218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Carl G Washburne Memorial State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (541) 547-3416
CGID4494

Carl G Washburne Memorial State Park

Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   8   9   9   9   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$31
We stayed here 3 nights. Very quiet with friendly and helpful camp host and rangers. There are several hikes from the campgrounds to the beach and Heceta Head Lighthouse. No Wi-F- or cable TV. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$22
This is one of my favorite state parks in Oregon. All the electrical has been upgraded with 50 amp available. One thing you might remember when staying at this park you have no cell service and no TV reception unless you have a satellite. This park is fairly close to Florence, and convenient to Newport and Lincoln city, a short walk and your to the ocean it is a nice secluded park with all the amenities of a real camp out experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
Well cared for campground. It provides nice shelter during the windy days. Just a walk across the road to the ocean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
Great value. Great location with lots of trails that start from the campground, including trails that access the beach. The Heceta Head Lighthouse trail was great. You can come back along the Hobbit's trail and beach to make it a loop. There are shorter walks in the area as well. The sites and roads are paved. They have picnic tables and fire rings. Most sites are quite private because of all the trees. The sites can get a little muddy if there is rain. If it rains or if it is windy, be prepared to clean off the top of your rig, slides, and awning. We had a lot of pine needles and branches on our rig and cleaned them off twice. We also had to clean off our car a couple of times because of the branches and needles. No damage was done, but it can make for a loud night with branches hitting the roof. The site was quiet. Most of the large sites were taken (and there were only a handful of people there) so if you have a larger RV, you may have a hard time finding a site if the campground is busy. It was a tight squeeze to get into our site, but fine once we were in. We have a 34 ft Class A. The showers were okay for cleanliness, but like most of the Oregon State Park campgrounds - they could use a really good thorough clean. The water temperature really varied. We had one shower that started hot and then got cold. And then we had another shower that was just cold. Try to use the showers first or not when they are busy if you want hot water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
This park has been completely redone. Has 50 amp power and most sites have sewer all the black top has been redone, very nice park. Somewhat convenient to Florence and very close to the ocean. One of our favorites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
First of all visit Florence for eating, superb waterfront cafe off 1st street, what a treat. Park very nice. Downside was "firebugs" around camp sites with continuous obnoxious heavy smoke from green wood burning. Strong winds blew all over. Restrooms and showers very nice with exception of smokers who refused to smoke outside. Park ranger stated they rip signs off so they (rangers) don't put back up, go figure. Overall very nice park, would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Beautiful campground with a wonderful beach across the road. One of the few state parks we have found with full hook ups. No cell phone service in the area for almost 10 miles in each direction. Very friendly camp hosts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
This is what I call the greatest campground I never stayed in. I did find and park in a great site, with a great little hike to the beach. The site was beautiful. However, the pay phone was out of order and Verizon did not work and I needed one or the other. Will stay here someday when the phone is not necessary. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$17
The sites are paved, level and full service. You are surrounded by woods and each site is individually integrated into the foliage. The beach is within a few minutes but it is accessed by a path through the forest and beach pines within a five minute walk. Once you get to the beach, it is the usual beautiful flat Oregon sand which has a roaring surf and a firm surface for running. If there was Wi-Fi, this would be a 10. Quite gorgeous. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
I don't see how anyone could give this place less than a 10. Huge sites, wonderful hiking trails to the beach and to the nearby light house. Very clean restrooms, everything very well maintained as we learned to expect from Oregon State Parks. We loved every minute there though be warned that the hike to the light house is pretty rigorous so be prepared. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
The only problem we found in this park was getting a satellite signal. Was flooded when we were there, but it had been raining for a couple of days. Nice private sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
What a wonderful campground, - spacious, shaded sites. Its a 10 minute walk to the beach but what a beautiful trail and no soft sand to slow you down. The beach is beautiful, - deserted on a warm September day. We stayed one night here so did not get a chance to explore the many trails. Don't miss Heceta Lighthouse while you are there. Three is a three mile trail to the lighthouse or you can drive the short distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
Little used campground with good sized shaded campsites. Lots of chipmunks! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
This is one of our favorite campgrounds: no cell phone coverage, no tv reception, no radio reception, lots of vegetation and quiet. The other review of this site is accurate but we love it anyway. Beach access is by either walking across highway 101 at the campground entrance OR by using the trail located at the far end of the campground that follows a creek under the highway to a secluded spot on the beach. Camp host was great. Neighbors have always been great. We love this place. We have a 27 foot fifth wheel and had no trouble parking in any site we've used. I can see how bigger rigs would be more of a challenge. My wife joked that we should say that this campground is terrible so people won't come and we can have it to ourselves. But we can't do that. There are no reservations at this campground - so come early, pick a spot you can get into, and enjoy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$24
This park is located in a heavily wooded area on the east side of Hwy 101. There is easy access to the beach actross the highway. This park was apparently laid out before the days of bigger RV's. While the sites are very private many are hard to get into with anything over 30' and some don't accommodate slide outs. All sites require some leveling. Power is limted to 20 amps. The sewer hookups are the old obsolete unsanitary 90 degree fittings. Hopefully Oregon has put this park on the "update" list since it is in a great location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com