223422 User submitted reviews online!!
Old Barn Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (507) 467-2512
CGID3809

Old Barn Resort

Camp Information
Sites
172
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   1   7   6   6   6   6   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
Very nice campground. Grounds are very well kept, managers around quite a bit and helpful. They came around when there was any weather issue. Very strict with the quiet time. Beautiful area. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Old Barn Resort as a campground is a lot of fun. The sites are tighter than we have seen at other campgrounds with your neighbors picnic table less than 5 feet from our motorhome. We had a devil of a time leveling the motorhome on the grass site, which we did not have that issue at other grass site campgrounds we have been to. A lot of big dips and mounds in the site. The only real complaint is the gravel roads have washed out at the top of the hills leaving ravines and have basketball sized pot holes in spots which does keep the speed down. There were no bugs at all which is a huge plus especially at night. We did not use or go into the bathrooms but were next to them, and there was a constant stream of people in and out all day long. It would be hard to keep them fully stocked and spotless without a full time attendant. We ate at the bar/restaurant, and the food was good, and service was good considering how busy they were and only two servers. This weekend was the most fun we have had all summer! The access to the bike path is wonderful to bike for a short time or make a day of it! The path has spots to stop and rest, enjoy the view of the river, or have a picnic. The people we ran into were all very friendly and seemed to be having a great time. The tubing on the river appears to be a huge hit, and although we did not do that, plenty of others were! The golf course was very fun to play, with a nice mixture of long and short holes. Beautiful scenery. We will definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
Wow: was told quiet hours start at 10pm. The campground felt like downtown Minneapolis at 1AM. The party did not wind down until 4AM. We left at 6:30am. Off to Whitewater for some much needed sleep. I did receive a refund for the next booked night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
This is a nice campground with beautiful surroundings, but the bathrooms didn't have soap. Has a good restaurant and wide sites. They have a problem with thieves stealing coolers: put away all your valuables at night because there is no security. Otherwise this is a nice campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Very hard to get reservation. Restrooms were very dirty and no toilet paper especially in morning. Pool was nice. Neat barn structure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
We stayed here during the July 4th weekend for two years in a row now. Several members of our family from SD, MN, and WI showed up so its a good compromise place. Also quite a few of us are bicyclists and this campground is connected to a 5 star trail. Other then that its not really that great. The A row is the best with limited shaded areas. As mentioned, rules are rarely enforced after the quiet hours. Cooperative staff though and we did have a nice time. Just nothing special if you aren't a golfer. WiFi didn't work for my computer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
If you're a golfer, this is a great campground. 18 hole course on-site and is a very nice course. For the kids, there is a small playground and a pool. On-site bar and grill wasn't too bad at all. All of the spots are pretty small, no parking pads, just grass. Very few trees. Gets pretty crowded on weekends. Convenient location to several nice cities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
Campground is "OK". Lots of seasonals in rows built along a tiered hill. We camped in row-A, the bathouse was down a hill below the next row of seasonals. During the week you could cut through the seasonals to get there (don't tell anyone). A dumpster sat in front of the bathouse and I think something died in there while we were there. At night you needed almost needed a flashlight to find your way around to the mens room on the backside of the building. Camping spots only had shade toward west/south so only got some shade in evening (July). Bathrooms-showers were plain cement floor. I would say the mens room was "clean" but wife said hers was not. Showers took a quarter, and there is nothing to put your clothes on or a bench or anything. On the floor next to the shower was the only place. It was clean, just could use a few minor (inexpensive) touchups. A few benches and some rubber mats to stand on after a shower would be nice. Other campgrounds lack these simple amenities and I still can't figure out why. The little "shack" of a campstore is open during limited hours but they had a fair amount of things if you didn't bring something. The pool was nice, and if you're a golfer (I'm not), it looks like a popular place for golfing. The barn had a nice restaurant. They had good wood and a good-sized bundle which lasted us several nights to make a small fire to enjoy and eat s'mores. There was a small playground for little kids. At night you could see the bright stars in the sky. Next time, we'll likely stay at Eagle Cliff campground just south and east of Lanesboro. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$29
For all the great things we heard about this campground, we were dissappointed. They have a good website and encourage reserving sites on-line - even check-in is over the web. However, if you don't check-in over the web, you must go to the bar in the restaurant - a bit confusing. Very loud campground at night, quiet hours are not enforced. A dog barked across the way ALL afternoon. PAY showers - I would expect if I have to pay for a shower, I would have someplace dry to hang my clean clothes. Also - there is NO SOAP, let alone soap containers in the restrooms. The pool is pretty cool, it was big and seemed quite clean, but not supervised at all. Many teenage boys whipping a superball around. The saving grace was the CG was right on the bike trail and an easy ride to Lanesboro. We will choose another CG next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
Campground was in a GREAT location, right on the Root River Bike Trail. Beautiful setting and grounds. Nice restaurant. However, the bathrooms were never cleaned the whole weekend we were there. The showers are pay showers and there was no hot water in either bath house, even during off hours. Full hookup sites had no shade. Pool was dirty with no staff supervision at all, full of kids without adults. We will try a different campground next time we bike the Root River trail. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com