221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Gulf State Park Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 150 user reviews. Phone: (251) 948-7275
CGID35

Gulf State Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
496
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   9   10   8   10   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
This place is huge and busy. Luxury camping – swimming pool, tennis courts, beach – even golf. Have to drive to the beach but campers have free access to the day use beach area with boardwalk to the beach, outdoor shower spot, and concession stand with covered tables. Wifi was great one day and couldn’t connect the next – so I won’t rely on it. We never could connect at our campsite – had to go to the camp store area – that was the only time we were able to connect. Very convenient location to town and beach. Glad to see that they are starting a program to eradicate the tallow trees – it will eliminate some of the minimal shade available at the camping spots but will be great for the ecosystem in the long run. Not much shade, but some sites do have it. But since you can’t reserve a specific site you take what’s available. Many of the sites don’t have much shrubs screening them from other sites. But many small trees have been planted so in a few years there’ll be more shade and privacy. One tip: if you plan to eat at a popular restaurant in town - go during or right after lunch. Dinner and peak lunch time is really crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
Very well maintained site. Pads are well spaced. We stayed on the lake and had beautiful sunsets every evening and great sunrise every morning looking across the lake to the south. Maybe a mile or so to the beautiful beaches of Gulf Shores. Great gift shop, swimming pool with water park, quite for having so many kids around, Don't know about the internet service but the Satellite reception was great. Would definitely stay there again, in fact I can't wait to get back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
We stayed at this campground for a week. The sites are all paved and have a paved patio area. There is very little shade so the AC had to work hard. There are tennis courts and swimming pool. The campground is accessible to the public for $1/car so there did seem to be a lot of traffic. The State Park has a section of beach about 3 miles long. There is an access area near the entrance to the campground but unfortunately there is parking for only about 10 vehicles. Since it can be used by the public you have to get there early to get a parking spot. You have to be careful how you park because those arriving later will park behind the vehicles already there blocking them in. This limited parking does ensure that the beach is not very crowded. There is beach access at the State fishing pier and also at a large pavilion. Pavilion parking is $5/car. There is at least one other beach access area that is in Orange Beach between 2 condos. It is a lot more crowded there. The staff in the registration building are all very friendly and helpful. There are well maintained trails around the campground. The have many signs warning of alligators but we did not encounter any. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
We just spent 2 1/2 weeks enjoying this park. The sites are all very nice with paved parking with paved patio area including picnic table & grill. It's been completely renovated since hurricane Ivan. The facilities are all pretty new including a huge swimming pool area with children's area pad with fountains. There are also tennis courts, a nature center, gift shop, and wonderful bike county bike trails easily accessed from the park. The location is great and only 1 mile from the beach. I would rate it a 10 except for poor WiFi connection. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$46
Perfect. Great birding, great biking. They have added even more bike trails since last visit. Good showers and large laundry. It does not get any better than this. We were here during tornado watches and record flooding. We saw other parks and parking lots submerged, but our RV stayed high and dry here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
This is a very good campgrounds. All sites are level and some have shade. They will only let you make reservation for a road and not a site. This is a large park with lots of campers. Still, there is plenty of room for your site. They have no internet at the site so if you want to go to the main entrance, one can use the internet there. Good selection of off-air TV channels. The showers were clean but dated. Plenty of hot water with good water pressure in the shower. This is really a nice place to stay. You are about one mile from the beach and can use your campgrounds parking pass to get free access to the public beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
This wonderful park that gets our first "10" since we began full timing 2 years ago. Although very large with almost 500 sites, it was equipped to handle a lot of campers with over a dozen bath houses, many trash dump locations, and several large activity areas. These included a pool, volleyball courts, tennis courts, activity center, nature center, and miles of paved and unpaved paths for biking and walking. The internal roads and large sites were paved and level. They were also spaced quite far apart and all had strong 50-amp full hookups and nice tables. No fire pits, unfortunately. The Verizon phone coverage was good, and our amplified MiFi unit signal was adequate. The laundry room featured over 25 washers and 25 dryers, but in a place this size it got quite busy at times. Bathrooms and showers were clean, and the showers had benches and hooks for toiletries and towels. The staff was friendly and helpful, even though they were always extremely busy. There were nice grocery stores and many restaurants within a 10-minute drive of the park. The streets were busy with lots of kids and bikes moving around, but everyone seemed to be having a good time. We stayed 3 weeks and found it was much cheaper to pay the monthly rate. If you stay a week or two your daily rate will be somewhat higher. The monthly rate is only offered during the winter months, after that the stay is apparently limited to 2 weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
Very nice and well maintained park. Full hookups, paved, level sites, great utilities and friendly staff. We were along the canal toward the state park's beach which was a very pleasant one half mile walk. The state park also maintains their beach VERY well. The water is emerald green and the sand is like sugar. We were there during spring break. The park was 100% full, but the beach was 99% empty. Was so nice! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$28
Great park with paved sites with both back in and pull through Big sites. Some more wooded than others. Park has Paved and natural terrain bike and hiking trails. Lots of activities available, pool, tennis, horseshoes and music jams. Most certainly will stay again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$34
Beautiful state park a mile from Gulf beaches. FHU 50 amp site. Free Wi-Fi, but did not work well when park was full. Paved roads and site with patio, picnic table and grill. Sites are huge. Beautiful setting with some sites backing up to a small lake. Miles of hiking and biking paths. Nature center, activities building, small store. They take monthly reservations in winter so difficult to get into without making reservation well in advance. This has been one of the nicest places we have stayed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$28
You couldn't ask for more from this large state park. We needed a place to say for a couple of nights and found this state park. Nearly all of the sites were taken by snowbirds from upper midwest U.S. and central Canada who were staying for extended periods. From October to March, people can rent sites for under $500 per month for full hookups. There are a bunch of paved bike trails in the park and plenty of golf courses for those afflicted. The sites are spacious, paved, and have full hookups with up to 50 amp service. Plenty of rest rooms in the park. We'd definitely stay here again if we were in the area. From Sunday - Thursday, a 15% discount of regular fees applies to all seniors, no matter what the state of residence. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
This has been rebuilt since Hurricane Katrina, and is a wonderful place to stay! The facilities are immaculate; there's lots of hiking and bike paths; the educational center is interesting; and of course the beach is spectacular! Each site is enormous. Your closest neighbor might be 75 feet away. Everyone is friendly and helpful, and you're a quick drive from all the fun restaurants and shopping in Gulf Shores. This is a massive park. Going to the beach will entail either a hike or a bike ride. It was approximately 3/4 mile from our site on Bobcat Rd, but you can drive to the larger pier where there is car parking. We will definitely camp here again; it was a wonderful experience! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Hate to say nice things about this park because it will never be available again. Very nice park, great location for the beach. Plenty of walking, biking trails, things to do. Friendly staff, clean well kept, I need to stop saying how nice our stay was. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
This is a very nice campground. Lots of trees, good paved roadways and sites. Campsites are nicely spaced, some more private than others. Wifi only available at some sites but can be accessed at the office parking area. Nice pool, laundry, store, etc. Everything clean especially the bathrooms/showers very spacious and nice, staff friendly and helpful. Unfortunately rates are higher on weekends. A large well run campground, would love to return to some day. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
With a 45’ motorhome and tow, we don’t usually find state parks that can accommodate us. Gulf State Park is a fantastic exception. Excellent layout, huge sites, full hook-ups, paved roads-sites-patios, and a selection of pull-thru and back-in sites make this a great base camp for exploring “Lower Alabama”. Staff was friendly and helpful. We visited just as the snowbirds were starting to return, so there was plenty of space. We didn’t choose one of the more expensive lake-facing sites but were quite happy with what we got. I didn’t expect Wi-Fi in a State Park, which was just as well as it was marginally useful. The facilities are very well maintained, except for a couple of bathhouse doors that were peeling. About the only downside is that battling the fire ants is a daily operation. All in all, this was a great find for us, close to the beaches and other things to do in Gulf Shores/Orange Beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$31
We love this park! We were there for a week, and just got back home a few days ago. I cannot think of any area or category in which it does not earn at LEAST a 9 or 10, in my estimation. Location is great. Bike and walking/hiking trails, great. Utilities and functionality, great. The sites are huge, the roads are paved, flat and in perfect condition. The previous reviewer mentioned poor Wi-Fi, which is the exact opposite of my experience. In fact, the Wi-Fi was better than I have had at any other campground. I could go on and on, but I'll shut up now. BTW, I do NOT work for Gulf State Park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$31
A massive campground for a state park. Very big rig friendly. Plenty of space between sites. Quiet and dark at night. Perfect for relaxing and sleeping. Ample interior roads for bike riding. Hiking trails, as well. Numerous restaurants in the areas of Gulf Shores and Orange Beach. Extremely friendly staff. Check-in area provides plenty of room for numerous RVs simultaneously. The Wi-Fi is virtually nonexistent, at least where we were even though a Wi-Fi repeater could be seen from our RV. This was frustrating because there is no cable, as well. There are a dozen or so over-the-air TV stations, but a majority are either Spanish speaking or religious. Unless you're into sitcoms on NBC or CBS, your viewing options are limited. Satellite TV is highly recommended. Clear view of the sky is easy to obtain since there are no shades trees. This is a very nice campground with a few limitations. If you're not concerned with Wi-Fi or cable, then this could be your mecca. We like to stay in touch with family and friends scattered around the US and Europe. Having internet access is something we value. Luckily, we have an iPad with a data plan so we did have access. But the park advertises Wi-Fi and it was practically useless during our entire stay. Usable about 5% of the time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
Sites were wide and level. Plenty of walking and bike trails. The restrooms were clean. There is plenty to see and do. Close to beaches and town. I camped here in a Class B. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
We stayed here for a few days in September. Check In went very smoothly and they were very helpful in picking out a wonderful site. Great pool and extremely quiet at night. The location is ideal for seeing Gulf Shores and Orange Beach. We will come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
First time rv'er, and first time at Gulf state park. Stayed with wife and 3 kids. We all had a great time! Yes it was hot, but the pool was perfect. So many things for kids to do, and the big kids! Fishing, pool, a great nature center, miles of trails. We rode our bikes ALL weekend! Very clean and air conditioned bathhouses. First rate staff. Very close to beach, short ride. We will be back very soon. Highly recommend this place. GREAT value, and experience the natural beauty and hospitality of the Alabama Gulf coast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
Great state park across US 90 from the beach. Campground has level sites and pull through sites. Great pool. Can park at beach pavilion without additional, with paid camping pass. Some sites off main road have sparse shade due to past fire. Overall, great place to camp and go to the beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Love, love, love this place!! Beautiful pool with a splash area for toddlers, lovely new pavilion, camp store, and roomy sites. Great cycling and jogging on the beautiful Back Country Trail. Easy accessibility to wonderful restaurants. I rode my bicycle to the beach!! Great place!! Senior discounts available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Gulf State Park campground is great. Sites were nice and level, and pull through sites afforded the most privacy. There are many back in sites that had good trees and shrubs that provide good privacy, too. Wi-Fi did not work well at all, but I could pick it up near the check in office when needed. Restrooms and showers were very clean and dumpsters are provided for trash dump. Nice laundry facility, camp store, tennis courts, volley ball court, great pool, horse shoes, education center with nature presentations and awesome bike trails make this park a fun place to stay. Shelby Lake is on the park property and is wonderful for swimming if you get tired of being on the beach. Staff were always helpful and they sprayed for mosquitoes while we were there. Can't wait to return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
We've stayed in Gulf Shores several times, but this was our first stay at Gulf State Park. The staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. The park is clean and centrally located. The beach was less than a mile, and the parking was included in the campground fee. The check-in process was simple, ane we changed sites to get a lake view. Great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This was an AWESOME park! We had the best time! They have plenty of space at each campsite. The restroom facilities are numerous and scattered all throughout the site. The pool and splash pad were practically brand new and in excellent condition. My children loved the pool and splash pad! This park is very bike friendly and has several fun bike trails (my husband and I saw an alligator, lots of bunnies, turtle eggs, and a snake while riding our bikes). The downside to this park is that you have to drive to the beach (unless you want to bike ride, but we have too much stuff for that). I will stay here at each beach trip. We had that much fun! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
Great location. Kids loved being close to the beach. Good access to the bike trails at the far end of the park. We camped in site 48 in a cul-de-sac close to the swimming pool and the nature center. This site is not the biggest, but had great privacy. Huge park, but the workers did a great job of checking everybody that cames in. Great park for kids. Definitely coming back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
The campground is very clean. It is big rig friendly. We have a 40' motorhome and had no problems. The staff at the front office are all very serious about their jobs. Sometimes this is a big annoyance. When you pull up in your RV, they see you coming. They take the chain down and tell you where to park. We parked and turned the RV off. We were exiting the RV to go check in when the gentleman approached us and asked us to move the RV forward two feet. When we were leaving on our last day, there was no place to stop to hook up our Jeep behind the RV. We didn't want to block the road, so we went to the front. There are two lanes to exit next to the office. We pulled in one lane and got ready to hook the Jeep up when the gentleman got a little excited and told us that we could not hook up there. We had to pull onto the main road and then into the grass on the side of the road to hook up. Other than the staff at the front office, this place is great. The pool, lakes, tennis court, beach pavillion, gift shop and bath houses are all wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
We enjoyed this area of the state so much we decided to stay longer. Fortunately, we timed our visit to this park after the departure of most snowbirds or nothing would probably have been available. Many things (rates, time allowed at specific campsites, availability of campsites, etc.) change after the winter months. We were allowed to drive through and look for a nominal fee. We were told to identify a couple of candidate sites, perhaps one would be available on our arrival in a few days. (Reservations could not be made at the campground check-in area, but apparently could be at another part of the park and those would not be site specific.) On the day of our arrival, my wife went ahead in our dinghy to get our site of choice. This was not allowed until I arrived with the RV. Not a problem for me, but suggestive of issues with previous visitors. Lots of variations in the type of sites available. Ours was a back-in premium lake front. This area was at or close to capacity our entire 2 week visit. Many of the outlying parts of the campground were all but vacant. And this is a campground, not an RV resort. The level of activity of the campers is way above what one generally sees in an RV park. Lots of people haphazardly riding bikes, lots of vehicles exceeding the 5 mph speed limit, people everywhere doing all kinds of things outside. Fortunately, we had no issues with violations of quiet hours or excessive noise in our area. I especially loved the Backcountry Trail for biking. But I now know it is associated with surrounding cities and not just specific to the park. For a family vacation, this campground would be great. For full-timers looking for a safe, quiet, relaxing facility . . . at this time of year, it was just too busy for me. We would return, but choose one of the less populated areas of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
What a fantastic park! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Level paved sites and big rig friendly. Decent space between you and your neighbor. No cable, but you get all the channels needed from your off air antenna. Lots of walk/bike trails and level campground roads to ride. Close to the beach and other activities. Just opened the zip line in the park too. Lamberts restaurant was a great place to eat that wasn't too far away. We liked it so much, we are planning another trip! Highly recommend this park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
This park continues to be one of our favorites ---due to its beach, large, clean washrooms, biking/walking trails, golf course right in the park, nature centre, large sites and open skies . The area surrounding GSP is also top notch with lots of shopping, restaurants, golf courses, a movie theatre, boat rentals, arts and crafts, concerts and activities. The waiting list for next winter is well over 200 --- a testament to the park's popularity. The rate reflects the monthly rate. Wifi has improved but is still hit-and-miss. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
Great state park with 50amp service and large paved pads. We camped in a 40ft motorhome and would consider this campground "Big Rig Friendly" which is rare for state parks sometimes. There is a lake our site backed up to called lake shelby on the map. The park was close to dining and the staff was friendly. There are also some neat cabins available for rent not far from the RV park portion of the park. Good value for near beach camping and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
Outstanding park! Had a lake front site, very large, picnic table & grill at each site. Clean restrooms & showers. Activities offered every da. (horseshoes, volleyball). Hiking trails everywhere, bicycle rental available. Staff were all knowledgeable, and friendly. Would stay here again when in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
Really an outstanding state park, the sites are level, all with full hookups, paved and very spacious. We enjoyed a week there and it was really relaxing. Our site was on the lake which provided some really beautiful views, but a little windy compared to the inner sites. Very easy to access Gulf Shores, Orange Beach and even Pensacola from the park. Strong Wi-Fi from our site. Love it, will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$29
We stayed here last year a couple of weeks earlier and there were lots of vacant sites. This year there are a lot fewer sites available but we got a nice one. The place is pretty much full of snowbirds and the staff and campers are very friendly and chatty. The showers were spotless with great hot water, medium pressure, and plenty of room. I give them a A-. This is a great place to hang out with lots of restaurants, sightseeing, beaches, hiking, and biking. Roads and sites are paved, Verizon MiFi works well and the parks Wi-Fi is OK sometimes, other times it's extremely slow. The system always seems to be in the process of being worked on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$28
This a wonderful park with lots to do. Sites are paved, clean and the bath houses are new and up to date. The cabins are very nice and on a lake. There are great bike/hiking trails. The park includes a long ocean front park. There is a lake for fishing and a long ocean dock for fishing. The park has a nice community center and nature center. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This park took a beating with the hurricane but has come back full force. They have planted trees, and there are a few areas that the storm left intact and are wooded. I would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
This was about our ninth stay at GSP. It continues to be outstanding! The bike/walking trails are absolutely 10 out of 10. The beach is a short bike-ride or drive or a long walk but it is terrific. The golf course at the park is very good and reasonably priced. The 500 sites are large and quite private with few trees and open skies for lots of sun in the fall and easy satellite location for your TV. All sites are full hook-up. Wi-Fi has improved a lot and work is still being done on it. Lots of shopping, cinemas and restaurants close by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
This campground has a site for everyone, water front, pull through, back in, shade, sun. I loved the security of the campground, and the staff was one of the friendliest that we have ever been too. Really enjoyed our stay, and the area has a lot to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$34
This is a very large campground, but make no mistake, it is a gem. A well-maintained park with large sites. We stayed here on Veterans Day weekend and there were plenty of vacant sites. Swimming pool was not heated so we did not get to try it out, but we can imagine it would be very nice during summer months. The beach is close by and so is local shopping. We also got to try out the State Park Golf Course, not world class, but very enjoyable nevertheless. We will definitely come back to this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34
This was our second stay here while working in the area. Staff was very friendly and helpful on check-in, and the site was just as we remembered it. All utilities worked well, except wi-fi stopped working the last night. Didn't really matter because our Verizon data service worked well. Restrooms were clean, and grounds looked great. Hope to come back when we have more time to enjoy the trails and hunt the rest of the geocaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$43
First time to stay in this park. This is a huge campground with all types of sites, back-in, pull through, that spans through approximately two miles from the registration area to the end. Two tier pricing for weekday and weekend stays. Large pool, camp store, boat rental, nature center, a lot of things to do in this park. Just a short drive or bike ride over to the beach or to the fishing pier. Only downside is the lack of shade due to hurricanes and fires in the past few years. Restrooms are very clean, look "like new". The Wi-Fi is very spotty. There are Wi-Fi repeaters about every 1,000 feet and we were half way between two, the signal was good most of the time but the speeds were very slow most of the time. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$37
Super nice park that rivals the best anywhere. Lots of bike and hiking trails. Rural setting near the beach. We had a lakeside space and even saw an alligator in the water. Lots of birds to listen to also. This will be our place everytime we return to the area. You get parking at the State Beach areas with your campground permit. You can ride bikes to the beach access point if you want. Lots of room at each site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
We stayed at Gulf State Park 5 nights. The sites are spacious and level. Shade is hard to come by expect in the loop near the lake. The pool was very nice and beach access was 5 minutes away. The bath houses are some of the cleanest we've ever encountered. The check in staff was very helpful. Even though check in is officially listed as 4pm, we saw campers checking in all hours. The park was less than half full during our stay, so there were no crowds. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Wonderful CG. Has level, paved sites. Some are shady. Has friendly, helpful staff. We stayed after schools had started back, so cg was quiet and uncrowded. Beautiful pool area and maybe 15-20 people were here. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
We loved this park! If it could be closer to the beach, and if our site been more grassy than weedy/sand it would be a 10. We stayed on a lake site which seem to be most popular. The campground was very empty while we were here because school was starting soon in AL. Some loops had only a few campers. (Those who really like privacy could get it at this time in this almost-500 site campground). The pool area is awesome! It was open 9-9 daily and was a great option, when the beach wasn't. Easy to walk to if close enough, or they have a large parking lot if you want to drive. The beach is across the highway so we drove each time. Our camping pass allowed us free parking at the main beach area and we didn't mind this at all. We could see the flag for beach conditions from our site which was nice. The bathrooms were some of the best. Clean, AC and empty each time I went. Perhaps because the park offers full hookups, people use their campers more. The showers were so much better than our camper one, though, that we often opted for the park showers. All the sites near us were occupied and we had nice neighbors, no issues to mention. The campground overall is not very shady, but you can make it work. You can't select your site ahead of time, so depending on how busy the place is, your choice of site may be limited. We were told the place was full only a few weeks before we arrived. Definitely worth it and we're already talking about when we will go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
The spots at this park are spacious and level. The park has an amazing pool for the kids, a large laundry facility and camp store, and very clean bathrooms and bath houses. The park is very close to downtown (lots of bars and restaurants), a Super Wal-Mart, and the beach. We would have loved to stay here longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
The campground has a lot of sites, but each site has plenty of room. The pads are paved and over sized, but still have a yard. The Wi-Fi is not working for the next couple of weeks, as they are changing all of the electronics and going with a new provider. The bathrooms are very clean. The nature center does a great job providing classes with live animals each day. Kids activities happen on a daily basis. The new pool is extremely large with 5 sets of steps to get in and out so little ones don't block all of the steps. The splash pool was loved by our little one. Great experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Excellent campground. Not many trees because of past hurricanes but is definitely nice. All sites have full hookup and paved spots. Bathhouses are great and conveniently located. The pool is large and clean. Great laundry facilities and friendly people. Very well organized We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
This is the best campground we have ever visited. The ladies at the check-in office were very friendly and made the check-in process easy. The lots are nicely spaced. The pool is wonderful. The laundromat has plenty of washers and dryers. We will definitely visit this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Great bike and hiking trails. Family-friendly, lots to see in immediate area. Staff and volunteers are friendly and efficient. Cable TV would be really nice, as viewing is non-existent by antennae. Even without cable, we LOVE this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
We stayed here with a rally group and had a great time at this park. It was well run, very clean, and we would return here anytime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
Very large campground but not much shade here. The hook ups are more to the middle of the pad than the rear so take lots of server hose. Reservation system needs to be revamped, needs to be site specific. When we arrived we were given site 61, went there and someone was already camped there. We also don't understand why campground guests have to pay $2 for pool access but cabin guests do not. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$27
We really loved Gulf State Park. The park has suffered a lot of damage from Hurricane Ivan and a forest fire last year, but it is still beautiful and has a lot to offer. We had a site on the north side facing the fire site, but it was very beautiful and green and the views of the sunset were spectacular. People were very friendly, the bike paths were amazing, the area is filled with great restaurants and the beaches were nice. Unlike the Florida state parks, there is no stay limit during the off season (before April 1) so there are a lot of snowbirds who stay all winter. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$24
Very nice park. Pool wasn't open yet. Sites are big and paved and level. WiFi is available, but not good at all. No bandwidth. Close to the pier, beaches, Gulf Shores and Orange Beach. Lots of eating places close. Nice nature center, small, but nice. They give a nature walk tour of the pier which was nice. Camp store and fishing at the park. Our price reflects the senior discount which I believe is 15%. We spent 6 nights here. We would definitely stay here again and may do a longer stay when we are both retired. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$36
Nice sites, great wildlife/bird watching but the office/reservation staff needs to be summarily fired and replaced. They've all been there for years, and think THEY own the place. Good luck if you have a problem, or need reservation help. They are rude, condescending and have horrible customer service. In the future, I'll bypass the Alabama State Parks! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
This is a very large campground, but it is a wonderful place. We had a huge level back-in site. If you don't have a reservation they put you on a list when you arrive and you have to wait until 3pm to check in, then it's mad chaos and too bad if you get in the wrong line. They give 15% discount for seniors, reflected in price shown. Generally the staff were pleasant and helpful. There are great trails (walk/bike) from the campground and the beach is close by. Also good for shopping in the area. The pool isn't open yet, but we swam in the ocean. The activity center and nature center have things going on every day.Would've given it 10 if not for chaotic check in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$35
The park was full with snowbirds until March. Liked the park very much. Beach is across the road with a pay fee in the summer months. 24 hour security. I was here 5 days and did not find any restaurants I will recommend, they were just ok. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
We have stayed at GSP several times and is near the very top of our list of almost 50 RV parks. The area has a lot to offer: tons of shopping, beautiful beach, restaurants, etc. The open skies favor satellite TV and snowbirds looking for sun. Laundry facilities are top notch. We have never stayed in a park with bike trails as good as GSP. There is a golf course and driving range right in this enormous park. The only drawbacks are very spotty Wi-Fi and a check-in system which is baffling. If you don't have a reservation, brace yourself for different procedures from different office staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
Nice location to the beach and shopping and area. Very large, easy pull through sites. Very safe feeling. Too bad about the forest fire, over 1000 acres ravished, so not as scenic as it was. Availability is very flexible, if you want to stay longer just tell them by 11 that day. Also, they do monthly stays, which is great for a State Park. Reasonable price. Facilities are newer and clean. Huge laundry area. Friendly campers, many long term snowbirds. We stayed 9 nights. Gulf Shores Alabama is a real nice area. Lots of shopping, restaurants, golf. Activities such as exercise, horseshoes, bicycle club. Wi-Fi very poor, but not even expected at a State Park, so can't really complain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
Great state park. A little expensive, but worth it. Sites are paved half moon pull through sites. Nicely spaced and private. FHU's including 50amps: all worked well. Good water pressure. Local channels came in on antenna. You can walk/bike or drive to the beach. Beautiful sunsets and stars. Very friendly staff and campers. Downside: you can only stay 2 weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$28
To start with I'd give this place a 10 but it doesn't have cable TV hook up. Not that big a deal for me but important for some folks. Our rate reflects the the weekly rate for old farts. The sites are and roads are paved and you're not right on top of one another with easy in and out. Close to the beach with miles of hiking and biking trails. AS mentioned in an earlier post they had a wildland fire that burned up the area on the N side of the campground but it's starting to come back nicely. The place is quiet but during the day week days there's a lot of single engine air traffic (mainly turbo props out of Pensacola NAS). The staff is friendly and you can have your priority mail, UPS, and FED X delivered to the office. They have a nice swimming pool, laundry, campground store, and activities hall. They are close to stores, shopping and restaurants. Full hooks, clean bathrooms with clean showers with plenty of pressure and hot water. Their Wi-Fi is kind of off and on. We had mixed results with getting on. Verizon Wi-Fi works fine. They also have cabins for rent if you want the family to come visit. This is a great location and I could easily see spending the winter here. This is on the Gulf Coast but it does get below freezing here. This week we have had highs in the 80's and lows in the upper 20's. But it's January. Looking forward to the next week. Go to Pensacola and check out the Naval Aviation Museum. It's THE best air museum I've ever seen and it's free. In our 1.75 years traveling this place is the nicest place we've stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$33
A great park in a great location. Immaculate rest rooms and showers. There is a pool, tennis court, laundry and access to golf. The Gulf of Mexico is across the street. Monthly rentals are available from December to March only. Close to shopping and restaurants. Only negative is there was a burn in the park in the past year. If you are staying for an extended period you may want to pick a site that does not look at the burn. The kind women that checked us in did not really explain our site options very well, and not having been here before, we did not know to ask for the Lake sites. We will return though, as this is a great park with very private, level paved sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$36
Fantastic amenities, bike riding, hiking trails, HUGE swimming pool, beautiful tennis courts, definitely a destination for the winter as long as you don't mind the possibility of cooler temps! This is a 6100 acre park, family friendly and just a great park. Alabama should be proud of this gem! There's even a nature center on the premises; boat launch and fishing available, too! Rate reflects "on the water" which was a canal, and it was a senior rate as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
This was our eighth stay at GSP. It just keeps getting better. The excellent bike trail system continues to be expanded. Features include but are not limited to: open skies, a terrific, inexpensive golf course (right in the park), lots of shopping and restaurants, Wi-Fi throughout the campground, a large pool, tennis courts and a large, new laundry facility. A recent forest fire and the devastating Hurricane Ivan are no match for the work done to keep this 480-site park in wonderful condition. Warning: the Wi-Fi can be iffy at times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$33
One of the best Alabama State Parks that I have stayed at. We stayed on the lake which was a little extra but well worth it. The sites on the north end do back up to where the fire was at this summer, but it is greening up. We found only a handful of sites that I would consider a bad site. I would not recommend the sites behind the dumpsters. All the sites were level and spaced nicely apart from each other. The bath houses were very clean. The pool was something you would expect to see at a top notch resort. Be sure to check out the activities schedule while you are there. The mosquitoes were bad right at dusk. We will be back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Stayed here while attending meetings in the area. Staff was very helpful on check-in and allowed us to pick a site. Utilities, including Wi-Fi at the site, worked well. Roads through the campground are easy to maneuver and sites are easy to back in. Since we were here for work, we did not use any of the recreation facilities but we did hike some of the trails. This is a great place to stay for people who like the coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
Echo previous comments. Large sites, all full utilities, paved and level. Excellent place to bike, hike, large pool and small campground store. Satellite reception good on our site. Did not use the Wi-Fi but signal was strong at our site. Easy to get to the beach and local restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
This campground was beautiful! The lots were huge and private. We stayed in #27 on the lake: all the sites looked really nice and spacious. Very quiet and the pool was wonderful! Have never seen such a nice pool at any RV parks. Nice area to ride bikes and lots of things to do with the lake and the beach being so close. We drove to the beach but its only a few minutes away. There is a Super Wal-Mart within 5 minutes: an easy drive and we got groceries there. The park is close to everything and is definitely in the top 5 places we have ever camped! The pier is very nice also: do this for sure. We saw so many things. Both times we went we saw manta rays swimming by the shore, lots of fish, crabs, pelicans, and seagulls. Once we saw two stingrays and a small turtle. When you are at the beach keep an eye out for dolphins: we saw them both times we were at the beach! Would stay here again next time we visit. You can't beat this place!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Very nice park. Sites are roomy with large asphalt pads. Facilities appear to be well maintained. Pool is excellent. There are some ants, but no more than other areas of the south. Convenient to all Gulf Shores attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
This park has great facilities. Beautiful pool. Clean restrooms and showers. Needs to get the tennis courts finished and opened. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This is a very well equipped state park, with clean, air conditioned shower and rest rooms. All sites had full hookups and connections were in good shape. The pool was the nicest we have ever seen at a state park. Had partial shade in the middle of the pool to shield from the sun, and the kids pool area was actually made of the soft playground material for safety and had water jets for the them to run through. The nature center was very interesting for the kids. Wi-Fi was up and working throughout the park and we had a great signal at our site. We will return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Wonderful place to stay. Loved it. Pool just the best we've seen around. Would come back here in a heartbeat and will next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
The basic rate was $33 per night (there was a waterfront site available for an extra $9 per night so we upgraded). This is a very well equipped state park, with clean, air conditioned shower and rest rooms. All sites had full hookups and connections were in good shape. The pool was the nicest we have ever seen at a state park. Had partial shade in the middle of the pool to shield from the sun, and the kids pool area was actually made of the soft playground material for safety and had water jets for the them to run through. The nature center was small but had good exhibits available. Extensive trail system allows riding your bike to the downtown Orange Beach area if you like, and had a screened picnic shelter plus rest rooms where the trails joined each other. They had a notice that they were still working on the wireless internet, but stated it was available at the activity center. We will return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
Great family friendly campground. Pool and splash pad are great for the kids. Pads were paved and wide. Picnic tables, power, water, and sewer at all sites. Beautiful views and lake sites available. Limited shade due to hurricanes. Permanent staff at check in very friendly. Volunteer staff left a lot to be desired. I will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
Sites all have full hookups. Most sites in the sun but many do have some shade. Sites are spread out in three huge loops plus more. This is a big park. Check in was fast and friendly. Most sites that could be reserved were reserved but they still leave a lot of sites for first come first serve and they let you stay longer if you want too. There is a pool, tennis courts, playground, boat dock, volleyball courts, laundry, nature center, activity center and camp store. This is a very nice park along the canal and two lakes. Quick drive to the beach. Good place to ride bikes. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
The park is in better condition than it has been in several years. The post-hurricane reconstruction is impressive, but shade is still lacking at many sites. Normally, I would give a 9 or 10, but not this time. It seems that the prisoners are running the asylum. In other words, volunteers have taken over most duties, even administrative ones. I was witness to many instances of down right hatefulness to a few campers. I spoke to several campers that were disgusted. In fact, a friend of mine that arrived as we left, only stayed one night because of the in-fighting within the volunteer squad. It is quite sad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
I am absolutely amazed at the good reviews this campground has received. We thought it was horrid. Yes, there was a hurricane in 2004. And yes, there has been some recovery. The simple weekly maintenance this campground needs is very obvious. Grass cutting, edging around the pads, blowing the debris from the pads, cleaning out of the BBQ grills, cutting down the dead trees, watering the newly planted trees most of which are already dead. We had to clean up our site before we set up. There is probably nothing that can be done about the sand burrs, but be aware they are everywhere and your pets will easily get them stuck in their paws. Although the bath houses were rebuilt in 2004, they were nasty when we arrived and "things" were growing in the showers. We never saw a ranger drive through checking on things. Some of the sites have some nice distance between them, some are right on the main road and right next to your neighbor. The check in process was ridiculous and the staff was not friendly at all. We are lifetime residents of the state of Alabama and are truly embarrassed by the neglect of this campground and the first impression visitors are presented. We will never return here: ever. We now fully understand why it is called the "REDNECK RIVIERA." It was not a pleasant experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$23
What can I say about this park? The spaces are great. There is something for everyone. And the price is very reasonable. Every time we come east, we always make a point to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
This was the first time we have stayed at the Gulf State Park campground and we were absolutely delighted. The staff was very friendly upon check-in. The sights were level, very large and there was plenty of space between sites. At other Alabama state park campgrounds, the sites are very close together, but not here and it was much appreciated. Even though the wi-fi was not working at the site (new equipment needs to be acquired), we walked to the activity building and had no problems getting online to take care of some business. The only minor issue was upon arrival, we were assigned a site. We were told that they would be quite full and they were assigning sites, but to drive around and if we saw another site, come back and ask if it was available. The next morning, I rode my bike around the whole park and there were lots of open sites available. If they don't reserve specific sites (as I was told on the phone when making reservations), then why couldn't we choose the site we wanted and inform them of where we set up? Minor thing, though, as we were very happy with our site. Overall this was a wonderful experience and we will definitely be returning to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$31
This is a really good campground. Plenty of variety in sites. Lots of pull-through sites. Most sites are large. Our site was large, level, and almost private. Pet friendly with lots and lots of dogs and everyone controlling them and picking up after them. Staff and other campers really friendly. An enjoyable campground to walk around with many trails. Close to the beach. Great beaches. New recreation center, pool, and tennis courts. Can't wait to get back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$31
This is an excellent campground. Space between sites is good. A beautiful park with lots of park attractions and other things of interest in the area. Wi-Fi is still not resolved, but they say they are trying. Getting a site is difficult at times because it is so popular. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hope we can get in there again!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$14
We have stayed in this park several times and always enjoyed it. It has the best bike trails of the 44 parks we have camped at. There are lots of new facilities here: pool, tennis courts (both not open yet), store and laundry (both open). Wi-Fi throughout the park is a work in progress. Meanwhile, temperamental Wi-Fi is available at the Activity Center. This has park has lots of wildlife. On this trip we got a close look at alligators and their babies, a soft-shelled turtle as well as an osprey which landed in a tree right above our site with a fish in its claws. There are lots of stores, restaurants, mini-golf courses and a cineplex close by. The park also has an excellent golf course and driving range with a discount on the golf for campers. This year we watched an excellent Mardi Gras parade just a short bike ride away in Gulf Shores. Hurricane Ivan did a lot of damage to this park several years ago and killed a lot of trees. Consequently, there is little shade so if you are looking for sunny sites, this is the park for you. The Blue Angels practice at the Naval Air Museum only about 35 minutes from the park. Be sure to visit the Orange Beach and Fairhope Arts & Craft shows in March. At this time of year, there is plenty of great live music to be found. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
This is a Great Park but the indifferent attitude of some of the work campers in reservations make sure the process is a joke. We witnessed an attack by a young camper on an old man who wasn't bothering anyone. The investigating Park Ranger convinced the old guy not to call the police by scaring his wife into thinking the nutcase that attacked him would seek revenge in the night. The Park also refused to relocate him or refund his money. When we left, a week later the old guy had pulled up and left but the young guy that attacked him was still running around drinking his beer and bragging how he bought himself out of a mess. We will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
Price reflects the weekly rate during the winter season. No state park entrance fee for Alabama state parks. We were on the canal and were able to get in for a week by getting on their waiting list the day we arrived. Their reservation system leaves something to be desired. We were there on March 1st and were able to get a reservation for next March. The whole process is very confusing and not very user friendly. Don't know how you would get a reservation if you weren't there in person. Our site was on the canal. They are all pull-through sites in that area. Sites are paved, and there are patios at each site. Not much screening or trees for privacy on most of the sites. I had trouble with missed calls with my Verizon cell phone. TV reception was good using the antenna; we also used the DirecTV dish for more choices. We plan to return again next year. We like using the recently completed 150 foot pier for fishing. Also nice to go across the highway and have a public beach available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
Fantastic State Park. Internet was still unavailable on site but they are working on that. We were very lucky to get a site without a reservation. In the right place at the right time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
This was our sixth stay at GSP and it continues to get better. Although Hurricane Ivan did a lot of damage and killed a lot of trees about seven years ago. The park's roads, washrooms and sites are in excellent shape and the lack of trees, although perhaps not popular in summer, provide RVers in spring and fall with loads of beautiful sunshine. The paved walking/biking trails are fantastic. The pool is finished but too cold for us (it was November). Shopping and restaurants are very close. There is an excellent, reasonably-priced golf course right in the park. Progress is being made to supply Wi-Fi throughout the park but Wi-Fi is not available to sites at present. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$29
The rate reflects a weekly rate with tax. This is an example on how to be a excellent park for a decent rate and make money. The sites are big and level, you can have a lake view or not, you can have a back in or pull through. The new facilities are just about done and the internet is all but ready . I will probably stay a month in the not too distant future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
Park has huge sites, is easy to back into and has lots of room to walk. We picked a site and then decided on a different one. No problem, just called the office to check on the availability. We would come back to stay longer! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
We stayed at this park from late Oct 2010 until mid-March 2011. The park is in terrific shape with lake waterfront sites available. Windy if you stay right on the water. The sites "deeper" in the park were sheltered and less windy. Rate provided is based on monthly stay. Wi-Fi is available at the activity center, and they are working on making it available throughout park. Pool, tennis court, church services, as well as daily planned activities, are also available. We work from our RV, so we could not take advantage of the planned activities, but they looked well thought out for the campers. The church services are provided by a retired, well read Baptist pastor. Beach is within walking distance. Trails are well kept. Cannot say enough about how nice this park is and the people. They do allow you to receive priority mail/UPS/FEDEX packages at the campground: no 1st class mail though. Do hold on to your receipts because the registration office is volunteer run with park management oversight. The volunteers struggled with registration software, and there were some difficulties with payment. We had to show our receipt to help straighten out some of their billing concerns. Everyone was new and had to learn, but there were still some bumps in ability to answer billing questions. Depending on who you asked would leave you with varying degrees of confidence in information provided. Again, just keep your receipt handy, and it will all work itself out re: billing. Extremely clean. No campfires allowed within park. Be sure to visit Wentzell's from 5-7p for their happy hour: half price on a dozen oysters, select beers and some other food! May be a winter thing but a great buy! When we are in the area, we will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$31
Very large nicely kept park. Camp sites were clean and well kept but we had to watch out for fire ant mounds. Fires were allowed in small barbecues but no wood fires were allowed due to recent dry weather. Lots of amenities and very friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
We love this park. The greenery is coming back to life in a big way now. The pool is OPEN and beautiful! Large spotless new laundry. Wifi coming really soon. Transmitters are up all over the park just waiting for the power to be turned on. We have a 40 foot 5th wheel and still have room to move around on our site. Some sites are a short walk to the beach, just across the highway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
This park has the potential to be the best in the country. The park was devastated by a hurricane several years ago and is STILL in the process of rebuilding. The new reservation building was opened 3 weeks before we arrived. Check in was easy and the staff was very helpful. The roads are new and all the sites are full hookup with level paved pads. This park is not on the ocean but many sites have lake views. The lake cannot be accessed from most sites however. The bathrooms were immaculate. The beach is about 2 miles from the park and across a busy street. There is a large parking lot and pavilion for beach access. However, you have to pay $2.50 if you are in the campground. The swimming pool, laundry, tennis courts and boat ramp were not open when we were there. Still under construction. I believe this construction has been going on for years now. If they ever complete this park, it will be a perfect 10. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Very nice park with wonderful people checking you in. Close to outlet mall and very good eating places. Had a wonderful time and will be back soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
Great park! The only reason this did not get a 10 from me, is because you could not choose your site when you made reservations. You have to wait until you arrive, to pick one or be assigned one. Our first night's site was in the sun with no view, so we were moved the next day to a wonderful site on the canal with a tree. Alligators cruised the canal every afternoon. We kept our dog close by. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
We spent a week at this park. Registration and the nature center are run by friendly volunteers. We took advantage of 2 of the programs offered, a nature walk and a tour of the fishing pier. Both were excellent. Campsites are level and clean, not much shade though. I would have given a higher rating if all the things mentioned on their site were finished. (DH caught the workers sleeping one day as he walked our dog.) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
We are ending our first and probably last visit to Gulf State Park. I had very much looked forward to this visit after reading information online about the park. We feel very mislead as to what this park has to offer. I did wonder what the issues might be when I first tried to make reservations a few weeks ago. No one could make the reservation on two different days that I called. I had to leave my number and have them call me back the next day!! Why in the world would there not be an online system or at least someone who can do this when you call. They did call back the next day, both times that I called. One person told me they had to leave messages for the one person that makes reservations to call back. When we arrived we were SHOCKED to see the shape of the park and what the registration area looked like. There are 4 folding tables, full of paperwork to hand the registering camper; no computers, just very tired appearing state workers using a huge wall mounted reservation board full of index cards. Each worker has to get up, go to the board, look and see what sites are empty then they assign a spot. One worker was making reservations while she was eating lunch at her folding table. I understand there are improvements being made, updating the registration office, etc., but people were out in their cutoff shirts directing traffic, waiving us in our motorhome to loop around a fire hydrant and into a parking lot full of stored campers to park while we registered. My husband thought he was going to run over the fire hydrant while making a large loop. We were told that if we wanted to change our site once we drove to it, just come back and they would change it. We tried that; the line was out the door when we went back. We took what we were assigned. Also, some publications and reviews have the park listed as having volleyball and a pool. Nothing like that exists. All this is under construction I guess, even though on Friday, Saturday, Sunday I have not seen anyone working there. Bike trails, the oceanfront beach, well no, that is not at all convenient. You have to drive to the beach, and cross a four lane highway to get to the beach. And the bike trails, the only way to access without going to the end of the campground on the main road is to bike a mile up the road to access the trails. THERE ARE NO BIKE LANES TO RIDE BIKES TO ACCESS THE BIKE TRAILS. Very misleading. We went to the park headquarters to ask someone there, and they had very little information except an old trail brochure that was printed sometime in 2007. It is a very small pamphlet with very little detail of the trails. The trail that comes off the campground road is old and very full of ruts. The park headquarters told us all the trails were paved and very nice. The speed limit on the main two way road though the campground is 25 mph. No bike lanes exist. Cars are driving 25 miles per hour, with kids on bikes, pets being walked and pedestrians taking strolls. This is absolutely the most potentially dangerous park I've ever seen. We've visited many, many state parks, from Florida to Montana to Maine to Arizona. I am appalled at how backward and behind the times this Alabama State Park appears to be. Somebody in state government needs to take a trip here and see what is going on, if there is any concern at the state government level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
The park is very nice with wide roads and good hookups. The bugs were bad, but this is ok only near the water. Overall, a good park and would return here when we are in Gulf Shores. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$14
This was our fifth and longest (28 days) at GSP. Previously, we had liked this park a lot, but our stays had been short. We wondered if we might get bored during a longer stay. Once again, our visit was terrific. Some of the features of GSP are a great nature center, an 18-hole golf course and driving range, a fantastic beach, the best dedicated biking trails of any park we have visited, and large, full hook-up sites. The park is also close to movies, the Wharf Amphitheater (big name concerts), many golf courses, arts and crafts shows, the Naval Aviation Museum in Pensacola, dolphin watching and lots of dinner options. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$37
DON'T come here if you need Wi-Fi. Construction all over. Wi-Fi maybe later this year. None now, not even in the community center's mickey mouse system! Sites still ample and the location is good. NOTE: There's about a 20% price increase effective now. NO weekly rates. Was not a happy camper! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
Second time we've been here. We really like this campground and area. They are still making improvements to activity buildings. Good Verizon cell reception. Most sites have good satellite reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$34
What a great campground! Lake-front sites are very big and open. Grounds and comfort stations are incredibly well kept. And, although it was a little too cold to really enjoy the beach: its only a short bicycle ride away. The price is very affordable and the location can't be beat. Central to great shopping and dining, fishing excursions, and all of the best that the Gulf Coast has to offer. This is the type of campground that a family can visit as a reason within itself for a vacation. They were doing some construction while we were there, and I spoke with one of the workers who informed me that the pool should be open this summer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$21
We have stayed in this campground four times and it is one of our favorites despite the damage done several years ago by Hurricane Ivan. The park is huge, the biking fantastic and the sites very large. An excellent beach is a short bike ride away. There are plenty of restaurants nearby as well as lots of shopping. The trees are slow to return due to the damage done by Ivan but that makes for very sunny sites: a highlight in November. There are several hiking trails in the campground. This state park includes an excellent and reasonably priced golf course. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
The devastation that occurred from Hurricane Ivan is quite apparent but Alabama has not only done an amazing job to restore this park, they have made it much better. The new pier is absolutely amazing, lots of fishing going on. The construction of the pool, tennis courts, laundry facilities, and new check in station is all underway. They will be quite nice when complete (early summer 2010). All the sites are quite spacious with lots of room to back-in or pull-through. Every site now offers 30/50amp service with water and sewers (thank-you Hurricane Ivan). Wide variety of sites to choose from not many shade areas. Lake and canal sites are very nice, can be cooler in the fall/winter also its home for alligators. For those who caught fish, there is a very nice fish cleaning area near the entrance. State park golf course is great, challenging and flat with lots of wildlife around. The bike trails are like no other park I have been in, they are amazing. If your only thinking about taking bikes and don't, what a loss. Look for the resident alligator on the trails, I was lucky enough to see her babies (5). The Wi-Fi was not working when I was here so we went to the public library and they were more than happy to let us use theirs at no cost. We made a donation to the library at the end of our stay. Laundry facilities are not available in park yet but are available behind Bruno's grocery store on Hwy 59 not far from the park. Overall I love this park will definitely stay here again, next time hopefully a little longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Construction is still going on outside the camping area. The sites are spaced out nice and are level. If the wifi was working it would be nice; due to construction it has been knocked out. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You can get over 20 TV channels with a small antenna. The campground is very good for bicycles due to its flat roads and bicycle paths that go everywhere. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$22
If you are bringing your bikes, this is the perfect campground. There are multiple bike trails adjoining the campground and there are others in the Gulf Shores area. The campground is so flat that I didn't see any camper up on blocks. How nice is that? The roads within the campground are paved and are great for "toodling" around on your bike in the evening or for a pleasant walk. It's a HUGE park, so you can ride around a lot. Some sites are lake front, but all are nice. Many are pull through and all will accommodate big rigs. All the sites are VERY spacious. Naturally, it's a state park, so WI-FI and cable are non existent. After the hurricane renovations are complete, there is supposed to be WI-FI at the office. The restrooms and showers are the cleanest I've ever seen. Its serene and peaceful location is just minutes from stores and the beaches. We'll be back for sure! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This park provides full hook-ups on large paved sites and is nestled in a maritime forest in post-Katrina recovery. There is easy access to sugar-sand beaches and multi-use trails. The store, laundry, and activity areas are currently under reconstruction. The sites are situated along a road that is about 1 1/2 miles end-to-end. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
The park is very nice with wide roads and good hookups. The bugs were bad, but this is the south near the water. Overall a good park and would return when on the coast again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
The park has construction going on and as a result the campground office has temporarily moved into a double wide mobile home. Guests have a tendency to block drive through lane at office when checking in which I found to be inconsiderate. The laundromat is not operational nor is the Wi-Fi due to construction on new swimming pool and building which should be complete by March of 2010. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
Excellent Park. We were lucky to have one of the sites with shade: #5. Restrooms were spotless. Sites were spacious with level pad and paved picnic area. Gave it a 9 because construction still going on. Once everything is finished I'm sure this will be a 10! Proximity to the beach is excellent. Would not hesitate to stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
We stayed here a week and loved every day. There are many attractions. The beaches were just minutes away and VERY clean. The bath houses were very nice. A/C worked great, showers were extremely clean, lots of room in the handicap shower (daughter is disabled), did I mention very clean. The sites are large, but due to the hurricane, many trees are gone. Make sure you get a site that has your front door facing east. Wind was steadily blowing in a eastern direction, causing our awning to move constantly. Noticed the other side had 0 problems with theirs. We will stay here again very soon. Construction on pool house, laundry mat, central facility will be finished this fall? It looks to be an awesome addition. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
Good state park near beach along gulf shore. Drive to beach parking within campground or just a short drive down the road to the large state pier with snack bar, restrooms and shade. We had a nice lakefront site with large lot. Site pad was paved and had a large asphalt patio area with picnic table and grill. No shade to speak of at the majority of the sites. New and very nice bathrooms with showers in each camping circle. Neat restaurant on beachfront called The Hangout with good food, great atmosphere, live music nightly and lots of activities for the kids (giant sandbox, bubble machine, lawn games). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This was a FABULOUS park. My wife and two kids, age 2 and 3, had a great time. It was quiet, clean, and the people were very friendly. The reconstruction seems to be going very nicely. The new bike trail was amazing with lots of wildlife and beautiful trees. We definitely would love to return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
A nice and well maintained campground. We have camped here several times and always enjoyed it. Good paved interior roads perfect for bike riding. RV sites are all paved or concrete and pretty level with many sites that can accomandate big rigs. Close to the beach and not far from shopping and dining areas in Gulf Shores, Foley and Orange Beach. The park is still recovering from the hurricane a few years back but new construction is coming along. Most of the trees were killed by the hurricane and saltwater but still a very nice campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$31
We had to camp here as Big Lagoon CG in Pensacola was full! Gulf State Park is a very clean park next to a lake although weed growth around the lake edge hinders access to it. BBQ grills are at each site but no fire rings or other place to make a campfire of any kind. Not many trees here and most sites are simply out in the sun. We had spot #12 and it was paved and level. Hookups to W/E/S were a little far away so I had to park to the far extreme of the pad so my sewer hose would reach. Water and electric had no problem reaching (both are 25' long). There were a lot of campers here but everyone kept to themselves, only waving or speaking if you made eye contact. A laundry facility and tennis courts are under construction but didn't look like much progress had been made so far. This CG is good for a stay if you plan to visit the beach or surrounding cities as there is nothing to do in the park itself. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$23
This was our third stay at GSP. It is a fantastic place with the best bike trails by far of any park (out of about 25) we have seen. GSP has an excellent, inexpensive golf course and driving range, as well as a top-notch beach, large, clean sites, three lakes, new facilities and a lot of construction (swimming pool, resort, lighted tennis courts). Free WiFi can be accessed at the activity centre. Close to shopping and restaurants. Congrats to Alaparks for the recovery efforts after Hurricane Ivan. The trees will take a while to grow back. Until they do, enjoy the open skies for lots of sunshine and great TV reception. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
Another great state park. The rate will reflect a nightly rate, weekly is much cheaper, and monthly is even better. This park is nice with wide open spaces lakeview if you prefer we were here when they had a cold front going through so bugs were not a issue. Wifi is only at there clubhouse which is kind of a pain, easy access to everthing in town, golf course is close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$24
Updating my review from last year. This year we stayed for a week. Rate paid reflects weekly rate with senior discount. Lakefront sites are more. This time the park is quite full, and it's a bit of a process to get in without a reservation. Call ahead to get the instructions when arriving during high season (Dec-March) without a reservation. The Wishy Washy laundromat at 3645 Gulf Shores Pkwy is highly recommended, as is the Original Oyster House restaurant at 701 Hwy 59 just north of the gulf. We plan to stay here again and for a longer time. Even with just about every site taken, the restrooms and showers are still immaculate. The only reason this isn't a 10 is the lack of trees. Damage from Hurricane Ivan in 2004 is still very evident throughout the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
It has great, safe and well maintained campsites. The bathrooms and showers were clean and plentiful, located throughout park. The surrounding Forrest is in a state of decay thanks to recent hurricane damage. There are flat roads for cycling with easy access by bike to surrounding businesses and beach. There are level and easy to back into asphalt camping pads at the campsite. When the sun goes down don't get caught outside unless covered in mosquito repellent. We didn't see many shaded campsites, everything appeared exposed to the Florida sun. There are shopping, stores and restaurants located within a 10 minute drive. The washroom was in need of updating and wi-fi is only accessible when near the recreation room. We're looking forward to the next trip to beach. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$28
Very nice State Park. We had a back in site, that backed right up to the lake. Site was paved with paved patio and a picnic table and grill. Only negative is sewer is half way up along side of site. If you back all the way to the back of your site you need a very long sewer hose. Nice Beach across street. Park was nearly full, but very quiet. At this time of the year many Snow Birds, not a lot of kids. With nearly 500 sites it could be different in summer. Verizon cell and aircard worked very well. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
A huge park. It is a good place to stay if you like large city-like campgrounds. We stayed here from November, 2008 to February, 2009. Then they started construction on a new swimming pool and other resort style features. The people who go to Gulf Shores do so year after year and have made close friendships. There is a nice Sunday worship at the activity building. The staff is very nice, friendly and considerate. The construction people were not. The noise and smell (they dug down and hit some sewer/swamp water) from the construction caused us to leave before our time was up. It is nice enough park, but just isn't for us. Rates are from $25 to $35 per night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$28
This was our first stay at the park and we will definitely return. The sites are very spacious. The bathhouse was clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. Even though there is still work to be done, excellent progress has been made in repairing damage done by the hurricane. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$25
We have camped here before the hurricane and after. The repairs are progressing very well and sites have been upgraded to include sewer. This year we camped on Canal Road which is waterfront on the canal between the two lakes. It is a short walk to the beach and there is very little traffic. It costs more and there is a 2 week limit, but these sites were nice for us especially since we have 2 labs. The city of Gulf Shores has a dog park now too which was GREAT. The laundromat and store area at the park pre-hurricane aren't fully restored, but there is a new meeting room with Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
Gulf State Park continues to be one of our favorites. Although Hurricane Ivan did extensive damage about four years ago, the AL state park folks have done wonders at restoration. The park is huge (4000+ acres), the sites are quite large and there are lots of pull-throughs. Ivan's winds, storm surge and and subsequent Southern Pine Beetle damage killed a lot of trees but the result is lots of sunshine on your site. The paved bike trails are the best we have seen. Shopping, golf, restaurants and a magnificent beach are all very close. If washroom cleanliness is important, this park gets the highest marks. To park staff "Keep up the great work". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
They have really done a good job on repairs since the hurricane caused such devastation. The park was thick with foliage before, and it will take many years for the trees and foliage to come back. That said, it is a very nice park. The roads are good, and the spaces are paved. During the winter the park is full of snowbirds. During the summer it is packed, and it seems impossible to get a reservation there when school is out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$19
This is a great campground. I don't rate any place that does not have all the amenities like cable and wi-fi a "10. This dilutes the rating system. Still a great campground with very large sites. Alabama has done a great job refurbishing this state park! Trees are coming back. Already planning another trip! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$17
The park was spotless. The restrooms are the cleanest we have ever used. The staff are very friendly and helpful. This is our favorite campground to stay at. We received the discounted rate because my wife is disabled. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
The park is large, has most amenities (no cable), and has the cleanest shower house/restrooms I have ever seen. We were across the street from a bath house, so it was convenient for us to use. We stayed for 2 weeks and were in and out of the bathhouse and NEVER saw as much as a speck of toilet tissue on the floor. We were amazed with as much traffic as the bathhouse saw that it stayed as clean. They did a fantastic job of cleaning at least a couple times a day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
We stayed here for a week and really enjoyed the close proximity of the beach. The bathhouses were absolutely spotless! The roads are all paved, which was nice for bike riding. The sites are spaced well apart, especially the pull-through ones. We would definitely camp here again!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
This was one of the best camping trips that we have ever taken. We had a spot on the lake, just across the lake from the pavilion and the beach. The beach is a short 5 minute bike ride, or 10 minute walk from the western side of the campground. Very large sites, we have a 40 foot 5th wheel with 4 slides and had plenty of move-around space. The park is still recovering from the devastating hurricanes, but the greenery is coming back fast this summer. Going back in August for two weeks, can't wait. We never found the WIFI, but the cell modems worked out perfectly. Fast signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
Great park in a great location. Still some damage from Ivan but repairs are being made. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
This was a nice park and although very large (nearly 500 sites), the sites were spacious and quite roomy. Sites were level and utilities well placed. It is apparent that new growth has begun to replace thousands of trees dead from a hurricane several years ago. It still has a barren look to much of the area. Golf course is nice too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
This place has everything you want in a state park except trees, hence the 9 rating. Spacious, level, paved sites. The cleanest and nicest bathrooms and showers you have ever seen. Lake front sites for those who want a water view. April is a quiet time. It would be HOT in the summer without trees. This would be a great place to spend some time in the winter. Reservations during the winter are probably essential. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$22
This was our second year to camp at this state park and we will be back again next year. It is a wonderful campground, lots of space between campers, clean restrooms and many wonderful people. We had several friends pull their trailers to camp with us. Can't say enough about this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$25
Very nice park, with some good spots on the canals. Nice staff. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$19
We cycled through this park about six years ago before Hurricane Ivan. We knew the salt water had killed most of the trees and the winds had damaged many facilities. That being said, our six night stay in November/December 2007 was outstanding. The park and the sites are huge. All sites are level and paved with full hook-ups. It is a great park for anybody who likes beaches (a short drive or bike ride), golf (an excellent and inexpensive course right in the park), walking/biking (lots of trails), shopping (including a large Tanger outlet mall on Hwy 59) and there are many restaurants to satisfy every taste. The washrooms are new and spotless. Unfortunately, dogs are not allowed on the beach. We will definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
Outstanding facility. Air conditioned bath houses nicer than resort campgrounds. Only drawback, it has very little shade due to hurricane of a few years ago. Otherwise it would be a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Very nice park. Across street from beaches. Bathrooms were immaculate. Lots of room for kids to ride bikes. Canals throughout site made it hard for us to back in to our original site and needed to change (we're beginners at backing). Tried a couple of times to make reservations over phone but would not take them because they had plenty of room. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
This is our second stay at this park. It is large and well cared for. The staff is very nice. The park is in Gulf Shores, Alabama and is near the gulf beaches: within walking distance. I would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
Stayed here for several day. Nice shady park. Saw some alligators. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$24
The staff was very friendly. Very clean facility. Easy in and out access, full hook-ups, lots of trash containers, which is usually not the case in state parks. Negatives: lots of hurricane damage but obviously out of their control, and no fire pits. Was looking forward to a campfire, but couldn't have one. We are planning to stay here again at Memorial Day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$24
I don't know why the previous reviews are so negative. This is the first time we have stayed here and it is a great park. Full hookups with 50amp service, huge paved lots, miles of biking, gulf beach access, and more. What more could you ask for! We would stay here again in a minute. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$22
This was the second time we've stayed here within a year. We had a fine spot right on the lake. Everything was clean. The park operators were friendly. This park is a perfect place for a get away, but close enough to anything you need. I recommend it. We will stay here again, and again, and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2006
$24
I was last here several years and a couple hurricanes ago. Compared to then the place has been devastated. I have to disagree with some others and say that the repair efforts are not going well. All sites are newly paved with full hookups (w/e/s). However, mine was not very level and the positioning of the hookups was terrible. With a 16 foot sewer hose and a support I was only able to back in half way and had to go get some planks to get the hose flowing downhill. The sites around me looked similar. There are few trees and they don't seem very healthy. The laundry opened while I was there with all new equipment. Several bath houses and one of the tennis courts were open. There is evidence of damage everywhere. If this park ever comes back to where it was it will be many years. Most of my neighbors were long time regulars who come to meet old friends. I don't see any other reason for camping here. The surrounding area has everything you could want by way of eating, shopping, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
This is a lovely place to stay for a few days. It is near everything by vehicle. The staff at the gate were not overly friendly, but not bad either. The ranger/workers were nice enough. Not much shade yet. Ask for it before taking a spot. There are a few sites with shade. I didn't even ask about a camp store. Folks around us were friendly. And don't feed or aggravate the alligators. Really. Never saw one up close, just from a distance in the lake. We'll go back. They're coming back from Hurricane Ivan, and within a year this will be a "10" instead of a "9". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
I have mixed feelings in rating this campground. It's obvious that this was once a truly grand place before Hurricane Ivan. Two years later and the sites are nicely redone and the surrounding community is back together, but the park will not be the same for many years. It appears that most of the trees were taken out and those that are left are unhealthy due to the salt water that came in. Consequenlty, most everything looks dead or dying and there is no shade to speak of. I think that after two years, the website should post current pictures. We probably would have tried somewhere else to stay. Only four of the bath houses were operational. The camp store is still not open due to some insurance battles. Bugs were minimal as they sprayed regularly. The workers were not all that friendly. No electric scooters for kids or anything else for that matter except a bicycle. They enforce with vigor. My daughter still thinks they're coming after us everytime she sees a pick up with lights on top! With all of that said, the location is great. This is a very large Alabama State park that has very spacious sites for a variety of sizes and is located within a mile or two of the wonderful beaches. Orange beach and the attractions are within a few more miles. All of the sites are large with full utillities. Prices seem high for tenters and a little on the high side considering the condition, services (ie. bath houses/store). However, you never feel crowded and you can imagine what this place used to be like and how it will be in another 5 years. That's probably when we'll try it again then. For now, we'll be back to Gulf Shores, but we will try a different campground with a pool for the kids until things grow back at the state park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
Campground is large with little to no attractive landscaping. Sites all tend to run together, with no brush or trees to create some sense of privacy. Being a "gulf" campground, one would expect some sand or at least an imitation of a beach. What one gets is grass sloping down into a small, unspectacular lake. Park seemed quite busy and has gotten good reviews on this website. Just not our cup-of-tea. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$25
Very nice campground. This park was basically destroyed during Hurricane Ivan and Alabama has really taken the ball and run with it at Gulf State Park. Right now, 04/05, about 100 sites are opened and they plan on opening around 100 per month until all 500 are back open. ALL sites are now paved, both patio and pad, have 30/50 amp and sewer. You are about a mile from the beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Park was very clean & quiet. Sites were large & could handle big rigs with any number of slides. Many mature trees that were properly trimmed but provided shade. Utilized a modern & clean laundry. Only disappointment was that beach was not within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Park is quiet and spacious,bathhouse clean and well kept. Very close to gulf beaches and outlet malls in Foley,Alabama. Lamberts restaurant (home of the throwed roll) is a must , great food and great atmosphere. Campground is family oriented ,great for bike riding and walking. Will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$25
I have been camping at this campground since I was a kid. It hasn't changed much over the years. It is a big campground well suited to kids riding bikes. Many of the sites are shaded and private. Some of the sites have absolutely no shade, which can be a problem in the middle of summer. Many of the sites need to be repaved as some of the eroded pavement has been replaced by sand, making it difficult to keep the leveling blocks from sliding under the trailer wheels when setting-up. Also, a few sites have the hook-ups on the wrong side and some have the hook-ups at some distance from the site. I believe some sites have shared hook-ups (not sure). Even with all these issues, the scenery and spaciousness of this campground make it's rating go up quite a bit. Although it's quite a distance, one can easily walk to the beach. The sites are much bigger than one would get in a private campground in the same area. There are plenty of easy hiking trails and many roads for enjoyable bike riding - at least for the kids. The lake is also neat for kids (and adults) to fish, especially if you are one of the few lucky ones to get a site on the lake. We will always consider this park when visiting the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Great place, have been there many times over the years. Lots of sites, lots of campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com