215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Williamsburg KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 96 user reviews. Phone: (757) 565-2907
CGID3104

Williamsburg KOA

Camp Information
Sites
370
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$67



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   5   9   9   10   8   5   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$67
We stayed in site D-43, which was a pull thru with patio, fire pit, and swing. It was a very clean and well put together campground, with great amenities. The staff was extremely friendly. The park itself is close to all the tourist sites and they sell tickets in the office. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$73
I would've rated this campground higher if they had paid just a little more attention to detail. Perhaps April is a little early in their season to stay here because they didn't seem ready. The cabin we stayed in was dirty when we arrived and the park in general was in need of some TLC. The campground store offered little outside of souvenirs but there is a Wal-Mart located a short drive from here. Camp staff was very friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$65
Close to I-64 and shopping and Colonial Williamsburg, we were here only overnight after having made an advance reservation back in early March. We used none of the facilities but we found this park is similar to many KOAs. An OK park but not exceptional and more suited for RVs that are not Class A's. The first site assigned we could not get level on without BOTH front wheels being off the ground so obviously the sites need some work they probably won't get now that the spring/summer season is starting to kick in. We moved to another spot and it was OK but perhaps because it was under the trees, it was mostly fall leaves and dirt outside the door. I am sure it is really dusty when the weather is dry. OK for an overnight but I would not want to spend a full vacation here. We also had to rehook our toad right in front of the office as there is no level area to rehook for those of us with toads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$68
Great campground, restrooms and showered we're very clean. Staff was very friendly, check in was smooth. We were here in late September so they were a little slower. Very close to everything you might want to visit. Sites are nice, some would be tight for large rigs, but many are suited for large rigs. We stayed in a 40' fifth wheel and had no problems. Nice pool and jumping pillows for the kids. Quiet at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$47
While expensive, we had a free night's stay at a KOA so decided to try this campground out, and I think I will return. Very nice, well kept campground. Bath houses were always clean, as was the pool area and the grounds in general. We seemed to have the perfect site for our little trailer, backed up at the edge of the park, the site we had was nicely sized and always in the shade, though others were smaller and some tent sites were basically in a field. They did have nice group tenting sites, all with power. The campground is close to all the attractions but still away from the highway and peaceful. The staff was also excellent and very friendly. My only complaint was the spotty Wi-Fi. It would not work at all when the campground was busy, I guess too much traffic, but was still slow or stopped when the crowds had cleared out. Other then that, I would recommend the campground and stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$75
Although this park is more expensive than many we have stayed at, we enjoy this park and recommend it frequently. The camp is clean, the store is great, the staff goes above and beyond, and we love camping there. If you are looking for a great family campground you can't go wrong with the Williamsburg KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Large campground with lots of activities for children. Our site was across from the pool, but the noise was not a problem. In fact the new water features provided a relaxing sound, especially at night after the pool is closed. The restrooms were small but located throughout the park. The only negatives involved the sewer connection and the poor Wi-Fi. The sewer connection was too high (some things will not flow uphill even with help)and at the wrong end of the site . The Wi-fi connection was erratic at best and often reset after just 5 minutes. You will be doing well to check your e-mail for urgent issues and respond to those. Forget reading all your messages. Even with these issues we would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$64
Upon check in you are charged an additional $3.00 a day resort fee, not mentioned in making reservations. Dog run trash not cleaned often. Wi-Fi worked 10% of the time. Sights weren't all that bad but nothing spectacular for the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$44
We had a flat, level, gravel pull through site. There was a picnic table and fire pit. Lots of trees in the campground, but gravel, access roads were good, and the spaces were wide enough for the trees not to be a problem. The WI-FI worked well. AT&T cell phone coverage was weak. The KOA had a promotion of camp on Friday and Saturday night and get Thursday night for free; this was an unexpected good deal for us. This was a great campground; my only complaint is I have never been in a campground with so many barking dogs in trailers while their owners were away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$51
We stayed at the Williamsburg KOA Colonial and had a great experience. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, even though we arrived after 8 PM, leading us to our site and assisting with hook-up. The campground was very neat and clean, as was the laundry, and well-maintained. Although we were only minutes from the interstate the campground was exceptionally quiet. Getting to historical Williamsburg was a breeze. We are already making plans to return to this campground again next year when we can stay longer in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
Little tight for big rigs, the first site was too unlevel. We were upgraded to a premium site, concrete with pavers. It was very tight getting turned around - we have a 40' 5th wheel, towed with a Hauler. The employees were very helpful. Lot of trees but we were able to get roof-top satellite. Back-in sites may be better for satellite and looked deeper. Sprint cell/MiFi, electric, water and sewer worked well. Did not try cable or Wi-Fi. Our intention was to visit family, so we did not pay attention to discounts to surrounding attractions. Dog friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
There are two KOAs right next to each other - Colonial and Williamsburg - It looks like they bought out a neighboring campground. You sign in at the Colonial KOA. This is convenient to the freeway and Williamsburg, but very quiet and has lots of trees. There are some Premium sites with paved pads but the rest of the pads are gravel and many are uneven. The campground was pretty empty when we arrived in mid fall but we were given a very small, treeless site. We asked to be moved and were given the choice of several much nicer sites. The Wi-Fi is very limited and there is almost no Verizon cell reception. The pool, shower house and laundry is very clean and nice. Lots of washers and dryers all functional. The office staff were very helpful and pleasant. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$64
We stayed there in a 42ft motor home. Tight for a large motor home. Drive ways are not laid out for such. Very difficult to maneuver. Gravel sites. First site was impossible to get the coach into. The second was so unlevel we had to use blocks under the jack. A great park for smaller units, but they should not take larger motor homes. Close to I-95, easy to get on and off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$68
A very nice KOA with an excellent staff. Sites are shaded and fairly large. If you do not mind gravel sites and roads, this is a great park close to Colonial Williamsburg. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$60
We stayed the week prior to Memorial Day. Campground was well maintained. Sites are close together, but we didn't have neighbors until the last night. There are seasonal spots but there was no junk piled around like you see at some parks. Staff was helpful and friendly. We didn't like the spot we were assigned so a staff member drove me around in a cart to scope out other sites until I found what we wanted. We don't like having roads on two sides because of our small kids. He then helped me back in. It got very busy the Friday of the holiday weekend and we left the following morning. We had the pancake breakfast before leaving; it was worth going to and saved from having to clean up after the meal. Another staff member (the owner I think) did open the bouncy pillow early for me one morning. Our daughter loved the bouncy pillow and we did use the pool. I would go back, but not during a holiday period. The pillow and pool get very crowded, and as with any campground a holiday brings a lot of noise and traffic. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
Great campground with a really nice staff. It is a bit of a drive to Williamsburg but nothing prohibitive. The lots are nice and big and the grounds are kept very clean. Nice bathrooms too. Definitely recommend this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$82
We stayed here overnight on our way to another place . Pulled in after hours and the map with our campsite number was nicely label on the front door of the office. We made our way to the site, slowly but surely as the road names are hard to see at night. The site was nice and clean, I think we were E45. Looks like a great place to spend a few days when visiting Williamsburg as it is just a few miles down the road. Wifi was decent, site was dirt and level (not sure if they have paved sites). We will be back for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$46
Friendly staff at check in. Clean facilities. Sites not terribly level where we were although some more expensive sites had concrete pads, etc. No one let us to campsite and finding it was a bit confusing. We were there mid-week and off-season but I suspect this park can be FULL and crowded and noisy. It was OK and served our needs, but would not camp here again - would find someplace else if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$53
Nice sized sites, although my pull through had quite a slope to it, but was very level side to side. There was easy access to the Interstate, and not far to the area's attractions. It was an added bonus to buy Williamsburg tickets at the campground, and get out of standing in what can be a very long line at the visitor center. Staff was very helpful and pleasant, and overall it was a positive experience. As a prior reviewer said, it does take a bit of planning to pull in and out with a big trailer, (mine is 58' overall), but it is manageable. I would stay here again, happily. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$57
What I’m looking for in campgrounds is easy big rig access, full hookup at 50 amp, level sites, secure area, and clean restrooms. Drive-through, Wi-Fi and cable TV are bonus features which are much appreciated. I have no interest in a pool, a dog run, or kid’s activities. I’m here to see sights in the area and the campground is simply a place to park my 37‘ rig. The campground has sites that are level and some that slope. I had no problem leveling but some may. The pull through was no problem but leaving the campground site needed some planning as low hanging trees and maneuverability was something to consider. Personally, I had no problem. The campground was quiet and nestled in among tall trees and easy access to the interstate. I'd camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$53
This campground is a mixed bag when rating it. Overall the campground is well maintained and ascetically pleasing. The sites range from level and easy to maneuver in and out, others which are very unlevel. One trailer, near our site required six inch blocks under the tires to gain level. Our site was a level pull through which has a large tree preventing pulling a large trailer out of the site. Concrete pads sites would be an option if the cost wasn’t so high. As previously noted the roads are a bit tight. There are over 100 cable stations. Electric and water pressure are good. Location is ideal for touring the local attractions. Would consider staying here again after looking at other area campgrounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
We like this campground. It's about an hour from our home and is our go to when we need a quick getaway. The staff is VERY friendly & helpful, the facilities are nice & they have great activities for the kids. The pool is beautiful! It's near Busch Gardens, we come back to the campground for naps & lunch and go back for the rest of the day. We have camped here in several different sites, one time we had a staff person tell us that because we had German Shepherds we were not allowed to stay in our favorite site (which we had stayed in several times with the dogs before), but they let us have it and most of the staff comes into our site to love our big furry family members anyway. Highly recommend - the kids love the pool and jumping pillow. Gave only 8 stars because the playground needs up dating - but really, with everything else, they don't miss it much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$68
This is another one of those old, typical KOA's. When making our reservation, I asked for a premium, paved site. The site that was available when we arrived was all dirt and grass, and we had a difficult time leveling. The roads were narrow and very tight. It rained the night before we left, and we were walking around in 3 inches of mud all around the motorhome. I know there are very few options in the Williamsburg area, but I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$79
One of the nicest KOA campgrounds we have stayed in. We were escorted to our site which was not huge but sufficient. The site was a gravel pad. We had no trouble leveling the coach. It was close to Colonial Williamsburg. It was expensive but enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
Beautiful setting and convenient location make this a terrific campsite for the Williamsburg area. New concrete patios to accompany the concrete pads keep the sites clean. The pool is clean and well kept. Showers and bathhouses are also well kept. The only drawback to this campground (and the only reason it did not get a 10) is the dreadfully slow internet Wi-Fi connection. Don't miss the Bounce Pillow: the kids loved it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$58
This park is an average KOA with all the expected amenities. I found the layout of the park (Colonial Section) a little strange in that it's laid out sort of like a figure eight with the pool and playground at the center. So fewer sites are near the activity center. And that is what brings me to giving it a low rating. As it seems to happen more and more frequently, especially at KOA's, the reservation desk will promise you anything, until they get your credit card number, with no intention of fulfilling your needs or requests. We were promised a certain site ("one of three back-ins facing the pool") but were made to take a site that was two spaces from the entrance driveway. I had taken the clue from a previous rating and asked for a site where the kids would be close to the pool and playground. My mistake was telling the kids and they ended up disappointed with me. Park reservations staffs need to remember that campers are customers and will ultimately only buy from suppliers that meet their needs. A follow-up e-mail note of apology, including a discount coupon for "your next visit", did not impress the Grandkids or me. There probably won't be a "next visit". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$76
I would have rated this park higher if we didn't come across problems and a not so great site. When booking, make sure you ask to be in the Colonial section and near the pool, jumping pillow area. Much nicer area. The front of the park is not so great: sites aren't very level and were very small (no room). If we decide to return: we would prefer a premium site with a concrete pad. However, for the price I would rather go to Bethpage & Grey's Point. We did enjoy our time. The pool was not heated when we tried to use it: burrrrrr. The people at the front desk are not very nice and I noticed they were constantly moving people around. Not very good hospitality. If you book a site, make sure you ask for a specific site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$50
We camped here for a weekend getaway. This campground has a lot to offer. The kids loved the jump pillow and heated pool. Our dog loved the K9 Camp area. Tornadoes blew through the area and put a damper on the weekend, but KOA had nothing to do with that. The sites are a little tight and some are a bit out of level. All in all I give this campground a very high rating and we will certainly return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$56
We stayed in the colonial (new) section of this KOA. We had a very pleasant stay. Staff was very friendly and CG was clean and well kept. Trash was picked up daily. Big rigs are better suited for campsites at the rear of the CG near the activity field. Other pull through sites have many low hanging trees a problem for big rigs. Williamsburg is a short 5 miles or so from CG. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$39
This is a typical KOA, clean & well maintained. All sites are shaded & tight. Very friendly staff. All the amenities of a family campground. We had a pull through site, but had to disconnect our tow dolly and back out of the site because of very slim roads & not enough turn radius for a big rig (40 ft). Rate was a fall special listed under "Hot Deals" on KOA website. We had FHU/50amp. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
The roads to the pull throughs were tight but ample. My family loved this campground. We stayed 3 nights. There were activities for kids, the store was well stocked, staff was friendly, and the campground was clean. I can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We stayed 3 nights in the Colonial Section of the Williamsburg KOA. It was a nice KOA with great activities for the children. The campground is central to all the Williamsburg area activities. The site we had (E93) was great. It was at the end of the park and had a wonderful grass area for the picnic table and fire ring. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$65
We were given a pull through site near the office. Site was narrow. We were between a pole and a tree.We barely had enough room to put out slides and the awning. We could not sit outside at our site - too close to neighboring site's sewer hook up. Many empty larger sites but they were not offered to us. Very costly campground more for its location than for the camping value. Will not camp here again and will not recommend this campground to members of our camping group We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$74
We appreciated the two bright yellow KOA signs to keep us on track finding the campground on the winding road leading to it. We were escorted to our pull-through, FHU 50/30 site in the Colonial section. It required 5 blocks in front to level. Rock should have been more plentiful to keep dirt down. Bathroom and showers were clean and adequate but wish cleaning time wasn’t 9-11am. Nice store. Friendly staff helped give directions to area attractions with preprinted handout. Appreciated the help at nice pool and with sewer which didn’t have a cap at our arrival. Free jumping pillow and playground. Good free WiFi and cable TV. Few bugs. Pleasant, attractive campground. Nice dog exercise agility area but waste bag dispenser was never refilled during our 3 days, maybe why multiple other users didn’t pick up after their dogs. Pretty pricey probably due to area tourist attractions. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Stayed 4 days and the campground smelled of rotten fish the whole time. Complained several times after finding the dead fish in a creek bank behind our campsite. The "staff" was mainly young "sonshiners" which lead to several confusing situations, making our stay less than satisfactory. There are two seperate campgrounds in this KOA and they have different rules, especially about golf carts. Most of the gameroom machines were out of order. Pool was small [our campground] and cold. Gravel sites and roads. There are several other campgrounds nearby that are less money [one with better facilities and one with worse]. We will stay somewhere else next time. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$62
We planned a stop here for a short nights rest on our way back north. I've always had good luck at KOA except this one. I had my wife call and make the reservation while I fueled up. The reservation agent did not ask her if we wanted a back-in or pull-thru. My only request was for full hookups. I had check the website earlier and found a rate (with taxes) of $56.56. My wife said the total was $62.50 so I figured we were getting a premium spot. We arrived at 10 minutes until 10 pm - closing time is 10 p.m. The woman at the front desk told us we would have to get back on the main road and go to the next entrance - about another 1/4 mile. She called the office to have someone wait for us since it was just before closing. To get back to the road I had to back up in the dark - not fun. We arrived at the second entrance and had trouble getting oriented. Unlike the first entrance, this one was all gravel, signage and lighting were poor. I went up to the office to find the door locked. I called the phone number and the woman who answered said we would find a map on the door. It was on the door so I it was up to us to find our spot. I studied the map for awhile as it was dark, there were no "street signs" and we had to make our way around by looking for buildings and spot numbers. We passed many empty sites, including pull-thrus, on the way to our site. When we arrived at our site B-07 I could not believe that they would put us there in a 34' class A motorhome. Again, it was dark, there were no lights, and we were surrounded by trees and other obstacles including picnic tables, fire rings, etc. Our spot was sloped quite a bit and to get in I had to pull into the spot in front of us. Good thing that stop was empty otherwise there is not way that we could have got in. I pulled into the spot in front of ours and jumped out to study the terrain. When I got out the electric step dug into the ground as we were tilted sideways - the rear tires were in a rut. Then I carefully backed into our spot until touching the leaves of trees. Our nose barely cleared the road in front of us. This spot was clearly not suitable for our unit. After seeing our spot I called the staff via telephone and they offered to give us another spot. However it was not getting late and we just wanted to get some sleep as we hit the road the next morning at 6:30 a.m. So much for a "quick nights rest." It would have been easier (and probably not much more expensive) to stay at a hotel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
We liked this park. It's clean, quiet and family friendly. Very close to Sonic, Wal-Mart, Lowes, Pierces BQ, etc., but still felt like it was in the country. Also, very close to York River State Park (day use) which is worth a visit. Kids loved the pool and jumping pillow. Very accessible to Busch Gardens and Water Country USA off I-64. Lots of shady spots. Sites at the back of the park have more grass and a little more room. WiFi is slow. We camped at E96 and will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$85
This is a wonderful place to stay with your family. We have stayed at this campground on and off for years now. We first tent camped as teens, then stayed in a cabin as newlyweds, and now with our RV as a family. We have grown up with this place so it holds a special place in our hearts. It is very well run, well maintained and very secure. The staff is wonderful and seem to love their jobs. It has a perfect family environment and we have never had a problem with disturbances during quiet hours. They served a free breakfast on Sunday morning that was a real treat. We just wish the price was not quite so high, because you could get a nice hotel room for the same rate (and save gas money)! But I guess it is most definitely true that you get what you pay for here. Stay here and you will not be disappointed! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$53
The site was level, spacious, and shady. Roads were well maintained gravel. Very friendly staff, except for the owner, he is a grouch but his wife was so sweet she makes up for him. It was surprising to arrive after 9 pm and find the staff still in the office and available to check us in. The area is wooded and lovely but convenient to everything. We enjoyed our time here and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$50
First of all, as new campers we were a bit apprehensive about this campground due to some previous reviews. We made our reservation on-line and got 4 nights for price of 3. You need to know that Colonial KOA and Williamsburg KOA are 2 separate campgrounds, although they appear to be owned and managed by the same person. Colonial KOA is on a hill and the Williamsburg KOA is downhill. Both are a bit rustic but Colonial is MUCH nicer than Williamsburg. It has a nice pool and jumping "bag" that kids really seemed to enjoy. Colonial KOA is made up of three different areas. First, there are several sites very near the entrance, then there are a few sites just across from the pool, and then there are a large number of sites in the rear area of the campground. We paid for a "super site" and it is just across from the pool. In this area you can have a pull-thru, a back-in or tents. We are in D-64 and all we had to do was pull right in and our camper was level with no adjustments. In the same area, there are some back-ins with numbers in the D-50's and they appear to be fairly level. I didn't really see any that were too awfully hard to level but some of the sites in the rear could be a little more difficult to maneuver into. These sites are graveled with a little grass and a few trees making for beautiful scenery. I don't have a problem with not having a concrete pad as long as you have a good outside rug and the site is fairly level. Overall, we love it here and plan to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$45
We have stayed here 3 times. This is a very good park. The pool is beautiful and very warm, kids enjoy the jumping pillow and the recumbent bikes. We all love the bald eagles nesting in the lower portion of the park - amazing! I would rate the park higher if it weren't for the rough sites we've had the last two visits. This time there was so much slope that we were unable to set up the kingpin stabilizer at all. In order to make the turn to exit the site, we had to take our rig out the side of the site rather than following the road (and our rig isn't terribly large). They need to do some work on the sites, I would say. Also, Wi-Fi is strangely slow. Other than these two criticisms, it's a marvelous park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$66
As far as we could tell, the Williamsburg section of the park is not in use. We were in the Colonial section. We requested a site with satellite access and were told that would require a 'super site'. Upon arrival, we re-confirmed at the desk that our 'super' site would have satellite access. Once we arrived, I thought access looked difficult but set up anyway. I gave up trying and selected the cable TV which was robust. Shortly, a camper knocked on our door wondering if we had satellite access. He could not get it either. There was an unexpected $5 'resort' charge even on cold and wet days. Site was a back-in and was supposed to be plenty long for our coach and car. Very close but we could park the car cross-ways on some grass and got in. Upon entry to the park there is a tree limb that will scratch the top of your coach. I told the staff about it twice, they acknowledged others had complained. When we exited (a day early) the limb was still dragging across the top: so beware. The campground handout says you must take your garbage to a dumpster that is far away. While walking there in the rain, we learned that in fact they do have site pick up. There is a nice cable TV system but no guide is available. The grounds are good for dog walking but watch for the ticks. Staff was friendly but unresponsive to the limb issue. With some management, customer care changes (such as printing a cable guide, re-printing the campground handout with some accurate information), staff understanding of site size and tree coverage and a lower price this could be a nice place to stay a day or two. If in the area again, we would not stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$55
Easy registration with Reservations, and were allowed to change sites and picked out an open area space. Easy to maneuver into site, and hookups were convenient as well as the area being a quiet area although may get noisy this weekend. Lots of handouts including information sheet about the area around here including directions to Yorktown, Jamestown, and the other historic sites in the area as well as restaurants, medical help, etc. Never having been in this area before, this information was invaluable. All in all one of the nicer KOAs we have stayed in this past year. Quiet nights which gives us a good night's sleep. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$65
It is a nice campground and is close to all the Williamsburg attractions. It is a very clean campground. I did not give it a 10 since many sites are very uneven or hilly. Make sure you ask for a flat site when booking. Nice pool, jumping pillow and meeting area. I will stay here again next time I visit Williamsburg. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$99
Beautiful campground. We stayed in a new "lodge." Beautifully furnished with log furniture, comfy bed and bathroom. It was perfect for us as we didn't feel like towing our pop up this time. Didn't use the pool, but it was clean. Constantly saw staff sprucing things up. Looks like fairly new electric through-out the campground. The staff was very accommodating, polite and well versed in things to do in the area. We even got a chance to meet the owners and they were great! They clearly take pride in their campground. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$55
We went here during the off-season, yet many of the times that I went with my 2 sons to shower or use the restroom, the facilities were full. There were only 3 showers and two toilets in each of the facilities. I would hate to see how difficult it would be to get a shower during peak season. The Wi-Fi was very slow even though I had a strong connection. The rate was $55 per night, which I consider to be high, and then on top of it they charged an additional $5 a night resort fee. This was not much of a resort: just a campground much like most other campgrounds that I have been to that did not charge resort fees. The firewood was also very, very expensive: costing about $8 for 5 tiny pieces of wood. However, the staff was very nice. My kids really loved the jumping pillow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$69
An old RV park that is need of a little TLC, especially when it come site maintenance. Lots of activities to keep the kids happy, very convenient location, staff is friendly. We reserved a Full Hookup 30/20 amp with cable TV, lots of shade and free Wi-Fi. WI-FI was free but slow and our site only had morning shade and full afternoon sun but was level. Would I stay in the same site again: you bet as the other sites I observed were unlevel, at odd angles, densely packed and would be muddy if there was rain. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$69
A standard RV park with no real complaints nor with any great praise. Everything was OK We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
A fabulous camp. Everything is clean and well kept even the laundry room. The clown on the weekend was great so was the cake. The pool was nice and the distance to everything was a breaze to get to everything we wanted. We loved it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$59
This park is perfect for basecamp, it's minutes from everything. There's even a Walmart Super-center two minutes away. We found the park to clean and all staff very friendly. One major problem is there reservation system doesn't match your length with there sites, we didn't have a problem but many folks coming in did, I understood that the main office staff was very accommodating in moving folks onto sites that fit there rigs. We stayed in the Colonial section which is great for kids,and has a KOA bouncing ballon, pedal karts (free) and very nice pool, both sections have pools! The Williamsburg section is more geared towards couples and quite campers, just my take. In my opinion it wouldn't take much improvement to make this campground a resort, just some fresh gravel, mulch, and good signage. We camped in the E section which I found to be a very nice sites, most sites were roomy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$58
The cost of this campground is absurd. The sites are narrow very rocky and unlevel. The roads are truly not distinguishable from the terrain. The gals in the office were pleasant but knew very little about the campground. They indicated a site for us and I asked which side the hookups were on and they had no idea. No one leads you to your site and that is necessarily in this campground. I was told if I did not like the site just find another one. I had requested a site that satellite would be available on by phone when I made my reservations. To this point we have not been able to get satellite reception. I had asked to see someone who (possibly manager) and I have yet to see anyone. I am amazed that KOA would even consider approving this campground. I doubt that I would ever stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$55
It has close proximity to all of the local activities, a friendly staff and nicely stocked store. We arrived very late out found us to have been put into a site way too small for our rig on a holiday weekend, but they readily fixed that the next morning, so the staff gets a "thumbs up." Note that we were in the newer and larger "Colonial" section of this KAO, and even in that section many of the sites, especially the big rig sites are too narrow. A fair number of the sites were barely level and need a bulldozer run through them. Most of the roads were gravel, with a fair number of tight turns. In addition, we found that the toilet stalls were way too small. It's not a bad campground, but for $55 a night and being in a major "destination" area, they could do better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$65
Most sites are wooded. Thought the rate was a little high, but a lot of amenities were offered (cookies, pet playground, jumping pillow, etc.), so we understood the rate. College kids worked the campground, but were very friendly and helpful. Hookups worked well. Wi-Fi was descent. The campground offers Cox Cable with about 70 Channels. This service was a little fuzzy, but still worked fine. Overall, this campground seems to have improved since our last stay in 2006. I would recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$75
Nice shaded campground. Very friendly staff. Kid friendly. Our only problem was with how unlevel our campsite was. They put us in a new site the next morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$56
Camped in 45 foot motor home in Site A03. Easy access from I-64 off Exit 234B approximately 1.5 miles. It is the second furthest K.O.A. from this exit. This park is very tight for 40 foot or greater rigs. Would only suggest Sites A02~A04, which can be accessed by backing into from the park's entry drive. Narrow interior roads & sites are gravel with some grass. Free WiFi worked well. Many trees will block satellite TV reception in most sites. Office staff was very helpful and informative. Park is a little over priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2007
$55
If location is the key factor rather than amenities then this campground certainly charges for where it is rather than what it provides. The previous reviewers must have stayed in the "upper sites". We were sent to the lower sites which were very far from the showers and laundry facilities and did not have cable TV as advertised. The "roads" in the lower sites were poorly marked and the sites were sandy and not level. We watched as a number of RVers tried to park in their assigned locations and drove off or had to circle several times to find a suitable site. We were very disappointed at what we found and would not recommend this campground to others unless they were able to get reservations in the "upper" sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$45
This was a very expensive 4 nights. When we reserved this campsite on line it stated $33 per night but when we got here it was $45. There are 4 different prices per year and we got the most expensive. The office closes as 6PM so if you need anything after that you will need to go up the road to the KOA Colonial which is open much later. If you come in after 6PM you will need to deal with the other KOA: really inconvenient. The office has very limited stock. There are a lot of trees so be prepared to have your rig and tow covered with sap. The positive is that this KOA is close to many attractions ,but be prepared to spend big bucks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
This KOA was a great park for visiting Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown. We spent 4 nights there. The park was very clean and neat. It had a hiking trail. It had attentive, courteous staff who told us about package discounts for historical sites in the area. There was a nice gift store and grocery store. As in many of the KOA's we stayed in on our 2 1/2 month trip, the free on-site wi-fi worked well. KOA's are a step above other parks, although more expensive. Guess you really do get what you pay for. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$34
We were very pleased with this campground! We were initially given a site that was a good hike from the bath house, but the attendant was able to move us closer. We were there in connection with the "Jamboree at Jamestown" hosted by the local Girl Scout council, and the campground was full of scout families and troops. It made for longer lines in the women's bath house, but the facilities remained clean and in good working order. The heated pool was a nice amenity -- especially at this time of year. The spaces were gravel, but fairly flat and well-maintained. Most were in wooded areas and it was a very QUIET campground despite the number of kids running around. We would camp here again if we visit this area again and would recommend it to our camping friends. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
When we booked two sites, we were told that it would be no problem to have them together. I made sure of this with two phone calls prior to our check in because one RV was coming from Florida and one from Connecticut. Upon check in we were told that we were not together and it was not possible to guarantee sites. The staff attempted to accommodate us but was surly and abrupt. The roads in this campground are in need of major work to distinguish them from the campsites. We were told that we should walk the route to our campsite before driving there so we would know where we were going. Major tree removal and tree trimming needs to be done. Many of the trees are damaged due to RV's hitting them. The campsites need to be leveled and graveled. KOA's pet policy was ignored re: breeds allowed and barking dog policy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
This campground was not as bad as I was expecting based on reading these reviews before I arrived. However, I did camp there off season so it wasn't too crowded. I can imagine that in the summer, the campers are pretty crammed in there. Although I got a great deal through the "hot deals" link on their website, I probably wouldn't go back here again without the $99 for 4 nights deal. I did book my reservation online (which the website says you have to do to get the deal), but when I checked in, they told me the charge would be $160, NOT $99 because I have 5 kids with me. They charge $3 per night, per child. The confirmation I printed out said the charge is $99, it also noted correctly that we were checking in with 2 adults and 5 kids. I had to speak to the 'supervisor' who said it must be a mistake that the website only charged me $99 but he would honor it. This is probably good news if you are just a couple -- it probably limits the number of FAMILIES and kids but I always thought of camping as a family activity. Why the big extra charge is a mystery to me especially since they had absolutely no activities for the kids and the kids didn't cause any extra expense for the owners. Okay, besides that I'll give the pros and cons. First the PROS: convenient location 10 minutes to Williamsburg, 3 minutes to Walmart, nicely stocked camp store, most sites are wooded, heated pool is open until Oct. 15, fairly clean baths (except for moldy showers -- a bottle of Tilex would do wonders) CONS: Most sites are quite un-level (but that's what levelers are for), lots of gravel and dusty dirt throughout, pool was warm enough but full of bugs (they don't skim it), only SIX toilets and SIX showers per gender in the entire campground (175 sites! I can imagine how crowded these get in the summer!), unreasonable extra fee for each child. The normal price here is $45 to $60 per night (for 2 adults). Next time I'll stay at the State Park in Newport News for $25/night and same distance to Williamsburg. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
Tight turns on narrow roads in the back section. Fortunately, it was not too crowded when we were there. Good WiFi. Being a big park, the restrooms were well used. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Nice park close to the highway but far enough away that you don't hear the traffic noise. Make sure to check the Hot Deals on the web site. I got a premium pull through 30/50 amp with cable TV and free WiFi for $99.00 for 4 nights. The park is a little hilly with many sites way off level but the pull-thru ones up front are level. Pool was nice and rest rooms were clean and modern. Doesn't look like much to do here for the kids but this parks main attraction is the Williamsburg and surrounding areas. I would stay here again if in this area especially if they have the Internet Hot Deals. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$50
Our site was extremely tight and almost impossible to get into. We do have a large fifth wheel, but the layout of the sites just made it very difficult to maneuver. To make it worse, once I got the trailer in, I realized the electric pedestal was at the front of our site which made no sense at all. The other sites around us had the pedestal in the back as you would expect. Our 25' power cord would not reach. I went to the management office and had someone come look at the site to see if maybe I was not using the correct pedestal. She looked all around the site and she was also was very puzzled as to why it was at the front of the site and not the back. I only had a small gauge 15 amp extension cord and it would not handle the load of the A/C and kept tripping the breaker. Since I could not plug in properly and I felt it was the campground's fault, I asked if I could borrow a 30 amp extension cord for the night. She said "no", but that I could buy one from the camp store. I declined. I was finally able to get the A/C stable by using a 15amp to 30amp adapter so I could plug into the 30 amp breaker on the pedestal. Overall, it was just a hassle camping here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
Our site was small and surrounded by trees, therefore we could not use our awning. We could barely get our slide out all the way out. The road is very narrow & we had to move our truck just about every time a camper came through. We were on a corner lot. The site seemed to be unlevel. The cable TV channels were all fuzzy. Not much to do at this campground. Most of the activities were at the Colonial KOA. We walked the trail to the Colonial KOA campground. It looked to be a little bit nicer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$55
Williamsburg KOA is conveniently located about 20-30 minutes from most area attractions. The staff was courteous and attentive. We had to call on them twice for a minor electrical problem and a problem with bees near our site. Both times they responded within 15 minutes. The pool, restroom, and shower facilities were clean; however, the restrooms/showers could definitely use some climate control to make them cooler. Children's activities were present and acceptable. We stayed in a "deluxe pull-through" site with our 33' trailer. These sites were extremely narrow and difficult to navigate, being flanked by trees on both sides. Several severe storms flooded ours and other sites with slippery mud. The sites could benefit from some tree removal and the addition of gravel. Overall, this campground was acceptable, however, we would likely try another area campground next time due to the poor condition of the sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$42
This campground was in excellent shape, and in a great location nearby all major Williamsburg attractions, including Busch Gardens and Water Country. The kids had a blast, with a number of on-site supervised activities to keep them busy. The pool was large and clean. The sites were on the smaller side, but manageable. There were no extravagant additional fees. A super Wal-Mart is a mere ten minutes away, but you would never know it. The campground store was nice and well-stocked, and the staff was friendly and helpful. This was one of two KOAs right next to each other; Colonial, I believe. We would definitely stay here again - my daughter keeps raving about it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$50
Nice, clean, campground. Away from high traffic roads so is very quiet. Our site was a reasonable size. The staff were very polite and helpful. This was the nicest campground we have stayed in in Williamsburg. We will camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$54
Nice park and a friendly staff. They have large pull thru sites, but the access roads are very tight when trying to maneuver through the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$50
Overall a nice campground – conveniently located, clean restrooms, laundry room, game room, nice pool, friendly staff. Our only complaints were the small sites (which didn’t matter because the campground was practically empty so we had very few neighbors) and the unlevel sites (we had to buy more levelers for the camper). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$54
This campground was okay. There are no really nice campgrounds in the Williamsburg area. The employees were very friendly and helpful. Trees make this park not too big rig friendly. A motor home behind us ruined his brand new motor home because the sites were very hard to get into. The bathrooms looked okay but not great. I don't know if it was just our site or what cable reception was poor. The pool was very nice but too warm. All four days we were there were over 100 degrees.I would recommend this campground because of friendly staff and there is nothing better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Do not camp at this camp ground. People are packed on top of each other. The pool is too small for the amount of campers. The bathrooms are disgusting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
There are 2 KOAs side by side in Williamsburg. From what I could tell, they are run by the same group. The campground was very close to Williamsburg and a variety of stores and restaurants. But the sites were in very bad shape! They were very uneven, full of ruts, and VERY tight. Many people were having difficulties getting in and out. A lot of people had to move cars (and one case a 5th wheel) to let people out! The campground was full and the electric withstood everyone's air conditioning demands - we had 3 straight days of 100+ degrees weather! The pool was very well maintained and a nice relief from the heat. The staff was nice, but did not extend themselves. Showers and bathrooms were old but clean. The playgrounds were horrible - a must for us since we have 2 small children. It was a fair campground and I would look for a different one if I was staying in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
This is a nice park. I was there off-season and was using it as a place to sleep for a local conference. If you have a pop-up camper, they have a nice loop at the top of the hill and the sites are fairly private up there. The big rig section was more like a nice parking lot. It rained the entire time, so I cannot really comment on the recreational facilities. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2006
$44
The campground smells like sulfur. Bathrooms are really dirty. There are bugs everywhere. Sites are really small and muddy. There is nothing to do at the campground for kids. Playground is old and game room is really cheap. The pool is small and dirty. Plus they say that they don't reserve sites till you get there at check in, but then when you ask for a different site they say its reserved??? Don't know how thats possible. KOA Colonial puts KOA Williamsburg to shame!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2005
$44
Average campground at best. Sites are pretty close together for the most part. The place was virtually empty when we were there yet they still stuck everyone that was there on top of each other. They do have 56 cable channels but for some reason reception gets worse as the channel number increases. The last 10 or so cannot be seen. Desk Clerk must have been having a bad day. She was surly at best. The interior roads are ok but be careful. Exiting the Premium sites from row A44 - A50 means making a 180 around a big tree. I went out the wrong way on a one way to avoid that. Pool looked to be of good size (was closed of course). Game Room had a few video games, one pool table and an air hockey table. It was clean and in good condition. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$43
The park was wonderful. They were helpful with tickets to nearby events, and had all of the amenities we needed. The water was good and the laundry was reasonably large and the machines in good shape. We really enjoyed the stay. Be sure to check out the Hot Deal on the KOA website. We got one night free with purchase of 3. It was a HOT DEAL in our opinion! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
Very nice for a busy area.The kids had fun. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$45
We've beem camping here on weekends for about 3 years. The place is always clean, staff friendly and helpful, and we've never had a problem of any kind. I work online and the major draw for me is being able to have instant phone access right at the trailer. The supersites (with cable and phone) run around $47 (higher in summer and on holidays) but it's worth it for me to be able to get online in comfort instead of having to walk to a central location in the campground. There are less expensive sites and a central phone modem in the clubhouse (although the litte computer room is not air conditioned in the summer and so it's rather uncomfortable if you need to do more than check emails real quick). We like the wooded, pull-thru sites. And if you want to be away from people, ask for the "honeymoon" RV site :-) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$49
I was a little worried about staying at this campground due to some of the reviews I read here...but now I can't figure out why! We pulled in the Wednesday before Memorial day weekend and stayed till Sunday. I requested a change of campsite since I had forgotten to request a cable ready site, and the switch was made when we registered, no problem. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We did arrive early, but they always had a staff member outside to lead newcomers to their campsite, and appeared to be eager and happy to be recieving guests. The cable had about 40 channels including local, so you could check weather and traffic. The sites are not the largest I have ever seen, but the campground is lovely, most sites are nicely shaded and there were charcoal grills on site. If a fire ring was requested it was promptly brought to your site. As the weekend went on, the place filled up, but there was always a fairly quiet and peaceful atmosphere. The restrooms were spotless. The store was small but well stocked with most of the basics, and well equipped with information on area attractions. Tickets for most attactions can be purchased at the store. We especially liked that "quiet time" was observed, after 10, everyone was very considerate and those early to bed folks could rest peacefully. We travel with two dogs and there was an endless variety of trails and ways to "go for a walk". Everyone cleaned up after their pets. The pool was very nice, and was clean. While I did not use the game room, when I peeked inside it did seem like a weak point, not too many games for the kids, if you have them. Overall, I would reccomend this campground to anyone staying in the Williamsburg area. We camped here for 4 days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2005
$50
Campground very overrated and overpriced. Don't promote yourself as a family campground and then charge extra to bring the kids. Check-in staff had attitudes and did not want to be working there. Sites are too close together -- some campers did not have enough room to even pull out their awning. Bathhouse is not the worst I've seen but they need extra attention for cleanliness and toilet paper refills. Reservation request to have adjoining campsites with others we were camping with were not honored even though we made our reservation 4 months in advance and were told it would not be a problem. Kids had fun at pool (even though it wasn't heated as claimed) and riding the trike rentals. We will not stay at this campground the next time we visit Williamsburg. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$40
Nice quiet campground with professional staff. Easy to get to off of I64 and close to all major events in Williamsburg. Very clean restrooms and showers although we did not use them. The campground is very clean with fresh gravel on the roads and parking areas of the sites. The site we were in was a pull thru and was 22 feet wide which was enough for use to open our awning. The back in sites have more width. Ground fires are not permitted but a few people had those inexpensive grills from Wall-Mart and made fires in the pans. Their big rig sites are toward the front and there were a number of large Class A units w/toads parked there. The turns on the roads further back can be a little tight. I had no problem with my 26ft trailer and I saw others getting in and out with 30ft 5th wheels and travel trailers. Again, nice QUIET campground. We will go there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2005
$55
We camped at this park many times , the last being the spring of 2005. This park is very basic, not a lot for kids . With some money this could be a very nice park, it has a nice location to Williamsburg. The park is clean . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2005
$60
We have camped here many times, only for the fact that there is a lack of good campgrounds in the Williamsburg area. There is not much for kids to do here, the pool is ok, playground is small and old and the arcade is pathetic, most of the games were broken. This would be a nice campground if the owner came out of his upstairs office and put some money and effort into the place. Good location to Williamsburg. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$45
Access to the campground is good, not far from I-64 and 10 minutes or so from Busch Gardens. The campground is kept pretty clean, ignoring the one shower where there must have been thousands of mosquitos/no-see-ums in it one morning (due to the fact some idiot left the door ajar and the light on over night). The staff were very friendly -- even the guy in the laudromat who just about asphixiated me when he sprayed the area to kill the flying bugs. The laundry room is kept very clean. They have only one modem connection in the laundry room - on a counter -- in order to use it you have to stand up (wotta pain). They have no bug control that we could tell -- and they could use a few "mosquito magnets" -- in the evening you get eaten alive. Cable TV is very good with over 50 channels (but some channels don't come in very well - notably the local channels). Oh, and unless you bring a fire ring, you can't have a fire at your campsite. The roads and the "pads" where constructed of crushed stone, dust kick-up is minimal. Swimming pool was adequate. Camp store was adequate. Site size was adequate. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$45
Clean restrooms, close to Bush Gardens and Williamsburg. Good store and summer program for kids. Quiet locations. I recommend this park over Newport News if you are traveling to the Williamsburg area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$42
We went camping in pop up in Aug. Road throughout campground was not paved and in poor condition. There were not enough bathrooms and they were not clean. Pool was small and dirty. Campsites were almost all muddy. False advertisement as far as fishing at lake/pond. They do not own it and campers can not fish there. The creek is a joke, and there are no fish in it nor can you really walk along it because of overgrowth. Would never camp there again or recommend anyone We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$52
We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The showers and bathrooms were clean, but we were there in the early Spring - off season. The pool is small, and although it is advertised as heated it was cold. Could have been because it had only been open 2 days. I don't know how long it takes a pool to heat up. The stream is more like a ditch, although I was told this when I called to make my reservation. We stayed in a camping cabin on the "lower" level. The playground is on the upper "level" of the campground. Our cabin was great. The heater worked like a charm. It also has an a/c which wasn't needed in April. There is a shuttle to the attractions, but we drove so we could be on our own schedule. We would probably stay here again in the off season. We stayed in April 2003. We camped here in a Campground Cabins.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$45
Overrated!!! This campground sounds good on paper, but you do not get what you pay for. We paid $45 a night for 30AMP service E/W/S. I was quoted $38 dollars when I made my reservations and told I had cable TV on my site. Cable is only available on the 50AMP sites and then you only get about 10 channels. The sites are adequate size, but roads are in poor shape and sites are gravel and dust. There is definitely a shortage of bath house facilities. Three bath houses for 175 sites, each with only 3 showers each on mens and womens side. If someone flushes a toilet, hope you do not have the shower water set too warm or you will get scalded. I watched the bath house being cleaned, my 8-year-old could do just as good a job. The entire men's side was mopped with a damp mop and never rinsed. There was dirt all over the floor and now it is damp and spread over the rest of the bath house. KOA needs to take a better look at their affiliation with this campground! Williamsburg is in desperate need of reasonably priced family friendly campground!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$40
Stayed at Colonial KOA last week in July. Found campground to be in good condition. Majority of sites level and in good shape. Did have a runoff problem on a few sites. Only paved roads are main entry roads. Roads to site areas graveled but smooth. Staff had plenty of daily activities for kids and pool was clean. Good location, only 10 mins from BG and WC, and Factory Outlets and Pottery area in Lightfoot. Would go back there if visit area again. Entire family had a good stay. Took 2003 25' Antiqua. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$44
We stayed here off season and the saving grace was the quiet and lack of crowds. Given the generally close sites and limited facilities, I'd wager this place would be a nightmare in the busy summer season. Bathrooms were clean, but then again nobody was using them to make them dirty. Game room and laundry were a bit run down. Office was nice, moderately stocked (but expensive), and the staff was pleasant. However, the site price was outrageous, especially for March--this place is very expensive and certainly not worth the money. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$42
Good and bad. Nice sites, LOTS of trees, clean. Showers and restrooms were clean, but lots of mayflies in the shower. Don't bother you but you have to share the shower with them. There season is short though. Cable TV is a joke, take a dish if you have one and it will work in the trees there. Maybe 9 channels and sound quality so poor on some channels they are useless. C band I think. The pool was cloudy and smelled bad, but perhaps they had just shocked it. Even so, kids were using it. The REC hall had no AC, so was not real usable in the summer heat. The game room is a garage with half the machine broken. Store prices: RV toilet paper is $3 per 4 rolls in our local RV store and the same package was $8 in the campground store. You figure it from there. Shuttle to Colonial Williamsburg, but only twice a day. 9am out and 4:30 back. That leaves out a LOT of what goes on at CW, so if you want to see it all better take a car. Laundry area was nice and usable. Line voltage was a problem in the heat. I watched it dip as low as 100v and the lights surged on and off with other folks AC units. You can buy tickets to CW in the park office, and the sign SAYS you won't have to wait in line at CW visitor center. Not so in our case. LONG Lines to convert those tickets into photo passes. This MAY be because it was the 4th of July. Colonial Williamsburg is a great place to visit, especially for history lovers. First rate and high quality all the way. Their folks/actors are top notch. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$35
Hated it! Roads going in and out of campground are poor at best. Sites are very small! Bathrooms are disgusting, as are the showers! On our loop there were 4 showers, and 3 bathrooms for women and 3 for men. There were about 75 campsites on this loop. You waited forever to take a shower. At one point the toliets were plugged and could not be used. Campground located centrally for attractions, and that's about the only positive thing I can say. The pool was small, and old. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$50
Rude staff! Dirty bathrooms! Very over-rated for $50 per night. We left and went to another campground. Would not recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Very overated campground. Looks good from the street, but, once in the park it goes down hill in a hurry. The "cable" consist of about 10 weird channels. Our site was muddy. The entire campground just appears unattrative. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2001
$42
This is an example of a very overrated park. We suppose it is due to a lack of other good parks in the area. We have been paying $42.50 per day for a premium site...the site was dirty, the gravel is old and the roads have major ruts. The cable is "jury rigged" to receive 4 stations, none of which an adult with a thinking mind would want to watch. The final straw today was to return after being gone a mere five hours...no electric and no water (for 42.50!!!) The best of this experience has been the site modem hookup. There have not been any persons over the age of twenty in the office since we began our stay five days ago. This is a pure case of charging what you think the traffic will bear. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com