223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Rincon Parkway Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (805) 654-3951
CGID3385

Rincon Parkway Campground

Camp Information
Sites
127
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   8   10   8   9   8   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$29
Rincon has the best views ever. You are right along hwy 1. There is some traffic and train noise, though the better sound is waking up to the ocean. The only down side there is to this park (though they are there for a reason) are the large rocks to climb down to get to the beach. Some sites offer a sandy beach, while others offer no sand, but little rocks. If there were full hookups, I would rate it 10+. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
As previously noted, this campground is a spectacular find. The Ranger who came by to check on the campground was very nice when she asked us to move a bit further into our site. (Our slides were poking out of our site.) So be sure to stay within the lines at each space. Just a wonderful, wonderful location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
You are getting, a road and railway line on one side of you which is completely offset by the Pacific Ocean literally out your door. We closed the roadside windows and blinds, opened the oceanside windows and the roar of the sea one night was so loud we couldn't hear anything else. There is a rock wall that is easily climbable and apart from high tide when there is no sand, the beach is great for swimming and walking. We never expected to be so impressed with camping by a road. We had 2 of the best sunsets ever. We would definitely stay here again. Note: no restrooms or showers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
Love this place and it never lets me down. That is until now! Seriously, they are charging for my dog! They don't offer any amenities for the dog, and they charge $1/ night. Can we say rip off. Not an incentive for me to pick-up after my dog, but I always do. I wish the spaces were a little bigger so it would be easier to maneuver in as most people pull right up to the line in front of me and behind me. Also I have a tow vehicle that I'd love to fit into the spots. The other thing I'd love to see are more of these spots along the ocean front in Ventura. They are awesome, but there are so few spots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$28
Wow. We never realized this area was available, boondock right at beach side parallel parked end to end alongside the beach (with highway/railroad other side) so it is more private, spacious, and quiet than side by side campsites. So easy to get into and the ranger is friendliest I ever met. No hassles, just park and pay envelope in slot. Frequent trash bins provided along the camping strip, dogs OK leashed on beach ($1/day per dog). 14 day winter limit, 7 day in summer. Just great experience compared to nearby state beach camps. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$24
Very nice views and a great place to camp. We did however have our bikes stolen the last night we were there. They were locked up and they still managed to cut everything off. I would stay here again but be a little more cautious. It is pitch black out there when there is no moon out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
There have been some recent changes here. Rates have increased to $28/night and a $1/head pet fee is been added but it remains the lowest cost beach camping available in Southern California. As others have reported this is a one-of-a-kind experience. RVs are parallel parked on the shoulder of a highway that was a primary route along the coast until it was replaced by a larger and more modern freeway. The highway is still in use and there is an adjacent rail line that carries heavy freight and passenger trains but much of the noise they create is drowned out by sounds of the waves breaking just steps away. Access to the dog-friendly beach is good at the south half but difficult north because the parking sites are atop a high seawall of boulders. Sites are 45’ long. There are no amenities other than informal fire pits among the rocks at most sites. No fires are permitted on the sand but I confirmed with a Ranger that they are OK in the rocks. We have camped here many times over the past 15 years and have never had a bad experience. We will definitely go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
If you want to feel like you've been gone for a week and only have a weekend to camp this is the place for you. The sound of the waves will relax you to the point you feel like you've been on vacation forever. It's definitely boondocking at it's finest. The views are great with spectacular sunsets almost every night. This is one of our favorite spots to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
OK, I don't get it. Since I live in Ventura I have passed the Parkway a gazillion times and have always wondered why people "camp" here. Now I sit in my 5th typing this review. Yes, it has an awesome view, and this weekend it has been sunny and clear! But: you are still PARKED next to a highway, freeway, and train tracks. You are packed in like sardines, and if you are not careful, could be trapped by others. I had people walk in my site and hang around for awhile instead of walking on the road side, or on the beach. And of course, if it's not bolted down, kiss it goodbye! OK, I'll be generous because of the view and award it a 5! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
This campground is OK for a couple adults. The view is fantastic but the sites are small and you're camping on the side of a highway. There's also railroad tracks across the road but the sound of the waves drown out the noise from the trains and highway. There's too much traffic on the highway for me to be comfortable with kids in our site. We enjoyed our stay and will return because it's close to home. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$27
On the west side of your RV it is a 10, with a million dollar view. The east side is much lower with a fairly busy 45 mph road right next to the RV. This was a great overnight spot and I would go back. Not that great for walking dogs. Please be careful of dogs, and kids, and the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$21
This is truly a "one of a kind" campground. You parallel park alone the Pacific Ocean! Wonderful. You will need a fully self contained RV as there are no facilities at all. Just the ocean, so you'll need a quiet generator and more. No campfires in the rocks. Very dangerous as the rocks can explode when they get hot, so bring a portable fire pit. The only drawback for some is the train tracks are across the street but I think that's rather cool with the surf noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
I have reviewed this campground in the past but there have been some changes since then. The sites used to be variable in size and some were too short for larger camping rigs. They have now been remarked and are a uniform 45 feet (approximately) long. Our 35 foot MH and toad fit nicely with a foot or two to spare. There are signs saying no fires on the beach but I think that means on the sand. We have always had fires in the rocks that form the sea wall. The rangers seem to have no problem with that. The sand is cleaner than most public beaches we have used even though all of the cleanup is done by the campers, who seem to us to be generally well-mannered and considerate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
This is strictly primitive camping in front of the ocean. The roaring surf drowns out most of the sounds from the nearby road. We watched the dolphins play in the surf each day at about dusk. Signs warning of theft were posted, but we had no problems, and did not see any evidence of issues. All sites are first come first serve all the time. Folks were mostly friendly and respectful. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Okay, the views ARE spectacular! The problem is there are lots of abusers. Our site was loaded with cigarette butts, and walking along we observed plastic bottles, beer lids and cans, and a bag of smashed dog waste, right near the drains into the ocean. One of the dumpsters had soapy suds seeping out of it as if someone bagged their gray tank and put it inside, again running towards the drains into the ocean. It is hard to climb down or find spots to climb down to the water, especially with a dog. We had to park near the cement wall since there was insufficient space for our 40' rig and car in a space except between the wall and street. There are signs at all the pay stations to indicate anything left outside (even if chained to your vehicle) will be stolen. Our dog rarely barks in the night but got pretty excited here, where there is no light. What a beautiful place which will no doubt be shut down in just a matter of time, thanks to some really rude people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
I don't think there is another "RV park" like this on the west coast. It is a Ventura County facility. It is not an RV park in the usual sense of the term. Rigs are parallel parked along a stretch of what was the coast highway many years ago. The Pacific Ocean is on one side with only a boulder seawall between the RVs and the sand. On the other side is the old highway, which is still used by local traffic, and a fairly busy railroad track. As others have posted there is some traffic and train noise, somewhat masked by the sound of the surf. It is pretty awesome. Most of the marked spaces are about 45 feet. Access to the beach from most sites entails climbing down over the boulders, which requires some agility. There are no hookups and there is no water available. If you can deal with those things you will have a beach camping experience that is hard to beat. We camp there often and love it. Stay limits are 7 days in the summer (April through October) and 14 days in the winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
Nice place to stay if you can get there by Thursday or Friday morning. The spaces are nose to tail. You are not supposed to have a fire but everyone does. The beach is beautiful after you climb down the rocks. If you have mobility issues it can be hard to get to the sand. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
It is awesome to be able to park parallel to the ocean along Rincon Parkway, the waves crashing non-stop outside of the window. The waves are so loud if fact that it even masks the fairly frequent trains that run on the other side of the road. I especially love watching the white pelicans fly by and the dolphins, while looking out over the glistening ocean to the Channel Islands (assuming it's not foggy). The beach is really nice to walk along with fairly good wave break, althouh the sand disappears at high tide. The water is so close to the road that it would not be the place to be during a big storm or a tsunami! Another plus is the access to awesome biking along the Class II Rincon Parkway, and 5 miles toward Ventura start a series of Class I (ie off road) easy bike trails that go along the Ventura waterfront, and all the way to Ojai. Or, cycle into lovely downtown Ventura. We had been here 10 years ago (when the cost was around $10) and thoroughly enjoyed it. This time, unfortunately, we stayed here on Easter weekend, and were not here to party, but instead to find a place to camp in the area on one of the busiest camping weekends. We arrived Thursday noon and grabbed one of only 10 remaining sites (out of 150 or so). Rigs practically kiss each other end to end, so every inch of your site is gold. On one side of us, a large group had a huge bonfire on their site pad next to the rocks (which is not allowed) and were so loud in the afternoon and evening that we could barely hear the waves! This was one time we didn't feel guilty running our diesel generator for several hours in the evening. They left a huge mess of ashes and beer cans. Perhaps the $25 fee goes toward cleaning up after people like that, because there are no amenities except for a few port-a-potties and trash dumpsters. The posted rules say nothing about 'quiet hours,' only that vehicles must be self contained and fires must be in a commercial bbq. There are no camp hosts, only rangers who only seem to come by if someone hasn't paid their fees, so it is like staying in a lawless wild west town. I assume most weekends and holidays as well as all summer long are like this here. I hate places with too many rules, but this is what happens when you have no controls. I will only stay here again on a weekend if I am with a large group myself, or else during a nice quiet winter weekday for some wonderful oceanside solitude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
Many people might question the 10's that this "campground" receives; after all there are no facilities, no amenities, and the freeway and the train tracks are directly behind you. But it is all about having 50' of Pacific Ocean frontage to call your own for a few days! The waves crash right outside your RV so you never even hear the freeway and even the 11:00 pm freight train only barely catches your attention with some vibration. You have the perfect view of the sunsets and can enjoy all the walks on the beach your sandy feet can handle. The RV park just south in Malibu charges 3-4 times the amount and you only get to view the ocean from high up on a bluff across the highway. Here you get salt spray on your rig! Plan ahead as there are no reservations, and this area gets crowded. We live locally and this is a favorite area to come stay a few days for complete relaxation! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
We took our grandchildren to Rincon for the 3rd time and they love it. They never fight with each other either. The weather was wonderful. Burbank was 101 degrees. We were in 70s. It's first come first serve so get there on Wed or Thurs during summer months. It's dry camping so bring a portable shower. You can only stay 5 days during summer months. Too bad. I would stay longer. The best in Ventura for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
As others have said, Dry camping at it's best. The Ocean mist was cool and during high tide the ocean was slightly splashing over the wall. I was in spot 14, but would recommend spots 20 through 127 for the best views of the ocean. Some people were shooting off fire works over the water. The best part of the experience here is the entire passenger side of the RV faces the ocean so literally it is right out your front door. The train did wake us up once, but it is the freight train that makes more noise than the passenger trains. Bike ride to town is about 5 miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$27
Dry camping at it's best! There are no amenities or facilities, but you can park here right on the beach. There are trains on the other side of the road during the night, but they did not bother us. We love coming here in the off season to watch the dolphins play in the surf! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
If you want to park within 70 feet of the Pacific Ocean and watch the sun set each night with no obstruction to your view, this is the place. No hookups, but there are porta potties. NO showers. First come first serve. You will hear a couple of trains pass by each night, but its only 20-30 seconds at most. Enjoy the view, because that's why you're here. You can ride your bike into Ventura's Old Town in less than 30 minutes, or north to Carpenteria in about an hour. Best time is during the winter: not very crowded, and weather is moderate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2005
$20
My rating is basted on the view and relaxation value. Just north of Ventura on Highway 101 take the Seacliff Dr. exit and go south. The county of Ventura has taken old Calif. State highway 1, and turned it into camping spots. Your rig must be fully self contain due to no utilities or bathrooms. You camp right on the road next to the beach and enjoy the view and serenity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com