223200 User submitted reviews online!!
Picacho Peak State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (520) 466-3183
CGID3443

Picacho Peak State Park

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   8   7   8   9   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Huge sites, very peaceful state park. Camping fee includes $7 entry fee. We stayed two nights in a travel trailer to hike Picacho Peak. We filled out tanks with potable water near the dump station. There is a fee to dump tanks (for non-campers), but we didn't use it. Nice park for a short visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
This is a great place to stay for a few days. The park has 50 amp electric at each site, potable water, and holding tank dump at the campground entrance. The showers and restroom were very clean and well maintained. We like to hike and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Picacho Peak. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$25
Nice state park, but the location was a little noisy with I-10 constant noise and the train that parallels the freeway. Good space between sites, lots of hiking trails within the park. Verizon MiFi worked well. Park Wi-Fi was available for $$ so we didn't use it. We were surprised that the sites has 20/30/50 amp hookup but no water. We didn't realize that until after we were leveled and unhooked so we had to haul water. Nice stopover between Phoenix and Tucson and a chance to be away from the big city locations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
Nightly fee was $25, plus a $5 online reservation fee. Park has easy access. Interior roads were dirt/gravel. There were no trees. The park has many hiking/pet walking trails. There is good spacing between sites. Verizon 4G service was good. There was a centrally located dumpster for trash, but there were no trash cans located in the camping areas. We stayed 3 nights and will return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
We stayed here in off season and it was very quiet. Lovely views of the area. Very well kept. Off the freeway so little freeway noise. Wifi can be purchased from a service provider; good signal. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
This campground is right off interstate 10 between Tucson and Phoenix. You can see the 1,500 foot Picacho Peak from miles away. There are trails to hike that wind up the peak and in the spring you can overlook fields of wildflowers. Settlers heading west used the peak as a landmark traveling between New Mexico and California and later the road for the forty-niners and the Butterfield Overland Stage. This park is known for its landscape, and historical importance. It is the site of AZ's westernmost Civil War Battle. Union soldiers defeated 10 Confederate cavalrymen at this spot. The park was empty when we stayed overnight only about four or five campers per loop and there are three loops. We were in the B loop and had great views. Only one bath house was open but it was clean with hot showers. This is a very popular park for the snowbirds that come down in the winter and leave April 1. It is in a windy area and we were warned driving up interstate 10 to be careful about the desert winds. There is a visitor center with some exhibits and a gift shop. The area is known for its wildlife viewing and bird watching. We had electric but no water and the cost was $25 plus a $5 reservation fee. Very interesting overnight stop! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
This park is a great place to visit. It is clean, the bathrooms were spotless, and the views magnificent. It is easy to maneuver with back in and pull through spaces. Great hiking and nature trails for all levels of expertise. One drawback, make sure you bring enough supplies as there is nothing close if you forget something. A great park, been there twice and loved it both times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
A wonderful desert campground. Excellent views. If it is hot, select a site that will put your preferred side (of your rig) in the shade. Normally that is on the east side of each of the 3 loops. Good antenna TV reception. Our Verizon services worked well. Office staff would not let us enter to select a site but did let us change from the site they initially assigned to us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
One of our favorite state park campgrounds in the nation. Great views. Very well maintained. Most of the sites have good privacy. The only drawback is distant traffic noise from I-10 and the railroad tracks. Not a major problem, however. The electric has been activated for all three loops now. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Great State Park. The restrooms are fairly new and the nicest we've seen anywhere. The sites were level and there were nice walking trails. We stayed here one night and we would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Our families favorite state park! Beautiful views! Very big spaces, nicely spread out, restrooms/showers are top notch. The kids love climbing the peak with the caves. Campsite staff very friendly and helpful. The only thing that would make this place a 10 is having water and sewage hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
This was a surprisingly nice state park with very nicely spaced and roomy campsites. It is close to I-10 and train tracks so there is some low level noise, so marked down from what would otherwise have been a 10 rating. Very nice camp host who facilitated the check in process. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
A State Park in peak condition. Excellent for trekking. Do remember that the park "only" offers electricity. No sewer and no water. Having said this, the park also offers restrooms to a high standard seldom seen. No shops nearby so bring everything you need. Some noise from the Interstate and from trains to be expected. Nothing to worry to much about though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
We think this is a nice state park even more than we would have thought. It’s just off I-10, between Casa Grande and Tucson. The mountains here include Picacho Peak (3,374 feet). There’s a smaller butte right near the camping loops. Sites and loops are paved and level. The landscape is native Sonoran Desert. There are no trees or even oleander bushes. Each site has electric (no water or sewer), a fire ring/grill combo, and a wood-top picnic table. Some sites have a ramada over the table. There are back-in and pull-through sites. The electric on the back-in sites is at the back of the site. The back-in sites are double-wide. Depending on the site, the picnic area could be on the right, the left, or at the back of the site. We stayed in site A13 that had a good view of the peak from one side and the butte on the other side. The layout was good, giving ample space between sites. It was not crowded on the January weekend we stayed. The I-10 traffic and train noise was muted and distant. Showers and restrooms were clean and modern. The shower area had tile walls and terrazzo on the floor. There was plenty of hot water. There are a lot of hiking opportunities, from easy to difficult. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
One of our favorite parks. Sites are large, paved, pretty level and well dispersed. Electric at each site now and good dump station. Restrooms and showers are immaculate. You can hear some traffic from the interstate and train track but it is certainly not obnoxious. The hiking is very good- some pretty challenging. AZ State wanted to close this park because of budgets but nearby cities chipped in to keep it open. Pretty cool. Gotta support that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2011
$1.0
This park is closed (for the summer) due to budget cuts. I did not stay, but had to put in a date to get this on line. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Very nice campground. Spotless restrooms and showers. Wonderful hiking trails, the cables to the peak are a fun land for hikers. The train horn didn't bother us in the motorhome, probably would wake us up if we were in a tent. Getting hot, but our campsite had a shade shelter over the table, and 50amp power for the air conditioner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
Well spaced sites in a beautiful setting beneath the mountains and far enough from the interstate to make the road noise only a dim hum. We hiked up to the peak from both the front side one day and the back side another day: a great hike. Electric only, but not a problem for shorter stays. Fire rings, picnic table and a shade ramada at each site. Good place for traditional, family RV camping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Sites were well spaced, beautiful location, very clean, some hiking trails throughout the park with historic information about area posted on trails. Park is located off of interstate and near train tracks. Therefore, traffic and train noise was very noticeable. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
A very nice desert state park with immaculate bathrooms. While other parks were full, this park still had a few spots available even over the weekend. The interstate is visible in the distance, but we did not hear any traffic noise (very unusual since some traffic noise is heard at almost all campgrounds). It was very peaceful and relaxing with a view of mountains all around. We spend 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$21
Great park for a 1 or 2 night stay. Plenty of hiking trails to explore Picacho Peak and the various caves (not big ones) in and around the mountain. Campground (we were in Loop C) is clean and sites are not too close together. I-10 is visible, but not very loud. There are train tracks near I-10, however, that have trains and their horns going throughout the night. You can't really hear the trains, just the horns. Would stay here again, just have to remember to bring something to drown out the train horn sound. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$12
This is a very nice state park. I was there with the Airstream 4 Corner's Unit for the New Year and stayed 6 nights. It was quiet, nice, and dark at night. We reserved the Quail Loop and had it for a total of 22 Airstreams. We enjoyed the ramadas that have electricity and the fire ring got good use. The Rangers and volunteers were very helpful and nice to deal with. The bathrooms/showers were clean; only complaint is that it was cold in there, but luckily the water was good and hot. The sunsets were amazing! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$20
We met family here for a few days of camping before Christmas. We had a great time. The sunsets were beautiful and the weather was chilly but comfortable. The staff is very nice and the showers and restrooms were newly re-done. We will return many times I'm sure. I rated it an 8 because it doesn't have water hook-ups or sewer, but there is a free dump site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
We initially stayed at this park for an overnighter. We liked it so much we came back a week later, to stay for two more nights (We were originally going to stay in Phoenix but decided to stay here for those two additional nights). Sites are huge with lots of space in between. Views are good and park was clean and quiet. Water is available near the dump station. Restrooms where spotless and the showers had plenty of room and hot water. In addition to hiking we visited the near by ostrich farm and had a wonderful time feeding the animals and birds, well worth the $5.00 admission. The only reason I did not rate higher was because there was some road noise and a lot of train noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
We stayed here for 2 nites and really enjoyed this campground. There are several hikes to take in the park and the wildflowers were in bloom while we were here. No reservations, first come/first served but it was not full during our week stay. Roads are easy to manuver and sites are well laid out. The restrooms/showers were spotless and I did not use the shower in our coach for the first time in over 3 years!! Not much else to do in the area - campground is 20 miles from Casa Grande & 40 from Tucson. We would stay here again if we were passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
Wonderful little state park. Wildflowers blooming in early March and weather perfect. Dark, starry skies. This is better than being in Phoenix or Tucson. Verizon cell phone and EVDO plus TV reception was surprisingly clear and strong. Make time to linger and hike the trails. Dump station and water available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$20
Outstanding state park. We arrived in a 40' motorhome towing a Jeep and were able to easily find a pullthrough site so we didn't have to unhook. However, we wish we could have stayed for several days. Awesome views, clean park, interesting-looking hiking trails, birding, etc. Might be difficult for people with dogs. LOTS of prickery cactus (especially chollas that 'jump.'), but they do keep the campsites very clean of whatever they can. I'd highly recommend this as a stop for several days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$16
Camped here overnight as there was a toxic spill on I-10 that afternoon and the RV resort was evacuated for some time. The state park had plenty of sites and got one that was electrified. The scenery was stupendous. We could have easily spent a few more days here. The new bathroom/shower facility was the biggest and best I've ever seen for a campground. Spotless and very sanitary. We didn't experience any difficulty with noise as traffic was a mere crawl even late in the night. Good base camp with lots to do in the Tucson area. We'll definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$20
This is a nice state park close to I-10. I was afraid that we would get freeway noise, but although the highway was visible from our site, we really couldn't hear it. The location is at the bottom of Picacho Peak which rises up dramatically from the desert floor. There is a small visitor center with friendly, efficient staff. There are nice trails from which to explore the desert and good bird watching. The campsites are well-spaced out,clean and level. It's a good place to layover if you are traveling I-10. Nice sunsets! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
Nice campground up on a hill with views of the valley below. Great views at night of all the stars. Freeway noise was not a problem here as it is quite a ways back from the freeway. Lots of hiking trails. Bad water here also with signs warning of the nitrates in the water. Has nice dump station. Gets pretty busy starting in Oct-Nov as the weather cools off. Very large sites with lots of space between them. Would stay here again if in area. Has three loops with one loop for tenting or rv's with no hookups at all at $12 day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2005
$17
We really liked this CG but can understand how others might not. It's only a mile off I-10 and slightly uphill from the freeway, so there is some road noise. It was so constant, though, that it was more like white noise. Unfortunately, however, immediately on the other side of I-10 is a set of double railroad tracks, and trains run pretty often. Apparently owing to atmospheric conditions or something, we didn't hear the trains at all for 4 nights but during part of the 5th night they sounded like they were within a hundred yards. Odd. CG roads and sites are paved, sites are very large and mostly level. This is in the desert, but the campground is right at the base of Picacho Peak, so there are lovely views. Hiking trails, group CG areas (a 12-site RV group area has electric and water), picnic and day use areas. Imagine summers are pretty toasty here, but in February it was gorgeous. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2004
$22
Picacho Peak is a nice little park. Too close to the highway, but a good overnighter. We went there for our second outing in our new trailer since it was close to home. Great hike up and around Picacho Peak. Huge pull-through RV space with no one even close to us. Bathrooms were fine. Not many businesses around the park, so make sure to bring enough supplies for meals. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com