224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Village Creek State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 48 user reviews. Phone: (870) 238-9406
CGID4461

Village Creek State Park

Camp Information
Sites
96
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   10   9   6   9   8   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2014
$30
Nice campground, but with it's distance from town; don't forget the milk. Nothing is close, and everything you need is quite a drive. The sites are paved as are the roads, but the patio is gravel. Decent space between sites. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$25
This is a great state park worth the drive off of I-40. Helpful nice staff. Our site was a pull through level cement pads with fire pit and paved roads We were able to get 8 channels on TV and a weak but workable WiFI signal on our Verizon MiFi (3G). Two Lakes, fishing beach, trails, and off the beaten path. Many level sits to pick from and most are easy to get in and out of. We stayed here a week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$25
This is a hidden gem of a campground worth the drive 13 miles off of I-40. Friendly staff. Nice level cement pads with fire pit. We had a pull-through for one night. We did not use our TV, so not sure of reception. Lake with small beach, trails, paved roads close to the town of Wynne for restaurants etc. Dog friendly. Wish we had more time to enjoy this park. Our rig is 33' long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
The rate is a Sunday special. As far as a state park they don't get much better. Paved roads, good hookups, lake, concrete and level pads. Remember this is a state park, so no Wi-Fi, cable, and weak Verizon signal. But with all considered, it is a beautiful park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$21
Minus 1 point each for: Women's bathroom shower head poor (was quickly replaced), water connection very leaky & needs replacement, poor layout of men's showers, dump station water spout for cleanup too short to be usable. Site is level, large, and liberally spaced. Good place to weekend or longer camp alone or with family. Nice visitor center. Several activities. Great night sky. Quiet and dark. Wonderful bike areas & trails, but too far from major roads for overnight. No internet. Very limited phone. Fire rings in place & firewood for sale, plus plenty of grab your own. We will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
This place was very comfortable and quiet. We travel with a cat and he had a ball in the woods. The park was relatively empty. We enjoyed it so much that we stayed here again on our trip back out west. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$23
This was our second time to stay here. The full hookups worked well as did the 50 amp electric, which came in handy when we ran the fireplace with the furnace both nights in our low 20s temps. This park is large, clean, and well laid out. We had rangers drive through our loop a couple of times each day, so it felt secure. We've only been here in winter while traveling to Florida but each time we've said we should come back when it's warm as it appears to be a great park with a lot to do and see. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
As good as it gets! Sites are very well laid out with few parking problems. Grounds are very well maintained. Staff is friendly. Area B is more spacious than Area A. My only suggestion is a little more lighting at night. A long way from town, but that can be a good thing. Lots of OTA TV stations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
This is a huge park, beautiful setting with 2 lakes nearby. A bit pricey for a state park, even with full hook up sites, but water pressure is quite low, no issues with the electric. Campsites are both pull through and back in’s. The pull through’s are gently curved and our 37 foot and toad had easy in and out, with ample space. Campsites are generous in size and spacing, a combination of pea gravel and concrete, lots of shade. Some of the picnic tables could use some work, but most looked fine. Ours worked because there was just the 2 of us even though both ends of the table curved up. There is a small swim beach, as well as a rental shop that has boats with trolling motors, paddle boats and kayaks. Plenty of places to fish. There are several trails for varying levels of comfort and skills. Park Staff is very friendly. Nice gift shop, small grocery store and welcome center. Park was kept clean, didn’t see much in the way of park enforcement, which caused a point off. They are not closing the gates at night, so there are some “cruisers” that drive through the park after dark on the weekends. Other point taken for not enforcing rules and limits. Noticed a couple of “long term” people staying here; dogs running free, not on leashes. Even though they have a 2 week limit, one person had renewed while we were here and their ticket was for a month out. If you visit here be sure to take a drive 10 miles down the road to Parkin and visit the Parkin Archeological State Park. It’s worth the drive and they will escort you around the park explaining the mound and the lifestyle of the native people who lived there. There is a one room historical school house on the property and a small old graveyard. The state staff was friendly and knowledgeable, its great place to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$14
This is the 6th time I have camped here. It is the perfect place for an overnight if you are traveling I-40. Take the Forrest City exit and follow the signs. It is about 15 miles off the interstate but well worth the drive. The upper camping level is new and fancy. Pads are gravel but level and long. The lower old A & B loops are being up dated. They are long enough for most rigs and as far as I could see all sites had water and electric. A few sites on A&B have tent pads also. There are also cabins. Restrooms on A&B are old but clean. Hot water was a little short on the chilly morning I tried the shower. I would camp here again. None of the campsites are on the lakes. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Beautiful, woodsy and well maintained park. Nice fishing lake and some sites have a view. Excellent hookups; large sites; level paved pad; and play area for children. Although wooded, we did get satellite reception; also had our personal Verizon MiFi reception. Deer in park and other small wildlife. Carry any supplies if staying for a long period as town is about 15 miles out. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
There are four areas for camping. Areas A & B ($20) are primarily electric and water hookups. Area C ($28) contains full hookups. The last area is for camping with horses and has stables. The parks has updated areas A & B over the last several years. This is a very large state park with two lakes and numerous hiking and horse trails. It is approximately 13 miles north of the I-40 Forrest City exit. Sites are very nice with a variety of sizes and shade. Bath house in loop B was very clean with nice shower facilities. The adjacent 27 hole golf course has been added to the park and will reopen in May, 2012. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
Beautiful place. This park has spacious sites and is pleasantly nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
I have camped here 4 times and really like it. I have always camped in Loops A or B. I have not seen the other camping areas or the beach. There is a large tennis court complex on the way into the camping area. Restrooms on A and B are clean but show heavy use. The visitor center is manned from 7AM to 9PM and you are expected to check in with them if they are open. It is the only way to register and pay. Loop B is being remodeled to accommodate larger rigs. All the spaces in A and B are back in. I understand they have some pull through sites up the hill. I have always camped here off season and during the week. Reservations would be a good idea for summer and weekends. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
The park is immense, very spread out, sites are well maintained and nicely spaced. Reception very courteous and accommodating. Special area for horse lovers complete with stables. Bathrooms basic but very clean. 14 miles from the interstate. Verizon wireless card works. Satellite ok depending on site location of course. There are two lakes here and boat ramps but I didn't see any sites right on the lake. There is a sign to the beach which we didn't check out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Beautiful, quiet, shady. Ranger was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
This is a large (7000 acre) state park with campsites distributed in a couple of different areas. We camped in the first loop of Area A and like the area very much. Lots of huge trees behind the sites, with a large mowed grassy area in front. More expensive "premium" sites were located on a hill overlooking one of the park lakes, and those looked very nice as well. The park itself is beautiful, with great hiking trails, two lakes for fishing, and an amazing variety of trees. There were plenty of activities and programs offered while we were there. The trees make satellite reception tough, though some sites do offer a clear shot into the southern sky. If this is important to you, you may want to ask about it. Out AT&T and Sprint phones did not get signal in the campground. Our Verizon broadband was weak and slow, even with an outside antenna. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
We were heading west on I-40 so this was a bit off the main route. The sites were paved and well suited for our 40' motor home and toad. Facilities were as described and everything worked fine. The park was beautiful, and we stayed here 2 days but severe weather (thunderstorms, lightning, and tornado warnings) kept us from enjoying the hiking and biking trails. However, the scenery was beautiful. Two lakes and dogwood in bloom. Wish we could have spent more time here. Would stay again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
It is a very nice park with lots of trails to wander about. It is easy to spend more than an overnight. The camp staff very nice. It was not very busy when we were there. It is much nicer than a private rv park if you prefer trees vs parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
Great park that covers a very large area offering great views, nature walks and lots of wildlife. Camp sites are among the best I have seen. All roads and sites are paved. Each site had a gravel area with table and fire pit. All sites sit elevated above the lake. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$16
We stayed here a couple of days after a snowstorm had moved through and the roads were dry and clear. Some sites were still snow and ice covered but since we had the place to ourselves we had plenty of other choices! Pretty area with lots of trees. The sites are closer together than some state parks we've been in (other states) but are more spacious than private campgrounds. Even in 20 degree temps we had a water hookup as they have a "freeze free" system, which was great to have. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would come back in warmer weather as there seems to be a lot to do here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
This is a great state park. It is very well maintained and clean. The park is very large and has two lakes and lots of shade. We only stayed here for an overnight stay, but it would be a great place for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
This wonderful State park is a hidden jewel. The sites and so ample with pull throughs for large rigs. It is spotlessly clean and quiet. There is a nice bathhouse which was clean. There are two small lakes with marked off sandy swimming areas and a great covered seating area to watch the swimmers. Beautiful views. We will definitely return here again in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
A wonderful place to spend time. The camp sites are well shaded, all sites are a very short distance to the restrooms /showers. Very well maintained sites and grounds. Great swimming areas with nice sandy beaches. Reasonable (cheap) fishing boat and trolling motor rental fees(no gas motors allowed). The Park staff and Rangers treated my wife and I extremely well. Great trails to explore with our 5 year old son. One of the best parks I've been to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
This is a huge park. We stayed in our pop-up for just one night but it would be a good place for a longer stay. Two lakes for fishing and water activities. Campsites are far enough apart that you have your privacy. It was very hot when we were there and the park employee made sure we got a shady spot. The section used by people with horses wanting to stay in their trailers and enjoy the stables and trails, was a good distance from the regular campground so there was no interference with horses and riders. Bathrooms are located in the center of the circle of campers so everybody is pretty close to the facilities. When we were there they needed to do some improvement on cleaning the bathrooms and showers. Other than that, we would go back and enjoy the lakes and other activities. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
An immaculate state park with helpful personnel. Sites are patrolled by park rangers. Has excellent hiking, fishing, biking. It is easy in and out. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
A beautiful campground. Off the beaten path a little but well worth the drive. Stayed in a FHU site with a senior rate. Adjacent golf course needs some work, I think the state just took it over. This would be a great place to relax and enjoy nature. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
The previous reviewers were right on the money. This is a place to camp for a few days if you enjoy nature, quiet and really spacious pull through sites. If you enjoy golf, The Resort at Village Creek is about a half a mile from the main park entrance. The course is a killer and the many hazards plus some significant water damage to greens and fairways make it just tough and challenging. PGA Pro Kevin Patterson has his work cut out to bring it up to pristine standards but it is worth playing. As for the park, our Verizon Air card allowed us to post this write up ( barely ) and one should plan on coming with enough food as the town of Wynne ( best guess 10 miles away ) is pretty quite. We found one restaurant still in business after four searches with our GPS. This place probably is overbooked in the fall and summer so I'd suggest reservations. FHU sites are at the top of the hill and the W/E only sites are at a lower level. Lots of areas to hike or bike. With a 62 and over 25% discount, this place is a keeper and we'd return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$18
Wow! This is the best State Park I've ever been too! It's a little far off the highway for just an overnight, but SOOOO worth it! The park is quiet and spacious and the sites are nice. The bathrooms are typical state park bathrooms. Not super clean and nice, but the water was HOT and plentiful! Next time we go through, we will definitely plan on staying a couple of days! Plenty to do: hikes, horse trails, biking, boating, tennis. The list keeps going! Super friendly staff as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$21
This park is a real hidden gem. The area that we stayed in was just off the lake and at the edge of the woods. Roads and sites were well paved and ours was a nice long pull-through. Lots of nature and plenty of space between sites. Park staff were very helpful. Wish we had been able to stay longer. It's a ways off of the interstate, so it's not ideal for an overnight stopover. Gorgeous in the Fall. We'll definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
Loved our stay at this State Park. Sites were wonderful. Would definitely stay here again. Restrooms were clean, sites fairly level. Nice quiet campground We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$19
A perfect 10! If you want a great outdoor experience this park has it all. Level concrete pads, fire ring, private wooded sites, clean facilities, well marked walking trails, educational materials, and did I mention the brightest stars outside of Texas? The rangers were cordial and not intrusive. We drifted off to sleep to the distant calls of coyote and hoot owls and woke to birdsong. This will be a destination on our next trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$19
If you are going across I-40 and need a stop on the west side of Memphis, this is the place. Spend a few minutes driving north of the freeway and enjoy this very quiet and pretty state park. The staff is friendly and courteous. All facilities are clean and well maintained. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$27
This is a big park away from towns and urban areas. It's set up for equestrian use with corrals and horse trails in one of the three camping areas. We have a big rig and stayed in the new loop. We found several nice sites that are level to choose from. We visited the other two camping areas to see what they are like. The equestrian loop had deep sites but many of them are sloping. The other older camping loop was set in a meadow with all the sites in the trees on the perimeter of the open area. It was more typical of the average less developed camping sites you usually find in state parks. It felt woodsy We hiked several trails including one that retraced part of the "Trail of Tears". Historical information boards near the trail head tell the story of the Indians that were forced to travel through the park on their way to Oklahoma. The bath house in our loop was clean and modern. We visited the lake at this campground but came away a bit surprised that they haven't done much trail work around it. This is a good big "get away from it all park". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
A beautiful park. Closer to Wynn, Arkansas; than Forrest City. Staff was very accommodating. Restrooms were clean, but the showers could have used a few more hooks for towels and clothing. Rate was for a Water and Electric site in lower campground. All sites there were well spread out, although all were back in. Plenty of things for the outdoor lover including bike trails, hiking, fishing, and etc.I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
As with all the Arkansas State Parks we've visited, this park was beautiful. Facilities well kept and very clean with helpful staff. Campsites well laid and semi private with fire rings, pits and picnic tables. We will definitely be returning! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$15
I camped here one night in a tent on my way to NC. I got in after 6PM and found the office still open. The staff was very helpful. I got a wonderful private site with lots of space. It was a Saturday night and I did not have reservations. The camping area I assigned was not lake view but it was one of the best campsites and prettiest parks I have seen. I wish I had time to check out the trails and other facilities. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$26
We stayed in the new, premium campground. Sites are good for big rigs, but as a tenter I didn't care for them. They were very spread out, and there wasn't enough tree cover for me. You had to walk down steps to get to the pad. Playground was a very, very long walk from site. Next time I think we will stay at the older campground. The activites at the Ranger Station were nice and there were lots of great trails to hike. We loved the park, but not the new campground. It just seemed rather sterile. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
Very nice state park. I stayed in the full hookup section which has very large sites with concrete pads. Many sites are pull through. The W/E only section of the park also looked nice. There are a lot of shade trees. The roads are all paved. The store has the usual necessities and gift items. The staff is friendly and helpful. A small beach and swimming area is available in one of the two lakes at the park. One of the things that makes this park unusual is its huge size. There are 3 distinct camping areas, two lakes, and thousands of acres of land. There are also hiking trails, and an amphitheater. It is about 13 miles North of I-40 on a 2 lane road. There were no problems with the road and the signs are easy to follow into the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
This campground was very nice. Don't be scared away by bathroom comments on another review. The bathrooms were very clean and the showers were great. The showers were very private. You have your own room with a small dressing room in each one. The campground was very close to many places. The staff was very accommodating. They only had two spaces left which they said were the worst in the campground so they gave us a discount because of this. The spaces weren't too bad, they were just on a hill. We would definitely stay there again. We stayed one night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
What a beautiful park. We stayed in the full hookup loop but even that was great with all the trees and green grass. The only downside was it was so cold we weren't able to enjoy it as we were only here for one night. I would love to come back and spend more time in warmer weather. Our congratulations to the state of Arkansas for doing such a great job of having a park without losing the environment. We would definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$17
This park has everything and more that you would expect from a Arkansas State Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
This park is wonderful. Very spacious sites. With all the trees, each site is very private. It was also very quiet, even considering that it was a holiday weekend. The bathrooms and showers are very clean. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
This is a beautiful, quiet state park that is fairly close to I-40. Beautiful large trees with lots of birds and wildlife. It was a good alternative to staying in Memphis. We only stayed one night but plan on going back. No sewer hookups in the majority of the park. The upper equestrian area was much nicer with individual, private sites on newly constructed sites, overlooking a small lake: all with sewer connections. I would pay the extra money and stay here if possible. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
We stayed just overnight. The park is beautiful. About 15 miles north of Forrest City and 5 miles south of Wynne, and just 40 miles west of Memphis area. The sites were well planned with concrete pads, deck rails, full hookups and very level. Each site was spaced away from the next to provide privacy. We chose a pull through and did not unhook the TOAD. Many activities in the park for family. Check out the website! This is 7000 acres of nature and one of Arkansas hidden treasures. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
Very nice and peacefull, site 42 through 56 is the new loop and is close to the beach and playground. This loop has 2 restrooms and shower buildings. Lots of trees and lots of space between sites. Some are small sites and some are pull throughs. We really liked the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$25
The park is located in a beautiful setting on Crowley's Ridge. We stayed in the full hookup loop where the sites are level and paved. The park staff were very friendly. There are several hiking trails, including one that has a swinging bridge. Fire pits, table and tent pads are at each full hookup site. The park is about an hours drive west of Memphis, TN. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$17
This is an excellent campground. It has very large, open grassy areas for playing. The bathrooms are very nice and well maintained. During the peak season, they usually have lots of programs for the kids. There are a few hiking trails, a nice beach and tennis courts--there is even a driving range. We love the openness of the sites and have camped on 2 of the 3 loops. We have not camped on the middle loop that is actually on Lake Dunn by the playground because it is being renovated. I suspect it will not be a disappointment once finished! Highly recommended. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com