223200 User submitted reviews online!!
Riverdale Farm Campsites was rated 7 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (860) 669-5388
CGID3921

Riverdale Farm Campsites

Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   4   6   10   5   4   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
Staff very friendly. Very clean restrooms. $0.25 / 8 minutes for showers. Grounds were well maintained. Was very nice having cable and Wi-Fi. Overall, very pleased with the stay and the site. Stayed on site 143. Sites are on the small side; however, each has a stone slab with a picnic table. Wash is $2.75 and dry is $0.25 for 8 minutes. Came in a 30' motorhome towing a vehicle - no issues with the roads coming in to the campground. Hammonasset Beach State Park approximately 10 minutes away - very nice beach; can park nearby and ride bicycle in without any charge, otherwise, $15 entry fee for non-residents. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
As previously mentioned, the road to this park is windy, narrow and needs a lot of tree-trimming - not a fun drive in a large coach. Of course, that is not the campground's fault, but folks should be aware of it. Large potholes greeted us at the entrance. Sites were grass, decently spaced and not very level. Our site had a concrete patio, table and fire pit which we were able to enjoy often. The 50-amp power and water were strong and the Verizon signal to our amplified MiFi and phones was good. Bathrooms and showers were old and not very clean. The laundry room was fairly nice and had a folding table. The office staff was friendly, and firewood was available there. Considering the number of seasonal/permanent residents, this park was fairly quiet. Stores and other services were within a 15-minute drive. Note: All transactions are cash or check only at this campground. We would stay at this campground again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Muddy and uneven sites; definitely not a Big Rig friendly campground. There are a lot of seasonals, but these sites are neat and clean. This camp is not worth $45. Fortunately, we were only here for one night. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Road to park is narrow and windy. Staff was nice. Roads in park are paved with grass sites, wide with room for slides. Power, water, and cell (AT&T) were good. Ocean and restaurants close. Quite during the week with only a few seasonal and other campers. Weekend was noisy. Loud music into the night, golf carts and kids running around. Will look elsewhere next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
We have never stayed in this park before, and it was recommended by a friend. I must say it is one of the nicer parks I have ever been to. My wife and I have been traveling around the country for almost 13 years, and we would definitely stay again! The young man and young lady working in the office were perhaps the nicest we have come across on our journeys; they took pride in their work. They put us on a wonderful site right on the river's bend and we turned our 2 night stopover into a 2 week stay because we loved it so much. We have already made reservations for next fall, and I would highly recommend the park, just be sure to call ahead as they say they book quickly during the summer months and holidays We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Tight, unlevel site. Staff not at all helpful, in fact rude. WiFi worked in the field. Mostly seasonals. Stayed here before, but will not again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$42
Fine campground when we parked here frequently on the hill years ago with our 30' tagalong. Totally different story now: not at all "friendly" down on the flat for a 40' fiver. Narrow roads, tight turns, tree obstructions, small tight sites. The person who checked us in was the worst in our 8 years (many full time) of RV travel. Aloof, surly, and insulting: he would be reason enough for us to never come back. Bathroom gave "rustic" a whole new meaning; thank God I only had to use it on arrival! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$55
My family and I stayed here for Labor Day Weekend. It was our first time staying at this place, and we were impressed. There were so many kids for our children to play with, and there were a lot of activities as well as a lot of courts and the swimming pond, but what impressed me the most was the staff. The girl in the office was very polite and helpful, and my wife said she rarely sees restrooms and grounds so clean and manicured. She also enjoyed how close they are to the shopping outlets and ocean. The price was very reasonable as well, most other campgrounds we have been to charge a lot more for holidays. The only regret I have is that we made reservations last minute, and they did not have many sites left to choose from, next summer we will call earlier. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Shore power is good, water pressure is low: about 35psi. Verizon air card is good about 87 dbm. No satellite because of thick trees on the south side. Cable TV is very good. Some Digital channels are viewable, good analog channels. Sites are gravel in grass. Good room between sites. This is a large campground and a very large portion is fulltime tenants. All fulltime tenants seem to have well groomed sites. Road into campground is narrow asphalt two lane. Road in campground is gravel and asphalt and mostly one lane. Though narrow roads, there are no obstacles in the way. If you get the right spot this is not a bad campground. No road noise and is quiet. The rating would be better if the roads were wider, the water pressure was higher and satellite was accessible. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
This review reflects mainly on the pull through site we were assigned. We stop here for an overnight stay. The pull-though site (124) was very slanted uphill, had to use Lego blocks to get close to level. Forget about using the RV jacks to stabilize. The sewer connection is forward, meaning you are dumping up hill. The site is narrow with a cement patio, the problem is that the site post on the driver side prohibits the slide from extending. The campground was full and pull-though 86 was level, but was not long enough for us to fit on (we are 38 feet). The pull-though sites seem to be an after thought. With careful selection of a back in site for a longer stay (sites were close together) we would have rated this campground higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$49
Camped here one night, while passing through. Very convenient to I-95. Friendly, helpful staff. We will certainly stay here again whenever we are in this area. Lot was level. Utilities were in good working order. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
A really nice park in a lovely country setting. No pool, but a large clean man-made "pond" for swimming. Easy access to our pull-through site, and excellent cable TV and Wi-Fi as well as satellite access. We picked it because it was the closest RV park in Connecticut to NYC with nice accommodations, and we were not disappointed. We will definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
Mother's Day for the 2nd year in a row. Had a real good time. Very clean and kid friendly. Only complaints are with other campers pets...not the campgrounds fault. If your dogs bark every time it sees other dogs, LEAVE IT HOME!. All in all, a good experience!. Riverdale Farms is a very nice campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$36
Convenient to I-95. Friendly and helpful staff. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
We stayed overnight on our way south down I-95. Very convenient to the interstate. The state park along the Long Island Sound is only 3 miles away for great access to the beach and a good sunset. The staff was friendly and had no problems with our site. The place was still a little crowded during October but it was a Saturday night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
Very nice, well kept campground. Roads leading back to CG are two lane residential and a little tight in places. Parking into our site was different than we had seen before:a drive-through but parallel to the road. Office staff rather indifferent. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
The park is very clean and quiet. We did not use the showers, but if I where to pay $40 I would think I would not have to pay as you go for a shower, they are fairly clean. The management, or the people in the office, where friendly if you made the effort to be friendly with them. They where very dry until you got them talking. The sites are grass/gavel and most seem to be level. We have heard this was a very busy park, but we stayed in September so most of the summer folks had already left. We enjoyed our stay and would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Water/electric and full hook up 30 and 50 amp sites. Swimming pond, no pool. Activities for children. Trees for shade, can get satellite on tripod at site E-2. Site had a concrete patio and picnic table. Our 5er is 38 feet and we just fit on the site which was quite sloped back to front. Lots of seasonal campers, lots of children who don't watch traffic, lots of car traffic. Not a place to relax, but good for families. Near shopping and restaurants. We would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
This is a very nice park, and we camped here for 4 days. It is well maintained and extremely clean. Our pull-through site was very level, and it was easy to park our 38 foot coach. The park has many long term seasonal patrons, but there were several short term campers like us. The sites were spacious, and ours had a cement patio, picnic table, and fire pit. Lots of shade, as well. Everyone we met in the park was very friendly. The general store was well stocked, and there is a nice playground for the kids and, a swimming pond that looked to be very popular with the other campers. We did not use the comfort stations nor the laundry, so I cannot comment on those. We travel with our dogs, and there was ample space to walk them and for them to do their "business." The park is serious about cleaning up after your dog, and reflects it, because there is little or no dog waste to be found on the ground. They do provide bags for this purpose. Although this park has activities for children and seems to welcome them, it was a very quiet and adult friendly. The park is located very near to the town of Clinton, and to shopping and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
We camped here for 1 week. We were on site e74a, which is a good shady site on the river. Everyone was friendly and helpful and the campground was clean and neat. We would recommend this campground to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
Had a great time. Clean park. Kids had great time. Mother's Day they had breakfast..Awesome! Would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2010
$41
I have rated this campground so low because of unfriendly customer service at check in, unpublished management policies, and a site that is so out of level for a motorhome’s jacks, that blocks need to be added. When entering the office at 1:30pm to check in, the only person in there was a man sitting and writing at a desk. It was a good 15-20 seconds before he looked up even though we were standing right in front of him. Without any kind of greeting, apology for ignoring us, or attempting a smile he asked if he could help us and we began our check in process without any warmth from him whatsoever. When we were told our night’s fee would be $41, I politely questioned it because when I made the phone reservation I was told it would be $36 which reflected the Good Sam discount. He then told us that checking in before 3pm created an additional $5 charge. I replied politely I had not been told that when I made the phone reservation and nicely suggested it should be added to their listing in the Trailer Life Directory. His reply was that they usually say it on the phone and that it was listed “practically everywhere else.” After setting up at our site I checked their web page and nowhere could I find any mention of an early check in fee! Does this fee really exist since no prior postings have mentioned it, or were we “taken” because we are from out of state? It did wipe out their loss of the Good Sam Discount and added a dollar to the regular fee! Our pull through site #104 was not level enough for our 33’ motorhome. Using the hydraulic jacks at full extension in the back was not enough and we had to block up all four rear tires and the jacks in order to level out and still keep support under the tires. I think it would have been okay for a trailer since their two axles are close together, act as a pivot point, and jacks are readily accessible for blocking. All the sites near us in our row had a grade similar to ours. Cable TV had many stations but it would have been nice to have had a listing of the channels/networks or at least a mention of the TV guide channel. It took forever to finally find the cable TV guide at channel 95. WiFi at our site was spotty. We could always make a connection with their antenna but often could not get on the internet and was often kicked off to the point of frustration with the service. Use of our shower showed that water pressure is not all that great. River Road is rather narrow as are the roads once you leave the office and enter the camping area. A pickup truck coming towards us had to move completely on to the grass in order for us to pass through. On the positive side, the campground is much like what has been described in previous positive postings. Our site had a concrete patio and picnic table, the parking site was gravel surrounded by grass, and the utilities were located midway along the correct side for hookups. Because of the negatives listed above we will not come back as we prefer campgrounds with at least an attempt at friendly service and up front and published management policies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$55
I struggle on how to rate this campground. The grounds are neat and clean, and the showers were clean according to my wife and daughter who used them. The showers are pay showers, though, which is a negative for me at a campground that charges a substantial rate. The campground is very nice looking, well kept, flowers all over the place. Lots of seasonals that are well kept. As other reviews have said, this is a very social and busy campground. I would tend towards calling it a party campground. If you are the outgoing type and in the mood, this can be a lot of fun. Lots of people walking around and saying hello. A heck of a lot of kids, many whom I am not sure were guests at the campground. There is no security gate or employee to check people at the entrance. Vehicles don't have to display a tag or have their licenses recorded at the office. There is not a heck of a lot to do here. There is a nice tennis court and playground, but no pool. A swim pond and the Hammonassette River are the main attractions, and they are fun to splash around in. Sites are available directly on the river, but be ready for people, especially kids, cutting through your site to get to the river. It seems to be accepted here. Site size varies a lot. Many are small, but a few are surprisingly spacious and it is difficult to tell from the site map. Our full hookup site had well maintained hookups well placed on the site. Employees were polite and helpful. A lot of the campground I would consider big rig accessible, including a bunch of drive through sites. I would rate this higher, but the relatively high rates and lack of amenities (including having pay showers) makes me rate the campground lower. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
We had another great weekend here. It was as usual: the campground is immaculate and this time extremely quiet. We try to get a pond site because we like the concrete pad. Also, it's great to just walk out to fish, etc. No activities, but our son was occupied the entire day between fishing, biking, etc. The only downside that we had was that our site's graywater drain was clogged and because of where our trailer was, they couldn't snake it. No big deal. We will certainly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$55
We just returned from spending Memorial Day Weekend. We really enjoyed our weekend here. We love the social aspect of camping and everyone was VERY friendly - seasonals, regulars and first time weekenders like us. The seasonal sites were well maintained and clean. Many were very nicely landscaped. We camped near the Big Field at the far end. There was constantly something going on on the Big field (softball, wiffle ball, bocci, horseshoes, frisbee) not necessarily organized by the campground. There was a horseshoe tournament on Sunday morning which was well run by the campground and a great social event. The playground was new and nice. Our kids loved it. There were tons of kids - mostly 9-14 years old - all well behaved. There is no pool (which we knew) but the pond didn't look too appealing. But, it wasn't a hot weekend. The beach is only 3 miles away, too. The town of Clinton is quaint and has several antique shops. Some of the sites around the pond did look tight, but we didn't camp there. We would definitely consider going back - if I-95 wasn't so horrible to travel on - LOL! We camped here with 2 adults and 2 small children (6 & 3). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$55
We only had 30 amp power and, the wi-fi didn't work at our site (they told us we could bring our computer to the lounge), the sewer was grey water only. Lots to do here for families. Nice campground but for what we got I think it was horribly overpriced. We would not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
Like other posters, we agree that the sites are a bit on the snug side. We were on a pond site and it was a challenge to get our small hybrid trailer into the site. The campground is extremely well kept. The playground is very nice as is the tennis court. Our son and his friend enjoyed the pond and the fact that we had a pond site made that easy. They just walked right in from the site. Pond sites have concrete pads for the picnic tables: a nice addition. The rec room was adequate as was the store. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We know seasonal families at the campground: they are like a small community and about 1/2 the campground, but very nice. There is one issue that I have with this campground: lax quiet hours: The first night I commented on how surprised I was at the quietness of the campground. I ate my words. Our last night we had extremely drunk neighbors who were up talking very loudly until 3:30 am. We also had another neighbor who felt it necessary to idle his car for 1/2 hour, starting at 6:30 am. It was a very loud idling car, mind you. I was told by another family that he'd done that every morning for a week. Finally, a third was dumping wood into his truck at an obscene hour: well past 11:30 p.m. There is nothing printed that I could find in the rules about quiet hours. Perhaps they should start enforcing them because it's obvious some people lack common courtesy. Despite the neighbor issues, we will return because this campground is close to home, good for a weekend getaway, it's clean and our son had a great time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
I have to admit after reading the previous reviews I was a little skeptical about our reservation at this cg. The office staff was very courteous in providing us with a map of our site location. We got set up and walked all over the campground to familiarize ourselves. The campground was well kept, not overly noisy, and very easy to get around in. It was a little tight to back into our spot, but we didn't have much problems. The water pressure was a little slow, but we consider the fact that the cg was full and we didn't complain. The road we were on went from paved to a gravel road, but we didn't have bicycles, etc., so it didn't bother us a great deal. The campground seemed to be stocked with the necessary essentials. It's only a quick 5 miles to get to stores if you need other supplies. The playground, basketball courts, shuffle board, horseshoe pits and baseball diamond were all in great shape. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. The only complaint that I had was the streets were very dark at night and they need more campground lighting in spots, but otherwise, we enjoyed. All in all, I will enjoy returning to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$58
Traveling on Columbus Day, we were forced to stay here overnight on our way home. This campground is a "locals" hot spot for a weekend get away. The mgmt was not thrilled to give away his "last spot", and we weren't thrilled to be the ones to get it. The campground was scruffy to say the least. What angered us the most was the $58 fee charged to stay in this "DUMP". Mgmt acted like he was offering us his last 5 star accommodations. If there had been any other campground available, believe me we would not have stayed here. There was a very large branch dangling right over top of our trailer and it was fairly breezy throughout the night. We just prayed it wouldn't snap, otherwise we would have sustained damage to our RV. My husband went up on the roof and tried to grab hold but it was out of his reach. Needless to say, this is definitely for "locals" only. BEWARE! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
If there were any other campgrounds in the immediate vicinity I'd look there. Sites are close together, some hard to get into. Our 40' coach did not fit all the way into the assigned site. Office help (I think the owner) was not particularly pleasant. 50 amp is an extra $5 a night ??? I've stayed in much better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$50
First, and in my wife's opinion, foremost, this campsite has the best restrooms we have run into. We tent camp so this is very important to us. Cleanliness, showers too, and location was top notch. The roads can be a little treacherous, expecially if you are camping on the hill and are moving around at night. The sites in the woods are quite large and the services close at hand. The pond was, well, a pond. Kids loved it. The Mystic River is an excellent trout and crabbing river, an unusual combination, but it is there,on the campgrounds. Camp staff is very friendly and helpful. There are a lot of seasonals, very well kept, but we had little contact with them as most campers on the hill were itinerants. We will return in 08. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
We stayed at this park for one night. We were on the way to Odetah and leave one day early and stop off here. This park was "OK". One thing we noticed immediately was the sites were very close together. We did not like that at all. Even backing into my site was harder since the tow vehicles of the neighbors sites blocked the angle. There is a nice playground for the kids and the entrance was nice looking. Once you get into the park itself, that we did not like. The roads are not paved either, so if you have kids with bikes, it is harder to ride there. There are a lot of seasonals which I think takes away from the park. Now, the pond. The pond looks dirty and is very small. That did not seem to bother the kids since there were a lot in there. Our site had full hookups but we could only back in so far since there was an incline. We had to disconnect the tow vehicle right way so others could pass. Since this was a one nighter, we were going to leave it hooked up but were not able to. We would not say here again. It's not that bad but just not what we are used to. My wife was not happy with the overall appearance either. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
First time camping in Connecticut. The people here are very snobby. We actually had rented a camper with deck for a week. We had come up here for my brother's wedding at Water's Edge Resort on 7/7/07. My aunt and Uncle rented a site for a night too. There is a nice State Beach Park 3 miles from the campground.The lake which is really a pond (very small) could have been cleaned or raked at the bottom. The playground was very updated and nice. We enjoyed riding our bikes throughout the campground. The sites are very reasonably spaced. There are a lot of seasonal campers here. We did have a lot of trouble with the doors not opening inside the trailer. Maintenance came and took care of it by damaging the door frame. He left it that way and did not come back and fix it while we were there. After two weeks they mail you your deposit back. We won't come here again. Not because we didn't like the sites, but because the people are not friendly. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$35
Decent campground but don't forget cash or checkbook! They don't take debit or credit cards. The ATM is a few miles away. They let me set up then go get cash. I'd stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$31
Mostly seasonals in this very large, wooded, rambling park. Our site was a large pull-through. The park was almost deserted while we were there (late October). Great Fall colors. Pleasant owner/manager and other staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
I thought it was a nice campound-we have been there several times. We went on a weekend that there were massive rain storms and the area near the camp store was flooded out due to rising river waters. This did not effect our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$35
We camped here in the late fall, it was quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
We were disappointed in this place and left early (just behind someone else who was leaving early!). Plenty of planned activities for kids, but the place is over-run with seasonals who have taken over. Sites are OK, but the place is very noisy and over-crowded. Quiet time was supposed to start at 10, but the dance in the main lodge on Saturday (and teens returning from it) made that a joke. Lodge offers a cooked to order breakfast on weekends, which is nice. Note this place has a dirty swimming pond, not a nice clean pool. Access roads are quite narrow. Overnighters will feel out of place among the mostly regular residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com