and were pleasantly surprised by this RV park and the town of Alpine. The park had some nice shade trees, level sites and the staff was very friendly. Good Wi-Fi and decent laundry facility. Some of the sites had concrete patios which would be a real plus as it can be a bit dusty here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$29
Stayed two nights. Nice, level, gravel sites with a little shade. Very nice people. Helped me with a truck problem and let me stay beyond checkout while waiting for Affordable Towing. So nice I came back after the truck was repaired at A.G. Services in town. Office was closed so I took my old site and will pay in the morning. Certainly recommend. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$32
Would have rated this park higher, but the premier site we were in was being renovated and was all muddy our entire stay. Very friendly staff and most helpful. Liked the location and used as a base for exploring McDonald Observatory, Ft. Davis, Big Bend and Marfa. Cute little town. Felt the rate very high, even with Good Sam Discount for this time of year and would have been higher if the upgrades had been completed. Would stay here again, but definitely NOT in one of their premium sites, not worth the extra bucks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$29
Rate shown Good Sam discount. Site was a long gravel pull through. Good spacing between sites. Limited cable TV channels. WiFi had a good signal, but can only be used for email and site browsing. No Skype or downloading video files allowed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$27
This was our 2nd time here. Easy well marked access off the Highway. Easy to maneuver and spaces are long with ample space between sites. Good paved interior roads with gravel sites. Brick table at each site with all utilities working properly. Staff was friendly and helpful. The park is the best of those in the Big Bend , Ft. Davis, Marfa, Alpine area. The owner is making improvements and the park is well maintained. Very quiet. We will be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
Clean and neat park and the staff very helpful. Sites are reasonable in size and well located. We had wildlife sightings. Campground was used as a base for the observatory, fort, and Big Bend, etc. Has limited shade. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
Stayed here for a rally and the hosts were very nice. For $7 you can reserve the location for washing your rig. The park is handy for Ft. Davis and Alpine. The pool was closed for the season. There is a small sitting area just for night sky viewing. The laundry was clean. The main room was available to us but I did not see a kitchen. The Wi-Fi worked well but there was a set of rules for using it so if you are needing to be on line for several hours that could present a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Took about 12 hours driving time from deep south Texas to get here at noon. It was worth the time saved to enjoy to quiet park here. Small shade trees are growing and some shade in most sites. Pool was closed, but looked very good. View to the west was nice for "flat lander eyes." Site large enough to stay hooked up overnight for early start next day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
This was a great park. The pool was closed which was a bummer, but it was the end of the season so we understood. Their choice in WiFi was disappointing, they are using HughesNet which is slow and unresponsive at times. They have a large and really nice dog play ground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Clean, friendly park, convenient to many of the Big Bend/W.Texas attractions. No complaints at all. Couldn't have had a better place to stay awhile. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$8
A very good campground in an adequate town. The best campground in any of the towns around. I will stay here again. A very comfortable place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
Absolutely awesome pool area!!! Has very friendly owners and group of people in and around the park. I will be back ASAP!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
People at check-in were absolutely wonderful hosts. Great place to stay; nice grounds; sites were pretty level (gravel); rec room, bathrooms, and showers were very clean (with HOT water, too). Neat little town of Alpine to visit. Hosts recommended several things to see and do. Great museum at Sul Ross State University called Big Bend Musuem (free). Close enough for all of us to caravan to McDonald Observatory and take a guided tour. Also visited Fort Davis historical site. Our site had a pine tree on each side of us, so it was a little tight to get out without getting the coach scratched by a tree, but the neighbors did move their truck to enable to better 'wiggle' out into the street to depart. Easy entry access, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
The swimming pool was not open yet when we were here, and there was some trouble with the broadband internet. Otherwise, this was a pleasant stay. We were here for three nights. A little noisy during the day, but this is a great place to use as base camp for visiting Big Bend, Fort Davis, McDonald's Observatory, etc. Immaculate restroom and laundry facility. Managers were very accommodating and friendly. We will stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
This was a nice park. It has friendly staff and is in a good location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$26
Great campground. We stayed for two nights and chose it partly because of the WiFi (this was a working trip). Everything is clean and well maintained. Sites are level; easy in and out of the grounds. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. The location serves as a good headquarters for the Alpine/Fort Davis/Marfa area. The campground is on the outskirts of Alpine, just a mile or so from the heart of town but still far enough out that you don't feel like you're camping in the heart of town. Has lovely vistas. Honestly, we prefer more secluded campgrounds like Davis Mountains State Park, but the WiFi access is what we needed for this trip. We would definitely stay here again. Very good experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Clean facilities and the hosts are very friendly and accommodating. Best park in the Ft. Davis, Alpine, Marfa area. Spent 3 days and would like to spend more time. Put this on the Do Camp list. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$26
This campground is beautiful offering views of the nearby mountains. There is a variety of trees throughout the park and the sites are fairly level with nice brick picnic tables. The laundry and restrooms are clean and centrally located. Fort Davis and McDonald Observatory are just up the road and The Big Bend National Park is only a couple of hours South. We stayed for five weeks from March into April and really enjoyed the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$32
Park was clean and relatively convenient for access to Big Ben National Park. We spent 2 nights and would probably return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
Excellent park, especially compared to alternatives. For some it is a destination park. Honors Escapees discount as well as Good Sam. Not sure what we paid. Friendly folks. Was snowing the day we left (3/20/10). As the name suggests it is a higher altitude town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$26
The rate reflects a week’s stay. Our pull-through site was generous and level. The staff was friendly, got us checked in, and promptly escorted us to our site. There is a place to recycle aluminum. The WI-FI was OK most of the time, but not always. For a nominal charge, you can wash your RV or vehicle at their wash pad. The extra cost was not a problem, but it would have been more convenient to wash our motorhome at the site rather than take it to the wash pad. The pine trees were weepy. From Alpine, to drive to Big Bend and sight-see, it is a long day trip. This is a nice campground, and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$30
This is a nice campground on the edge of town. Big spaces. Easy enough to get around in. Very friendly staff. An unusual plus: they have an RV washing area (for a fee). Seem to be a lot of Sul Ross students staying at the park: they came from all over to study diverse topics and were fun to talk to. Only complaints were: the nasty stickers in a few spots. Only found a few, but one of our dogs is a real weenie, so everything comes to a halt when he finds one! However the low water pressure is the main reason this wasn't rated a "10". Also beware if you do laundry here: the dryers may not be as powerful as what you're used to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$29
Although a nice park, it is only slightly above average. We stayed a week, and enjoyed the stay. Overall it's about average for an RV park, but maybe the best in the area for facility and amenities. One complaint for our fellow travelers with dogs: there are stickers/sand-spurs in the grass area; so be careful to keep a sharp eye out for where your canine companions walk. This is our only negative. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$22
I used this park as a base to explore the Davis Mountain area and the Big Bend National Park. It is a long drive (100 miles each way) to the national park. The points of interest in the Davis Mountains (including Fort Davis and the McDonald Observatory) are much closer. This park was a comfortable place to stay. Located just north of the town of Alpine, groceries, fuel and restaurants are within several miles. The sites are placed well back from the highway and are of an acceptable size. The Wi-Fi service provided is poor with extremely slow connections to the local server. A wash pad is provided for travelers wishing to wash their RV and other vehicles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
We like this park very much. The sites are roomy, the showers/rest rooms are clean and very well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. The only complaint is that are "stickers" in the area where one walks their dogs. However, They have a nice dog park, but again, there are stickers in spots. We enjoyed our stay and will probably return. If we return to the area, we will certainly stay here and have and will recommend it highly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
Good location. We stayed here two nights: visited Big Bend NP from here. Excellent facilities and well cared for. Staff helpful and friendly. Would stay here again. Located outside of town a bit so you have a nice view of the mountains and surroundings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$26
This was a great 3 night stay as we visited Big Bend National Park and settled down for some cold weather that got a dusting of snow !!! We chose this park because of the good reviews on this site and were not disappointed. Great friendly staff and large pull through sites with a car and RV wash station. The town of Alpine is an upscale resort type town with lots of interesting shops and some good restaurants. The original name of Alpine was Murphyville but they changed it some years ago to reflect the surrounding area. It is worth stopping for a few days to enjoy a town that has very friendly people and obviously trying to promote tourism. We took highway 90 on our way to San Antonio which is a great road for RV's and very light traffic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$26
Great park with a pretty view. Immaculate clean. Would highly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
Good campground in Alpine. Folks here are all nice and helpful. They heavily use folks that work in exchange for a camp site. Clean campground with some nice views. It is a good place to stay for a night or extended. We have stayed here three times now and all have been good. If you want to stay here during cowboy festival, then you will need reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
Newly paved roads have made driving into and out of the park dust free. We had a site with a magnificent view of the mountains to the west. The deer came out in the morning to greet us and were not afraid of our hooking up routine. Good park and good people. Will definitely use this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
Well run campground. We have stayed here twice. Newly paved roads cut down on the dust. Spotless bathrooms. Lovely views of the mountains. Quiet. Helpful staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
This park is wonderful. The staff is always friendly, and the park is always clean and looking good. Absolutely the cleanest restroom facilities I have ever seen. Utilities, Wi-Fi, and cell phone reception are great. The roads recently got paved to help cut down on dust. We have stayed at this park several times, and will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
My wife and i made reservations 2 weeks out and the lady who we dealt with on the phone was WONDERFUL. We asked for certain things..2 picnic tables because we were having a cookout and at our site was a HUGE new picnic table that would have seated 10 people. Campground was very clean and the pull thru was pretty level, NO problems. The people who were running the campground were also riding around looking to help you or clean up after someone who left a mess. They had Wi-Fi but we couldn't get it to work. Cable worked well. We can't wait to go back and stay longer. We took our lab. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
Easy campground to get into. The roads and pads are all gravel and it's very dusty there. Add the wind that always blows in Texas and you get the picture. Basic cable was available but there was no cell service, at least for our phone. WiFi was available and free. This is a good campground for a one or two day stopover between San Antonio and El Paso. If we travel this way again and need an over-nighter, we would stop here again. The price reflects a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$29
This is a very nice park. The personnel are very nice and friendly and very helpful. There seems to be a lot of permanent residence but does not create a problem. The sites are gravel but most are pull through with more than enough room for toad. Nice view of mountains. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
Clean park. Nice operators. Excellent bathrooms/showers. Close to hospital. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$28
This park has everything we--an older couple with dogs--needs! It is clean and well kept. The managers are nice, friendly, helpful and know stuff when you ask. They are smart--there is a fenced dog area so the dogs can run free and loosen up. (Why doesn't everybody do that?) The views are beautiful and this is a good base camp for lots of interesting side trips. Just a well managed, well fitted park in a great winter Texan location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$30
This is the best park in town. Yes the site are gravel and so is the road in the park, but it's fairly level and maintained. The people at the desk are friendly and helpful. We were escorted to our site. We have two dogs and wanted to be close to the large grassy dog run so they assigned us a close site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$27
This is as good as it gets in this part of Texas where the land is sparse of trees and grass. The park has naturally gravel roads and parking sites with two evergreen and deciduous trees per site with permanent picnic benches. The staff is friendly and accommodates special requests. They do have free WiFi. There does not appear to be any long term "campers" and everything seems well maintained and neat. (800) 837-3604 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
Nice park. Level, even though it is on gravel. Beautiful area and the park is right in the middle of it all. Staff and owner were very friendly. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$27
This is a rustic campground with grass and gravel sites. It is a pretty area, and we would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
The Lost Alaskan is easy to locate and get into in Alpine. The park is arranged very well with large pull thru sites in the center of the park. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. The laundry and rest rooms are very well taken care of and clean. The office has lots of information about activities, museums, and restaurants in the area. We will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$28
We stayed there once with our 2 grand daughters and once with pets. There is a nice play ground, pool and splash pad. There is a doggier park. The area is very peaceful and quiet. Deer come right up to the park. Lots of birds. The park is very clean and kept up. The showers and bath are very nice and clean, We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$25
We stayed here for 3 nights and used Alpine as a base for traveling to Big Bend and other points of interest. This is one of the finest private campgrounds we've stayed at. It was very clean, the hosts were helpful and friendly, there was a nice dog park where our dogs could play unleashed. The sites are spacious and so is the space between rows. Easy to get your RV or camper parked. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$26
This was a very nice park. Well laid out with generous sites, good dog walking area and close to town. The shower/restroom areas were possibly the nicest we've seen on our 4 month RV trip. The laundry was totally adequate and the whole park was obviously kept very clean and maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$28
The campground and facilities were clean, and the facilities were up-to-date. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The sites were level and large and will accommodate large rigs. We chose this campground as a base for a tour of the Big Bend National Park. This was a long trip of over 300 miles for one day. Fort Davis is only 24 miles away and well worth the trip. We would recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$31
Nice RV park for Big Rigs. It is well maintained. The only problem is some tree spacing close to the pads. The Staff is very friendly. I would certainly recommend this park for short term or long term use. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
We stayed at this park recently and really liked it a lot. The sites are very level and there was plenty of room for most any kind of motorhome. The staff very friendly and helpful They have a fenced in area for dogs called Paw-Paw Park. It was clean and a large area for the pooch to romp around. Their laundry area was modern and very clean. It was quiet and peaceful here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
We've stayed at this park several times in the past few years and heard that it just recently changed ownership. We could definitely see a downward slide in appearance. The extra charge for wi-fi which is iffy at best and the increase in rates is not merited for what you get in exchange. We will not come back to this park again and don't recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
When in Alpine, this has always been our choice. Open desert, young trees, funky but cute picnic tables. WIFI is available,didn't need, we have broadband. Gravel thru-out. There are other RV parks, but this park is clean and quiet. We stayed in our 45' Coach. Will always return to this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$26
Do not use the Tengo Internet service, it is expensive, slow, slow, slow, slower than dial-up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$28
This is the best there is in Alpine. Lots to see in the area. Very nice staff and well maintained. All new, professionally built buildings, with tile everywhere. Everything cleaned daily. New washers and dryers. Workampers on back row in one area. Fenced dog park and clean. Lots of room, on level sites. Good water and power. All sites have full hook-ups, with 30 and 50 amps. We stayed here a month, left for a week, then back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
This park is on a large tract of land. All roads and sites were good gravel. Sites were long, wide, and level. Lots of trees in park but are small yet. City of Alpine about one mile south for all of your needs and good places to eat. Bathrooms and showers were spotless, very nice. Staff was nice and helpful at check in. Pool and playground equipment were new. Large cement pad to wash your RV equipment for a fee. Everything is so nice and new here. Pet park in front (Paw Paw Park). Only problem was the satellite WiFi system was too slow to be called high speed. We will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
The only thing this park does not have is activites. Otherwise, a great place to spend a few days exploring the area. The bathhouse and showers were very clean, available 24/7. Sometimes we heard the train as it whistled its way through town, but no other noise. Wi-fi (Tengo) was not very fast, and Verizon service was on "Extended Network" analog, not Verizon Wireless digital. Lots of restaurants and antique shops, and flat terrain for bike riding. We visited Fort Davis National Monument, went looking for the Marfa "lights", and did a star party at the McDonald Observatory. We used this park as a stopover before and after visiting Big Bend. New park owners, effective March 2007. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
This park is way overpriced for a gravel parking lot and WIFI for a fee. The minimal grassed sites are decent size but the brick and concrete picnic tables are oddly placed. The table for the site to our left was right up against where our front driver slide was. Not sure who would ever use them. The staff was very friendly but not enough reasons for us to ever stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$28
Nice park, easy access. All pull thru sites. Great place to stay while attending the Cowboy Poetry Gathering in Alpine. This is our second stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$28
Very nice park, with excellent support facilities. Just north of town and has easy access. Might check out others in the area next time, we felt price for 8 hours was high, since only reason to be there was to get somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
Nice level and very long sites. The trees are young so they did not block satellite or make it difficult to manuever. They will have to be trimmed back as time goes by. The sites are dirt and gravel and this could prove to be a problem if they get a lot of rain. The staff is great and the town even has a movie theatre. The park is about 110 miles from Big Bend National Park and 25 miles from the Marfa lights. Not much else to do in the area. Major shoping is 150 miles away. We camped here in a 40' motor home with four sides. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$26
This park is certainly the class of Alpine. Very well kept, friendly staff, and good power and water. Good level gravel sites, a few trees for shade. Cable is free but only gets 12 channels. Free WiFi, but it's very spotty. We were here during cold weather, but it looks like the new pool area is very nice. Convenient to lots of neat areas; Big Bend, Ft Davis, and the Marfa Mystery Lights. We were visited by a large buck and his harem each morning. Great views of the mountains. We spent a week and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$22
Park is clean and neat. The nicest park on our trip. We stayed the week as there is much to see in the area. People are friendly - workers and campers. There is a charge for WIFI with "tengointernet". We would stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$24
Nice park, we arrived the day after a rain and didn't find any mud unlike another post. Office staff is helpful and friendly. Water pressure is low, had to fill the fresh water tank and use our pump. Electrical power is good. WiFi is $4 a day, TL lists the WiFi as being free. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
A very good park to use as a base to see the Big Bend/Davis Mountains area (though you will have to do some driving). Well maintained and clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Gravel and dirt, very little concrete, so I can see where the utility areas between the gravel pull-throughs could get muddy in the event of rain. However, rain is not a normal occurrence in the area. The "A" section where we stayed did not have picnic tables. WiFi service worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
We have camped at this park many many times and are sad to have to post a less than glowing review after our recent stay. The park has invested several thousand in a swimming pool, which is a nice addition but the money would have been much better spent on the roads and sites which are in bad shape. Gravel is about gone and it turns into a mud hole when wet and dust bowl when dry. The work campers seemed totally indifferent to us, and to the enforcement of the park rules (such as speeding, not driving through vacant sites, etc.). The park traffic flow has been altered since out last visit so that traffic now does not go past the work camper sites - nice move guys!! Worse yet, we paid $25 a night - up about $5. Sorry, this will absolutely be our last stay!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
Very nice, quiet & clean campground. The staff is very polite, friendly & helpful. The pool & bathhouse are in the process of being completed & a recreation room is available. The campground is well situated & easy to get to. You do have to pay for wifi but it is reasonably priced & very dependable. We definitely will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
Very good location close to town. Park is very dusty and the roads are not that well maintained. The speed bumps don't seem to help a lot. Way too many "work campers" wandering around. The "lawn mower guy" pelted my truck and RV with rocks both times I have stayed here!!! Picnic tables are brick and concrete and can't be moved to a convenient location on your site. They have an anoying habit of putting everyone close together even when they are almost empty. Park is over priced by about $5-6 for what they offer. However - in spite of the foregoing - pretty good park with full hook up, very nice bath and shower as well as laundry (AC in summer). I will stay again (but wrap my truck & RV in blankets to protect it from more stone chips). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2005
$25
Interior roads are good, but gravel. All sites are pretty level, but not paved. There is good grass in the sites and the RVs are well spaced apart. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2005
$24
This campground is in beautiful Alpine which is about 100 miles from the center of Big Bend National Park. It is 26 beautiful miles to Ft. Davis National Park which is very worthwhile, and from there take the 72 mile scenic route that is magnificent - and stop and see one of the world's best astronomy observatories along the way. Alpine has a great little main street and side streets with wonderful little restaurants, a couple of excellent book shops (with the New York Times and WSJ available daily!), a number of art galleries, a couple of bars with live music and a real little west Texas feel to it. There is a Big Bend Museum at the local Sul Ross University in town. This RV park is a campground, not a destination with full facilities for entertainment. There is excellent wifi. Each site has 1-2 15-18' pine trees on it, most have picnic tables and some cactus here and there. Laundry is very clean. Mouintain views in every direction are beautiful. The sites are very long and car/RV washing is available at a special spot in the campground for a small charge (this is a semi-arid desert). Roads and sites are dirt and level and there is grass in all areas that are not roads or sites. We came for a day and we are staying for at least a week - we had no idea this part of Texas had so many interesting things to see and do. We're going to follow 90 over to San Antonio - no additional mileage from I-10 and lots of things to see on this red road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$24
Level, long pull-thrus. Some sites need long sewer hose. Most sites did not have tables. They have a night sky viewing area for those clear dark West Texas nights. We stayed three times in '02 for a few days each time. We will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$22
A dust bowl. The roads have speed bumps and 5 mph is enforced, I was told. The reason must be to keep the dust down. Generally, the place is Big Rig Friendly...except when assigned a choice site with a view. We had to disconnect our toad to make the turn to exit. Either have a sewer hose longer than 18' or you will have to disconnect your toad to clear the access road. Nice long pull thru's but poorly planned. Be prepared for a $2.00 charge for most anything, however they were proud to say "No extra charge for pets". Cable is free but ours did not work. There are other choices that are just as dusty for less money. I would not recommend this park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com