223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Bastrop State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (512) 321-2101
CGID2708

Bastrop State Park

Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   8   9   7   8   8   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$24
Nice park. Stayed on Piney Hill which has full hookups. Our space was not level, but most were. We did have a shade tree by our site. We did not notice any mice in this camp area. Too bad about the fire. The view is like looking at a field of telephone poles. The Staff was friendly and replanting trees when we were there. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$24
Been in Bastrop since November 29th of 2013. Mice are relentless at trying to get in the camper. I do not know if the big rigs are having the same issue. You can see mice running all over the camp ground at night. Copperas cove much nicer due to less damage from fire. Also being in the low lying area of the park the wind is less evident. Piney Hill is the pull-through area. Much more fire damage and no shade trees. Sites are very close together so I can hear the conversations of everyone nearby. Very windy on the upper hill making it much colder than when we were down in the low area. Construction workers do not observe the speed limits in the park and you need to watch out for them. Staff has been helpful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
This is a very nice state park with lots of hiking trails, wildlife, swimming, fishing, and even golfing. Most of the famous pine trees were killed in the big fire of 2011, but it is still a nice place to spend some time. There are 35 sites with water and 30A electricity, and 35 sites with water, 30/50A electricity, and sewer. The full hook-up sites are $20 a night. The restrooms in both campgrounds are currently being rebuilt. Portable toilets are available in both campgrounds, and a temporary shower facility is available in the Piney Hill campground. Hopefully the construction will be done soon and brand new facilities will be available. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
Camped here with our 5, 3, and 1 year olds. Clean park, well paved roads. Majority of park forest burned in 2011 forest fire, but is slowly recovering. Lots of dead, burned trees still standing, but not detracting from experience. Quality YMCA-run swimming pool on-site with shallow kid areas. Eighteen hole golf course is good. Front 9 is flat, back 9 is rolling and scenic. Good kid playground with equipment, slides and swings. Saw a few whitetail deer in the park. We would return. Plenty of room. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
The extensive fire damage at the park detracts from the scenery but not the RV facilities. Interior roads and sites are paved. Sites follow the contour of the land and some are far from level. AT&T phone and data service worked well in the area. Some shade is available, which may interfere with satellite signal, but over the air TV is available. The price is for full hookups. An additional daily access fee of $4/person is charged unless you have a Texas State Park Pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
We were traveling around Texas and spent the night at Bastrop State Park. The aftermath of the forest fire of Labor Day 2011 was apparent, but hearing the story from the park police who was also a firefighter during the disaster made the park very interesting. Our campsite was 63 and was just right for our 25' RV; although, bigger rigs could not have come into that part of the campground. Our section was the nicest and most of the original trees were still standing. Seedlings were sprouting and nature's recovery was apparent. We enjoyed the hiking trail and the park. Only time will replenish the stately pines that were lost, but the park is worth a stop. Note--shower houses and bathrooms are under construction. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Too bad about the September 2011 fire. Many of the mature trees are burned. Some of the restrooms and showers were too. They seems to be doing a great job getting the park back to its former glory. The park is clean and quiet, surrounded by a golf course (wish I had brought my clubs). We stayed here overnight and had full hookups for $20. We have a Texas State Park pass so we didn't pay the $4 daily entrance fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Remarkable recovery after the forest fires last year. Although it will take time for the foliage to come back, the "bones" of the park are still here. Lots of activity with folks swimming, hiking, and biking. Sites are fairly level and all (in our section) were asphalt pull-throughs. The lengths vary, but all are wide with tables, BBQ stands and fire rings. The golf course looks OK, but can use some attention. With all of the state cutbacks, they are relying on volunteers to help with cleanup and maintenance. All in all, we were very happy with our stay and plan to return several times in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Just seems a bit pricey being a state park, guess the $4 per person entrance fee on top of the $20 camping fee is not so bad if you are not just spending the night. Sites are nice pull throughs with full hookups, lots of evidence of Sept fires, but everything cleaned up well. Too hot to explore while we were there, and it was only April. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
Arrived after hours and picked a spot after a drive through, with a list of open spots from the map board, with a return to the gate to drop a payment in the box. Nice quiet park, with some new parking and concrete work. Hope the fire damage missed the camping areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
Although the swimming pool was closed (off season) as the playground was (closed for improvements) our two grandkids had a wonderful time as had their grandparents. They liked the hiking very much as biking around in the vicinity of our motorhome. The sites are not very level and not well maintained. But improvements are being made. The WiFi-signal is very weak and just acceptable in front of the ranger station. The golf course is getting worse every year. No maintenance at all, and the green fees raised from $9.74 to $25.00! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Quiet campground with "bus stop" style pull throughs that works well for most. The pavement is a bit chewed up on a few but overall a great place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
The big rig pull-through sites are less private, but we had a very private shady spot for our smaller travel trailer on a loop. Bathrooms, however, were far away from the loop, so we used our own facilities. Very clean park. Lots to do, and good hikes for families and dogs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
Very nice State Park. It has been around a long time, but is in excellent condition and has everything one needs for a fun time. The sites are getting a little broken up, but not a issue yet. Lots of room to navigate a rig. Lots of hiking, biking and everything else to make for a good time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
Family friendly park. There is a nice playground, and great hiking trails. We took a free hiking tour with a volunteer naturalist that was informative about the trees, birds, etc. Later that day, there was a show at the amphitheater at Buescher State Park (connected to Bastrop State Park) with a number of reptiles and non-venomous snakes. The kids couldn't get enough! The downside - the site wasn't level, the trees were a little low, and the asphalt and gravel around most of the sites was eroded away leaving big drop-offs leading to the picnic table at the sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
The State of Texas has reduced funding for its state park system, and it is beginning to show. This park is showing the results of neglect and lack of funding. If you camp here (which we don't advise) and want a pull-through there are some pretty nice ones here with quite a bit of shade. The pads are dirt and sand and become a real mess in the rain. The bathrooms were fairly clean but were very poorly maintained and generally shabby. We decided not to use them at all. We still can't figure out why the State of Texas located one of its parks here. There is nothing of note in the park - no lake, no river, or anything else we could find of particular interest. We chose Bastrop State Park so that we could spend some time in Austin which is about 35 miles away. The drive into Austin is an easy one on a good four lane highway. On the way back from Austin we decided to visit Lake Bastrop and found that is has an outstanding public campground owned by the Lower Colorado River Authority. Lake Bastrop is beautiful with a sandy beach and wonderful paved roads throughout the park. The RV sites are enormous and are all concrete with lots of large shade trees. We wish we would have found this park before we paid for the state park which is, incredibly, less than two miles away! We plan to return to the area next Spring when the bluebonnets are in bloom and will definitely stay at Lake Bastrop and not at Bastrop State Park. The State Park charges $20 per night per vehicle plus $4 per person per night. Certainly not a bargain. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$21
Bastrop State Park is one of the best state parks in Texas. The pines are beautiful and the Piney Hill section if always a quiet place to stay. The sites are pull through and spacious. I would highly recommend this state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Nice park with full hookups. Staff seemed unhappy with management and it was reflected in their attitude toward campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$20
Beautiful state park nestled among tall pine trees with swimming pool and golf course. We stayed here for two weeks. Some sites are not level, sites are nice and roomy, no over hanging tree branches in road ways. Roads are paved. Park hosts are very friendly. This is one of the nicer state parks we have stayed in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
A very nice state park environment which includes inconsistent site characteristics, some not level, some with pull-throughs with tight curves, some short back-ins, and some with deteriorated pads. But get there prior to 5:00 pm on weekends and you'll be able to find one that suits. The Copperas Creek campground does have road noise issues, at Piney Hill the only noticeable road noise is the odd siren. There is a very nice adjacent small historic community with downtown shopping and other activities. Also is getting to where they have most of the big box options too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
Very nice State Park. Plenty of shade and very nice pull through type sites. Campground was very clean and well kept. Lots of hiking and biking trails, wildlife and birds. Nice golf courses nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$17
Clean and well maintained sites and park. Big rig friendly with easy pull throughs. Park staff very friendly and eager to assist. Lots to do at the park for the kids and Big Kids. The "Texas State Park Pass" is a great deal if you plan on a extended stay or visiting other Texas parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$15
Other than the highway noise from Highway 71, this is one of the best state parks in the entire Texas State Park System. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$17
A nice Texas State Park. Has long asphalt pull through sites. Each site has a picnic table, fire ring, and lantern poll. The hookups were in good condition. The park has a lake, swimming pool, hiking/biking trails, and a golf course. The only problem is that some trees need to be cut back around the sites as the limbs were brushing against the fifth wheel on the loops. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$16
One of the better state parks. Built by CCC, has golf course, small lake full of fish, miles of hiking and biking trails, swimming pool and large dining hall. In the Lost Pines area of Texas. Stayed a week there and will be back. Sites very easy to pull through even with big 34' rig and saw several of the big 40' Class A's. Staff very friendly and they are always cleaning around the place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com