214403 User submitted reviews online!!
River Ranch RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (830) 625-7788
CGID2859

River Ranch RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   3   9   9   8   9   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$26
Strange park by Guadalupe River but under and between 2 overpasses. Appearance is excellent but kept checking under the trailer for homeless! Completely concrete. Excellent WiFi, I would stay here again. Just a strange little park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$55
This is an interesting little park. Even though they advertise themselves as a "RV Resort", they're not. Yet, its more than a simple "stop over". This park is super clean, and that is emphasized with all the cement. They offer a volleyball net and a horseshoe pit, though both are set in a strange setting under a bridge. No pool, or exercise facilities, and they have more than usual rules that are enforced. The WIFI here was outstanding and we were in the back of the park, we were fortunate to receive a riverside site. They also inquired about the year and model/make of our fifth wheel, yet there are some long-term renters with less than ideal trailers. This place can be tough to maneuver if you have a bigger rig. Ours is 40 in length and the park staff had to ask 3 cars to move,temporally, so that we could back into our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
It is between 2 bridges and can get road noise, but nice park...made sure we were next to our friends...sites are level and easy for a 45 ft motorhome to maneuver, but entrance off main road is hard for GPS to pick up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2012
$52
We have stayed here several years while attending Wursfest. Although it is very convenient, it does not suit us any more. When we first stayed here, they inquired about the age and condition or our trailer, but now it does not seem to matter how old or what condition a trailer is in. They now do not allow camp fires of ANY kind. Now they no longer allow kids to ride ANYTHING in the park: no bicycles, push scooters or anything. Our kids were riding scooters in the VACANT spot next to ours and the park host came over to rudely tell them to quit. On top of all of this, and the loud traffic noise, our group of four campers will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
This is the umpteenth time we've stayed at River Ranch and again I'm impressed. River Ranch is by far the cleanest private RV park I've ever stayed it. Sure there is highway noise, but I'd rather hear the constant "thump thump" of cars than a train or loud partiers. It's almost inaudible over my AC. You just can't beat the location of RRV. It's on the Guadalupe River. We've floated home several times from the Comal. Plus it's about 1mile (walking distance or a $10 cab ride) from downtown New Braunfels. If you're looking for a place to have a beer party, you won't like it here. If you want a clean park for your family to use as a home base for anything in New Braunfels, you'll love it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This is our second time here. We like the park, though to back in a large trailer, you have to back on the 'blind side.' The lady who parked us was very good at directing and made it a lot easier. Once in, the sites are nice but a bit close. Highway noise was not a problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
This Park is extremely clean, lighted and well kept. The location is unusual due to being right under a major Interstate highway. We did not find it to be a problem. Inside with the AC on, you could barely hear it. Outside, you do hear it. We were on the side away from the Interstate, actually under the Bus. 35. It was a little quieter. The big draw for us was the River. Our coach was about 15 feet from the River. Just beautiful looking out our front window. We parked facing in and ran our hook ups under the Coach. It was worth it. There are lots of big trees, ducks, turtles, squirrels and fish. Even the old bridge under Bus. 35 is beautiful. Our site was very large, all concrete with a grass picnic table area. The laundry and shower/restrooms looked real nice but I could not use them because of the highly perfumed cleaners that they used. I have never had that problem anywhere else. You could smell it before you opened the door. The location is perfect for doing all the touristy things and shopping. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We went to Dinner, a storm blew in. The Camp Hosts came during the storm and took down our awning. All of hosts were very nice. We came for 2 days and stayed a week. Our rate reflects Good Sam and a weekly rate. One day with no memberships is $52.50 for the great River spots. We would definitely return if there were River spots available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
The comments about the highway noise are overstated. Never really noticed, but the A/C was running just about the whole time. Also, no noise problems from the public boat ramp next door, and we were on that side. If you will be in your trailer during the afternoon in the summer, PAY EXTRA FOR THE RIVERFRONT SITES, or you won't be in the shade until after 6pm. Nice park w/ level concrete pads. Restrooms exceptionally clean and well air conditioned. Only downside was no place for my daughter to ride her bike w/o being on the only access road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
We're back again at RRV. This is by far the cleanest RV park we've ever stayed in (and we've stayed in a few) with the easiest pull in and hook-ups. According to our New Braunfels cab driver RRV is the most family friendly park in the area and we agree. Location wise: it rocks. You can get a cab from the park to pretty much anywhere in town or Gruene for less than $15 and Corner Tubes will pick you up at the park for about that much. You can float either the Comal or the Guadalupe all the way back to the park. You just have to portage around a small dam. We usually float the Comal back to the park. It adds about an hour to your trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Great staff at this park. Has a wonderful view of the river. All and all, has the WOW factor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This is a small park, in an odd location (almost directly under I-35. It's somewhat cramped, but we were able to get into our spot fairly easily. The staff was helpful, and the concrete sites are very nice. You can hear the highway noise outside, but inside with the AC on you can't hear it at all. The river is very nice, and accessible. The cable television and Wi-Fi worked great. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
Perfect except for the road noise. This is a very clean park with all paved and level sites running along the Guadalupe river. Laundry facilities are clean and not busy. The park is between 2 overpasses so traffic noise is a little annoying. Lots of shopping nearby and about 25 minutes from downtown San Antonio. Staff is very friendly and helpful. If you like fishing, this is a great place to check out. Park also has a boat ramp into river. Our site was right on the river. It's a difficult RV park to find because of the location, but worth the effort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
This is a very nice campground: all sites are concrete and all roads are paved. Big grassy area to walk dogs right along the river. The laundry room is big for a campground this size (4 washers/4 dryers) and everything is neat and well-maintained. The only problem is the traffic noise from the I-35 bridge. We had to leave our fan on all night to cover the noise. Good location: probably would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
Very clean park with all paved and level sites running along the Guadalupe river. Laundry facilities are also very clean and not busy. The park is between 2 overpasses so traffic noise can get annoying. Lots of shopping nearby and about 25 minutes from downtown San Antonio. Staff is very friendly and helpful. If you like fishing, this is a great place to check out. Park also has a boat ramp into river. We camped here in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$39
It is located between 2 bridges and has road noise, but to me it was just white noise so no problem. It is compact but not a problem for a 45 footer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$28
We stayed here for 3 weeks. The rate was $28.00 a night for the weekly rate and with the Good Sam Member discount. The park was spotless. Each spot has concrete and is level. There is also a picnic table and nice sized grass area for each site. You can walk right down to the river to feed the geese and fish. There is no playground for kids, but there is a huge field with horseshoes and volleyball net that the kids can run around at. Park staff is very friendly. I would definitely stay here again as the park was not crowded so they did not put guests right next to each other. The sites are also huge and roomy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$52
I was very impressed with this campground. For years we always drove past and wondered why anyone would want to camp under a highway. Well, we decided to try it out over Labor Day weekend. We had plans to stay at Garner State Park through Labor Day but we were getting tired of the crowd at the park and decided to leave early and head to New Braunfels. I called River Ranch to see if they had any sites and to my surprise they did. We arrived and were warmly greeted by the staff/owners. I asked jokingly if we could have their best site and they told me that it just became available. We got the corner waterfront site that had a beautiful view of the Guadalupe River and bridge. The water was no more than 10 feet from our trailer door. We couldn’t have asked for a better site. The park was immaculate. There was a park attendant driving around in a golf cart keeping all of the sites tidy. I was even impressed how he would wipe down each picnic table as people would leave their site. All of the sites were level and concrete and were in excellent shape. Each site had its own little patch of manicured grass with a picnic table. There really isn’t much shade unless you are in one of the water front sites. In the late afternoon, one of the bridges does offer shade for most of the park. The highway noise really didn’t bother us either. It’s a whole lot better than the sound of trains that rumble through other parts of town all day and night. Check out their website and look at the pictures of the park that way you know what to expect when you get there. One note of caution about this park, since it lies on the Guadalupe River, it is prone to flooding during heavy rains. Keep an eye on the weather during your stay. We didn’t watch the news in several days and had no idea about tropical storm Hermine which was barreling its way up to us. Luckily the park owners keep a close watch on weather and alerted us to the possibility of flooding along the river. We heeded their warning and moved our trailer to a site on higher ground. We headed back home on Tuesday just as the storm rolled in. We will definitely be back next season, hopefully with better weather. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
This was a totally neat park in an unexpected location. Hidden under a freeway overpass on the bank of the Guadalupe River, the park makes great use of otherwise unusable land. Despite being under the interstate, the noise didn't bother us. All the sites are level concrete with room to park additional vehicles. Maneuvering with a big rig requires some experience or patience, but staff members escorted campers to their sites and assisted as ground-guides until campers were parked. All staff members were very friendly and accommodating. Bath houses were the cleanest I've ever seen. The park is pet-friendly and has a nice grassy area for dogs. Call ahead for park information and reservations as there are a ton of requirements that must be met before campers are authorized to use the park, i.e. age of rig, size and breed of pets, etc. Great park. We intend to plan a special trip in the future for more than just a night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$35
Very well maintained campsite with friendly and helpful staff. Laundry & restrooms have coded locks and are immaculately clean. We would not stay in the middle of the campground again because it was crowded. If we stay here again, it will be on a river site. Even though this park is close to the I-35 highway, we didn't mind the constant hum of traffic as much as the continual traffic coming and going into the camp site itself since sites are right on the driveway. Pets are allowed, but if more than one dog, the charge is $3.00 extra per day which seems excessive and I don't understand. There is a large riverside grassy area to walk dogs. Bottom line, this is a very nice clean RV park and is close to many stores, shopping malls, theater in beautiful New Braunfels. We would stay here again in a waterfront site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$39
Have stayed here several times, the last one for seven months. Will return. Very friendly staff and a very clean campground. The only reason for not giving a perfect 10 is the road noise from the TWO Interstate highway bridges running down both sides of the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
We stayed here one night en route to south Texas. It is a handy RV park off I-35 but the interstate noise is prominent. The sites are very nice: newer utility posts, all slabs are concrete. Restrooms are nice but key-locked and we had to get a key from the manager after office hours. The directions were confusing and we missed any signs the first time. Nice river path nearby to walk pets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$38
This is a small park right on the river and directly under I-35 the site are level, the staffs friendly, can't get any closer to the freeway to get back on. The directions to get there are a bit convoluted regardless of what books i used to get there but we finely found it, grounds are immaculate . The only reason I gave this park a 5 is because of the noise both cars and trains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
The staff is very friendly and seemed to care about the comfort of each individual. However, we were supposed to be in a deluxe site which was in the middle of the campground. These are not the best sites and should be standard and not deluxe. They are small sites for a 38ft trailer, the sites on the river (13 and 14) were much bigger and should have cost the most but were the cheapest and in the shade. We would stay here again, but not in the center of the campground. You do not need your golf cart in this campground, it is on the small side. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$29
Very modern campground with all concrete roomy sites. Close to river. Biggest negative was you are parked directly under I-35 and access roads. Noise was loud and constant. We stayed 2 nights because we made reservation by phone prior to arrival. Would look for a quieter campground if we come to New Braunfels again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$30
Wow! I haven't been to a park this clean before. The bath houses were spotless, they had a very nice clean laundry facility. The staff were very genuine, friendly, and knowledgable about the area. We had free cable tv with I know over 50 channels or so and free wi fi with great connection. The park is located right off the I 35 on the beautiful Guadalupe river. We highly reccomend anyone to check this one out. We made reservations to return during spring break next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$45
Although we only spent one night here, we will come back and spend more time in this area. Our site was on the river, and very roomy and level. We made our reservation On-line, and found that there were other, less expensive, sites available when we got there. Next time we'll call for our reservation to see what is available at that time. Another very minor complaint would be the directions on both their Website and in the directories. Upon exiting the park, we decided that there is an easier way into the park for our next visit. However, as I said earlier, we will be back for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$45
This is the perfect place to spend a night or two. We saw the sign on HWY I35 traveling to Austin, it was late and we were tired of driving, we pulled up and were greeted warmly by the on site manager. He escorted us to a site, helped with the hook ups, and said we can handle the paper work in the morning. This is a beautiful clean state of the art resort with all sites 20/30/50 amp full hookups, paved roads, cement pads, and each site has its own patio and picnic table. The bath houses were spotless, and we had free WiFi and over 70 cable TV channels. We definitely will be back in the summer to enjoy the beautiful river the resort sit on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We chose RRV simply because they were the only park in New Braunfels that had any vacancy for our weekend and allowed pets, plus they still have reasonable prices. Nightly prices are from $30 for a “standard” site to $45 for a “deluxe river view”. The park also has weekly rates. All rates are for 2 persons, up to 2 pets, and 1 veh. All sites are concrete with 20/30/50 amp, water, sewer, cable and WIFI included. I hear the park was obliterated by the floods of 2004 so everything is very new. The staff also indicated that they just opened in Oct (2007). Be prepared that the Guadalupe CAN flood like any river. This park is right on the river. When you check in you will have to sign a waiver allowing them to move your rig if you’re not there and a flood is coming. River Ranch is located along the Guadalupe River underneath Interstate 35 and Hwy 81 bridges. All sites are concrete although we found ours was a little off level side to side. My wife didn’t have a problem with it but I’m a bit obsessive with level. Bring your blocks or levelers. There are only about 6 pull through sites. All have a picnic table and bit of grass. The park has a boat ramp, restrooms and laundry facilities and a boat ramp. What I liked: The staff are friendly and helpful. They guide you to, and assist with backing in to your site. I had some problems getting on the WIFI and even though the office was closed the gentleman who answered came by to help. The river access is awesome even if you are not in a river front sight. You could theoretically tube down the Comal or Guadalupe right to the park, but I doubt many do! I also liked that there are “work-campers” who live in the park are accessible and patrol the park to make sure everything is OK. What I didn’t like: The biggest drawback to this park is the highway noise from I-35. Our trailer has tent ends and it didn’t bother us too much but if you’re looking for that “camping” feel you won’t get it at RRV. RRV also borders a city park & public boat ramp. There is a short fence partially separating RRV from this park. I gather that RRV tried to put up a “flood friendly” fence, but I really didn’t feel very secure and would have appreciated a taller fence that went all the way up to the road. Overall: RRV is a nice friendly new park with great great river access. We spent a lot of time swimming and tubing in the river right next to our trailer. Their prices and location are great! However the park is under the highway and next to a city boat ramp. If you are looking for a “destination” RRV is not for you. If you are looking for a great place to put your RV while in New Braunfels this is a decent place to stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
Although just below Interstate 35, it was very peaceful. Right on the river. The managers were very nice and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2005
$
Campground is closed, evidently to prior flooding. Website was up, but phone was disconnected and campground was closed. It must have happened in 11/2004 from what I could find out about news accounts. . .felt that they could have noted that on the website instead of letting it look like they were open and causing us to divert to them and then have to turn around and leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$22
This nice park is on the Guadalupe River and has access for tubing, small watercraft, etc. Nice sites with good electric (during the summer heat, this was important.) We would stay there again! It's a nice location to explore New Braunfels, Gruene ("Green"), and the San Antonio area from. DO watch for the entrance, though...it's the light that's before (heading south) or after (heading north) the river from the Business 35 road. No problem for Big Rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com