221757 User submitted reviews online!!
Holiday COE was rated 7 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (817) 292-2400
CGID4690

Holiday COE

Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   9   8   7   5   9   8   4   6   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
This is what I would want to know if I were staying at this COE campground. If you use Google Maps to find the campground it will lead you down a dead end road. I would estimate that a very small percentage of sites in this park are level. One of the major problems on the COE reservation website is that you can't tell what kind of site you are committing to. I would recommend that you call before coming to make sure you will fit. Site 56 is much smaller than stated on their website and us up hill. You will not be able to level a class A motorhome. We checked in for a 14 day stay that included Memorial Day weekend. When we pulled up the attendant notified us that he didn’t think we would fit in site 56. I called the 1-800 at www.recreation.gov and ask if they could find us another site after the Memorial Day weekend that we could move to. Once inside the park the 1-800 can't help you. I ask if the park attendants could find us another site after the Memorial Day weekend. Other things to know are that most Texas lakes are very low, beaches aren’t the same, boating isn’t the same, etc. This campground is also very near to a military base. This means jets and helicopters as late as 11PM at your quiet campfire. We would not use the showers or the bathroom. One of the urinals would overflow and dump all over the floor. One of the showers drains was completely plugged and overflowing. Had not been cleaned or maintained for some time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$14
We stayed here in a 40' motorhome on site 072. Nice 100' pull thru with a nice lake view. The sites where we were had excellent spacing between them, but, again, check your particular site before reserving. Our Millenicom WIFI had 4G and Verizon 4 bars. The electric and water pressure were good. The one drawback I see with this particular park is that they are now using Volunteers instead of Contracted personnel on the front gate and because of this, you can no longer drive up without a reservation and get a campsite thru the front gate personnel; you have to call Recreation.gov and make your own reservations; this also goes for making any changes to an existing reservation; these Volunteers cannot get into the Corp of Engineers reservation computer system. We would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$14
Rate is with the Federal Senior Pass. We loved our site #73. It's on a loop with only one other site. It was a large pull through and right on the lake. I would give this park a higher rating if it had sewer. One note: We tried the showers but even with the water running for a few minutes it remained cold. Maybe because it was early in the season and not used enough? Not the best shower rooms we've been in at a COE by a long shot. Be aware gates are locked at 11 and open 6 am. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
The lake level was down several feet, otherwise this park could be very scenic, and the sites were not crowded together. One reviewer commented about the employee who had no information about the hiking trails. I must have talked to the same guy. In fact, later in the week I asked him for information on local Laundromats and he got extremely rude. The rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful. The shower room had a sink that only dribbled water, but the shower was clean and hot with good pressure. I did not have a Senior Pass so the rate was $392 for two weeks which is a bit high from me. There are other parks in the area that cost less and have WiFi, sewer, cable, laundry and mail receiving. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$13
First of all don't go to Benbrook Lake expecting "pretty"; there are some sites with nice views of what there is. On the positive side, the rate is great for those of us with a federal park pass, there is some pretty good fishing, great TV reception and the sites are nicely spaced. Site 72 and 73 which we and our friends had are in an area all to themselves which we liked. On the less-than-positive side, the buildings with restrooms only are pit toilets and the restrooms with showers have open areas at the top and no heat which rendered them unusable with the nightly temps in the 30's, there is no cable or Wi-Fi if that is important to you, it is impossible to discern site numbers from the main road, and the biggest disappointment is no sites have sewer hoop-up which is a real convenience if you are staying multiple days. We will probably stay there again due to the great rate despite the negatives. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$14
Stayed two nights while having medical procedures in Fort Worth. This park is clean, quiet, and well-kept. The staff at the check-in station are among the nicest people I've encountered at an RV park. We picked a pull-through site with 50-amp electric; the utilities (electric & water) worked as designed. There is no cable TV available, but we were able to get good OTA reception of all DFW local stations without even cranking the antenna up. Many of the sites are unlevel front-rear, but our levelers compensated for that with a couple of wood blocks under the levelers on one side. The dump station is on a slight up-slope; our black tank wouldn't drain completely, so I flushed it twice to compensate. Other than these slight inconveniences, this would be a resort-quality park. With the lake, large sites, and a lot of shade, it just doesn't get any better than this. We will definitely return when stopping in the Fort Worth area. The rate I posted reflects the 50% discount for the America The Beautiful Senior Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
We love this campground. Sites were paved and level. Nice amount of tree shaded sites available. Electric and water worked great. Picnic tables were under covering. Bathroom toilets were clean but floors were a wreck. Great roads to ride bikes/jog/walk. We couldn't find the nature trail near the entrance and the employee didn't know of it even though it was on map. Dump area allowed for two-at-a-time dumping which was handy. Toad fit fine behind motor home on dump exit hairpin turn. Check in was only 20 seconds as we did the online pre-registration so no need to get out of drivers seat. Employees were friendly and fast. We will go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$14
This Corps park does need upgrading as do the roads as others have noted, and water levels are down dramatically, but site #75 down by the Lake is delightful and peaceful and relaxed. The electricity is excellent as it usually is in Corps parks, and so is the water pressure. Gate personnel are very helpful, and would have let us switch sites of we wished, and were very cooperative and friendly as well. We will stay again here if given the opportunity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$14
This is our 3rd time here. I really like this park, but now that we have seen many others around the country, my opinion is slightly different than previous stays. The park is great. Pricing is a little high compared to others at the same price point. If we didn't have a National Parks card we probably wouldn't stay here for full price. Pricing above reflects 50% discount. Their shower/bathrooms are their downfall, very dirty and poorly kept up. Shower curtains are ripped off most of the hooks, I don't think anyone takes a cleaner to the facilities other than to pressure wash the walls and floor. It doesn't cut the grime in the bowls or sink. there is no privacy between the showers and stalls. A quick shower curtain in the doorway would take care of that. We even put one in last year when we stayed but they are now gone. There are rips in the plastic protection to the outside so during cold times its freezing in the shower. Many campgrounds for the same price have at least heated/cooled facilities and a cleaner taken to the bowl/sink on occasion. They could do better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2013
$8
The campsites in this park are large and well spaced. The area has been mowed and seemed well tended. Thanks to previous reviews, we decided to check the restrooms before we took a site. They were so bad that we decided not to stay. There is no heat and the outside walls don't go all the way to the ceiling so they are open to the outside at the top. In January that is a big issue. They are also in desperate need of remodeling. Even a new coat of paint would be a big help. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
Have stayed at this park several times over the past few years and have always enjoyed it. However, it needs some loving care. Bad need of mowing and pickup. Great workkampers and level sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$14
I like this campground. We have stayed here a couple of times. Our rate based on senior national parks card discount of 50%. Showers/restrooms could be a little better but they are tolerable. Several nature trails to walk. You can only stay for 2 weeks, but can request a 2 week extension at the COE office near by. We were in town for our grandchildren's school activities and were granted the extension. Weekends were typically busy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
Excellent campground, lots of trees and shade. Sites are gravel and some unlevel, however level ones could be found. Lots of room between sites and very quiet. The check in process was very easy and the attendant very friendly and informative. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$10
Our 2nd time here. Still a great park for an older COE facility. Sites are large and many have satellite access through the trees with a great view of the lake. Verizon cell was good. Lake is way down so all of that is closed to rec. We'll keep coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$10
IMPORTANT: the GPS 32.637 -97.475 does NOT take you to the park. The gate is about 3 miles south of there, left off 377 on Pearl Ranch Road. This was once a nice park, but has suffered neglect. We used our Senior National Park Pass for $10 rate, normally $20. Wash house was clean, but nearly everything is broken, including the flush. Come self contained and ready to level, as most sites have some challenges. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$10
This is our second time staying here and we will stop by here again when in the area. The only thing that was different this time was that the lake was way down and the boat ramps were closed. Would have stayed longer but the heat was excessive this time here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
Horribly unlevel site. We came in as "walk in" and check in was a nightmare - it took over 30 minutes. This is a lovely property but unless we were sure what site we were going to, as in if it was level, we probably would pass this one the next time in the area. Also, the gates are LOCKED at 10:00 pm, if you aren't in the campground you won't get in until the morning - this presented safety concerns for us as well as being a major inconvenience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
It was quite a hunt to get here, as we were given wrong directions. As previously posted, be careful NOT to turn on Tiger Trail or you will have a difficult time turning around with a rig of any size. The park is delightful, with plenty of lake access, well-spaced sites and rental cabins if you want to have company. We were here over a very busy weekend with every space filled, and still the park did not seem crowded. The main dump station was closed, but the secondary one is actually better: level and easily accessible. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$10
Holiday is a lovely, well-tended Corps of Engineers park. Has level roads and pads. We stayed right on the lake in pull-through site 72. March is a windy month, so when it wasn't windy, it was delightful. Lake access is terrific, and there are many sites on the lake. We did not use the bath house. The dump station next to the entrance is closed. The other dump station has good access even for a big rig. Very nice staff and volunteers. Well-run park. GPS Users Alert: Our GPS gave us incorrect directions and sent us to Stevens Drive, but when we called the park office, the manager knew how to get us turned around. Don't turn at Stevens Drive, and don't take Tiger Trail. If you follow a GPS, be sure it leads you to Pearl Ranch Road, which is the same as S. Lakeview Drive on Google maps. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
The restrooms and shower were cleaned a couple times a week, but the cobwebs and bugs were quick. Not all sites were level. It took us 3 times, but we found one that was fine. There appeared to be many open sites so it was pretty easy to find one. The camp hosts did not mention the gate closes at 10:00 so we had a 2 1/2 mile walk from the front gate to our site. The signs were posted, but we were newbies and were more concerned about other info. They views and serenity of the campsites were very nice. We would probably go back again, but it did not quite have the 'it' factor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We stayed here because we thought it was close to Fort Worth; it is 20 plus miles from the guts of Fort Worth so it is not that convenient. It is about eight miles south of I-20. Grass needed mowing. We had a decent site close to the water, but if you had an outer loop site it looked tight and unappealing. We won't go back. Worth a stay if you are going to be enjoying the lake; otherwise I'd look elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
We stayed during the week after the rush. Only person left was a hobo he said so himself when he joined us at the camp fire. Lots of trees. Good fishing pier. Fire ring at each site and we had a table. We will stay here again because its close to home. No one said a word about our 11 year old bodercollie out w/o leash, he loved that. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Most of the previous reviews describe this place as we saw it, however I would add that there is a 10 PM curfew and the front gate is locked. No combo, no keypad, just locked. If you are in a site close to the entrance, and not carrying groceries or anything, it's fine, but you are on the outskirts, it is a significant walk. You must leave your car in an unattended dirt area overnight and walk in. We were told it was to keep the place safe, and questioned how safe our vehicle was if they were concerned about what happened inside the gate. We found the staff to be indifferent to guests and saw they were sometimes actually rude to people. The walk/drive in unreservable sites were all somehow reserved. We asked about this, and were told they were "taken". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
Nice quiet large sites, but not very level. Good Verizon cell signal. Great park for being as close to Ft. Worth as it is. Lots of room to hike/bike. We'll definitely come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$10
Rate is with Golden Age Passport. The park is well located for visiting Fort Worth's attractions. It is a beautiful park with very spacious sites spread out for quite a distance along the lake. Many sites are shaded and some are very close to the water. The road through and beyond the park makes for a wonderful bike ride alongside the lake. The water level was very low so that hundreds of tree stumps in the lake were revealed. Few people ventured out in boats. The park is far enough from Highway 377 to be very quiet. Although we did not use the restrooms and showers, I observed that they were dingy, rather primitive and in serious need of updating. As typical with COE parks, there are no sewers. If there were sewers and nicer restrooms, I would have given the park a 10. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
The sites were large and some were shaded. The bathrooms were filthy and in need of repair. One of the stalls in the women's bathroom was missing a door. The lake was nice. I am not sure if I would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
This is another nice U.S. Army Core of Engineers park. It is convenient to Fort Worth and is only a few miles from I20/820. I had a 40' motorhome with a car in tow and had no problem getting in or out. (I turned right where the other reviewer was directed to turn left and had no problem.) The campsites are enormous and beautiful. It is rare to find such large campsites with hookups. The restrooms are primitive and I didn't use them. If you are there, try the ice cream at Braums and don't miss the great museums in Fort Worth. The Amon Carter Museum has a nice collection of Frederic Remington and Charles M. Russell works. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2008
$10
Worst park experience I have ever had. When we pulled in, the lady at the gate was more interested in watching her soap opera then helping us. She just dismissed us and told us to go find a spot and then come back and tell her which one it was. Not ever being at this park before, I asked where do we go to look. She just said go look at site 32. Then, her husband came around the corner and said we should try site 38: just go down until you see the bathrooms and turn left. This is what we did. However, let me tell you, as soon as we made the left turn, we were doomed. There was no way out, forward or backwards without damaging the top of our RV, which we did. There were no other RVs in this section as no other RVs would fit. They had no reason to send us into that area. I hope these camp workers are not getting paid just to sit there and watch TV. Seems a waste of Federal dollars to me. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$10
We spent two weeks here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The campsites are well separated and you have ample privacy and quiet. We stayed for half price with the Golden Age Pass. This visit has given us a new appreciation for Corp Of Engineer Parks. The camp hosts and attendants were very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
Nice quiet park right on Lake Benbrook. We stayed here for 2 nights passing through Texas. Really convenient to Fort Worth. There is a lot of bicycling to do here also. I did not think the showers/restrooms were clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2006
$20
We have been using this park (almost monthly) since the Mid-80's from when they were just building the 'pea-patch'. It's our favorite place to camp. Lots of spots, two dump stations, and friendly hosts. It is a Corps of Engineers lake on the southwest side of Fort Worth. We have spent our time here in Travel Trailers, all three of them, plus a couple of times in a tent. When our relatives with RV's come down, they spend time there as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com