221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Southern Oaks RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (352) 347-2550
CGID4424

Southern Oaks RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   8   10   7   8   8   5   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
Very tight sights. We had 6 feet between our door and the neighbors car. The back wheels were off the ground to level. The hook ups were on the wrong side so sitting outside by the septic was not real nice. No shade. Friendly staff, fair Wi-Fi. It is right next door to Camping World which is why we stayed here. We would not stay here again. The rate is for Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$19
The best part about this place was the price. When I made my reservation one month in advance for two nights, they said they had a pull through available. When we arrived, instead we were put on a back-in end site that was spacious but had backwards utilities. We backed in perpendicularly and never used the sewer. Our hose and electic were stretched to the max. They have a pool but the cover was always on even though it was mid-80's. About all that's available but I guess we were lucky to have it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$19
We arrived in Florida on New Years Day and found out the day before that our planned CG was closed due to the holiday. By coincidence we discovered this park in the Passport America directory and decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed - staff were most friendly and sites, although basic, were large. We had a lot with grass and sand but sand was not a problem. Wi-Fi worked very well. It is a good location for visiting The Villages. We stayed 6 nights at the P.A. rate and would not hesitate to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$18
Just by chance we drove into Southern Oaks to check on camping. (The information we got from the big camping business next door was not what we wanted to hear.) We needed somewhere to stay. We found out they had a repair man at Southern Oaks. Decided to have our work done there. What a positive experience. The park is nicely laid out with grass lots of good size. Everyone was very friendly. The manager’s husband was able to install a new refrigerator for us, and his wife worked with our insurance company for payment. He is a RV repair person. They treated us with respect and were able to get us on the road again. I will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$19
Very nice and clean park. People were friendly. Surprised that a campground would not have picnic tables on the sites. Would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$21
Rate was PA, with tax. The grounds are sort of basic, but for an overnight it was just fine. There is a nice clubhouse and pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
The location and proximity to The Villages is what made us stay here. Once here, it was a decent CG. Great WiFi that didn't skip a beat. The site were somewhat level. Yes, it could use concrete pads and maybe a picnic table but the rate was good with PA. The clubhouse, pool and bathrooms were great. The other residents are nice. The only complaint was the sand being tracked in the camper. I would definitely stay here again. It is an over 50+ CG but allow others to stay for 2 weeks or less. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
Location, Location, Location. The park is within a few miles of The Villages. It is close to shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. The office staff and the pavilion were great. The roads and general maintenance were good. The sites were fairly large. There were no pads, no picnic tables, etc. Just grass and sand with the normal pedestal connections. We will stay here again only because of the proximity to The Villages. Our rate reflected a Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
We stayed two nights to visit the Villages. Pool and rec room were nice. Site was sized OK but sandy, with leaves and some grass. Road noise was very loud. I have normal hearing and had trouble sleeping. Roads were paved. We probably will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
We spent the winter here and we had stayed here for one week in 2009. The park has all grass lots with no concrete pads. There are ants everywhere and the park does not spray. The park is laid out backwards, the laundry is on the opposite side of the building as the parking lot. Makes it really bad for us who need the laundry. The Wi-Fi was the worst we have seen in a park that advertises free Wi-Fi. Most of the residents are either working in the area or visiting someone in The Villages so the activities are really limited. Most of the annual residents are very friendly though. If you are just looking for a park with grass lots while seeing the area, this park is great. I would not spend the winter here again. Our rate is based on the monthly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$18
Nice campground layout, easy access to sites and the location is great. Lots of sand, very muddy when it rains. Easy access to I-75 and 2.5 miles from the Villages. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
Passport America rate. Dirt site, no pad or drive. Good Wi-Fi and cable TV. Road noise at night. Mostly full time residents. Not many parks in area, will have to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$19
Price reflects P/A discount. Sites are all grass and somewhat level. Water, electric, etc. all good. Never seen a host, the office was empty, so it was just a self check-in. There are a few permanents but the park is mostly empty this time of year. If you want to visit "The Villages", this is about as close as you can get. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
This campground is well maintained by all of the workampers. Access is very easy right off the main road. Just 2.5 miles north of The Villages. There is an activity during the day and an activity at night. Heated pool! Other RV'ers were very nice. Upscale group of people. Mostly larger motorhomes or 5th wheels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$38
Large flat lots, but no trees. Very helpful staff. Quiet -- little road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$17
Large level site for our 40' rig, high water pressure, 90 or so cable TV channels, excellent WiFi reception. Staff was helpful and very friendly. Park on grassy sand but no problem when it rained (heavily all one night), has good paved inside roads. Just off 441/27 but amazingly quiet. Plan to return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$16
Rate reflects PPA discount. This is a very nice park with friendly staff. The sites are all grass, nearly level, and were freshly mowed when we arrived. Sites are open with no shade for the most part. A few permanents are around the outer perimeter. For those interested the park is just north of "The Villages" with all they have to offer. Wi-Fi was excellent and cable TV offered a good deal of channels. There are also some beautiful horse farms in the area. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$16
Southern Oaks is a well laid out campground, clean and friendly. The pool and club house are very nice. The campsites are grass and were not mowed. The office is on summer hours, open 8AM to Noon. Our campsite was 58 and the WiFi was excellant. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Like the others said, this is a nice basic park. It has large lots, a nice pool and clubhouse. We were here off season, so we can't comment on the activities. The RV Sites are all grass with lots of ants and mud when it rains. We stayed here 2 weeks with no issues. Everyone is friendly with a lot of permanent residents. We booked next winter mainly because of it's close proximity to The Villages. The only strange thing I saw was if you are a monthly resident, you have to mow your own grass. The park does supply the mower though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Spacious site. Well kept and clean facilities. Friendly and helpful staff. We stayed two weeks with Passport America ($14 per night). Made reservations for two months next winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$15
We stayed here for 3 nights while checking out adult living communities in the area. The facility is well located alongside of Hwy. 441 (and given the setback from the road, traffic noise was no problem). We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The restrooms and showers were clean, and management has just opened a new swimming pool. Streets are paved, and their spacious sites--many of which are pull-throughs--come complete with cable TV and Wi-Fi. There is also nice open areas to walk a dog. Overall, this is a very nice RV park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$15
We stayed here for a week while visiting friends in The Villages. This was a nice place with a few shade trees if you are lucky. There are wide, paved roads in the campground, with good cable TV and WiFi. We used our Passport America membership to get a rate of $14 a night, plus tax of about one dollar. Negatives for us were that we were on a problem site, not level, and our swing down levelers just sunk in the sandy soil. The individual campsites were on dry, sandy ground, no pavement, with a little grass. I know, I need some 2x4s. Another negative was that our utilities, water, electricity and TV were on one side of the motor home and the sewer was on the other side. When properly positioned for the sewer, our awning almost touched the RV next door, so site 131 was tight. We probably could have moved to a different site because the park was emptying as we stayed. We saw a Class B try to park near us, on a hill, and they complained and found a flat site across from the office. This is a 50+ adult campground so that is why it is rated as not being a "Family Type Campground." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$28
Cable TV with over 60 channels, that's a Resort. Large flat grass sites, easy in and out. Nice place to walk the dog, fenced retention pond area. Off US 441 but very little noise. Near The Villages and convenient to central Florida. Would stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$15
A nice Passport America park with long pull thru sites. I don't think the website shows an accurate picture of this property, but it was a great value (with PA) with very very pleasant and helpful staff. Majority of the sites are permanents but the sites are very very nicely kept and the people are quite friendly. We would definitely return using Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
Wide sites, mostly grass, staff friendly, helpful and we would definitively stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
Rate is for P.A. Nice park. We had a level grass/sand site. Very nice new rec room. They are putting in a pool. No shade. Friendly staff. Roads in park were paved. Wi-Fi was great. We would rate this park higher if they had paved sites and the pool was in. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$14
This campground had some bad to mediocre reviews in the past, but I am here to tell you, things have changed. They have a beautiful club house facility built, that also houses fantastic restrooms, showers and laundry room: just opened 3 weeks ago. Our site was 6 campsites away from the club house, was very level and full hook-ups including cable for TV. A pool is in the construction phase just adjacent to the clubhouse. And although this wouldn't be considered a destination campground unless you are snow birding, it definitely suited our needs for two nights while visiting family in "The Villages." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2007
$28
The park is still developing. The clubhouse is not yet open, so there are no bathhouses available, nor laundry. The pool has not been started. The sites are mostly treeless, unpaved sand and grass. My site was rather rutted and not terribly level. The sewer connection was 5' behind the line of the water and power hook ups so I had to park nearly on top of them to connect my sewer hose - bring and extension. I was visiting family in the development across the highway else I would have stayed elsewhere. This campground has potential, and great staff, but is not quite ready for prime time yet, and $28 is too much for so little. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
This was a good park in the middle of a bustling area of Central Florida. We camped her for a few day while our children visited their grandparents in a gated community across the street. It was very central to a great deal of things to do. It was not a fully developed campground (yet?) but it was very clean and the attendants were very helpful and professional. This park, along with another nearby, helped us to immensely enjoy our family vacation this year to Florida. Good job. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$35
Brand New, going to be a adult retirement rv resort, had not finished restrooms, showers, or anything else. Should be nice when finished, nice layout but no shade. We used it for a base camp while staying with relatives at The Villages. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com