218147 User submitted reviews online!!
Washoe Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (775) 687-4319
CGID4533

Washoe Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
49
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   8   8   5   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
Washoe Lake is our favorite campground in the Reno-Carson City area. Strictly dry camping but there is a dump/fill station at the entrance. Smell of sage is everywhere (nice). Each site has a ramada to provide shelter from the afternoon sun. Most sites are plenty long enough to accommodate large rigs. About half hour drive into Reno if you are into the casino scene. Went to Virginia City and spent a full day visiting the various shops and exploring the wild west grave yard (very interesting epitaphs). Will always stay at Washoe Lake when visiting this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
This is a beautiful state park set in an open desert environment. There are no hook-ups, but water is available for filling your fresh water tank and there are flush toilets and showers available as well as a dump station. The view from our campsite out across the fragrant sagebrush and beyond to the mountains in the distance was beautiful. There is very little shade available so this campground would be quite hot in the summer. The bathrooms and showers are clean, but very basic. The water in the shower was not very warm and you have to keep pushing a button to keep the stream of water flowing - an awkward arrangement. It was a very quiet, pretty and peaceful place to camp while we explored the surrounding area. Don't miss Virginia City, an easy day trip from the park. We'd definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
Nice state park campground. However, there is no shade so it would be hot in the summer months. I would stay here again in the winter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$23
Our fourth time staying at this outstanding state park. It is dry camping so come prepared for that and then settle back and enjoy the star night skies and the smell of sage. There are a number of short to moderate hiking trails within the park area and the sites of Reno are a fairly short drive (about 15 miles) away. This park fills up fast on the weekends and does not take reservations so plan to arrive early in the day. We will always plan to stay here when passing through the Carson City area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
This is the second time we have stayed in this park and again it did not disappoint. It is dry camping with no hookups so be sure to fill your fresh water as you enter the park. The sites are well separated with plenty of room for tow vehicles and toads. Very quiet at night except for an occasional coyote in the distance. Each site has a armada to provide shelter from the heat of the day. It is an easy drive to both Reno and Carson City to partake of shopping, dining or the casinos. We will definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
Nice park for dry camping in the off season. Quiet and empty. Staff is polite and helpful. Plenty to do in the area and at the lake during the summer. This is pure dry camping. The water available from water faucets is not drinkable - a general condition around the entire valley (I lived in the valley for 5 years prior to camping here). But during our stay here, there was a boil water notice because of bacteria found in the water, which seemed to be particular to the park water system. There are two showers and two toilets/sinks for each loop of 20 to 30 sites each. While the bathroom was clean, the shower (I used once) never got beyond just warm, is in a large non-heated room without a shower curtain, and had a mature female black widow nesting in a corner above the seat and clothes hanger. A must is to very carefully check clothes before putting them on. The lake is large (about 4 x 2 miles) and when full offers cat -fishing, great kayaking, boating, wind surfing, and more. It's a very shallow lake (no more than about 12 feet). Best time to visit here is in the late spring after a wet winter. The north end of the lake has wet marshes with lots of water fowl and is usually stocked with catfish then. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$14
Very nice state park with views to the west of Washoe Lake and the Sierra. The campground is not right next to the lake but you do have a view of it from the campsites. We stayed here after Labor Day so the park was not busy and we found a nice level pull through with trees. Many sites had trees which provided shade. No hookups but water faucets are distributed throughout the campground if you need to add water to your RV. Lots of open areas for dog walking which was great for our two dogs. Only caution is the wind normally blows a lot in this area especially in the afternoon but when the sun goes down it usually stops blowing. Nice location off the highway but close to Carson City and all services. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
Although not as shady as Davis Creek Park across the valley from this site, this park is quite clean, big rig friendly and a whole lot quieter. Some units have shade structures. We were lucky, Washoe Lake was at the brim and the views were good. Sometimes it is drained and not quite as scenic. Good public facility! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$12
Chose this over all the parking lot type RV parks in Carson City. Very quiet, nice views. Some sites had shade shelters over the picnic table. Many trails for walking, biking or horses. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com