218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Tra-Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 49 user reviews. Phone: (432) 447-2137
CGID4677

Tra-Park

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   8   6   5   8   8   8   6   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2014
$29
This facility was very crowded and mostly occupied by oil field workers. The site we occupied was difficult to park in as it was supposed to be a pull through but had a utility pole at the exit end. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$21
This is a working mans park with most of the sites as long term rental to oil field works. That being said the park is neat and clean and the office staff is very helpful. The laundry facility is $1.00 per wash and dry and is clean. This is part of the Escapees RV Club but is much different then their normal parks because of the oil workers. All the people in the mark are friendly and great to talk to about the industry. We will stay again. Liked looking out over the oil fields and watching the flames at night. Visit the West of Pecos Museum well worth your time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
The rate of $21.50 is the Escapee club rate. The park looks a little run-down in appearance, but once situated, everything works ok. We arrived late in the day without a reservation, so the park looked nearly full. We were given a drive-through site that was quite tight. The park is quite tight and we had to drive around a bit to get headed the right way. This is an OK-place for an overnight stay and we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
This is a good overnight park. It looks to be fairly run down, but is the only RV park in the area. The electric box at our site had the lid dangling, but the electricity seemed to work OK. Sites are gravel pull thrus, level and big rig friendly. The park is convenient to I-30. The park is full of oil field workers leaving very few overnight sites. We checked in at 3 PM and got the last site. A couple of RVs came in later and were turned away. There are very few parks in west Texas, so they probably had to drive another hour or two to find a place to spend the night. We would suggest making a reservation or getting there early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
The rate shown is the Escapees rate for a 50-amp site, tax included. We stopped here for one night on our way from Arizona to Virginia. The park was very busy, and looks like a lot of long-term residents use this park. Sites were neat, and everyone was friendly. The park looks a little tired, but is serviceable. Would stay here again overnight if in the area. It is not a destination park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$29
We have stayed at this RV park a couple of times. Lots of oil field workers. The park appears to be getting more run down. If we stay again, we will ask to be up front by the office instead of in the middle of the workers. Very early risers to get to work. Could not pick up any TV stations (did not hook up satellite since we were only staying one night). Would stay again but only up by office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$18
This is not a destination park, but one which works for a couple of nights. We had good level site. The laundry room, as in all Escapees Parks. is clean and low cost to use. Staff was very nice to deal with. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$21
This park is okay for a night or two. Site was level, electrical worked, concrete patio with a picnic table. Laundry room was clean, women's restroom and showers were clean. I did make the mistake of taking a shower at the same time someone decided to start 4 washers, so the water was cool. Men's restroom was not in the same shape. It was in less than stellar condition. Only 1 shower for the men's shower's (2 installed, but only 1 operable) but 2 for the women's. As stated, lots of Oil Workers live here but we were here over the week of Christmas and it was pretty quiet. As for the town of Pecos, it is a dirty dusty town and not many restaurants, that didn't impact us but if you like to eat out this isn't the place to be. There is a very small Wal-Mart but it doesn't have much for the grocery section. I don't see that we will be through here again but if we were I would stay at this park for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Friendly people but, like most parks in the area, most spaces are taken by oil field workers and the facilities get rundown. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
Checked in late, left early. Clean restrooms, office was accessible with non-res sites, laundry facilities. Receptionist was very friendly. Very reasonable, with a friendly staff. Thank you. Great last minute stay for weary travelers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
This is another one-night stop-over type of place. Park is off of the I-20 with gravel & dirt level sites. Pull-throughs are a bit tight, but not too bad. Staff is friendly. The book said they were a Good Sam park, but they weren’t, & wouldn’t honor it, but at $24, it wasn’t a big deal (& they are the ONLY park in Pecos!). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
This is an overnight park, with Rv's pulling in side-by-side. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The dated restrooms were very clean, as was the laundry area. Showers were hot. Washers and dryers were just $1 each. 50 amp worked well and the water seemed good. It was dusty and dry, which is expected for the area, but the park appeared well cared for. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
Easy to get to from the I 20. Good for an over-night stay. Friendly staff, level sites and accommodated our 35' with toad easily. They have a wood cover over a picnic table at each site instead of trees, the rest is gravel & dirt. Book I had said it was a Good Sam, but it's not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
Short distance from freeway, no noise. Roads and sites are gravel. Each site has patio with cover, which makes it narrow and a need to pull in carefully. Water, power, and cell (AT&T) were good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
We stayed her in a motor-home. The site was a hard dirt level surface facing a road. Friendly and helpful staff. Lots of permanent rigs for oil field workers. Easy in and out. Very quiet and away from Interstate. Dog walk is actually the berm of the surrounding road however there is little traffic on that road. The berm is not maintained. Great for a one night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$24
This place is the only show in town. They ask if you are with Escapees but just charged us $24 and gave us a site. The sites are very tight and if you have slide on both sides of your rig you probably won't be able to put out both sides. This is very basic park that has a bunch of workers staying here. The train noise wasn't noticable at night. They have gravel roads and sites. If you're in Pecos this is the place to stay. Either this or boondock on a west texas oil road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2012
$24
As stated in prior posts, not much to this park. It's basically a gravel parking lot with hookups, but adequate for an overnight. Price we paid was for non-members. Friendly staff, 24 hour laundry. Very close pull throughs. Lots of train noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$15
Not much to this park. It's basically a gravel parking lot with hookups, but adequate for an overnght. Price is for Escapees members, but they do accept non-members for a higher price. Friendly staff, 24 hour laundry. Good for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2012
$15
There are more than 40 campsites; brochure says 111. Most all the sites except 1 through 6 have permanent occupancy. The sites are shared hookups and are extremely close together. I almost hit my neighbor with my slideout. The parking lot is crushed gravel and the manager allows vehicles to "peel out" and very rarely talks to the individuals doing it. WiFi is available, but we did not use it. Just a basic park, with close basic hookups, mostly construction/oil workers. This Park is good for an overnight stop. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$29
PROS: Park close to Freeway (about .5 mile from access). Also, close to Truckstop (Flying J across overpass) and to US Hwy 285 (Our route). Park was clean and neat. Mostly mid range units parked, some larger and more expensive, so nothing trashy. There were tables and some canopies. Easy to register and pay after hours. Friendly staff. The site was level. There was plenty of room for entrance and exit. CONS: There was no shade, no grass (except for tent spot), only gravel no place really for the kids to play close by. The road a bit rough coming in. FINAL WORD: Don't expect great things, but it is a nice park. Very functional and accommodating. We stayed one night on the way for Southeast Texas to Carlsbad Caverns. Would definitely stay again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$23
Very basic park but has all needed for an overnight or longer stay. Had a very nice manager who helped checking me in, even at later hours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
Arrived before the afternoon office hours and had some challenges figuring out where/how to pull-through for the night. Neighbors next to the 2 open spots offered strange directions (somewhat insistently) as to how we should park our 2 slide rig. We did it their way but are still confused as to the whole point. Either direction one way on the right or one way (the opposite) on the left - took up the same exact amount of space. Be VERY careful in the showers as the faucets are hooked up in reverse. Hot is on the right and cold is on the left but at least they are still turned on correctly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Worst park we've ever been in. No security whatsoever. The front of our rig was about 10 feet from the edge of a county road (road had no ditch). No fence or any kind of protection for our 'stuff'. The 'big rig' sites were VERY cramped !! Our rear slide was 2 feet from the neighbors slide. The $20 reflect Passport Amer rate (couldn't imagine anyone paying $40 for this place). The road leading in had several speed bumps on it !!!! Imagine that !!!! Speed bumps !!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$21
We stayed here last night, just 6 days after the last reviewer, and for us, it was very quiet. The showers were nice. The site for the rig was fine. Big area right nearby to walk the dog. Was perfect for a one-night stay. The hosts were very pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
Rate is for Escapee members. I agree there is not much else to choose from. The oil rig next to the park kept us awake all night, even with windows closed. I had to use ear plugs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$15
A tired older park that was built before slideouts were common, so width of the site can be a little tight. Length on the pullthroughs is fine for almost any rig. A few worker's trailers on site looked a little trashy and kind of permanent. We received a friendly SKP check in and would stay again. If heading east there are not many better choices for several hours driving. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$15
We are Escapee members, so the rate reflects the 50% discount. The membership is $60 a year, so it requires some discounts to get even. An old military camp on a dusty gravel parking area describes this park. Picnic tables are on concrete pads that have old metal roofs over them. Our hookups for electric were on the door side requiring us to string our cord under the coach. Our drivers side was parallel to the exit road and caused us to enjoy the gravel dust as everyone left the camp. Folks stay there while working in the area and leave the camp at all hours of the night and early morning, so sleep was disturbed by engines running while they warmed up, especially in the morning. The fellow that ran the place was really nice to us because we were members, and would have given us a better site if they hadn't been full. There was a group of campers that were some kind of a club having a party. They played loud music and bar-b-cued for several hours. Eventually they had drunk enough beer to begin to hoot and holler with the music, but since it was a week night, they broke up at about 9:30 with many of the visitors roaring out of the park in a cloud of diesel smoke and dust. Pecos is West Texas at its best!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$15
This is an Escapee Park -- rate reflects 50% off plus taxes. Open gravel parking lot. Friendly people. Wi-Fi is pay through Tengo Internet. Laundry is cheap and fast. Would stay here again as an overnight only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2011
$21
No grass: this is an old military camp site and does have covered patios for most sites. Not much else to say about it. Easy in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$15
Rate is Escapees daily rate for FHU 50 amp, pull through site. We were fortunate to get a single pull through site, many are side by side doubles and very tight. Park is all gravel/dirt, but the sites do have a covered table, though the double sites have only one structure to be shared by both RVs. Verizon cell phone reception was excellent. We used this park as a base while spending several days exploring the Pecos area and would stay here again if we came back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$21
I agree with all that has been posted. Our experience was very positive. Great hosts, fair overnight price for FHU, very clean. This park is part mobile homes, part RV camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
We are not Escapees, so paid regular price for electric and water H/U's. Typical desert park, it's open, windy and dusty. The hosts were very friendly and helpful as our electric box shorted out, but we were able to connect to an adjacent one. The ice cream social was fun. Located right off I-20 making it a good location. Great for an overnight stay. There's not much in Pecos anyway. Would definitely stay again if needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$13
I am an Escapee, but I was disappointed in this park. It is very convenient to I-20. The lady in the office was very nice. I knew WiFi was Tengo, but the lady said it had been down quite a bit lately so I didn't even try it. I couldn't get even one TV station with either antenna or converter box. There are no other RV parks nearby, and I would stay again if I was in the area, but I would rather not. The lots are level. But, the price is right! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
Nice park with very friendly staff. Has very good 50 amp service and water pressure. Basic gravel sites, but pull throughs are so easy in and out. Rate is the Escapee rate. Good laundry with 4 washers and dryers at $1 each. Is excellent for overnight, or longer if you just want to get off the road and chill for a while. Not a lot to do in Pecos. Would give it a higher rating if not for the fact that the 50 amp sites are very close together. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$15
We are Escapees but have to say we were disappointed in this park. Location is OK since not much else in West Texas, and the office staff was nice. The sites were real close together, we have been in parks where the space we parked was used for one RV, but two RV's were jammed into that space here. Hookups were good. Might stay again since not much else in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2010
$22
This is a very basic park with minimal facilities in below average condition. Was OK for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$15
It works well for an overnight park, or if your interest are not to have a big site. First, the guy at the desk was great. Second, the laundry was very good, with an iron and board. hird, WiFi (Tengo) was faster than we typically experience with their service. We will stay there again when traveling through on I-20. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$15
This park is an Escapees park which means that the employees are very friendly and helpful, the laundry and restrooms are sparkling clean and so are the showers. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the quiet and peace of the place. It is a typical gravel campground with a concrete covered patio for every 2 rigs with plenty of space to park a car. I would recommend this campground to anyone who wanted to spend a few nights in Pecos. Don't miss the museum in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$15
It was what it is...a quick stop for the night, using our escapees membership to bring cost down. The space was tight, but we fit with the help of the escort that took us to the site. It was quiet, we rested well, and would return if passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$15
The rate reflects Escapee member rate. We had a drive in back out space and had lots of room for our 42' four slide motorhome. This is typical desert but there is a bit of greenery around. The staff are wonderful and accommodating. Not much to do in Pecos but the museum is worth the visit. Good place to stop for a rest. Wi-Fi is Tengo at a cost. Verizon service was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
This is an Escapees membership Rainbow Park. Fantastic park if you do not have slides and can select a site with the covered picnic table sitting on a large concrete slab. Otherwise, the pull through sites without picnic tables are not pleasant and way too close together, although the pull through sites are very easy to maneuver with a big rig. The pull in back out sites have a concrete slab with a picnic table and adequate space between sites. The entire park is pea gravel, no grass or trees, with no designation or barriers between sites. The camp host is very pleasant and friendly. There’s not much in Pecos and no activities at the park so if you’re looking for a place to rest and do nothing, arrive early and select a site with the covered picnic table and relax. They do have a Sunday evening ice cream social. Bathroom/showers are not private but very clean. Clubhouse is in an older mobile home. Small laundry, 4 washers and 4 dryers, $1.00 each. There’s a very clean Laundromat (Fun Wash) in town with an attendant and drop off laundry service. Alfredo’s restaurant offers Mexican and American food and there’s also a small Wal-Mart in town. Easy access off I-20 but far enough off the interstate to mitigate some of the traffic noise. Surrounded by public golf course, small airport, city park, open prairie, and hotel, non of which is close enough, except the open prairie, to be noticeable. Wi-Fi is through Tengointernet for a fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
The counter person was very nice. The park sites are very small. We have a four slide motorhome and it did not fit in the site. There is not much there but it was clean. This park is good value for money if you are just passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$14
For what it is, a park geared to full timers and long termers, this park deserves high marks for spotless and impeccably maintained rest rooms, laundry, and office. The reception couldn't have been more welcoming. We found it to be a perfect overnighter for us, easy in and easy out. Basic but very well run. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$12
Rate above is at weekly rate of $85 for Escapees members. Nice concrete patio w/table and permanent cover on most sites. Pull-through sites can be tight due to their having created sites between the original sites sharing electric pedestals, so if the park is filled every other pull-through would not have a patio or cover. The patio covers can be problematic if you have a passenger side slide in front of the rear wheels. Also, some motorhomes (gas in particular), might have problem opening the entry door against the patio cover. In those cases, they will likely put you in one of the sites w/o a cover. One row of sites is pull in/back out. They use those sites for trailers as well as for motorhomes. Excellent water pressure & reliable power. Great Verizon signal on Extended Network. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
This is an OK overnight or couple of days place to stay. The staff was very nice and helpful. The laundry center had plenty of washers and dryers. Many of the sites had covered patios. I think this may have been an older park because the spaces seemed small to me. At least, it was tight for us in a motorhome with 4 slides. The park is all gravel which contributes to the excessive heat they have there. Some grass would have been nice. The staff told me they were planning to upgrade the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
Wi-Fi for a fee. Easy on/off interstate - OK for overnight. Laundry, ice cream, nice staff. Sites were extremely close, but offset enough that it was OK. All gravel, no trees or grass. For an overnight it was fine. City park not too far away. Price was right. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2007
$14
The sites are very close together. The camper next to me had his awning over my site. I almost hit it when pulling into my site. This park is only good for overnight stays. The WiFi is fee only. NO cable TV, no local station reception with antenna. There is a state prison near the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$12
The only park in town and we had a pull through site that was large and level. The desk people were very friendly and informative about the area. The park is not a resort, but very nice for a clean place to spend a few nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2006
$18
Good place for an overnight stay. Easy on/off of I-20. Sites are all gravel with no grass in between. Pets were allowed but not much of any place to walk them. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com