218867 User submitted reviews online!!
Penmarallter Campsite was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (218) 834-4603
CGID3635

Penmarallter Campsite

Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   8   8   8   7   10   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
Price is nightly rate - no discounts offered. Great location, lovely owners/managers. Only a few full hook-up sites - all are pull-through, although campground is a bit tight for big rigs (yet manageable). Felt price was a bit high for post-Labor Day and what park offers. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
The owner was delightful, very helpful and a wealth of local information. The campground is small with wide sites and both clean and neat. A very convenient location from which to explore Minnesota's North Shore. I would be helpful it there were more 50 amp sites. While sewer sites limited, there is a convenient dump station. I still highly recommend this campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Older park. Tight turns; a little hard to get around in with bigger rig. Very few sewer sites. We were only offered 30 amp and no sewer. Were told the 50 amp and sewer sites were only for "the big rigs." Not much to do there but plenty to see in the area. Fairly quiet except for some highway noise but not bad. Mosquitoes had just hatched and could carry us away. Nicely kept lawn. Cash only, no credit cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Good place - no major amenities but just a nice, grassy level spot. Antenna TV does not really work, but Wi-Fi was great right at the 5er. Most sites do not have sewer, but he will pump you out for a very nominal fee. Very nice people. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Very nice, well manicured, and heavily treed park. Owners live on site and are accommodating. Was surprised when we signed up that they charge $4.00 per day more for electricity (perhaps 50 amp service but that is not what she said). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
This is a private RV park with no pool, golf, etc. But we did have lots of shade trees, grass and quiet. The owners live on site and are very helpful and friendly. They suggested where to visit and where to eat. She made sure we were on a good site and parked in the right spot for level and slides. Only a couple of miles from Two Harbors. Exceptionally clean and well maintained area. Bathrooms are spotless and showers are hot. We had to continually adjust our antennae for good TV reception. We would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This campground is very pleasant but very basic. The grounds are beautifully maintained, rolling lawn and evergreens. The site was gravel and wasn't level. We were unable to extend our awning because of a tree in the way. It's a peaceful place to stay for couples. There are no amenities for children: no pool or playground. It is about 2.5 miles out of town. We were able to get WiFi at the public library. Television was limited to two channels. A bit pricey for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
We arrived on a busy summer weekend without a confirmed reservation. The campground we made a reservation at did not have anyone in the office upon arrival. We called Penmarallter and I talked to the owner. She told me she could fit me in. We arrived and she put me in the drive way of her private residence and we hooked up electric in the garage. The owners are the most accommodating people I have ever seen. They bent over backwards to help us. The next day we were able to move into a site. This is a beautiful campground that is well maintained and superbly ran. If I come back to this part of the county I will stay here and I will tell anyone coming to this area to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$31
We arrived here at the end of September and there were only 4 other campers here. We got a nice long pull-through with 50 amps and full hook-ups and satellite TV access. Distance between sites is very good. Access to the city is excellent and biking, hiking and kayaking are easy to get to. The owner was very friendly and gave us info on what to do here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
This campground is aesthetically pleasing, meets basic needs, value priced, but it doesn’t have the all of the amenities of the more highly rated campgrounds. There isn’t a pool, playground, wi-fi, cable, and sewer at every site. The voltage is only 30A and there is some noise from a nearby four-lane road. However, it is a very nice, immaculately maintained campground. The roads are gravel in very good condition and the pads are a combination of gravel and grass. All sites are pull-through and the majority of the sites will accommodate a large rig. Some minor maneuvering may be required due to the trees near them. Picnic tables are at each site. There aren’t any fire rings, but most sites have a dug out portion of the ground in which to have a campfire. The bathhouse is an older cinder block structure, but it was spotless. The voltage was good, but not strong. Power management is required in a 50A rig. Tents are allowed, but not on the RV sites. The campground doesn’t take credit cards. The owners live on site and manage the campground. They provide excellent customer service. If you call and give them a little notice of your arrival someone will meet you in the campground to discuss which site best suits your rig and needs. You get the final choice of sites. They are also well versed on the tourist information. Despite the lack of amenities, I give it a good rating. It was too well run and maintained not to do so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$22
Nice quiet place along Highway 61 south of Two Harbors. Owners are friendly helpful people who have live there a long time and give lots of advice about what to see in the area. 3rd time that we have camped there. We will probably go back again next summer as we like the area. Not busy with kids or other distractions like the other muni campground at Two Harbors. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2003
$20
This is a Mom & Pop campground. It was a nice clean park, lots of grass & well maintained. Roads were gravel. Sites were grass long pull thrus. Some sites wern't very level. Most sites could accommodate big rigs. The park has few amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com