223495 User submitted reviews online!!
Abilene KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 108 user reviews. Phone: (325) 672-3681
CGID3704

Abilene KOA

Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   8   8   7   7   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$37
There are new owners, who have made major improvements at this park. The streets are nice and the showers are brand new. We stayed here a couple of years ago and are pleased to see it improved. It is easy access, great cable and Wi-Fi and nice roomy sites. We will return when traveling through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$43
Office staff was friendly and accommodating with easy check in with reservation. The park is under new management and it appears the owners are investing in new washers and dryers (only two dryers worked) along with other upgrades. There are a lot of permanents in the park but it appears they keep their sites clean with minimal clutter. The pull thrus are side by side and a little close to each other but room for slide outs and awnings. We would stay again if the need arised in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
There are a lot of long timers that are building decks and stairs late into the night. The internal roads need work and the sites are tight. It is impossible not to track white dust into your rig. The park is over priced. The utilities are good but the sites need a bit of cleaning and trash pick up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
Typical KOA. Mostly gravel roads and sites. We had a lot of rain overnight and there was only minimal mud and puddles the next morning. Sites were reasonably sized and more or less level. Decent bath house. Excellent digital cable but the Wi-Fi didn't connect to the Internet at my site. Verizon 4G worked fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Great little RV park. Very friendly management. Close to freeway for easy access to travel-friendly Abilene. Looking forward to returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
When we stayed here they had just had some major rains, the camp ground was crowded and we had trouble maneuvering because we have a long rig. We had to take up 2 spots, since we are so big, had to park our vehicle in the spot next to us, which could not be used anyway due to mud. Staff, as in one staff person, was totally overworked and panicking due to large volume of people on camp, needed to refer to mgr on every major decision. I think we should have gotten a discount, because the camp was SO muddy, could hardly walk anywhere without getting mud all over. The kids did enjoy the pool though, so that was a plus. Still, it was expensive for what we got and I don't think they should only have one person on duty during the summer - too much stress on that poor thing, but she did do her best but was too insecure to make rational decisions. Must conclude Gen Mgr is not pleasant and wouldn't have approved of her decisions. Overall, it was adequate for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
Nicely shaded KOA with packed gravel access roads and sites. Pull thru sites just barely long enough for 37' motorhome with attached toad. Probably long enough for 40' if toad disconnected. The main area of the park has a single row of pull thrus with a row of back in sites on both sides of the pull thru row. The access road going between the rows may be problematic due to vehicles hanging out in the roadway especially where the access road turns around. The access roads are not wide enough for two rigs to pass. Right next to I-20, fairly close to Dyess AFB and train tracks, so the usual noise from planes, trains, and trucks. Quieted down considerably after dusk. Power OK, wifi didn't work (not handing out IP address), moderate Verizon LTE (3 bars), but rather slow speeds. Trees make satellite access problematic. Did not use other utilities. We will stay here again, but only for short stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$37+
Standard KOA, but too expensive for what is available at the park. Staff friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi works, but slow. Convenient to Abilene and activities: Don't miss visiting Frontier Texas. Great museum, better than most we have visited. Buffalo Gap was a bit of a disappointment. Campground has gravel roads and sites, but well maintained and level. We'd stay here again, but might look for a less expensive camp. Our rig is 34' long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$37
Typical KOA park clean and well run. Office staff very nice and laundry room was clean and price were good. Stayed here in a motorhome and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$38
New management seems to be working hard to make this a good campground. Very, very clean showers and toilets. Good strong water power. Very nice front office and they escort to our spot. Very friendly. Most level site we've had in a long time. Abilene and Buffalo Gap village fun. Very quiet except for happy dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$29
We recently spent three days at this RV Campground. It is a very packed RV park, catering to full-timers and the overnight crowd. Our space was very near others and the Motel 6 bordering the RV park contributed to noise. This RV park had water, sewer, and electric hookups. There was a small laundry room and the bathrooms were a bit dated, but cleaned. All-in-all the RV campground was pretty standard, it bordered a large highway, the spaces were narrow and gravel. Would I recommend this park? If we were visiting Abilene or passing through. Would we come back? Sure. Informational: We travel in a 36' Class A RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$43
We stayed here for one night when passing through the area. We loved this park. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a large, level spot and the area of the park we stayed in was very clean and well maintained. The cable television and Wi-Fi worked very well. We paid for a premium space as we didn't want to disconnect. We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
My husband and I stayed one night. We received a military discount. The staff greeted us and were friendly. The site was shaded and our pull-through was large enough that we did not have to disconnect since we're were only staying one night. We were disappointed that management did not inform us that the swimming pool was not usable. The pool was the reason we chose this RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Interesting...pool was closed for us also as a pump was out. No one was at the registration desk, and I had to wait. Literally the place reminded me of a trashy trailer park...not kidding! There was standing water that had obviously been there for some time. Weeds, junk, muddy K9 park (come on...pea gravel or grass!!). I left in the morning quickly! Not up to KOA standards, and I would not recommend it! Disappointing! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
The reviews that I had read on this park weren't that great and therefore my expectations were low. I was pleasantly surprised. Everything went very well and it far exceeded expectations. We had shade, the people running the place were very nice, the bathrooms/showers were clean and looked new, and everything worked well. It is an older park, but I can't think of anything that was below expectations. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
We've stayed here several times. The park is older and the sites are close. Unfortunately our site was littered with cigarette butts and other left over trash. The lady in the office was very friendly and courteous. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
This park was not what we expected any KOA to be. When we made our reservations we were told there would be a pull through big enough to accommodate our rig and tow vehicle, as we were not wanting to unhook. That did not happen. The site we were given was small and very close to our neighbors. So close we could not even open our awning. The pool was closed, due to a maintenance issue. We went up to the office and spoke to the manager about the reservation we made and that we were not happy with the site we were given. They refunded our money which we were happy about, no problems. That night, there was a live band in the park playing very loudly until 10 o'clock. Not the best nights sleep we ever had. Needless to say, we were glad to pull out in the early morning. We would not stay here again nor do we recommend it to anyone else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$43
Nice clean, simple park, nothing fancy, but up to the KOA standards. Gravel roads and sites with grass & trees in-between. Office has a small store for basics, which is always nice. Staff is always friendly and escorts you to your site (pull-thru). An odd loop around the I-20, but no big deal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$38
Many improvements need to be made. Wi-Fi was terrible; we were given a sheet with nearly 200 cable stations; we only could get 20, which were almost all local, except we got San Antonio! A lot more gravel needs to be spread around on roads and around hook ups. It rained during the night, and it was necessary to stand in water to disconnect from utilities. Sewer overflowed when we tried to dump, and as we left, we saw many puddles with soapy water on the road; made us wonder if other sewers were also overflowing. Lots of noise from interstate unless you were running air conditioning. Staff was friendly and helpful. We pulled in here because the wind was so bad. It was an OK place to overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$33,
Best dog park ever. Clean, nice laundry. Flat, level sites. Clean park. Nice hosts. So nice to see trees again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$33
The front desk worked very hard to find us a site (they were almost full). We ended up with a very large, long back-in site. The hookups were at the back, which would have been a problem for the sewer, but we didn't hook up (just there for one night). The cable was very good, internet was fair. Interior roads still need some work, but didn't cause any problems. Noise was minimal. Looked like a great dog park and play area. Very pretty park with all the trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$38
As we got close to this park saw a sign that their were new managers. What a difference. We stayed here last fall while visiting family. As you will read on posts from that time, the people running the place were not friendly and the park was very run down. The new people are very friendly and within the two months they have been there you can see improvement. There is new blacktop at the entrance which formerly was really bad. Major holes in the roads have been filled. The restrooms have been redone and are operating. They still have work to do but you can see things are better. It is not a resort, but good for an overnight or a few days visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$33
Positives include friendly hosts, level sites and speedy Wi-Fi. Negatives include repair needed on internal streets and, above all, bathroom accommodations. The women's restroom was closed with a commode outside the door. The "men's" side had a temporary sign stating it was a "family restroom". Really! Peeking in and it was a typical KOA set of stalls. I couldn't bring myself to use the family side! Perhaps this was very temporary but if they wish to remain competitive, they need to upgrade their facilities. As with many southern campgrounds, the majority of spaces are filled with long-term area workers. Oh, and the pool was drained (and nasty looking) too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34
Stayed here as a one nighter. Staff was very friendly. Had big pull throughs, level. No cable. Easy to get to. Would stop again as a one night stop. Rate reflects KOA member. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
We stayed here on a Thursday night in late October and had a FHU pull-through site. Most sites are FHU with about 30 pull-throughs and 60 back-ins. The roads and sites are gravel. The sites vary in size. Our site, as I believe most do, had cable TV with (according to the handout) about 70+ analog channels and 50+ digital channels. I settled for figuring out what channels were the network stations on cable and using my satellite for the rest. As I have learned in the past year, I cannot enter numbers like 56-1 on my remote to bring up digital channel 56-1. If you want satellite reception be sure to request a satellite friendly site because many sites have trees tall enough to block the satellite. At what was possibly the farthest site from the office, we were unable to connect to the WI-FI. I don't think it was a "too many people on" as a distance/sightline from/to the antenna/router issue. Staff thought is might be the wind. Nice looking pool was closed for the season. The park looks like it would nice for a family weekend. I'd stay again as long as I could get an "open" site closer to the office for better WI-FI. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
The owner of this park is working to improve it, he says. It could be really pretty. There is excellent cable and Wi-Fi. There are lots of pretty trees. The bathrooms are clean but dated. The roads and sites are in need of repair. It was good for an overnight stay. Not a destination park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Cant rate higher. Didn't use all facilities. Clean park. Got in late, had to find own spot. I find KOA's expensive for overnights. But, its a business now! Office friendly. Not the easiest to get to coming from the south. Spot was a pull through with a toad. No problems. Wi-fi a little slower than norm. Probably would not stay here again due to price/value We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
A perfect park for us. Although just off interstate there was no road noise (site#10-shady) . Pool is located on frontage road. Showers were perfect! No security code but not needed. Eliminate the speed bump and this park would be a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Not fond of this park. It was crowded, dusty, and our site was not level. Lots of trees, so watch where they put you. Road noise was bearable, but noticeable. We had a family with small children and a large fifth wheel right next to our slide out. They were running back and forth until late. Drove our dog nuts. Just saying that the sites are VERY close to each other! Won't be staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
This is the only decent campground in the Abilene area so we stay here by default. Some of the managers are in dire need of people skills. The park is dusty and sets on the access road to I-20 so you will have road noise. We may try alternate routing in future trips to avoid this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$35
This was a good campground. We arrived late and there were some camp workers in a golf cart to help us find a spot; they led us right to a level, pull-through site. I have a 23' motorhome with one slide-out and had plenty of room. When I was disconnecting my hook-ups the next morning one of them came by and asked if I needed any help. There are lots of trees and a nice path to walk your dog. Wi-Fi worked great and I was able to get connected without a password which I really appreciate when I get in after hours. It's about 5 miles from a museum called "Frontier Texas!" that I can't recommend enough. It's a fantastic museum that covers frontier history from 1780-1880 using state of the art life-sized holograms of real people from that time to show you what it was like from different perspectives. The acting is fantastic, not cheesy like some educational program acting can be. The Abilene KOA is right off the freeway and a good stop-over spot to see the museum. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Not a bad stop over park. Our site was pretty narrow for a 34' motorhome with slides. We had to jockey the rig back and forth in order to best align it to allow the slides out and awning. The awning could only be deployed about half way out because of trees. The shade was welcome however. Friendly staff. I was surprised to see the staff cleaning the playground equipment which is painted KOA bright yellow. A nice plus for families. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
This campground was great! They just had new Wi-Fi equipment put in and it was working amazingly well. The pool was sparkling & the kids loved it. They installed A/C's in their restrooms while we were there as well and it made a drastic difference. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
This KOA was a disgrace to the campground chain. We called ahead to ensure availability after reading an impeccable write-up in a brochure. After setting up, we were told that the pool was out of order, the Wi-Fi was out, and cable TV wasn't working very well. Propane refill was out of the question as the only qualified person was the owner who was away at some personal function. The money hungry management did not hint over the phone that the full advertised amenities were not available, nor did they even fathom the idea of a reduced rate or partial refund for the inconvenience. We would never stay here again, nor would we ever recommend this trap to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
When we arrived we were informed that their water heater was out so there was no hot water. There was no offer of a reduced rate for this inconvenience. The sites are narrow, short and very dusty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
Not too much good to say about this RV park. Roads narrow with lots of potholes. We maneuvered our 40 foot motor home between a 5th wheel partly parked in the road, a truck, and trees. The "guide" was on break. Thank goodness for walkie-talkies! Many extended stay (although to be fair, they seemed to be neat). Constant freeway noise and as a bonus barking dogs. The Wi-Fi was literally useless. We never were able to connect. The site, although narrow, was gravel and fairly level. We would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
The park is definitely not up to KOA standards. There was no hot water during our stay. Landscaping at the park was not maintained, grass cuttings everywhere. Trailer life gave the park overall 8, restrooms an 8, visual a 7. It was anything but close to that rating. On the plus side, the staff is young and friendly but appear to be inexperienced. The park is close to sight seeing and shopping. If you are passing though, the park is okay for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$36
We had some trouble getting to this campground because there was a fire along the exit ramp and fire trucks had the frontage roads blocked. We could only wait patiently. This camp lies down in a wooded hollow south of the Interstate. I did not notice any adverse road noise, but we were mostly to the back of the property. Since it was winter, the trees didn't have leaves, so we connected with the satellite dish. Our Verizon air card connected to the internet nicely, but wi-fi was also available. This park was kind of tight with the trees, so I had to take it slowly around the roads which were gravel. The sites were also gravel but long enough to park the motorhome and the trailer that we were pulling. There were many long term campers in the main part of the campground, and they had a lot of stuff out in the areas between the rigs. That made it seem a bit junky. The store was clean and nicely stocked, and the people were good to us and courteous. We would more than likely stay again if we traveled along I-20 in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$33
This was your standard run of the mill KOA. Plus when we arrived we we found we had to drive around to find a place to eat. There are not any around close by. The major problem here was getting to and leaving the campground. The highway system was very poorly laid out and one had to drive several miles to get on highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$39
We missed the under-freeway access road, the sign was not visible after dark. Made a U-turn at the next exit, no problems. The site was level and quiet. We'll stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
This campground was nice overall, but their paved roads are in great need of repair. The playground for the kids was also fairly small. There aren't many options in the area, though, so we were grateful to find a KOA here. The staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
Entered site after hours. Set up trailer then realized there was no power from electric meter. Had to tear down and move to another site and set up again. Mentioned it to office personnel the next morning and their response was "yeah". Didn't say we are sorry, offer a discount or anything. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
Park was just fine. People who registered us were happy and joking around and very helpful with answering our questions. Eddie was great at parking us and also very humorous. I gave it an 8 out of 10 because the interior road could use a little work. Really an easy in easy out park. Even though you were right next to 1-20 there is no noise. I would stay here again. I have a 40foot fiver with 3 slides and there was plenty of room for it as well as my dually long bed truck. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
This was an overnight stop for us and we really have no complaints. Office staff were friendly and took us to our site. Site was shady and level. The park was quiet. The reason for the 7 rating is that it is an older park and just not as modernized and updated as it could be. When in the area we will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
When we arrived, we were given a site that was impossible to get into. I went back to the office and we were moved to a second site, and discovered that the 50 amp service did not work. I went back again and we finally got a site that we could get into, but barely. The trees are extremely close together and I was afraid we might not get our slide outs fully extended. There are a lot of seasonals or workers here. The campground is small, the roads are in dire need of repair with lots of holes and mud. The general appearance is worn and old looking. It's not very clean. Getting in and out is confusing. Although the staff was very helpful and pleasant, this is one place that we not return to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
A little tricky getting to this park, if you're coming from the south. We had called ahead and had a reservation. Office help seemed a little disorganized, but we were finally shown to our site. It was Labor Day and very crowded. The office store was out of ice. Pool was full of kids, but we were put away from that area and it only became an issue when I walked the dog. The dog park was right by the pool area, and my dog was nervous with all the children noise. Sites are long enough and each have a picnic table and one tree. Cable TV and WiFi worked well. Good for an overnight. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
This is an ok campground if you just need a spot for the night. Unfortunately we stayed here for a week. Instead of doing lawn maintenance during the week when they were practically empty, they did it both weekends we were here. There is NOTHING to do here, even in mid August the pool was toooooo cold to swim in. It has a large playground for kids, but spray the kids down with OFF, mosquito's will carry you away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
This was an overnight stop. We were so disappointed with this KOA we wrote the headquarters. The park is poorly maintained. The pot holes are unacceptable especially since they have a large pile of fill in the corner of the park. The lots are long, level and shaded but very narrow. The check in staff was great as was the escort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
The staff was very friendly when making phone reservations and checking in. The restrooms were clean, but show their age. The sites all have trees for shade. The roads have pot holes that enforce the 5mph speed limit. Sites are level, good Wi-Fi and cable. Average pool. Very nice fenced dog area but it could use more grass. We used it as a convenience overnight stop and it easily met our needs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
We stayed here one night. Staff was friendly and escorted us to the site. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
When we arrived after a 8 hour trip, I was in no mood for shenanigans. The lady at the front desk was through with a bit too much sarcasm for me. We settled in and the site seemed to be decent. I used the rest room and I have never encountered such filthy areas in a KOA. Paper towels seemed to be empty and no one to check them. The so called "caretakers" dogs barked constantly in their camper, however other campers were reprimanded about the rules. These people wrote the book on rudeness. Please avoid this campsite if possible. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
Not Recommended. As previously stated in other reviews, the staff here is not friendly or welcoming in anyway. In fact they are down right rude. Upon our check out, they created extra charges for dumping and told us that we should have paid for full hook ups if we wanted to empty our tanks. Every place we've ever stayed with partial hook ups, we were welcome to dump for free at the community dump station (including other KOA's). The Abilene KOA didn't notify us of the BROKEN dump station nor the charge to dump in their make shift dump station (someone else spot) when we checked in for two nights in a partial hook up space. In addition, this KOA is not near enough to the sights of Abilene for the price. They are very close to the freeway (I-20) and right under the Motel 6. The spaces were level but the bathrooms were iffy, they were very old (broken tiles) and falling apart but cleaned. The Motel 6 next door was the same price as full hook ups ($39)! We will not be staying here again do the poor customer service (staff). Instead, stay at Abilene State Park, TX for only half (only 15/per night). Much prettier location and near historic Buffalo Gap. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$31
For an overnight stay, it was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Management was not exceptionally friendly, but might that have been that we arrived at 6:00 PM and that was their office closing time. Seemed that was extremely early for a KOA, just off the interstate. Probably would return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$36
First of all the people here are great! We got stuck in the Christmas Eve snow storm and spent several extra hours plugged in to keep warm and watch the weather reports until the snow stopped and we felt we could safely leave. They loaned us a ladder to shovel snow off of the slide awnings and the man even stayed to stabilize the ladder while I dumped snow on his head. This campground is easy to get to and has a small playground that could use some work, but the sites are long, level and well kept. There was a nearby steakhouse that delivers to your site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
Called ahead for reservations as we always do. Took about a minute on the phone. Check in was quick. The people at the desk were efficient, not unfriendly but not chatty either. The park appears to be well maintained. The old swimming pool is an eyesore and should probably be filled in and covered. There is some highway noise. We would stay here again on an over nite basis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
As another reviewer stated, the office workers and the escort could be friendlier. All seemed to act put out that they have to wait on you. Snippy answers to your questions. It's like they're doing you a favor to let you stay with them. We are full time RVers and will be passing through this way a lot. We have stayed here twice and both times there's no "hello, may I help you?". The campground is OK. Gravel sites that are pretty level. This may be the last time we stay here. The price is higher than most and I don't feel welcome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$37
It is convenient to Interstate but traffic noise was not a problem. It is close to Drag Strip so noise could be a problem during races. Very informative staff. The sites are level. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
We stopped here for the evening after a long drive up from South Texas. We asked if they had a space for us but instead of getting a yes or no answer we got a lecture on why we should have made a reservation.Not only once but three times we were told we should have made a reservation. We have traveled all over the US and stayed at many parks without reservations without a problem much less a lecture. The lady at the desk might have been trying to be cute but to weary travelers this was not cute. We left out through the park and noticed they had several sites vacant... We found another RV park right down Interstate 20 that had no problem taking us in without a reservation or lecture. We will not be back there nor will the 650 members of our RV Club be using this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$37
Another pricey KOA but it is the best stopover in Abilene if you are traveling I-20. No aircraft noise from Dyess and the park has the working CATV and Wi-Fi as well. If you need a windshield ding fixed, Jim's West Texas Windshield Repair will do a great job. His biz card is in the front office! We had a nice pull through site. Dog park was also a very nice perk and the dogs enjoyed it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
I'm not a fan of KOA, but at the end of a 500 mile day, I was ready to stop for the night. To my surprise and amazement, this CG is a jewel. It is just off I-20, yet the road sounds are muffled. There is free Wi-Fi and 65 channels of cable TV if you don't want to use satellite. The pull throughs were plenty long for big rigs and there is comfortable spacing between sites. My only complaint is that on my site, the distance between my sewer hose and the dump was too far for me to reach. However, this is not the case at all the sites. Other than that, the sites were level (gravel) and the staff very friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
Incredibly small, tight, packed park! Roads were set up well for turns. Sites were long enough to squeeze in without unhooking tow vehicle, but everyone in Texas drives 2 or 3 duallys and the feeling of the park was claustrophobic, cramped, packed in. Park is next to Motel 6 - was very noisy the night I stopped. Probably would have been quieter and had more space spending the night at a truck stop. Staff was very nice, helpful and friendly We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
We stayed here for an overnighter while traveling on IH-20. The campground is okay for a one night stop, but it has a few negatives. The campground is located adjacent to a Motel 6. On the night we camped here, there was a semi-truck parked at the motel about 50 feet from our rig. He had his generator/refrigeration unit running all night and it was loud. Much louder than the traffic noise from the nearby interstate highway. I realize this is not the fault of the park owners, but it does affect the quality of your camping experience when your site is located near the motel. Additionally, there were numerous cars going in and out of the motel at night and several boisterous people there. Another negative was the unfriendly nature of the employees at this park. We have stayed at places in the past that did not have the greatest amenities, but the friendly employees made the experience very nice. The opposite experience occurred at this park. We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
Not lush or plush but an adequate overnight stopping place. We didn’t get to use the facilities much. It is just off the Interstate and convenient to downtown Abilene. I’d use this park again . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$33
This is an old but well kept campground. The staff was friendly and helpful. The sites were well maintained and tidy. Although this campground is right on the freeway, we did not hear much noise after 8pm. The Wi-Fi had a good signal, but the speed was very slow. It took a while for us to do our email, due to the slow speed. We would stay here again, should the need arise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$23
Typical KOA. Good, clean and good Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$37
Tight turns overall okay for overnight stop - had to disconnect to make turns. I feel expensive for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$27
Nice KOA with somewhat larger site than most KOA's. Other posts are correct, that construction makes it a little more difficult to get park, but still pretty easy on/off I-20. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2009
$38
It has dirt and gravel sites. There is adequate room for a big rig, depending on the specific location. The bathhouse is clean, but very old as is the laundry facility. It is the best of the offerings in the area, but a shame to charge so much for facilities in desperate need of an upgrade. Our rate reflects the KOA membership and the 'stay 6 nights, get one free', but also the extra charge for our 2 kids. Internet access is spotty. We will stay here again, but only because they are the only facility in the community and we have family in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$38
Nice place for overnight stay. A little difficult getting from and to I-20 with all of the construction going on. Nice people running the office. A well kept park. I would rate it higher but the construction in the area. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$37
The employees were very friendly and professional. My GPS took me to the wrong place but a phone call to the park got us back on track. I was not able to connect to the Wi-Fi due to low signal strength. I did not want to move sites so I did not report this to the staff. I am sure they would have moved us if we had asked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$33
Fairly easy negotiating this park both in entry and in siting. Not all the sewer hookups are at the same height, so have to be mindful of this when siting. Electricity, water, etc. were working just fine. Because of construction on I-20 the exit to this park is not well-defined by the detour signs, and the road into the park is a one-way street. Might be a good idea to call park first to find the correct exit number to this park. The park is quiet and there is no RR noise at all. A good place to spend a few days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$35
I really like this park (am here now) Very attractive setting, nice owners, easy on/off I-20 but don't notice road noise. Best is, with 2 dogs, they have a very cute fenced dog area in front, and also allow dog walking throughout the park. It is high in price, especially with the motel 8 next door at a few dollars more, but very good place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
The hosts were very friendly and helpful, and the sites were clean. The only complaint I have about this park is the cost. Also, GPS doesn't take you directly to the park so ask the park for directions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$31
A very nice campground with an outdoor pool. The WiFi didn't connect to Internet. There was easy access on and off interstate. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$37
This KOA looked much better than the last time we stayed there about 4 years ago. It was neater and cleaner, the trees had been trimmed, and the sites had a good thickness of gravel. The roads were paved but were a bit rough with some potholes. The staff was nice and attentive to our needs. When we reported that the cable TV connection was broken at our site someone came immediately and fixed it. There were lots of channels, and the reception was good. Sites where we stayed were a bit narrow with trees on each side. We could open our slides easily, but could not have opened the awning. There was a table and grill. Sites were also close to one another, but they were placing RV’s in every other spot so it did not feel crowded. We did not see the open sites that are shown on their website, but even with trees we really didn’t have any trouble getting into or out of our site. We did not use the free Wi-Fi, or the pool, or the restrooms/showers. Even though it was just off I-20, we did not notice any noise. We felt the price was just a little high, but given the other campgrounds in this area we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
I agree with the other reviews. This is a fairly typical KOA. It is convenient to I-20, and would be good for an overnight stopover. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
We have stayed here several times. The sites hold water when it rains. But overall it is a good stop over when you're heading out west. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$33
Typical KOA park. Sites are a little close but even our 40' had no problem. Wi-Fi is a little spotty but when it works it's good. Right off of I-20 but construction will make you crazy getting on or off I-20. Park staff is knowledgeable but seems bothered a little by people, they need to loosen up a little. We would use it again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$34
We used this RV park as a stopover on our way through Texas. We prefer state parks but this park was conveniently located right on I-20 so we tried it. For us, it was an excellent overnighter. Staff were professional and very helpful, washrooms were spotless, and cable and wi-fi worked perfectly. A dog park was a welcome surprise. Highway noise is unavoidable and should have no effect on tired travellers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$32
All I can say is TIGHT...pull throughs,yes, but hard to maneuver. We pulled in with our coach and trailer but had to back out of our site because of trees. This park has enough trees to start its own paper mill. If you want a suntan, you'll have to find a spot where the sun shines through the canopy! Why they don't clean it up is a mystery to me. At least cut them away from the turns at the sites and trim up to 14'. Not much to this park, Wi-Fi worked spotty when we were there. Typical KOA, a little over priced for what you get. Stayed one night, that was enough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$34
When looking for an over night spot I try to avoid KOA’s because they generally charge more than others. Their prices usually reflect their amenities but we rarely make use of them on an over night stay. Having read the other reviews, I could see why there were mixed emotions about the site each was assigned. The grounds are laid out in such a way that each site is a bit different than your neighbors. I had to back out of my pull-thru whereas my neighbor had no problem pulling out of his. My only complaint was their location. Getting in from westbound I-20 was a snap, getting back on was a trip through the twilite zone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$32
One of the very best commercial parks we have ever stayed at. When we arrived, we were properly greeted, and told more than we ever hoped to know about the park and the Abilene area. We were escorted to our site, and the host made sure everything was fine with the site. He even assisted us in our parking. I felt as though I was registering at a five star hotel. Everything works here; the voltage was spot on; the WiFi works much better here than my Verizon Broadband; the place was very clean and everything, and I mean everything, was freshly painted. You will want to add this park to your itinerary whenever traveling through Texas; just leave room for me when I return again! As the gubernator says, "I will be back". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2008
$40
This is an OK park. The dirt around there is very dark and although the sites are gravel, it is hard to keep the dirt out of the coach. Maneuvering through the park was a little difficult in our big rig. It was fine for an overnight, but I don't think I would not want to stay for an extended time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$18
Typical KOA. Nice park hosts and clean facilities. Roads needed repair. Spots were a little tight for tow vehicle and RV to fit in. Had to ask a few RV'ers to move their trucks so I could get out of my spot when it was time to leave. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2008
$38
Sites were okay but when we checked in their pipes were frozen. Not anticipating this, we asked if we could fill our gravity tank from somewhere. The office had running water, along with the laundry and shower house, but the lady who worked there said "no" they wouldn't let us fill up. Now, if you knew your lines were frozen, wouldn't you make sure there was another way for your customers to fill at least there gravity tank? Thank goodness this was just an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$35
Little close getting in spaces due to trees but not bad for overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2007
$36
I would not stay here again, the place is very run down. We used it as an overnight stop over but really wish we would have kept driving. Playground is basically falling down, the bathrooms and showers were closed because of sewer problems. We were charged for our 3 year old even though web site says children under 6 are free. There are also stray cats running around that don't look very healthy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
Beware, there is a drag-strip 1/4 miles from this RV Park. Weekend events going on Fri.Sat.& Sun. from 4 PM to 12:30 AM. The noise, revving motors, and screeching of tires was absolutely unbearable. The sites are not very well maintained, some litter in sites. We feel it is over priced for what they offer. Normal rate for one night is $35.00, but we booked in for three nights, therefore got a lower rate. We would not have stayed that long if we had known about the drag strip. Also, work camper dogs continually barking. Good Wi-Fi and good T.V. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
The staff at the campground were very friendly, they even gave our dogs each a bone. They were very helpful in guiding us to our site which was very shady as there are trees everywhere. The sites are somewhat tight due to the number of trees but we were able to maneuver our 41 foot motor home and dinghy without any problems. The facilities are not pristine but they are satisfactory. Access to west bound 20 upon leaving was not very clear. The WiFi access was strong with high bandwidth. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
The staff here were EXCELLENT, very friendly and informative. The RV Park itself was tatty and the location poor with difficult access roads from roadworks with very little shops or local facilities. The only reason we stayed here was due to the excellent description on the KOA magazine which made it sound very inviting and pleasant with many facilities - it stated that you could hear the birds and that you could not hear the roadway, when in fact all you could hear was the roadway and the trains, even when in your RV !!! Ground is tatty, store is not stocked and I would not stay here again, unless it was a last resort. I will stress again that the staff were great, but facilities, location and condition of the grounds were not to the required standard. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
Campground has gone down a little since we stayed here a year ago. Grounds a little ragged and more long term residents. Interstate 20 is under construction just outside and the entrance ramp was a little difficult to negotiated. I'll look for another facility next time through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
This very nice KOA was adjacent to Interstate 20. It had a secluded feel, not too much road noise, wonderful old trees, nice staff, and clean buildings. We stayed a night and would return when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Staff terrific,but would not stay here, again.The park is located evidently in a very low elevation,because there are lots and lots and lots of mosquitoes. The ladies restroom was clean but no bathroom tissue, and the men's bathroom was not clean and had no tissue, either. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
Pet area was small but OK. Lots of mosquitoes when we were there. WiFi was weak for me. Easy access into large pull-through. People were very nice to us. Nice shaded spaces. Areas were large enough for our slides. Trash can at site is a bonus. Beside Motel 6 and right next to I-20 makes for some noise. Sewer connection could be lower for better flow. Good for overnight stay but expensive compared to other comparable parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$31
This is a very nice KOA. Our main requirements are pull through, 50 amp and WIFI, and it had all of the above, plus friendly, helpful staff and a clean park with nice sites. It was easy to maneuver our 40 foot motor home in and out of the site and the park. It is just off I-10, so there is some traffic noise. It is also about 1 mile from Harlow's, which is an excellent local barbeque joint. A good overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$29
Very nice park. I found it to be clean and had ample space for my motorhome and tow without having to unhook. I spent one night here and would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
We felt very welcome at this campground. Wifi is very important to us and it works great there. Wonderful people working there, from the phone call to reserve a site until we left. I would recommend this KOA to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$29
With KOA card we payed under $30 for the night. We came here because of the reviews written before us, thanks. People were very friendly, helpful and courteous. The site was wide, level and had a patio and table. It had rained a lot and the staff were trying to pump water out of low areas around the sites. WiFi worked excellent. It is well worth the difference in cost compared to any other CG in the Abilene area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$34
Nice campground. We stayed only one nite and was satisfied with the facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
I guess I am different than some other reviewers of this park, but I did not think it was anywhere near worth what they charge per night. The rear dog run was very, very small and grown up with grass. The sewer connections where we were did not have plastic tops or sealers but just had boards put on top of the sewer hole where odor escaped. It was hard to level our rig there on the gravel and the interior roads reminded me of older parks not designed for a large rig. It just was overpriced in my opinion for what you got. We have stayed in "resort" type parks with free breakfast, free wifi and free newspapers, etc. and good interior roads for $35 or less a night. The people were nice but to us it looked like a much lower priced campground - maybe $25/night would be more fair. If they are going to charge an upscale rate then the park should reflect it. On the other hand - there is not much good competition in the area to keep their pricing in line. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$36
Really great campground! Right off the interstate, so it's easy on & easy off. Interstate noise wasn't bad since there are so many trees surrounding the park. Campground is VERY clean & well maintained. The staff, sporting their yellow KOA shirts are always working on the campground. Very friendly & polite office staff. We were escorted to our site, just to be sure that everything was suitable & to our liking. Very clean pool, nice gameroom & good cable connection. Good provisions in office. We will be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$32
Pleasant KOA - pricey of course, but that's typical for KOA's. This is definitely a campground and not an "RV Resort". They do have a miniature golf and pleasant overall forested setting. Gravel sites and interior roads. Rustic and well treed camp area - some of the sites were set at angles, making it slightly difficult to maneuver our 37' fifth wheel into the spot, but they always have an escort to guide & help. If you bring a 'big rig' motorhome, make sure you ask for a straight through pull-through, the staff is very accommodating. We were there in the early spring, and by 3 p.m. they were full! Might be a good idea to make reservations if you're passing through at a popular time of year. (glad we had reservations) Although this is quite near the freeway, it was very quiet. Lots of bird and little critter to watch. Limited gift and RV Supply - lots of little statuary, wooden footbridges and other rustic touches, this is definitely a well-kept camp. Free WiFi and nice cable. We'll stay here again if in we're in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$32
Pleasant KOA, pricey of course, but that's typical for KOA's. This is definitely a campground and not an "RV Resort." They do have a miniature golf and pleasant overall forested setting. Gravel sites and gravel interior roads. Rustic and well treed camp area. Some of the sites were set at angles, making it slightly difficult to manuveur our 37' fifth wheel into the spot, but they always have an escort to guide and help. If you're bringing a 'big rig' motorhome, make sure you ask for a straight through pull-through, the staff is very accommodating. We were here in the early spring, and by 3 p.m. they were full! Might be a good idea to make reservations if you're passing through at a popular time of year. (Glad we had reservations.) Although this is quite near the freeway, it was very quiet. Lots of bird and bitty critter watching. Limited gift and RV Supply: lots of little statuary, wooden footbridges and other rustic touches. Surrounded by forest and stream land, this is definitely a well-kept camp. Free Wi-Fi and nice cable TV. We'll stay here again if in we're in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$33
Easy on and off access to I-20. Pulled in late after office closed. No problem. Chose a spot. Filled out paperwork. Hot showers. Slept good. Called person in charge to make sure we filled out paperwork correctly the next morning. Very nice and helpful. Made us feel good that we were trusted. We'll definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$28
Staff greeted us warmly, assisted us with propane, and escorted us to the campsite in very short order. Well-maintained campground with easy on/off access to I-20. Will stay here again when in the Abilene area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$32
Very nice park, operated by very nice people. The sites are all shaded, and level. The wireless internet worked very well. Nice pool, and a somewhat nice mini golf course. (first game was free, so who am I to complain). We will definitely stay here again if we pass this way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
Great RV park. Easy access for our trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$45
This quiet, beautiful CG has been under new ownership for about a year. There are a lot of shade trees, rose bushes, and flowers planted everywhere. There's even a food service trailer that offers catfish, chicken, hot dogs, and other things. The bathrooms & showers were sparkling, the pool was inviting, and a latte/cappucino machine in the store. Owners are friendly and seemed truly concerned about the campers. We stayed in one of the camping cabins but will probably take a tent next time. We camped here in a ?.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com