221721 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails / Russian River Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (707) 894-3184
CGID312

Thousand Trails / Russian River Resort

Camp Information
Sites
129
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   5   1   4   6   3   4   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$1
This is my 3rd TT park, and I'm not impressed. It has many steep sites that are very close together and hard to access without scraping your rig. Has no sewer hook-ups, needs a lot of work with large tree limbs & branches protruding, bathrooms are in need of repair, and no WiFi except in main building. The staff was very friendly and helpful and I guess it's OK if you want to visit wineries or go on the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$1
Pleasant campground, stayed one night. Helpful staff at front gate. Choosing your own site is nice, but it would be challenging in a large motorhome as some of the turns are very tight. We detached our car and drove around each loop to find our site. Even though it is near Hwy 101, there was very little road noise. The Russian River was a nice walking distance. There seemed to be many options for kid activities on the map. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$1
No sewer, no amenities to speak of. They do have a little breakfast wagon on the weekends and you can rent tubes for the river (park is right by the river) and the staff was friendly. The park is very hilly so not big rig friendly. We are TT members so we stayed in the park for free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$1
The previous post pretty much hit this park right on the head. Park is very run down with the majority of sites taken by long term tenants. Park staff was rude. The park remind me of what a Hollywood film makers perception of Trailer Trash Village USA.would be. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$1
As a 1000 Trails member I was sorely disappointed. We camped here in a 38' 5th wheel and barely had room to park and most of the roads were impassable to our size rig. I would not recommend ever taking anything longer than 32' into this park. Restrooms had been damaged by fire as had one of the "long term" campers. Per one of the regulars, it was arson by a former camper. This park did not even meet the minimal standard set by 1000 Trails and this park should be addressed immediately! Restroom was dirty, very old and in need of significant repair. The whole park seemed unkept. Electrical posts damaged, lights damaged, bath houses damaged by woodpeckers. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$1
This park was a bit difficult to navigate with our big rig and was almost full given that we were a 39' with towing vehicle and could not fit into the smaller sites. The park is very hilly with tight turns and lots of trees, but we did find a nice site. It is peaceful and friendly; although, we did not have sewer hook up, the honey wagon is $35 and must be scheduled in advance. There were not many amenities...no pool, no spa, just a small lodge. It was a pleasant place though and we stayed a few days to visit near by relatives. Winery tours are near there if you are interested in that kind of thing. There are friendly long term residents who pay by the year and get included honey wagon service. We would not go back to this park as a destination, but perhaps just as a stopping point while passing through to someplace else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$52
This park is best suited for smaller motorhomes either class C or B and under 29'. That is not to say there weren't big rigs crammed into very small spots. The roads in the campground are tight, twisty , hilly and made even more challenging to navigate by guests parking cars on the road. I scraped the bottom of my coach cresting a hill. There are only 4 pull through spaces in the park. Sites are not assigned - you have to drive around and find your own. There is no sewer connection, making the available water connection of limited value. All that said, the setting is pretty, heavily forested, and you can reach the Russian River down a path I'd say was less than 100 yards long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$10
We stayed here as RPI Preferred members. The check-in took about 25 minutes (10 for someone to show up at the kiosk). After that we were on our own to find a suitable site. The whole park is somewhat primitive. In great need of road improvement' hook ups need to be maintained or repaired, and trees near the road need to be pruned. It is difficult to get level with a motorhome, because the sites are short and only partially level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$45
This is an older property, lot of full time looking units. Everyone we spoke with very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$1
Rate is for TTN members. No air TV, good Verizon phone & 3G data. Free Wi-Fi in lodge. Hilly park. Paved level sites. Walk to Russian River. Close to Cloverdale. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$1
Rate reflects member discount. This park is rustic and in need of some upgrading. Playground in need of repair and lawns around lodge and restrooms could use water and a little care. With some care this could be a much nicer park. There was a small store in the lodge but I never noticed it open. Some of the RV sites looked like they would be very hard to get onto because of steep driveway approach. On the good side it was very easy to get to from the freeway and very quiet at night. The river was a short walk from my site # 2 and the water was great. I will return and camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Had a wonderful time here with my family and friends. The campsites were a little strangely set up, but nothing that bothered me. Most had a little room between sites, which was nice. Definitely not a "parking lot" feel to it. The river was ideal for swimming and one of the best I have been in for a long time. The only knock I would say is it would have been nice to see a little mowing between sites, but that gave it more of a county park CG. We (and all other fellow campers) had one significant problem with another camper. This was taken care of VERY professionally by the CG hosts and very quickly. All regular campers here said this event was VERY unusual and had never seen it happen. But the true test of a campground host/CG business practices is how they handle adversity, which this CG did way beyond any of our expectations. Definitely will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
This park has a lot of variety. So if you have a big rig, take a look around before you pick a spot. While some of the roads and spots are small, there are also many large ones. My first night here in section C only had 2G AT&T coverage. So I moved to section A and had decent 3G coverage. There is a nice lodge up front with couches, books, games, and toys. The river is a short walk away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$1
As far as environment typical TTN/NACO; this is not a resort. Think of it as more like a state or county campground where the sites are spreadout more and the natural fauna is left in place. Lots of wildlife in the campground, kit foxes, deer and some of the largest crows I have ever seen. Staff was frindly and everything worked while we were there. Wi-Fi is at the lodge only. We were in section D and my Sprint aircard and AT&T cell worked from the campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
We have a 38ft 5th wheel, this park is not suited for big rigs. The roads are too narrow and very few sites for us to fit into. After attempting another site we had to settle for a site without any shade in 100 degree weather. In general this campground is in poor shape. Did use laundry but they are outside building in the heat. Big rigs keep going. Site are very narrow we stepped off our steps onto a slope, had to be very careful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$1
What a gem. The campground is on the Russian River, however the campsites are not. But that doesn't really matter. All the sites are paved and flat for the most part. Satellite coverage is only available in certain sites and WiFi is only available at the lodge. Overall the campground is one of the better Thousand Trails that we have stayed in. Looking forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$1
This is a Thousand Trails membership park, but it also has sites available for rent. The sites were nice, fairly level and paved. There are pull throughs scattered throughout the park. We used the showers and the laundry, and they were all very nicely maintained. We also were able to get satellite reception at our site (Section C #57). Staff was extremely friendly. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$1
Membership park which is now open to non-members through Encore resorts. Sites are 30 amp and water only. They do offer a 'honey' service on Tuesdays and Saturdays for $15. There is also a dump station on site. Roads and camping pads are all paved. Our Verizon phone and aircard worked well here. We didn't check out the Wi-Fi at the clubhouse. We also ended up in a site that allowed us to connect to DirecTV with our rooftop satellite. The only drawback, at least for us, is that only a few sites will accommodate our 40 foot motorhome and the roads are a little on the narrow side. There is lots to see and do in the area. Ukiah (north of) and Santa Rosa (south of) are both about 30 minutes away. The Coast, Napa Valley and Clear Lake are all about an hour away. Cloverdale does have a Ray's grocery store and an Ace hardware. If you like wine and wine tasting you will find the Alexander Valley and surrounding area to be heaven! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$1
Pluses: level asphalt sites, lots of shade trees, clean rest rooms and showers, for $10 we could wash our motorhome, and on the Russian River. Minuses: typical Thousand Trails with no cable and the internet was very iffy even at the lodge. Staff not the best, not the worse. We use 2 GPS systems. They were in disagreement, we called for directions as we were nearing Cloverdale, gave direction traveling and location. We were given directions from the ranger that took us 8 miles past the exit we needed; had to go an additional 2 miles to next exit to go back the way we came. Beware your GPS - use exit 525! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$1
Nice wooded campground with a short walk down to river area. Each restroom included a laundry area so you don't have to travel to a centrally located laundry. We didn't have time to visit Cloverdale, but I understand it is a nice town. This is in wine country. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$1
We found the staff very friendly. Good sites but some are very narrow as were the roads leading to the sites. Has a river and a gravel beach down the hill from the campsites. We stayed for one night but would stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
Very wooded area, various sizes of sites were "cut" into the natural hills. The road ways are very narrow and sometimes too steep on curves to really see where you are driving. Access to the shallow river is down the hill. Shore is sometimes sandy/gravel. Great place for dog to chase her ball or tubing by the kids. SINGLE washer/dryer is provided in each section but you can't tell if the equipment is already in use until you climb up (or down) with your bag of laundry. One great camping benefit was a map showing where the satellite roof-mounted domes will work OR where mobile tripod dishes will need to be used instead. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$1
We stay here on a regular basis and consider these folks our friends. This is a family park and very quiet and relaxing. It has paved pads all through the park, which makes it nice in the hot dry summer months. Not many parks have paved pads in California, and we like how neat and clean the park is. They work tirelessly cleaning and maintaining the park and everyone in the campground makes sure the campground is spotless. The restrooms are heated and comfortable even in the coldest months of the year. The campground gets a lot of rain in the winter months, but the paved pads make it clean and there is no muddy roads or paths that you have to worry about. One of the most important things that most everyone miss about this park, is that it is so quiet and relaxing here. The animals of the forest, the birds, the quail, the deer, racoons, and the ravens, turkey vultures all seem at ease in this wilderness park. It is between two hills along the Russian River, and at any time of the year you can open up all the windows to the RV and hear the sounds of silence around the park. Even the birds don't make many sounds. It is heavenly to get up on Saturday mornings and go have some of their wonderful pancakes on the patio and just absorb the beauty. It is near active geological faults and the nearby Geyserville hot springs have some of the most frequent earthquakes in the state of California. However, we have never felt any earthquakes here and we have been coming here for over 20 years. The campground is nestled up from the Russian river and surrounded on all sides by mountains. The small town of Cloverdale is only 3 miles away but because the campground is up in the mountains, it may as well be a hundred miles away. The cellphone service for T-mobile is moderate but reliable, and the internet service in the lodge is reliable and consistent. It is not high speed but gets the job done. They also have satellite television in the lodge and have 500 channels which is more than adequate. There is no over the air television because of the mountains, but for us, it is more rewarding and relaxing to enjoy the beautiful scenery and the every present quail scurrying around the preserve. We usually head to Healdsburg, 10 miles south for a nice lunch at Willie and Jose's Seafood bar or the Oakville grocery for a nice sandwich or picnic lunch when we want to get into town. All in all, this is the one of the best, most relaxing parks we have ever been to and the excellent Thousand Trail staff make each visit a comfortable and relaxing stay. They went above and beyond in every way to make our stay enjoyable. A 10 star rating for us! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$1
Rate is $0 for Thousand Trails member, but we can't put a 0 in the nightly rate box. The staff is very friendly and the park is well maintained. There is Wi-Fi in the club house. Water and 30 amp electric sites only with a dump station. About half the sites are very tight and small for large RV's. You go and choose your site, so look around carefully. There is no cable and no reception off an antenna. Our Verizon cell phone was very spotty and our air card worked fair. There are 4 loops with 1 washer and dryer in each loop. There is a road and trail down to the river, which is not visible from the RV sites. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$1
Very nice Thousand Trails Preserve. Well maintained. The only problem for some of the campers is that the septic system had a problem and everyone was unable to dump tanks. They did, however, have the "honey wagon service" available for a $15 fee. I understand that problem will be fixed soon. They have a park layout map that shows where satellite reception is available at selected sites. Will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$10
We stayed here through our Resort Parks International membership. The campground is nice - some treed sites as well as some open. They provide a nice map when you arrive and it details which sites are good for roof-top satellites and which work better for tri-pod mounts. No sewer at sites, but there is water & electric. Each loop has bathrooms w/showers and laundry - one front loader washer & dryer. The Clubhouse has book exchange, TV with cable, free Wi-Fi, telephone, puzzles & games. It is a nice place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
The park was well-kept, but there isn't much to keep anyone busy. There's a section of river rafting which is nice, but no pool. It was perfect for a short stopover and while there was no sewer, there was an easy dump station on the way out. We had a nice shady drive-through site, although it bordered a hill with lots of poison oak. The location is good for great wine tasting, but there's little else close by. Inexpensive laundry with new front-load machines. WIFI in office only, but it seemed to work okay. Cell service was iffy, but seemed to work if I walked around the park a bit. Staff very friendly and helpful. We would return if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$8
The park is nice and well kept. The playground was nice too. The Wifi is very limited, only available in the clubhouse which has limited hours. The cell reception out there is not too good either so don't count on it. We would not return to this park. The lack of sewage connections was a hassle, the lack of cell/internet was worse. Many of the workers were not very friendly, especially towards kids and younger families. It is a nice park though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$8
Nicely wooded park in the hills above the Russian River. Sites have water and 30 amp power only. We stayed under the $8 RPI rate. They now have WiFi in and around the lodge, but not at the sites. One of the maps they give you on check-in shows which sites can get roof-top satellite reception and which can get it with a tripod. You select your own site. The security staff offer suggestions for sections of the park that are navigable in a big rig. Each of the bath houses has a big new front-loading washer and a dryer outside. The park is heavily forested with oak trees, but there is plenty of sunshine. Most of the sites are pretty close to one another, but the other campers are all quiet and friendly. We will return there in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$8
Stayed here 4 nights while passing through the area. Typical Thousand Trails / NACO Preserve. Will come again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$8
This campground is in the woods with paved interior roads and paved campsite parking pads. They have room for big rigs in some areas, although getting around the narrow roads between the trees can be a challenge for big rigs to access some sites. There is a nice trail to the rocky beach. The campground is built on a hill but many of the campsites have a level parking area. This is a good place to get your exercise walking up and down the hills. It was very quiet there and we saw deer and many acorn woodpeckers while we were there. It is convenient to the many wineries in the area. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$8
This is a 1000 Trails/Naco Campground. It lies close to the Russian River north of Cloverdale. The staff are really nice and helpful. Security is excellent. Not much for kids here, the river beach is rocky and quite a hike to get to. I would come back as a stopover. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com