217661 User submitted reviews online!!
Cedar Hill State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (972) 291-3900
CGID2740

Cedar Hill State Park

Camp Information
Sites
355
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   8   6   7   6   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
$30 rate is if your have Texas State Parks pass, which we bought ($70 for year). If you have pass, you can get one night half price at each park you stay. I would have rated higher, but sites are extremely sloped! We didn't have enough boards to get our RV level. So, drive in and check site first. Other than that, it is a good park. Convenient to Dallas/Fort Worth area. Our Verizon MiFi worked good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
Convenient location to shopping and attractions. Went to six flags 4 days in a row and it's about a 20 minute drive. You will need a $70 state park pass or pay additional $7/day. Park offers lots of trees, outdated electrical boxes, very long check-in process, and no Wi-Fi at the site. Some sites can hold big rigs. Sewer sites are $5 more. It is a large park with hiking, fishing, city and lake views,and a marina. We even saw a bobcat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
$30 per night was for a full-hookup site. A daily entrance fee is also charged unless you have a $70 Texas State Parks Pass, which is good to cover entry fee to all state parks for one year. There are several campgrounds located within the heavily treed park that offer everything from backcountry camping to full-hookup sites on level concrete pads. The park is located very close to Dallas and the city of Cedar Hill offers every convenience one could think of. If you like off-road biking, there are 15 miles of trails and there are miles of hiking trails. If you like fishing, there is Joe Pool Reservoir. Spacing between the sites is generous with some of them being very private. We received full cell/text service on our AT&T phone, receiving four bars LTE. We used our Millenicom jetpack as a Wi-Fi hotspot (there is Wi-Fi at the park office) and it worked very well. We received over 50 OTA TV stations including CBS, ABC, NBC, FOX, and PBS. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
Internal roads are paved, sites are not level, bring your boards, but are spacious, facilities worked well, site was satellite friendly. Staff were friendly, Virgin Mobile MiFi did not work well, AT&T cell service was good. The park was quiet. Rate is based on having a Texas State Park pass. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
We had no trouble with the electric service. It was consistent and our surge protector never interrupted service. However, while this park is scenic and people at the desk were very friendly, this is not a quiet park. It is near a busy 4 lane highway. Also, while our site was level and of adequate length for our 35' coach, many sites appeared to be too short for anything but a small trailer and many appeared unlevel. The restroom was not clean and there was a tree overhanging our site that needed trimming. However, many sites are full hookups which is unusual for a Texas State Park. The main plus is the park's proximity to all the metroplex attractions. It is only about 12 miles from a DART station. We will probably return for that reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Nice park in Dallas. Convenient to shopping, suburbia, and yet you feel like you are in the woods. Some traffic noise and a typical state park camping where neighbors can stay up late with music and no one patrols for quiet hours. We would visit again though, just choose neighbors more carefully. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Again, the electricity at a Texas State Park has been out of limits for surge protection systems: this time 131 volts on both legs. What this means to us, is that we must spend the night with the generator running. I have asked the Director of Texas Parks and Wildlife to initiate a check of systems at all parks, lest RVs are damaged due to this oversight. Otherwise, Cedar Hill is a decent park. Many sites are short doublewide pads, not suitable for our 45 foot rig. Our own pad is filled by the RV, but there is a small parking lot nearby for our towed car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
This is one of our favorite parks. The recent improvements to the big rig sites are great! Our rig is 45' and we have plenty of room. Good walking trails and you are right on the water. Marina inside the park with restuarant. One of our most visited parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
Cedar Hill State Park is a real gem and close to a major metropolitan area. We camped here on a perfect spring weekend directly on the lake. It was still quiet and uncrowded but 20 minutes from downtown Dallas. If you are staying more than a couple of days and depending on the number in your party it is a wise decision to buy a Texas State Park Pass ($70). There is a $7/per person per day state park entrance fee. We have a state park pass so this was waived for our party of four and we received a discount on camping. Texas is a big state so we use the pass a lot even though we are not residents. $25 does not reflect pass discount. The park has full hook ups as well as just electric and water or primitive. Many sites weave around Joe Poole Lake. There is hiking, kayak rentals, and other lake activities. The sites are huge with nice sheltered picnic tables and fire rings. Rangers are all friendly professionals and when we were there a nice group of volunteers. For a state park it is pretty big rig friendly and is an excellent jumping point for visiting the Dallas Fort Worth area. Cedar Hill has all modern amenities and close to Interstate 20. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
We stayed at this park while visiting friends in Arlington. It's about 15 miles away. The park is beautiful. We were given a site right on the water. We purchased an annual Texas pass, which saved us a lot of money on our continued stays at the other state parks during our trip. The sites were very well maintained and staff extremely helpful. We extended our stay an additional day because we liked it so much. Also located close to shopping and gas. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
We camped in the Coyote Crossing loop in spot 332, which is on the water. The pad itself was pretty small and unlevel, but the view from the bottom of the campsite was excellent. We generally prefer more wooded spots and this was definitely not that, but the view was unique and sitting down next to the water during the evenings was great. Firewood can be had down at the marina general store (go straight once you are past the main office building). A Walmart is very close by just a few miles south of the SP on 1382. Penn Farm is worth stopping by to check out and we enjoyed a butter making session from the friendly park interpreter. We'll definitely camp here again, but probably in a more wooded spot. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
We stayed here while on a business trip to the DFW area. What a great find. The parks was nearly empty during the week. All sites are paved and the roads are good. There is plenty of space between most of the sites and the thick trees and shrubs give you privacy. Even in August in Texas, when the temps were in the 100s, we had a good time. We had a site that gave us shade in the morning and afternoon and still had satellite. We are coming back here every time I need to work the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
We have camped at Cedar Hill for many years. The recent renovations added sewer and 50amp hookup options for some sites. Most sites are now concrete paved and the entrance roads have been resurfaced. Some sites are still more rustic, but overall the park has been significantly improved, and it is much cleaner and more modern in all of those improved areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
We took a vacation day so that we would have a chance of getting a campsite with access to the water. All 11 sites we asked about were somehow "reserved" for groups. This despite saying that all sites are first come, first served. The only spot they could find for us that supposedly had access to the water, did not because of cat tails and weeds that extended 20 feet or so into the water. Most of the reserved sites sat vacant for our entire 3 day stay. The closest rest room and showers were not cleaned the entire time we were there. The next shower/rest room up the hill was cleaned daily. The grass had not been mowed for a couple of weeks. What was mowed was very little resulting in an overgrown, unkept appearance to the park. Overall, I think we are pretty much done supporting the state parks. We have bought the passes yearly but prices are still much higher than other types of parks. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
There's several things to see here at this park. I liked seeing the farm. Texas State Parks aren't very low cost given the lack of Wi-Fi and cable TV at sites, but they are not bad. (This one had Wi-Fi at the office.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
We've camped in this park many times. It is a great Sate Park. Restrooms are clean. The park is improving the sites by adding 50 amp and sewer to some sites. Most sites are level and large enough for big rigs. Some are smaller and can only handle tents and pop-ups. Most sites have some shade. Fees are now more for sewer sites: $30/night. As with all State Parks, there is a user fee $5 per day unless you purchase a State Park Pass, which is good at all State Parks. This park is close to Dallas and FT Worth. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
We arrived to find the staff very rude. No ice, no cable, no WI-FI. Along with our $20.00 nightly fee additional $5.00 per person per day for entrance fee. Roads under construction. Once at campsite electrical box continued to shut off. When we arrived it was 103 and inside camper 95. After running all night with fans and re setting air conditioner we went to 85 in camper. Bathrooms had no fans or soap. Toilets over flowing. Ants outside and ended up in our camper. DON'T CAMP HERE! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
Campsites very well maintained, located on Joe Pool lake. There is something for everyone. You'd need days to hike all the trails in the surrounding hills. Only downside is the city noise and how busy the park is almost year round. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Let me start with the good. Lots of trees but also open sites for those of us with rooftop satellite systems. 30 amp and water only but easily accessible dump stations. Roads are in pretty rough condition but are accessible to even the largest rigs and set ups. Our Verizon air card and cell phones worked here. It's also convenient to Dallas and Fort Worth attractions. And, the lake is beautiful with fishing and swimming as well as rental boats. The negative. We are fulltime RV'ers and have run across a lot of rules in our travels. The most frustrating is the charging of a day use fee along with a camping fee. We are of the opinion that if you are paying a camping fee it should include any additional 'day use' fee. If that means you have to raise your rates do it. Charging a secondary fee, in this case $5 per person, per day: is maddening and will probably keep us away in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
This is a huge park. It is within Dallas County and is very convenient to both Dallas, Arlington, Grand Prairie, and Ft. Worth. Most sites are shaded and have covered picnic tables on a slab. One of the camping loops has been re-paved and is very nice. There are some nice lake-front sites although they are very hard to get since it is first come first served. Try to get there when the office opens on an Thursday or Friday morning to get a waterfront site for the weekend. Since this is one of the busiest parks in Texas, the lines can get very long in the peak season so be prepared to wait at least 30 minutes if you get there after 5 PM on a Friday. There are several kiosks but the check-in process is very slow. The shower/restrooms facilities are plentiful in each loop and are usually well maintained/clean. Watch out for scorpions in the summer as well as chiggers. Both are abundant at this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
Been here about 6 times prior to this, usually aim for same site -- shaded. Registration is always friendly, but time consuming. A Texas State Park membership saves daily gate admission; but camping rate is very reasonable. The bathroom/shower is my biggest and only complaint (though I wish they had full-hookups and pull-though sites). This is a State Park (how many have completely level sites or the other things on my wish list?), so there you are. Outdoor temp was in the 100+ range and the humidity not far behind. I used the shower my first night and felt like Alec Guiness in that hot box in the Bridge on the River Kwai. I suppose working in a commercial laundry runs a close second. The shower stalls were very spacious, the 'aim' and 'stream' required some adjustments. Few campgrounds have enough hooks, etc. for the toiletry bag, etc. The entire park (lake, beach, marina) is very nice and I'd certainly stay there again. It is a bit rustic...but we're supposed to be camping, after all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
We arrived on a Friday, and spent 30 minutes in line to get checked in (with reservations). However, the staff was courteous. The campground is nice, and sites are spaced well for privacy, typical for Texas State Parks. It's very green this time of year. The description says lighted fishing piers, but the one in the back wasn't lit at all. Not sure about the one near the arena. The wireless Internet is only available at the the office, so don't plan on any access from your camper. The bathrooms are very clean, and there are some nice lake views. It was convenient to Arlington, and we drove over for a Rangers game. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
This park is really close to Dallas making it a quick place to go to get close to nature. Overall this is a very nice park. I enjoy a bike ride or a walk and you can do that here. A couple of the main roads are a little rough. Some spots in the area I was in you could see the lake but for the most part it seemed to be only wilderness. I'll be back again sometime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
This is a really nice park; a quick get-away close to city life but yet it seems like a lifetime away from the hustle and bustle. Wi-fi is only available in the parking lot of the main entrance, but there are wonderful bike trails, a great swimming spot on the lake and a quaint little farm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2009
$24
While we loved the park overall, there were a few things that they neglected to tell us. Like when you have a moped on the back of your motorhome you have to pay $4 even if you don't take it off. They also said that if i bought a Texas state park pass ($60)so that all of us (wife and two kids)can get in the park without having to pay the $5 entry fee every day. I found out later that they wouldn't let my wife back into the park unless i walked out to the gate and drove her in myself, seeing that I was the park pass holder. We aren't staying there anymore! too expensive! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
Love this Park. Very spacious, Clean restrooms, very friendly staff, They let me know up front what the prices where. $20.00 a night, $5.00 entry fee per person. If you have a Park pass it covers your entry fee. Penn Farm is awesome, loves the trails. Make sure you check about burn ban before you wanna make a fire. Lots of wildlife. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
The official rate of $20 per night is greatly misleading. This only applies if you are a Texas State Parks Pass holder. There is lots of traffic, boom boxes and speeding vehicles. This is a Saturday and it would probably be quieter if it was a week day, however this is speculation. All the sites are back-in. The tall grass prairie is beautiful but there is not enough of it. There is plenty of local shopping which is a plus. Not sure if we would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
This is a wonderful state park close to the Dallas/Fort Worth area. We camped in site #231 in the Hog Wallow area. What a great site, we will return and request the site once again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
There is construction going on in the parking lot where you enter so you need to be careful. Big park with plenty of sites but it is a older state park and sites must be chosen carefully. Only a few sections where 26 foot trailers and on up can camp. Just pick your site carefully. The park signs are non-existent so stay on your toes when trying to find it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Bigger park than most state parks in Texas. Very spread out and if you are in one of the outer loops it is a LONG walk to the Marina or Penn Farm. Penn Farm is an original farm homestead within the park boundaries with many remaining buildings. As a whole the park was nice and reasonably maintained. Some of the sites were unlevel and there was a high percentage (to us) of people disregarding the rules as far as speed limit, number of vehicles at a site and quiet time. I would venture a guess this park might be just a bit on the rowdy side when warm weather gets here and the boating crowd takes over. It is a GREAT ESCAPE if you are just looking for something close to the Metroplex. It is only 5 mile south of I20. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2005
$20
If you could get past the complete ineptness of the people who work the front gate, the place could have definite potential. Okay, first the good. The sites come in small, medium and large, lake side, lake view and woodsy. There are clean, heated bathrooms with showers in every loop area. The sites are fairly spread out in areas so it's really not to bad for tenters and RVers alike. The hiking trails are not terrible and the birdwatching is very nice. Now for the bad. It took over 45 minutes to check in (and there were at least a half dozen volunteers and rangers wandering about and only 3 customers). They won't allow you to drive through and choose a site before paying, and to pay you have to choose a site unseen. Then they tell you to just come back and switch if you find something you like better. There were only about 80 sites open to choose from (even though other closed areas had RV's all over the place) Okay, to begin with I had come out 4 days prior to our stay to drive around and find a spot. I had to go through a huge deal to get a 30 minute pass. With that said I quickly found a spot in one of the areas the lady had circled as open on the map. I confirmed with the office (after another 30 minute wait) that new years weekend we'd be back and that we shouldn't have any problem getting the site I had chosen. Upon returning 4 days later they said that area was closed for the winter. I mentioned that there were other campers there just a few days ago and she said "oh well, they probably live there". I paid for a site based on her recommendation and went to look around. We eventually found another sufficiant spot and had to go through another 45 minute ritual to get the site switched. They had to keep re printing receipts and then proceeded to write all over them (covering the number to the front office). I paid $20 per night for 2 nights plus $5 per person for 2 nights for a total of $60. At 8:00 AM the second morning I had a ranger stop to tell me that we were supposed to have checked out the day before and that I needed to get to the front office and take care of that immediately. He never looked at the sticker displayed in my windshield. I couldn't call, because I couldn't read the number on the receipt, so we had to drive up AGAIN and straighten out a mistake they had made. It's a shame that all this ineptness has to interfere with an otherwise lovely camping weekend. I would return for a short backpacking trip or some mountain biking, but I don't think I could stomach that office experience again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$24
Truly a wonderful park! Lots of trees makes it a great place for hiking and biking even in a hot Texas summer. We live in North Dallas and have stayed in this park 3 times in the last 6 months. For us, it's a great way to feel like we are out of town without having to make the drive. The biggest downside is limited lakefront access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$24
Fee of $24 was $18 for site and $6 for 2 persons (Texas resident). Would be $5/Person out of state. First come first serve, reserving spot at check-in was no guarantee as someone else had parked there before we could get into the slot. Would be worthwhile to make daytrip there to scope out slots you want. Lots of roads and trails for bike riding. Fishing access was limited. Fair playground on southern end of park. We ended up in the Shady Ridge area. A fair share of sites are short/double wide and weren't long enough to drop 26' TT and park truck next to it. Almost everything is on hills, but only took about 4" of blocks to level TT at ours. Good roads to it, and very convenient to Dallas and Fort Worth. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$15
Very nice state park close to Dallas. Very nice camp sites with shade and lake access. Many fun mountian bike trails that are well maintaned. Lots to do in the park with a family. Highly recommend!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Park is an older park and not all sites will accommodate newer models/lengths. Sites closest to the water are the smallest. Park has a marina and restaurant, hiking/birding trails and tour of an historic farm. It is a great location if you need to be in the south part of Dallas. December, 2002 We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com