214552 User submitted reviews online!!
Skyline Wilderness Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (707) 252-0481
CGID4354

Skyline Wilderness Park

Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   8   7   7   10   4   4   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
This is a county park, and back-in sites in our loop were very tight. Our sewer was under our neighbor's picnic table. Park was clean, cell service was good. Satellite setup easy. Though the park is pet friendly our little pooch picked up lots of little burrs in his feet that we had to pick out every time we took him out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$33
This is not a very pet friendly park as the pet park leaves a lot to be desired and you can only walk your dogs on the roads. This is a wilderness park and they are not too particular about how the RV campground looks. There is only one other campground in Napa and they sit on top of each other so you really have to decide the lesser of 2 evils. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Rate is for a partial hookup pull thru site after $2 AAA discount. We have stayed here before and will stay again. Nice and quiet park. Very well maintained. However, most sites are only for smaller rigs. I would not rate this park to be big rig friendly, but accessible, yes. Only two sites in the full hookup section are long enough to accommodate our length of 51' combined. Driving and maneuvering was o.k. though. This might be different when the park is full. The pull thru sites in the partial hookup section are 35'. All back ins are about 30' or shorter. Be prepared to park your tow vehicle or toad in the parking lot at the entrance. Staff is very friendly. Sites are fine gravel and most of them require some leveling equipment. Hookups are in good order. Picnic table on site but no fire pit. A few small trees but very little privacy. Dump on the way out. We neither used any facilities nor the WiFi. Verizon was pretty good instead. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$32
It is just the cheapest in Napa. It is good if you just want to hike or ride bikes. There are no playground for kids, and it is not especially dog friendly. You cannot take them on the trails or into the woods. The deer and the birds are abundant. The staff does their job considering they have a lot to deal with there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Roads and sites are gravel. Full hookup sites are very close together. Back-in, water/electric sites are wide so your neighbors are not as close. Very quiet at night and in October the park was only about half full. We really enjoyed the hiking trails at the park, but dog owners need to be aware dogs are not allowed on the trails. We had good 4G Verizon signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
You won't find a better RV park near Napa Valley. Full hook up sites are tight, and the unpaved roads are dusty, but the utilities are great. Nice cool breeze each day, as the bay is very close. The office staff are great - they go above and beyond to help any way they can. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
The trash dumpster was overflowing for three days (Sunday - Tuesday). Dirt / gravel / weeds parking area. This park is located about 5 miles from downtown Napa. There was no Wi-Fi. The staff was nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Caution - Most of the RV sites at this park have electrical & water only, with no sewer connections. Only 10 of the sites offer sewer so if you need full hookups be very sure you are clear on that when making a reservation. The sites have nothing much to offer and are close together. The WiFi worked well. We stayed three nights and would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$33
Rate shown for AAA discount. First site assigned (24) was very unlevel and needed 25 feet of sewer line for hookup. I managed to get a better site (25) that was more level and no problems with hookup of the sewer line. No cable TV, but plenty of channels over the air. Wi-Fi weak, but usuable most of the time. The surrounding wilderness park has plenty of trails to explore and the native garden near the campground was interesting as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$33
We chose this campground because reviews said it is quiet and in fact it is very quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The sites are all gravel and very close together. Make sure you park your rig right to have access to the sewer. The wireless works ok-ish in the early morning, for the rest of the day just forget it. The park has wonderful trails with great views and on the other side it is just a mile to a shopping center with Raleigh, Target and HomeDepot. Our rate reflects a AAA discount. We will come again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
If you want a good quiet night's sleep, this is the place for you. While it may not be the prettiest park, it is level enough to consider. Certainly the Napa Valley has a lot to offer. Consider the wine tour at Castello de Amoroso near Calistoga. It is by far the most impressive sight in the valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
Price reflects senior discount. This was a great place as home base for visiting the Napa Valley. There was a lot of street work on Imola Ave. but the detours were okay even with our big rig. The area is extremely quiet and we loved walking the dog here as it felt like the country, yet we were close to town. Staff was very helpful at check in. Sites were gravel and dirt but level. Verizon cell & air card worked well. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
We stayed here when a reservation for a different RV park fell through. Skyline is very convenient to Napa/Sonoma wineries, activities, and highways. It is clean. The staff is helpful and friendly. The sites and road are gravel and level. This was not a problem for us. We had shade throughout the day. Our site had 50 amp full hookups. The sites are very close together yet it was not a problem because other campers were respectful of the closeness and it was quiet. We had a view of the mountains and trees. We would stay at Skyline again as our first choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
We stayed here to tour wine country. The location is great for this activity. Unfortunately we had very noisy neighbors after quiet hours but there is no one monitoring it. The sites are fairly close together. There is no traffic noise at all so if your neighbors are quiet it is great sleeping. Husband said the bathrooms were adequately clean. They however, are a little old and worn. Verizon jetpack works fine for internet. There are almost no over the air stations to get. Roads are gravel and are level. But they are dusty and have a lot of weeds. And lots of sticker weeks so our dog had stickers all over him after sniffing around. You are better off staying at Napa Expo grounds or go to Santa Rosa Fairgrounds and tour Sonoma Valley wine country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
Very friendly and helpful staff. Great fenced off leash area for the dogs to run. Nice and quiet, but spaces are somewhat close together. Recommend on weekends get here before 2:00 as spots are on first come, first serve basis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$33
Rate shown BCAA discount. Site gravel back-in and almost level. Sites 34-38 are on a narrow cul de sac and access is by backing in from the campground loop. Utilities worked fine. No cable TV, but at least 10 channels off the antenna. Wi-Fi signal strong, but slow at times due to bandwidth. Around 17 miles of trails in the park including some nice vistas of the Napa valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
We found this park to be about 2 miles North of downtown Napa and a very convenient location for exploring Napa and the Napa Valley winery areas. The park has gravel roads and sites. All have water and electric but only the lower section has sewer. There is a dump station on the exit road. Most all sites will require leveling and very few have shade. The park would be a challenge for larger big rigs if it is near capacity. The sites are narrow and tight. It has a lot of walking trails but dogs are not allowed on them. There is a nice enclosed dog exercise/walk area, The showers and restrooms are old but were adequate. They advertise Wi-Fi but we could not get it. It's located in a huge wilderness area and is very quiet. Considering the cost of living in the Napa area, this park is a good value and adequate but definitely not a destination park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Great location for a diverse getaway in the Napa Valley. Park has recently (this week) been totally renovated with new power pedestals, electrical services, and water service. New compacted gravel surfacing throughout the RV area. No dust whatsoever. Many RV spaces are essentially double-wide with some spaces being pull-through. Quiet. Wi-Fi too. Park is adjacent to Skyline Wilderness Park a huge recreation facility with equestrian facilities galore, disc golf, archery, etc. A wide array of hiking trails consisting of easy to strenuous. Some trails lead to a cozy canyon lake. Miles of hiking and mountain biking trails. Also, a quick and easy 2 mile drive to downtown (old town) Napa and its many attractions. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
A decent RV wilderness park. It’s not posh, but it is a good, rural, “state parkish” type RV location. I stayed here for a couple of nights in May 2011. The Park was upgrading its RV sites as well as adding additional visual grounds improvements. The host was helpful and friendly. Pluses: You’re in Napa. Good Hiking, horse friendly. Good Value. ~$30/night. Minuses: Bathroom/Showers needed upgrading. RV sites are a bit too close to each other. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
I have mixed feeling about this park. The WiFi was slow. I didn't get any TV stations with my converter box. AT&T only had one bar. The spaces are not very level with ruts throughout. It is a pretty setting with nice trails. It's close by for driving to wineries. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$33
This little gem is located outside of town in a country setting. It's very quiet. There are nature trails adjacent to the park for a nice morning hike. Some of the spaces are a bit close to each other, but I really liked the country setting. It's about 2 miles drive to the town of Napa, CA. I would definitely stay here again for an extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Sites are dusty and minimal gravel. Entry and exit acceptable. No cable. More like a rugged state park than an RV park worth $33.00. However, it is close to downtown Napa with great restaurants and with easy access to the "wine tasting tour loop". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
We came to Napa for the Wine Train ride with dinner. This park was near the station. I had read the other reviews and was concerned about the check mark that said it wasn’t big rig friendly and comments about 35-38’ limit. I called and made reservations months ahead of time and specifically about big rig friendly, our coach is 42’11” plus tow apparatus. I was told they had spaces large enough. I double checked that information with another call the day we were scheduled to arrive. Again I was reassured that there was space for our coach. The second day we were there a coach our size or larger arrived. I know I had no problem negotiating the roads or getting into the site. Since the other coach was parked next to us, I assume they didn’t have a problem either. The interior roads and sites are gravel and need another layer of gravel to hold down the dust. Of course if other campers would observe the 5mph speed limit, dust wouldn’t be a problem. The RV section of the park was less than half full and very quite. The price I posted included a senior discount. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Very convenient location for touring Napa and the vineyards. Like "camping" -- lots of green space! Walk from your site to one of the many hiking trails. This was a real GEM! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Gravel and dirt interior roads 35 - 38' rig would be about the limit for the site length. This was a decent place to stay in an RV, but not a campground feel if that is what you're looking for. Mostly a big gravel parking lot with hookups. Stay away from the full hookups unless you do not mind having very close neighbors. The water and electric sites are decent size. Close enough to downtown Napa for easy driving access and quiet at night. Has nice gardens and some nice walking hiking, popular for mountain biking. No fees for reservations, just call and tell them your coming, that is all they need to know. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
After full timing for over a year, this is the worst experience I have ever had at a campground. The staff here is beyond rude and unprofessional; they are cruel and discriminatory. After we had been at the park for two days, a large group of RVs arrived. They had made arrangements to bring 20 RVs, but instead brought 25. The camp manager told us we had to leave to make room for the group, even though we had made arrangements to stay for three more days. When we protested, he continued to bully us and told us he was kicking us out. It was a horrible experience. Though it is close to Napa, it is not worth the inconvenience and uncertainty of having your vacation disrupted because of someone's poor managerial and personal skills. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
The best thing about this park is the location. It's close to Napa Valley sights and easy to find. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The scenery is not what I would call "beautiful" but I would guess it is greener during winter and spring. Deer and wild turkey are easily sighted. The park is quiet and peaceful. This is one of the few RV parks in the Napa Valley area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
We enjoyed the Staff which were very accommodating. We had "requested" a Full hookup site, which are on a First Come First Serve basis. They were able to set us up and this made our stay even better. We like the access to hiking trails and the ability to see a lot of wildlife. We will definitely visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
If you are looking for an inexpensive campground, with no amenities, that is conveniently located to wine country - this is it! If you are looking for anything else, then skip this campground. Skyline Wilderness Park is a very basic campground. The spots were a comfortable size, however, although we had called about 30 amp service, when we arrived and went to our site we found that we were sharing an electrical box with our neighbor and he had already taken the 30 amp service. So, we were stuck with 20 amp service until he left a week later, but that worked for us okay since we did not need our AC. The other occupants in the campground were a combination of people passing through, some that looked like they lived there full time in some very run down campers, and a group of Hispanic men that lived in their camper during the week while they were working in Napa. They were extremely loud in the evening as they always sat outside with their case of beer and bottle of Jaeger. But, they did not bother anybody beyond that. The showers were just okay - not extremely clean, but not awfully dirty either. They water pressure was strong but the you could only depend on having hot water if you were the first person in the showers in the morning. There was only hot water for one shower and if you were not it (which I generally was NOT), you were left with lukewarm to cool water. The best part of the park was how quiet it was (no traffic noise at all), how dark it was (no lights at night to glare into your windows), and how convenient it was to the Silverado Trail, downtown Napa and Sonoma. And for $25/night for full hookups, you can't beat the price to be in the heart of wine country! There is a laundromat right down the street from the park and a grocery store very close by as well. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$28
We picked this campground because it is in a great wilderness area and offers terrific hiking and mountain bike riding. We later discovered that dogs were not allowed on the trails. Must be the horses! The site we had (#18) was great with lots of room. However, if you pick a full hook-up site you will be right on top of the next rig. It is very tight! The facilities are okay, but getting old. Hiking the trails is worth the trip because the area is beautiful. And, you can ride your bike into town rather than burn gas! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
This park is well located and has friendly office personnel. The sites are gravel. There are trees. This is a good, safe place to park with few amenities. We were fortunate to get a full hookup, not all sites have sewer. Everything worked just fine and although this is not a "destination" park for us, it is certainly a nice park for several nights. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Basic but nice camping. Not pretty by any means, but in the springtime hiking in skyline park can be nice. Excellent location for other adventures in the area. Be prepared for windy conditions! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
This is just a basic county park RV camp ground. People are very friendly and there are a lot of trails to walk. The park is located on the edge of Napa, so it was just about 8 minutes over to Copia and downtown Napa. There is a big shopping center as you go into town. The location is what sells this park. It takes about a week to really see the Napa Valley and I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
This park is a nice find in the Napa area. It is a little hard to find, but the staff are very friendly and helpful. The sites are nothing fancy, but clean and level with full hook-ups or a dump station on your way out. We will stay here again when we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
We planned on staying two nights here because of the great wine country location, but the stark, gravel parking lot sites made us want to move on. The staff member we met, however, was very friendly and refunded us one night. The bathrooms were reasonable and the park is very quiet. It is adjacent to a large public park with lots of walking trails and a frisbee golf course. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
This is a pleasant alternative to a conventional RV park, surrounded by oak trees in a natural setting, and close to the wine country. Full hook-up sites are available, but are close together. Bigger coaches, such as ours, are best suited to the pull-through sites, which offer electrical and water only. It's quiet at night with nice cricket sounds.The woman who handles registration is very nice and helpful. Only negative note, we thought, was that this park has some (limited) working residents using this as home base and a couple sites needed to be tidied up. Nonetheless, it's a very pleasant place and we would stay here again. Actually, we stayed here twice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
This CG is a good choice for touring Napa and Sonoma. Sewer sites are first-come, first-serve but electric/water can be reserved and there is a dump station. There is Napa Coin Laundry nearby - driving distance apx 1 mile. The restrooms were very clean, but the showers were typical "wilderness" showers with a touch of mold on shower curtain and a few spiders and webs. Otherwise they were clean, had all needed hooks, and nice rubber and wooden floor mats. The garden area was wonderful. My kids loved the "secret garden" and always asked to visit it when we were at the campground. The staff was friendly and check-in was pleasant. The trails are nice. We saw wild turkeys and deer. It really is a wonderful place to stay while seeing the Napa, Sonoma and San Francisco area. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
Lovely park to stay in while touring the wine country. Close to town. Quiet and secure key gate at night. We did not have time to use all the trails available but loved the gardens and wildlife. Deer, wild turkeys, birds, etc. Friendly helpful staff. Great location. We will return. Too bad it did not have laundry or store, but they are available near by. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
Very very close to Napa wine country. Only 30 minute drive to Vallejo Ferry terminal and hour ferry boat ride into San Francisco ($17 RT) -- best $17 I spent on entire trip. Jointly owned by county and city government. Well maintained and helpful staff. Also has 20+ miles of hiking trails and native habitat garden. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com