224212 User submitted reviews online!!
Lookout Mtn. / Chattanooga South KOA was rated 5 out of 10 based on 49 user reviews. Phone: (706) 937-4166
CGID3696

Lookout Mtn. / Chattanooga South KOA

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   8   9   8   5   8   6   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2014
$40
The sites are gravel and mostly level with a fire ring (5 or 6 rocks in a circle). You do park on a slope when checking in and the road needs repair so you have to go very slow. Cable did work and so did the Wi-Fi, but very slow. The biggest problem was the road noise from I-75. You could see the trucks and cars on the interstate between the trees from our campsite. Impossible to carry on a normal conversation outside and even two AC units running doesn't drown out all the noise. We won't camp there again and will be more selective of parks adjacent to major highways. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$43
This KOA is easy to find from I-75, but the road into the campground shakes everything in the motorhome. Really rough and needs to be fixed, although I doubt that will happen. The queue area is a challenge in that it is on a steep hill. Make sure your foot is securely on the brake. The clerk at the front desk seemed very rattled because several people were checking in. She had forgotten to give me my KOA discount and was peeved when I asked to have the amount corrected. The site was level and shaded and not too tight since nobody was next to us. The cable wouldn't connect and the Wi-Fi was slow to nonexistent. Once again, campground owners who promise amenities but don't deliver. Road noise was terrible, as we were practically on the freeway. However, with both air conditioners going full blast, it became less noticeable as the evening dragged on. This is OK for an overnight or if you are taking in the many Chattanooga attractions for a few days.The park is scenic and has potential, but the negatives need to be addressed. KOA parks certainly charge premium prices for less than acceptable conditions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$43
A little pricey, but for a quick overnight stop it was worth it. The host was very friendly and helpful. The sites are all gravel, level and shady. The electric, water and cable were all very good. For convenience, a wine store and a Subway Shop is right at the entrance to the park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
Level site, wide drive with no encroaching vehicles or trees. Long pull-through sites. Good interstate access (but some road noise). Awesome open 4 acre pet area surrounded by trees and bushes. We were there in a 40 ft RV, towing. Severe weather came through and they sent someone to every site to explain what to do if they alerted us. Very convenient to Chattanooga and Battlefield sites. Convenient to shopping. Subway sandwich shop on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Stayed here as an overnight stop returning from Florida. Our GPS took us right to the campground. We didn't have reservations and were somewhat skeptical based on some online reviews. However, it was perfect for our overnight needs, close to the interstate, pull through sites (long enough we didn't have to unhook), and very friendly staff. We arrived well after the office closed, but as I was looking at the map, the office light comes on and the manager opens the door and asks if we are needing a site. The office is new and has a well stocked camp store also. We found our site easily and was hooked up in short-order with no adjustments to level needed. There are shaded and open sites. The roads are paved and the sites gravel. There's no grass between the pull thru sites, but that didn't matter to us given the short overnight stop. There are comments relating to the noise from the highway, we did notice it, but, from inside a modern RV, is not an issue. Our rate includes VKR discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
This was a short overnight stop, and they are clearly geared up for that. Since the office was closed, we were greeted with envelopes demanding payment before we park anywhere (or even know there is a site available). I didn't have change, so I left $40, and decided I'd settle it up in the AM (the sign said it would be $38, ouch). We settled in quickly and went to bed. I was up early and walked about the grounds with our dog. They do have a couple of nice areas to walk the pup. They have an older but nice pool area, and newer office building that included an internet room, laundry, and bath house. I came to office to settle our bill. It seems our rate wasn't correct. The base rate should have been $36, but they then charge an additional $3 each for kids, totally $42. No discounts for AAA, Good Sam, or otherwise. Yes, the park was well kept, but we'll mark this one of the list for taking advantage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
We were on our way back to WI from FL and needed a place to stay for the night. Site was large and level (pull through). Perfect for what we needed. Several other sites were not quite as level, but looked OK to us. All connections worked as expected, no issues. Easy in and out, but the sign is REALLY small so make sure you turn right at the Subway, it's down that road. We would stay here again. A bit noisy from road, but it didn't bother us and that's what you get when you want an easy on/off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$45
Nicest bathrooms of any park, ever. Large area for dog walk, but it is unfenced. Close to the interstate, so is noisy but has fairly easy access. All gravel sites with some pull-through. Hilly but pretty. Nice little playground for kids (although truthfully we have none, and I just used it for a pull-up bar). Great Mexican restaurant called "Three Amigos" just west on the same road in case you go looking for some good grub. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
This is a nice KOA, but keep your eyes peeled for the signs to turn off the road. They are very small and I missed them, and drove about a mile past the turn off. The staff member was a bit snippy when I mentioned this and told me I just don't pay attention. (I had intended to stay here on my return from Tennessee, but she made me uncomfortable and I went elsewhere.) The park is OK, but some of the sites (like the one we were in) are very close to I-75 and the trucks rumble all night long! (If you are a light sleeper be sure to request sites on the opposite side of the park!) Clean restrooms, showers and store! WiFi worked great! But I won't go back here for reasons explained above. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$45
Staff at check in was nice. Shaded pull through site was level and large enough for 37' trailer and two vehicles. Cable has lots of channels. Kids loved the playground and dog liked the big field at the end of the campground. Stayed 2 nights, will stay again. Only drawback is sites are close to interstate and its traffic sounds. Didn't keep us from enjoying and relaxing outdoors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$34
Good place to overnight, but there is quite a bit of noise from I-75. Sites were large and we had a pull through, and it took a bit of work to get leveled up, because of the topography of the land. The staff was friendly, and check in was easy and convenient. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$43
Great Wi-Fi! Really nice, clean bathrooms. Wide, long, & level sites. Cable TV has almost all channels. The laundry room is even heated, with a TV and a computer desk! Employees were nice. Only problem was our neighbors, who were intoxicated & obnoxious! We called the office & a man came up & took care of it. Problem solved. It poured rain all night, but all the sites appeared to be graveled, and we had no mud whatsoever. Very nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
Do not stay here. This park has the rudest owner/manager we have ever met. They fail to explain the rules of the park so be sure you read them carefully. They charge you to have guests just visit your own RV. The staff is friendly, however, they are unable to treat the "guests" with respect due to management policies. This is not the typical KOA. Avoid this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Great park. Convenient location to Rock City, restaurants, shopping, and Chattanooga. Park is clean and quiet, except for interstate noise. Sites are completely gravel, no grass, have lots of trees, lots of shade. Our site is level, and plenty long for our motorhome and toad. Good width between sites. Nicely paved roads. Showers are great, separate rooms with full locking doors, and elbow room. Pool looks great, but we didn't use it. Cable TV very good, lots of channels, nice and clear. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Price reflects KOA discount card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
We really enjoyed our stay here. We felt safe and secure. Gravel sites were level and had enough room. The pool was large and clean. The bathrooms were very clean. Lots of trees. Great area to walk your dogs. Trash was retrieved regularly throughout the day from your site. Staff was accessible and friendly. They applied the rules to everyone equally, which made for a pleasant stay. Interstate noise was not a problem for us, we loved the easy access. We stayed here 8 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$42
Very nice and clean campground. Restrooms extremely nice. Showers are good for long hot showers. I felt safe and secure. Surrounded by trees. Sites have gravel but had no issues with leveling. Staff was friendly and helpful. Next to I- 75 so you do hear highway traffic if outside your RV, we always have a small fan running at night to muffle the outside noise anyway, so not a problem for us. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$39
What a beautiful clean park. The bathrooms are extremely clean and remarkably beautiful. Laundry room even has A/C and ceiling fans. Exceptionally clean, level sites. Camp store is well stocked. Staff are the best-very helpful and friendly. Very well patrolled, very safe. We will definitely stay here again on our trips north & south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$29
Great for a night or two to visit attractions in the area or as an overnight stop on your way north or south on I-75. Very easy access to interstate but of course that means you hear road noise unless you stay in one of the back-in sites. Staff super friendly. Bathrooms immaculate. Owners are working on leveling sites. Our site was good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
My husband and I were here earlier this month. We were very, very disappointed in this 'campground.' The sites are closer together than any we have ever seen, and all gravel, with no blade of grass in sight.(Ironically, there is a sign that states, "keep off the grass", we wondered if the sign was posted as a joke.) Has short concrete pads; not big enough for most motorhomes or fifth wheels, and very unlevel. Some sites do not have concrete pads. The back row of campsites is so close to the interstate you could stick your arm out and smack a passing car. We could hardly believe this was a KOA. One of the employees driving around in a golfcart was very unfriendly as well. We would never camp here again, as there are other much much better campgrounds in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$33
I just love this campground! We have stayed here before and it's just great! The staff is very nice and helpful. We got here at 10PM at night and they brought our map out to our motorhome. I didn't even have to get out. They are just simply amazing! The only reason I gave a 9 and not a 10 is due to the internet. They have 2 wireless connections and where our lot was at, we couldn't get a good signal off of either one of them. Other than that, it was great. We will be staying here again, very soon! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$36
Campground is on a ridge overlooking I-75 so there is a lot of traffic noise. Sites are some of the most non level I have used. Had to have the back of the unit almost into road to not be going down hill. Would not go back unless there was no other choice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
This was a great place to stay. The bathroom was very, very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
When I asked about bringing an FMCA local chapter to the campground for a weekend outing, the lady at the desk told me "clubs are extra work and frankly they are a pain in the butt". She wasn't interested in bringing new business in and didn't make me feel welcome. Two other motor homes came into the park and made comments to me about the terrible way they were treated at check-in. Combine this treatment with the extreme noise of the interstate, and I will not visit this location again. By the way, our FMCA chapter won't come here either! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
Park is only 50 to 100 feet from I-75 with traffic noise very loud 24/7. All lots are covered in gravel: dusty and unattractive. The only pet walk area was down a bank with no safe way to access if you're the least bit unsteady on your feet. We needed to return home a day earlier than planned but the manager refused to refund payment which had been made during check-in. She was extremely rude and belligerent, said no refunds were ever given for any reason. We will never stay here again and would strongly recommend other campers go elsewhere. Do not mix this campground up with the Lookout Mtn/Chattanooga West KOA which is near I-59. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
It was absolutely wonderful. We had a water leak problem and they had a repairman ready for us. It only took a few minutes and we were fixed up. The Restrooms and showers were very, very clean. The laundry room had well working machines and lounge to sit in while waiting if desired. It had a well supplied camp store and owners were very friendly and helpful. We travel with 2 dogs and the pet area was well kept and clean. It is a great place to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
I understand why this was the only KOA to have availabilty during the 4th. Sites were very close: all gravel and the entire campground is unlevel making bike riding very difficult. But my biggest complaint is the fact that it is aproxiately 100 yards from the interstate. WOW: can you say NOISY ! We could not hear our TV unless we were willing to blast our neighbo's out. (Which by the way were very close to us.) I will say that they do have very nice bathrooms and showers. My kids enjoyed the pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
The noise level here is very loud due to the Interstate being right next to the campground. The owners were very rude and unfriendly. The campsites are very close together and the terrain is rough. I would only stay here again if no other option available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
It is a beautiful park. However, it's for sale. The owners, who live on site, filed for chapter 11 bankruptcy. You may want to avoid camping here. There are no refunds - EVER! the staff can be friendly, but not the owners. They are miserable. They ride around all day in a "mule". What a couple of jerks. If I had the money, I would gladly buy this place, and treat people with respect. Even the locals roll their eyes when you mention this campground. Stay away! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
I don't know what the other bad reviews on this campground are about, because we loved it here! So what if there is interstate noise, that means you're close to everything! Plus, why should the campground be knocked for interstate noise? They can't change that! The staff was very friendly, took me to my site, which I loved. Everything was clean, store was very nice, overall a wonderful experience! I will stay here again, very soon!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
To start with, our site was infested with fire ants. I went to the office to ask to move to another site (of which there were plenty) and was informed by the office manager the park was booked full for the weekend, and there was no way possible for us to move. The office manager made no apologies and was very rude. The park stayed empty all weekend, and they poured bug poison on our site. We were very unhappy and decided to leave a night early. We were told there are no refunds. The policy just happened to be in print at the bottom of the receipt that she asked me to sign, but failed to point out the disclosure. Again the office manager was Rude, and made no apologies. The maintenance man was friendly, but besides that the owner and manager were very unhappy and left a bitter taste in the air. Please don't give let these people steal your money too. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
We found this park to be relatively clean and had just enough room to manuever to the site with our toad. The site was level but the noise from the highway made us decide to not return. The winery at the entrance was a nice change but closes by 5:00 pm.There are plenty of other parks within 10 miles so we will be exploring other parks when we drive south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
Extremely long pull-thrus. However, this campground is very noisy as it is next to I-75. We had to keep the windows and door closed just so we could hear each other talk. Opt for a back in below the hill. No cable, but antenna reception good. Friendly staff. Really nice showers and bathrooms. We would stay again for an overnight, but not for longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
It's a shame. Here is a beautiful park, with very clean restrooms, paved roads, and easily accessed sites. If you camp here, be warned, the owners, who live above the office, are the most miserable, rude, money hungry folk I have ever seen. If you have a problem with your site, get ready for a fight, and don't ever expect to get any kind of refund, no matter what. There are too many rules, too many fees, the interstate is very loud and the owners have no people skills. The even went as far as to say that the campground is for sale and that they could give a rats *** if people are happy here. The employees are miserable and they look terrified. We have camped here 3 times and have tried to give them a chance, but each time it got a little worse. Even the local businesses nearby roll their eyes and express sympathy. They have all directed us to another, much nicer, friendlier campground up the road, which we are headed to as we speak. Stay away from this KOA!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$38
This was an overnight stay and there were only a few campers when I was there. It is easily accessed off I-75 and is built in a hilly wooded area so there would be a lot of shade in the summer. Interior roads are paved and easily navigated with a big rig. The 50A pull-thru sites are on top of a hill and perched next to the interstate, so noise is a big issue. Sites are gravel on top of the native rocky soil and are reasonably level. It was raining throughout my stay and the soil drained well. I probably would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2009
$50
Just save your money and go to a rest stop! The Interstate highway is mere feet from the only spots on the grounds that can accommodate anything over 20'. The owners drive all over in their golf carts to let you know you aren't allowed to use yours. The price is high off season, and higher in season. No discounts for extended stays. The cable is good, just turn up the TV to drown out the interstate noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
The KOA/Ringold, Georgia was a overnight stop. The campground was not crowded, only with permanent residents, and it did not take very much time for us to realize that this campground was less-than-ideal. In conjunction with the noise from the "local" residents, mostly from their not controlled pets, proximity to Interstate 75 was constant with noise. We had a 45-foot motorhome with a tow, and our length is almost 71 foot. We asked for a site to accommodate our RV and tow, and the site was long enough. I had to place blocks in front of the wheels since the site was not even close to being level. After leveling, we almost could not leave the coach since the steps were 1 inch from the ground. Reaching the site is ok if you and the motorhome have mountain goat experience. Driving to the site was like driving in a maze and I was so happy to have a 600 horsepower engine to navigate the steep hills to our site. Even before we starting to prepare the coach for our stay, I walked the directions that the office gave to us for our departure. Wow: I am glad that I have alot of time moving around a large coach to "escape" this campground in the AM. Leaving the next morning did require me to move a few park signage to negotiate the curves and "small" mountains. Unless you have a four wheeler for the hills, tent, and earplugs, find a Truckstop and rest center on I-75. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$44
We spent three nights here: One quick overnight on the way to Orlando and two on the way back. First night, we got in shortly after the office closed so we went right to our site. A grumpy old man (presumably one of the owners) came by after we had set up and accused us of misrepresenting the size of our rig and that we were too small for the "premium" site they had assigned us. The campground was half empty, so I'm not sure what the big deal was, but he let us stay there since were only going to be overnight. Our second stay went smoother, and I never had to deal with "Grumpy" again. His wife was much nicer. The sites aren't huge, but comfortable for our size rig. Nice pool (we didn't swim), IMMACULATE showers and bathrooms in a nearly new store/office building. They also have laundry facilities. Wi-Fi worked great, and it's free. Highway noise from I-75, which can be seen literally yards away through the trees surrounding the campground, was constant. We were tired enough from our travels it didn't keep us from sleeping, but light sleepers beware! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$31
When we arrived at the KOA / South in Ringold GA. We had already made reservations online for 6 nights. After checking in at the office we went to our spot and noticed how loud the traffic noise was, so we asked the lady at the desk, if we could move to another spot where it is quieter and she said no because no other spots would not accommodate our camper. She said we will just have to learn to get used to the noises like she did and to live with it. We stayed one night and Tuesday morning after no sleep from the noise went back to the office where the owner said he would move us to another spot he said was quieter, he took us to it on his golf car, it was still loud, and it had no sewage hookup. Plus he said no campfires due to some people staying near those spots for some reason, I told him we couldn't stay there with no sewage hookup for 6 days, our tanks can't hold that much water. He got very irate with us, and said I was being unreasonable because I asked for a refund for the remaining days. He was very nasty to us for asking for a refund and said flat out NO. So he speed off on his golf car, we walked back to the office and I got the copy of my receipt back. He keeps $144.00 of ours because of his NO REFUND policy. He is all about money and extremely rude and nasty to customers. We left and went on. We later learned from other campers that we are not the only ones he treats like that to join a long line of others he's done that way. I understand that property is up for sale so he has no incentive to treat people fairly, he takes the money and with his attitude has his way. He is certainly in the wrong business, has no conception of being a good host or any fairness about him. He didn't offer any type of refund. 1 night for the price of 6! We didn't just not show up, we did and we tried, but it was like staying at a rest stop on the side of the interstate. What kind of vacation is that? He was so mad that I didn't let him pat me on the head and take a spot where we would have to un- hook our camper to dump our water a couple times just so he keep our money. His biggest profit comes from the NO REFUND sign taped to his counter and certainly not from repeat satisfied customers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This campground is under review by the KOA corp. Do not camp here! The owners and employees are rude, there prices are high, and the permanent campers/ live ins make it appear like a run down trailer park. Avoid this KOA at all costs. From what I'm told, it will not be a KOA much longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Great Directions, Easy to Find, Pull Through Sites with a great view of I75 screaming past your front door. Sites are narrow and step up the hill in such a way that your slide touches the uphill site, and your awning overhangs your neighbor's site. Every inch of the campground is covered in gravel, but despite the seemingly endless supply, the sites were scarred with canyons from water runoff. Owners were always available, but surly, as if the joys of campground ownership had grown dim. They can, however, REALLY clean a bathroom - the bathrooms and showers get a 10! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2007
$38
The site I had was so small I could barely squeeze in my 35 foot rv. Couldn't put the awning out and hold to fold my mirrors in to keep from hitting them. They advertise they have wifi, but I couldn't get on and neither could my neighbors. Lots of people live in this park. I had roads on three sides of me. The worst thing was the owners brash personality in the office telling of her personal likes and dislikes and I didn't really care. I'd never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
A decent KOA, natural surroundings,lots of shade. Spotless restroom/showers. It backs up to the expressway and I found the constant, all night truck noise a bit much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$36
We stayed here four nights in order to take in the sights of this city. The restrooms and showers were very clean. The firewood issue didn't effect us since it was so hot, we didn't need to build a fire. Staff was very courteous and nice. However nobody in this town has heard of pickled bologna. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Although relatively new to the world of RV parks, this was by far the worst place I have ever stayed. Comments concerning the rudeness of the staff are absolutely true. Some rules are not posted, and other rules (even when explicitly printed) are ignored by staff. The noise from the highway was so bad that one could not hold a normal conversation at any time of the day or night. Avoid this campground at all costs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$31
I have read the previous comments about this campground and I agree with most of them. There have been some positive changes that I have seen since last year. The owners are very strict, and when confronted, can be hot tempered. Most of the people who complain however, are those who don't follow the rules. Outside firewood is discouraged because of pests that travel within the wood. You are welcome to forage the campground for kindling etc... We stayed in an older RV and used one bag of wood for 3 days. We supplemented our fires with sticks and dead branches from the campground which the owners actually encouraged us to do. "It helps to clean up the place" he said. The pool hours have been extended from 10 am to 8 pm for campers (10 - 3 for non campers). There are fees for visitors that are posted in the camp office. This keeps the locals who loiter away. Overall, the campground is very clean, the staff is super friendly, and the owners can be very helpful as long as you follow the rules. I like the location. There is a lot to do and you will find a lot of information about the area here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$31
This is a very nice, clean park. The sites are level and there's plenty of room for big rigs. The showers and restrooms are especially clean. The owners are wonderful - very friendly and accommodating. The park is near the interstate, so very convenient. There's a little highway noise, but not enough to bother us. We were here during very bad weather and the owner had an emergency plan - we felt very confident and safe. We highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2005
$40
I need to state first that we did not stay in this campground. We made reservations (3 tent and 1 cabin) several months ago for a family reunion and 2 weeks ago I received a letter stating all the extra fee's for visiting guests and their cars. After adding up all the charges, it would have cost us more than the site fee's. I called to cancel the reservation, but was rudley told that I had waited to long and would be charged the full amount even if I did not show up. The fee's are not posted anywhere, I received the letter with less than the required time to cancel and was treated poorly by the manager. At one point I was told " o bad, we can charge what we want" and then they hung up on me. I am contacting KOA to lodge a complaint. Even though I have never been there, I would not recommend this campground based on the way I was treated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
This campground was the worst we have ever stayed at. The rules are ridiculous, including prohibiting outside firewood and charging $5 per bag if you want to burn any campfires, a surcharge if anyone wants to visit, limited pool hours (10-4), etc. In addition, management is very disrespectful to campers, unwilling to resolve any conflicts, and obnoxiously controlling of the environment. We live locally, and stayed here only because we waited too long to go to the local state park. Unfortunate for us, this was the worst choice we could have ever made. We all left (a total of 4 campers and 1 tent) after the first night, and we'll never return. Fortunately for others, we can warn anyone from ever encountering such a farce of a campground! Campers beware!! Pass this by if it at all possible! And please do not judge Chattanooga by this campground if you must stay there...there are many other choices that are pleasant and represent the area! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2004
$45
I found the campground to be excellent, quiet, friendly, and service-oriented. One person complained about the firewood issue, and having to buy their wood. The reason for this, if this person had asked or bothered to read the notice in the office, is for the last few years, there has been a serious infestation of a beetle that attacks the local pine trees, and they are forbidden by the State to allow outside sources of cut wood. You might complain about $5 for a bundle of wood, but what would it cost to lose all the pine trees in Georgia and Tennessee? The other side of that, was I never had to carry any of that wood. All I had to say was I wanted some and someone delivered it to my door!!! That is worth $5 by itself! This is one of the very few KOAs that actually have service at reasonable rates. I wish the KOAs in Florida would learn something from this one! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com