224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Canyon RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 60 user reviews. Phone: (714) 637-0210
CGID4719

Canyon RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
136
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   6   9   3   6   3   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$60
This is a good location for visiting the attractions in the area, It's close to a couple of feeder freeways to I-5, 210, 15. It's very easy to get to right of the 91. Check in was very quick and the office staff was friendly and helpful. It has a security gate which requires a card key for access to the park. This is a very large park with a lot of grass and open space. The RV sites are comfortably spaced and easy to get in and out of. The only real negative is that there is freeway noise day and night. We didn't spend much time at the park but did get a chance to walk the entire park with our dog. They have a gated pool and a large children's playground. I found the park to be very clean and well maintained. There are a few long term residents but they are spaced out and keep their sites clean. We would recommend this CG for anyone with rigs of any size. They do charge extra for dogs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$60
We really enjoyed our stay here. It was quiet and the lots were large with lots of grassy area for my dogs. The only problem we had was with ants. We kept getting little ants in the RV and had to figure out how to deal with that. The park had a state park feel, which is what I like. I would stay here again. The only thing I did not like was that my daughter came for dinner one night and they made her pay $10.00 to enter the park and visit us. I did not feel like this was necessary since we only had one car at our site and 2 people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$40
Rate reflects Senior weekly rate. The sites are spacious and the setting is nice. This is a great location for the Los Angeles area. I would have given it a 10, but the noise level from Highway 91 is high. WE would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$60
The park is clean, well maintained and located in a quiet rural setting. There is no cable but there are 84 channels available with an antenna. No wifi is provided but there is a room with wifi if you purchase Tengo access. My only complaint is that the staff was unhelpful and treated us as if we were interfering. When we checked in, I had to ask what our site number was and then had to ask for a map of the campground. When I became aware that the entrance was gated, I had to ask for a card key to access the gate. The entire campground was being repaved when we arrived which was a hassle, but we understood and accepted the inconvenience. However, a few days after the paving was complete, our travel plans changed and we needed to leave a day early. When I asked on Friday to cancel the coming Sunday night, I was told very curtly, "there is NOTHING I can do for you. We don't give refunds!" With staff attitudes like we observed, we would not stay here again regardless of how nice the park is. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$43
Rate shown is based on weekly rate of $300. This is a great place to stay while in the Southern California area (Orange County/Los Angeles) as it is the best value and close to major attractions. The roads are paved, sites are rock/gravel and adequately sized to handle all size rigs. Good spacing between sites with grass and many large trees. Many sites are satellite friendly. The two downsides to the park are no Wi-Fi and the proximity to the 91 freeway. You are next to and below the freeway so the road noise is constant but, for us, it becomes a white noise. You are minutes from Disneyland and Knott's Berry Farm but not packed in like sardines and paying close to $500 a week as the parks in downtown Anaheim. The trees are nicely trimmed so they are not an issue and the park is very nicely maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$60
Just returned home from a poor camping experience at Canyon RV. We have camped there many times previously and always thought that the part was in the 7-8 rating category, but not this time. This was a very hot weekend, well over 100 degrees both Friday and Saturday. Power on the pedestals sagged to below 105V so one could not use the AC in their rig. Add to that more than a couple total outages and you can see the electrical situation was terrible. Add to that water pressure that you could hold back with your thumb on the end of the hose and you are basically dry camping at $60/night. This park holds so much promise but suffers from folks that just don't want to help and facilities that leave a lot to be desired. We found the bathrooms to be dirty. Playground and pool were maintained. The park is family friendly and dog friendly but simply not customer friendly. I will vote against returning here next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$54
Nice park for shade and we are not all lined up in a row, but scattered about - nice for a change. Major bug problem in our area - constantly nagged by mosquitos. Freeway noise was not a problem for us as we were in the northern part of the campground, spot #60. Not allowed to keep our 8' trailer by the campsite, we had to park that in a special lot for trailers. Price increased a lot since our stay in October 2012 (then $44) now $54, but no improvement in amenities. Pool was closed even though it was hot. Sinks near showers practically useless, either did not work or sprayed you in the face. Showers were satisfactory, but not well lit. Wi-Fi available only in the visitors center which is not air conditioned. Wi-Fi is not free, you have to pay extra for it. Park is owned by County which is probably why it is not well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2013
$60
We have stayed at this park about a year ago, but conditions have deteriorated since we were last here. The freeway noise has increased, and now there is a major sewer pipe replacement going on in the park. Huge trucks and tractors operating within feet of your RV, stirring up dust and tearing up all the interior roads. A fact that the desk failed to mention when we called for a reservation. The sites are still decent size, but the loud day and night freeway noise is a huge negative. And the water pressure is still pathetic. We can't wait to leave. I won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2013
$60
This park is in a beautiful open space area and would be perfect if not for the dirty water problem. They said it was just magnesium from not being used much. For the price, we expected cable or Wi-Fi, at least. We had no television reception either, probably because it is down in a small canyon and we were in a Class B instead of a high-profile RV. They were very relaxed about pets, so we were comfortable there with our dogs. I don't think we'd stay there again; there are other options in the area with better amenities. Also, there was little-to-no water pressure in the bathrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
This is a very spacious park in a great setting. The only downsides are the freeway and frequent low water pressure. If you’re not in a site near near the river and far from the freeway, the noise is excessive. We experienced sub-30psi water pressure frequently, probably due to sprinklers being run. The office staff during check-in was outstanding (a married couple?), and the checkout person was ok. $10 deposit for the gate card if you plan to drive out and return. The east section is closed for a sewer line project next to the freeway and should reopen in December. We probably won’t return since it was a local getaway and there are other parks we prefer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$45
Nice park in the middle of a concrete jungle. The staff was helpful and friendly. The showers and washrooms need some updating, but we used our own facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
Rate shown is based on a weekly rate. Nice park with large spaces. Lots of trees but trimmed so they do not hit rigs. It is next to a very busy freeway, but there is a sound wall. The traffic noise is always present, like a "white noise". All the southern California attractions are easily reached, and the price is much cheaper than anything near Disneyland. I would have rated this park a 10 except they have no Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$40
Nice friendly Park, sites are good size (gravel) and easy to to back into. Lots of shade and very quiet, easy on off the freeway. Big negative is the freeway noise but you get use to it after a while. Also only four (three working) washers and dryers for a big park which results in getting in line. Would not recommend staying there if you have to do laundry or go find a laundry-mat. Would stay again because it is convenient for visiting our grand children. You will not find another Park in Orange County California with shade,grass and large sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$50
I love this park, lots of room for your rig, 2 cars, and my golf cart. You can walk your dog anywhere and the grass area is endless. I park my 2 cars lengthwise in front of the 40 foot RV and still have room to the road. You can have wood fires and cook up smores: it is a great camping experience. The staff is great, friendly, willing to help. They even have free parking for your trailer on site. On the weekends they have car shows, weddings, and dog shows, to name a few of the activities. The location is good as there is a lot of restaurants and grocery stores in the area. There are two reasons why I did not give this park a 10. 1. 95% of the sites are gravel, asphalt or concrete would be better, but I think it is restricted because the park is in a flood plain. 2. Noise from the 91 freeway. The park is right next to the freeway and sometimes it gets noisy, but it never gets too bad. In summary if you want a park with room for you, your cars, and your dog: stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
Stayed this weekend on a club outing and really enjoyed the park. Sites are spread out and hookups are good. Easy on/off access from the freeway. The club section had good satellite TV reception. We will continue to use the park as a club location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$42
This is quite a good park. Very spacious, some green grass, a lot of shade. No internet access except in the visitor center for a fee. I really liked the park but found the reception on arrival "cool." No information provided except a receipt and a map of the sites and where to go. No additional help provided. When I had problems connecting to the internet at the building the attitude seemed to be a "bother." Also the building was locked up one hour earlier than posted so I had to bother someone to open up for internet access. Very nice surroundings. Some washrooms need help. One with the door barely hanging on it's hinges. Showers look very clean. Restrooms less so with some good and some in need of repair as above. There is freeway noise but it is acceptable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
Staff wasn't so friendly the 3 different times we tried to "preview" the park. The first 2 times were on weekends and we were told "no drive-through on event dates", as this park hosts many different events on weekends (dog shows, car shows, Scouting events, etc). If it matters to you, the events are clearly listed on the site calendar which is constantly updated. The third time we tried, I called ahead and was told “Sure, on a weekday no problem.” However, on arrival we were still turned away due to "lack of adequate staffing on site", whatever that means. We took a chance and camped here anyways (against my better judgment, as poor customer service shouldn't be rewarded with patronage). I was however pleasantly surprised at the experience. Yes, you can hear the freeway no matter where you are in the campground. After all, you ARE camping NEXT to the 91 Freeway, which is a major freeway through Southern California day AND night. The freeway noise seems to be more noticeable on the east side of the park. We noticed the east side is all "short term" camping and was populated mostly with groups and overnight. On this side of the park, the campsites are situated a bit closer together. This side of the park is easier to navigate with your rig due to less overhanging trees on the roadway and less switchbacks on the roadways themselves. The west side of the park is mostly long-term sites, although there are overnight sites available (even next to the river). The Santa Ana river flows next to some of the sites and makes for a nice breakup of the freeway noise. The west side of the park is a little tighter to navigate with more switchbacks, but certainly not impossible. Provided you look ahead, look up, and don’t mind a *little* bushwhacking here or there on your roof, no problem. On this side of the park, the sites are a bit more roomy and have more space in-between. The cabins are nice but right next to the freeway and personally, I couldn't bear the thought of camping RIGHT NEXT to the freeway sound wall. However, some of the cabins and campsites were occupied so if it doesn't bother you, go for it! Towards the youth camping area on the far west side, the sites along the riverbed are basically all dirt. The grass stops entirely and we were told it was because there is too much shade. Not really the case as there is plenty of sun in the open areas, but I feel it’s really because there are no automatic sprinkler systems like there are in the center of the park. When you make a reservation, ask for a specific area if grass vs dirt matters to your patio area. The grassy areas in the center of the west side (surrounding the pool area) are great and have plenty of shade trees. We just moved our camp chairs across the driveway during the day. The pool still had a greenish tint as mentioned in another review. We thought better of jumping in, although there were plenty of other guests swimming with seemingly no ill effects. There is also a sprinkler-type splash area for small kids next to the pool that the maintenance staff will turn on by request. Strong cell service throughout the campground and decent TV antenna reception. We don’t use a satellite but those of you with roof-mount units may have problems in some of the shadier sites. I definitely like the key card access system for getting back into the campground. Never saw any park ranger or staff patrolling the campground. FYI no tents allowed unless you are in the Youth Camping area or there is an RV on the site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
We stayed here for the 3rd year in a row on 4th of July weekend. First of all the staff is extremely friendly and welcoming. That makes all the difference in the world. They have a $20 key deposit for the front gate that is refundable so you can go in or out any time of the day or night during your stay. In the past they didn't have this. The sites were roomy with 50 amp service. We had shade part of the day and overlooked a large grassy area. There is freeway noise, but you get used to it. There is a nice river that runs through the park and some wildlife. We spotted a hawk, owl, crane, egrets, squirrels, rabbits, and bats. The one side of the park has cabins for rent at $60.00 a day. They are small and sleep 4 people. There is also a senior rate of $40.50 for those 62 and above for RV sites. They do not allow tenters unless accompanied by an RV or unless part of the Scouts or a church group. Dog rate is $1.00 per day per dog, max 2 dogs per site. I think their rates are very reasonable. The bathrooms were very clean. The pool looked green to me. I did see someone cleaning it in the morning, but I didn't want to go in something with a green hue to it. The playground equipment, pool, and cabins are on one side of the campground. This is a better area for families. We've been here numerous times and find it always clean, the staff friendly, the security excellent and freeway close! If the plan is to go to Disneyland, this place is further away, but much, much nicer than any of the parks you'll find near Disneyland. This has a very nice rustic feel to it where those parks are more like a parking lot. It's a relaxing place to get away from it all. They are currently experiencing fluctuations with their water pressure. That was the only issue we had the whole weekend. We would definitely go back to this resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$41
We camped here with 5 RV's from our Club. The staff was very friendly and this park exceeded all of our expectations. Yes there is freeway noise from the 91 freeway to contend with but a rural setting is hard to find in the southern California area. Short driving distance to all attractions. If you think about it how many times do you camp near a major roadway. We all agreed that we would return in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$40
We really were excited about coming here. It quickly faded as the creek had overflowed the roadway (common apparently) and we had to take an alternate site. The next day we went to our site and it was on the river: a very visually pretty site. Now for the negatives: Pet fees: they charge a dollar for each pet per day. This is a cash grab and whoever pays this fee is cooperating with their cash grab. Freeway noise is absolutely relentless and contrary to previous reviews, is absolutely brutal! You cannot escape this throughout the entire park. Not necessarily the park's fault, but there are a lot of holes in the ground: we found out only once we had left the park, that our motorhome was infested with Deer Mice. After three days of cleaning, sealing and trapping / killing mice, we are getting it under control. That is until we clear the 14 day "clear" period of getting Hantavirus, if these Deer Mice are infected. Once again, not the park's fault but there is a real rodent population in this park. Beware and prepare to seal and trap your RV appropriately. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
Nice semi wooded rural location, located 15 minutes from Disneyland. A great, quiet place to take a break from sightseeing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
This was our second stay at this park. I really like the area and the park itself. Clean, good-sized spaces complete with fire ring and bench. Digital/HD OTA TV comes in fine and fair amount of channels available. Did not check Wi-Fi this trip, but clerk said I was going to be too far away (space 125). What I DID NOT like was being locked out of the park at 7:20am. I left to run daughter to tourney and returned about 7:20am. There were six other guests lined up at the gate unable to get back in after getting coffee, breakfast, or whatever. We all sat there because they do not give gate cards to over-night or week-end, may be a a cost-cutting measure. This is outrageous and we all sat there until nearly 8am when a long-term stay returned from his errands with a gate key. He was kind enough to let us all in, one at a time, but the line had grown to eight or nine by then. Calls to the posted phone number went to voice mail and were not returned. Great park, but that kind of stuff can really leave a bad taste. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
The staff were friendly but we really struggled to find this park. The address listed on the park website is the mailing address (but it doesn't say this) so when we put it into the Navman we had quite a merry chase around the Anaheim Hills. But we eventually got there and it's a very nice park to stay in. Nice big, shady sites and while the ablutions block is old it was clean. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
This park was very nice, and close to Disneyland. The male staff was friendly when submitting our reservation. When we checked in, the female staff was not friendly. Make sure if you do camp here that you get their physical address, and not their mailing address: we ended up driving around for an hour and a half trying to find it with our GPS! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
This is a wonderful park to stay in. Has very friendly staff and lots of oak trees for shade. It's also pet friendly. Looking forward for a return visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
We stayed here 4th of July weekend. Check in was easy. We also filled up with propane and were taken care of promptly. We had 4 sites together. The campground was clean, and quiet. We had been camping every 4th at Vail Lake and had a problem with fireworks noise from other campers. We had no campers setting off fireworks here. You could hear some in the distance, but it wasn't bad. There is a beautiful river that runs through the campground, lots of grassy areas, bat houses, wild life (bunnies and birds) and a bike path just outside the fence. There is also a pool, which we did not use. The bathrooms were clean and private. Each shower and toilet were in their own cement room, with a sink on the outside. There was a $5.00 fee for guests per car plus $2.00 per person, which was a little high. One car was allowed per RV site at no charge. Pets were $1.00 per night per pet. Security was on duty late at night. Other than the freeway noise (which we were able to get used to) the campground was very quiet. We really enjoyed it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
Rate shown is based on weekly rate, including all taxes and a $1 extra charge for our dog. Campground is more like a very nice state park than a typical private campground. Most sites are large and well spaced. No cable or Wi-Fi, but off air TV reception is excellent and wireless broadband from AT&T and Verizon both worked well. Park is about a mile long on banks of a swift-flowing river. Lots of green space and shade, song birds, herons, squirrels, rabbits, and the occasional coyote. Direct access to a jogging/biking trail that goes for miles near a nice residential area. Convenient shopping nearby for just about anything you could want. Excellent base for visiting this area. The only downside is road noise due to adjacent freeway. It can be heard throughout the park, but the site you choose makes a big difference. The loudest area is the west end near the youth camping section. The area nearer the river towards Gypsum Canyon Road (which is where we stayed) is much better. We were here two weeks and would definitely come here again when visiting this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
We were here as part of a rally group. It is a lovely park, lots of mature trees and grass. There are fire rings and tables at each site. It is close to a highway, but the noise wasn't bad at all. We were very happy to find this piece of nature in such a "developed" area and would happily stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
We stayed at this park for a week during Spring Break. We loved this campground! Beautiful grand old trees with plenty of green space. Sites are large with lots of room for us to spread out. We were a little disappointed the pool was still closed despite the warm temperatures but the kids enjoyed the playgrounds. Park is about a 20 minute drive from Disneyland or Newport Beach. There is a good selection of restaurants and grocery stores nearby. We could not get any TV reception at all but Wi-Fi was available in the lounge area. The only major drawback we found was the freeway noise. There is a constant hum of traffic that never stops. We got used to it after a few days though. This campground is an excellent alternative to the parking lot type parks located next to Disneyland. We hope to return someday. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
I stayed here for 3 nights. The park is large and has plenty of space between sites. It has A LOT of trees, so bring a portable satellite dish if you have one. It has a nice view of the Santa Ana River. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I asked to change sites due to the satellite signal, and they set me up very quickly. I would recommend this park if you are in Southern California. I will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$50
This is a nice clean campground, with friendly people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$45
Just finished a long weekend in Canyon RV Resort in Anaheim. It was our first stay and we came away with both positive and negative opinions. On the positive side, the park has lots of space. It is in a nature preserve next to a river. The spaces are large. Just about any size rig can find a home: with plenty of room, no matter how many slides you have. There is a picnic table and fire ring at every site. The sites are gravel and pretty level. The utility connections were in good shape. The park is centrally located with easy access to Disney and other area attractions. There is a bike path outside the park that goes from Riverside all the way to the ocean. Lots of shopping and restaurants in the area, too. Since you are in the middle of a metropolitan area, there is great cell coverage and my Verizon air card had excellent coverage. On the negative side, there is no cable and no Wi-Fi. I think there were about 4 or 5 broadcast stations available on the rabbit ears and the folks there with us with satellite said they had no problems. The resort is immediately next to the 91 freeway, so there is road noise. It is a constant background hum. I got used to it, my wife didn’t. One little quirky thing at the gate. There is an inbound gate that must be opened from the office or guard shack. The outbound lane is open, but has the tire shredders in it to stop wrong way traffic. Between 8 AM and 8 PM, you wave your pass at the office and someone opens the inbound gate for you. Between 8 PM and 2 AM the guard shack is staffed. But between 2 AM and 8 AM, you can’t get in: period. Not a problem for us, but if you want to run out for a quick cup of Starbucks in the morning, you won’t get back in until after 8. Overall a good experience. It would be better if there was less noise and if cable TV and Wi-Fi were available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$45
Large sites, friendly staff, lots of grass. Plenty for kids to do. Near Disneyland. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$45
Surprisingly nice and spacious park in very urban setting. Close to grocery stores etc, though with freeway and lots of traffic we decided to stay put. Campsites are large and well spaced with lots of large areas of thin grass and large pines, sycamores and other shade trees. Situated along a riverbed/wash and riparian area. There is riverside walking and bike trail. If staying here ask for a riverside site or one away from the freeway, as noise is non-stop, even at night. There is no cable TV or Wi-Fi. Those are 2 misses that they should work on fixing. Otherwise, a pleasant stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$45
Park spaces were OK. Security seemed a bit excessive. Not much of a store and park is somewhat remote from shopping, if a person is not familiar with the area. Restrooms/showers seemed a bit rustic for the price of staying at park - metal toilets and shower facilities that were difficult to keep clean because of the woodsy atmosphere of park. So-so place. Not sure we would stay there again, if something else was available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
We really enjoyed our three night stay at this park. It wasn't very crowded during the weekdays we stayed. We had plenty of space around our RV. The pool was nice and clean and we saw that they had a ropes course, although it didn't seem to be open while we were there. There was plenty of room for bike riding (and even a bike path), and there were several playgrounds for children. The only downsides were that there was no internet access at the site - they have a library/office room near the front office for computer usage, and the showers were clean, but seemed dark and a little spooky! They charged us $45 per night with an addition $2 each for our small children. We enjoyed our stay and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$43
This is our favorite park out of 60 or more we have visited. Beautiful sites, you feel like you have your own "back yard". Even on a Holiday Weekend, the park was full, but there is so much room, we never felt crowded. We would stay here anytime we visit Southern California. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
One of the most pleasant stays we've ever had. Easy access for any size rig just off Hwy 91. This place also had the largest size camping spots we've ever seen with lot's of trees and green grass. I was amazed at the distance between RVs. We have family about 20 miles away and I will stay here again the next time we visit the area because it's worth the drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
We camped here with a large group. Group rates are $35/night for 10 or more rigs. The office staff was extremely friendly and efficient. There is a charge for an extra vehicle over and above your rig and one car. I believe it was $5.00 per car plus $2.00 per person in the car. Even though the campground is almost under the freeway, after awhile you don't hear the freeway noise. There is at least a 50' high wall that blocks out a good portion of the noise. There is a lovely river that runs through the campground. I don't think this place has a bad campsite. Some sites were in the dirt with trees, others backed up to grass and trees. It was very nice. The campground was spotless as was the restroom and showers. This is truly a campground, not an RV resort. The sites were level and plenty of room in between sites. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and am already making plans to return. It is very dog friendly as there are large lawns to walk on by the river, park benches to sit at and even a gazebo. It is right off of the 91 freeway, so freeway access is a plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$45
We chose this location while visiting Disneyland. This RV Park was close enough to the Disneyland entrance, about 20 minutes, but far enough to escape the crowded parking lot type camping found close to the local attractions. Our site, #53, was right next to the Santa Ana River which runs through the RV Park. The spaces were large & level. The location gives the feeling of being out in the country rather than within a large city. The park is bordered by major freeways and there exists the associated road noise. Since we were right next to the river, the noise was not a problem. The price was on the high side but we believe this may be due to the proximity to so many local attractions. Staff was very pleasent and helpful. Only downside was perhaps the bathrooms, although very clean, they were rather bleak and prison-like. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$45
The park looked great. Lots of trees and grass for the kids to play on. It rained alot while we were there, but still a nice place. The biggest problem which is why I cannot give a higher rating is the freeway noise. It's located right next to the 91 freeway and you hear it all the time. Even the sites along the river are not immune to this. After a while you get used to some of it, but it's a significant issue to me going back. The spaces are great, grounds are great. WIFI, is not available throughout the site. I had to search for it and drive close enough to access it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$45
We had an great experience at this park. There was a little issue of somebody parked in our site when we got there but they fixed it right away and got us an even better spot! If you have kids they will love this place. Easy access for most spots that I could see but this place is huge. Close enough to the action, but far enough out of the craziness. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$45
This was one of the best campgrounds we have stayed at. It did not feel like we were in the city but rather a country setting. Lots of grass and, lots of trees. The sites are very spacious and not right on top of one another. Plus, it's not like most campgrounds nowadays that are basically a parking lot. The sites are gravel or dirt and fairly level. We would definitely stay here again. You are right next to the freeway and you do hear the freeway but it's not worse than camping by the beach and having the train go by. It's basically just background noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$45
Though location is listed in Anaheim, this park is in the very east end of Anaheim, I'd really call it Anaheim Hills. 20-minute drive to Disneyland and other theme parks. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Spacious grounds including several group camp areas. Bathrooms and showers plentiful and clean. Sites not crowded too close together though riverfront sites book well in advance. Looked to us as though there were a number of long-term renters here. New camping cabins look really nice. The Oct. 2007 fires came right to the riverbank on the north side, but the area is still wooded and quite pretty. The noise where we were located from the 91 freeway was noticeable, but didn't really detract from our enjoyment of the space. We were here President's Day weekend for our first trip in our travel trailer, and it was everything we needed. Lots of retail and restaurants in the area, so you don't have to cook unless you want to, and can get to a theme park or a movie easily if you wish. There is what looks to be a really nice bike trail that routes through the campground. We didn't use the pool as it was February. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2008
$45
We have very mixed feelings about Canyon RV Park. On the upside, the park has lots of trees and lots of open space. There are plenty of paved roads and paved bike trails for the kids to ride bikes. The playgrounds are well equipped and maintained. We enjoyed watching people on the ropes course on Saturday (operated by an outside vendor and didn't seem to be available to campers). The sites are generous with fire pits and picnic tables. The sites are gravel but we actually prefer that anyway. There was a nice mix of full timers, trailers, and big luxury coaches. Probably the best thing about the park is the Santa Ana River with many sites right next to the water. As mentioned in other reviews, the river is not accessible but is still nice to see and hear. Try to get a site on or near the river and you won't hear the freeway traffic at all. Cost is the biggest downside. We didn't mind the $45 nightly fee considering the park is in Anaheim and so close to big tourist attractions. However, that only includes TWO people. Each additional person was $2 per night. Each dog was $1 per night. Our two night stay with 3 kids and 2 dogs cost us $106!!! Adding insult was a ONE HOUR visit by a relative and her two toddlers which cost them $7 to drive through the gate !!!! The restrooms could best be described as prison like. The structure is all concrete block. Each stainless steel toilet (no separate seat) surrounded by concrete block to the ceiling with a skylight (what do you do at night?). The showers are similar bleak structures with a concrete block bench. This bathrooms appear to be something designed for an urban public park with a homeless problem. This was completely out of place in such a beautiful, gated park. We decided NOT to use the restrooms and used the motorhome facilities instead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$45
We camped at this campground as part of our daughter's 18th birthday. Her big goal on her birthday was to go to Disneyland a couple of days and to go to Medieval Times for dinner one night. Though our first impression was that this campground was a little out of the way for our Anaheim and Buena Park adventures, it's proximity to the Highway was a bonus. Some RV sites are within a stones throw of the highway, but if you ask for a site nearer the river, you won't be able to hear the cars passing by. Even when we took our dogs for walks in the areas near the highway, you had to really try to hear the traffic noise. The 20 minute drive (both weekday and weekend day) was a breeze to Disneyland and the drive to Medieval Times was about the same. This is a beautiful older campground (I remember it being there 40 years ago) with lots of shade trees well kept facilities. The campsites were nice and big. There are only two reasons I took some points off of what I might have called a 10 rating for this park. Well, Ok a 9 ('cause nothing is perfect). The WiFi was down and the staff didn't seem to have a clue as to when it might be up and running again. The second reason was the lady at the office (in her 50's or so I would guess) was on the gruff side. She never really liked to make eye contact and didn't really strike up conversation any of the 4 times we visited the office. Despite that, this was a great park to stay at and I think we may have found our central location for future RV trips to the Orange County/LA Basin in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$49
This was our first trip in our new travel trailer. I found the staff helpful and, after dealing over the phone with Pomona (Calif) KOA, a welcome change. Park was clean and quiet. There was a camper using our stall as his personal parking space when we arrived. Once alerted by his friends, he promptly responded and moved his vehicle. We stayed in space 115, directly north of the 91 freeway. I can tell you without hesitation that there was virtually no traffic noise and you should not be concerned with parking there at all. Showers and restrooms clean. If there was one downside, it's here: The "Ropes Course" that is displayed on the parks web-site is actually operated by a different company and was not open when we were here. This could be huge if you are going with your kids, like we did. I found it hard to understand why it was not open over a holiday (Thansgiving) weekend, but is was closed. Bummer!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
Very spacious and lovely park but costly. With no connections for wireless network or cable TV unless you have your own, the cost is pretty high. As we travelled, we found some parks are now allowing 6 months and then you must move. We have learned to ask questions before we reserve as well as go to a park first, check out the site and be sure everything works before committing to a longer stay than one night. The ads are not always true. There were 3 staff members and two were not knowledgeable of the area at all nor were able to answer much of anything. No mail can be sent to you at the park. You must receive as General Delivery at Yorba Linda post office. UPS and Fed Ex do deliver however. Workers kept the park very tidy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$55
This was a clean and very friendly RV park. We stayed towards the back and had very little freeway noise. The grassy area was great for the kids. The pool was nice and clean. We will definitely be back. We have stayed in another park close to Disney - this is a better choice in my book. It's a bit farther, but it doesn't have that "parking lot" feel of an urban park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
Easy access, roomy sites, very clean, feels like you are out in the country. Large trees so satellite reception in some sites may be difficult. Near Interstate but you don't really notice. Gated, so feels secure. A little pricey at 45.00 a night but for the area if you want nice you need to pay a little more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$43
My wife can list many complaints, no pull-throughs, gravel sites, freeway noise, the pool closes at 8 pm, but for my money, this was one of the best parks we've ever camped at. The lay-out is like a county park, mature trees that shade your site, wide-open grassy areas, big spaces between each site, a river at one end to walk your dogs. The playgrounds are well-maintained. The staff was helpful, and it's within 16 miles of things like Disneyland and Knots Berry Farm. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$49
This campground is a nice sunrise after going through Los Angeles. It is a nice big park with big trees and a nice pool. If you need room for your kids to run around etc then this is definitely the park for you. Sites are gravel, which some people might like but it really caused us a problem with our truck sinking and it created problems when trying to get out of our site. We arrived late and the office closed early which left us with many questions that you ask when you arrive in a new area. There was NO wi-fi ! No Cable TV ! These things are a necessity when it comes to modern camping. It is the furthest away from Disneyland of the Anaheim parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
Nice park in good location. Great for families. Lots of shade trees. Road was paved but sites are gravel but level. Nice pool area and both of the playgrounds were nice. Landscaping was very well kept and it was a pleasure to take an evening walk around this very large park. We will be staying there again without question. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$43
My family and I stayed here for the weekend and loved the park, we loved the trees and river. The only thing I would like to point out is the freeway, just to close. They do have a sound wall and that seems to help, I would get a spot closer to the river. The bathrooms, pool and park it's self were clean and staff friendly. Another thing we loved was the spaces, They were large and most had shade. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
Even though this park is literally right next to the freeway, you wouldn't know it! It is shady with lots of level paved areas for biking. We had a lovely time camping with another family and we were situated next to a huge green lawn, probably an acre wide. The kids had a great place to play. No noise problems to report at night. We were there just days after the big fire so we weren't allowed to have a campfire, but that was understandable! Very nice creek-side sites are available and we'll try to get one of them next time. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$45
This park is very expensive but immaculately groomed and is made on the footprint of an old county campground. It is more park like with large open space between the loop sides. Each site is well spaced between each other. Most are back in. I stay here when work requires me to be closer than normal. It's gated and safe. There are a few sites right on the Santa Ana river, but mostly it is a "city Park" like atmosphere and is located in a suburban area. Noise from the 91 freeway is unavoidable. it's the only real downside to this park, besides the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$45
We stayed here over the New Year's weekend. We made the reservation the day before arriving. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Sites and playground equipment were clean. There is a $20 refundable deposit for keycard to get in and out after hours. A very nice RV park with lots to do, but with one minus. The 91 freeway runs along side it and the freeway sound is non-stop. Find a site away from the freeway side. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$45
This is a very nice park, although pricey. The sites are wide and level with tables and fire rings. It is a park setting with lots of large trees that do hang over some sites. A few full time live ins, but they are clean and not a problem like at other parks. The WIFI signal is spotty sometimes and not always easy to pick up. Some staff is friendly, some indifferent, none unfriendly so far. We stay here several times a year. There are lots of squirrels and birds. Our neighbor saw some type of large cat in a tree once. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2006
$35
As a family park, this one is pretty good but not great. Good playground, park is right next to bike path, but also right next to the 91 freeway and the noise is quite prevalent throughout the park. Pool is seasonal. The rope course advertised on the website looks cool, but is operated by an outside vendor and was not open when we were here. Game room is shabby, camp "store" is pretty slim pickins'- make sure you don't forget anything. Front desk help is not exactly rude but they aren't helpful or cheerful either. There are a number of permamnent and semi-permanent residents and all the sites are sort of mixed together. All told, this is an ok park and beats most others in the Anaheim area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$30
We spent 2 nights here while our house was being fumigated. It's a pleasant area very close to the 91 FWY. Moderate number of seasonal campers in CG but did not degrade the experience. Bike/running/walking trails near by. While the CG is next to the Santa Ana River, you should be told that access into the river basin and the waters is usually not allowed by law. It's a river to look at rather than to use. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com