220520 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Venice Retreat was rated 6 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (941) 488-0850
CGID4275

Camp Venice Retreat

Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   2   8   7   7   10   9   2   1   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$42
If you like rustic, this is better than a 5. That being said, it was hard for us to get passed the dust and ruts in the narrow 3/4 mile drive into the campground.And, be extremely aware of overhanging tree branches. The poor fellow who camped next to us lost his awning. The sites are somewhat small and just grass, but mostly level.The restroom/showers are adequate.We found the staff good natured and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2013
$42
Seems like a RV park on the downhill slide. Worst water I ever encountered, hopefully doesn't have anything to do with the site waste water treatment facility. One guy said the whole town of Venice has bad tasting and smelling water, so who knows. It literally tastes like pond water. I'd say this park is barely big rig friendly. Careful of low hanging trees the entire 1/2 mile trip to your campsite AND within the campground itself. Some of these thick branches can cause some major damage and I'm shocked they haven't remedied the problem. It really shows the laziness when that they can't take a small amount of time to trim up their tree branches. Also be ready to have your fillings shook out from the huge potholes in the road if it rains prior to you arriving or leaving. They charge way too much. Wi-Fi is about a 3 out of 10 and comes with many limitations. There are better parks in the area, just search slightly further out, it will be fine because not much to do around Venice anyways. Won't be back. Rate reflects monthly. Stayed here in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$62
This park is a real camping experience with all the conveniences. The sites are quite large and the back-in sites on the river are very nice. The site has several Wi-Fi access points but the service seemed slow and spotty. We learned before leaving that the access point closest to us had accidentally been turned off. You get 6 hours per day for free or can pay extra for high speed. We did both but didn't notice much difference. Our only negative comment is the dust caused by none of the roads being paved or gravel. If you are in an area with lots of traffic it would keep you busy cleaning. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
Bumpy access road. Park was pretty much deserted so we had the place to ourselves. Pool was clean. If you like rustic, it was a very nice place. Don't know how it would be during prime season. Lots of woodsy critters out and about. We would camp here again. Close to beaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$56
Travel down the half-mile washboard gravel road and arrive at Camp Venice Retreat. It's rustic, natural, grassy, sandy and loaded with huge live oaks. Lots of critters in the woodsy setting on the backwaters of the Myakka River. Great for kayaking/canoeing, birdwatching. Modest facilities but clean. Very friendly staff and campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$58
This is a very well run campground that can handle everything from tents to large motorhomes. The owners go out of their way to accommodate everyone from over night to long term campers. Lots of activities for every age & the campers are very friendly. Yes, the rules are enforced but this is not a bad thing. Wi-Fi is excellent, the pool is great, cable is available & all sites have full hookups. Sites have partial shade so satellite worked fine. Close to shopping centers & public transportation is within walking distance. The fishing is great too & canoe rentals are available. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$58
This is our 6th year camping at Venice CG. They have added a very good internet connection at a moderate price. These guys do a good job at taking care of camper requests that are reasonable. They also ban campers who create problems for others. This year's long hard rain resulted in flooding some of the sites, and we were told that regarding would be done to eliminate the problem over the off season. This is very much a friendly campground with many of us returning year after year. Dust continues to be a problem (because the roads are not paved) even with frequent watering to keep the dust down. We like the Old Florida ambiance and will most likely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2010
$45
When we checked in we were required to pay for the two months at once instead of one month at a time. I would have left after the first month had I not already paid. We had friends in the area and wanted to meet at our site for lunch and then go on a river cruise at a nearby county park that was within walking distance. We were told that we could have only 2 people at our site (other than us). Since we had 5 people coming, that created an issue. The rules say "no visitors" but visitors are allowed up to 2 but not over night. When we said it was only for an hour we were still told no. They didn't want large gatherings in the park. But, every night there were groups of 10-20 people with their chairs in circles on a site having happy hour or dinner or sing along. Basically, the campground doesn't want outsiders. The internet was expensive and iffy at best. Very slow. The TV reception was slim to none for just one or two channels. We would be watching and the channel would disappear. You need a dish to have TV in this park. The on site water treatment plant's pump went "out" several times when we were there and the sewer water could not be drained from the RV. The half mile dusty or muddy (depending on the weather) dirt road into the park was not well maintained and was like riding on a washboard. The place is very expensive for the amenities provided which are none. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$45
Families Beware! Only two kids allowed at this park. As I was waiting, a mother was told she should've left her third child (a baby) at home. The owner is extremely rude. He made several rude comments to us and when we questioned him about it, he insisted on cancelling our reservations, saying they only wanted "happy" campers at their campground. We were extremely happy, until we walked into the Venice campground office and met this guy. We ended up at a fantastic campground down the street...a Ramblers Rest. The staff there was wonderful. Avoid Venice Campground and this unhappy man at all costs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$45
This park is beautiful, very "old Florida" in its natural setting. If you want fake disneyland, this is not your place. They have upgraded WiFi so it is available on all sites in the campground. 6 hours a day is "free", after that, or for higher speeds it's a very reasonable fee. I had excellent signal during my stay. This is my 3rd year visiting and I book a year ahead. If you want a premimum water site you must reserve way in advance as most people return year after year. I love the park, it's not perfect and the owner is sometimes a bit abrupt, but the beauty of the area and the very friendly campers more than make up for it. The campground has a boatramp so you see many people here for fishing, boating or kayaking. BEAUTIFUL Venice beaches are close by and even has a "Paws" park (dog beach) on the gulf water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2008
$45
I agree with the previous poster that the owners are extremely rude (and we don't have children to be rude about). They get away with their high prices for few amenities because there are few other choices in the area. I dearly hope Ramblers Rest upgrades and put these "boys" out of business. Campsites have very little charm. The ONLY value is it's location on the water and next to the cool restaurant (where the food is merely OK, the location is it's saving grace). We could not wait to check out and will never return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2008
$4
We have stayed here for the last 4 years. The park does have its drawbacks such as poor internet connections and I wish that would be corrected. Drainage is poor during heavy rainstorms and some sites flood. Seasonal rates have gone up each year with no improvements in the campground's conditions. Bathroom/showers are in need up upgrading. The upside is that the campers are very friendly and we have made good friends there. If present patterns continue a lot of us are discussing moving en mass to another campground but I hope that conditions improve enough for that not to happen. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$45
I was disappointed. Mother Nature does her best to make the park beautiful, so you can't beat the huge oaks and beautiful river, but it is really not well maintained. There are two parts to this park - one side is all RVs and the other side is tents and RVs. The tenting side has all the old oaks and is very shady. The RV side is crowded, but if you are lucky enough to be on the water, I imagine you can overlook everything else. It was very cold while we were there and we were not allowed to have campfires, so night life was early to bed. Next door to this campground is a restaurant/bar called Snook Haven. Snook Haven is well known in the area and pretty crowded. They have great bands playing there all the time. The food is expensive though for what you get ($19 for a ribeye steak) and with that you get a very small salad and one side, such as french fries or vegetables - all served on paper plates with plastic utensils. The pool is very small. The meeting room they advertise is a room connected to the office with long tables in them. There is internet access in that room as well. In the office they have three rather empty shelves of supplies and no food items. I stopped in the woman's bathroom about 9:00 p.m. and one of the toilets was clogged and they were out of toilet paper. I went back at 9:30 a.m., and nothing had changed. There are two showers and two toilets. The tops of the shower stall came up to my neck, which I did not like. Although I do not have kids, I thought the playground was the worst of all. There is a large sand area with weeds growing throughout it. There is one swing set with two swings. That is sum total of the playground. All in all, it is not terrible, but certainly not worth the $45 they charge each night. The picnic tables are small, and the lots are not groomed. The nature is beautiful though, which is really their saving grace. Oh, one more thing, the "gravel road" they advertise is a long dirt road with some fair size potholes. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2005
$35
We are native Floridians, and this is one of our favorite weekend getaway parks. It's not fancy, but it is very comfortable and laid back. It is also not near any of Florida's theme parks or major tourist attractions, which makes it attractive to those of us who prefer NOT to be near those things! It is on the Myakka River, and canoe rentals are available. There is a small boat ramp as well. Right next door, so to speak, is "Snook Haven," a waterfront restaurant with tasty fried seafood and a funky real Florida atmosphere. If you want flashy or fancy Florida, this isn't it. But if you want a quiet place to kick back and relax without all the hoopla of the other mega campgrounds, Venice Campground is the place to go. The owners are friendly and helpful. There is a tent area that is separate from the RV area. You will see everything from tents to luxury motor homes, and everyone seems to be enjoying themselves. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com