206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Ventura Beach RV Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 72 user reviews. Phone: (805) 643-9137
CGID3469

Ventura Beach RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
144
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   2   4   3   5   7   5   8   1   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$45
We stayed 2 nights and the only complaint is the park construction noise. Started early in morning. Laundry facilities has issues. Friendly staff; however, the after hours check in staff was not knowledgeable. I had to go in next morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$90
This was the fourth time we have stayed here; every time before has been PERFECT; this time a disaster. We go to Ventura for a dog show at the fairgrounds same time every year. We know it's a holiday, and we enjoy hearing everyone celebrate. We have always been able to choose our site; we make reservations 6 months in advance. On arrival, we were told that because we didn't pay a fee of $15, our site selection had not been guaranteed. We said we would gladly have paid that and more to guarantee the site; we were told "well you know now". We were squeezed into the same size site in another section of the park, with ANOTHER RV at no reduction of price. We were so upset, I was in tears. Eventually they moved us to a site near the one we had chosen. We noticed that the sewer connection was full of water, but hooked up anyway and had no problems until we left and were unable to dump our tanks. Also, they had a band playing until midnight on Saturday, even though quite time was 10PM. We complained to Security to no avail. When we went home, we tried to contact the park manager to voice our issues but never received a return call. We posted on their Facebook page with the same request; they removed our post without a call. I don't know if this place has changed hands or not, but it seems like they feel like you have no other choice but them so put up or shut up! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$68
The elevated noise level here is well known, so just deal with it or don't go here. For the first time in multiple visits over multiple years, the check-in went without a hitch. IF you arrive at prime arrival time, the line at the desk will be 10 deep!! A new twist (at least to us) was the armbands (to keep people in the park only to paying visitors). The bathroom near our campsite was clean but very, very messy. The park does not have walkways from the outlying rows to get to the restrooms, so you have discourteous campers walking through your dinner at the provided table to get there or to the overflowing trash bins. Speaking of which...they pick up at 7AM on Saturday (yuk), but not until 10:30 on Sunday when the trash is both in and out of the cans and spilling over everywhere. Now for the pluses: roomy sites although I did see a few where the trees encroached and would brush against the rig; nice store but you share the checkout lines with the registering campers; one mile walk to downtown Ventura, about .5 miles to the bike path that goes along the beach, Emma Woods State Park is immediately to the North of the park, also within walking distance. One word of caution...do not get the sites at the end of the rows towards the store...Friday night is Karaoke and Saturday night is a band...both loud and not necessarily pleasant to hear. On this weekend, the park did it's usual thing...packed as many people as possible into the park. The overflow camping at the Ventura end of the park was just that...overflowing. While I appreciate capitalism, this park does take it to a new level. All in all, the convenient location does mitigate the high cost and high noise levels, but they could do so much to improve the park (walkways/cable TV/better timing on trash collection/better bathroom maintenance). Our advice is to try it, and if the minuses are too great, don't go back. All in all, had a great time (went with a group) and will return albeit not as often as we could go due to some of the negatives in this review. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$60
We stayed in space number 7. The freeway noise was so loud we could not sit outside. The tent campers kept walking thru our and other campsites on a frequent basis. The space was small and the trees brushed up against our pull outs. The check in was slow and added more stress because they do not have enough room to checking the RV's. The stress level to be in this park was high and made the entire weekend a lost cause. We will not be coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$70
We stayed in site #7 and had to work at getting in. The trees were brushing the sides of our coach and the slides were in the leaves. Forget about the awning. We were 100 yards from the office and the Wi-Fi signal was terrible. I had to sit outside the office to send this as it was the only location for a decent signal. The freeway noise is non-stop and being 50 yards from Highway 101, it's loud. Beggars can't be choosers and its one week before the Fourth of July, so here we are for 2 nights, but we won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$60
Lovely, clean park next to busy fwy. There's plenty of fwy noise, but if you can live with that, it's a great park. Feels very safe and there are beautiful places to walk and bike nearby. Will return. NO REFUNDS for noise, so be sure you can handle it before you pay for a long visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2013
$55
After reading the previous reviews, my expectations were so low that I was pleasantly surprised. Still, this is very much a stopover park. They now take Passport America. You can get 50% off one day, weekdays only (Sun-Thurs). This is a good value. Good W-Fi. The park is on the other side of 101 from the beach, but a it is a 15 minute walk to beach and short bike ride to the town of Ventura. The edge of the park is less than 10 feet from Highway 101. Hedges can only do so much. I am not a light sleeper but noise was an issue. The young women at the office were nice, but at 12:02 pm, literally two minutes after check out time, a guy in a Security jacket showed up at my door. It was creepy. The park was only about 20% full, so it's not like someone was waiting for the spot. It seems like they are just looking for an excuse to charge a late fee. Given the PA deal, I extended from one night to two. It's not awful. But I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$55
I would have given the park a 9 but the noise can become very loud late at night.Sites were level, Hook ups worked perfectly. Staff was very warm and friendly, they delivered firewood to our site. 24 hour patrol would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2012
$60
Beautiful park. Lots of grass and paved streets. Short walk to a dilapidated state park and beach. Right ON the 101 Fwy. Rest stops are quieter. $4 per day per dog. No refunds on deposits or site fees. Wanted to have family over for a visit. The charge is $10 per vehicle and $4 per person. When you're the only game in town you can charge what you want. Until the customers stop coming, We won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$60
The staff was super helpful and friendly. Stopped by to chat if I was outside. Offered to help unhook tow car and set up. The park was immaculate and all amenities were well maintained. The only minor drawback was the freeway noise, but we were forewarned before we paid our money and the noise was not offensive. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2012
$71
I can't state enough how disappointing this RV park was especially for the ridiculously high prices charged (which they can get away with because there is not much to choose from in the area). The park is in a flood plain of a river right on the VERY noisy 101 and near another busy highway and road. Homeless people are everywhere and it's such a high crime area they have an on site security guard. It's not that close to the beach. You even need to initial all sorts of disclaimers when you check in about the noise, crime, flooding, etc. There were a lot of staff on site, but hard to get someone to actually help you, and when they did, they were not very helpful or friendly (and one was downright rude). They also charge you $8 a day per pet: but don't even provide you dog waste bags, a doggie area, or anything justifying the per day charge. They say it's for clean up and noise, although they don't enforce the leash and clean-up rules. Will even fine you for someone else's dog's waste on your site. They charge you for every little thing on top of their high daily rate. You're better off trying to fight for a spot at one of the state parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$70
Friendly staff, nice well stocked on site store. Sites are easy to get into, with a little bit of grass, a picnic table and fire ring. Our stay was over a holiday weekend so the place was packed, lots and lots of kids. They even had a rock band playing on Saturday and Sunday nights. They rent bikes on site so there were plenty of people riding bikes and scooters through the campground. They allow tents, so we saw several several sites with RV's plus 1 or 2 tents, for extra family and friends. There is a great bike path just outside the property. It's a quick ride to the pier or into old town Ventura. As mentioned in other reviews, the park is directly next to the 101 fwy. We like to stay in the in the back row 70's sites. The RV's in the closer rows seem to block the freeway noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$75
The name is misleading. It should be named the Hwy 101 RV Resort. It is not on the beach but a short distance from it. Maybe several hundred yards. It is very noisy from the freeway. The contract states NO REFUNDS. You even have to initial that plus indicate that it IS noisy. I was disappointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$65
Close proximity to both downtown Ventura and the ocean-front. About 15 minute walk to deserted beach. Staff friendly. Sites grassy with picnic tables and fire rings. Lots of noise from 101 Freeway and Main street, but bearable given the location. Large convenience store on site. No TV; no reception whatsoever. Laundry was a bargain. Only real negative was scuzzy, cramped, old showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$60
Yes very expensive. Mostly pull through sites. Clean park with no noticeable permanents or undesirables. A short walk/ bike ride to the beach. Good WiFi. Small pool. OK place if you want full hooks ups and able to get to the beach, otherwise go no hook ups and be right on the beach. Probably won't stay again due to cost for what you get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$55
Overpriced for what you get. All utilities are WAY in the back - might be fine for a 5er, but not for a motorhome if you want to keep your toad attached. Our site was far from level - and the park was practically empty but they bunched everyone up in one area. Security didn't even bat and eye when we drove in a 12:15 am, not sure what they were watching for but obviously if you are in a car don't worry about it. Noise from 101 wasn't that bad. Don't think we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$55
I was a little apprehensive after reading all the reviews of this campground. Upon arrival, I was greeted by two nice ladies who had my reservation right at hand. I had to initial a receipt stating that I understand that there will be traffic noise, etc. Which is understandable since it's right along the 101 freeway. I was concerned about the 'vagrants' that I read about in previous reviews but was assured that the 24 hr. security would look out after the park. They did tell me to lock up my bike. I keep in a bay so it's not outside. Nice looking and clean park and very convenient off the 101 freeway. I would give it a 10 but there is very limited space for patio enjoyment. Actually, there is no patio, just a grassy isle between the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$70
Way to expensive for what you get. This was the "holiday" rate. Certainly wouldn't call it a "resort". Nice paved park with mature shade trees. Plenty of room for our big rig. Pool area is ok and they have a small hot tub. Lots of security roaming about as they've had problems with thefts. VERY close to Hwy 101 so very noisy. Nice paved walking path to the beach about 1 mile long. There are very few RV parks in the area, so this is about the best. Wi-Fi worked very well. Probably wouldn't stay here again due to high rate. If you are willing to dry-camp, there is nice camping right on the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$50
Nice, clean, well run park adjacent to the Hwy 101 with the expected traffic noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$70
Check in was quick, friendly, and professional. The sites are paved and accommodated our rig, tow, and slides very well. No patio but well maintained grass with reasonable space from our neighbors. All amenities worked as expected. The noise from the freeway was not too bad. We were in site 75 near the back. I have not deducted for the noise because we were forewarned by previous posts. Management warned us about leaving anything out at night because of their sprinklers coming on and because there appear to be a number of homeless people living in the bush near by. I noticed that they have erected fencing to help eliminate the free-loaders. We have no complaints. We requested maintenance rake the long pine needles from our site because our dog dragged then in. They were at our site within minutes. The pool and hot tub looked clean as did the social room, but we didn't use them. Bathroom use requires a 5 digit code. This is not very user friendly, but it does keep the bums out (no pun intended). We paid $70.00 per night and this included $4.00 for the dog. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$60
AWESOME: this place was great. Bicycles for rent, on site store, walking distance (about 10 minutes) from the beach. There is noise from the freeway, but I will be more than willing to overlook that to stay here. Karaoke and a band on the weekend. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$66
The office had me sign a paper with a lot of statements you have to agree with. (Don't complain about the noise of the nearby freeway; don't complain about sprinklers making your campsite wet' etc., etc.) Very strange, but after a noisy night and finding everything around your camper wet, you understand why they let you waive their liability concerning the negative points of this campground. But, it's a very well organized campground. Has friendly staff, the sites are clean and level and the free Wi-Fi did work very well. So overall not a bad campground at all, just a bit noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$78
Nice park but a little over priced. Make reservations way in advance. Ventura is a GREAT place to go to. Nice quaint beach community. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$66
We stayed here when we were unable to find any openings at any of the state parks. The campground itself is very nice and well maintained, but the noise from the nearby 101 freeway is almost deafening. (They make you sign a paper stating you will not ask for a refund because of the noise). Because of the noise and the high price to stay here, we will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$66
This was bad. If you like deafening traffic noise, trains several times a night, rats, dirty restrooms, a rude staff and an owner (I think he was the owner) who tries to push his politics on you then this is the place for you. I like a quiet, clean place and would prefer to not mix politics with a place to park my RV. Apparently, all of these things are too much to ask. Avoid this place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$66
This is a nice park, but expensive. There is a very nice pool and jacuzzi, free Wi-Fi, and there was a band on the weekend we were there. There are many bike paths up and down the beach, and they extend all the way into the city of Ventura. This park rents bicycles if you need one. However, it is very close to the freeway, and there is no cable available. If you make a reservation, they charge a one night deposit, and you can't cancel at all if you don't do it within 2 weeks, plus they charge you an extra $15. You have to specify on check-in that you want a site away from the freeway. Some of the sites are only about 10 or 20 feet away, and obviously very noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$66
If you like it quiet when you sleep, do not stay here. The traffic noise is deafening at night. On the weekends, the park fills up with lots of kids and lots of families. Since we are a couple in our fifties and not travelling with children, it was not our cup of tea. The staff is particularly unfriendly and unhelpful. We asked where the restrooms were and an employee replied with a grunt and pointed finger. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$60
Very clean well maintained paved campground with many shade trees, lots of green grass and friendly helpful staff. Well stocked campers store. Very organized check-in handling a line of rigs 2 deep on Friday afternoon. The park does have some notable problems. Next to the 101 freeway with lots of highway noise. Train goes by 2 or 3 times a night. It is on the wrong side of the freeway so access to beach is almost 1/2 mile walk or bikeride on a paved county bike path, then a 3 or 4 foot jump down to the beach, not really ADA accessible. Still a great place to take a family or to travel to with friends. Clean pool, nice fire-pits, nice out-door picnic tables. I'll go back again with the grandkids and their bikes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
The best things about this RV park are their proximity to the beach, downtown Ventura, a clean laundry room and nice bike trails. But, with the intense pickiness of the check-in staff, the road noise from the freeway, the short sites, the non-refundable deposits, we would never stay here again. First, we were given a spot we just would not fit in (even though we had given them our vehicle and RV size). They acted like they were doing us a big favor by "allowing us to move." There were sites available we would easily fit into, but they would not let us into them, even though they stayed open during our entire stay. My husband (normally a terminally nice, easy-going guy) said he never wants to stay here again and this has never happened before in 30 years of marriage. Unfortunately, there are few good choices in the Ventura/Oxnard area. Our experience was so poor that we canceled later reservations (yes, with a non-refundable fee). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$66
We had a tiny spot between the one door to the bathroom and the swimming pool, so people constantly walked through our site. We asked if we could move to a different spot we found open, but were told our RV wasn't big enough for that spot. (29 feet isn't big enough??) They then crammed tent people between us and the pool, giving us more foot traffic through our site. They obviously just wanted as much revenue per night as possible. The streets were lined with parked cars, so two RVs going in the opposite direction could not pass on the road. When we returned from a day trip, we found more tents behind us, and one of the wonderful campers had dumped our barbecue pit out in the middle of our tiny patch of grass, and taken it to their own tent site. (Although it wasn't a site, just a tent set up next to the other tents.) The security guards were too busy yelling at small children trying to get into the pool area to actually see what was happening in the rest of the park. The basketball court and street flooded due to the irrigation of the field across the highway. We ended up leaving a night early, because our own yard was much more scenic and peaceful than this over-crowded park. We will never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$66
In 15 years of motorhoming primarily around California, this is the worst campground I have ever been in. For years our motorhome club has been going to this campground because we love the Ventura area and so we have tolerated the RV park. This year put us over the edge and we'll never return. First of all, the management has no clue how to run an RV park. During the 18 months since we booked our club in, they have lost our contract twice and we have had to send the signed version to them - remember - this contract was issued by them. When our wagon masters contacted the park about 2 months before our outing they told us that they had no reservations for us and no records of us - this after we sent them their own contract twice. They are charging us $ 66 a night - a price that normally would guarantee a first rate RV park. What we experienced was a park totally overrun by tents. 20' feet in front of our row of 12 nice motorhomes, we looked at an estimated 100 tent campers complete with kids that ran through our campsites, dozens of bicyclists weaving all over (without helmets), skateboarders (even some with motors), huge piles of garbage strewn about and noise late into the night. Although, I must say that their noise was somewhat muted by the constant roar of the freeway overhead. One of our members who has a seriously damaged back rode his small electric scooter to the office to buy an ice cream and he was told that scooters are not allowed and to not ride it again (but bicycles, skate boards, motorcycles are allowed). There was even a Pit Bull that lunged at anybody walking in the area and when we complained the management told us that there were no Pit Bulls. So the bottom line is that as much as we like the Ventura area, our club will not be back. And I concur with the previous poster regarding the vandalism and homeless situation. We even had one member's chained bicycle stolen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$70
Stayed here the 4th of July weekend in a 30' 5th wheel, which was clearly stated in the reservations made months ago. I was told and agreed to a pull through, ended up in a back in that was exactly 30' deep. I had to pull the bike rack off to fit. Management says, "Next time tell us 32 foot" (Really?) No cable TV, the WiFi is spotty at best and there was overwhelming noise from the highway: all of which I can deal with. But the whole "let's cram as many tent people in as we can" got me. We stayed across from the tent area (again, not my choice) where I got to celebrate our nation's birthday while listening to a family of (yes, this is an accurate count) of 22 people in 3 tents and the accompanying accordion and tuba music. Not the best. Parking (although guaranteed one vehicle per site) was non existent. Overflow parking is under a bridge in bum ville, a least 1/4 of a mile from my spot. Again, not my thing. Homeless and transients run rampant here, chain everything not bolted to your rig or vehicle down because it will disappear. Bathrooms: junky, filthy, crowded. The maintenance staff on a holiday weekend should be doubled to keep up. Pool: very small for a RV park of this size, under 18 in jacuzzi rule was enforced 1 time throughout my stay, and I got to watch a myriad of bra and underwear clad teens and their boyfriends frolicking while security never said a word. Staff was reasonable, but overwhelmed. I even got a staffer to back my rig into a spot because of the trainwreck parking jobs. This is my second time here, and for the money, my last. Ventura is a cool little town, and the resort has a great location, but the inability to provide "reasonable" services takes this place off my radar. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
This was our first ever RV trip. Family of four with our dog. We've been to a couple parks since, and this by far was the nicest. Has very friendly staff, nice concrete slabs and groomed grass. Within walking distance to stores and beach. Small pool but hey, not everything can be 100% perfect. Can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$70
Just finished a quick overnight at this park. We were passing through on our way north. We had reserved a pull-through so we wouldn't have to unhook: that's what we got. Site was clean, not too big with grass all around (but not a lot of extra space). The only real problem here is it's proximity to Hwy 101. You're literally 100 feet away and it is busy and noisy 24x7. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$70
This park has some nice amenities, but the spaces are small, and the freeway noise is disturbing. Our space was not clean. The grass had not been mowed or edged for some time, and there were beer cans and trash in our fire pit. We were backed up to the path to the beach, with only a small wire fence between us and the constant foot and bicycle traffic. Our two dogs did bark at first, which upset a park security guard who camps in the space next to us. He came out angry, telling us he had worked the night shift and wanted to sleep. He said if we were not quiet, he would have us moved. Moved to where we don't know, the park was booked for the holiday. We found ourselves whispering at our picnic table, before we came to our senses, realizing we paid a lot of money for our recreation, and we would not be hushed. This park is overpriced. There is no cable TV, and they didn't even heat the pool knowing the park would be full. The general store will clean out your wallet, but there is no ATM machine and they do not accept debit cards. They require payment by credit card only on holidays, and the cancellation fee is an outrageous one night's rate of $70.00. Nearby Lake Casitas Recreation Area has much more to offer for a lot less money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$50
We stayed for a week in a 38' 5th Wheel. We have 2 dogs, and the walking areas are huge when the campground is not full. It is very noisy, but we just wore earplugs when sitting outside. After the second night we became accustomed to the freeway noise and had no trouble sleeping. Easy access off Highway 101 from the north, not quite so easy from the south. But close to the downtown area, which is filled with small shops and cafes. Johnny's Burritos in the downtown area highly rated, even though there is no ambiance. Nice long sites, wide enough for our 4 slides. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$45
We have stayed here for about a week each year in January for the past four years. We find it very enjoyable. The staff is friendly. There is a well-equipped store on site. Pads are level. Lots of grass around the sites. Bathrooms are clean, but hopefully will be remodeled in the future. Wi-Fi has steadily improved over the years and is now puts out a steady, strong connection. Traffic noise from nearby highway 101 did not bother us at all. We purposely avoid the New Year's celebration which we found crowded and noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$55
As many have reported here, this park suffers from Hwy 101 noise, we were in the back third of the park and it was still very noisy at night. The park is also very expensive given their issues. Since it was days before Christmas, the park was about 1/3 full, I think it would feel very crowded during the height of the summer season. The park is well maintained, the grass is over watered (very mushy), and the staff is very friendly. We found the sites narrow for modern units like ours with multiple large slides. The slot we were in was very long, but to get the slides out, we had to be about 30' away from the utility access. The benefit this park has for us, is that it is right next to the main bike trail and close to downtown Ventura. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$55
Stayed here for one night, passing through. It's a clean park, has nice staff, is close to downtown and a 20 minute walk to beach. Location is great, but very noisy from the freeway (right on freeway). Get a spot in the back. Too pricey for what you get really. There's no cable TV but good Wi-Fi. I would stay again but only passing through, not for extended periods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$59
Off-season price of $55 per night plus $4 per night for a dog. Nice facilities, but one staff member clueless and another unfriendly and imperious. Immediately adjacent to the 101 freeway. It is a 20 minute walk to the beach. I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$50
We stayed here for 5 nights while attending a family reunion and really liked the park. The staff are friendly, the park immaculately kept, large big sites with lots of room for big rigs. It is a five minute walk to the ocean or 10 minutes to old downtown. There are connecting bike roads that will take you all the way around Ventura Harbor. This is a great park, and we would stay here again. It is situated next to Hwy 101 so try and get a spot at the back of the park or noise could be a problem. We had site 94 and it wasn't bad. No cable TV so you need a satellite. The laundry room was clean and reasonably priced machines. They have an on site bike rental and reasonably priced propane. Their winter rates of $50 and $60 for the summer are what you find in California. No weekly rates. We pretty much had the park to ourselves as it wasn't very busy in November. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$65
What a great time! You can tell this place is really stepping up. The new management is really making a difference and it shows. There was attention to details as well as great customer service. The weather was perfect that weekend, so not much could spoil our stay. We were a little disappointed that the Jacuzzi was broken but were told that a power surge had happened a few nights before and it hadn't been repaired. It is a bit noisy as its close to the freeway but inside your rig, you can't hear anything. A very close walk to the beach and our family rode our bikes everywhere. Ventura is a great town to get away in. Can't wait to go back!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$66
Beautiful RV Park with very nice sites with grass, picnic table & fire pit. Rest Room has great showers. Bring your bikes so you can ride along the ocean bike path. Only drawback is the hwy 101 traffic noise so get a spot closer to the Main St side of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$75
Overpriced! This was my families first stay here and we will never stay here again! It was way too pricey and the accommodations were pathetic. The pool was small and always packed. The jacuzzi was small and too cramped. The recreation rooms looked better in the pictures. The worst part was the fact that they wanted to charge a tent fee of $33.00 per each tent, in addition to your $75.00 a night stay. You are not even near the beach to hear the ocean waves break. They charged the driver of a car $8.00 and each additional person $3.00. YIKES! How much does one park need to make off each family that stays here? The soft serve ice cream was good. Our site was cramped. We asked for a pull through site but the ladies at the front decide who stays where, which is also a bad thing. The bathrooms were small, the shower heads worked poorly and they were cold, which didn't help because it was cold outside. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
I love the camp ground with all its nice greenery. The sites are large and the road was wide which made it easy to navigate. I did not give it a perfect score because of the freeway noise. Ask for a site far from the Freeway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
It's really hard for me to rate this park. I like this park, I really do! It is a nice park. It has full hookups, nice bathrooms, well stocked store, walking distance to the beach. The sites are level, with grassy area's, tree's and the staff is nice enough. It's clean, safe, like I said a very nice park. But the freeway noise is unbearable! I asked for a spot as far away from the freeway as possible. I was given one of the spots farthest away. But the drone of cars and trucks (especially the big one) kept me awake all night long, the second night I bought earplugs, but still did not sleep much better. There is nothing they can do about the freeway noise, so until I either get a soundproof camper or go deaf, I don't think I'll be planning on coming back soon. I gave it a 7 because the experience is still fresh in my mind and I'm still grouchy from lack of sleep. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$55
My wife and I have stayed here many time because it is not a far drive from our home. The bad is that it is too close to the 101 freeway on one side and Main street on the other so there is traffic noise. The good is that it is within a 5 minute walk to the beach and a 10 minute walk into a real town with super market, quaint shops, parks, coffee houses, many restaurants, $44 per hour massage, museum, old California mission etc. so you do not need a car. No cable but local TV reception and satellite; good WiFi no extra charge. Bikes for rent, long bike path along the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$55
Well, I have to agree with the other reviewers. This place is the only full hook up place in Ventura other than the beach parks which are always full. That is why they get away with charging $55 a night. They have trimmed all the trees along the 101 and now it is even noisier. We visit friends here and have no choice. It's a rip off. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$45
It's a nice park but the posted rate does not include the $5 per night tax and the $4 per night per dog charge. If someone had picked up the dog waste other campers had left behind, it wouldn't have bothered me as much. Since it was there and I still had to pay, I was not a happy camper. Don't look for me to return: too much $$$$ for what you get! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$60
Decent place but very expensive for what you don't get. There is no cable, wireless is spotty and they charge $4 per dog per night. They do not even supply dog clean-up bags. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$66
Only camped here for one night on our way up North. You are right next to the 101 freeway so it is extremely noisy all the time. For the Wi-Fi you need to go to the office to be near their router. For what they charge they should have a better Wi-Fi system. Also they do not have cable TV hookups. Would only stay here again if I had no other choice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$65
At $65 per night - ouch. I didn't get Wi-Fi on pad 60. See my review for April 2007. Not much has changed except for the gouging price. My coach has storage boxes that hang off the slides. Expect them to get wet because of the parks sprinkler system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2008
$44
Great RV park if you are looking for close proximity to Ventura, Ojai, or Santa Barbara. The park is very clean and well-maintained. The staff were hot and cold, nice one minute, not so nice the next. The pool is sparkling clean, and the little store has enough for some basics. The grass between the spots is very nice. Some freeway noise, but not too bad. One major, I mean MAJOR problem, is the homeless and vagrants that come out of the riverbottom adjacent to the park and steal your BBQ or anything else not locked down. Our little Weber BBQ was not locked down, so now it's gone. They come in the middle of the night or in the daytime. We spoke with some other RVers here who said these vagrants have been known to even carry bolt cutters to cut the lock and cable holding bicycles secure. SO: a STRONG word of WARNING. Beware of the homeless and vagrants from the Ventura Riverbottom area. The staff did not warn us of this so shame on them! This homeless/vagrant, theft problem is why this park get a 4 and not an 8, and the staff's attitude did not help either. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$50
We stayed here over Easter weekend 2008, so the rate was $50 per night for a full-hookup site. The campground is much nicer than I expected given its close proximity to Hwy 101 - it was very clean with lots of trees and grass. The freeway is literally 30-40 feet from the campground, so the freeway noise was a little annoying. Luckily, it did quiet down at night, but then you did hear the occasional train nearby. The pool was nice, but not heated. You can walk to the beach and the quaint town of Ventura is nearby. The store was well stocked, but ice was very pricey ($3.25 for a small bag). Unfortunately the weekend we were there was very windy all three days, but that's just the way it goes. We felt the rate was too high for this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2008
$45
Mud Mud Mud. We stayed here in February and had a lot of mud. The staff in the office we not the best. We loved the location but were not pleased with the overall park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$40
Rates are as follows: 11/1/07 - 4/30/08 40.00 + 4.00 tax. Tent camping same dates 35.00 plus 3.50 tax. Rate 5/1/08 - 10/31/08 60.00 + 6.00 tax. Tent camping same dates 45.00 + 4.50 tax. Holiday rate, 3 day min RV's 70.00 + 7.00 tax per day. Tents 55.00 +5.50 tax per day. Group rates available. Club House rental $150/weekend. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The toilets and showers were clean. The park was very clean. They did have some maintenance issue (i.e. leaking toilet or pipe) over the weekend in one restroom. Restrooms do have combo locks. Make sure you get the combo upon check in. They do have many homeless in Ventura and don't want them using the restrooms. Security is at gate til 4 a.m. Walking distance to a charming town. Town had cute stores, restaurants, groceries, fast food, etc. Walking and bike paths to beach. Bike path right outside entrance. Bike rental within walking distance. Small playground for kids. Very accessible area on way to Emma Wood Group area to dog walk and to go to beach. Only down side is you are right next to the freeway and there is quite a bit of freeway noise. It is white noise and didn't bother me..but may bother some. There is a store with fast food and general merchandise. Convenient if you forgot something or just want a fountain drink. We were with an RV Club. I really enjoyed it. Also very accessible to jump on and off the freeway for quick weekend get-away from LA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$55
Park conditions same as previously described. Good location, clean and friendly staff. Noisy at night with freeway 101 traffic. Located close to a river bottom which is known for transients to live and frequent the park. Our neighbors had their bikes stolen so lock everything up at night and when away. A lot of people walking around late at night, unknown if residents, or people looking for stuff to steal. High crime-rate area, as confirmed by Ventura PD, so be carefull. Only negative (besides theft) is their prices, which have gone up to $66 in summer ($77 Holiday) with no cable TV. We will not stay here again due to thefts and the high cost. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$55
Decent park with a good location, but the staff is horrendous. A no reservation site policy, which for some reason allowed them to tell us we could stay another day at another site because ours was RESERVED..interesting. Clean with the exception of the bathrooms which were looking like a homeless camp, and the store was hit or miss. I was charged 3 different prices for the same item (beer) 3 days in a row. Near a lot, but it claims a "10"..I say a 5..at best We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$55
This park has new ownership and management. It has recently been overhauled and cleaned-up. The new office staff was very friendly and helpful. The WiFi service was spotty at best. To guarantee a connection, I had to take my lap-top into the office, but was able to make connection from the RV site occasionally. It is very quiet here. The sites are close together, but are separated by a 10' wide grass divider. Overall we had an enjoyable 4 night stay, except the fee was the highest I've ever paid. But, they can get it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$55
I have stayed here a number of times. I was here on a Monday this time and the park was only 1/3 full. There were no noisy neighbors or kids running around. Not bad for an overnight, but very pricey at $55. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$40
I was a little concerned staying here after reading all the bad reviews, however when our place of choice turned out to be full we had no choice. The park turned out to be one of the best we have stayed in. The staff at checkin were very friendly and helpful, the site was a south side back in with plenty of room and nothing but grass behind us. There was plenty of width and room for our truck and 39' 5th wheel. Sites on the north side are pretty close to the freeway so I imagine they could get noisy, but ours was perfect. The only downside was no cable,other than that we would have given it a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2006
$42
Very noisy next to 101 Fwy, but beach walk is very nice. Go north to Emma Wood or south through wetlands to dunes. Quarter mile walk under highway to get to beach. Good security. Very close to downtown Ventura which is nice. Lots of restaurants. No cable or off-air reception. Other than staff, we didn't see any long term guests. Staff isn't very friendly or helpful and WiFI is awful (sometimes totally down, other times overloaded and slow). Manager admitted WiFi was 'an embarrassment' but didn't have plans to fix. Acceptable park when its half empty, but on New Years Eve it was packed with people with fires burning between very narrow spaces. Very loud. Every kid has some kind of motor vehicle crowding the streets. We stayed here as there are limited full hookup options in north LA, Ventura area. We came here to visit our kids in area, but we wouldn't stay at this park otherwise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2006
$40
I would not recommend this park; not only is it over priced but the attitude of the manager is the worst of any park we have stayed in. The staff that I spoke with were helpful, manager was not. Very bossy and not willing to compromise. The park does not have cable or phone hookups, which I feel for the price should be standard. The sites were a good size, not big enough for our slide and awning though. Our awning was touching the tree and the slide was over the lawn almost touching the table of the site next to us. I was told that I had to have our truck out of the street, even though the site was not long enough to handle our total length. I was told to move the truck and even park it on the lawn by the manager, not even in the next site. This was a little strange, every park I have been too, lawn was off limits for everything. The park was not near full, only about 25-35% used. The park would be fine for a night or weekend to stop and catch some sleep. Don’t expect to be able to clean the vehicle, no water can be used to clean vehicles, and you are reminded in a not so professional way if caught doing so. We will only stay at this park again at a last resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$50
We stayed at the Ventura Beach RV Resort for only a short weekend. We wished we had more time to spend there. We found the services, staff and atmosphere very family and camper friendly. This resort will stay at the top of our list for return visits. The only problem is their web site says "no cable" there were some sites with that feature. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$55
I would have easily given this park a 9 if the it weren't so close to the 101 freeway as it takes away from being able to hear the ocean which is only about 500 feet away. Easy access for "Big Rigs" even up to 50 to 60 feet. We camped in a 40 foot fifth wheel and had tons of room to spare. Sites are nicely paved and very level. Trees between each site give you a spot of privacy. Nice place to bring kids, park is equipped with game room (pool, arcade) and if you want to go into town, that's only five minutes away. Santa Barbara is only about 30 - 40 minute trek on the freeway to the north as well. We were pleasantly surprised based upon other reviews we read on this site. We are definitely coming again when other friends and family this summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2006
$44
I would not recommend this park; not only is it over priced but the attitude of the staff is the worst of any park we have stayed in. We were so upset at the way we were treated that I contacted the owner. It took four days for my phone call to be returned. After I explained what had occurred, he told me the two employees involved were one of his best. If those people are the best he has, this park is in serious trouble. We will not be staying at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$44
Probably the best park in this area but leaves a lot to be desired. My neighbor just had to have a camp fire about 8 feet from my coach. Spaces are close. No cable but I don't need it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$34
Very weak Wi-Fi signal, drops in and out. Maybe better if closer to main building? Very clean large big-rig sites, easy hookups. No Cable TV, antenna only and NBC & CBS very weak fuzzy signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$55
Way over priced; will only stay they as last resort. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$55
This could be a nice park if the dollar was not so important to the staff. The attitude of the workers is the worst I have experienced. They are rude, condescending and indignant. They do nothing to make you feel welcome and almost appear to be driving you away. They laugh at customers questions as if they are stupid. They make fun of customers with one another behind the customers back and clearly are not customer friendly. On holidays they rent out every little piece of grass even though it is not normally part of the campground sites. This makes is difficult to even walk in the park. I think part of the problem is that most of the staff live in the park in trashy looking sites and just don't want any strangers in their park. Stay away and look for a place on the Rincon or at Emma Wood or many other beach parks where they actually want you to have a good time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2005
$57
I didn't like this place. Way overpriced for being in this town and between two very noisy highways. You pay extra for your dog but there are no services for them. They allow tents and all kinds of shelters all around the site. It felt like I was in a refugee camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2003
$45
This RV park is a nice one. It has pull-through at just about every site and it also has tent sites. My wife and myself have stayed here a few times since April, and enjoy it for a quick little get-a-way. This campground has sites open all the time except on the big weekends during the spring and summer. The night activities are nice. I believe they still have kareoke on the weekend nights, and security isn't all that tough on the noise level as long as you don't get too loud. The only couple of issues with this campground are: (a) the walk to the beach is a long one. You are across the freeway from the beach, but if you are into a nice walk, then this is for you. (b) During the winter months and the rainy season, this campground floods really easy! Other than that it is a great little full hookup campground to go to if you just want to relax with a capitol "R". We will continue to come here periodically. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com