214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails / Pio Pico was rated 7 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (619) 421-0104
CGID358

Thousand Trails / Pio Pico

Camp Information
Sites
532
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   8   5   8   7   8   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
There are a couple of good things and bad things about Pio Pico. The spots are huge. If you're on the South side you've got full hook-up. Many spaces have large shade trees. The bad: Your membership doesn't guarantee you a spot with full hook-ups which are only on the South side. The North side has electric and water and it'll cost you $10 each time you want a sewage dump unless you want to bring your rig to the dump station. The ugly: - No cell service in most of the park. There are areas where you can get 2G service from Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile. - The wifi offering is a joke. I remember getting better service from AOHell in the 90's for less money. When the park is fairly empty the wifi service is decent. When the park is full, I'm not sure what I'm paying for but it's NOT service. The wifi provider requires a paid connection for EACH device. Once the clock starts ticking on your time it doesn't matter if you've actually been able to USE the service for that time. You probably haven't because the routers kick you off regularly or your page just sits there an loads for 5 minutes before timing out. Oh, you get 30 minutes of free wifi every literal 24 hours. If you used your 30 minutes at 8pm then you can't get another 30 minutes until 8pm the next day - even if you only got to use 10 minutes of that 30 because the router kicked you off right after you connected or the service was so slow that you couldn't get anything done. Aside from the terrible and horribly overpriced wifi Pio Pico is a nice park We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$0
Okay Thousand Trails park (member rate cited). Sites are not very level. A few 50 amp sites available. Good amenities and store and restaurant on premises. One thing not mentioned before I stayed here. You will have to stay on the North side with no sewer for at least one night in the winter. You are then put on a list if you wish and then pick an open site on the South side with full hookups starting the next day. You may have to wait more than one day to get a site if your name is low on the list and not many leave that day. We waited two days. While inconvenient to have to move, it is a fair way to divvy up the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$3
The location is excellent. The staff is friendly. The internet service was good and not too expensive ~$2/day. But the fact is that many of the sites in this park do not have sewer. Most campers start out in these sites and many actually stay in them as we did for 2 two week stints on our zone camping pass. We opted for a pull-through site for ease of entry , good access to satellite TV, and easy off-loading from our toyhauler. This tradeoff meant no sewer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$1
If you have Verizon, don't expect to get a signal in the park or on the road to the park. We had to drive to the post office in Jamul. We ended up staying on the north side, with no sewer. We were able to get satellite, which was a good thing. North side is very dusty and the staff would zoom around the speed bumps, sending plumes of dust onto our rig. The best part of this park is its proximity to San Diego. And the Jamul Meat Market, which has the absolute best burritos. The store isn't well stocked, and the one meal we had at the café was awful. We were hostages here due to the annual billiards tournament. We should have waited in line for a site on the south side. North side had some creepy long term campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$45
Very nice campground. We started on the North side. No sewer hook ups on this side. Actually, that's where everyone starts. You put your name on the list so you can "cross over" to the other side. All the amenities, pool, lodge, etc. are on the south side. Lots of activities. Coyote Cafe has some reasonably priced meals. Decent sized little store. Loved listening to the coyotes at night. Will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$0
Nice park, good location sites decent size and accessible. Weather was good while we were here befitting the San Diego area. Our biggest disappointment with this park is it has very poor cell reception - only one spot in the park did our phone work and TV reception is not good. They also have a slow Wi-Fi connection available for a price. Half of the park has no sewer connection. Will go back again - just hope they have a cell tower closer!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$1
Rate based on Thousand Trails Zone Pass. Nice park surrounded by hills. Friendly people. We stayed on the side of the park with the main lodge. Spacious sites. Food at the restaruant was very good. Very limited cell phone reception (Verizon). The park's fee based Wi-Fi signal was very strong at our site. We enjoyed our stay and will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$1
This is a typical Thousand Trails campground (more a campground than a resort), and we enjoyed it. There is grass and trees, and the sites are large, level, and come with a picnic table. If you like to walk, the park is more than a mile end to end and, if you like to hike, you can hike up to Mt. Otay in one direction or up the hills in the other. We especially enjoyed the omelets in the restaurant on Saturday, and there is a little convenience store also. We started in the north section with only water and electric but were able to move to the south section with full hook-ups after only one night. The rangers are very helpful. Cell phone service and wi-fi are difficult, but we went into the town several times and got service there. Will definitely be back - we saw more mountains we'd like to climb. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$5
This is a typical Thousand Trails park that is a little tired. There was a total of 6 sites with 50 amp service and as these broke they were not going to be replaced. The park was jammed with tents/RVs/rigs all thrown together. There is another section across the street from the main park that only has water and electric but feels very remote. The ranger was very helpful and gave us a different route to leave the park then the one he brought us in on (winding, narrow, up and down). Wi-Fi had to be purchased from a vendor at $5 per day, hotspots were not permitted. Our satellite worked fine. We were to have stayed 4 days, but left after 2 when the temperature went up and our rig could not function well on 30 amp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$5
We stay quite often in this park and like it a lot. The current manager had a lot of clean-up to do from some overdue maintenance in the past, and he is working as fast as funds allow. They have spent lots of money upgrading the electric but are still having challenges. There is 30 minutes free WiFi per day if you don't want to pay. Past the $5 a day, you can buy it for about a $1 a day on a monthly rate. Cell service is weak but does work most of the time back in the "E" section. There is a nice cafe in the Activity Center open for breakfast and lunch most days and dinner on Thu-Saturday. Staff here is super friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$1
We stay here annually and love it's proximity to our friends in Eastlake. When we arrived, we were forced to the North side without sewers for one night until a full hook-up site was available. As a Platinum member with reservations, we were a little perturbed. Turns out we liked the North side better (more trees, more quiet, less congestion) so we stayed for our duration. Encore still has a lot of maintenance to do to bring the park up to its previous standard. Really miss cell & MiFi service when at Pio Pico. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$0
Very nice park with large sites. Adult pool and spa and separate family pool. Two rec centers, one of adults and one for families. Great cafe - good food and very reasonable prices. The only downsides were NO cell service, very limited Wi-Fi and lax maintenance as far as weed control. The weeds around the areas were 3 feet high! Also, the jets in the adult spa were not working. Once they get these maintenance issues taken care of, it will be a great place. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$5
We are Thousand Trails members so this park is reasonably inexpensive for us. The sites are large for most membership campsites. We have 50 amp service at no extra charge. There is lots of great hiking just out of the park. The park is about 40 minutes out of San Diego. Within the park we find the people very friendly and the staff is also very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$1
We belong to Thousand Trails and of course this makes staying here very inexpensive. I am writing my review if we were paying the going average rate. This is an Oscar Madison park and not a Felix Unger. It is big, friendly, and there is lots of stuff here. The condition is, well, Oscar Madison. And Oscar once described his character as "an unmade bed". I think that is too harsh. This park was built maybe 25 years ago and when it was finished was likely the nicest RV part in San Diego Country. There are pools, buildings, play areas, a store, grass ball field, and so on. But not everything has been kept up. So the space I used this week at one time had 50 amps. Now only 30 amps. The site tested the ability of my leveling system to get the coach level. There is free Wi-Fi. But it is so limited you use the pay Wi-Fi. Works well and not very expensive. I stayed for six days and this year was not in a hurry. The park has grown on me. The people here were uniformly friendly. They rode around in carts trying to get the group of us to go to the group activities, of which there are many. There are lots of people that rent and stay here for extended time. There is almost no cell phone coverage. It is very quiet here. Sort of a country oasis in the huge city of San Diego. There is an automatic gate and the park is secure. They serve breakfast and lunch in the clubhouse. Dinner on weekends. Good food modest cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$5
Nice park within the Thousand Trails membership system. Also offers sites to open public at higher rate. Sites are on both side of the highway. Main area has full hook up, other side dump station but water and electric. If park is busy you will go the the partial hook up side first and then have to go the next day or so and check for full hookup sites. We decided to stay in the partial area's H area as the sites were more open and we had AT&T service in this area. Phone service at the park for both Verizon and AT&T are spotty. We paid for the hi speed Wi-Fi and it was well worth it. We will go back to this park again. It is about 30 minutes from beach, yet very secluded. Is close enough to Mexico that Border patrol cars and helicopters are around a lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2011
$1
We stayed on an ROD reservation at no cost. Our original reservation was for 7 nights but we left after 3 primarily due to low voltage at sites. At check-in I asked if there were any electrical problems and was told "No" by the ranger at the entry station. A couple hours later I overheard another camper ask the same ranger if they had voltage problems and he said "Yes". Voltage was in the minimum range (112-114) during the day but hovered around 108 at night and was as low as 106 at times. We were forced to use as much gas operation as possible (refrigerator, furnace, and water heater) and battery powered lights. We only used a coffee pot and microwave oven sparingly but with our fingers crossed. My biggest concern was the new converter we had recently installed, but it came through without any noticeable problems. We were assigned to the area north of the highway (no sewer hookups) and were told that was where all ROD guests were placed. We learned that the honey wagon service fee had been increased to $20 from $15 and that there were no exceptions for ROD guests as there are at other ROD resorts. Verizon service, both voice and data, was non-existent even with an external antenna. Wireless internet service cost $5 per day which we passed on not knowing how reliable it was. There was no cable service and we could only get a few TV stations using our digital box. Many of the sites in the section we were in had electrical boxes that were out of order. The site we chose had dual receptacles and the one for our site was not working so we had to use the one for the adjacent site which fortunately was not occupied. We saw at least one other camper that had their power cord plugged to a nearby site. These issues factored in our decision to move to another ROD park that had none of these problems/issues. Otherwise, the park was OK with a decent location about 25 miles from downtown San Diego. It is only about 6.5 air miles from the Mexican border and we saw several Border Patrol vehicles while there. A "Border Patrol Seminar" was even offered by the park management. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$1
We have now stayed here twice. Four years ago and just now. My impressions are the same. IMHO this was a very deluxe place originally and let go a bit downhill. For example, our picnic table had pealing paint. The site at one time had 50 amp and now only the 30 amp works. BUT this is still a very nice place. Friendly staff, well organized, trash is all picked up, and so on. We were in a group of about 12 motor homes and they had us all in the same area. We were also provided with a meeting area. We have a 42' motor home and there was plenty of room to drive around and park. This place is quite close to San Diego and yet you are really in the boon docks. Very quiet and low surrounding light levels so lots of stars. This is a few miles from a highway so very low level of noise. There are a couple of pools. Several club house places. Yesterday a young couple got married there. So, pretty nice. Plus we belong to TT and our rate was zero. Very limited cell phone coverage. My Verizon worked OK. There is pay Wi-Fi, but only 5 bucks and it works well. Trees blocked me putting up my internet sat. That was just our site though and most of the sites have the ability to get sat coverage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$1
This campground has two sections to it, separated by a main road. It's north and south side. I don't remember which is which but one side has full hookups the other does not. Families staying extended may stay on the partial hookups side, but singles/couples may stay either side. Which is pretty much a standard thing here in San Diego. Kids are like unwanted pests or something and only allowed certain areas to be in. Aside from being a bitter parent, but that's not just this park it's been every park. Really we preferred the side with partial hookups. Much prettier, great play areas, open fields, large spaces, convent to dump station and restroom/showers. So, I'm not really complaining about having to stay on this side at all, I'm just saying it'd be nice to have had the option. Great dog run area. Plenty of hiking trails. Super friendly staff!! We have really enjoyed our stay here. The price is unbeatable. We bought a membership, but since you get a certain amount of time free before you pay for your spot our membership fees have already been made up for. So that's pretty cool and totally worth it in my opinion. The Wi-Fi is only is designated areas and painfully slow. But it's free. Cell phone reception is spotty, and we've found AT&T has better coverage than others out here but that's still spotty but usually not accessible. We think it's super for families and families with pets. You can really unwind, relax, enjoy your stay here. No crazy strict rules or regulations. Just your basic common sense stuff. I've heard others complain about the look of the other campers RVs, you know what, I'm not here to admire the RV view, I'm here to unwind, relax, be enjoy the natural views and areas. There are run down RV's out here, also some super fine motorhomes. I personally think it's a great thing that a family can come and camp with whatever they can afford to camp in, they don't have to be rich and purchase some new or fancy rig to be able to take their family for weekend trips! OK,well I could go on, I think this park just has it's priorities and attitude right on!! Relax, unwind, be you. We also like the very small Jamul community. I don't care for the big city busy life so this is close enough and still gives me less traffic and still convenient stores. It's pretty close to San Diego, just a little drive so convenient to all San Diego amenities. It's South East of San Diego. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$1
We spent a very enjoyable week here. We parked on the north side which is where everyone starts out. This side has water and electric hookups only. We chose not to be put on the list to move to the south side which has the sewer hookups. The ranger station and check in is on the south side which requires you to drive through the campground to cross the street: a little inconvenient and probably an annoyance for those parked on the 'loop' that everyone has to circle through. We didn't check out the pool or any of the facilities on the south side. The adult lodge, which is where the Wi-Fi is located, was older with dated furniture. The Wi-Fi was pitifully slow. There is no cell phone or aircard access in the park. Apparently this will be changing shortly with the installation of a cell phone tower in the area. There is lots to do in the area. San Diego is a short drive away, about 30 minutes. We found the staff helpful and friendly and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2010
$1
This campground was disappointing. We made reservations 60 days in advance, requesting full hook up. We arrived and were put in the area across the street with water and electricity. Now granted, there had been a major storm in the area the week before, but there seemed to be more sites with black bags over the power pole than not, indicating no power, and there weren't a lot of good sites to choose from. We were told we could come to the rangers station each morning at 9am to see if there were any full hook ups available. We decided to stay because it really is a lovely setting, but the facilities are old and in need of update. The bathrooms were clean and warm for morning showers. The power at our spot would spike and then drop, setting off our UPS (uninterrupted power supply) alarms. We were told the water was not drinkable, and it was a yucky milky color. Nowhere in the website do they tell you that there is no cell reception, and our Verizon air card did not work either - we even tried our booster antenna. There is a very slow Wi-Fi at the adult clubhouse. The clubhouse was very old with hand me down furniture. We did not visit the activity center. We were scheduled to stay a week, but left after 2 nights. All those complaints aside, if you can do without phone or wifi, and don't mind dry camping - the park rangers were very very nice (and apologetic), and the setting really is what camping is all about. Any service you could want is available in Chula Vista about 10 miles away. I'd be willing to give the park another if I could plan it for a time when I could be without cell phone service, I could be guaranteed full hook ups, and potable water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$1
Rate is $0 for members, but I can't enter a 0 in the nightly rate. The staff is extremely friendly. There is some maintenance on going, but they need a lot more. There is no cell phone service. There is one spot near the pool where you can get a very weak Verizon signal. The wifi in the adult lounge on the north side of the park is very good. The rest rooms and showers were clean but needed to be updated. This is on the north side. We were told there is a new rest room shower house on the south side. On the north side there is only water and electric hook ups, but they do have a pump out service for $15. The electric in the site aside of us didn't work and we saw at least 5 or 6 electric boxes with plastic bags over them because of problems. The park in general can use some serious updating. Most of the sites are dirt with very little gravel and to close together to rate this park any higher. The storage area is very very unsightly and should be screened from the park. There are RVs in there that have licences that expired 10 years ago, with flat tires etc. Also there are about 10 semi permanent RV's, on the north side, that are very trashy and detract from the whole place. It is a great place to stay to visit the San Diego area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$1
Have stayed her a number of times while visiting San Diego area. Pleased to see that maintenance is on-going. Some of the more desired sites have been converted to long-term leased sites. Seems that this is the direction a lot of the Thousand Trails facilities are going. Will stay her again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$1
As far as Thousand Trails parks go, this was not one of the more stunning parks. Perhaps our view was tainted by the lack of phone service or internet service. We didn't find the actual park to be one of the prettier parks either. What we did find was an excellent staff and a fabulous location. We spent three weeks here, and with all there is to do in San Diego, we were never bored. Local eateries were excellent an inexpensive. Hiking was abundant in the area. Overall, not a fabulous park, but definitely a great park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$1
This is a very nice preserve with no trains, planes or freeways to annoy you. However, we were disappointed that there is virtually no cell phone or air card service, although they are apparently working on it. Many of the sites are satellite friendly although there are numerous trees to provide shade. Sites are quite large and mostly flat although they are generally dirt with some gravel here and there. The pools and spas are very nice and well maintained. There is a wi-fi available in the Adult lodge in the North section and pay phones (remember those?) at the store and adult pool. The store is very well stocked with interesting curios and Thousand Trails Pio Pico T shirts. This is an excellent park and we will return whenever in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$1
This is a great preserve in the Thousand Trails system. I was lucky to get a 50Amp site (E1) with sewer and roof mounted satellite. Cell phone service great. South portion of this preserve is quite full this time of year, but lots of sites are available in the north section. There has been a water quality problem since Christmas time but seems they are getting close to fixing the problem. I will stay here again when near San Diego. This is a well maintained preserve. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
Would not come back here again. Camped in a fifth wheel for 2 weeks free for Thousand Trails members. Pot holes, manager trouble even though a new one is here. Electric blew out neighbors TV. Old campground needs to be update for Thousand Trails. One pool was down heater burned out. WiFi at adult lodge across a very busy highway. Cell service spotty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$20
If you enjoy parks in a very natural environment, this is one of interest to you. You can even get to spend a free two nights here, as I did to check it out. Cellphone service is spotty, but if you really have to make a call, you can go by any of the swimming pools and have access. Wi-Fi is available in the Adult Lodge Free, with lots of tables and chairs to sit in to use it. Pool Tables are available, and many friendly Pool players. Tennis Court up the hill, with a Basketball court. 2 large Jaccuzzi's and lot of friendly campers. I've seen a lot of "cliques" in campgrounds, but there are none here. It is close to the border, but we felt safe, as the Border Patrol comes though the campground on a regular basis. There is a well equiped store, we had a slight leak in our grey tank, and found a package of stuff that could repair gas tanks here. It instantly stopped the leak. They allow dogs and cats here, but in my entire stay, never noticed a dog barking but once, for a short time. But, we did hear Coyote's calling in the hills, and it was very enjoyable. Something you do not experience in many campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
We stayed at Thousand Trails Pio Pico as part of a free weekend with a requirement of attending a 90 minute sales presentation. The south side has full hook ups, however, we stayed on the north side, which had only electric (30 amps) and water. The north side did have more than adequate dump stations which were very easy to access and use. My wife and I (and our pet dog, Mindy) thoroughly enjoyed our weekend. Everyone (staff and other campers) were extremely friendly. The 5 MPH speed limit is enforced and one can't help but feel safe here. The scenery is nice with the mountains as a back drop, and we put a lot of mileage on the walking trails. During our stay, the camp hosted a Luau Weekend, and the BBQ pork dinner, Polynesian show, and Hawaiian sundaes were simply awesome! There are so much to do here, and we tried our best to sample as much as possible. We were very appreciative that this camp ground has Sunday morning church service. Our only real regret was not bringing our bicycles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$28
This is a Thousand Trails/NACO park system. South of San Diego, very close to Mexican border. Sits in a valley surrounded by hills in a beautiful setting. They have WiFi available to some of the sections. New cabins are being installed and look very nice. Large, clean laundry room. They were closed for awhile after the October, 03 forest fires. I could not find any fire damage so it survived very well. Looks like a fire hydrant system has now been installed throughout park. No camp fires allowed. No washing of rigs allowed. These restrictions are understandable but keep park from being a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com